(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+2">JOON</font></font>
wait for me. i also wanna confirm my attendance for the <font color="ff6000"><font size="+2">BBnC trial</font></font>. any of the 2 sundays is fine with me. just slot me in to any. i will trsf to you tmr can?

brenda
the captions are so funnie
i also like the one on the faking dead one

Who can/cannot make it on 31st Mar? cos I think 14/15 Apr a bit too far le then all the bbs will hit 7 months by then!
1) Sha
2) Phoebe
3) Xena_princess
4) Dumpty
5) Michelle
6) Yuna
7) E-Ling
8) June
9) Angeline (count me in, I'll grab any chance to meet up with you mummies)

Strollers.
Mummies, give me some tips on which stroller to buy please. Need lightweight, heavy duty and 1 hand operation.

I think quite a few of you have Combi rite. Is it good? Does it last? Which model do you have?

<font color="119911">Brenda</font>
Sorry I missed your question on the carrots earlier. I used the big ones. Bought in NTUC pack of 3 kind. actually I remember I read somewhere that baby carrots are also "cut" from the normal carrots one. Not sure true or not.

Hmmmm... I think I cannot make it on 31st Mar leh

<font color="0000ff">cheekz</font>
Hehehe... I wish my gab can fall asleep sitting too! The thing is he has problem sleeping even when lying down.

angeline
not sure if combi is heavy duty but the capella i have is definitely not cos after my rough usage, a bit going out of shape liaoz. but initially we were looking at inglesina zippy which is really 1 hand operation. i love it but the price is way too high $600+. just 1 catch to open n close very ez.

mummies, tks for giving me advice on where to find the bumper mattress. really appreciate it very much. saw kiddy palace selling at $119. tks also to vivian aka mummyofrhys who gave me contacts to the supplier. i got mine for $98. love the cover sheet that comes wif it. so dreamy that i also wanna slp in it. here's pixs to share. <font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">10q</font></font> once again cos now i dun have to rely on the hb's cousin's wife (who is so unfriendly n not helpful)

722683.jpg

722684.jpg

Wow, just one day and it's impossible to catch up...must be very on-the-ball for this forum

Constipation
Baby Alexis had such bad constipation she didn't pooh-pooh for six days even though we gave her papaya and banana and water and what-nots, only a suppository works

Melody
Think I am already at the halfway mark to Mummy Botak! How can a little person have such a strong grip!? In response to how long the baby pom-pom, I usually take about 5 minutes as I carry baby Alexis in the shower together with me so no need tub and save water! But to do this, need someone to take over once the shower is done.

June
I have finally transferred $13.10 to your account for the Babies n Cream trial class. Sorry I took so long and thanks again!

Brendas cooking class
I finally succumbed and went to the Taka baby fair, bought a lot of things including the Pigeon's Home Baby Food Maker, in anticipation of Brendas demo! Damage to hubby's credit card totalled $300+.

Who can/cannot make it on 31st Mar? cos I think 14/15 Apr a bit too far le then all the bbs will hit 7 months by then!
1) Sha
2) Phoebe
3) Xena_princess
4) Dumpty
5) Michelle
6) Yuna
7) E-Ling
8) June
10) Jerene

Photos
To all those who posted photos, I absolutely love the photos of your little ones gave me a lot more ideas on how to pose baby Alexis!

Welcome
And finally, warm welcome to Cookiepie, Amlamum & Xena! I also read someone whose baby has the same birthday as Alexis 27 Sept 2006 but cannot find the thread now. Who huh?

hi hi ladies! have not had time to scan through the past 2 days archives yet, but need to post this question first!

