(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Need to stop coming in here today got to rush off some work.

Today most mummies will be at HV chatting, eating and drinking lots of kopi. . enjoy and have fun.

TO ALL MOMMIES....

HAPPY WOMENS' DAY

HV Lunch/Cuppa Mummies,
Thu 12.30pm at Crystal Jade Kitchen for Dim Sum.

1. Brenda - OK
2. Ling
3. Joon - CANNOT! :-( :-( :-(
4. Orange - OK (unless last min ganna arrow by boss)
5. Doreen - OK
6. Phoebe - OK
7. E-Ling - as informed by Phoebe
8. Pig2 - OK, bringing malcolm along
9. Emma
10. <font color="ff0000">ilovebabies - CANNOT !</font>

hi Doreen

I didn't log in yesterday... so only now then i saw your message.

I am at Jurong West now, but will be going back to Clementi to pick up my boy before going down to HV.

Ahhh <font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Yuna</font></font>, u have to buy the article? aiyo.. hope it didn't cost u a lot.. what kind of article is that? is it from a nutrition book or? can also quote the researcher's or nutritionist's name pls? But thanks for sharing, waiting to read it..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Emma</font></font>, what's a 'SPC underwear'?? Sounds like something silly!! mostimportant thing is, does it help with toning down the tummy?!?!?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">BlessedMom</font></font>, ya loo.. I bought ONE = S$2.00!! Your 1kg can get how many? at least 4 or 5 right?? uurrgghh.. but the ones from Indon, are they Californians?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Alicia</font></font>, oh! I saw Adele's pic.. sweet girl..

I know! <font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Sha</font></font> is on secret mission again! heehee..

Yes, about 8 mummies + 3 babies are going for dim sum lunch later > <font color="0000ff">Brenda, Ling+Sophie, Orange, Doreen+Damien, Phoebe, E-Ling, Pig2+Malcolm and Emma!</font> See you all!!

Anyone who can <font size="-2">creep out of your office</font> or last minute ones who can join us, BUZZ ME ok!

Brenda

NO lah. I din buy the article, what i mean is I bring the magazine to ofc today. Pardon me for inproper english :p Anyway, the article is from the Sep 06 Today's Parents Magazine.

OK, here is the extract article on avocados. Hope the mummies will find it useful.

Unlike other fruits, avocado has a very high fat content, and as a result, provides mpre energy than most fruit.

As it is rich in energy and fibre, underweight children will find avocado useful in boosting their energy intake.

What are the best preparation and handling methods for avocado?
When purchasing avocados for immediate use, select avocados that are just beginning to soften. Ripe avocado is firn, yet yields under gentle pressure in your palm. Colour do not tell whether the fruit is ripe or not as some varieties retain their green skin even when ripe. Avoid buying bruised avocados as brusies affect the quality of the flesh. However, if only very firm avocados are available in the market, you can speed up the ripening process by placing them in a paper bag with an apple or banana for 2 to 3 days at room temperature.

When handling or peeling avocados, take the following steps :
- wash avocado before cutting
- cut the fruit length wise around the seed
- Twist the halves in opposite directions to separate
- Work the seed out by slipping a spoon between the seed and the fruit
- Scoop out the avocado flesh with a spoon
- Peeled avocado turn brown easily. To prevent this, sprinkle lemon juice over avocado after peeling. Lemon juice will enhances its flavour.

Ripe fruits can be refrigerated, uncut for 2 to 3 days. But when it come to storging cut fruit, sprinkle it with lemon or lime juice or white vinegar and refrigerate it in airtight container. Remember to eat them within 2 to 3 days of cutting.

<font color="0000ff">Yuna</font>

thanks for typing it out !

one qn: dont think we can serve bb with cut avocado with <font color="ff0000">LEMON OR LIME</font> juice ?

or this is recommended method to serve bb ?

BRENDA
the cheap avocadoes r MADE IN INDO lah!! but to me it doesnt matter, cos i grew up with it and so do my boys. guess shld be ok for jo too right right???

aiyoh u gals r meeting again n i CANT join again!! have fun!!

