(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

ilovebabies,
maybe next time your mum can cook abit more for Sherilyn as well coz she is not eating the porridge. . .she is so mischievous, she eat half way and play half of it maybe it is not as delicious as yours . . . . . hahahahahaha. . <font size="-2">better dont say it out loud</font>. . hahahaha

Sha

u so funny ... if we going out and MIL happens to cook, I'll ask her to cook more ok ? <font size="-2">dont worry I wont tell ;)</font>

Brenda,

About 1.5-2 hrs after her cereal, she start to fuss and ask for milk. I am giving her 1 tablespoon of cereal currently. She refuse to drink her milk after i feed her cereal so I stop giving her liao.

<font color="0077aa">ilovebabies</font>, it's u who finished the porridge la! u were too busy enjoying the nice porridge and forgot about Rach! heehhe.. so that means no more diarrhea and the the there no more feeling spicy already la?! heehee..

<font color="0077aa">Yuna</font>, aiya after I hit post then I realised I didnt answer your this qns,
"another question, is it advisable to eat cereal to her milk as a feed, meaning her usual feed is 2.5 scoop of FM, so i will give 2 scoop FM den 0.5 scoop cereal for her evening feed?"

May I know what's your purpose of doing this first? Is it to make her 'fuller' for that feed? And I presume u use bottle to feed her for this feed?

I tried adding EBM to the porridge I cook, but my boy din finish the porridge. I feel he prefer the porridge to be more "pasty" texture. I only add wolfberries and meat to the porridge.

Hi Brenda,

Clarence is down with a cold.... His nose basically resembled a running tap the whole of last week... just imagine the phlegm coming out of his nose mixing with the drool dripping out of his mouth then you get the pic yah? Very very "handsome"!!!
Basically he has a lot of phlegm, so it back flowed down his throat when he slept at night, causing him to cough repeatedly and throw up sometimes. Very cham.
PD said it's the flu and cold season. He's been seeing loads of babies and kids with the same symptoms... So be careful yah? Try to avoid crowded places.

You gals all feeding solids already! Brought Clarence to the PD last week, and was told to feed 2 meals of porridge a day, otherwise his weight gain will continue to be slow.
kao_sad2.gif
PD also said that each serving size has to be a bowl (he said the bowl size should the rice bowl used by adults). My immediate reaction was what???!!! How to feed so much?

Tried cooking rice in a slow cooker for a few hours and added minced carrots or spinach over the weekend, but Clarence doesn't want to eat. He will whine and spit everything up.... Haiz. very headache....

Brenda,

wrt to my 2nd question, my purpose of doing it is to slowly introduce cereal for her dinner as well...err...not sure am i right in tis way...I am using bottle to feed her for this feed.

Peachie,

Is Clarence better now?

I thought Clarence's weight is ok, y PD said his weight gain slow? But a rice bowl of porridge sound A LOT hor....

peachie

u sure bb can finish this much ? my mum says must start slowly in case they cant digest that much.

Brenda

no lah, MIL cooked too much, cant expect Rachel to finish it right ? oh yes ! the there there has healed .........

<font color="ff0000">Sha <font size="+2">SQ</font>!!</font>, hahah! I just realised that!!

<font color="0077aa">Yuna</font>, did u try to give her more spoons of cereal then? u usually stop feeding her the cereal is becos she shows signs of 'full'? cos 1 tablespoon is defintely too little to replace 1 full feed of milk to me.. I started giving my A 2 TEAspoons of cereal and still gave 120ml FM after (Usual Qty per feed is 180ml), now she has progessed to 4 teaspoons of cereal plus 2 teaspoons of brown rice powder and 60ml of FM pureed with sweet potato TODAY. And that replaced her one 180 full feed of FM..

wahh!! flood of replies for me but poor me got no time to read now
work piling up like mad and it's almost 6pm oredi hv to go pump! jia lat...

will go home tonite n slowly read thro all the various ways to intro cereal! thks mommies!!!

ilovebabies,
I took your advice and used milk powder scoop. Now each meal T has 1.5 scoop chor bee powder cooked with 100ml EBM.

peachie,
really ah. 6 mth old baby can eat adult size bowl of porridge? Even my 10 year old niece cannot finish her bowl at times. If they are meant to eat so much, I guess then I shouldn't be worried that I am overfeeding my gal.

