(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Ling, don't worry. It's quite common for new born babies. It's also called Ebstein's Pearls.

Many babies are born with a little white bump on the top of their palate called an Ebstein's pearl. This is a little extra piece of skin that will slough off in the first 6 months. Bohn's pearls are similar pieces of skin on the gum line that are often mistaken for teeth. They too will fall off over time.

dumpty
nursing in sling wun work coz he is fighting against slings nowadays. BBRRRGGGG! his legs will 4ever wanna get out of the sling. anyway now i tried to dance for a while, sit down when he quietens and start only when he fusses again. i am trying to stop this terrible habit but not so easy, it seems.

eeeeee, ur MIL is so old fashioned! feed Gab rice fr her plate? i wld hv flipped (dun think my MIL dares to do tt in front of me)

blessedmommy
aiyoh, tell me abt my famous dance! (now even got a special name fr u! sounds nice though! <font color="119911">milkicinno!!</font>) i was wondering for a full 30 secs when i read tt, wondering wat is that word!

amazing thing, but yes, i can dance and sing at the same time! but its not sthg i am proud of lah! tt day i had to nurse in taka... so embarrassed when i had to start my dance halfway when R fussed while the lady beside me probably thot i am crazy lor.

jasmine
congrats tt jadelle can sleep on her own. R can sleep w/o my breast but he will fuss and cry b4 sleeping and i hv to rock him in my arms for a few mins b4 he doze off and i can put him on to the mattress. me oso still on night duty. god noes when i can ever get him to sleep thru... and yes, i do noe the dancing stunt is gonna get more difficult as he grows older. haiz... this boy still fusses during most feeds though i hv been seeing him and latching him 100% during this CNY period.

Selina
nvm lah, rem wat u wanna say then post lah.

diana
oh... yah i just checked it out. But she only had it recently.. hmmm... aiyah never mind lah... will ask PD..
Thanks for highlighting it tho... never heard of it before.... heh...

Peachie,

If i remember correctly, it didnt take too long for the teeth to erupt leh, less den a month i tik, but it does take a while for it to "grow in height" hahah....C also like to chew on things, everything she grabs will go to her mouth but she dun whine in pain lor.

I havent remove the crib toy but i have lower the bed to 2nd level so she cant touch the toy.

diana
caleb is turning 5 on sunday.

crystallized
i remembered. yes i'm going for the yoga & the gathering. got a visiting to do in the evening near town so thought might as well join the yoga.

ling
yah lah. now always blow his saliva. even when he talking to himself it will be one of his favourite past time

doreen,
well done. n u managed to capture him sitting. caleb also can sit for seconds but i always not in time to capture lor. me very slow.

Angeline,
At least ur MIL told u. My MIL tried to sneak the rice into Gab's mouth when she thot I'm not looking. But she din know that I hv my eyes on Gab all the time when she carries him.

Angeline, Ling,
Gab teeth are really teeth. In fact, just over few days time they had grow "taller". He's a big boy now... Hahaha...

Ling,
Gab very steady one. Last night I latch him on and when I see he's starting to get drowsy, I put him on the bed. Immediately he start wailing and he cried for at least 5 min until my Mum popped into the room and asked me what happened. But a few times he almost doze off and yet he struggle to open his eyes and continue crying. Haiz... If this is normal, then I'll try again tonight and hopefully in a few days time he can go to sleep on his own like Jadelle!

jRt,
I almost flipped. But my mum always tell me to give my MIL face so I "ren" and wait to see if Gab push out the food. If he dun I was all prepared to ask for my baby back from her.

Diana,
First time I heard about that pearl thingy also. Hehe... anyway Gab got real pearlies now

Any mommy bought bed rail ? Shopped a few places, the bed rail is only for divan bed or mattress sit on top of bed frame type. My bed is the mattress sink into the bed frame type, any idea where to buy?
Thanks a lot!

dumpty

You also first time heard of the pearl thing? I got to know it from the booklet given by my PD. It's also called ma3 ya2 in chinese. Anyway, congrats on Gab's real pearlies.

Hi Yuna,

Thanks! Moving the crib down by 1 notch is a great suggestion!
I shall do that tonite!

