(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

one last post!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+2">HAHHhhhahhahha! JOON aka @@'s mummy! I really cannot tahan u!! hahahah!!</font></font>

u have included laughter to my day! thanx!

Joon,

Replied to your email. Pls register me first. I won't bring Rae Ann if she's still not ok. Will pay the fees nonetheless.

But she should be ok lah...she's much better this afternoon and she's going for her review @ her PD on Tuesday.

-------------------------------------------------
Brenda

PD says air-con will dry up her airways and make her breathing even more difficult...we used the phillips humidifier but no use, she sleeps better without the aircon...

unfortunately, her parents end up perspiring in the heat of the night...geez, its been really hot nowadays, yeah?

daisybuttons,

thanks for your kind words...yeah, i'm not planning to bring rae ann out of the house till she's completely recovered...

we brought her for her first dip @ 3months and @ 5 months she had her first dip in the indian ocean during our vacation in perth 2 weeks ago...

she's usually quite hardy (doesn't cry during jabs and never sick before) so hopefully the little bub will pull through this whole episode real soon!

thanks all for your kind, kind words...

p/s: i can chat now coz her dada is looking after her now

cheekz

Hope Rae Ann recover asap

Daisybuttons

so that means i have to buy the muchin foodmill & either the pigeon one or the piyo piyo one ?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Brenda</font></font>
No no... i did not starve him... Maybe it's becoz he is over at the nanny there, den there got 2 other toodler ma... den he kept playing and playing with the toodler so nv slp much lor... AND WORSE... he kena flu today!!! s**t... haiz..

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Taka fair</font></font>
Oh no.. i realise i still got a lot of things which i have not buy yet leh... Any mummies care to share wad are the muz muz muz buy?? coz i go there realli so mani things to see, i almost wanted to buy the whole fair down... hahaha.....

<font size="+1">ilovebabies</font>
hb is British born chinese.

<font size="+1">jerene</font>
oops sorry you got to repeat. i know abt shichida, just wanted to know what convinced you to want to sign up for it. my son attended JG playclub b4 and IMO, JG is overrated as playclub is supposed to be even better than their playnest, but i think the prog is inferior to Growing Up Gifted's. But u can go for trial to find out more.

wow, i have really posted alot today! its like catharsis! my hubby is home today so i get sometime off to be in forum and read up on baby stuff...

thanks mommies for being so warm and friendly to newbie me...

real sorry if i didn't acknowledge or reply everyone...i'm still getting the hang of this bring in forum...

talk again!

<font size="+1">brenda</font>, i read your earlier posting but am still not sure what you want me to comment on. No, we shouldn't feed bb raw egg yolk. Yes, jarred bb food would have been heated to very high temperature, so everything in the bottle MUST BE COOKED. I have not seen the ingredient list of the heinz vanilla custard so can't tell if it is made with custard powder.

Saw your posting about the "siap siap" taste of avocado. You mean you cook avocado?

<font color="119911">domesticgoddess,</font>
so if i submit a cute photo of DN, will u babysit him too? (i have Watch-Movie-In-Actual-Theatre deficiency!!)

<font size="-2">sorry, couldn't help it after reading ur post! LOL!</font>

<font color="ff0000">brenda,</font>
hey! that's a gd idea! i think i will also get special kitchen utensils for preparing DN's food
thanx for sharing! hee hee... get a mini board and knife :D

OMG, spent an hour to read through all the postings! *pant pant*

cheekz, welcome welcome!

so many cute cute pics again! Wahahaha... really make me so happy seeing the pics.

June, wah your Jayden is 8.8kg! Can't wait to see him in person! Must be chubby chub chub and good to pinch *ouch* :p

sounds like everyone having fun weaning your babies
I also prepare puree myself and freeze for my mum to use on weekdays. Last week was apple, this week I used carrot and boy... Gabriel loves the carrot puree!