Any mummies intend to teach their babies how to sign? I was at the shop looking at the babycook machine and saw this book on baby signing. Couldn't resist and bought it. Burned another hole in my pocket (S$40) after buying the AK cookbook on Friday.

Yes I agree how to feed a bowl??? So immediate I got an idea get a smaller bowl lor. . hahahahaha. . .

Same here Sherilyn will eat half of her share and spit the other half out. . that is why I ask ilovebabies to share her mum's cook porridge. . . hehehehe.

peachie, SHa

start slowly .. i think bb tends to reject them initially.

oh maybe can add carrot puree to the porridge or brown rice cereal, it does taste better.

Angeline,
Can I have the file too? Plezzzzzzzzzzzz..... .... I have absolutely zero ideas how to go about coz I dun go to PD. Now just anyhow anyhow give Gab rice cereal 3 times everyday, each time 1 teaspoon. Also made apple puree on Saturday and tried to feed him last nite. He *yucks* everything out! hahahaha... ...

ok here's the file. Hope it will help clueless mummies like me. I was kinda stress on how to balance her solid and milk intake in the beginning.

I didn't have time to 'beautify' the file, just MSN me or post message if you have question on how to understand it.

1 tbs = 1 tablespoon = 15 ml.
and from what the book said
1 teaspoon of cereal powder will make 2 teaspoon/1 tablespoon of cereal mixture.<center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif
weaning
Weaning.xls (16.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

<font color="ff0000">Amount of Food to feed</font>, I always believe in this - BB will show signs of 'full' when they are. So let nature tells us when to stop feeding! So for me, I dont decide how much to give, but when A show signs of FULL, I respect that! heehee..

<font color="0077aa">Peachie</font>, oh dear.. poor Clarence.. hope he's not dehydrated from loosing so much water.. eh, u mentioned before u don bring him out to socialise with other bbs as per instructed by your PD la, then how come Clarence can still kena.. was it the adults during CNY?? dirty hands then go and carry him type?! hmmm

<font color="0077aa">ilovebabies</font>, don know why.. now I associate u as a tum chia po.. heehee.. (pardon my lousy HYPY)

<font color="0077aa">Yuna</font>, in my opinion, there are ONLY 2 reasons why I will want to use bottle to feed cereal. 1. To suss out allergy so will add like half milk scoop to 180ml of (3 scoops) FM. 2.If bbs are rejecting SPOON feeding and when weight gain is desired.

Apparently, a lot of people is saying that bb will tend to get used to solids with bottle feeding and that's no good cos that's the last thing we want to happen when we do weaning! so better not la.. If yr intention is to intro solids in replacement of Milk feed then try this: (Tablespoon = TBS)
If feeding time is 6pm, at 5.30pm start spoon feeding 2 tbs of cereal + 30ml FM (if yr cereal doesnt contain FM) then if she can finish, quickly make another 2 tbs of cereal + 30ml FM. Then for the next day's evening feed, u can straightaway prepare 4 tbs of cereal + 60ml FM.. then increase the feed slowly.. like next 6 tbs cereal + 60ml FM. Once this is determined, try to remove the FM by replacing boiled water and add SINGLE ingredient - like sweet potato, pumpkin etc..

Oh the amount of FM/EBM to add is determined by the consistency of the cereal u are getting. So what I wrote above is my estimation, not a fixed amount. For our bbs' age, I think like runny is good. That means when u hold the spoon vertically with the cereal on it, it SNAILS down in a blob..

