(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

i'm into my 2nd week of pumping in the office. gives me a lot of stress sneaking into an empty meeting room to pump but amidst all that adventures, i managed to get at least 290ml from pumping 3x in the office. Sometimes can get the same amount by pumping only 2x. lunchtime and tea break time. but me changing job soon so i dunno if i can have the luxury of pumping. haizz..

edksd,
check out MIM's blog they teach you how to pump handsfree. very useful for me too! now i can pump while playing handphone games. takes the stress off me and i can produce bigger up to 5oz per pumping session.

Melissa, not bad that u can still find time to pump 3x or 2x in the office.. I only manage to find time to pump once and yesteryday.. had soooo many meetings that I forgot to pump until 5pm.. wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww... was going to explode by then... jeez.. really need to slowly wean off man..

hi girls :

enjoy your break and spend some precious time with family .

merry christmas , happy new year to all .

623470.gif

joon
hahah :D i know wat u mean! when i was doing my very 1st pump, i oso very paranoid n kept lookin at the door cos scared someone will burst in n catch me sitting on the toilet bowl, top naked wif those unsightly plasticky things attached to the boobies! but by the 2nd pump i got more comfy liao
now even can listen to music n relak cos i brot my handphone in n loaded it wif mp3 songs hehe... good way to catch a much needed break fr work. my envt here quite ok - lucky my boss n colleages are understanding

edksd
initially when i do dual pump oso i felt very clumsy cos how to hold the funnel in place while u switch on the pump rite? after much experience, i learned to sort of hunch forward for a while n balance the 2 bottles on my lap then 1 arm can support the 2 bottles for a while as i use my other hand to turn on the motor hee dunno whether u know wat i'm talking abt :p

cereal,
not for long though. b'cos my boss is on leave mah. once they came back, i only have time to do once. haizz.. but i will try my best to pump 2x. wah u manage to tahan until 5pm ah? hahaha i can relate to that feeling man. i'm sure your boobs is like a leaking pipe already.

Wishing you all and baby a whooping great Christmas and a great year ahead!

So happy this morning with 7 hours interval, manage to get 260ml. Usually i only get 200ml :D

Joon
u so FUNNIE!!!!
"2 funnels stuck to my chest and a horrified look on my face" i can imagine the horrified look if sthg like tt really happens! HAHAHAHAHAHAH! OPS! i dun mean to laff at u, but i was laffing at the expression u were describing.... where was it tt u pumped? isnt there a lock or sthg? or put a note so u wun get disturbed? i cant imagine being on teethers when i am pumping... supply will dip real fast. i am oso back at work tdy and i pump twice at work....

btw i cant view ur blog leh. when i opened it, the browser auto closes again. dunno wat happened. will try again later.

Michelle
u pump 5 times a day? WOW!!! then do u collect a lot?

EXPRESSING MILK
read tt most mummies pump 2 to 3 times at work. i pump twice for the few days tt i came back. hope can sustain. btw wanna check does the supply slowly dwindle as u go along coz of no time to pump etc? i am v afraid tt my supply will dwindle coz of wat i read here. so far if i am not wkg and latch my baby at home, on top of tt i still pump 3 times a day. when my baby is taken care of by my mum while i am at work, i cant latch him at nite, so i still need to get up once to pump, else i will b super engorged by the time i wakes up. any mummies still do tt?

michelle
ethan looks so cute!! merry christmas to all moms n babes!!

edksd
when u r expert enuf n hv got the hang of it can even hold 2 funnels with one hand n type like me!!

btw how long u gals take to pump per session. i can take up to 30 mins!! phew!!

blessedmommy...i use abt 30 mins for the whole journey/process...when i'm at work. Going up to the empty room located at 14 floor while i'm at basement...need to pass thru a few security doors..so minus off those I take abt 20 mins for 1 pump session! And I only pump once during office hr... 1 x in the morning and 1 x before bedtime. So tiring man!!!

Michelle, my shih tzu also ... jealous & concern about my ger...got once he almost bite on my ger toe!!! So shock! Cuz if he cant get to smell her...he will jump and ... haiz

rainnie
u only pump 3 times a day? but u latch on after work right? yah pumping v tiring n waste of time. but for the sake of bb what to do?

crystallised
yeah i pump 5 times a day cos i dun latch my boy on so hv to express out everything. my daily yield is about 1litre n my boy currently takes 700-800ml daily so my ss still enuf to meet his dd lah. its siong (gotta wake up at 1am to pump) but i tell myself its only 3 more mths so hopefully time flies by quickly!

blessedmommy
anyway i used to take 30 min to pump when i'm at home, as in 30 min actual pumping. now at work cannot afford this kind of luxury so usually abt 15-20min only. then plus all the cleaning, keeping milk, etc. total time taken is 30min. wah, how u hold 2 funnels wif 1 hand?? must teach me leh!

rainnie
oh u hv shihtzu too? i think they are the very 'sticky' type of dogs hor. always need a lot of attn one. just like a baby!!

michelle
OIC, u pump so many times coz u dun latch. i cnt predict my boy's supply coz he drinks irregular quantity while on btl. but so far supply is more than demand, so i am thankful for it. juz worried when i return to work full time my supply will drop.

in ofc i oso realised i take 30 mins to pump in ofc... it used to b 20 mins... sigh...