How come all your babies like can stomach a lot of food one? Gabriel only eating 1 tbsp of cereal or porridge in the afternoon in between his milk. And he's just drinking 120ml still *sob sob* every 2.5-3 hrs. then this evening he only took half cube of his carrot puree and cannot finish ler. Is he eating too little? But he still seems full of energy leh. My sisters keep asking me why he cannot keep quiet for 1 sec???!!!!

taka fair.... Have not been there yet
gosh I think by the time I make my way there the whole fair would be bought by all you gals!

<font color="ff6000">Cheekz</font>, HI.. and Welcome !! hope little
Rae Ann is feeling better ! bTW, she is so adorable ! Really hope to see her getting better soon ya. Mummy needs to take care too !

<font color="ff0000">Joon</font>, hahah.. lol on the butt crack. BUT I should not be laughing as what i told u on the msn, this happened to Cayden as well.. So all mummies, if you are getting the iplay sun suit , make sure you dont based on the month indicated on the tag! I bought M which is supposed to be for 12 mths bb, and Mr BIG backside cant wear it. So i bought L which is meant for 18 mths and it fits just right.. goodness...

Oh yes, you were telling me that you want to get the pigeon bottle cleaner ya.. i saw it at Metro today selling same price as the taka fair.

<font color="0077aa">labbit</font>, I WANT RACHEL as well !!
hey, she does not need the hair clip to look more girlish lah.. She has such a pretty girlish look.. no worry

BTW, here is my little Cayden in his newly bought sunsuit and hat (all from taka fair) :

720866.jpg
720867.jpg

emma, how's enzo first swim? he looks so adorable in his wet-suit! The cap pulled too low that's why he cannot open eyes isit? kekeke... ...

read till crossed-eyes leh...

cheekz, hope your little Rae Ann recovers fast fast. *sayang sayang*

orange, Cayden sure is cute mann... and he look all ready to go to the BEACH!!!

<font color="aa00aa">Dumpty</font>, I made (hmmm.. should be my hubby made) the carrot puree for Cayden over the weekend as well !! and Cayden loves it too.. You did the apple puree ya? How long did it take to boil the apple? So remove the core and skin then boil till it soft?

<font color="0077aa">jrt</font>, hahaha.. i didnt noticed the 'mysterious' hand behind R!!! It is hilarous ! BTW, I saw your post over the Oct thread.. those photos are so funny le.. looks like both Selina and you had so much fun !! great

<font color="000000">Emma</font>, goodness.. Enzo is taking 7 milkscoop of cereal !! WOW!!! I thought you were telling me he doesnt like cereal, porridge etc.. ANd he can stomach in 7 scoop...!!! your milkscoop super <font size="-2">small</font> one is it ?!? hahahah

Enzo is forever so adorable and cheerful.. aiyo.. hope he enjoyed his swim

orange,
I steamed the apple for about 10 mins. Actually I de-skin (is there such a word?!) the apple then cut into cubes to steam leh. In the process the core is removed ler... hehehe...

Agree with joon that is really fun and luckily the puree tastes pretty nice even to me. Just now I finished up Gabriel's remaining half cube of carrot puree! *yummy*

<font color="ff0000">Brenda</font>,
Just now deng ni deng dao wo xin tong leh... but happen to see Ling, sophie, Sha and sherilyn there.
I didnt use separate utensils for Amabel food leh, i only bought new cooking pot only but knife and chopping board all use existing one. How?
About steaming fruit, u mentioned that u steam for ard 5mins only, but i very kiasu, scare not soft enough so i normally steamed for 15mins leh. Very long huh, will it affect the fruit nutrient or what? And just now too gan chiong to go out, so i just kept the fruit into the freeze while it is still warm leh and i didnt wait for it to cool before blending so after blending it, is still abit warm. How?
As for avocado, just now i made for Amabel and she finished more than half the avocado. Is it too much for her? And also just now i taste the avocado, find that it is ok not siap siap so i didnt steam before blend it, after i gave to Amabel, my MIL tasted it and said that its abit siap leh. Like that how, Amabel already eaten leh. Will she has diarrhea?

<font color="ff0000">Jerene</font>,
For my girl, she is ok her thigh not red cos she is not fat fat kind. And she love it, cos she can look around, she damn kpo one or i should said she love to observe things around her. And she can fall asleep easily, see too many things and get tire easily.