This is MY pattern and A seems ok with it so far.. u can try for Clarice BUT BUT BUT seriously what u are doing now is not wrong ok.. if u are ok with the amount of work then continue la.. for me, I like to have as much free time as possible to come in here and play! heehee..

brenda

ya lah I admit I am TAM JIAK !

eh think I abit confused, tablespoon as in the one we adults use ? wah 2 tbs of cereal is a lot ah ?

no le.. hee hee.. cos I'm not religious with the exact amount of milk or cereal when I make for A.. I just aga aga.. so whatever measurements I quoted in my posts, are what I deem is acceptable..

But all babies vary in their appetite. So cannot simply based on with anyone's standards! As I mentioned, best sign to adhere to is our BB's!

ilovebabies,
the spoons the book mentioned are the normal teaspoon and tablespoon. But right now for the chor bee, I am using the milk power scoop.

here's the routine I set of T over this weekend.
table{
06:30 breakfast #1, milk ( #1, )
09:30 / 10:00 breakfast #2, milk ( #2, )
10:00 Play ()
11:30 Morning nap (˯)
12:30 Lunch, puree (, )
01:00 Play ()
02:30 -
04:30 2 hr nap (˯ 2 )
04:30 Tea-time, milk (, )
04:30 play ()
05:30 bath ()
06:30 water & evening nap (ˮ + С˯)
07:30 Dinner, puree ()
08:00 play ()
10:00 milk, supper ( , &uuml;ҹ)
10:30 bedtime (һX)

}

Haha, so I am not the only "under-feeding" mom here hah! Yup, how to feed a bowl? I told the PD straight out that feeding anything more than 2 tablespoons is impossible!!! But his exact words are these - at six months, they should be having at least 2 meals of solids per day. Weaning is very important, so you guys cannot stop feeding solids just because it is difficult to feed. There were studies done to indicate that late weaning (that is 12 months or later) in fact raises the risk of food allergy in babies.

My next question to him was then how much should Clarence be eating? 2 meals of solids, then how much milk and how much solids each time? His answer is very straightforward. He said at six months, they should be fed milk 3 times a day, each time about 180ml. Solids can be given at 11am and 5pm. The 3 feeds of milk can be in the morning, mid afternoon and just before bed. For the 2 meals of solids, each serving size should be a bowl. (This is when my mouth dropped and I was speechless for a while)...

I asked other stuffs such as how to cook. His advice was just put rice in slow cooker. Then steam the vegetables and/or meat just before feeding baby. Don't add the veg/meat into the slowcooker and let them cook with the rice over a long period of time. This kills all the nutrients. As for first foods, he said that stuffs like carrots, potatoes, spinach, fish (local fish), apples are fine.

Hi Brenda,

Yup, I was so guai!!! I followed his advice and din bring Clarence to any classes or playgroups where there is interaction with other babies! Haiz... Who knows so many of my relatives were sick, and they all insisted to carry Clarence over the Chinese New Year.
Worse still, anything which Clarence touches will go into his mouth. Guess that's how the viruses got into his system.

I asked my PD when Clarence could start going to classes when I saw him last week. His standard response is best to wait till 2 years, cos that is when their immunity level is really much higher. If you really really cannot wait, do so after 1 year, but come here for the Pneumococcal vaccination first. Then he asked what's the rush? Anyway they cannot absorb anything much or know how to socialise before 24 months. His advice was - you want to stimulate him? I can tell you how. Let him listen to loads of music, best is symphonic orchestra where there are different instruments. Talk to him as much as possible and give him age appropriate toys. Let him explore the world on his own, try different textures, try different tastes. Bring him to the park and let him interact with nature. Classes are a plain waste of money. And you will be seeing me (as in the PD) more often as well.

There there... all his usual advice.... So it's no playgroup for Clarence still...

anybody knows where to get the same sling as this? i remember someone posted abt this sling which cost abt 40 plus. the one on the pic is from babetitude n cost 100 plus!!

