(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Angeline,

Quest is so expensive over there??? There was a John Little promotion last year, selling all the 2005 Quest models for $199 each, plus with 5% discount some more.... I almost bought the Quest then. Luckily I didn't. Few months later, John Little came up with another promotion to sell the Maclaren Techno Classic for $149 (UP $479). That's when I grabbed the Techno Classic.

edksd,
that is rather normal, per the old folks tale all baby get a kick at their butt before they are born that is why most babies got it. . hehehehe. . . dont know how true. Sherilyn also got one.

It will slowly fade away so do not worry.

Sha,

Haha! I like your point about babies got a kick in the butt! Clarence also has a huge patch on the butt as well, as well as his ankles. It's fading, so I just dun bother. When I first saw it, I though the doc who administered the BCG shot did such a poor job that the baby got so bruised!

peachie,
ya, the Techno is selling for about S$500 here. That's why didn't consider buying it. Its also much heavier rite.

Hmmm... should I go back to SGP to buy? But then T won't be able to use it on our flight from HK to SGP then.

I know many mummies here BF their babies. I really applaud your efforts & determination
. My poor Victoria is on Enfalac and has to be gradually upgraded to stage 2, most probably Enfapro. Advice needed... How to go about doing it?

Another question: I have given samples - Mamil Gold, Similac & Anfapro.. any comparison or preference by other mummies?

Hi edksd

My boy also has those blue black bruises type on his buttock. Heard from the elders that it's normal and it's due to the fact that they are being 'kicked by the dunno who to be reborn'. Those not willing to be reborn will suffer more bruises.

emoments & edksk
FYI.
The term Mongolian Spot(s) or Mongolian Blue Spot refers to the smooth blue-gray or slighty brown patches which can be found on the lower back and buttocks area of some East Asian and Native American Infants and babies. It may look somewhat like a bruise or rash. It normally vanishes three to five years after birth and almost always by puberty.

Mongolian spot(s) is a congenital developmental condition exclusively involving the skin. The blue colour is caused by melanin-containing cells—melanocytes—that are deep under the skin. Usually, it covers in spots or in one large patch one or all of the following: the lumbosacral area, the buttocks, flanks, and shoulders. It results from the entrapment of melanocytes in the dermis during the course of their migration from the neural crest to the epidermis during embryonic development.

The condition is not linked to sex, and both male and female infants are equally predisposed to Mongolian Spot(s). The spots are generally harmless and very common among some races. (It has been stated that the spots may be associated with cleft lip, spinal meningeal tumor, melanoma, and phakomatosis pigmentovascularis.)

Mongolian Spot(s) is most common among Mongols, other East Asian ethnic groups (Japanese, Indonesians, Koreans, Uzbeks, Turkmens, etc.) and some Africans. Nearly all Mongolian infants are born with one or more Mongolian Spot. 95-100% of East Asian and Native American infants, 40-50% of Hispanic infants, and very few Caucasian and other infants have it. It is also common if only one of the parents is East Asian.

<font size="+1">Angeline..</font> actualli the techno classic is also abt 500 bucks here.. that's the realli new one with the cover used during winter... i think the one 77 got was the one i almost wanted to get.. its the 2005 model.. but damn good buy.. me using the techno xt (2006)... so far so good..

<font size="+1">77..</font> i cant remember the model.. but its always on sale during their sale period... i would buy it if my nanny does not already have one.. light and compact...

<font color="0000ff">Xena</font>
What I have done is :

Morning or and Afternoon feed - Stage 1
The rest of the feed will be on stage 2.

It is advisable not to mix the different stage of milk powder.

Sha,
Many thanks!!!

I believe Sept'06 mummies are very informative and the most responsive...

Knocking off from work soon & going to collect my victoria from my mum.

<font color="0000ff">Xena</font>,
You can post any question but we may not have the all the answer so if there is no respond that mean we do not know lor. . right <font color="ff6000">Orange</font>??? . . hahahaha. . .

okie me going home to. . very tired liao.

Finally settled in front of the pc, you guys been busy!

