(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font color="ff0000">Sha</font>,

ahhhhh... so angry. Sha, i saw your msn message but sob sob i cannot type my message and reply leh. Can someone tell me what happen?

How come MILs always create headaches to DILs hor?? FILs not so bad, but it's always MILs??? Heehee... Mummies here who have boys, next time be good to your DILs ya? :p Heeheehee...

<font color="0077aa">Daisybuttons</font>, thanks for the advice! Me thinking of getting 2nd hand too. My sis is passing her gal's high chair to me. Do I still need to get the booster seat in this case? As Adele is really small in size, tot that the bumbo might last her for quite a while if she is willing to sit.

Any mummmies hear thinking of selling their bumbo baby seat?

<font color="119911">Chng's Wife</font>, dun worry. Do what u think its right for your child even if it means offending your MIL. To cut the story short, I have a similar encounter. My SIL (hubby's sis) used to come over to my house everyday with her son who is 5 months older than my gal as she is not working to visit my MIL who is staying with us. The worse thing is bringing her child over even when he is sick. My gal caught the flu bug from her cousin when she was just 10 days old. To my MIL and SIL, a child getting sick is very common and normal and there is absolutely nothing to be worried or paranoid. Subsequently, my SIL continues to bring her son over when he was suspected of having stomach flu and I had to make a firm choice in order to protect my gal. I sat down to have a talk with my MIL together with my hubby and told her firmly that bringing a sick child to my house is a strict NO NO. Please wait till the sick child fully recovers b4 coming over and I had to stress the meaning of FULLY RECOVERED. Of coz my MIL and SIL were not happy with it but I dun care. Fortunately my hubby is on my side regarding this issue. I told him that if his daughter is sick, wont he feel heartache and we have to pay the medical bills when she fall sick. I really hope that you and your MIL can come to a compromise but do what u feel that its right. Just somme personal opinion from me.

LittlePony,
Any idea if the strollers are on sales as well? Thinking of going this sat...

Sha,
can advise which studio?
Mths ago, I've placed dep for some BP phototaking sessions & now, I have forgotten which one

Alicia, it's easier to be said than done for me...

I'm not against any Cantonese here. My mil is a typical cantonese. Even though she is English educated, it's so difficult for me and my hubby to explain things to her. She always feel that she is right. Sigh~~ I'm feeling so lost now. Too angry to even work.

<font size="+1"><font color="0077aa">Dumpty</font></font>, hmmm.. what i understand from heat rashes is you can relieve the pain/redness/warm by keeping your baby cool. So, let Gabriel sleeps in cool place, wear loose cotton clothing and of course cool those affected area by using cold wet washcloths. You shuold see the redness slowly diminishing..

<font size="+1"><font color="0077aa">EGGS</font></font>, I do know of someone (one of my neighbour) who feeds his grandson and granddaughter ONE egg per day when they were still less than 1 year! his SIL is a doctor !! can u believe it ... well, anyway, both of the grandchildren are still healthy .... thank goodness..

Smiley,
not all FIL! My FIL looked at my gal & said "too bad, no dimples" (like my nephew) & something "sigh
kao_sad2.gif
, not a boy & have a boy next time!" All these, I just ignore..

<font color="ff0000">Chng's wife</font>, I fully understand how you feel. The most important thing is whether your husband supports you in terms of this issue. If your husband feels the same as your MIL, it would really be difficult to convince her. For me, I convince my hubby that what I am doing is right and good for his daughter. I am not doing anything harmful to his mum or sis and its not against my conscience or anything. Most importantly your hubby must fully support you as he is the one to be with you for the rest of your life and not your MIL. I tell my MIL that I am not against her or her daughter. Its just that everyone has their own opinion and thinking and it so happens that our opinions are very different in this issue. Try not to get too stress over it. I am sure things will work out fine.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Chng's wife</font></font>
Alicia is true lor.. The most important thing now is ur ger's health... even if it means to offend her, it is oso for your ger's well being.. If something happen to ur ger *touchwood*, is she going to take up all the responsibility? or is it you and ur hb the one who is going to bear all the responsibility, taking leave from work, rushing in and out of home/hospital... Wad matter most now is, get this matter clear and straight into her mind.. let her know.. this is not right... No no!