<font color="ff0000">Joon</font>,
I will transfer you the BBnCream money in a short while.

<font color="ff0000">Taka fair</font>,
My damages costed me $90 over.
1. Pigeon Baby wipes - 1 box
2. Pigeoon feeding bowl came with a spoon - Y i need so many bowl for her huh
3. Rattle sock - 2 pairs
4. Avent Mgic training cup
5 Avent magic training cup handle
6. Pigeon Breast pad
7. Pigeon Laundry liquid detergent
8. Poon Bolster case - 2 pcs
9. Hand and mouth wipes - 2 mini pack

Taken when back from from taka fair. See Amabel wearing the rattle socks bought just now. Sorry the pic abit dark cos cannot on the flash light.
720876.jpg
720877.jpg

ilovebabies,
Yes, I'm joining the 1st April B&C class. Looking forward to meeting all the mummies there.

Brenda,
Yes, i would love to meet up with more mummies and chat chat chat. Don't know who will be free on those 2 weekends. For SAHMs we can meet on weekdays too.

I blended 1 avocado + 1/2 a small papaya for Trinity's dinner. She finished 3/4 of it and I used the balance 1/4 to make avocado papaya milk shake for myself. Yum Yum.

This evening, I noticed 2 small red patches on T's face, don't know if its some bites or allergy? What does allergy reaction look like? Will observe if it gets any worse tomorrow.

<font size="+1">joon, daisybuttons</font>, the reason for cooking fruits is to aid digestion as bb under 6 months old have very immature digestive system. But if your bb are over 6 months old already, you just need to mash/blend RIPE fruits. No need to cook at all as even 3 min of steaming will destroy some vitamins.

No need to cook (not even steam) avocado, papaya and banana at all regardless when you introduce them.

<font size="+1">joon</font>, oohh you don't need to submit any pictures of DN lah.. You can drop him off straightaway! His naked picture that won him the shopping voucher is still so fresh in my head. hee hee hee (sorry, i know it sounds/reads a bit perverted lah... but what to do, that is the one that won my vote too!)

Wow! You guys have so much info re home-made puree, I will venture to try it very soon. Thanks for all the tips and recipes and things to look out for!

Question 1: Why is everyone so on abt the Taka fair? What abt the baby fair in Suntec last weekend?

Question 2: Are most mommies in this forum a first time mummy?

Hey dumpty, baby Alexis is eating approximately the same amt that Gabriel is ingesting so I think we are okay???

domesticgoddess,
I heard so much mixed reviews re GUG so I think will prob go for a trial to find out more. Those friends of mine raving abt JB prefers Playnest to Playclub! I guess to each his own, huh? Shichida - mainly what attracts me is the learning to learn part

<font size="+1">Brenda, Daisy and Orange.. </font>yes.. 7 milk scoops leh.. not those big ones lahz.. not the anmum ones.. but the enfalac ones.. his nanny started him at 4 months zun zun lehz.. she started him off with one milk scoop to 70ml of milk... then increased progressively.. now.. 2 months later.. i think 7 scoops per 120ml is alright lahz.. and he has another meal of porridge in the evening... 120ml of water + 2 milk scoops of brown rice powder..
yet he's still so skinny... sigh.. headache...

Joon.. coincidental!!!! both @@ and enzo had their first dip today!!! woo hoo!!! he had so much fun!! keke... here's some photos!!!

721075.jpg
721076.jpg
721077.jpg

<font size="+1">Dumpty..</font>the cap.. hmm.. think this mommy kuku lahz.. dunno how to wear for him.. so might as well dun wear.. keke

<font size="+1">DG...</font> you wanna babysit enzo? aiya.. should say earlier mah.. then i dun need to find the nanny alr.. hehe... but i think its gonna be reali tough handling two babies... juz like my cousin's twins.. hehe... SIONG ah!!!

<font size="+1">brenda</font>, er.. I didn't know cooking will prevent food from changing colour/flavour and lengthen its storage life. Where you get that info from? Or is it from your experience? pls share. Thanks.

