(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font size="+1">brenda da bigger B..</font> how's this? sporty and elegant enough for racequeen A?

724285.jpg

<font size="-2">sorry mommies.. i know this is not a human baby.. but its also a baby lah.. keke..</font>

calendula cream
mailed out today to
- crystallized
- yuna
- peachie

just realized that yuna and peachie are neighbours. heehee

jo, will call you tonite. heehee..busy. no time to pop over to bt batok yet.
btw, u collect evening or weekend?

Morning Ladies, I need HELP!!! Any mummies subscribe Mother & Baby? Theres an issue that published baby below 1 year old should not take food that is salty, oily and sweet.

Anyone remember which months issue is that? My stupid mil openly say she brought my daughter to coffee shop to have coffee and half boiled egg (which I suspect she put pepper and sauce). Then I told her its not gd for bb. She started to Qn me. I wanna find tat article and show her!!!!

chng wife
how about doing a yahoo search on any articles from those baby sites?
they shld also offer similar answers for you to show ur MIL.

hi hi!
Me popping in for a quick post!

Urgently calling for <font color="ff6000"><font size="+2">Orange</font></font>!! Quickly check ur PM from me, thanks!

okie, me popping out again... Been too caught up w demands of work & home, tatz why MIA for so long... Really miss chatting here! To the 'new' mummies, welcome to this thread!!
I promise to join in again soon! tata for now...

Guess I'm 1 of the last mommies here to visit the taka fair. Went yesterday and got the booster seat for my gal, quite gd. Did anyone buy the avent 260ml milk bottles? Very cheap at $15.90 for 3bottles...normal price is $22.90 for 3 leh!

Brenda,
My baby's "Qi" also means unique, outstanding etc, so I think it's the same character as your elder gal.

Xena,
Barney vcds are very colourful and entertaining one.... I enjoy watching it with my gals (baby likes it too)

E-Ling,
I tried giving my elder gal the karihome goat milk when she's abt 1yr old after hearing gd comments fm frens and colleagues. She gagged after taking 1 sip coz it's rather smelly... got yang(1) sao(1) wei(4)...so I had to give the whole can away....wasted my $$$ as it is $40plus bucks per can.

jerene,

Thks for the info.

Blessedmummy, Phoebe,

What is BF weaning & latch on weaning? Me also weaning off yun, dropping a pump this week, so she only had 3 bttl of BM wit 2 bttl of formular.

Xena,

I had try both mamex & similac, both got lots of bubble. Both yun would drink. Similac easy to dissolve. Guess it depends on which one u first intro to d baby if she take on well, dun need to keep changing.

popping in for a <font size="-2">very quick</font> peep into the forum, and saw chng's wife post!

Chng's wife, oh my gosh, ur MIL brought her to have coffee and egg! its not only the pepper that is scary. its the caffiene in the coffee and the possible samonella germs in the raw egg! babies under 1 year old CANNOT eat egg whites! may have allergy coz super high protein. not to mention raw eggs. I subscribe Mother & Baby, i go home check for you tonite. but in the meantime, see if u can find out some articles that says babies under 1 yr old CANNOT take raw food, egg whites, or caffiene. show her...

Chng's wife? How come your MIL feed her raw eggs? I thought babies below one year old cannot take eggs? =O I am shocked..

Hey, anyone still breastfeeding and menses come already? Is it normal?

have been too busy at work so fasting from this forum these few days

popped in and saw Chng's Wife post ! OMG!

I read from some threads here that a baby suffer from allergy after taking egg (dont know egg yoke or egg white) and her body and face was swollen. OH I remembered her heart was swollen too !!!

Scary ! Chng's wife, better stop your MIL soon .. if she persist, better tell ur hubby or <font size="-2">I would find another caregiver</font>. Just my personal tots.

<font color="0000ff">E-Ling</font>, my cousin gave her son goat's milk formula powder as he is allergic to cow's milk. From what I heard, the smell of goat's milk is very strong and unpleasant. Her son screamed and refused to drink initially. It took quite a while for him to get used to the taste.

