(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jenny,
jz wanted ask u..let say preggie did eat a lot of bu or herbs soup during confinement. do we still need to take chicken essence?

<font color="ff6000">vivian</font>
congrats!!!
wow, Rhys is big!! amazing that you've managed to delivered him naturally!

<font color="ff6000">jenny</font>
wah..u drink so many bottles of chicken essence ah? i still hv some boxes left ah..

Jasmine,
Depends on individual lor. Somehow women in confinement can take a lot of heaty stuff one.
You can add the chicken essence into the soup.

Crystallized,

Rhys's head circumference is 37cm.

Actually, I am glad to have my doc. Coz imagine she did not induce me and let me carry Rhys till full term... aiyo... maybe over 4kg...how to go natural??? Sure end up csect one...

Plus, she insisted not to do a csect even though I have a long labour. I believe if other doc sure tell me to go ecsect liao.

And lastly, during my last stage, the pushing part, I have pushed and pushed till no strength liao, I told her cannot liao...she still insisted not to use assisted help like forceps or vaccum when the nurse suggested. I am glad that she din use them. Instead she encouraged me and insisted that I did all the work... and its all worth it...
After she left, the nurse told me quietly that my doc always have long labours coz she always wanted the mother to do the pushing if possible.

So i think you should really communicate with your gynae abt your birth plan. Coz during that moment, you cannot think one... so your doc is very impt... jia you ladies... if I can do it, you all sure can do it too...

Vivian, show my colleague Rhys photo, he say one look know he's boy. So Rhys does have the masculine look so it great. I'm ok with extra Chick E cos my MIL just had a minor surgery, so she can also drink lor, so extra also can finish. So, jenny and i get to kiss Rhys?

My colleague was sharing with me her birth story and she had a 30hrs natural birth process. Very long, luckily, her gynae very steady too allow her to continue even though the cord already around her bb's neck.

Jenny, I quite free today. Completed most of my task liao, so took a train to orchard to grab and came back again. next week I'm on leave Mon, Tue, Thurs. And Fri is last day liao.Now, I don't do much at work, only consulting role liao since my replacement is in she start to do the stuff.

crystallized,
cos elders said got wound dun take chicken and eggs, scare infection. wound will take longer time to heal. But I tell you hor, in hospital, the meals they provided got chicken and egg one. Western docs dun believe such things.

coral,
I see! You are fast man!

Vivian,
Winner got to kiss your boy or not? kekeke...
hey, I just realised one thing leh... Your boy hair very easy to maintain wor

Vivian
Yah i will make an effort to tell gynae my birth plan when i nxt see her, provided my baby can wait till then...

yah i am sure if u hit full term, Rhys will b over 4kg...

Actually i feel ur labour not too long. my fren delivered on the same day as u, she had 24 hrs labour and her bb is slightly over 3kg only. so i think u did great!

i feel if u r dilating all the way, gynae shldnt suggest c-section lah... so glad tt u got the birth u wanted!

Coral...

Yes, you and Jenny can kiss Rhys... hee...
yah... a lot of my friends also say he has a boy's face. I always tell my friends that why he so big coz he is the outcome of D24 durians plus bengawan solo yam mooncake... haa... "hor liao" ah... Jenny, better be careful... haa... you really take a lot of mooncake leh... I take mini ones nia... haa...

Crystallized,
Mine is not over...
This is just the beginning. Rem I said that the hard part is at the back??? sigh... first nite at home, I alrady cried... sob sob...

Vivian, I think Rhys' eyes gonna be big looking at the long slit. Aiyo, I can't work leh, keep coming in to look at him. How's your engorgement? Better now? Press on for your BF, you can do it!

It's been a long time since I participated in this thread though I try to follow whenever I'm free.

Congrats to Vivian!!! Moving on to the nxt chapter already.

Crystallized,

when you are there, 14 hours feels like 14 centuries... you will do anything to get the bb out... haa.. ANYTHING!!!

Actually, my long labour is not becoz i am not dilating.
Is Rhys that is not cooperating. He just stayed high up and dun want to come down, even I am 7cm dilated. Plus my cervix also damn stubborn.
All these are quite unexpected lor...