Can I give Stage 1 (till the can finished) even though the baby is slightly older than 6mths?

I really envy those whose babies are happy to be in a stroller/car seat. If Alexis will sit in one, I will get a jogger stroller - looks so stylo! Mine is a sarong baby, speaking of which I also wish to know the diff betw a baby sling and baby pouch??

Brenda
So you gonna be a Xing Ma huh? Way to go, make baby earn to pay for her milk! kekeke...

Xena
Maybe your hubby know my hubby - he also said something to a similar effect - abt Alexis being allow to go out on her own only after she turns 21! Good grief!!

Hey no prob abt the list, maybe we can even scroll through and see what appeals and arrange for a trial class just for our babies...

Going to dig out my baby's health booklet now so I can add on to the stats Brenda gave...including mine, there shld be 25 mummies and Sept 06 babies!

Later!

<font color="0000ff">Emma</font>
Yeessss I remember his toy driving wheel! Coz he look so cute mah! When are you putting up the P-plate for him?

This morning when I left his back looks real bad. And I think it sort of itch coz he keeps pulling at his clothes and toss and turn at night. Basically he din really sleep well (which translate to mummy din sleep well too *yawn*).

<font color="119911">Q2</font>
Hmmmm... I'm still BF Gabriel. But he was on Friso during the 1st month as supplement. I haven't decide which FM for him should I start to wean so any information from other mummies also very welcome for me

<font color="ff6000">Diana</font>
That's loads of info on the 1 spot! Hehehe.. Gab has it too and seems like we have almost 100% of babies having it here?

<font color="ffff00">jRt</font>
I saw R and C's pics in the Oct thread. R really very active hor? Think can fight with my G.

<font size="+1">Jerene..</font> if i'm not wrong a sling is adjustable, but a pouch is fix.. thus the sizes..
but basically its functions are the same..

lately my Keane's poo is dark greenish in colour. It's really very dark till 1 glance I thgt it looks like cement colour!! I'm worried!! Can someone adv me is this normal? I juz intro follow on milk to him, could this be the reason?

\blue[ me wana join too}

Baby food preparation/cooking class conducted by Brenda
Date TBC : 31 March 2007
Time TBC : 3-5pm
Venue : To be Advise

1 Phoebe
2 Xena_princess
3 Michelle
4 Yuna
5 E-Ling
6 June
7 Angeline
8 Jerene
9 crystallized
10 Cheekz
11 Ling
12 Daisybuttons
13 Jo

Can't make it 31 Mar but interested:
1. Sha
2. Dumpty

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000">Angeline</font></font>, why dont you make a trip to babyhyper mart when you are back. There are so many model for you to choose and their price is pretty reasonable. The only problem when you purchase in Singapore is the warranty though. I cant advise you much as Cayden is driving a 9KG Peperego around !! hahaha. But It is very sturdy!

<font size="+1"><font color="119911">Sha</font></font>, yes yes !!lol.. I think you can just save that as a template so that you dont have to type it everytime ! hehehe

<font size="+1"><font color="119911">Dumpty</font></font>, Oh dear.. hope little Gabriel is getting better! Did you purchase the miracle cream aka California cream..hehe? I think you can apply that on the heat rash. But I think the best remedy is to use water to clean it 2-3 times a day to keep it cool

Hi mommies, been so busy since its sch hols now!! my house is like a zoo with wild monkeys on the loose!!

just wanna say to the mommy of baby victoria, ur lil one is so charming!! she looks like a doll!!

<font color="0000ff">dumpty</font>
mine, urs and Joon's boys can all sit together and compete for the title of the most active baby when we nxt meet! They simply cant keep sit!

BTW i noe Reubern's late but i wanna say this <font color="119911">He has finally flipped for me to see at 5.5 months old!</font> When he flipped, he was doing it rather effortlessly machiam as if he has done it for the hundredth time though in fact it was his 5th attempt at flipping. HOORAY! Finally!!!