712822.jpg

actually i find this sling so much easier to use than those MIM sling which i got earlier. so i sold away the MIM and use the pouch sling now

BabySteps Electric Food Mill

<font color="ff0000">Retailing around US$24.95</font>

Hey Brenda, reference to your above posting on not able to get a decent miller (not grinder etc.)

This one was the one mentioned to you just now.

712851.jpg

This compact and handy appliance blends and purees fresh foods into healthy meals for your baby.

Features

- 2 cup bowl
- Non-skid bottom
- Turbo button for pulsating rotations
- Blending attachment for more thorough mixing
- Dishwasher safe; except for motor/housing

712852.jpg
712853.jpg
712854.jpg

Just saw, drugstore.com got sell.
On offer at US$19.99

So can try to get from there.
But just not sure how much shipping will come up to.

If you getting 1 unit, then its ok. If we want to do BP, probably got to send via sea freight (longer but alot cheaper)

Hey hey, the topic on cereal is so timely. I just started Cayden on cereal over the weekend ! and this little greedy pig sure enjoyed the food
He actually snatched the spoon from me and trying to feed himself.. hahah..

Some photos to share with mummies ya :

713036.jpg

713037.jpg

orange

aiyo ur MR SUMO is so cute !!

btw is it ok to feed bb in bumbo seat ?? cos it seems to bend the body a bit, and I am afraid bb will feel uncomfy during feeding.

any advise ?

hey ilovebabies u still awake!! for me i can never feed jo on the bumbo. she is like a lil worm always bending over to grab things, or to try to suck her toes or just fidgeting for no reason. so i usually just put her on my lap with a bit of recline position. if i put her too upright somehow the food always dribble out of her mouth n half her cereal is stuck on her clothes instead!!

helo!

brenda, yes Jovann did enjoyed the Ritz stay! he looks happy to be with us and exploring new things, think he esp like the bath and the attention by all the aunties during dinner and bf hahaha. wow ritz at shanghai is good service leh, sounds very nice.

orange, i din use cot wor, want him to sleep in betw us coz its a foreign plc to him want him to feel safe. i did hear some hotels got cot though. he had a hard time falling asleep but after that okie. hehee.....

I can't wait to start JOvann on cereals!!! maybe I try again a bit bit this weekend hehehe!

Emma, my baby monitor is Swann brand. its a brand thats good for their security systems. got LCD monitor too and u can see baby movement at night as well. costs $300++ coz its a gift from my D&D comm for full mth.

littlepony and brenda, someone going Prague? did i hear wrongly? how nice!!! we went there for our honeymoon and its really really fond memories. beautiful place!

pig2, Malcolm can sit so straight up liaoz!

ilovebabies, rachel can sit baby chair oredi ah! her back so firm? dun think JOvann can, he sure flop forwards once we sit him there heheh.

brenda, u very farnie leh, got tech support helpline!
HV ah? i dun think can leh, when u guys meeting? this week will be super busy at work cannot MIA leh hehehe.

Ling and DG, the shop Ling is talking about is In The States issit?

littlepony, thanks for the info on old bottles exchange at the baby fair! when is the baby fair starting? 8th issit?

peachie, oh dear, do hope clarence recover soon. i know what u mean, relatives all wanna carry him but cannot tell them not to right? actually we have a relative that is sick from shingles. we went all out to make sure he has no contact with relative during this year's CNY.

<font color="0077aa">Angeline</font>, is that the schedule u give yr caretaker to adhere to? wa lao u and her communicate in some secret agent james bond codes ahh? heehee.. what those codes mean le?

<font color="0077aa">Peachie</font>, hahahahhahahaa!! u secretly used a voice recorder and taped down whatever yr PD said is it?? heehee.. u are repeating them so well!! could he be saying this becos Clarence is weak or does he apply his school of thoughts to every bbs he sees?

