Hee...
Let me give you all my super 14 hours birth story first... a bit lor soh hor... hee...
====================================================
18 Sept 06 (Mon)
=============
7.15am - Reached MAH, went directly to delivery ward. Feeling excited but a bit worried. Strapped on CTG, Rhys's heartbeat is strong and normal while my contractions are not very high, regular at ard 3mins. No pain at all.
7.50am - Ezema given to poo. Supposed to hold it for at least 10mins before pooing. Wah lao...
8am - Doc came but still enduring to poo so she went to deliver another bb first.
9.30am - Doc finally came back, checked and I am still only 2cm dilated but cervix still very thick. Rhys head is still very high. Doc broke my waterbag... no pain but I sure got lots of water sia... even my gynae also say so... (Was secretly thinking since my water so much, Rhys must be quite small hor... ) Doc asked whether want to take Epidural or not. I say no.
After waterbag broke, was put on drip with medication to fasten dilation. Contractions became stronger and more regular. but still bearable. Coped with deep breathing. Still can joke ard and watch discovery channel. Nurse was very amazed that I am still quite awake and chatty.
From 9.30 to 1pm - Nurse keep coming to check on me, contractions can go up as high as 90 to 100 which are very high. Nurse keep asking me whether I wanted epidural. But I told her no since still can tahan a bit more with deep breathing. Nurse was quite surprised that I can hold till then coz contractions are on high side liao. (quite proud of myself also.. haa.... rem that I am got super low pain threshold one hor.)
1 pm - Doc came again. Checked and I am 5cm dilated but weird part is that my cervix still very thick, supposed to be thinner. And bad thing is that Rhys head is still very high. Contractions are even stronger but not very consistent, cannot really talk much liao. Still refused to take laughing gas. Getting more and more worried that I may end up e-csect. Talking to Rhys to tell him to come down...
Doctor recommend me to take epidural to relax the muscles so that my cervix can efface more and dilate faster. I dun want to take epidural but since doctor really worried that my cervix will not thin in time, I took her recommendation. (Sigh, to think that I can still endure the pain. Wasted... )
1.45pm - Another doctor came to administer epidural. Pain sia... luckily it is a fast one. The stupid thing is that after the epidural is in, I still feel a bit of pain and my legs are not entirely numb. Something that I wanted too coz I dun want total numbness.
3.30pm - Doc came. checked but still 5cm !!! Rhys head still up!!! Cervix still thick!!! Doctor seeing that Rhys's heartbeat is still very strong, decided to up my medication to introduce stronger contractions. Pain... (Very glad that Rhys is a strong boy and thru out, his heartbeat is super strong.. stronger than my contractions... Brave boy!!! )
6.30pm - Unbearable pain even on epidural. Told the nurse, and she up it. Still same. Sharp pain. Getting weaker and weaker. Hungry too... Nurse checked on me coz I told her that I feel like pooing. Only 7cm. Head still up!!! Cleared my bladder to decrease pressure. Decided to sit up. Felt better.
7.30pm - Doc came again. Checked. 8cm. Head still up. (Rhys is sure getting comfy in me..) Doc a bit worried now. Seeing that Rhys heatbeat is still going strong, she told me to wait for 2 more hours while she up my medication again. (Thanks to her preserverance, I can deliver natural. If other doc, sure tell me to go e-csect liao... and of coz thanks for my strong boy's heartbeat...)
8.30pm - Really painful even with epidural. Told nurse and she say she can only up one more liao. If still painful, got to get the doctor to reinsert the epidural again. (scared me sia... ) luckily, after that, a bit better liao, only slight sharp pain. Feel like pooing again. Nurse checked me. YEAH!!! 9.5cm and Rhys head is a bit lower liao!!! Nurse say almost ready. Went to call my doc.
8.40pm - Doc say she will come now and ask nurse to down my epidural so that I can feel the contractions later. Wah lao, immediately after she turn down my epidural, damn pain sia... PAIN PAIN PAIN, and WANT TO PUSH PUSH PUSH!!!
Started to shiver uncontrollably. Lips, arms, legs and body just shake and shake. Kept breathing and dun dare to push. Still waiting for doc to arrive.
8.50pm - Doc finally came. Got ready and asked me to push. No strength at all. Too short breath. It is like super jialat constipation. I already cannot feel any contractions, just wanted to push it out but cannot... Very stressed... already wanted to give up... wanted to cry but cannot...
10.24pm - One last push and Rhys is finally out. Wah lao... that moment when he is out, is the best moment sia.... One loud cry and nothing matters liao.
First thing i look at my hb, he gives me a hand gesture that the baby is big...
Guess what... *** DRUM ROLL *** Rhys is 3.82kg!!!!
Everything went fine... I got one tear and stitches are done. By 11plus, I am back to my ward while bb went for bath.
That's it... this is my super long (14 hour hard labour) and dramatic birth story.
Very proud to have given birth naturally.
In fact, everyone was commenting that I looked quite good, can still walk around.
So I really did not regret enduring this 14 hours... although I really hate the pushing part...
(The siong siong and difficult time is yet to come... update you all again later... sigh...
I cried the first night home... )