(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

xena princess - we decided to give her the jabs, but we haven't yet. her PD advised to give it to her after her 6th month...sorry to cause confusion
-------------------------------------------------

isetan sale - think the one tomorrow (8.30am -10pm) @ isetan scotts is for members only...but each member is allowed to admit another one...
-------------------------------------------------

Weaning off the breast - in the beginning, i was so adamant bout exclusively b-feeding rae ann that i never gave her the bottle till she's 2 months old...

and she totally rejected it with angry tears and hunger strikes...so we stopped pushing it although i must have bought so many different types of teats to bottle train her...

i'm planning to go back to work when she's 9 months....anyone can advise me whether its possible to train her to drink EBM from a straw by then?

as it is now, she doesn't even like the sippy cups...but its probably because i'm the one feeding and she'd rather have the breast...

anyone can offer advice?

Any mommy saw this in singapore? Thinking to get one for my girl.
Safer Bather II Cushioned Bath Support: Baby
725169.jpg

Thks cheekz...ya, i juz checkout isetan website, the sales only for members, too bad i juz cancel my card few months back...

tik i will head down to bra basah for book sales den...

here's a funny pic of rae ann @ 2 months...she is so going to hate me for this when she's older...hee
725187.jpg

she's wearing her first teeny-weeny bikini (which was too big for her @ that time)

cheekz,
your gal is so cute in this pix. I'm sure she will thank you for capturing this precious moment for her.

can someone pls remind again what's the name of this famous donut place that keeps popping up in our thread? I just want to write it down and make sure i go buy some when i am back.

<font color="ff6000">cheekz and xena_princess</font>, lucky my FIL and MIL did not make comments like that! Boys and girls are equal now!!

But my MIL does make irritating comments like "aiyah, your breast milk not enough lah, so little..." or "let baby drink formula milk lah"... and whenever my baby has constipation or is not feeling too well, she will say "must be because of your breast milk lah"

Never fail to make me angry! >
She's super unsupportive of me breast feeding my baby. She says now my baby only wants me to carry because I always breastfeed her... nag nag nag..

<font color="ff6000">Brenda</font>, you think it's because MILs are women? But my mum is soooooo nice leh.. :p

<font color="ff0000">cheekz</font> Hahaha... that picture is so CUTE! But yes, hahaha.. next time when she's grown up and a sexy babe and has a hour-glass figure, she may demand you to re-post another picture of her in a fitting bikini that do her justice! Hahaha!

<font color="ff0000">smiley</font>,
hey.. guess in the past, they don't give babies breast milk but formula milk so they didn't like the idea of breastmilk mah. That's why they give comments like that...

I only can remember one day, my dad came to me and ask ' Why u didn't give Wayne S26?' I replied to him ' Dad, tat's your time. Now for Zoe Tay's Similac and other brands. Why muz be S26?'

<font color="0000ff">Angeline,</font>
Donut Factory - 63376268

ilovebb,
I fast for a couple of hours. I think it's amazing! haaa!!! But can't resist again, I am back! But becos i am heading home very soon!!!

<font color="aa00aa">Smiley</font>
ha ha... my mum is also very nice and I trust her 100% with my girl..

I think inlaws are a bit like magnets .. u know the north & south thing.. either attracts or repels... but I think it's still important to live in harmony for everyone's sake as long as it's possible.

<font color="ff0000">little pony</font> Hahaha!! I got the same comments from my pantry auntie! She says why not give baby S26? S26 is the best formula..

<font color="ff0000">xena princess</font> I can only visit my MIL every now and then to stay in harmony.. I don't think I can "live in harmony" with her under one roof! heeheehee...

blue{peachie} oh forgot to answer you! i have not gotten my leapfrog yet cos takashimaya delivering it to me this Thur!
i arranged for delivery.

<font color="ff0000">littlepony</font> i also intending to create a library for JOvann leh hehee. but are u going to buy a bookshelf huh? what book shelf u getting? i trying to find something small leh, wanna put it in my cosy area. coz i dun want "jovann's library" to be in his bedroom....

<font color="119911">alicia</font> can you PM me your email addy? wanna send you Adele's photos we took that night.
you don't accept PM wor. just click on my nick and click on "send" a private message. thanks!