But I agree with his advice on stimulating bbs. But those activities he mentioned, not enough for SAHM!! And yes bb physical health is important, so is mummy's mental health! If I'm not happy, A will suffer too isn't it? As what I told Sha and Lil Pony that day, I'm the one who needs the stimulation, not my A! hahahah!

My PD happens to be the big boss of Kinder Clinic (Paragon & Glen E)and is specialising in the area of immunology but when I told him about playgroups and all, he will be like 'Good!' and he gives room temp milk instead of warm to his 2 children. Ironic ya? But if the Immunology Specialist says ok, I ok la.. hee..

<font color="0077aa">Phoebe</font>, oooh this Mill you're talking about! ya I've seen it but not very good reviews from mummies in the foreign forums le.. so I don think I want to get this but a BIG thanks to you! u put all the shopping information counters' receptionists to shame!!

<font color="0077aa">ilovebabies</font>, I can't do without bumbo when feeding A! In fact, on the box it actually specifies that bumbo is suitable for bb to sit while feeding le..

<font color="0077aa">Orange</font>, Cayden looks amusing! that makes me want to do a bb weaning montage!

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Next Next Next Montage > Weaning Babies!</font></font>
- babies with food all over the mouth!
- babies holding the spoon/bowl/cup whatever!
- babies with FOOD la!!!
Post them (and email to me - [email protected]) when u have the pics ya!

<font color="0077aa">Daisybuttons</font>, Wah the Swann thing sounds good to use! We're waiting for Joon to confirm the timing, but likely to be at around 12.30-1pm.. I'll try to help plan this and firm this up by tmr night..

<font color="ff0000">HV lunch/Cuppa Mummies, Thu 12.30pm at Crystal Jade Kitchen for Dim Sum (nice idea from Phoebe) then maybe coffee somewhere else for those who can hang out longer ok with all?</font> Also, pls indicate if you're bringing bb so that if I book table I know what to tell them la.. like table size for 10 adults with land size for 5 bbs' strollers.. heehee.. Please use 'OK' if arrangement is good with you ya..
1. Brenda - OK
2. Ling
3. Joon
4. Orange
5. Doreen
6. Phoebe
7. E-Ling - as informed by Phoebe

And who else ah?

<font size="+1">Paging for:

1. Peachie
2. Chng Wife
3. shojo 79
4. crystallized</font>

PM me to arrange on the payment, collection or postage for your Calendula Cream hor. Thx.

HV lunch/Cuppa Mummies, Thu 12.30pm at Crystal Jade Kitchen for Dim Sum (nice idea from Phoebe) then maybe coffee somewhere else for those who can hang out longer ok with all? Also, pls indicate if you're bringing bb so that if I book table I know what to tell them la.. like table size for 10 adults with land size for 5 bbs' strollers.. heehee..
Please use 'OK' if arrangement is good with you ya..
1. Brenda - OK
2. Ling
3. Joon
4. Orange
5. Doreen + bb - OK
6. Phoebe
7. E-Ling - as informed by Phoebe

And who else ah?

<font color="ff6000">So not going for Taka bb fair already??</font>

<font color="0000ff">Daisybuttons</font>,
Hey, MIA for a while .. now u are back again huh?
Oh, the fair starts this Thursday lor..

Ya, Brenda and I and Sha are making arrangements to go Parague. Haaa! Wow, sound so nice right? How i wish! Brenda making plans to go middle of the year.. me making plans end of the year. As for Sha, she is seeing which luggage she can fit in so she can follow either one of us! haaaa!! Right, Sha?

<font color="ff0000">Phoebe</font>,
Phoebe dear, let me know when the best time u be popping by Harbourfront so I can collect from u. I go inform Chng's wife for you on her collection of the cream. Heee..

b{<font color="ff6000">Brenda</font>},
Brenda dear, here's my submission for the <font color="0000ff">Weaning</font> babies montages.

It was a mess when I feed Wayne with cereal but now, i improved.

713300.jpg

Stupid mum, feed me until like this!