Both my SILs went csect. One is becoz bb refused to engage and one is becoz dilating too slow.
Guess, mine is a combination of both but in the end, turns out natural. So I am glad... although, I was a bit disappointed abt the epidural. Think I can tahan and dun need to take one... hb also say so... but for the sake of Rhys, I took it. But as long as Rhys is ok, I am contented.

Vivian,
IF my gal is THAT big, I think a lot of ppl will faint. Cos hor, boy big never mind, gal big hor, die ah... mei ren yao le HAHAHA

Si le, the outcome of durian!!!

Vivian
hehee, but u still in the right frame of mind to think inside the labour ward? hehee
i dunno wat i will do man... juz this morning, was telling Selina i cant imagine wat drama i will create when i am in labour...

Dun b disappointed abt the epidural, as long as u had ur natural delivery and Rhys is healthy. i visited a few frens whom had natural wif epi, all their bb looked so alert, like Rhys.

if i can manage a natural delivery, i dun kind hvg epidural.

Jenny, but so far gynae estimate your gal to be ok rite? I also ate lots of durian and mooncake, but good thing my gal not absorbing so much so still average size.

Vivian, glad that you have the right mindset. So long as Rhys is safe and healthy, which ever way he came out is secondary.

So when I get to kiss Rhys? maybe we should really have a Xmas gathering. Then we can kiss all babies.

My problem is not abt engorgement... In fact, I wish I have engorgement now...

I wanted total breastfeeding for Rhys, so in hospital, I latch on even got no BM. I got inverted nipples plus position is not right, got sore nipples right from the first night. But I press on. Got help from the lactation consultant twice. Managed to latch properly and Rhys is sucking well. but the nurse there keep saying that Rhys is not having enuff.

The problem is when we went back home yesterday. He started crying and crying. And my milk haven come in. only drops of colostrum. He suck so hard liao only got few drops of colostrum so keep crying, even thru the night. I refused to give him water and formula. But cannot. panick...

tried to feed a bit of water using cup and he suck like no one's biz. He is really really hungry like that. But I got no milk for him!!!

1.30am, he refused to sleep and cry and cry till the whole face went red!! I felt so helpless and decided to give in to formula.
Gave him formula via cup but scared he got choked so end up giving him formula using bottle.

After feed, he slept quietly. I felt so helpless and useless. Before that, the whole evening, I basically dun know what to do. Asked all my friends who TBF and they told me NOT TO give in to formula and bottle coz scared he next time dun want to latch.

In the end, I just cannot bear to see him cry!!
I give in! I cried in my hb's arm last nite. I am a useless mum.

Even now, my milk did not kick in. Latch him on and off... still nothing. He still hungry... fed some formula... tried pumping and end up only few drops of colostrum. just felt useless... poor Rhys.

Just wanted to cry now... All I want now is my milk to come... i dun mind engorgement... I just want my milk for my son...

Hi Vivian, Congrates to you and your newborn! You are my new idol! Able to deliver naturally to your boy by inducing method so successfully. Kudos to you! Your boy looks so cute!! Take care of urself during confinement period. Btw, how many push did u have to deliver ur boy?

Vivian
Dun stress!!!!! Stress will affect milk supply. B positive!

Dun say u r a useless mum coz u gave in to formula. Its hard to resist coz Rhys is crying so hard. In the meanwhile, keep latching him on and hopefully milk will come in.

Dun cry, dun stress. U CAN DO IT! Juz keep latching on, ur milk will come! Colostrum is alrdy a gd indication. u juz need more time. ur milk shld kick in a few more days. dun give up! as long as u latch Rhys on frequently, there is still chance u can TBF! Jia you!!!

Huh jo popping?? I rem she said she is going JB with her mum TODAY cos non of her fren wanna go with her any more. Just imagine if it had happened to her during her trip! OMG..could it be due to the 5 cakes she has eaten??
seems like we hv quite a # of unexpected cases here

Dorayaki
U can check with the doc which gal is bigger in size. They said usually the doc will deliver the bigger bb if via c-section. Then u can start identifying which is Gracia and which is Chloe.

Vivian
Rhys is really cute. I love his thick hair! Im going to show it to my hb tonight and make him excited.

My guess was 3.75kg, also quite close. I dont care, I want to give him a flying kiss now!!
kao_kiss.gif

Selina, crystallized
Like what Vivian said, she can do it so can u 2! Dont worry too much.

