(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Since some of u might be looking for a machine to mill your bbs' food now, I'll share my thoughts and experience of what I went through yesterday..

I spent whole of yesterday combing Best Denki, Harvey Norman and Courts for a functional mill but!! they all carry the same brands and models.. So it was frustrating as we could have just spent all our time in ONE shop and 'study' all the choices we have..

I also made a few checks with other friends who have bought a mill to make bb food and most of the mills selling on the shelves at our shores are a waste of $$ and efforts! Yes, u need lots of efforts to get those bloody mills working properly! Uuurrgghh the thought of it already make me loathe doing it! cos I've been through this many many zillion times trying to mill my sambal!

I'm not a believer of whatever-In-One that kinda machines.. like those 3-in-1 fax/copier/printer, if ONE component spoils, the rest cannot use!

Prices range from S$40-S$100.. There isn't ANY that is purposely made for puree-ing bb's food.

In summary, a CHOPPER is for chopping food into slices and chunks, eg: onions/garlic. A BLENDER is good if the food is wet, eg: fruits. A GRINDER is good for DRY food, eg: peppercorns.

They don't have MILL and MILL is what we need.. And yes! if BABYCOOK is really purpose-built for puree-ing bb's food, I'll love to own one..

711920.jpg

Peachie,

You got night light from the fair......I CAN'T FIND IT
my hubby and I were searching high and low for night light but we cant find any at the fair or Kiddy Palace. haiz.....

can share wif me how the packing look like...

<font color="0077aa">Selina</font>, ooh almost missed your post! It's at HV next to starbucks, shop name is called KHIAM TECK if I remember correctly. How come can lao hong one? Me and Shawn just used it to play 'beach ball' and it was still good after all that slamming..

<font color="0077aa">Peachie</font>, that's a cute lil chest u got there for Clarence.. nice color

<font color="0077aa">Lil Pony</font>, ahh! u going to Cologne and Prague too! we're still considering la.. cos logistically a bit tough.. so many things to carry.. but we might leave A behind with our Aunty. While Shawn's going to play at Nurburgring in Cologne, I'll be shopping at Prague! heehee.. window shopping la since Euro is so high!! urrghh..

ok ok Brenda,
For you sake. I will leave the office now and go over to check out the price of the Babycook. Let you know in 1 hrs time.

peachie.. I'm also thinking of letting Enzo zzz in his own room real soon... but I am clueless abt how to start.... what do i need to prepare? other than preparing his room, and getting a good baby monitor??

mommies whose babies are zzzing in their own room.. which baby monitor would u recommend?? anything i should take note of before leaving my darling enzo to zzz alone??? think many mommies will also start to leave their babies to zzz alone soon... so would be lovely for you to share how u guys did it!! thanx a million..

<font color="0077aa">Yuna</font>, there're some night lights selling at HomeFix DIY stores, u might want to it out. But depends on what type u want.. Sound sensor? motion sensor? or just tap on it to activiate type..

<font color="0077aa">Angeline</font>, awww.. thanks! ok la ok la.. I give u A for one night la.. no need to give me T in return.. heehee.. u watch both can? heehee.. then I can go out and party!

Brenda

OK...will check ou HomeFix DIY. thks so much.

hey, u know, i find that C and A look a bit alike leh, I took some pics of C over the wkend and first thing that cross my mind is A. hahah...

emma
is enzo sleeping on his own mattress in yr room or on the same bed? there's a chapter on this in the Baby Whisperer book. i can photocopy n snail mail to you if you want?

For us, we started sophie in her own room right from the start so i don't have experience weaning her. Her room is quite near ours so we decided not to have a baby monitor or else every little whimper she makes we'll wake up.

brenda
Wah! your customer service vely good leh! Got feedback email some more! Hahahaha....