<font color="aa00aa">Brenda</font>, am I too late to join in for the food preparation class?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Emma da B</font></font>, errr.. not good enough.. thought Enzo has a ferrari?! heehee..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Smiley</font></font>, my menses came when I was still bfdg then.. checked with my gynae, he said its possible..

Chng's wife
I do have the same problem with you the other time round when i put my son under the care of my hb's grandma... She fed Jayden with egg yolk! *faint* that whole day i totally got no mood to work... Coz, the nite before i saw her feeding, i watched the Monday channel 8 show.. Juz nice feature sae baby cannot eat egg! Shocking! Well, i called my mum the next day lar... She was so angry tat, she said tat no means no! haiz...

June

i guess better be safe than sorry right ? can always let MIL takeover the bb when they turn 1 year old and body is stronger to take more food.

Sometimes my mum attempt to feed rachel other food, I told her u can go ahead but dun be sorry when things happen.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Chng's wife</font></font>, oh dear, do monitor your girl closely for the next 36hours.. in anyways, the allergy might not show now, could be months or years later. So got to be firm with your MIL, tell her it's not funny at all..

Ilovebabies
Well, for my case now.. My MIL will "ask for my permission" before feeding him anything... Oso cannot blame her.. Her 2 sons were not brought up by her... My mum will know wad can feed wad cannot feed... So, putting Jayden under my mum's care over the weekend, i totally have no worries...

<font color="ff0000">Chng's wife</font>
hehe.. worse come to worse.. Cry! tell her strict and firm tat in future should ur ger have any problem, they are not going to be the one who is xing ku... as being her parents, you and ur hb will have to extra extra careful with her eating.. So, dun give in! Otherwise, get her son to talk to her(this is wad i usually do)..

melody..
Hmm... 6 mths on ar... i think dun wan lar... wait till he turn 1 yo 1st... Actually, he was fed the egg yolk when he was 4 mth.. but i stop them from continuing after tat...

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Alicia</font></font>, no not at all! I think this is the most updated list so I'll just add your name ya..

Baby food preparation/cooking class conducted by Brenda
Date TBC : 31 March 2007
Time TBC : 3-5pm
Venue : To be Advise

1 Phoebe
2 Xena_princess
3 Michelle
4 Yuna
5 E-Ling
6 June
7 Angeline
8 Jerene
9 crystallized
10 Cheekz
11 Ling
12 Daisybuttons
13 Jo
14 Alicia

Can't make it 31 Mar but interested:
1. Sha
2. Dumpty

Mummies, please be reminded that this is a mummy only session, not possible to do the class with babies around la..

<font color="ff0000">Chng's Wife</font>, So far all the people around me has strongly advised that babies below 1 are not allowed to be given eggs further more half boiled eggs. Perhaps u would like to check with your PD and better still if ur MIL can follow and she herself can hear what the PD say and not based on what you say alone. Hope that you can convince your MIL. Wish u luck!

<font color="119911">Chng's wife</font>
Better inform your hubby of the danger of feeding babies eggs. I understand it is always difficult to talk to MILs regarding how to take care of your little one. My MIL also same as your so I always make sure I'm "hovering" around when she's with my baby so that I'm in time to stop her from feeding him any junks. But must make your stand wrt to NO FEEDING EGGS.

<font color="ff6000">Orange</font>
Thanx for concern. Baby Gabriel still not really improving leh. I never buy the miracle cream (aka BB Cali Calendula Cream) so now just have to use the cream that doctor provided. Brenda mention cannot stop the heat rash from developing halfway. Not quite sure I understand leh. Means like chicken pox like that let it develop and it'll go away after that?

<font color="0000ff">Smiley</font>
My menses not back yet but I've been wondering recently when it will come back. So enjoying life without the monthly "visits from auntie".

<font color="ffff00">E-ling</font>
Yah I also curious why you want to feed Amabel goat's milk?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Brenda</font></font>
Haha... eventually... Dun have lar... Is my dad... My mum scolded him off.. So he is STOUT-free!

Chng's wife,
Hmm.. don't worry. U are at an advantage since your mil read English and so, it's easier for us to find articles and u can show it to her.

Let your hubby deal with her directly if you feel that she doesn't listen to you. Next, get your PD's advice as well.

From all articles we read, i think it's the egg white that we should try to prevent babies under 1 yr old to take.