<font size="-2">Haiz.. Brenda not ard, forum so quiet... (-_-)zzz</font>

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000">OMG</font></font> another sale.....I know Doreen is going as well!! i think she is probably there with Damien liao... hehehe

Brenda, I laughed till I almost flipped over when I saw your post! No no noK.. I am not looking for a toy stroller for him to wheel around the neughbourhood! Haha! I am looking for a real stroller to wheel him aroundK The price of the toy stroller looks darned attractive! But unless Clarence can safely sit in a toy stroller, I still will have to find a real one!

Hey, you are truly good eh? From montage artist, to baby modeling coordinator to baby cooking class professor! Kudos to you! That is truly very sweet of youK

Daisybuttons, I usually do not access the internet on weekendsK. Weekends are all taken up by bringing Clarence out and looking after him. PaisehK So din see your post until Sunday night. Its okie lah, Jasmines Jadelle really loves her leapfrog, so I guess every child is different. Have you put Jovann inside the leapfrog yet? Does he like it?

That friend of mine is looking for an exersaucer, and $120 is impossible for her to resistK. After all Clarence only used it for 2 days. So I guess she is still keen despite everything. Who knows maybe her baby will love it too! I guess buying toys is like this. Some hits and some misses.

I have copied out the entire chapter on Baby Products in Cosmetics Unmasked and attached it on this forum on Sunday night. Maybe you can look through the chapter and seeK. The list of carcinogens is found in the Annex of the bookK. And the annex is some 30 over pages long with detailed explanation of each family of chemicals and their effectsK. To copy the entire annex is quite impossible lehK. Basically what is more common in baby products is PEG and parabens. PEG stands for Polyethylene glycol, which is a proven dioxane and there is a known link to cancer. Parabens are from the benzoates family, which are linked to trigger childhood asthma and eczema. There are many many other chemicals which are harmful, but these 2 are more commonK. Maybe you can have a rough idea after reading the chapter on Baby Products which I attached.

b{Phoebe}, thanks for sending the calendula cream out! Yes, Yuna and I are neighbours! Not only are we neighbours, our babies can be mistaken for siblingsK Clarence and Clarice!

b{Chngs wife}, talking about feeding eggs, I was at Ya Kun coffeeshop with Clarence last Saturday morning for my breakfast. Seated right in front of me was this young couple with a little baby (boy I think) who is about Clarences age. Anyway, the baby cannot be older than 8 months cos the baby cannot sit unsupportedK. And before my very own eyes, the mother cracked open the egg (you know Ya Kuns eggsK. Very very runny type), and scooped out the yolk and started feeding it to the baby. She didnt even scoop well! The yolk broke and as she scooped, there was some egg white as well! Basically they just kept feeding and the baby ate it all up.

I was staring and speechless! Anyway, some parents just simply bo chapK And the baby looks so active and alertK and much more muscular and fatter than Clarence some more! Well well, sometimes dun worry too much. What is fed already cannot be undone. Just tell her firmly that no more eggs in the future. Basically, FULLY cooked egg yolks are fine. Egg white must wait till the baby turns 1 as the baby cannot digest the protein yet. Runny egg yolks are NOT recommended, as they may contain the salmonella bacteria and baby may get really sick.

I am keen to go for the Isetan sale too! But I only have one thing to buy lehK. The Combi shoes which are selling for $14.95 (UP$29.90). So still dunno whether I should take leave to go yetK.

Brenda, I laughed till I almost flipped over when I saw your post! No no no.. I am not looking for a toy stroller for him to wheel around the neughbourhood! Haha! I am looking for a real stroller to wheel him around The price of the toy stroller looks darned attractive! But unless Clarence can safely sit in a toy stroller, I still will have to find a real one!