One additional point,<font color="ff0000">{the storing part is only applicable to ADULT foods.</font>

I am sorry if I have misled anyone here.

ilovebabies
i scoop the flesh of the avocado, mash it n mix with milk. when the fruit is ripe, the flesh is v soft. no need to puree. or at least i hv never tried pureeing it, unless its for the purpose of making avocado shake for the adults! top it with a lil choc condensed milk. wow yummy!!!

blessedmommy
avocado shake sounds quite YUMMY! So if i eat avocado and go dancing, the milk sophie drinks will become avocado shake?
Talking about avocados, my hb tried to make avocado pancakes recently. oooooooooo it's nasty! Never do that! heh....

ling
oh yes its yummy!! i had it every other day when i was young, no wonder i was so fat as a kid!! hehe...

avocado pancakes?? u r so innovative! n yes avocado in fact goes well with most salads. after all this avocado talk, i hv to say, its my favourite fruit!!

blessedmommy

wow sounds yummy !! tummy growling leh ..

gals I am going taka fair during lunch time so will update u of my damage report if any ...

heh heh

blessedmommy
eh... short form for your name is BM, same as breastmilk... i almost wrote BM... hahaha...
FAT? Then what happened? Must share your before and after story leh.....

Last time i stayed in london was like ancient of days, can't remember where i stayed other than one time at the youth hostel (!!!). last time student no money mah... now mummy still no money... hahaha... ACTIVITIES???????? SHOPPING SHOPPING SHOPPING! And watch a play/musical, SHOPPING SHOPPING SHOPPING! ok... that was about all i did lah... hahah other than visit the normal tourist places.

london shoppg? hope i can do it with 3 crazy boys!!!

everybody out for HV lunch huh no wonder so quiet!

i dun mind leh. u can refer me as BM = breastmilk = blessedmommy = babemama hehe.. so thick skinned!!

Many thanks for the very warm welcome, you guys are so sweet! And I am keen to participate in the Babies n Cream's trial class as well - what are the dates still avail that could fit Alexis and me in? Any other trial classes being arranged at the moment?

Okay, about Baby Alexis...borned in the morning on 27 Sep in Raffles Hospital via c-section. Weighed 2.965kg, 49.5cm. Loads of hair (now balding!) and looks like a replica of her Daddy.

How often do you guys meet up? Always together with babies in tow? That should be many barrels of laugher.

I will try to upload her photo later (not sure if I know how to...) - catch ya all later!

waaa.... this forum is unusually quiet today. Everyone must be out shopping or kopi ing. Me so envious, again I cannot join.

Well, at least now I can concentrate on my work and won't have to keep coming in to check on postings.

Jerene

WELCOME ! <font size="-2">i know I am late for the welcome msg eheheh </font>

JASMINE !!
aiyah i missed ur post !! anyway i went there with 2 male colleagues who helped me to carry the stuff eheheh

ok i spend $100 today. I think I am within control ya ? ehhe

ok bought these:
1) iplay swimsuit (with swim diaper)
2) bathrobe
3) Toy
4) Tweety Bird Swimming Float
5) Pump (for the float)
6) Avent training cup
7) Elle dress - $9 ONLY !
8) One Romper
9) Waterproof Seat Liner (for car seat, stroller etc during potty training)
10) Sassy snack cups
11) Finger guard (home safety)

Most of the major brands participated in this fair such Avent, Pigeon, Fisher&Price, iPlay, Medela etc ... and sell things from newborns to toddlers so I think it's worth to make a trip down.

ilovebabies,
seems like you are getting ready to bring Rachel for a swim. Brenda will try to organize a swim fest for first week of April. Right now, only Brenda and me on the name list. Shall we count you in?

ilovebb,
Haaa! u so clever.. ask two male colleagues to go down and help u.. i asking my hubby to go down with me later.. i dunno wat we will get.. but looking forward...

Wow.. u finally gotten the swimsuit. i bet u can't wait to put it on Rachel. haaaa!!!! I want to buy toys!!! Now, counting down the time! why today so slow!!

PHOEBE
didnt see u on msn so tot i catch u here. i hv not collected the items from ur frd. sorry been busy. can tell her will try to collect by this weekend ok. thks.

Angeline

ehhe DONT count me in first unless I try out once with Rachel. eheh

Lilpony

eeh smart right ? I "jio" them since yesterday ok !!!

ya ya looking forward to go swimming with rachel, gotta wait till Hubby finish his iCT.

oh do u gals know that Huggies sells disposable diapers for SWIMMING ??? My col showed me at Cold storage just now. But darn ex .. i think >$10 for 10 piece !

ilovebb
yes i know abt the disposable swim diapers. guess wat, me so cheapskate. aft use i went to dry it n use again haha... ok la i know disgusting dun throw bad eggs at me but v exp leh! n my boys at one time were swimming like everyday????

haha yes i will smell diaper first if not smelly then i reuse. but then again, swimming diapers not supposed to retain pee right? but i dun reuse again n again lah! each diaper use 2 times then i discard.