<font color="0000ff">What is considered a full meal for baby eventually? I know brenda told me its up to baby sometimes. But i super confused today, coz when i read HT box, it says 5 tbs is full meal. when i read heinz baby first cereal, it says 2 tbs, heinz organic cereal says 2-3tbs. all diff issit?</font>

<font color="ff6000">and hor, one serving of fruits or vege is equivalent to one freezer cube amount issit? so by right baby each meal is one serving of fruit/vege with cereal issit? or 2 cubes or 3 cubes? or just agar until he seems satisfied?</font>

brenda, oh, u mean can cook avocado ah?? i read from an ang moh book that cannot cook. aiyoh very blur now lah hahahah! thanks! and great tips on buying clean chopping board, not yet cross my mind!

so brenda, u replied me that spinach = bo cai right? lucky you sound so sure wor. i asked 3 different ppl, 3 different ppl gave me such confusing replies! you are the 4th person i asked hehehe!

can you please gimme the title of the recipe book you got again? i keep forgetting! BOrders have?

Ling, joon, how to get the 40% borders coupon huh?

And hor, I intend to start on spinach/sweet potato, pumpkin first. but wun spinach taste super yucky with cereal? i know i wun wanna eat it! hahaha. but i will serve separetly i guess.

<font color="0000ff">daisybutton</font> yes spinach is bo cai. i also wanna start caleb on spinach tis wk but still haven figured out how to make it. prob will steam the veg then pound pound until mushy mushy ba... ???? gave caleb sweet potatoes n he loves it.

re your questions, according to the leaflets from my PD on starting solids, it said one full meals = 2-3 tbs. caleb used to eat 2-3 tbs but these couple of days he kept crying at meal time as well as milk time. dunno what he wants leh. my sis says he might be teething.

<font color="0000ff">dumpty</font> check wif you if G was like that when teething? i.e. refused milk or food? i touched caleb's upper gums n it felt hard n sharp as compared to last time so sis said quite likely to be teething.

MummyToCaleb & PrincessEmma,
Thanks for the compliment. She is considered to be Chinese though about 60%-70% mixed. Hopefully, she will learn to speak some dialects, mandarin, english and perhaps another foreign language.

She was teething sometimes back and she poo poo several times a day, refused to drink and had slight fever. She was back to her old self a few days later, after some medicine & TLC. Funny thing, I still have not seen any teeth yet!

MummyToCaleb, I like the bumper mattress you posted. Caleb looks so comfortable & secured in it. Is it possible to give me the supplier's contact no? Thanks!!!

<font color="0000ff">about cooking avocadoes hor, just saw this advice again from wholesomebabyfood leh.

"Fruits may be served raw after 8 months old bananas and avocados do NOT need to be cooked ever."

"Most pediatric sources recommend cooking fruits that will be fed to an infant until that infant has turned 8 months old. Bananas and avocado are an exception. For infants who start solids prior to 6 months old, cooking fruits is recommended. Cooking fruits breaks them down thus enabling easier digestion in an immature tummy. The "skins of the fruits should always be peeled, especially prior to 8 months old!"

I am confused again! :p</font>

ooops just realised I missed some earlier postings!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Melody</font></font>, A soaks in her bath is usually about 10 mins..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">LilPony</font></font>, so funny ahhh your invention of 'bren can cook, so can u'.. Huh FYI I find that MArtin Yan disgusting! hahahha! Can't stand his cook shows. I used to watch it when I was preggy at home and he was on TV5 at noon time.. Irritating!!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">jRt</font></font>, Arianne loves the sight of these duckies. When she cries, we'll <strike>duck</strike>fish this out and it's an immediate STOP! heh..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">E-Ling</font></font>, guess I'll have to wear bullet proof vest that day!

Eh, Tiong Bahru a bit out of the way for me le.. I don mind Orchard, Newton, BUKIT TIMAH and other parts of west la.. but also must suit the rest of the mummies..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Selina</font></font>, I think you better PM or email Joon, she might miss your post here as she hasn't been coming in frequent enough to 'hope' the flying posts! Oh she actually did mention to contact her via email le.. or PM should do the job too if u don have her email addy la..

Forgot to ask u, Caleb no sea sick ah?! And also how did u girls (including <font color="0077aa">jRt</font>) bathe for your babies on board the ship? Just curious me.. hee

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">dumpty</font></font>, aiya 31st u can't ahh.. let's see what the rest says ok? If worst come to worst, get someone to VIDEO down for u during my demo..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Jerene</font></font>, hey sorry been busy so haven't got a chance to reply your email, will do so soon ya!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Xena</font></font>, wow! Victoria is such a sweet looking girl! So what's her race? A mixed race too? what mixture then? I love the color of her eyes!