Hey, you are truly good eh? From montage artist, to baby modeling coordinator to baby cooking class professor! Kudos to you! That is truly very sweet of you

Daisybuttons, I usually do not access the internet on weekends. Weekends are all taken up by bringing Clarence out and looking after him. Paiseh So din see your post until Sunday night. Its okie lah, Jasmines Jadelle really loves her leapfrog, so I guess every child is different. Have you put Jovann inside the leapfrog yet? Does he like it?

That friend of mine is looking for an exersaucer, and $120 is impossible for her to resist. After all Clarence only used it for 2 days. So I guess she is still keen despite everything. Who knows maybe her baby will love it too! I guess buying toys is like this. Some hits and some misses.

I have copied out the entire chapter on Baby Products in Cosmetics Unmasked and attached it on this forum on Sunday night. Maybe you can look through the chapter and see. The list of carcinogens is found in the Annex of the book. And the annex is some 30 over pages long with detailed explanation of each family of chemicals and their effects. To copy the entire annex is quite impossible leh. Basically what is more common in baby products is PEG and parabens. PEG stands for Polyethylene glycol, which is a proven dioxane and there is a known link to cancer. Parabens are from the benzoates family, which are linked to trigger childhood asthma and eczema. There are many many other chemicals which are harmful, but these 2 are more common. Maybe you can have a rough idea after reading the chapter on Baby Products which I attached.

Phoebe, thanks for sending the calendula cream out! Yes, Yuna and I are neighbours! Not only are we neighbours, our babies can be mistaken for siblings Clarence and Clarice!

Chngs wife, talking about feeding eggs, I was at Ya Kun coffeeshop with Clarence last Saturday morning for my breakfast. Seated right in front of me was this young couple with a little baby (boy I think) who is about Clarences age. Anyway, the baby cannot be older than 8 months cos the baby cannot sit unsupported. And before my very own eyes, the mother cracked open the egg (you know Ya Kuns eggs. Very very runny type), and scooped out the yolk and started feeding it to the baby. She didnt even scoop well! The yolk broke and as she scooped, there was some egg white as well! Basically they just kept feeding and the baby ate it all up.

I was staring and speechless! Anyway, some parents just simply bo chap And the baby looks so active and alert and much more muscular and fatter than Clarence some more! Well well, sometimes dun worry too much. What is fed already cannot be undone. Just tell her firmly that no more eggs in the future. Basically, FULLY cooked egg yolks are fine. Egg white must wait till the baby turns 1 as the baby cannot digest the protein yet. Runny egg yolks are NOT recommended, as they may contain the salmonella bacteria and baby may get really sick.

I am keen to go for the Isetan sale too! But I only have one thing to buy leh. The Combi shoes which are selling for $14.95 (UP$29.90). So still dunno whether I should take leave to go yet.

Peachie n Chng's wife,
I agreed with u on one thing. that's wat is fed already cannot be undone! ya.... so there's nothing much we can do except to handle this matter properly and calmly.

Xena,
I didn't pay attention to the strollers leh. Sorry about that.

Hi Mummies! Was going thru the thread and saw that quite a few mummies are getting exersauces for your babies. The exersauces looks the same as walkers except that they have more activities. Are they the same actually? One of my colleagues was telling me that it was shown on the news (I can't remember when) that walkers are not good for babies as it interfere with the development of babies legs. Not too sure if this is the right explanation. Somehow its like the way they sit in the walker and their legs are 'wide apart'. Anyone heard of this?

<font color="0000ff">jasmine</font> oh hehehe glad to hear jadelle likes it. Jovann also likes banging on stuff, so hopefully he likes the keyboard! thanks thanks.

<font color="ff0000">brenda</font> oh greenwich! its been ages since i go there. nowadays its always hubby who go there during weekends to buy lunch if we eating frm there hahaha. but i have 2 ducks at home oredi, one from safety first called "safety duck" that can test water temp. but it doesn't QUACK in the water! its water proof so bo sia ah! canot make it. another one cheaper one can quack hahaha.

<font color="119911">phoebe</font> yah loh, think monitor one more day for poo then say lah hor? coz he 1st few days got poo well leh.