Diana,

Thanks for the info on the epithelial pearls! Really very helpful.
This forum is truly wonderful.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">GONGXI GONGXI to all the 6th months old babies' mummies! You've made it!!</font></font>

<font color="ff6000">ilovebabies</font>,
poor thing u.. kena spilled milk and broken pump.. hmm.. hope all's well now.

heh.. I scared some of u might go and waste $$ on the hair thing ma so quickly got E-Ling to post for me! hee..

Yes, I'll try to take pics this Sunday if I can pant and still hold the cam and aim well ahh.. but would really love to see lil sweet Rach la
So the next one, u must make it ahh.

S26 has been on Arianne's menu since I stopped BFDG, and she does well with that, though weight gain not as much when she was BFDG la but not much diff la, we're talking about couple hundred grams. Today we just bought ONE tin of Promil Gold and hopefully she likes the change then can buy bulk after..

<font color="ff6000">E-Ling</font>, I didn't manage to ka much le cos Arianne wasn't really cooperating la. And I don know if u girls are having the same problem as me.. nowadays we tend to shop for our bbs instead for ourselves, isn't it? I was venturing on the 1st/2nd/4th floors of Taka, but don know how come still ended up on the 3rd floor - children's dept! urrgghh

Brand of Car Seat - hee.. cannot remember.. nothing fancy just that it's THE ONLY leather one available and bothe Shawn and me are suckers for leather products! hee.. BTW, APRICA (I using the pram, very good!) took the rights to produce FERRARI brand car seats, using ferrari car's red, quite chio! I think <font color="ff6000">EMMA</font> might be interested to know.. heh..

But personally (leather aside), I can see that Britax ones are very reliably made. Worth considering.. so is their strollers..

<font color="ff6000">Dumpty</font>, *knock knock* added u in my MSN!

<font color="ff6000">jRt</font>, that's good to hear! both your boys are so obedient today! hee..

'wan sui' - in teochew is chinese parsley! YUCKS! I hate that! hee.. aiya anyway my hypy is hopeless one la especially hokkien ones.. aiyo! headache..

Cute pics of Reubern!

<font color="ff6000">Peachie</font>, no worries abt the bola.. Don think Mediacorp would be interested in using my montages la.. so poorly made! heh.. but they'll see which bb they interested to use then contact me la..

Car toys?! err.. Tissue box in the car can consider? A loves exploring it with tongue..

Well done <font color="ff6000">Kelicia</font>! Another baby SEAL in the thread! She looks so acrobatic and the opposite of butter fingers is what ah?! *puzzle*

Jo,

Congrats on little Kelicia turning 5 months!!!

ilovebabies,

Time flies!!! Congrats on Rachel turning 6 months!!! Wow, another 6 months she will be 1 year old!!! Seems like ytd when we were here discussing our pregnancy and gynea visits!!!

Brenda,

You are back!!!
Hehe.... tissue box is a good suggestion... But I think Clarence will drool until the tissue inside will be "un-useable" leh... hehe.... at the rate he is drooling...

okie, gotta run! bye bye!!!

ok now to the mummies with <font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Hair Loss</font></font> problem

There's NO secret recipe to this la.. just possible help without the price!

First of all, we ALL have to come to terms that losing hair after preggy is only part of mother nature, and especially from 4th month of postnatal onwards and can last for 1 year.

For MY case, this is my 2nd birth and apparently according to the dermatologist I saw, he said, the more babies you have, the more you'll tend to drop(also in BlessedMommy's case).

It is NOT an emergency when u run your fingers through your hair and NOT A BUNCH comes off, only STRANDS then that is still within the normal, acceptable situation.

This loss is REVERSIBLE. Meaning, when the hair loss stops, your scalp will automatically regain the hair it has lost.

But what we could do now is, to eat vitamin - ZINC (I was prescribed with Surbex w/zinc - Vit B-Complex w/Vit c, Zinc and Vit E) to SLOW down the process and to increase the vitality of our hair so that it's strong and not easily broken.

So rush to the pharmacy now and buy this vitamin, that can save you S$190.00 which was what I paid la! No need to see dermatologist or yunnam or svenson!

But if any of you are dropping hair by bunches, PLEASE SEEK pro help immediately ok..

Lastly, there are some people who drops only at certain part of the scalp and then that area becomes botak, REGANE hair tonic can help (but BFDG mums cannot use cos of the alcohol and other chemicals in the solution).

Oh last lastly, hair transplant will be the ultimate solution if u are really BALD = BOTAK like an egg!

