(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Eling

forgot to tell u how my MIL prep the cereal.
She add a bit of cooked plain water to the brown rice powder. Stir it until the powder is dissolved. Then cook it under very small fire for a few mins until it turns "gluey" or "pasty".

I dont add it into my EBM , i still feed Rachel EBM after her cereal.

ic.... usually these 2 weeks, I removed Dylan's mittens and booties for a while, esp when hubby is not around... heehee.. 'cos he will always find them cold and quickly put them back on... tried explaining to him, but once weather change, he still panic and want to put them on...

No wonder, till now, Dylan only know how to grab my fingers only

VACCINATION
i just noticed my boy's thighs, where the injection was made, is a bit hard leh, like a little lump like dat. did any of u experience the same thing when u brought your bb for their vaccination?

Yoyo / Emoments | I actually trim with the baby nail scissors from Pigeon first then use the buffer to file the sharp edges of her nails..
This is the buffer.
651044.jpg

It's soft enough to be cut into 2, easier to use and I bought them off my manicurist! I think any manicure shop should have la.. (Those are not my hands, I googled it if u girls are wondering.. hee)

Bumbo seat

I wanted to buy, but afraid my girl will outgrown it very soon. Also thought of rent it from rent-that-toy, but it has rent out. So decided to give it up lor.

Peachie

About mitten and bottie, my girl is the same as your boy! Get them off faster than we can put them on.
The lucky thing is we only bought 3 sets of mittens & botties.

<B>Is baby too hot </B>
Feel your baby. Hands and feet often feel cold and look blue, but this is normal, and does not mean your baby needs more clothes.

To check how warm your baby is, feel the tummy. Your baby's tummy should feel warm, but not too hot. If your baby's tummy feels hot, or if the baby is sweating anywhere, he or she is too warm.

Brenda,
That is hilarious!!!! Wonderful job! Well done! Had a good laugh when I saw it! Still can't stop giggling to myself!! hee hee hee!!! (see? going crazy with the exclamation marks!!)
looks like the playgrp list is growing... great!

Yoyo,
Welcome welcome! This forum is great! I've learned so much from it

elaine, little pony, dumpty,
thanx for the info abt shaving... geez... barber! i shld have known!!!!! so silly...

emma,
abt the bumbo, how long it'll last sometimes depends on the size of the bb. i read on the forum tt some mums couldn't use it long coz their bbs' legs couldn't squeeze into the leg holes, hee hee... if u're keen on buying, get a 2nd hand one, so not so sim tia if u don't get to use it long... but u can also keep for NUMBER TWO! hee hee hee...

peachie,
give u some info from that last time i organised a BP. i contacted 3 suppliers and 2 of them wanted a min of 20 orders. (xiao!!) and 1 of them was content with min 10 orders for 20% discount. in the end i put in an order for 20+ ergos. what u can do is maybe post on the 2006/2007 MOMS main thread ask if anyone's interested. otherwise, just scout ard for a 2nd hand ergo. i see it on the SELL thread every once in awhile. good luck!!
abt the car seat, not very white elephant right? coz clarence will outgrow the infant car seat pretty soon!!

ilovebabies,
when u feed rachel EBM after her solids meal, is it the usual full amount? or less coz she just had a solids meal?

michelle,
when DN had his jab, he had a big pimple WITH PUS at the jab site!! when i first saw it, i flew into a panic. the PD said it's normal. haiiii...! maybe the lump is a pimple that's going to grow.

Hi ilovebabies,

Thanks for the detailed description on how to cook the brown rice! It is really very very helpful!

I also hope that he will sit in the car seat after he turns 1... Otherwise it will all go to waste.

Hi Diana,

Thanks for the link on the brown rice too! Will click on it later and see see...

Hi Brenda,

I LOVE YOUR MONTAGE!!! It is very very cute!!!

On the sweaty palms issue, I have sweaty palms myself and so does my mom (so I guess it is hereditary). Clarence's palms are fine so far, so I hope he is spared (keeping fingers crossed).

BUMBO/Prince Lionheart can last the baby from 3mths to 12mths, just for the info of those moms who are interested.

Hi Joon,

Thanks for the information on organising a BP! This forum is simply fantastic!!!!

Haiz, I pray that Clarence's infant car seat can last a while... He will wail whenever we put him in the Britax (when the Britax is fitted in the car). He simply loves his infant car seat. Do you know how long the infant car sear can last??? He seems to be outgrowing it soon (his legs are sticking out). This is him in his car seat 2 days ago... We will have a huge problem once he outgrows it.

651192.jpg

peachie
no wonder clarence likes the car seat... so many toys to look at and play with! does he sit in it long? coz every trip out with DN is a battle. he HATES it! but what to do?? maybe u can use the britax on short trips, so by the time C gets really cranky, reach already!! yeah, looks like he's going to outgrow it soon!

My boy in his infant car seat even before he turns 1 month. The journey is always me and him, so we have our private time together in the car when we sing and talk. All my 12 disks in the changer is his children songs. He quite use to it and I think he enjoys the ride too.

pig2,
that's so funny!!!!! plus his expression, so cute!

like "huh? u want me to drive this thing?? i cannot touch the pedals yet u know!"

pig2, haha malcolm looks so cute and funny leh.

ilovebabies and phoebe, thanks for the sharing on making the food

welcome Yoyo!

hi Brenda

Both myself and malcolm enjoy the class, as you can see from my boy's expression! Alot of singings and movements. The massage we learnt during the trial lessons are the basic ones.