Wah i can't get a pic of sophie sitting leh... she can SIT n reach tho. And then fall over. hahaha. Maybe i shd submit that instead!

emomoments
Dylan looks SO adorable w the bola! I think he can be our BOLLAWOOD STAR!

ling.. u're so sweet to offer to photocopy the chapter for me.. hehe.. so touched... enzo is zzzing in his own baby cot... so i thought juz push the cos over to the other room??? but dunno if there's other things i need to take note of to make it less traumatizing for him.. haha.. cos i realise he can sense whether we're in the room or not even if we're juz lying in bed where he cannot see us... muz say, u're v brave to start sophie off right from the start.. or am i juz too paranoid.. haha... our rooms are not that far... but i'm not sure if i can hear him though.. hehe...

DG
hey! sophie has the same enjoy milk top as Nic! Which reminds me i haven't worn it for her for a while... The pic of Nic yawning looks like he's doing the big one instead! heh...

Brenda.. kokz ur head.. haha.. u dun recognise the face, you should also recognise those 2 lil pearly whites mah.. so cute hor.. hehe...

emma
OH! that's easier if he's in his own cot. clever you.

i'm not sure how you norm put him to sleep. Does he sleep on his own, you nurse him OR rock him? If he sleeps on his own you might wanna stay w him till he falls asleep. Or even sleep in his room w him for a night or so. But be prepared for a bit of crying thru the night for a few nights, after that he shd be fine.

it's good that you're doing this now coz any older it'll just get harder on both sides... heh...

we're not brave lah... we got no space in our room hahah... in the beginning for a week or so, i slept w sophie in her room on a mattress. So that i don't go crazy going to her room every 2 hrs to feed her. Hahah...

would you like the chapter? can pm me your address?

ling... there's a sofa in Enzo's room.. think i'll juz zzz with him for a coupla nights to see how.. hehe... thanx for the chapter.. think u can pass to phoebe during ur HV lunch.. and i'll collect it from her together with some stuff i bot from her... how???
thanx again ya...

phoebe.. can hor.. hehe.. hope its not too much trouble for u..

pawprint/ling, thanks.. i especially love the "bite me" tshirt which hb got from Sydney aquarium. Wish he got one for me too. :p

Ling, next time Nicholas can wear the same Enjoy Milk tshirt with Sophie and hang out together like infant couple. hahaha... provided Sophie doesn't mind that he is still botak. BUT BUT BUT he has 4 dimples!! so hopefully that makes up for it.

brenda, where in HV do you get the bola from?

lilpony,
you going to Pragues? Cool! Such a romantic city! Are you bringing Wayne or leaving him behind with your mum?

DG
AHAHAH............ then they'll really look like a couple coz she's botak too! I hope HE doesn't mind a botak gf! Hahaha... WAHH i like! 4 dimples!

The Bola shop is on the row where Starbucks/Body Shop are. The one that sells a lot of party toys etc. Very old looking shop, can't miss one.

brenda
yah lor dunno y can lao hong so fast. think my niece too rough when playing wif it or what. will try to find the lao hong part then scotch tape it so can use again.

tks for your sms on the mattress. will go check it out.

re the bb swimming, check wif my sis n she is very tied with her existing lessons as well as dip in child care course so she says not possible right now for her to do it. sorry.

ling
tks i think i know which shop u refering to. it's been there for ages since i was young. it sure can survive the change of time hor.

DG,
If my hubby and I decide to go, we probably leave Wayne with my mil. Haa! Then we go romantic mah.. with wayne, only <font color="ff0000">LOMANTIC</font>.. no <font color="ff0000">ROMANTIC</font>..

Sha,
Haaa... Bring u also can... but u have to agree to be my lightbulb lor! haaaa!! Later, my hubby becomes both of our lightbulb since we known each other for 'AGES'?? right?

littlepony
me oso gg europe next mth. will be leaving jo behind with mom n bringing the boys. so no romantic lor..

u gg for a made in europe huh heh??

Brenda,
I take up your offer. I love babies. No problem to leave Arianne with me for a weekend even. She's soooo cute.

Price of Babycook is HK$1000 / SG$200.
Saw another similar item call 'Babymoov'. It looks like a French production. Much cheaper HK$600 . SG$120.