<font color="0000ff">smiley</font>
Sounds like both of our MILs belong to the same league! She also disapproved of my BF'g and announced loudly during first month that bb will be introduced FM when he hit 3 months old. But I'M SO PROUD TO SAY THAT I'VE NOT INTRODUCED FM SINCE FIRST MONTH!

Of course, now she keep comparing Gabriel's size to her brother's granddaughter, 3 months older that Gabriel and who is drinking (guess!!!) S26! She always say "The baby girl so QUTE... She drink S26 that's why she so chubby!" Sigh... ...

Anyway her latest comments now is that Gabriel always mistaken her daughter for me because of the specs! Really pisssssssed me off coz she's implying Gabriel is so stupid or severly short-sighted that he cannot recognize his own mother?!

daisybuttons, if you haven't taken delivery, then you still can change your mind about the leapfrog (which means my advice did not come too late). See whether u can source for a leapfrog exersaucer, put little Jovann in it and see how he (and you) likes it. Takashimaya has an exchange policy of 7 days from date of purchase.

Jasmine, just realised I cannot take PM leave tomorrow cos I have a meeting! Haiz!!!! Have to go in the morning and then rush back for a meeting at 11am...
Anyone going in the morning? Can sms me.... my hp is 97472199.

Yuna, yes... you need to be a Isetan cardholder... but I can bring you in! You keen or not? You can go down tomorrow morning and I can meet you there....

hi. been really bz today cos Caleb was down with slight fever in the morning, then refused to slp, refused to drink milk, refused to take tu tu, refused everything. i'm so tiring now.

managed to briefly go thru the postings. abt MIL now? i can share all your sentiments. me not only have to face MIL but also a foster MIL (hb's god mum).

BRAS BASAH FAIR
I just happened to go to BB today too and saw the fair! It's GREAT! A lot of children books selling for $5 and further 30% discount! Must go must go... It's on the first floor.

But warn you first, it ends this Sunday........

hi cheekz
javier was also very angry when we started introducing bottle to him when he was abt 2mth plus going to 3mth.
coz got to train him before i go back to work after my 3mth ML.
did it 1st day 1 time. he's ok.
2nd day, tried twice he cried and struggled.

then we stopped for a week, then tried again.
this time i dont feed. i got others to do it.
so after a few tries and struggles, he finally drink from bottle (during day time) - both EBM and FM.

then when i'm back to work and on weekend, i continue to latch.

so now, i'm on latch on weaning. heehee.
coz i'm going on trip next mth. then he got no latch on. so got to break his habit now.
'cold turkey' the last 2 nights. very grouchy and bad mood

<font color="0000ff">Selina</font>
Is Caleb ok? Really teething? *sayang sayang* poor baby and poor poor mummy.

Geez for you is double woes! I can really imagine mannnnnn.... ... One is bad enuf! 2!?!?!?!

<font color="0000ff">phoebe</font>
How do you go about the <font color="119911">cold turkey</font>? Totally ignore his cries and force him to feed from bottle? I also want to break his bad habit to nurse to sleep at night but really can't bear him to cry so badly

That time I tried, he cried really hard for 30 min without stopping! Then I totally give in to him ler.

smiley & xenaprincess

hehe, all mils are nice to their daughters

i always wonder, if mum has a son , will she be as nice to the DIL as to me..

Ling,

Thanks for the info!!! Haha! Peachie the shopaholic will be there!!! Die die must go, esp my workplace is a 5 mins walk to Bras Brasah...

Selina,

Take care yah? Hope Caleb gets better soon!

phoebe
How long did it take before Javier finally switched to bottle? I've been trying to get Sophie to switch to bottle even tho I'm SAHM but sometimes she's ok, sometimes she's not. And once she starts crying when i'm feeding her bottle, i cannot tahan will immediately let her latch on.

She is norm ok when others feed her BUT when it comes to me, it depends on her mood.

Shd i try cold turkey?

peachie
YAH! This one cannot miss! If you have older kids, even better coz they also have a lot of kids books. It's almost the whole of first floor.