Merry Christmas mummies & bebes!!
Let's enjoy this long weekend with our bebes' esp to those mummies who has started work like me

blessedmommy, ya latch on ... 3 times also .. once in the morning, night twice (arnd 9pm and 12midnight) ... latch one side nia...

michelle, i've 2 dogs actually...another one is old man dog. Ya shih tzu is very sticky...esp when we dote on him soo much for the past 4 yrs and out of the sudden we put all our attention to our bb ... they are jealous! I used to nap together with my shih tzu on the sofa .. now cant liaoz...after I touch them I have to wash my hand .. cuz dun wan my ger to have any allergy tiring hor!!! But I dont want to give up on them...cuz I know when my ger grow older they will be good buddy!!! heeee my ger play mate!!!

edksd

i always pump with 2 funnels and managed to surf the internet as well

what I do is I will cross my left leg (ahah v unsightly) and rest my left bottle on my lap
then i can support the right bottle using my left hand. So my right hand is free to sms or surf the net.

blessedmommy

thanks !!

I've been very busy at work that I have no time to login to this forum and not to mention reading all your blogs !

anyway was on childcare leave today. took the 2nd childcare leave on 26th dec heheh so super long weekend for me !!

rachel will go for her 2nd 6-in-1 jab tmr .. hope she dont develop fever.

Helo mummies and babies, MERRY XMAS to all of you!
let all of us enjoy our weekend with our baby.

Joon and orange, see ya tmlw morning! hehehe.

I am on 5 days ML this coming week yyyiiipeeeeeee!

gals

me experiencing hair loss now. have been dropping lotsa hair everyday. hai .. so it's true that our hair loss will be greater during the 4th mth after delivery.

my mum is funny, she said u will experience hair loss when bb start to smile ! haha ... what a myth !

oh and btw, my colleague was telling me that our milk supply will go up during the 4th and 5th mth after delivery. She says it's true for most of the nursing mums in my coy. And true enough, I realise my ss is better these 2 weeks. Hope it continue !

Speaking of pumping in the office and getting "caught" with 2 plastics stuck to boobs... haha... For me, the worst part is "caught" getting out of the room and washing all my plastic parts in the toilet! At least for me, my company has 2 designated for a quick "pantry-turned-nursing" rooms (BUT only mums will know coz outside the doors they dun specify that) so if I get caught by some men while I unlock, get out of room and pushing a chair out of the pantry...they gave me the "what-the-hell-were-u-doing-inside" look ... and the next hurdle is washing! Those young gals in my office who "caught" me washing my parts gave me the "what-the-hell-r-u-washing" look...

ilovebabies

I was going to post abt hair loss yesterday too but too busy at work. Ya, yesterday morning while i was blow-drying my hair, i found some hair on the floor... jeez i hope it is not going to get worse...
Oh.. baby smile and we will start to lose hair???? OH MY GOD.. Keira is not only smiling but she has started LAUGHING! no wonder i m losing hair.....
<hehe>

cereal, mi too kena caught on thurs hehe...thought its after lunch hrs no one will turn up in that room beside the gym! Who knows....2 mei mei following behind me..wants to use that room and when I want to lock the room .. they gave me the look!

phoebe
javier looks like he enjoying tummy time very much too! hai... my ethan still dun wanna lift his head when on his tummy leh

NEPIA
asked my hubby to go ntuc to get the diapers since they're on offer. he got carried away n this is the result!! haha

624653.jpg

michelle
he just started to lift up his head the last few days. previously, he would only turn to the side and 'zoot zoot' the fingers..haha

hehehee so many cute babies pix!

michelle
were u the one tt last featured ethan in all his teats and bottles? i found tt pose v interesting &amp; innovative, and now this.

