(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

angeline
feel free to pm me. hope i can be of help.

puppylove
ur trinity look so comfy sitting in that majestic sofa. so chubby!

michelle
how does it feel to latch ethan again after not latching him for so long? agree with joon maybe u shld try latch him more often now.

my gal love to sleep on tummy. she also love tummy time but just refuse to lift her head!

DG,
U're right!! His milk belly is in the way! hahahahhaaaaa!
Abt DN's fixed times, it's not really that fixed in the day, but quite fixed in the evening. I always make sure I nurse him at ard 7pm (latest 730pm), so when he takes his next feed, it'll be at 10pm or 1030pm latest and then he sleeps. I want it this way coz when I go back to work, 7pm is the time I'll prob be able to reach my MIL's place and my hb and I want to be able to play with him a bit b4 he sleeps at 10pm.

What i still cannot work out is how to fix his nap times!!!!! Sometimes he naps a total of 2 hrs the whole day, sometimes 4! What abt little Nic? What's his feeding / napping like?

my boy sleeps on tummy during the day, and back during nite.

so when we tried tummy time, also refuse to lift his head. he simply just turn to the side (into his sleeping position)

<u>Meet Up / Gathering</u>

Daisybuttons and I are going for coffee/tea after our playgroup this Sat. <font color="119911">Eling &amp; blessedmommy</font> shall we meet then? <font color="119911">Orange</font>, why don't u and ur hb, and of coz Cayden
join us too? Any other Sept moms want to join us? i know ilovebabies cannot make it coz Rachel is sick.

This Sat, ard 11.15am @ Great World City, join us if u can!

joon
like that my jo is a reAL PIG leh. she sleeps from 8pm to next morn 9am with 3-4 feeds in btween (suck with eyes closed!) n nap total abt 6 hrs in the day!

blessedmommy,
wow! that's good! (that she sleeps so much, not that she is a pig!) i wish DN would sleep more so i can get more things done around the house... it's filthy! and by the end of the day, so am i!

joon
thks for the links
may i ask which one u find is more effective cos i only plan to buy 1 leh.

LATCHING ON
yeah wif today's positive results, i think i might just try latching ethan on more often now!

PAMPERS BABY DRY
any takers for this? otherwise i'll post it in other threads see if anyone there needs it.

joon

my MIL and niece are both sick. hai. niece like to "sayang" rachel and she still suck her thumb at 10mths old. so imagine the virus on the saliva that is pass to Rachel ..and rachel loves to suck her "drumstick" too... zoot zoot !

btw I asked PD why my Rachel sneeze so many times a day ..he said even if bb sneeze 20 times a day is normal. It is to clear their airways. Oh and running nose is normal too ! Just make sure they are not running a fever

blessedmommy,
hhahahaha! u very funny
no lah, she's a cute little puppy!

michelle,
hmm... i can't say for sure which one is more effective, coz i use both the moisturiser and the calendula cream on him every day. (moisturiser for day, calendula for night) but if u ask me to choose, i think go for the calendula cream coz it's supposed to be "healing", more "power"!

hmm... what else did my PD say? hmm... he said to stop using powder, just moisturise... don't use lactacyd coz it's too acidic... use stuff with no perfume and no fragrance.

i was the one that gave DN the eczema...
i have asthma

ilovebabies,
oh so that's why! aiyah...
but it's a gd thing u're BFg eh? Rachel's stronger that way

oh, phew abt the runny nose! i thot maybe DN got my sinus as well! phewwww...

ilovebabies
hope rachel gets well soon!
thanks for the info abt bb sneezing freq &amp; running nose. my babe till now still has wet snot, relieved to know it's norm.

ilovebabies
hope rachel recovers soon. ya running nose v common just make sure no fever.

my 3rd boy caught blocked nose from daddy at 4 wk old. fever so high n refuse to feed until need to ward n put on drip!! hai... so heart pain

tummy time
i have stopped trying to put baby J on her tummy since she doesnt like.
but i tried a variation - i put her on my chest.

she'd lift her head and start turning her head to the left and right.

bb kai now sitting quietly on the rocker doing his 'big business'

nowadays he usually do tt in the morning when i leave him on the rocker. hope next time he knows to do tt on potty.

joon, i live near to Great World City, just two stop away only, but morning i cannot also leh, unless afternoon lor.

Amabel also going to turn soon, my in law asked me to be careful and keep an eye on her liao.

ilovebabies, hope Rachel get well soon. Try to latch her on more often, it will help her to recover.

thanks ! Rachel is still coughing once in a while, sometimes she cry after cough .. so poor thing. but still can play with me ahah ... ya will cont to BF her ... that's the best remedy !

hey if u gals meetup, pls take fotos and post it here can ?