Wendy
Dont know leh, I dont fine myself having a lot of labor symptoms yet leh. I dont really feel any contraction or backache, only abit of aching at the virginal area but still bearable. Is the pelvic area supposed to be harder if bb is engaged? 2 weeks back my gynae did that my cervix has soften and when I press the pelvic area it was abit painful but now not painful any more leh. Hmmmmaybe u r right. Btw, why are u packing the pump into ur hospital bag?

vivian
crystallized is right, u CANNOT be stressed! u must really relax and be patient. i know it is not easy, but u may do it. from what i understand, it is v common that milk flow only comes in on the 4th or 5th day. so u r not useless. Rhys is not used to it cos rem while he was in your tummy, he can get supply any time he wants. so u must tell him to be patient lor.

Thanks Crystallized, coolcoolmum...
I try not to be stress. But very difficult.
Everytime Rhys make a bit of noise, I got scared that he is hungry and I got nothing to give him still.

Now, I can only wait and see liao. When he is quietly sleeping is when my heart is more relax.

You know what, after reading that Weikuan is having engorgement, I so envy her...
Everyone say that engorgement is more painful than labour pain, I tell you, I dun mind... as long as i have milk for Rhys, I can even go thru 14 hours of pain again...

Vivian
i tell u hor, no need to envy one. ur engorgement wil surely come in. tts why hv to latch on bb frequently to prevent it. so u got the latching on method rite? ur inverted nipples is rectified rite?

try latching him on frequently. i hope u succeed soon! and rem, muz think positive all the way! dun let wat others say affect ur mood. it will b hard to start initially but wif perservance, u can do it!

u so determined, i am sure ur milk will kick in. meanwhile, drink more hot drinks and take fish...

Vivian, dont cry dont cry. My colleague who's still BFG her baby now (4mths of almost total BF except 1st week) said she got the same problem as you in the 1st week, so she was flexible, she let her bb has FM< but continue to massage and latch on and pump, and gradually her BM increase and now she got excess that she say she can lelong to others who need BM. So continue to stimulate your breast and hopefully your MS will increase after a week or two. In the mean time it's alrite even if you subsitute with FM. Don't be too hang up on one route lor, else we'll go into depression. Wanted to call you but afraid you busy. If need to talk can call me anytime. Jia You!

Hi Vivian,

been busy whole day with work stuff and now get to read birth story of baby Rhys.

3.82kg is a big baby wo. Good job Vivian! Natural ! Not easy!

By the way, are you of bigger frame?

Cos my doc mention I am having big baby (3kg@35wks) and he suggest I might need C-sec due to my small frame. will decide @37week(coming mon)

So need to find out from you about your baby weight before decide to induction.

vivian
my fren also went into depression initially. she followed the usual guide and did not feed her gal any FM and the gal ended up with jaundice. when she brought her to see the PD, PD told her that's b'cos she did not feed the bb any thing for the past few days! she almost gave the PD a box. so i think u might be right to give Rhys some FM but not too much lor cos i think he stills need to be hungry to suckle harder to make the milk flow in. u may want to check with mummies with experience whether this is true.

vivian,
dun worry. their features will change one... slowly... enjoy it now first...

crystallized and coolcoolmum is right... hanging in there dear. u can do it. continue to latch him on even wif little colostrum. your milk supply will come in soon.

we know it is hard for u to stay positive at this time but u really have to for the sake of Rhys. see, u went thru 14 hrs labour to bring him to this world... u r not useless ok... it's ok to supplement him wif FM right now until your MS starts flowing in... **hugs** feel free to call me too if u need to let go of any frustration, though i might not be able to help alot, but it is better than keeping them to yourself ok... gambatte!!!!

crystallized,
haha you wan me to "pei" you not to eat ah... Ok lah, I stopped durian le, but am eating strawberry snowskin mooncakes with yoghurt NOW kekeke... this one ok lah, sour sour one, very kai wei leh..

coral,
my gyane hor, very da jin xiao guai one lah... he scares bb too big cannot go for natural delivery. Always like to scare ppl that the bb is too big, cut down rice lah etc...