<font color="ff6000">peachie</font> thanks for the info. will ccheck when i get home. gosh! got such mommies just feed egg yolk like dat! how come some ppl dun read up huh? i really dun understand. even rationally thinking u will know not everybody has stomachs that can take raw eggs, not to mention babies! prob she sees she feed oredi her son become so muscular so she tot its good?

<font color="0000ff">isetan sale</font>
So jrt, daisybuttons, littlepony, jasmine, maybe peachie, doreen. what time you girls going? jrt and I going in the morning. i only recognise jasmine. jrt recognise doreen. littlepony i rem from photos. peache i dun! hehehehee.

<font color="ff0000">littlepony</font> dun have thermaflask meh? the special buy have leh, or issit yesterday they haven't bring in yet? i intend to buy one hehehe.

<font color="119911">alicia</font> no prob. may be hard to find a 2nd hand one from this thread wor, coz our babies still young can still sit hehehe. you go to the main page, and search "bumbo" under subject title. do it frequently if you can't find, coz at one point of time got a lot of mummies selling but snap up very fast! hehehe. oh you will be getting a high chair? then it depends, can Adele sit unsupported yet? the bumbo is more for babies who canot sit unsupported. but if they like it, can still sit them inside once they can sit unsupported. its portable, so some ppl like bringing it outside where they can put on chairs beside them (i know brenda does that). but of course need to watch carefully lah. as for highchair, long term very useful. since Adele is stayinh at ur house and ur MIL and maid looks after her at your house, you prob just need either the highchair (IF Adele can oredi sit in it) or the bumbo if u dun go for portability. for us though, we sometimes put Jovann in the bumbo when we sitting on the floor doing something, so he can sit at our level so he wun get frustrated.

<font color="ff6000">xena</font> you very cute leH! hehehe paid for the phototaking but forgot which studio.
u still have the mail confirmation?

<font color="0000ff">walkers</font> alicia, i did hear before the thing you said about walkers. i heard using it will make babies start walking later than usual, some says it cause them to walk on tiptoe (esp if walker wrong height). i dont know how true so have been hesitating buying one. exersaucer or activity centre is for babies to sit in(half stand) and be entertained and stimulated by the toys around them. some teaches motor skills, some cause and effect (e.g. baby bounce and the balls will pop around), some teaches alphabets and numbers (leapfrog). So i just tot i will buy one for him to try. anyway the price too hard to resist!

<font color="aa00aa">Daisybuttons</font>
Pai seh!!! I'm a implusive buyer. I remember I received an email from the studio telling me to book by end June but I simply could not locate the email now..among all the other BP correspondences.

I'm gonna faint~~ My mil deny all the stuff. I'm so lucky tat my hubby was with me when she was saying she fed e bb with half boiled egg.

Haha.. so happened my fren just forward me these pictures, so those who think it's safe to feed egg yolk and not egg white can use this to separate..
724920.jpg

724921.jpg

724922.jpg

<font color="0000ff">xenapriness</font>
Eurasian kids are always very good looking

<font color="0000ff">Chng's wife</font>

I can understand how upset you are !

<font color="0000ff">underdressedbaby</font>

724929.jpg

hehe, brenda, this is recoommended in this hot weather hor ;)

<font color="ff0000">Back from lunch!</font>

Chng's Wife
Good that your hb is there when she sae so...

jo
yup.. this is the kinda clothing recommanded...

oh dear,
i just realise that I don't have any summer clothings in the correct size for my gal. Better go get some for her this weekend, otherwise she will end up with heat rash when we go back.

June

hehe, but this kind of clothes not pretty though...

E Ling

i like amabel clothes though , very ladylike ;)

Chng's wife

lucky u, some people after saying something can deny one..heng ur hb is a witness too

<font color="ff0000">back from lunch at Bras Basah !</font>

eheh there was a book fair there and there were a lot of children books on sale.
I bought 4 of them, and all cost me <$40 !!