Friend who is a July mummy shared that they have the following:

July mummies Love Nest Career BB Gender BB's Name DOB
Li May ? ? Boy Keon 14-Jun
MTDT Punggol FTWM Boy Zavier Teo 15-Jun
Mezzo Senkang FTWM Girl Ashley 19-Jun
Fruitee Sengkang ? Boy Kayden Tan Yu Cong 27-Jun
Zita27 Yew Tee FTWM Girl Vernice 29-Jun

Found this really useful - do we Sept mummies have something equivalent? Sure will be a lot easier to track who's who (for newcomers lah!)

For those who are keen to bring baby out to socialise and try various activities, you may find this helpful:

s/n Schools Website
1 Aquaducks www.aquaducks.com.sg
2 Babies n Cream www.babiesncream.com
3 Baby Jumper Gym www.bjg.com.sg
4 Busy Buddies www.busybuddies.com.sg
5 Centre Stage www.centre-stage.com
6 Gymboree www.gymboree.com.sg
7 Julia Gabriel www.juliagabriel.com
8 Juz Music www.juzmusic.com
9 JWT Gym www.jwtkids-singapore.com
10 Kindermusik www.kindermusik.com.sg
11 Lego Education Centre www.crestargroup.com/services_ep5.htm
12 Marsden Swim School www.marsdenswimschool.com
13 My Gym www.mygym.com.sg
14 My Smart Baby www.mysmartbaby.com.sg
15 Playworkz www.playworkz.com.sg
16 Rhythm in Me www.rhythminme.com
17 Seimpi Music www.seimpi-music.com.sg
18 Shichida www.shichidamethod.com
19 The Little Gym of Singapore West www.thelittlegym.com.sg
20 Tumbletots www.tumbletots.com.sg
21 Z Fencing www.zfencing.com
22 Zippy Kids www.zippykids.com
23 Kindy Roo www.kindyroo.com.sg
24 Kindergolf

If you have more to add on, pls do let me know! Pls note some are for older children, such as Kindergolf (2 years and above) and Z-Fencing.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Daisybuttons</font></font>, aiyo have I misled you too? Sorry ahh I guess I'd have to recall back all my posts about AVOCADOES then! oh oh..

But allow me to explain again:
Blanching/Steaming avocadoes is my method of removing the 'rawness' and I PERSONALLY prefer to do it this way. I didn't say it's a MUST though..

Anyhow, in my opinion, the website you've linked here and whatever books u got the info from, I believe they're refering to RIPENED FRUITS. I find the bananas (eg: Del Monte ones) and avocadoes in the supermarkets here are usually very raw, therefore I blanch/steam the avocadoes if I happen to need to use it and when I cut open it, it's still raw. I don buy the Del Monte ones, but if I do, I'll blanch/steam them as well if they are also raw..

Now, if you read carefully the site's info, it says DO NOT NEED, but not MUST NOT. Nevertheless if you find any that states the scientific reasons of why I shouldn't even steam/blanch avocadoes for like 5 mins, I'd love to know!

As for feeding how much, I still believe in looking out for the signs of your baby. Those are only GUIDELINES but not hard and fast rules.. And every baby has different appetite..

Don get confused, get confident! No one knows your bb better than u do..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">DB</font></font>, oops missed 2 of your liners..
Oh becos I buy my veg fom NTUC and on the plastic bags they usually have both Eng/Chinese words for the veg, that's how I know lo..

The book is Annabel Karmel's 'Feeding your baby and toddler', quite a few mummies here have it too.. The pages are friendly to read cos I'm quite blind ma.. so need big big pics and big big font.. And her recipes are very interesting..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Jerene</font></font>, wow such a comprehensive list you've got there! I'm impressed! Thanx!

Most of the mummies are FTWMs so by this time, they'd have konked out already..

As for the list, we have some lists but all about the babies though. Guess we're not that interested in knowing mummies' details heehee.. or we actually do it in a more subtle way, like asking via MSN! heehee..