P Emma
such a cute laffing baby there!
all dressed in red, for xmas!

ilovebabies
OH NO!!! serious? i alrdy heard we will start losing hair fr 4th mth onwards... goodness
i am keeping my fingers crossed real tight coz i alrdy hv v little hair, hope wun drop till can see bald patch

oh supply will increase fr 4th to 5th mth! so interesting! see if the other mummies experience the same thing!

phoebe
ur boy is oso so cute! did u shave him? i am still contemplating shaving my boy coz now his hairstyle is like ah peh... looks as if he is balding in front. haha

erm, can any mummies beat me? i hv a total of 360pcs of Huggies S, can accomodate till my boy is 8kg only. and thing is, he is fast approaching 7kg, while hv only used abt 90pcs (3 pkts) many more to go... think i can keep the remaining one for my #2... overstocked liao!

i find huggies is long enuff to cover him all the way to the back, but its narrow compared to nepia... but so far huggies served me quite well, so no complaints. and it says on the diapers tt its "breatheable" or sthg like tt, so think it helps prevent nappy rash too.

ive started to lose hair.... like 1 or 2 wks ago.... when i wash hair i can see the hair trapped at the filter there....

to me, it's ok coz ive big bomb of hair... but i hope it's not dropping at one spot only... then i'll be botak looking :p

anyone has good hairstylist to recommend (in orchard area)? me quite sian going back to the same stylist all the time. feel like a change.

i find my supply increase a bit too

but i duno is it becos of the regular pumping, goat rue, half boiled egg, ikan bilis, pull and twist, or whatever or all combination.

ahhhhhhhhh!!! so many cute bb pics!

phoebe,
javier looks so pleased with his push-up! love his romper!

michelle,
oh my gosh, that picture is HILAAARIOUS! that's almost 450 diapers!

emma,
wah, enzo's such a happy baby! he's always laughing in the pics u post!

edksd,
my method is slightly diff from ilovebabies' method. i stick both funnels to my chest then lean fwd until the bottles rest on my thighs. then both my hands are free! i put a stool in front of me for my water, a snack and a trashy magazine!!! but must be careful coz any sudden movements and the bottes will shift and the milk will spill to the floor.

crystallized,
what happened to "babyzucchini"?? hee hee! did u manage to get into DN's blog? wonder what's wrong??

edksd,
so happy to hear tt ur supply has increased! good job

<u>Question For All</u>
when u latch the bb on, do u let bb suckle from 1 or both boobs? does it matter? DN takes both! i'm wondering if i'm feeding him too much!

joon
mine suckle on 1 side only. after tat he full liao. give him more he jus tongue away. haha.

but he drinks every 2hr. so very tiring on mummy.

wah u all really expert in pumping both sides. i think i must oso start practising now else go back to work, may not hv the luxury of pumping 1 by 1.

any idea if we can buy extra funnels + valve + tt rubber thing? tot of standing by extra at my mom's place in case i dun hv time to sterilise at work.

joon, mine suckle on 1 side only...its all depends on ur baby intake &amp; ur ss...so not to worry.

crystallized, huh?? ur baby still using S size ah? Mine already M size for quite some time liaoz....hopefully wont go to L size soon cuz my storeroom &amp; my mom place got quite a number pack of M size too LOL

joon, mine suckle on both sides 90% of the time. i wonder is it becos 1 side not enough milk, so must suckle both.

actually i realised tt 1 side of my boob is like closed tap, really v difficult to yield supply. so whenever i pump, 90% is from 1 side 10% is from the other side. extremely unbalanced hor?

if ive got the time i do try to pump tt side longer to stimulate, and when my bb is desperate for milk, i'll oso let him suckle tt side first even though knowing tt side might not hv much milk, all just to stimulate. but seems like doesnt really help.

Joon
dunno leh, got sick of the zucchini, so i am "throwing" it away liao. haha
i managed to view DN's blog liao. think it was ofc IT blocking me fr viewing yesterday. he's so adorable and u really hv a way wif words! so happy reading ur thots and description.

my boy dun take 2 boobs anymore. not since he was 3 wks old. nowadays he only takes 1 boob and only 10 mins, so he is a small eater and will feed every 2 hourly.

Phoebe
i cant bear to shave off totally leh, still considering. haha

juz realised my boy's scalp has cradle cap! and its quite thick!
applied baby oil and i am using my nails to gently scrap away... so horrifying!

edksd
i pump twice at work so the 2nd time i juz wash wif the pigeon detergent and soak in hot water. no luxury to sterilise at work and i dun like tjhe idea of sterilising tablets. and erm, i use avent manual pump. heee... unlike most mummies, electric pump dun work well 4 me and i prefer manual one instead.

eh rainnie paiseh!!!! its M size huggies lah!!!!
thks 4 correcting me! sthg wrong if my baby is almost weighing 7kg and still on S size!

edksd
i think both boobs will nvr b balanced. my left yields much more than right. and right boob is harder to let down and takes more time to express. quite frustrating at times.