I thought it is freezing (not cooking) that helps slow down deterioriation of food, hence lengthen storage life. Thus whenever possible, we should be freezing raw veg/fruits, so when we want to use in future you just need reheat (or cook or just thaw) ONCE which ensure minimal nutrient loss.

Freezing cooked veg/fruits means DOUBLE nutrient loss.

Also there are many food that will still change colour/flavour if you freeze after cooking.

<font size="+1">emma</font>, aiyo, everytime i see a picture of Enzo i will think that he and my Nicholas look so alike! Serious! sorry i buay paiseh lah..

Why you say Enzo so skinny? He looks so chubby to me leh..

<font size="+1">Angeline</font>, sure! would love to meet up. PM me when you are back.

<font size="+1">jerene</font>, I've got a 2.5 yo boy. So this is my 2nd time.

<font size="+1">DG...</font> Enzo is not exactly skinny lahz.. but he's not those chubby chubb chubb lohz... only his face is chubby.. hehe.. his body is quite thin...
and realli? he looks like nic??? he also looks like pjen's ashlyn, and rainnie's lil rainnie... hehe.. he has such a commom face!!! haha...

orange
oh u din noticed the mysterious hand the and a tiny bit of my hb's head at the corner?
we had to do tt else he will fall like humpty dumpty! heee u saw the pix i posted at Oct thread? R is super active rite? cannot keep still sum seng baby!

dumpty
same like Gab, R oso still drinking 100-110ml per 2 hrs or so only. not much weight gain for 1 mth alrdy.
but i oso wondered how come this boy cannot keep still one? If u pop over to oct thread to look at the photos of R and Selina's Caleb, u will noe why.

dear mummies
i'm back from the <font color="ff0000">crowded like nobody's business</font> <font color="0000ff">IT Show @ Suntec</font>

bought a new laptop & a external drive and got a motorola cordless phone & 3-in-1 printer free. not bad lar.

weekend thread also move so fast.
all these talks on baby puree...i havent tried any yet.
coz just started javier on cereal this week.
so probably let him get used to it before i intro some puree.
btw, are those fruit puree (eg. apple or pear) really sweet? was thinking after they tried these sweet fruits puree, will they still like the 'bland' milk and cereal??

<font color="0000ff">jrt,</font>
heh heh... i know why in some pics caleb looked so unhappy and reubern kept dancing in the pics. caleb doesn't want to share the girl and reubern trying his darnest to impress her with his wushu skills, LOL
and good job with the sitting up pic. if u didn't mention it, i wldn't have noticed the hand! very subtle, hur hur... DN's pattern is like R's. cannot keep still! when i carry him, he keeps turning and leaning forward and trying to stand on my belly. (painful!) is R always wanting to stand? my mom says he's got a high metabolic rate. and i think so too. he only gained 100g since end-jan!

<font color="ff6000">orange,</font>
ya! the iplay sizes bluff one! gee... DN had serious butt cleavage just now. :p can compete with some of the girls we see on orchard rd man.

<font color="aa00aa">emma,</font>
where did u get enzo's wetsuit from? how much?

<font color="119911">jerene,</font>
don't know if ur qns were rhetorical, but heck i'll answer them anyway coz i jia ba bo sai bang!

Question 1: Why is everyone so on abt the Taka fair? What abt the baby fair in Suntec last weekend?
Ans : Well, u must understand that the sept mommies are <font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">SHOPAHOLICS</font></font>! we organise bulk purchases, meet-up at sales (some of us met up at the suntec fair), share lobangs etc etc etc... but don't think about how much we spend, think about <font color="ff0000">how much we SAVE!</font>

Question 2: Are most mommies in this forum a first time mummy?
Ans : i can't answer for all, but most here at 1st-timers lah. (me too) that's why still got energy to post!

<font color="119911">brenda</font>
now you so 'experienced' at making puree, organise demo class lar. haha.
then ppl like me - blur like sotong can see how-to make.
easier than reading books

Wah, so many postings over 1 weekend! Lemme catch up leh.

Brenda,

Sure sure!!! We shall exchange babies to carry yah? I have been longing to see Arianne in person! But hor, Clarence has developed this thing called separation anxiety over the last 2 weeks! He became super duper clingy, and his eyes will follow his loved ones till they are out of sight, then he will start wailing. Gosh, dunno when this will end. But nonetheless, we shall still exchange babies yah?