Blessedmom,
u going which part of europe? wah. so nice hoh. next month.. wow!!! ya, bring kids abit no romantic leh. Haa!!

No lah. no made in europe.. One enuff for now, i guess. I still enjoying spending time with Wayne.. don't want to take tat time away. Heee.

Hi Yuna,

I've got the nightlight from the booth very near the entrance on the right side... The brand is called DreamBaby. Their website is here..

http://www.dreambaby.com.au

The nightlight I've got looks like this:
712052.jpg

SLEEP TIGHT NEON LIGHT - 10,000 hrs
Provides a soft light for your child's room, the hallway, bathroom...at night. Conserves energy. Easy to use. Fire resistant material.

There is another night light which sells for $7, which is light activated. Was tempted to buy, but didn't cos there is a cheaper alternative.

712053.jpg

Dream Baby Fluorescent Night Light provides a soft light for any room in the house. Conserves energy and is easy to use

I think you can find night lights at KiddyPalace. Not sure about their price. Can also check out the Taka sale which is coming soon!

Hi PrincessEmma,

Hehe, I also am clueless. I intend to just push his crib into the next room and leave him there... with the night lights switched on. But yes, must find a baby monitor first! I intend to source at the Taka fair.
Think will get a Philips baby monitor. But there are many models.... Analog (which may not have clear signals but much cheaper) or digital. Still haven't made up my mind. Any moms here using baby monitor? Any good brands to recommend?

Hi Brenda,

Wait for my bola bola montage! Clarence sick over the past week, so din take any photo...
Will take some this weekend!

love the babies pix! love the handsome handsome wif such a cute dimple! he melted my heart! Awwwwwwwwww.....

DG
love Nic's "shark" tee that says "BITE ME!" so cute!

littlepony
thks 4 the info on taka sale! wow! now can 'trade' in old milk btls? thats NEW to me! too bad i dun hv any tt i wld like to trade yet... and oh, when's the sale? u girls planning to meet this wk ah? Since Selina said she will miss it coz of the cruise, tt means me too, coz i am gg on the same day cruise wif Selina! Yippie!

INTRODUCING CEREAL
i read in some article that we shd let bb drink milk before feeding him cereal cos milk is still their main source of nutrition? is this wat you gals are doing too? cos i fed ethan the last 2 days this way n he did take some of the cereal. but when my in-laws tried to feed him today, they said he spit out most of it and they said its cos he's too full, so we shd feed the cereal first!

any insights on this? any advise much appreciated thks!

ps: no time to read thro all the posts now! mon is always madness in the office :p

<font color="0077aa">DG</font>, the shop is called KHIAM TECK, along the delifrance/starbucks stretch of shops.. If you buy it, ask the aunty for either S$2.50 bola or the S$2.80 one, then you'll get the suitable size for Nicholas.

<font color="0077aa">Peachie</font>, aiyoo what happened to Clarence? Flu? No worries la, u post/email me when u can ya..

<font color="0077aa">Yuna</font>, I think you should be getting the 'sound' activated one, mroe practical. But when bb grows older like 4-5yrs old, going to toilet on their own, then the 'motion' activated one will be good.. auto-off feature also important, especially if it is battery operated.. I am not sure if Home Fix has sound ones, so u got to check it out la..

<font color="0077aa">Lil Pony</font>, so if we coincide our trips and we bring <font color="ff0000">Sha</font>, then 3 of us can kiapkiap there while Keith and Shawn romance themselves la! heehee.. then my A go with your W to your mum's la! heehee..

<font color="0077aa">Angeline</font>, eh thanks so much for making the trip to check out for me!! but S$200 a bit off the selling price in UK which is about GBP50.. But anyhow I'll try to find invo on the babymoov u mentioned then make a comparison and I'll let u know if I want to get any, ok? thanks again!

Michelle,

In a book i read (Asian Parenting) it says the opposite. To eat cereal first then top up with milk. This way, can slowly reduce the milk intake in that feed.