<font color="ff6000">Peachie</font>, clipart don have peach color one.. hee..

I put a bell in the tissue box (the free ones given by pertol kiosks, stand up type), then in a plastic bag, then tie tightly the plastic bag.. can wash, can hear bell 'ling-ling-ling' and the noisy plastic bag. A loves it!

brenda

Thanks for your "secret recipe"... I almost going to cut my hair short, everyday i see the amount of hair on the floor, i faint!!

<font color="119911">GREEDY BABY</font>
ok...just now after dinner, we cut 2 chinese pear (li) for dessert.
my dad was carrying J & watching TV. then we took out the pear.

my dad took a pear and started eating. J slowly hold my dad's hand and pull it toward him.
he opens his mouth and 'bite' the pear. sucking the pear juice.

after he is done, he still zoot zoot his mouth and enjoy his moment.

well, he's ready for food. will start him on the cereal soon. when my mum is free

<font color="0000ff">ilovebabies</font>

wow, congrats on rachel turning 6 months

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>

haha, Arianne turning 6 months in less than 2 weeks ;)

thanks for helping us save 190 bucks..

<font color="0000ff">ladies</font>

i also have soemthing to share for u all to save money, just bot 300 bucks of clothes in less than 2 weeks from Bega (outlets at Toa payoh, Jurong east & Jurong Points)=>the hearland version of Iora in Suntec), so i m now a member..if u quote this card number, u get 10 percent off <font color="119911">P12163</font>

<font color="0000ff">pheobe</font>

hehe, sounds very cute , tasting teh pear

<font color="0000ff">Ling or peachie </font>

was it u asking for the milk ? I am using similac on kelicia. She is fine with it

<font color="0000ff">peachie </font>

tahnks for sharing the details, i forward it to hubby liao

<font color="0000ff">dumpty</font>

geez, I will be taken aback if i see my MIL doing that !

<font color="0000ff">june</font>

i m stunned too. kopi to a baby ? hehe, u sound like an elderly MIL who luang luang lai

Peachie

The car seat i am using now is Britax, bought during Robinson sales in Dec, quite a good buy, I paid less than $200 for it. I had no prob switching C to the new car seat, in fact she loves it cos finally she can sit in her fav upright position. hahah...

ling
yes those whitish thing is the "pearl" diana mentioned. its harmless n many newborns hv it. the whitish thing that eventually become a tooth is diff. when u feel it somehow u will know. its hard n it cuts out from the gum

JRT
milkicinno = milk + cappucino! hehe.... with all those shaking, sure ur bm v foamy like latte or cappucino huh!

wah hilarious! u mean u really did ur latte dance in nursing room???

Brenda
thks for the hair info!! my hair only drop in strands so still ok. usually will drop more when i comb hair aft wash. its normal right i guess?

i know this is super stale news, but ...
<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Happy Piggy Year Mommies!!</font></font> Hope everyone's "haul" was a good one! blessedmommy, urs must be the BEST! heh heh...

aiyoh, i NEVER expected CNY visiting with a bb would be so tiring, wah piang!! it's thursday and i'm still tired... so i'll leave the archived posts until tomorrow.

jrt,
sorry, haven't read the archives, but were u talking about R fussing a lot? can tell me again (sorry)? coz DN has been fussing at regular times at night and i don't know why?!?!! can i shake hands with u? DN is still not sleeping thru also.

yuna,
2 front teeth! i'm impressed! and she looks really steady sitting up! WOW @@!

peachie,
OMG. u are a salesman's dream come true man! but i like the latio, heh heh... my friend has the cream one with cream leather seats... niiiice! what colour did u get?

dumpty,
aiyoh, i said "Oh my god" out loud when i read ur post abt ur MIL trying to feed G rice and soup! can tell her or not? i think this (and sitting in front) is very serious! it's really for G's well-being and safety, so must tell her leh. or get ur hb to tell her for u?

doreen,
way to go damien! aiyoh, u look so cute in that picture. how come u look like u've lost weight ah?

diana,
my bed is exactly like urs and i had a headache lookg for a bed rail too! we finally got the safety 1st one from robinsons. paid $42 i think.

ilovebabies,
happy 6th month bday rachel! u're already halfway to being a year old! golly!

selina,
awwwww.... i love those sleepy pics of caleb!! my hb and his family have this thing abt taking pics of bbs sleeping. i kenah scolded for doing it. but they really look so peaceful and cute, i cannot help it!