Vivian,
dun be sad. If I were you, I will give formula instead of letting bb hungry. Dun let bb cry for too long. Not too good.
Try to drink more soupy stuff and hot drinks. Some mummies's milk supply comes in late, so dun worry. My friend has inverted nipples, so she can't latch on. So she pumps out EBM for feeding. Try to massage your breast, use hot towel to cover your breast before pumping.

Vivian
Rhys is so chubby and cute I like his hairstyle.....hehehe
Just relax and enjoy Rhys first most important dun stress so much on your milk supply just continue trying lor.

Went for my checkup on Wed. Gained 1+kg after 3 wks but bb gained 700gms so at least I didn't gain so much...hehe

BB now at 35 wks is 2.67kg. Head down but not engage yet. During scanning gynae say my bb not shy cos he open legs very very big and I got a clear pic of his private parts.....hahaha

Still thought can see my bb every week from now. But next visit will be 2 wks later at 37wks...sigh

Congrats Vivian! I am really glad to hear both you and Rhys are safe and sound. I would remember to bear the pain like you so that can deliver natural.

The first few weeks are not easy and you simply have to focus on establishing yr milk supply. Be positive and believe in yourself !

Try to get HB to massage yr breasts (with a bit of strength) and apply hot towel in 12, 6, 3, 9 o clock positions before feeding. It might help to express the milk first. Pump even when you don't see milk expressed. This will help to stimulate more Milk Supply.

just keep trying. Tried all ways but never give up...I have a friend who also kept trying to latch her baby and after 2 months of struggling and effort, baby finally latches and she bf till a year. For you, your milk will come in soon..

Focus on yr Goal : To give yr baby the best gift - BM.

You have all our support and encouragement! Jia1 You3

Hi hi crystallized..
U r right lor..i think I better get myself familiarize as well as make sure hubby also know how to assemble the pump leh..in case when I really need it then at least hubby can help out also hor...thks for the reminder..oh ya, I didn't manage to speak to my HR abt the 2 days childcare leave..forget it liao la..i will just take it that he count them at the beginning of the yr..so in this case, as at 1.1.06, I m not entitled to the 2 days yet ba..

Hi hi jasmine..
Hubby dun like to eat the little piglet lor..so only me leh..never mind..aft my appt tmrw night then I will decide if I will be getting to eat..coz dr koh will want me to decide if I m gg for induction by tmrw's appt..

<font color="aa00aa">Hi hi Vivian..
U r our heroine!so happy to hear from u!yeah!congrats!congrats!thks for sharing Rhys' birthstory with us..really very touching leh..esp at that very moment..i m very touched lor..seeing u gone thru all this, indeed it's very rewarding..hugs to u!very happy that Rhys is a very strong boy..so proud of him!so sweet!i also find that Rhys looks like u leh..this is WONDERFUL!it's very nice of ur gynae to give u the moral support &amp; stay strong all the way!i think u shd really get a gift for her as a token of her encouragement..relax urself..u r trying ur best liao..try to latch on more often, coz Rhys's suction will also help to get ur supply coming in, ok?</font>

Hi hi coolcoolmum..
I m not sure how it will feel like when ur baby is engaged leh..coz me 1st time mtb leh..keke..me also wished that I can feel him being engaged leh..i gues by sat u will know if u r engaged..must update me leh..i was thinking of using breastpump to stimulate my supply while I will want to latch on direct..i guess bring just in case might need it lor, if no need also never mind can bring back one..but at least I got to prepare it ready lor..

Crystallized, Jenny and all those who wanted to "donate" bb's and mommy's weight, i'll gladly take them all!

i better stop saying that i'm not prepared, after seeing all the unprepared MTBs popping ahead! By seriously, i'm really not prepared yet. if i really pop tmrw, i think my office pple will be scrambling around cos i've yet to handover anything.

Vivian,
Congrats on having Rhys!

Don't worry about giving Rhys FM. Don't be too hard on yourself. When the situation calls for it, it's really no harm giving him some FM. My boy's first feed at the hospital was FM cos i was still under GA and his blood sugar was low when he came out so doc ordered that he has to be fed.

What type of cup did u use to feed? Some told me to use those small plastic cups that the hospital use to put pills. i've never tried using those b4 but if u are worried about bb having nipple confusion, u can try using that. it's slower and messier than bottles.

like what the rest said, don't stress yourself and take lots of fluid and try latching and pumping. i find that having enough rest helps also. i find my breasts fuller after waking up from a nap. So go lie down and rest whenever u can.