ilovebabies, how much did you pay for the swimsuit diaper? cuz if its cheap i'll go taka and buy instead of waiting for the spree hehe

blessedmommy

i will follow suit .. smell and sun bath it ! heeh

rainnie

I bought the swimsuit at $10.90. It comes with the swim diaper. The swim diaper alone was on sale too i think <$10 ? opps short term memory leh ..

ilovebabies!

i no see u there leh! but i was burying my head in the bins! I usually use the disposable diapers.. but ya.. abit ex.. i bought @ 15.70sgd/ pack @ Toys r us.. huggies brand!

my <font size="+2">LOOT</font>:

1) iplay siwm diaper XL size (5.90sgd)
2) 2 x iplay reversible sunhat (5.90sgd each)
3) pigeon bottle wash refill @ 16.90sgd for 2 packs!
4) Nuby travel spoon & fork x 2 set @4.70sgd
5) 2x carters rompers @ 7.90sgd / pc (more frilly & details then usual BP type)
6) pigeon baby biscuits @ 3.80sgd..

Wat other good buys??

hmmm..
aprica strollers @ 300+,
1 set of rompers/ dress lovis brand @ 3sgd
huggies dry comfort m 84 pcs/ L72 pcs @ 16.80sgd..
what else ah??

i oso went to d bb fair

- munchkin bb food grinder 13.52
- pigeon hm wear 3.3 ea
- pigeon soft tip spoons set (1 for food, 1 for liquid) 4.88
- combi compact cooking set 7.5

i only know the pigeon hm wear definitely cheaper than usual. but limited stock. eg if want short sleeves, dun hv 6-12mths size.

Hi mums,

I am back from the Taka baby fair!!! Went round and round the fair, but didn't see anything fantastic. The baby monitors comes in only 2 brands - Evenflo and Philips. Philips got 3 types, analog and digital. The analog one sells for $99 and $129 (more channels) and the digital one sells for $249 (comes with free Avent newborn starter kit).

Bought the following stuffs:
- iPlay swimsuit ($19.90) - all swim wear selling from $5.90 to $19.90 (at 50% to 70%)
- 3 Elle rompers ($6 each)
- 3 iPlay waterproof bibs ($10.50)
- 2 boxes of Pigeon breast pads ($8 each)
- 1 safety1st portable baby booster seat with swing tray (6mths-4 years) ($29.90) - UP$62.90
- 1 leapfrog exersaucer ($149) - sold for $249 at Robinsons
- 1 little tikes toddler work bench and table - adjustable to 3 heights and can tilt to become an artist's easel ($109) - 12mths to 5 years

Spent $300 odd.... paying in Taka vouchers give me an additional 10% off.

After buying all these, I couldn't bring myself to buy the baby monitor.... This will cost me another $249!!! (I am eyeing the Philips DECT monitor)

jasmine

eheh same here, my eyes are searching for sale items, not looking at mummies !

edksd

I saw the munchkin food grinder too and was v tempted to buy it. But i already got the Braun food blender from sis so i gave it up.

peachie!

u champion liaoz! I also got my vouchers @ 10% discount! BTW, i saw swann wireless bb monitor @ 299sgd.. near aprica counter..

sob! i bought my leapfrog @ 199sgd! the 149sgd was a real steal!

Dear <font color="0000ff">'Those-who-go-grab-stuff-frm-Taka-already' mummies</font>,

Errrr. what's left for <font color="ff0000">'Those-who-go-after-6pm'mummies????</font> Leftover plastic bags and unwanted receipts?? haaaa!!!

little pony, today is only the 1st day, if u go after 6pm, shld still hv lots of buys. but frankly i find tt the things are not exceptionally cheap leh.

i oso saw blosters 2 for $10. forgot the brand, got some winnie the pooh pics on it.

Dear <font color="0000ff">'Those-who-go-grab-stuff-frm-Taka-already'</font>mummies,

Emma also complain liao. Both of us are drooling at the same time!!!! I am ready to go anytime but why the clock today so damn slow!!!!

Jasmine, Thanks a MILLION!!!! I was looking all over but could not find...

My husband gave me $700 of Taka vouchers this morning.... and I assured him I wun spend more than $100. Look what happened!!! I spent $350 in vouchers and have not bought my monitor.
He'll freak out later....

Little Pony, dun worry... still has loads of stuffs lah.

By the way, for those moms who are looking for the Gymboree Baby Play book, Borders and Times have loads!!! Borders sells for $19.90. Times is selling at $34 (large print edition).

Peachie,
Wow!! your hubby so nice to you!!!!! Give u $700 WORTH OF vouchers!!! alamak!! how come my hubby say ' I better go with you, so i can control your spending?'

And YES, my hubby coming to tag along! haaaa!