Keep cool.. talk to your hubby first and find a solution. Don't panic because u dealing with your mil. this is abit tacky.

<font color="ff0000">Brenda</font>, thanks for replying me.. =) Does that mean that my milk supply will diminish soon? I am always worried that this day will come as I will definitely miss latching on my girl.. But I also know I can't latch her on forever and the longer it drags, the more I will dread to stop.

cookiepie
u r not the last to visit taka fair. I HAVEN gone there yet!

chng's wife
goodness... isnt it common knowledge tt babies arent supposed to to take raw/semi-raw stuff? alamak...

smiley
its normal to resume menses while on tbfg. mine came once when i was in my 3rd mth of bfg... since then no more lah.

Tks Ladies, Tks for all e info. I'm gonna attack my hubby. Let him go and speak to his stupid mother. I'm so angry and pissed!!

Its been days since i got into this forum, so going to post all my replies at one SHOT!!!

<font color="0000ff">Peachie</font>, oh dear. why did you reply only after i buy the leapfrog?? booo hooo......how how how? hhhmmm... i was also thinking loh, its all electronic, may not have as much motor skills development which is what is crucial now isn't it? but i bought it coz i tot so much music sure keep him happy. jia lat...can return a not huh? heheheh! but from what u describe, do you think he may be interested in the leapfrog more when he grows up? coz sonds like evenflo more suitable for babies our age, but as they grow older and more developed they may liker the leapfrog? why did u sell away? how come you friend wanna buy if you got tell her clarence dun like it? oh btw, there is a teething toy in leapfrog, the microphone! hahahaa..

oh and peachie, u didn't reply on the ingredients for shampoo? asking u which ones are safe without carcinogenic compounds? hehehe. gerber okie a not? i din see sodium laureth sulphate inside. What is PEG?

<font color="0000ff">peachie and esksd</font>, i am using GAIA baby lotion too! as well as Nature's gate Organic baby lotion hehehe.

<font color="ff0000">jasmine</font>, can share how your Jadelle likes the leapfrog pls? really hope i didn't spend wrong money...

<font color="119911">ilovebabies and littlepony</font>, hahah u girls so farnie lah, bones cracking when u stand up? actally true hor, we shldn't sit so much on the floor oso right? hehehe.

<font color="ff6000">alicia</font>, thanks! hehehe yes get the bumbo! but then again, adelle growing up fast so maybe get the booster seat posted above better for her?! so can use for longer! me contemplating leh....hehehee...

<font color="0000ff">amlamum</font>, hi hi welcome! i used latacyd for Jovann for first 3 mths then changed to Gerber!

<font color="ff0000">Brenda</font>, yes i have given Jovann pneumoccocal jabs wor. hhmm personal choice lah, coz its an optional jab. for me, coz i was tested Streop B positive when preggie but cleared of it before i gave birth. so i read up on the effects of the pneumoccocal bacteria and virus, its pretty scary to me. so i wld rather give him the jabs then worry endlessly when he mix with others.

<font color="ff6000">Orange and emma</font>, aren't the swim wear u wore for your boys the same kind? its diff meh?

<font color="119911">JRT</font>, baby eistein have many titles and one of them is Da Vinci lah, hehehe. that one is for body parts. diff titles teaches diff things like shapes and numbers and animals...

<font color="ff0000">Jabs</font> pneumoccocal aka PREVNAR jabs costs $180 at my PD. I am also one KS mom loh, give Jovann so many jabs, sigh.....sometimes feel bad i am putting so much med into his body leh.

<font color="0000ff">melissa</font> aiyoh, hope you get well soon. and glad hannah is taking to FM well. yes indeed, they grow up so FAST! i used to hope Jovann can walk soon. but now, i really treasure every single min of his baby hood before he walks and runs around. every single stage is so precious.....

<font color="119911">brenda</font> wow how come you got so MANY small duckies! so cute!! hey, i was considering buying this bathtub, but tot it may be a bit small for Jovann now. but look at ur pic, not very small hor? chub chub Arianne can still sit in it! is it a good buy? did you put the tub on the floor? can't make out?!!