<font color="ff6000">hi hi ladies..
TGIF!Yeah!hope time pass faster for me today as it's the day my finance mgr wants to have a final review of my hand-over &amp; also my 2nd half appraisal done up..she has very high expectation &amp; i m hopeful that things be smooth for me today..dun want to stress myself up more..</font>

hi hi babygrace..
i guess u might really want to prepare ur hand-over list from now onwards, at least things might get easier for u also..hope u get to lessen ur workload...do u mean to say that we can use little plastic cups (those sampling for beverages in the supermarket type to feed FM to baby) instead of using the milk bottles directly so that baby will want to latch on &amp; not get confused or comfy with the milk bottles ahh?

Wendy, wish you good luck! Yes, in antenatal class we were taught to use cup to feed baby if we inted to breast feed so as to minimise confusion for them.

Jenny
i am gg to sample the strawberry mooncakes which u tried to tempt me later tdy!
juz a bite wun kill rite? my MIL offered me some more mooncakes, and i quickly say "no more 4 me liao."
nono.gif

kai wei means u will eat more rite?!
er...

bbgrace
yah i juz wanna tell u better dun say u r not prepared. so far 2 ladies hv unexpectedly popped.
wake up call 4 u to quickly hand over ur work liao ah!!!

nah, i donate my bb's weight to u...
rem to update in the nxt visit if ur baby took our babies' weight!

Wendy
its ok lah. cant get the 2 days nvm lor. at least still can get ur maternity benefits.

yah i purposely made my hb learn to use the breast pump coz i think i will b too preoccupied wif bfg to bother abt it initially. so he will definitely hv to help me along.
muz make our hubbies useful mah, hor?

Vivian
my hb loves ur boy! he says he is soooooo adorable and cant help staring at his photo!!!

crystallized,
yeap, kai wei = eat more
But cos is yoghurt, quite shiok to eat lor, won't have those kind of full feeling after you eat the normal mooncake. In fact, if too full, take a bite, quite nice.

i went to check up yesterday.
bb' s weight 2.625g at 37w4d. he is a small size baby according to gynae.
btw, bb engaged liao.

hi selina,
pls help me to update.
thank you...

hi hi wendy,
as i told u in the sms, i gained 1kg in 6 days.
but bb only gained 225g. i bit mood down when heard this. but according to dr. koh, it's should b fine, coz my bb wieght gained range is about 200g+ now. then i scold myself tat wat i hope is bb healthy (coz everynite ask him grow healthy) tats more impt. will not think again.
regarding the discharge, dr koh said dun worry coz i already done the test &amp; the result is fine. maybe u should check wif him since u r not go thru the test.
for the epidural, he advice tat since my bb is small, maybe i can try not to use epi, but still hav to see the situation 1st. maybe tat's advantage bb not big ba...
oo.ya, he gave me admission letter &amp; ask kelly copy all the related doc (included the receipt of the package) to me so tat i can bring together when admitted to RH. u might remind him if he forget. i noticed nowsday his patient is increased. last nite i wait about half an hr lel.

Vivian, my hb says bb looks like you too. Rhys is so cute, last nite we just stare at him. Until my hb dreamt that my water bag broke and ready to deliver Charlotte liao.

Jenny, you keep tempting me with mooncake leh. Now feel like going to marriot to buy the durian and strawberry ones.

Jasmine
seems like u might b the nxt to pop... bb engaged liao!

think ur bb's weight is ok le. dun stress lah. i oso tell myself dun stress abt bb's weight liao, most impt is he is healthy.

crystallized,
aiyo.... dunno can said i'm heng or wat. i can eat thru the whole pregnancy. no MS at all. tat's wat u envy me, rite? but then hor, my bb didnt absorb all the nutrien lel. see...i gained 1kg but he only gain 200g nia...
so, conclusion is i still bring dbl yolk mooncake to office as my 'dim sum' lor..kekeke...

jenny,
i'm not tempting crystallized hor.
last nite, my hb suddenly ask me 'i buy durian for u hor?' after gynae visit. i told him no need la. some bb is big even mom didnt take durian ba,...
it's bcoz bb like me, small size lal...