Example of a recent list:
AT BIRTH:
E-Ling | Amabel | 3.005kg / 47cm / 38wks / 21 Aug
Yuna | clarice | 3.42kg / 50cm / 37wks / 29 Aug
joon | Der Nen | 2.89kg / 47cm / 40wks / 2Sep
blessedmom | Johannah | 3.26kg / 51cm / 37.5wks / 4Sep
brenda | Arianne | 2.79kg / 49cm / 38wks / 4Sep
felicia | Samantha | 3.03kg / 49cm / 39wks / 7Sep
Orange | Cayden | 2.74kg / 49.5cm / 37wks / 10Sep
edksd | Kai | 2.82kg / 48cm / 38wks / 12Sep
michelle | ethan | 3.345kg | 50cm | 38 wks | 14 sep
lilprecious | josh | 2.98kg | 48cm | 38.5 wks | 14 sep
daisybuttons | Jovann | 3.045kg / 50cm /40weeks / 18 Sept
dumpty | Gabriel | 2.965kg / 48cm / 40 weeks / 21 Sept
jo l Kelicia l 2.655/ 46cm / 36 weeks / 22 Sep
ling | sophie | 2.96kg / 49.5cm / 40wks / 25Sep
selina | Caleb | 3.6kg | 50cm | 39wks / 25Sep
Doreen | Damien | 2.68kg / 48cm / 36wks / 27Sep
Phoebe | Javier | 2.745kg / 48cm / 38wk / 27Sep (2326hr)
Crystallized | Reubern | 3.1kg / 49cm / 39wks5days (so issit considered 39 wks or 40?) / 29 Sep
Bena | Chloe | 2.65kg / 49cm / 37+wk / 07 Sept

CURRENTLY:
Domesticgoddess - Nicholas - 4mths1week - 6.5kg/69cm
doreen - Damien - 4mths4wks - 7.95kg/65.5cm
Ling-Sophie-5mths (on 25 Feb) 5.8kg/62cm
meldoy - Yun - 5mths - 7.2kg/ 64cm
Selina - Caleb - 5mths1day - 7.74kg/66.5cm
MummieOfRhys - Rhys - 5mths1week - 7.73kg/72cm
Emoments - Dylan - 5mths1week - 7.25kg/65.5cm
dumpty - Gabriel - 5 mths1week - 7.5kg/68cm
Diana - Jacqueline - 5mths1week (as of 3rd Feb) -9.4kg/67cm
daisybuttons - Jovann - 5mths1week (as of 25 Sept) - 7.5kg/64cm
edksd - kai - 5mths2wks - 6.7kg/ 65cm (ht aga-aga measured myself)
Emma - Enzo - 5mths2wks - 7.84kg/68cm
Jasmine lau-Jadelle-5 months 2 weeks (as of 16th Feb)- 7kg/ 65cm
Lil precious-Josh-5mths2weeks-7.35kg
Melissa - Hannah - 5mths2weeks - 6.9kg/65cm
Yuna-Clarice-5mths2wks-9kg/68cm
blessedmom-johannah-5mths3wks-8.2kg/69cm
Brenda-Arianne-5mths3wks-8.6kg/67cm
Joon - Der Nen - 6mths 2 days (as of 4/3/07) - 7.1kg / 64cm
chocolat - Keane - 5mths3weeks - 7.55kg/70cm
E-Ling - Amabel - 5mths3wks - 5.8kg/66cm
Peachie-Clarence-6mths-7.12kg/69.5cm (as at 28 Feb 07)

BRENDA!!
u organising a cooking class? COOL!!! i oso keen leh! since i hv not even started R on solids yet. 31 Mar sounds great.