Selina
Yah.... i hope Caleb gets well soon.... so is it teething or fever? Or both? Sophie shares the same bday, does that mean that i will have to go thru another nursing strike?! i thot i just finished that phase. Our kids are moving too fast, i cannot catch up!!!

nearly fainted when my colleague tell me this, " your sakura opens liao " He has read the Sunday Times and the sakura pictures in Japan are splashed all over

hoping that my tour group cannot be formed, cos when we registered, there were only 2 persons, excluding us..

Gave a quick call to Dynasty and was told that my tour already has 21 persons liao !

DARN...Sob * sob *

Called hubby who was taken aback too , " so we wun even get to see those that fell to the floor ?" he asked..

"yupz, cos all turned into fertilizer by the time we reach in 3 weeks time"

<font color="119911">dumpty/ling</font>
after the 1st week trial which he rejects the bottle. we stopped for abt a week before we introduce again.
with the bottle, we give EBM. seems like he also like his milk warm lor. abit cold liao, he dont want to drink. so we will put into warmer to heat up again.
the 2nd trial, we gradually increase his no of times with bottle.

with 1mth used to the bottle, i also introduced FM to him liao. javier drinks the S26 Gold Alpha Pro. same problem happens again lor. he drinks from bottle, but rejects FM.

so got to repeat the cycle again.
we started only 1 meal FM, then all EBM.
day by day increase the no. of FM for him.
so now, he drinks abt 2 times of FM, 1-2 times cereals, and 2-3 times EBM + nite time latch on.

since 2 days ago, we are weaning off latch on. he got problm sleeping at night coz i do nurse him to sleep most of the time. so when he wants to sleep, he's 'digging' his head down towards the breast hoping to nurse. sigh..

he got so fustrated that he cried (whining)
then we carried and give him bottle. so far, he unwillingly drink from the bottle and falls asleep.
so hopefully he will 'pull thru' this period w/o latching.
but i missed latching him on

june
well, i'll say S26 is a pretty good formula, esp. with the new formula with Alpha Pro.
forgot wat its good for. maybe u can call them up to get more information.

as for KK, wat is top up?
btw, all hospitals are on rotation for milk powder. for govt hospitals, all manufacturers are given equal exposure / opportunity for them to sample out their FM to the new babies. as there are 6 players (Similac, Friso, Enfa, S26, Mamil, Nan) each brand is entitled to 2 mths of rotation sampling. There is a fixed calendar schedule on a yearly basis. So depending when you deliver your baby, you will get different brand of milk powder of the month. however if you request for certain brands, they will offer the brand of your choice.

For private hospitals, it works differently. Whoever got more $$ will have more rotation slots.

Btw, the S26 formula has been changed many years ago (which mummies used to complain that their bb have constipation after drinking - heaty)
No such issues now. Bb are also encourage to drink more fluid - water.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000">Selina</font></font>, how is Caleb? Is he teething? * pat pat* .. get some help.. maybe your hubby and you can take turn to take care of him so you can have some rest !! take care ya.

hmmm.. 2 MILs? * faint *

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000">Jo</font></font>, this year the weather is warmer and so the cherry trees are expected to blossom 1-2 weeks earlier. But it also depends on which part of Japan you are going.

weaning off breasts
i started reducing latch on to once a day when jo reached 5 mths. n cut down my pump session once a day. weaning jo off the breast is not a prob the prob is my ss just refuse to stop! its causing block ducts and a whole set of problems. i resorted to the pill but even that didnt stop my breasts from working to produce milk!!! in the end, i ended up with severe infection, now on antibiotics again!! went to kk to see LC as im worried it may turn to breast abscess. OUCH! LC massage so painful i was screaming my head off in the room. and when i came out everybody was staring at me!! LC was really nice though and actually asked me to go home and cont bf my babysince the pill couldnt even stop my milk! i was really in a dilemma then. but i figured sooner or later i gotta stop anyway n now since im halfway there n i didnt wanna confuse jo. now, ss still there but breast much softer. thk God!

was it cheekz who were saying she wanna go back to work when bb turn 9 mths? well let me share my exp. i didnt manage to wean my boy off v well the last time. he cheated me in fact! he was off to a good start by taking bottle well for first 2 week. then aft that i went for church camp n i came back my mom told me he strated rejecting bottles n by then bm already dried up!! how to relactate? had such hard time adjusting him to diff teats, straw and what have u. in the end he has never liked anything n untl now he is still drinking milk using a cup n spoon. btw he is now 3 yr old. really hope my gal will not follow his foot steps.

cheekz, seriously i dun think at 9 mth old a baby can drink a full bottle of milk using a straw. she may drink a lil but not a lot. but thats just how i feel.