There is one session where the babies get to "play" with the drum, each of them will get drums of different sizes. Initially my boy got the big one, then as we sing, we will swap the drum, he got a small one, he cried until he got the big one again.

During the 45mins, we got to play with coloured balls for the warm up, then bells and drums, and even coloured scarf when doing the songs.

Anyway that was the trial lessons, suppose to have 8 of us, then in the end only 3 of us turn up, the youngest is 2mth and the oldest 8mth. The lesson is put on hold till further notice.

However I don't think is of much benefit if babies exposure to this is limited to just 45mins and once a week!

Anyway i will go ahead with the class should there be a confirmed one!

Pig2 | Oh, you only went for the trial not the full course.. I too, went for the trial but don't have much impression of it cos bb was crying the whole time that day..
I'm actually booked for the 30th Jan class, is it that one you're refering to?

edksd

I got the CDs from a CD shop in Jurong West, those of songs we used to sing in primary school and even my nieces are very familiar with those too, maybe tomorrow I will upload the front cover of those CDs. I have both chinese and english ones.

pig2,
the pic very small leh! cannot really see u and malcolm... can repost a bigger one?

emoments,
wah! dylan looks real pleased in the bumbo! are u going to get one for him?

We are all bonkers over bumbos!

Peachie,
I am feeding Wayne with Frisocream since last week. Juz one feed everyday. Mixed with 50ml of water and 1.5spoonful of cereal. He seems to be enjoying it. We started with that after he passed his 4th month.

Btw... where you get the toy that is hangin in front of Clarence's car seat? I have been looking for that for ages!!

Mittens
Ya.. don't use mittens anymore.. becos they need to learn how to hold their toys etc.. yes, they will scratch but like ilovebb says, they won't leave permanent scars so don't have to worry.. baby skin is jus very amazing!!!!

Hi Joon,

Clarence loves his current infant car seat! Yep, he can sit inside for pretty long cos I have to fetch him to and from my mom's place everyday. With the CTE jam, it means at least 1.5hrs in that car seat everyday, from Seng Kang to Bt Merah and vice versa...

I think a way to keep him inside is to keep him entertained. He has since lost interest in the toys in front of him. On days when I am damn tired (which is most days), I just leave him to stare out of the back window while I doze. On days when I feel better, I will talk to and play with him.

On getting him to switch to the Britax one, some of my colleagues suggested that I just do a direct switch and ignore his wails for one or two rides. Acoording to them, right now I am doing it wrong cos whenever he cried, I will put him in the infant car seat and so he knows that he will get his old seat back whenever he cried. The best way according to them is to ignore him for a while and let him understand that his old seat is not coming back. This will make him give up and adapt to the new seat.... Sounds logical, but I haven't have the heart to do it. Your suggestion of putting him in the Britax for short trips sounds better.

On your DN not wanting to stay in his seat, maybe you can get some toys to keep him occupied? Babies like routine. Once he stays in the seat for a while, you won't have problems getting him to stay inside thereafter, even though he may have grown "sian" of those toys. Clarence likes the hanging toy which I bought from Lego for $9.90 much more than the frog kicker from TinyLove which I got for $49.90 (less 30%). Hence, it is not always pricier is better.

Hi Pig,

Your Malcolm is very cute! I like the picture of him at the wheel!
You are very good at creating montages as well!

helo mummies, wah so many handsome hunks and pretty babes and matchmaking going on. hehehehe!

here's one of Jovann on his playmat. dunno if file too big a not...
651612.jpg

I very sad leh, yesterday i go perm hair so din wanna feed him for 24hours, gotta feed FBM at night. end up realise he dun take FBM frozen on 29 dec, fuss and fuss. i do find it smells diff but its not sour, just a very pungent version of the original milk scent. so shldn't be spoilt. we tried a lot of things end up feed him some bags thats 10days old and he take it! it smells the same to me leh. anyone also like dat? if so, this means i have to throw away more than 2/3s of what i have in my freezer leh, think i have about 55 packs.

Hi LittlePony,

Thanks for the info on Frisocream! It is very helpful since I am intending to start Clarence on Frisocream next week!

The toy is the KickFrog from TinyLove. Bought it during the 27/12/06 Isetan sale with a 30% discount. It was the last box and the box was all tattered (but inside looks fine). Haiz, Clarence doesn't like it very much and did not kick at it at all. But maybe he will later... It is supposed to be from 3mths to 9mths....

I have been looking for the same thing everywhere too, from Toy R Us to Taka to Isetan to Robinsons. Agree with you it's damn hard to find. But anyway, I saw 2 more boxes last weekend at FirstFewYears at Paragon 5th floor. There is no discount though, but if you have been like me searching around, can go and grab one asap.
There were 2 sets of KickFrog at $49.90, and 1 set of SealKicker (no difference from KickFrog except this does not have the mirror but comes with lights and sound) at $69.90. Hope this helps.

Hi daisybuttons,

You have so many packs! I can fully understand why you are sad... It must have been a collosal effort to express so many packs!!!

I haven't have this problem so I cannot help much (I don't even have enough BM to feed Clarence), but maybe it's also the temperature of the milk??? Clarence likes his milk slightly warmer...
Hope this works.

Peachie,
thank you so much for the information! Yes, it's really so difficult to buy. Oh, okie..i think i will just go n grab it from FirstFewYears in the next few days!!! THANK YOU!