I was wondering what should I do with the free gift bag from Biotherm, then my hub came up with a brilliant idea.. guess this one beats ERGO la, BJORN la.. etc..

700938.jpg

<font color="ff6000">Pig2</font>, cutting the hair short will be easy on the sight, less scary cos PER HAIR is SHORTER ma! hee.. But it certainly helps in lessening the weight of your scalp so less stress..

<font color="ff6000">Ling</font>, I've a very serious problem
with warehousing of Chloe's toys & stuff so with A, I need to start finding solutions to buying less!
Or when I throw them, I don feel heart pain!

<font color="ff6000">Jo</font>, eee how come u can remember ah? I also didnt realise! hee.. Thanks!

Sorry a bit sua kuu
, what's lora? What kind of clothes? Casual or office or?

<font color="ff6000">BlessedMommy</font>, I saw jRt aka wangmuniangniang doing her latte or milkicinno! Aiya, how come <font color="ff6000">Puppylove's Desmond</font> didn't manage to video that down!!

Yes dropping more hair during wash is normal. Use a wide tooth comb instead and some hair serum then try to comb only when it's drier, not right after towel dry (means pat pat hor, not wringing or rubbing). I mean like an hour later when it's still damp. (this knowledge is I read in some mag one la..) Cos hair tends to break easier when the hair is wet or too hot (like while using hair dryer). Also, better to use cold water to wash hair cos pores (folicles) open up when u use hot water.

<font color="ff0000">Aiya hope all our hairless nightmare will be over REAL SOON!</font>

<font color="ff6000">Yuna</font>, wow! I'm more interested in Clarice's weight than her 2 pearlies! She looks like she's on the heavyweight side as well! May I know what's her weight and length? Such healthy skin color she has!

<font color="ff6000">Selina</font>, I like this slumberland montage! Simply cute!

good morning !

guess I am the first one to post today

moo moo now before I go to work

pheobe

I also cut pieces of apple and let Rachel hold and suck it. She really loves cos the apple is so sweet. My sister is lending me her Braun blender meant for preparing bb food and I'm going to start some simple recipe for Rachel.

My sis asked me to boil potato, carrot and chicken breast meat until they are soft and then pour everything into the blender (together with the water to boil the stuff).

and also slighty warm EBM with bananas .. oh of cos feed by spoon lah

anymore simple recipe by mummies that I can learn ?

brenda

ok ok I try to make it next round ok ?

ciao ! gotta prep for work ..

blessedmommy
oh ya forgot to reply you. no lah my house not so vintage, didn't do much reno, previous owner did most of it. my hse a cross btw country n zen style. i don't collect vintage stuff also. i just like looking at them. Heh.

selina
oh! i think Brenda's A also blow saliva... heh... like spitting...

Brenda
does A still do that (spit)? heh
Btw hor, i changed my parting. My parting made my hair look flatter n flatter so just changed it to see how it looks.

oh! and you are a bioterm gal too!
Me too! So cute A in the bag. Heh... maybe i shd have carried sophie in a bag into the concert i went to on Mon! They didn't admit infant in arms. A bit tempted to hide sophie in a bag n bring her in!!!! hahaha...

dumpty
that's very normal actually... if you keep doing that, you'll notice a pattern w Gab.
For sophie, we'll put her down and she'll cry for a few mins and then plop, sleep. And then she'll wake up about 30 mins - 1 hr later crying and then i'll pop in her pacifier and she'll sleep for another 1/2 hr - 1 hr. That makes her naps normally about 1 1/2 hr - 2hrs. On bad days, she'll cry on n off for 1/2 hr or so but it'll get better.
Jasmine's Jadelle is very good, only 3 days. I've been training sophie since she was born n she only slept better after 3 mths or so. How did it go yesterday?

Brenda,

C is 9kg and 68 cm when she is 5 months and 2 wks old. Yes, she is on the heavy side but not overweight, short of 0.1kg. hahah.....PD assured me tat she will lose all her baby fats as she grow older as the weight gain will be on a slow rate now and also both me n my hubby are slim, she will be slim as well.

Hey, A is very chubby too. I love her pair of beautiful Ang Mo eyes, she look like an ang mo baby leh....so cutie

ilovebabies

Don't boil the veges, otherwise the nutrition will be lost. Steam is better.