724049.jpg

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Daisybuttons</font></font>, just thought I show u an example of 'pre-ripened' avocado which is shown here on its sticker. I bought this at Taka's cold storage so they're hard and raw. So I blanch/steam it if I want to feed Arianne on the day I buy, if not, I'll leave it outside (sometimes half bury it in the rice bucket) and allow the fruit to ripe(soft) then feed.

If I make milk shake with it for adults to drink, I prefer to have it raw but slightly blanch first before blending with milk..

<font size="+1"><font color="119911">JRT</font></font>, congrats !!! But, R will be even more active now that he can flip !!! hahaha

<font color="ff6000">orange</font>
thks.
OMG, thks 4 reminding me tt he will b more active! this boy alrdy super hyper b4 flipping... now... WORSE!

<font size="+1"><font color="119911">JRT</font></font>.. hehehe.. and you will have fun changing his diaper !!! ENJOY !!! kekeke

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Emma da B</font></font>, alright! On ah! Arianne's taste should be the same as her mum's, nothing cute cute like beetle or roadsters hor.. must be sporty and elegant! And she'll don on her mini-est skirt!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Dumpty</font></font>, oh glad u got that sort out and heat rashes will go quickly, so don worry ya.. And I don't think you can STOP the heat rash from developing halfway, only to stop it from having more.

Anyhow, I realised that a lot of mummies tend to over-clothed their bbs(I think <font color="0077aa">E-Ling</font> is one culprit! cos once I carried Amabel and her neck/back was soaked! hee..). We ONLY worry that they might be cold, but warm?! I've heard of bbs who died of over-heating, rarely becos of cold. And especially our weather is TERRIBLY hot these days, we got to really watch out for 2 MAJOR illnesses - Heat Rash and Skin Inflammation due to over exposure of UV Rays. So avoid going out between 11am to 4pm..

<font color="ff0000">Xena</font>,
Victoria is so pretty, same pattern as Arianne, look very angmo.A flying kiss to her. Muack! Pretty girl

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Orange</font></font>, <font color="0000ff">blue</font> rubbie duckie?! I want! where u got it?!

Arianne : "<font size="-2">but why don tell Aunty Emma da B*t*h? I also like Enzo what.. he has got nice smile and butts, can he come pleaseeeee...</font>"

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie</font></font>, gooot! Toys'R'Us got sell, got come with a doll too.. but maybe u to tall for it.. heehee Maybe next time when Clarence starts to walk and he wants to imitate his mummy using stroller cruising him, u can buy him that la.. I mean the masak-masak one la..

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Mongolian Spots</font></font>, I was going to come back from today's mutli-cultural gathering and share a funny joke with u girls and zun zun u girls also were talking about Mongolian Spots! hee..

One of the multi-cultural mummies, Naadia told us her Mongolian Spots story. She returned with her bb Surianne and American hubbie to US sometime earlier this year. While changing Surianne's clothes, her SIL happened to be peeping into the room and saw all the green-black-blue patches on the back of the bb. And this girl quickly called her mother (which is Naadia's MIL) and told her that Naadia has been abusing Surianne! They thought Surianne kena smacked by the mummy until blue-black! heehee..

Anyway my understanding is that these spots are only found on Asian and Mediterranean babies becos of our skin's pigmentation. So for ang mohs, they've never seen anything like that..

Aunty <font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Sha</font></font>, since when u become a mambojumbo aunty le.. hee

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Jerene</font></font>, sorry ahh what is 'xing ma'? I think I asked someone else here before too but didn't get a reply..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">BlessedMommy</font></font>, how u doing with your weaning? I mean BF weaning? successful?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">jRt</font></font>, ah better late than never! *clap clap* And very soon, he'll be dancing with his milkicino-in-making mummy!

Brenda
Literally Xing Ma means Star Mummy, this phrase usually refers to the mother of an actor or actress :p

brenda xing ma
BF weaning no good!! hv told u why on msn right. aiyah too lazy to type my old grndma story here!!

eh the mongolian spots story very funny!!

blessedmommy
now you doing BF weaning huh?
me now latch on weaning..
poor javier on 'cold turkey' program now.

got tips?
will take how long huh?