<font color="ff0000">Daisybuttons</font>, Just pm u my email add. Thanks for sending the photos to me.

<font color="119911">cher</font>, my gal is also on enfalac. Understand from the consultant at the hotline, we can change to stage 2 after 7 months. I heard from my SIL is that u can switch to stage 2 later than the date stated in the tin but not earlier. For eg, if the age group stated on the milk tin is 7 months & above, u can switch to stage 2 when your child is 7 months or even 8 months but not at 6 months. Hopefully I did not confuse u here. If u have any further queries, do give their hotline a call to check just to make sure.

Hi Mummies, just noticed today that Adele has got a white spot on her gum. Finally, her first tooth would be out soon. She has been drooling for months n I have been wondering when will her first tooth be out. Have your babies have their first tooth yet?

Hi Mummies. 10q for all your concerns. fever went down liaoz but still refused milk since 10am today. no choice i made cereals for him at 4pm n he took it like a hungry monster. then again refused milk n i just managed to make him take 100ml before his bedtime but not without a lot of crying tho (wif mum's help). glad he is a slp now. his total nap time today is less than 1hr. can see he is super tired but just refused or shld i say cannot slp? was telling hb, every single one of us went thru this stage but somehow we just cant seen to understand or ti3 hui4 exactly what he is going thru, the level of discomfort... suddenly i felt so helpless seeing him cry n cry.

<font color="0000ff">ling</font> yah for once i thought the days of strike is over for me but guess not. was told different bb response differently so hopefully Sophie will be easier.

<font color="ff6000">orange</font> hb? he totally cannot manage let alone now. lucky i still have mum ard otherwise think i will end up crying wif him. at nite is worst cos he wakes n dun want milk, dun even wan water n hard to pat back to slp. shack out man.

<font color="0000ff">dumpty</font> i really dunno if teething or not leh. no white spots appearing yet but upper incisor gums felt hard n sharp.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">cheekz</font></font>, hey! Rae Ann is another hairy babe with a sexy pout! woow her tummy tumtum just like mine!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Xena</font></font>, demo on headgear? errrr.. why me ah?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Smiley</font></font>, then you're so lucky cos I've been suffering from birth.. From stuffing me with ribena to stuffing me all the mambojumbos today and yet not lift a finger in helping me with Arianne! uuurrrgghhhh..

<font color="ff6000">phoebe</font>
oh.. so is like tat ar... top up is oso wad they call supplement(according to my hb lar) when i was in hospital, the nurse told us if jayden cannot get enuff milk frm mummy, ask them for top up...

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>
Tell us abt the shooting? which show?? hehe...

<font color="0000ff">ling</font> think i going mad soon. saw your post on the BB Fair and i actually read it as <font size="+2">"BRAS BASAH as in BAZAAR"</font> and was going like great just in time when i needed to get new ones
then i realised i read wrongly cos u mentioned bb books cos i was still telling myself, what has bras gotta do with books..... see lah caleb driving me nuts liaoz

Wanna buy Annabel Karmel cookbook on Feeding your baby and toddler, blur until i go and bought the New complate Baby and Toddler Meal Planner. Thinking of selling it off, let me know if anyone want to get it.

Dear Sept Mummies,

My daughter Chloe was born on 26 Sept. I've been reading this forum on and off (normally during pump sessions) and would now like to join in the fun.

Here's some stats on my daughter and a picture of her in a ladybird costume taken recently

DOB 26 Sep, 65cm, 7.5kg @ 5mths 1wk.

725481.jpg

Alicia
Alexis has two bottom teeth and breastfeeding HURTS like mad when she choose to engage in some chewing! Told her off but she is one forgetful baby...and re walkers, I asked Alexis's PD and she said okay to usage. Alexis been using one since she is 5 mths old.