Joon
Does the safety 1st bed rail fits your bed ? You able to insert the bed rail in?

Yuna
Your Clarice's teeth so cute!

diana,
yup, it fits inside the bed frame. it's a tight squeeze, but we were able to push the mattress down.
i just checked my robinsons receipt, it was $44.90. it's actually a portable bed rail, so it's quite slim.

joon

Thanks a lot, will go and get it! BTW, You bought one or a pair? Actually I found one universal bed rail, but it's not available in singapore. Called firstfewyears and motherswork, but all don't carry. firstfewyears carries the no-universal one, but it cost $99! So expensive!
Here is the link for your or maybe other mummies info
http://www.dexproducts.com/sleeping.htm#brhh-01

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font>

Iora is located at suntec, facing perlini silver & sok kee..both office & casual clothes..

they have another branch at wisma atria on the 1st level

Arianne looks so cute in the bag, hehe, how come she can fit in ? ;p

<font color="0000ff">Yuna</font>

Clarice is the fastest here with teeth
so cuteee

<font color="0000ff">selena</font>

caleb looks so happy in the slumberland..nice backgrd !

<font color="0077aa">brenda,</font>
arianne's hair is growing out well! (or did u photoshop and put some hair in? heeheehee...)

<font color="0077aa">puppylove,</font>
er... is it possible to <font size="-2">photoshop eyebags away??? (malumalu)</font>
does that take a lot of skill?

<font color="ff0000">HELP! HELP!</font>
For the past 3 wks or so, DN has been waking up at abt 1/2 am every night. Coz we're already in bed by then, we aren't able to catch him when he first wakes up to calm him down. by the time we're conscious, he's already crying and no way can he fall asleep on his own. sometimes it escalates to the screaming kind of crying. he'll only stop crying after i pick him up and cuddle him. he won't settle if my hb carries him. only me.
i know he's not hungry coz he's able to sleep after 10-15 mins of cuddling and rocking and singing. (he'll wake up later ard 430-530am for a feed)

so why is he waking up? nightmares? (but at such regular timings?) teething? (but i can't see any buds and it's been abt 3 wks already)

i'm so tired now and every night i go to bed dreading the thought of having to wake up to a screaming baby at 1-2am in the morning.

u all can now call me "mao mao" the chinese panda.

ok my pics are late ...

that's what Rachel wore on Chu yi and Chu er
i think the chu yi suit and cap makes her look like a "ang kong kia" (doll in hokkien) eheh

701028.jpg

701029.jpg

Morning ladies
Okok... I stop feeding him anymore things.. which include juices... Totally ban by my mum...So.. currently his main menu is either milk or water.. nothing else...

Congratz all 6 mths babies!! Sian... Jayden will onli turn 5 mths next tues... *faint*

<font color="ff6000">ilovebabies</font>, aaa, food menu aside, I think u need to take note of some pointers le..

I've been doing quite a bit of reading up about intro solids.

1. Don't boil, steam the foods instead, better in keeping the nutrients. Like I always prefer my soup double boil, instead of direct boiling on the stove..

2. Err, when u say chix breast meat, do u mean u let Rachel eat that or just use it to boil as the soup base? to make it 'sweeter' chinese term? cos I don think our bbs now should be eating any meat at all..

3. Also, intro ONE food at a time. Not mix purees together, cos u can narrow down allergies if there's any reaction after feeding any new foods.

4. Pear (the green color type), papaya, banana, avocado, broccoli, SWEET potato (love this!), pumpkin make good First Foods. But remember hor, use SINGLE ingredient, don mix them until you're very sure that Rach is not allergic to any.

Generally, keep the menu ROOTY.. meaning root veg la..

<font color="ff6000">Ling ahh</font>, my A not blowing hor, she JET sprayed! she hardly does that nowadays, now her new gimmick is to COUGH.. especially when we are NOT looking at her and she wants attention.

<font color="ff6000">Yuna</font>, WHAT DID U feed her with?! Amazing.. she not only look 'big' but also very healthy! I think that's most important isn't it? A is still within the normal range la.. she's now 5 months 3 weeks, 8.6kg/67cm..

<font color="ff0000">Mummies, since our bbs all coming to 6 mths, shall we have an update of their physical development?</font>

1. Yuna-Clarice-5mths2wks-9kg/68cm
2. Brenda-Arianne-5mths3wks-8.6kg/67cm