<font color="0000ff">Baby food preparation/cooking class</font>
1) Sha
2) Phoebe
3) Xena_princess
4) Dumpty
5) Michelle
6) Yuna
7) E-Ling
8) June
10) Jerene
11) crystallized

phoebe
is the sling pouch really useful? i saw the milkway one and i am really keen on tt coz the colours so NICE!!!! but coz i got the MIM one liao, so dun wanna waste money on the sling pouch. however the MIM one i can only manage 1 position. still cant manage the one tt Sha taught us at the gathering leh coz R's legs kept slipping out of plc...

cheekz
rae ann really so cute! she dozed off in the bumbo? she reminds me of smiley's clarrise! hahahahaa
my boy will nvr doze off like tt.

sorry for the repeated posts as i am trying to catch up here!

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Morning!!</font></font>
Do some quick postings before i am being BAN from coming in here during office hours again...

<font color="0077aa">27 sept babies</font>
Me too! Me too!! So, that makes up to, phoebe,doreen,jerene and me!

AT BIRTH:
Crystallized | Reubern | 3.1kg / 49cm / 39wks5days (so issit considered 39 wks or 40?) / 29 Sep
June | Jayden| 3.25kg / 49cm / 40 wks & 2 days / 27 sept

CURRENTLY:
June-Jayden-5mths2weeks-8.8kg/unknown!

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+2">Baby food preparation/cooking class by BRENDA</font></font>
1) Sha I cant make it on 31 Mar.
2) Phoebe
3) Xena_princess
4) Dumpty
5) Michelle
6) Yuna
7) E-Ling
8) June
10) Jerene
11) crystallized

I am alright with any CC near Town area .e.g Tanjong Pagar; I think there is one in between Clark Quay and Chinatown area.

<font color="0077aa">Angline</font>,
Regarding Stroller: I am currently using a Combi but I cant remember which model I have brought, if need I will go home and check it out. I have a Aprica too but I find it rather big for Sherilyn when she is only a few month old. I find both stroller user friendly easy to open and close. As for weight issue, I would say they are rather alright not that heavy.

I know Jasmine has just brought a combi you can check with her.

<font color="119911">Jerene</font>,
Wow what a list. Thanks for the info.

<font color="aa00aa">Xena</font>,
Victoria is truly very beautiful and I believe you are too.

<font color="ff6000">Selina</font>,
Can PM or MSN me the contact for the supplier? Coz I am thinking of getting in the carpenter to do up a bed for Sherilyn to be next to ours. I like the mattress as it has side bumper.

Good Morning!!

June,
Same here, suppose to be working.. Let me include Victoria's stats first.

AT BIRTH:
Xena_princess| victoria | 3.45kg | 53cm | 38 wks | 16 sep
June | Jayden| 3.25kg / 49cm / 40 wks & 2 days / 27 sept

CURRENTLY:
Xena_princess-victoria-5mths3weeks-7.3kg/70cm
June-Jayden-5mths2weeks-8.8kg/unknown!

hi jerene!

thanks a million for all the the informative urls!
-------------------------------------------------
MIM baby pouch

i have the MIM sling and pouch. I prefer the pouch as a carrier. With sling, i guess its good for b-feeding coz the extra cloth can be used to 'cover'...
xena princess

ur victoria is such a beautiful baby! u should enter her in a baby contest

Baby food preparation/cooking class by BRENDA

Count me in, please!!!

xena
Victoria looks like an adorable doll! so cute and she is like arianne! looks mixed. so sweet!

same lah, my hb always say the gd things "contributed" by him while the bad ones fr me!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Angeline</font></font>, actually I'm also looking around for anotehr stroller..

I'm using Aprica and I absolutely enjoy the lightweight, but it's not exactly ONE hand do all kind. Can la, but got to have lots of practise.. I think mine was about S$800, bought many years ago.. Anyhow personally I love the mechanism of Aprica, that's why it comes with a price too.. There's one unit selling at S$299 at the Taka Fair but it can't be fully reclined. I think the rest of the price range is from S$400 to S$1,000 errr..? just aga aga..

The Inglesian zippy which <font color="0077aa">Selina</font> mentioned is worth checking it out.. but not within your budget though.

So for your budget S$200-S$300, Graco and Combi are the ones you can consider, but I find that their designs and the materials they use not that durable..

I guess for strollers really based on the chinese saying 'yi4 fen1 qian2, yi4 fen1 hou4'..