This is what blessedmommy taught me. Use some of the milk in the normal feed to make the cereal, let him finish the cereal, followed by drinking up the balance of the milk still in the bottle. This way, slowly as you give more cereal he will need to drink less from bottle, yet total milk intake is not reduced.

Angeline

i am practising what u mentioned abv. So at least for the feed, bb still have her normal amt of milk. But how abt Chor Bee ? cos that one we need to boil and stir it over low fire and we cant boil EBM.

michelle
for caleb we play by ear. if it is still quite early for his feed, we give him cereals first. if too close to his feeding time, then we give him milk first. hope it helps cos when they too hungry they cannot wait n taking solids is something new to them so they get cranky after a while.

Yippee!! I finally managed to get the bola bola juz now during lunch. Silly me, I went around the world and in the end found the holy bola at my workplace for juzt $2! I was like describing to the aunty or uncle at the shops if they carry this ball made of plastic, to be blown. I was shown many kinds of balls, balloons...until at this particular shop, this uncle asked me if I had wanted a beach ball! YES, Yes!! After all the hoo haa abt little pony's 'lost' ball with Mr Postman to the zoo or beach, how could I forget the name to it!!

Brenda,
re the yoga email, I'll try to reply u if not pls go ahead after the deadline k. I'm definitely ok cos this week will be tough as I need to be on a training session. I cant wait to let Keane play with the ball but can only wait till weekend cos me weekend mummy! Will try to submit foto for the montage then. Btw, I haven't got the chance to view ur vidz yet. Can't wait!

ling/brenda, thanks. i know which shop u r referring to.

ling, hahaha... our botak couple! cool! must take pic next time.

jrt, it is super cute to me too. all credit to hb.

michelle, at this age, should feed after milk as solid meals are not nutritious enough to replace milk feeds. meant to only introduce new foods/taste. but you will also find many books and even PDs tell u otherwise.

lilpony, if u can, better go n be romantic. i wish i can leave my boys behind,but no one to look after.

blessedmom, which part of europe r u going?

Now that you all taking abt feeding our babies cereal, not sure if i am doing the right way.

What i do is .... abt 1.5 hr - 2 hr after her last feed, i will feed C 1 tbsp cereal + abt 50ml of FM. den abt 1.5 hr - 2 hr after the cereal, will feed her the usual intake of FM. so sounding confusing hor.... ok... the schedule read tis way :

9am 150ml milk
11.30 pm 1 tbsp cereal + 50 ml milk
1.30pm 150 milk

any advise from mummies here, am i doing the correct way?

<font color="0077aa">Michelle</font>, in my opinion there's no right or wrong in either approach. We are now only on the INTRODUCTION stage of solids to our bbs, so there's still some exploration to do..

Giving bb milk first is to make him a bit full before we frustrate him with the new method of feeding and also him getting used to the taste of cereal (of cos can add some milk in). If he usually takes 180ml of milk, u can try giving 60ml BEFORE CEREAL, then continue with the cereal feeding until he show signs of 'full'..

If u give CEREAL FIRST, then do give BEFORE HIS ACTUAL feeding time. Like in my case, I replace Arianne's afternoon 2pm milk feed to cereal now, so I start feeding at 1.30pm.

At the end of the day, most importantly is he gets fed!

Emma
I am using a Baby Video Monitor.

It is wireless baby monitor which allows me to see malcolm while he is sleeping instead of just hearing him, it has the night vision function so that even if the room is dim, i can still see him.

Malcolm is still sleeping with us in the same room, so I am only using the monitor when he is taking afternoon nap or alone in the room, as it is wireless, we bring the monitor everywhere in the house, kitchen, study room, living room!

<font color="0077aa">ilovebabies</font>, did u try to warm EBM first then add to the COOKED chor bee? I did this for my Chloe last time. And I also pour the chor bee into my blender, then add my warmed up EBM and blend them for a couple seconds. To mix and to lower the temp of the brown rice..