Daisybuttons,

Just saw your post! Wah, u super duper good memory. Yes! I already have an Evenflo exersaucer... which is at my mom's place. When I saw the leapfrog going on sale for $149, I leapt at the offer and grabbed it, thinking that this could be at my home for him to use on weekends since he simply loves his Evenflo exersaucer! Haiz, big mistake.... He is not keen on the leapfrog at all...
Sometimes what we think the child will like can be very different from what he really likes. I really thought that the Leapfrog is better than the Evenflo, given all the lights and sounds. But well....

After few sessions of squatting beside him and encouraging him to play, I realised why Mr Clingy doesn't like the leapfrog-
- There are no teething toys, unlike the Evenflo where EVERY toy can be extended into his mouth for a quick bite. At best he can lick the flip book... but there is no kick if he cannot munch.

- The lights appear on the 5 keys.... If he is playing with the flip book or the disc, he only hears the sounds but his line of vision cannot see the lights

- The chair is much harder to turn than the Evenflo, which discourages him from exploring around.

- The microphone does not make any sound if it is bent away from him. Plus he is not interested in the silver ball.

- 4 out of the 5 toys on the leapfrog are auditory in nature and pretty similar.... only 1 is visual. There is less development of fine motor skills as compared to the Evenflo. The Evenflo has 10 different toys which are of a different nature... hence more exciting to him.

So there... the low tech Evenflo defeats the high tech leapfrog... After a few sessions in it, the Mr Whine takes over and he wants to get out. There goes my $135 (after discount) PLUS MY SWEAT and EFFORT in lugging it home. I have packed it up and it shall be sold to my friend for $120 next week.... Recover some loss better than nothing at all.
But I guess every child is different. What works for one may not work for another... So the above is not an accurate guage. I recalled JAsmine's Jadelle simply loves her leapfrog!

Booster seat is very different from the Prince lionheart. In the first place, the booster seat can last from 6months to 4years, whereas the Prince Lionheart is only up till 12 months (for BUMBO it is up till 14 months). The booster seat has a swing tray and straps in keep him securely in place, whereas the lionheart does not. These days he has figured out how to get out of the lionheart, so we are extra careful when leaving him inside.

I used the booster seat to feed him solids yesterday. It is actually quite handy!
Can post some pics here tomorrow.

Hey peachie, thanks for the efforts in typing out the Cosmetic Unmasked. I am using Gaia products, baby Alexis has a red rash on her neck that refuses to go away...have applied diaper cream, talc on separate occasions to no avail.

Joon, thanks for reply! Qs not rhetorical, was really wondering why everyone is gushing abt the Taka fair and no one seem interested in the Suntec fair! Though must stress I think sales are great meeting forums!

Cooking demo sounds good, sign me up!

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>
Wah piang ur defination of 'taitai' very cheem leh.
My ambition is to be a TAITAI leh.....hahahaha
But not the kind u describe lah. So long as I dun need to watch my spending I happy liao...hehe

btw my ex colleagues nick name me taitai leh!..kekeke

I just got back from Taka.. nothing really fancy me this time (maybe we've most of the stuffs we need already), except a cute pink potty I paid S$5.90! so cute with a little lid, next time can feed porridge from there too.. heehee.. ooh I saw the pigeon bottle cleansers stocked up already for those who want to buy..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Joon</font></font>, u mentioned 'boil' why not try steam instead? Can retain more nutrients..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">cheekz</font></font>, ooh yah! I forgot that air-con is drying and better not do anything to agitate it.. oh u guys must be suffering cos it's really really hot the past week!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">DG</font></font>, well thought you might know something about this Heinz Vanilla Custard. FYI custard cannot be cooked if it's freshly made, yolks have to be runny in fact, that's when we make custard at home, we use the doubleboil method. So if that's the case how can they still heat all the ingredients in the jar to a high temp? And if it's custard powder, more damage -salt, colorings and preservatives are added. That's why I'm doubtful about this vanilla custard offered by Heinz but I might be wrong about it too..