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Baby food preparation/cooking class</font></font>

31st Mar - 3-5pm can??

2) Phoebe
3) Xena_princess
4) Dumpty
5) Michelle
6) Yuna
7) E-Ling
8) June
10) Jerene
11) crystallized
12) Cheekz

thanks for the comments on the strollers. Do you mummies think your Combi, Aprica, Graco, Capella, can last till baby is 2 - 3 years old? I just don't wish to have to buy another stroller one year from now. Don't mind paying a little more if it can last till they are ready to walk on their own.

Was thinking about the Maclaren, but quite heavy rite.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Angeline</font></font>, Maclaren has the light ones too, I think it's under 7kg or something.. My Aprica, bbs can sit up 2-3 yrs shouldn't be a problem..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Yuna</font></font>, ehh we haven't really decide on where to hold the cooking class le..

<font color="0000ff">angeline</font> my capella shld b able to last till caleb abt 2-3yrs ba (if he still wanna sit in it by then) but 1 thing i realised for caleb, we need a stroller with 5pt harness. capella only 3-point n he will tend to arch out like quite dangerous. if you considering mclaren, it has 5pt harness.

<font color="ff0000">NOT DRINKING MILK
===========================
Caleb hasnt drank milk since 9pm last nite. tho he woke up in the middle of the nite, twice, @ 12.30am & 2.30am, he refused to take his milk. tis morning also refused even his cereals or sweet potatoes. i m getting worried. but water he is ok. any advice?

Selina,
Yah Gabriel did not eat well some weeks before his teeth budded. But that's like for 1 week or so only. Yeah more teething babies!

Q2 (Xena), Your vikky is sooooooooooooooooo beautiful! Very angmorish looking just like Brenda's A!

<font color="0000ff">Baby food preparation/cooking class</font>

31st Mar - 3-5pm can??

2) Phoebe
3) Xena_princess
4) Dumpty - I can't make it on 31 Mar.
5) Michelle
6) Yuna
7) E-Ling
8) June
10) Jerene
11) crystallized
12) Cheekz

<font color="ff0000">Selina</font>
Is Caleb teething?? Jayden oso wakes up in the middle of the nite,talking to himself.. I end up putting him into his yao lan... haiz.. Water should be fine to them.. As water is cooling, and Jayden is oso drinking a lot of water recently.. Coz he teething.. I assume different babies, different teething patterns ba...

<font color="0077aa">Dumpty</font>
Gabriel onli 1 week or so?? Den i muz be a panda for now.. as Jayden is waking up in the middle of the nite talking to himself for like 2-3 weeks alreadi... everyday is not enuff slp and come to office and work...

Xena, Victoria is really adorable and pretty!

Jerene, thanks for the list. So thoughtful of you to compile a list for all the mummies here.

Daisybuttons, regarding your question on avocadoes, I give them to Adele every other day. Personally I do not like the taste of it. I scrap the flesh out from the skin and mix it together with the rice cereal. Guess the cereal covers the taste of the avocadoes and Adele love it very much.

Went to the taka fair yesterday. Wanted to buy the bumbo sitter for Adele but hubby was strongly against it. He said that its too ex and Adele might not like it since she is always fidgeting.

Angeline,

i have 2 strollers.. a maclaren techno XT.. it is great and sturdy and folds up "slim slim" but hard to open with 1 hand and carrying bb..however, it works well when i go roller blading or running along east coast park on weekends!.. and being weather friendly (material easy to clean and blocks water and have light reflective trims and great suspensions!

so, i got a combi, cost me 188sgd think it is called combi mechanical.. 4.2kg.. i took a 2 fold one, as i driving a cute nissan march.. and boot space is limited so, ability to fold up smaller will be a bonus for me.. i can opt not to do the 2nd fold too.. and i can operate it with 1 hand, but the width will be wider lah..

The combi, i see other babies can sit up to 3 years old.. Maclaren, can go up to 4 years old.. being lightweight, it feels more flimsy then the maclaren..

and i agree about the harness.. 5 point one is safer! jadelle likes to lean forward in the combi! scary sometimes!