Princess Emma,

I also have the same problem as you. It is a challenge to get him to finish his milk. There are times which he drinks 30ml out of 120ml. Then all my BM goes to waste... Haiz.

In the day my mom will now split up his feeds, ie feed 60ml first, followed by another 60ml 30mins later. It worked for me. Maybe you can try that too.

My baby hates tummy time too!!! He will cry non-stop whenever we put him on his tummy.... Anyone here with any ideas on how to get baby to do tummy time???

Mummies whose baby is small eater, have you changed the teats ? My baby used to drink 80-90ml only when she was 2months old, after I changed the teats, her intake increased from 90 -> 120->150->180, and now she eats 200ml!

DG

sorry hubby was busy .. he has been doin a lot of OT at work recently so no time to follow up the game.

peachie

u mean ur baby can wait for 30 mins later for more milk ?
if i stopped halfway, my Rachel will scream. She want to have it all at one shot. at times she may stopped at 70ML, i'll burp her .. talk to her a while then she will somehow "remember" she's sstill hungry then I'll cont the feed. but that is definitely less than 30mins ...

Rachel hates tummy time too. Want to take a pic of her on tummy also difficult. but actually her head is quite zai oredi .. wont shake about when I put her on sitting position.

Diana

i dont think changing teats affect bb's intake right ? I do changed to M size NUK teats but the increase is not a lot. It was quite gradual which I thought was normal. prob ur ger stomach increase tremendously !

ilovebabies

I read from some sites the teats will actually affect the intake. Coz the small size teats the hole also smaller, and the milk flow is slow, and baby become impatient. BTW, I'm using Dr. brown bottle and teats. I found it much better than avent bottle &amp; teats.

michelle,
to clean my baby's tongue, i put a face towel dipped in glycerine and i wait for her to suck her thumb or yawn and quickly wipe the milk deposits away. sometimes she will wail but heck care lah at least her tongue is clean hehe.

juz came back from pd.. told him that enzo is not drinking much... he taught me a formula... to ensure u baby is drinking enough, here's how to calculate the amt he should be taking per feed:

(baby's weight in kg x 150ml) / no. of feeds per day = amt baby should be taking each feed.

this is so much better than those numbers we see at the back of the fm tins cos every baby's weight/size is different..
hope this helps..

<font color="0000ff">edksd</font>,
don't worry abt Kai not titled chubby. I also believe breastfed bbs tend to be lean and less prone to being overweight. So as long as Kai is healthy and putting on weight every wk, he shld be fine!
btw, Trinity's chubbiness in the photo is partly due to the camera lens lah. She looks slightly tinier in real life!

<font color="0000ff">shirlyn</font>,
Trinity is 12 wks old. How old is baby J?

<font color="0000ff">michelle</font>,
Trinity's on TBF. She's approx. 5.7kg at 12wks.

<font color="0000ff">angeline</font>,
wow, u'll be a great babysitter to my Trinity!!
Hurry, come back to S'pore!!
My only concern is that both our Trinities will hv identity crisis!! hahaha... But save u time lah... just call 'Trinity' and both bbs will respond to u!! Can imagine both of them becoming best of friends!
When's ur Trinity's birthday? My Trinity is 17 Sept.

Thanks for sharing ur sleep routine. Agree totally w u that our maternal hormones r amazing. Same w u, I used to need lots of sleep. But since giving birth, I haven't slept for more than 3hrs at a stretch. There's basically no day and night as u've to take care of bb round the clock. Plus I'm pumping after every latch-on to try to increase milk ss b4 i return to work. Despite the exhaustion, I enjoy every minute w Trinity!

<font color="0000ff">ilovebabies</font>,
good tat Rachel is sleeping thru' the nite already. Then u get to rest too! Trinity is also starting to sleep longer. Like last night, she slept fr 8.30pm to 3am for her feed, then fr 3.45am to 8am. And y'day she also had 6 feeds only!

yeah, Rachel starting to flip? Must take video!

How I made Trinity smile at the cam? U shld see me and hubby being clowns, making funny faces and rattling toys behind the camera!! Out of several unsmiling shots, u'll soon find a smiling one!

<font color="aa00aa">And thanks to u &amp; ur hubby for taking time to organise and create the game! If ur hubby is busy, we'll wait, no probs!!

<font color="0000ff">melody, shirlyn</font>,
when u place bb in yaolan, how much do u rock it? Juz enough to make her sleep? And at night, do u hv to carry bb to help her sleep or she can fall asleep by herself in the cot?

<font color="0000ff">crystallized</font>,
oh, u rebonding today ah?
I always find doing my hair so therapeutic!! But i can't afford to discard my BM for 24hrs... so am still contemplating between rebonding all my hair or just the fringe to minimise any chemical effects... Not sure how much diff that'll make tho!