<font color="ff0000">phoebe and jrt</font> Jovann neber poo yesterday leh. its his 5th day on cereal. never poo only yesterday.shld i worry? how to massage tummy?

I'm calling my PD to seek more info. If she's gonna Qn me...I'm gonna bomb here! Think i will print out all info from those website also! I can sense my blood pressure goin higher and higher~~~

daisybuttons,

regarding <font color="0000ff">leapfrog exersaucer</font>,
Jadelle, intially went for the leappad book.. she kept flipping the page and make the music dance.. this went on for like 1 month.. next thing she discovered was the teething microphone.. she totally ignored the piano and the DJ station (that time was like 4+ months)..

next, she discovered that the seat can turn.. and woo hoo! she became a rolling disco baby.. recently, she started to learn to bang on stuff.. and that helped her discover how to "play" her piano.. I figured the DJ station, she will operate it once she master finger movements.. the only thing i no see her touch is the button that make the manual " frog croaking" sound ...

So, for me, it was a good investment.. but i think can last at most another 2 months as she has <font size="+1">learnt to pulled herself to standing position!!</font>.. heng i buy @ 160sgd.. otherwise, i will faint when i see the price offered @ taka @ 149sgd..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Chng's wife</font></font>
Haha.... Cool!! I used to face problems like yours.. But after i change a caretaker.. i am more happy.. Sometimes, if possible, i still wish tat my mum is the one who is taking care of Jayden for me.. at least, i wun face those egg prob, hanky wrap zut zut prob... etc... Now, i am back in my IL's place... i see things as one eyes open, one eye close.. Unless tat matter is so not right, den i will voice out.. otherwise, i will juz keep quiet..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Smiley</font></font>, no it didn't, no effects on my BM supply at all..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">daisybuttons</font></font>, I got the duckies at greenridge! the bookshop on the 2nd floor.. the tub is of good size for A and definitely can still use when sitting her up to bathe for her even if she reaches 1 yr old. Yes put on level surface.. can check out www.kidzloft.com.sg

daisybutton
1st day only. wait a while more and see lor.
mine took 3 days still no poo.
then we go visit PD.

PD also mentioned to give prune juice.
get those heinz or gerber type to give.

<font color="ff0000">june</font>, its egg whites that more dangerous for babies under 1 yr old. if its fully cooked egg yorks at 4mths, just that once and okie then shld be no problem lah.

<font color="0000ff">menses</font>. eh ladies, no menses doesn't mean not ovulating hor! so be careful ah hehehe *wink*. one of my gynae told me his wife TBF din have menses got preggie when baby 10mths old. hehehee...

<font color="119911">selina</font> ooooohhh where did you get the bumper mattress, so useful. but when baby can crawl they can crawl out oredi hor? can a not huh? recc for what age? can share supplier details pls? PM me? hehehe thanks so mucH! oh ur Caleb not eating or drinking mlik suddenly, could be teething?

<font color="ff6000">baby food</font> ask u mummies hor, when we buy potato, sweet potato, pumpkins, or other root vege or carrots (anyone replied brenda yet?) for baby hor, is there any special kind we shld be looking at? e.g. small sweet potato,. or pumpkins from japan or what? hehehe just hamtum-ing, coz i rem one mommy said she bought japanese sweet potato....issit? is it necc huh? orange, what is hydroponic baby carrots?

<font color="ff0000">xena</font>, Victoria is beautiful!

<font color="0000ff">alicia</font> oh dun buy the bumbo seat 1st hand lah, quite exp wor even with discount. buy it 2nd hand from the mummis in this forum.
thats what i did.

<font color="ff0000">Isetan Private Sale 15 March</font>
A show of hands who's going???

<font color="119911">okie back to work now!!! oh dear, i actually spent 1.5hours scaning through the archives and replying!! *GUILTY</font>

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">Chng's Wife</font></font>,
Yes I agree with Littlepony that you need to be careful as you are dealing with you MIL it is unlike your own mummy you can shoot her down anytime.

Take a deep breath before you do any confrontation, let your hubby do all the talking but you must show your unhappiness. Like what June say if really no choice Cry not to your MIL but in front of your hubby telling him that you are scare!