I don't 'cook' my avocadoes, I blanch them in boiling water for about 2/3 minutes to get rid of the 'siapness' if they are raw. If I make apple pies, I also blanch my apples in the boiling sugared water to tenderize the apple and to sweeten them as well.

And when u mention no need to cook/steam <font color="ff0000">bananas</font>, are u refering to the local bananas - jiao jeow or the mexicans/brazilians ones found in our supermarket like the Del Monte? cos the Del Montes can be quite raw.. Oh if you're referring to AK's recipe book, I think she's using THEIR local products which we might not find in our supermarkets here..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Dumpty</font></font>, what kind of carrots did u feed Gab with? the big ones or bb ones? Sweet? Maybe the 'simple sugars' in the carrot is giving him all the energy to be hyperhyper heehee..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Orange</font></font>, u purposely bought the ORANGE color sunhat to match your nick har?? heehee.. Cayden is so cute! awwwwwwww

and what carrots do u use? big ones or bb ones? heh I ma chiam doing carrots survey..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Emma da B</font></font>, wah! Enzo looks so contented in his swimsuit! Another choobee one! awww..

<font color="ff0000">Aiyo u girls are spoiling us with so many cute pics at one go! you all should take turns on seperate days mah! heh..</font>

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">E-Ling</font></font>, wah u testing my limited HYPY knowledge le.. if my guess is right, u were trying to say u waited until your heart pain is it? pain or ache?! heehee.. pain means physical, ache means emotional.. heh

Sorry ahh.. my hub was trying to clean up his car and fixed some parts here and there. Aiya u know guys la, cars cars cars cars cars!

Yes, the longer u steam/blanch/boil your food, the more nutrients you'll kill.. so the next time u steam, check after 5/6 mins la, use a knife or a satay stick to try and poke through to feel the flesh, soft then ok to be served already..

As for your warm food kept in the freezer, just leave it there. But don do that often, otherwise you'll have to buy a new fridge soon or u actually looking forward to a new one?! hee..

I seriously cannot answer your qns on the avocado cos I don know how siap it is, also I don know how strong Amabel's digestive system is, every bb varies.. you already fed her, so just have to ask your helper to pay more attention to her from now (check the condition of her poo) and also to suss out allergy.. but it shouldn't be so jia lut one la.. so don worry first ok? Half Avocado, if you're refering to the size I showed u girls that day at cold storage I think it's ok.. in fact the more they eat, the better it is! isn't it?! BBs know how to STOP eating, so this one, no need to worry ya..

Eh! I also got those socks u showed! mine is green/pink ones.. so cute aren't they? Amabel is really one observer mann, can see her roving eyes even in a still pic!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Angeline</font></font>, one of the symptoms of an allergy is ITCH.. does the red patch look bloated and angry? I'm sure Trinity will be very upset if the red patches are itching.. so I guess these will be the signs..

So u meant 1/2 and 7/8 Apr? So I guess 1/2 Apr should be out becos of the BBsNCream class.. So probably we can try 7/8 Apr? What kind of timing - is 2/3pm good?

<font size="+1">Brenda da Bigger B..</font>choo bee ah.. hehe.. tqtq... u faster post more choo bee photos of ur darling A also lehz...

<font size="+1">JOON..</font> i bot the thermal suit from a BP when enzo was abt 1 month old... hehe.. 20% off from 49.90.. so it was abt 40 bucks.. this brand is sold in most dept stores.. so u can wait for those storewide sales before u get them... not too sure is thermal suits are the way to go thou... i was considering the suit that orange got for lil Cay... but i scared enzo too cold, cos he a bit cold sneeze sneeze sneeze alr... i know they say sneezing does not mean the baby is cold.. but still... hehe

I went to Taka on Fri and spent abt $55... bought the stroller fan and the booster seat.

Wanted to buy the iPlay swimsuit, but no size leh... either too big or too small and only a few pieces left.. those who went over the weekends, did they replenish the stock? If yes, I would like to go back and buy again. Let me know, ok?