I bought one which is v similar to the Baby Play (Gymboree) called Learning Fundamentals. It has instructions on what to play with ur baby and the principle behind each game. That book cost me <$10 !! hehe what a steal ..

and i bought My First 1000 words, First Word Book and a story book with different textures pad. hehe so happy with my purchases !

ok back to work .. continue fasting from this forum

<font color="0000ff">ilovebb,</font>
Me too... bought a few books yesterday as well. I bought flash cards, animal book (a set of 4), nursery rhymes book as well. Bought it at Tanjong Pagar. Haaa!!

My this week's project is to create Wayne's little library. I am the librarian, deciding wat books are best for him! haaa!!!

Ya.. and guess what, i am also trying to fast from this forum

<font color="808080"><font size="-2">lilpony, i am still fasting from this forum... not supposed to see your msg and reply ... hehe but we are librarians now !! eheh </font></font>

ilovebabies, lilpony,

Sorry to 'break your fast'. Can give some lobang on where to go for good buys on children books. I love to read and would like to stock up for T when I am back. English books here are soooooo expensive.

ilovebabies

can i know where exactly is the sales at bra basah? I will be on leave tmr so planning to go down and take a look.

Thks.

ilovebb, thanks for sharing. I shall go over to Bras Basah tomorrow since i am bringing Cayden to his PD at Raffles Hospital tomm

Angeline

i am not sure, i just stumbled upon the book fair at Bras Basah just now. There's quite a variety of books. Perhaps u want to make a trip down.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">E-Ling</font></font>, looks like you pretty much covered everything in your food allergy list, good job there! of cos the other stuff will be like beer, coffee, cigarettes etc heehee..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Alicia</font></font>, I might consider selling my <font color="119911">GREEN bumbo</font>.. how much would u like to offer me? heh..

hi mommies!

wow, this thread is so busy! its so hard to keep up! all mommies here are so good @ multi-tasking...juggling so many things at the same time...i feel so overwhelmed and inspired!

menses - mine came last week! i thought b-feeding would delay it but it gave me 5 months reprieve...hope it would come once in a while only and not so regular...

btw, my supply did drop during that period! and breasts were sore so latching on became quite a pain...am glad its over now...

xena princess - my mil also said something quite 'irritating' when we found out it was a baby girl @ 5 months. She said, "its ok, TRY again!" Argh! Actually we found out the gender much later, coz can't see thruogh the scan...and she called up my gynae's office to ask the nurses if its true...

daisybuttons - i had Grp B strep too. but we already decided to give the pneumoccocal jabs, chicken pox and rotavirus since rae ann's immune system is quite weak...

isetan sale - i feel like going too, in the morning preferably.any mommies gonna be there then?

exersaucer - can rent to try out or go to the first few years shop @ paragon to test drive. rae ann loves hers and its ideal for us coz it allows her mobility without actually being moved..

<font color="0000ff">Cheekz</font>,
Actually, when sil gave born to a boy, FIL was telling us that he prayed that we could have a girl, in front of friends & relative.. then the turnabout on disappointment that my baby is a girl
kao_frustrated.gif
!! ... huh ..at least he did not call up the gynae.

Can feedback if your girl has suffered any fever or loss of appetite after the pneumoccocal & rotavirus jabs. When did Ann has her jabs?

hey hey, u gals going bras brasah tmrw ah??? Who going huh? If next week, we can do lunch!!! My workplace is 5mins walk to Bras Brasah Complex!

Daisybuttons,

I am taking PM leave to go Isetan sale! Anyone going in the afternoon? Can meet up!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Smiley</font></font>, I guess becos MILs are women after all.. and the older they get, the more ma-fun they become!

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Daisybuttoms</font></font>, ehh I thought its called greenRIDGE? errr.. I think the mama duck I have is the safety first one you've got, with a blue circle at the bottom for checking temp right..

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Jo & June</font></font>, it's not only clothes we need to take care of, also when they sit in strollers/bouncers/swings for too long.. some are so warm!

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">June</font></font>, havent shoot yet la.. 1730hrs

peachie,
me going in afternoon..pm me your number leh..
<font size="+2">WARNING, WARNING</font>, <font size="+1">jasmine & peachie shopaholics coming your way!!</font>

I thought there were lightweight strollers on sale leh..