Worst Case: Get your PD involve: he is the expert who darn question him or her?? Bring your MIL down to the PD and let the PD speak her heard and let her hear it directly from the horse mouth. Of coz you must first work it out with your PD about what has happen and your concern and fear in order for her or him to help you out.

Keep cool at all time okie.

<font color="ff0000">Chng's wife</font>,
<font size="+2">OH MY GOD</font>, she is also a mother after all, dont she know that baby is allergy to EGG? Please stop her from doing that again. Get your husband to tell her. If not bring ur MIL along when going for next PD visit and get the PD to tell her.

I think i got to start getting resource and came out with a list that may cause allergy and get my family member to read it.

What other food that baby should be taken now and when then can give to them?

So far i only know the following:
Eggs (especially egg white)
Honey
Nuts, legumes, and seeds (particularly peanuts and soy)
Wheat
Corn
Citrus fruits and juices
Seafood
Meat

<font color="0000ff">Goat Milk</font>,
My friend asking me why not i give Amabel drink goat milk since she is so skinny. She said alot of her friend highly recommend goat milk. But i dunno how good it really is. So asking around lor, but i am not giving Amabel to drink lah. Just curious, want to know more.

Can anyone help to add to the list, if you know any that will cause food allergy. Thanks!

<table border=1><tr><td>Food</TD><TD>When to introduce?</TD><TD>Reason </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eggs (especially egg white)</TD><TD>To be introduced after baby turns 1 year old</TD><TD>Due to high protein content which will cause allergy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Honey</TD><TD>To be introduced after baby turns 1 year old</TD><TD>To cause a reaction in infants </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nuts, legumes, and seeds (particularly peanuts and soy)</TD><TD>To be introduced after baby turns 1 year old</TD><TD>To cause a reaction in infants </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wheat</TD><TD>To be introduced after baby turns 1 year old</TD><TD>To cause a reaction in infants </TD></TR><TR><TD>Corn</TD><TD>To be introduced after baby turns 1 year old</TD><TD>To cause a reaction in infants </TD></TR><TR><TD>Citrus fruits and juices</TD><TD>To be introduced after baby turns 1 year old</TD><TD>To cause a reaction in infants </TD></TR><TR><TD>Seafood</TD><TD>To be introduced after baby turns 1 year old</TD><TD>To cause a reaction in infants </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meat</TD><TD>After 8 months</TD><TD>To cause a reaction in infants </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font size="+1"><font color="0077aa">Daisybuttons</font></font>
well.. to be safe.. No eggs until he turn 1..

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">Sha</font></font>
hehe... Yup.. cry in front of our hb... tell them all the unhappiness we have...

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000">Chng's wife</font></font>
If PD still dun work, den guess it's time to put a total stop to it.. Allergy is a life long matter... no joke...

<font color="0000ff">E-Ling</font>,
Want to ask you where you got the clip for Amabel?

I need to think of something to get Sherilyn look more like a girl girl as we are taking family portrait next weekend.

Can MSN me the details?? [email protected]

<font color="ff0000">Sha</font>,
I sent the request to add you already. Dunno what happened to my stupid msn, i cant put my cursor on the send section to type a message. So angry! You try message me can?

Just popping in to say a quick "Hello", now busy in office and at nite, busy playing with my baby.

Jo,
both hb & me have chinese surnames lah... a bit complicated to explain as the non-chinese parentage have always been on the female sides...like mother, grandmother...

E-Ling,
Thanks for the compliment and very smart to give a flying kiss as Victoria will either bite your nose or lick your face if you kiss her..
hehe

SORRY, have to ask again...
Victoria has already completed all her 6-in-1 jabs at the GP. Now, being KS, pls advise:-
1) can she still take the rotavirus jabs since she has completed all her 6-in-1 jabs (heard someone said it might be too late??) & any effects such as fever or super cranky?
3) Pneumococcal jabs - has any baby suffered severe side effects such as fever for days?

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Daisybuttons</font></font>,

! Me going to Isetan Private Sale. I went down yesterday to look at the items i need to get.. juz being Kaisu! I went to reserve two clothings from Joop! instead.. Wanted to get a thermal flask to put Wayne's porridge but didn't see any.

So i am going down tomorrow lunch time to get my reserved clothings.