<font color="0077aa">Yuna</font>, sounds logical to me le but u will be so busy isn't it? as in like every 2hours got to feed her then got to clean up, aiyo.. it's like if u feed her at 1130am, probably finish feeding at 12.15pm then clean up 12.45pm then in half an hour's time u need to make milk liao.. a bit too much work for u right?

But are u still at the introductory stage or already replacing ONE milk feed with the cereal? Meaning was 11.30am's feed a regular milk feed before u intro Clarice cereal?

Show me the pics of C looking like A le.. then maybe I can find some of A's pics to match!

Brenda

Her regular milk feed shd be 12 noon, 3 hrs interval. so if she is not sleeping, den i will feed her at abt 11.00am. as for today, she is sleeping so extend the feed to 11.30am. I am still at the introductory stage. any issue here?

another question, is it advisable to eat cereal to her milk as a feed, meaning her usual feed is 2.5 scoop of FM, so i will give 2 scoop FM den 0.5 scoop cereal for her evening feed?

I will email u the pic tmr, the pic not with me now.

Brenda,
yes your pix looks like the one i saw in the shop.

ilovebabies,
actually, i cook the ebm too. heating will kill the antibodies, but the other nutrients and vitamins should be ok rite? I assumed the antibodies can still be provided by the other bottle feeds. How much chor bee is Rachel taking now. Rite now T is taking 1.5 scoop of chor bee powder mixed with 100 ml of EBM + 2 cubes of veggies. This already looks like alot to be for a small baby, so I stopped giving her milk after this and will wait another 3 hrs before giving her the next milk feed. Since this weekend, she is taking puree for lunch and dinner.

Michelle,
when are you on MSN? I'll transfer you a file with recommendation on the amount of semi-solid and milk to give over a period of 1 month to slowly replace milk with semi-solid for a meal.

Wow just MIA for half a day to finish up my pcs of cake on the plate and so many posting liao. . . need to rush out later so I will be home late AGAIN!!!! but I am coming in late tomorrow . . hehehehehehe. . .

Brenda,
Good idea. . firstly need to pack me into a breathable luggage that has compartment to store food inside with water and it is has to be big enough for me to squeeze comfortably into it would be great if there is mobile toilet inside as well lah . . hahahahaha. . ..

Yuna,
So far, T loves her purees. She will stretch her neck long long and open her mouth big big. But I think she 'tan1 xin1 xian1'. But I am happy as long as she stays this way. Just as long as she continues to drink up her milk too.

<font color="0077aa">Yuna</font>, so the old schedule was 9am then 12pm, then 3pm then will be less tedious on you? and currently u are doing 1130am cereal then 1.30pm milk? Not like u are doing anything wrong, but why not stick to the 3pm FM feed? Is she asking for milk at 1.30pm? How much of cereal is she having? Sounds like only 1 or 2 tablespoon to me otherwise how come she can still stomach milk in less than 2 hours. And do u still give milk after cereal at 11.30am?

Cos if still on intro stage then definitely the qty to give is lesser la..

<font color="0077aa">ilovebabies</font>, then don add so much EBM la.. basically the logic behind of adding EBM or FM is to allow the bb a taste of 'familiarity'.. And once she's good with the brown rice, then can slowly reduce the EBM. But she'll still need her daily intake of milk which should not be less than 500ml for our bbs' age.. that's what I learnt.. Also good to double confirm with your PD, I do that all the time! I call him instead of visiting him, so no need to pay consultation ma.. Note down the feeding pattern/amount/types of food then submit to your PD and see what he says..

heh.. I review my post and I feel I am so lor-soh.. pardon me..

Angeline

can ah ? I am not so sure abt boiling EBM cos I thought it is not allowed.

I am not sure how much water I added into the chor bee ehehhe I agar agar .. but she takes 1 full spoon ... those big scoop u find it milk powder. SOmetimes I will give her baby biscuits prior or after her cereal.

For lunch, she takes fish porridge now. Yest she finished a piece of cod fish with quite a lot of porridge. SO surprised she can finish it all but I thnk it's becos my MIL use the fish head bone soup to cook the porridge. .. it's so delicious that I finish the rest of the porridge ! ehhe