Orange
Alexis's PD also from Raffles Hosp, is yours Dr Veronica Toh?

Jo
Your baby looks so happy! Can't seem to get mine to smile at the camera...

Cheekz
Love that bikini, whoa!

PG
Hi and welcome, you have a good looking babe! Where did you get that costume from?

Isetan Private Sale
Went down today and reserved some stuff (I am lucky Mum works there so can reserve, no need to join the crowds tomorrow...hehhee), including combi shoes, walker, chopping board, knife and peeler esp for baby, Bumbo, thin-tipped cotton buds and so on. Strollers all pretty exp...

Baby Cookbook
My SIL bought me SuperFoods for Babies and Children, which I think is not bad, except this book does not advocate feeding a certain food for a period of time to ascertain allergies.

Books
Anyone has the Grolier set? Hubby just got a set for baby Alexis!

Leapfrog
There are many Leapfrog products out there - which ones are you guys specifically talking abt huh? Very confused...

Hi Jerene,

Thanks for the compliment. Think I'm a bit slow with the computer. But somehow managed to answer your question in my post to Ling.

selina, aiyoh u poor thing lah, so tired out that u see bras basah into bras bazaar hehehe.
hope caleb gets better soon!

peachie, sms-ed you oredi! hope to see u tmlw!

jerene, so good! i dun work near there leh, always have to squeeze witrh the crowd to check out the stuff.

PG, thats a nice photo! welcome! u must be another good photographer like puppylove!

alicia, i send you the pics tmlw kae?

dumpty, aiyoh why ur MIL like that. can imagine loh, sometimes old ppl think they know best coz its how it was done in their time. they always think chubby babies are healthy babies, but not necc so mah! sigh....hang in there. just one ear in one ear out!

jo, i dun understand, why u wishing that ur tour group not formed? u cannot go japan issit? me no understand.

brenda, yah sorry! my mistake!!! its greenridge. i keep calling it greenwich since day1! i dunno why! think its coz of the blairwitch proj.....eeerrr..dun ask me whats the relevance! i think its the time, so late liaoz i am going gong gong. oh and forgot to thank you for the info on avocadoes. yes u are right loh, it says "NO NEED" to cook, didn't say "CANNOT COOK" right? hehehee.....

yuna, yes its for members only, BUT BUT BUT the one at Orchard is open to public! its the scotts one thats private. but then again most special buys are at scotts i think.

On bottle feeding,

Ling, my experience with introducing bottles to Chloe was quite a struggle too. Initially she would take the bottle very reluctantly after much coaxing and drink very little. And she won't take the bottle from me. Later we found that its because of the bottle. We switched to Pigeon wide neck and its much better. In fact I think she really enjoys the bottle now. She used to fuss during latch on by day because she is distracted by everything around her. Now she can finish 5.5 oz from a bottle in 3 minutes flat every 4 hours. Pigeon's my all time favourite brand now. Hee hee Hope this helps.

Just in case the other mummies become suspicous... I don't work for Pigeon.

hi phoebe and blessedmommy,

thanks for the advice on weaning from breast to bottle.

perhaps i should try the 'cold turkey' method?

i don't think she would take the bottle with me feeding her (i'd cave in...can't stand seeing her 'angelina jolie' lips quivering with so much anguish and lil arms flailing about as if i'm trying to choke her with the bottle)

luckily my new helper is quite ok, coz my previous helper didn't like to handle my baby...

sighs...i really don't know whats gonna happen when i return to work @ 9 months...her health is not too good now so i don't think i'd wean her off the breast yet since she already lost alot of weight when she had bronchiolitis....

perhaps when i start giving her solids, i'll try to train her to drink from cup....worse come to worse, my helper will have to spoon feed her the milk when i'm at work...

being a first time mummy, i really had no clue that it'd be this difficult for babies to drink from bottles...coz i see so many babies happily drinking from bottles, never expecting mine to hate it so much...

also, my LC actually told me not to intro bottle until second month...by then she was so used to breasts she doesn't want anything else...and i had no one to help me to bottle train her....