Here's some photos of Dylan on the booster seat. He looks a bit blur blur as he just woke up from his nap... :p
721341.jpg

My nephew bringing some toys for Dylan to play on the booster seat.
721342.jpg

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Jerene</font></font>, oh u just missed the boat on the Suntec's fair.. if u want, u can read all the hoos and haas in the archives heehee..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Emma da B</font></font>, well if Enzo is eating well, why rock the boat hor.. so just continue la.. maybe he's burning a lot of energy!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">DG</font></font>, ooh so your hub is on Employment Pass in SG? so are u a Singaporean or also a fellow BBC? so interesting.. so where did u meet your hub? SG or UK?

Well about the cooking can prevent discoloration, a bit of both. I cook and bake most of the time, so learnt about the apples for my apple pies from there. As for avocadoes and bananas, can add lemon juice. And I've always been surfing for food prep info as I love cooking and baking!

I just googled for 'freezing foods', out of random I just picked one article for u to cross reference: http://www.uaf.edu/coop-ext/publications/freepubs/FdPresFreezing.pdf
(Read under 'Blanching')

If you think it's only freezing and not cooking that helps with prolonging the shelf life of foods, then why did Heinz or bottled foods had to be heated up to a high temp le? and u actually mentioned 'MUST' ahh..

Oh, to add to your 'reheat' info, I'd suggest not to steam/blanch the portion of the foods u want to freeze too cooked, that means still half raw for the ones that will be frozen for another day use. So that more nutrients are retained during reheating..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Phoebe</font></font>, well I don mind if we have the location actually! heehee.. food is one thing I can really explore, from raw materials to vitamins! it's actually science but I used to hate this subject!

Wah IT fair also got so much things to buy ahh.. so what did u buy to get the printer free?

<font color="ff0000">For those mummies (Ling, E-Ling, Doreen and who else ahh?) who wanted my self-made nutrition facts book, sorry I realised there are so many things to cover and I'm still half-way (maybe one quarter) doing the research.. And the main storage is in my head! so I sort of stop doing it already but if I do complete it, I'll surely let u girls know again ya.. sorry la lazy la.. this one is like writing a book le, no joke..</font>

<font color="119911">Joon</font>
hehehehe, perhaps u r right, Caleb is angry wif R for showing off. but then again, the girl is R's niece leh. he alrdy "impressed" her so many times at home tt he always made her cry.

Oh DN is oso like tt? i wonder y R is suddenly so hyperactive and he talks loudly, a few times in his sleep oso. gosh... and i was wondering if its normal for a 5mth+ baby to behave like tt!
R always wan to stand and sit up. he hates to lie down, and if we do tt for too long, he will start SCREAMING!

Angeline, errrr i dont know how long I'm going to bf leh .. but my medela mini electric plus broke down
make me took a few days of urgent leave cuz too pek chek with the pump!

regarding the pigeon mini cooker i mention ... just have to put the mini pot in the centre of the rice cooker! While u cook ur rice it will cook the porrige as well

Cheekz,
Welcome to the Addictive Sept thread! Sorry to hear that Rae Ann is sick. Hope she is better now. Did you consult doctor to get a neurbaliser machine back to help Rae Ann on her breathing? It always help kids with brochitis to breathe better and sleep better. Don't worry too much. The phlegm will normally subside within 2 weeks. Juz give her lots of fluids.

Morning Ladies, Shermaine went for her 6 in 1 vac last Sat...and she's now weighing 8.8kg 66cm tall.
So happy to see her growth. From newborn 2.8 to 8.8. hahaha

<font color="ff0000">Morning ladies!</font>
The post is going so so fast!!

<font color="0000ff">Dumpty</font>
Yes.. Jayden is weighing 8.8kg now... And oso down with flu since ytd... and this mummy super duper toot lor... left his chou chou in my bag.. Sad to sae tat he will spend the day at nanny's place without his chou chou...

<font color="ff6000">puree</font>
Hmm.. have to look thru all the postings once again to look on how to puree food le... and where to buy the freezer cubes huh??

<font color="0077aa">77</font>
Thanks thanks... veri useful.. but gonna read the rest at home... thanks!!