<font color="0000ff">whatzup</font>,
hey thanks for sharing the bbsitting experience! wah, u really 'steady' ah! I shld follow your cool when it comes to bbsitter.
I know bbsitter won't stimulate bb as much as parents, but also dun want her to leave bb alone by herself all the time. Guess it's a balance between communicating our preference to her and giving her the freedom to use her own methods/experience (as long as it's not harmful!). As u say, bbsitter is more experienced.

aye, our bbsitters quite similar leh! Mine also has 4 kids, youngest is 16, and has approx 13 yrs of experience!

<font color="0000ff">DG</font>,
haha, we did indeed take part in a photo competition. Must support support and vote ok! Will post the link after this!

puppylove

ya really hope Rachel flip during weekends else i'll miss it. Have to be very careful now cos I used to put her on a mattress on my L-shape sofa then I can play with her and watch TV at the same time

think I better stop doing that in case she flip.

so this weekend guess I'll stay at home since my Rachel is not feeling well. Dont want her to catch any more virus outside !

ilovebabies, no worries. i haven't send you my photos yet, so I thought I am out of game already. just kpo lah.

emma, the formula is also a guide only. I remember my Marcus used to drink much less than what he should according to the formula and i was worried sick. At 3 months old, he would drink only 450ml a day sometimes and he was about 5.6kg. The shortfall is quite a lot. But there was nothing that I could do to increase his intake and i don't believe in giving solids so young.

Nicholas is now 8 weeks old and weighed 4.5kg at 1 month. don't know his weight now, but let's say he is approx 5.3kg, he should still drink min 750ml a day, but so far, he averages 580ml a day. So I am shocked at the appetite of Diana's bb.

puppylove,

we rock till she half sleep then stop. Normally, she will dose off to deep sleep wit her pacifier. Then we remove the pacifier. At nite, i dbf she doze off easily then put pacifier into her mouth. When she deep sleep she will split out the pacifier or i remove it for her.

DG

u can still send to me anytime ok !

ya I used to worried that Rachel is having such a small appetite when compared to the babies here. But i see that she has so many wet nappies, then it puts me at ease.

guess every bb's just different ...
kao_smile2.gif

joon, Nicholas still wakes/eats at erratic time leh. But he is usually sleeping by 9.30pm and will wake once or twice between 1am and 6am. Some nights he will drink less than 50ml and sleep for 4 hrs!

During daytime, he will feed every 2.5 to 3 hrly if he doesn't take more than 90ml a feed. Sometimes he drinks 120ml and can last for 4 hrs. Sometimes only drinks 60ml and can also last 4 hrs! Sigh!!!!! it drives me nuts actually that he can't eat more and last longer, especially when I can see his milk belly growing. Urrgghh...

Emma
forgot to ask you.. then what did your pd say you can do to increase enzo's intake if he refuses to eat more?

blessedmommy, i started giving Marcus my ebm past 3 days. had to warm up and add to his Gain IQ as i doubt he would drink on its own. I took a teaspoon of the warmed bm myself before adding to his milk and I must say "YIKES!!!". But he didn't seem to notice any difference and drank up every drop of his milk as usual. :D

Freezing BM
i am running out of storage space for my FBM now. Have over 40 packs and another 2 more days, I will run out of space to freeze meat/fish and even peas!! Such a shame to throw out the ebm though and I don't want to give Marcus more than 150ml a day.

Michelle, rainnie
you also freeze a lot, right? Got enough space?

puppylove

my rachel sleep in the sarong at mum hse. but mum dont rock her. just put her in the sarong and give her the pacifier and bolster. train her to sleep on her own.

at home sometimes I'll carried her and pat her till half asleep then put her to cot. She can sleep on her own if she's not too cranky.

ilovebabies, do you change rachel's nappy every 3 hrly? She weighs 5.2kg at 3 months, right? Actually she looks chubbier and heavier than that.

some days, nicholas will have only about 5 wet nappies unless i include those that are only a little wet. i don't usually change his nappy between midnight and 6 am, so there is only 1 wet nappy at 6 or 7am.

DG

i change after every feed which is every 3hrly. Like u, i dont change in the nite if she dont wake me up.

but when she was younger and wake up consistently every 3 hour, her diaper is always wet. May not be very wet, but if we are using cloth nappy, that's consider 1 wet nappy right ?

Rachel just look a bit chubby in person
prob her bones are light ? ahha

oh and yest, my neighbour tot Rachel is only 2 mths old !
... she just commented, when I told her it was 3 mths ago when I gave birth to Rachel " OH DONT LOOK LIKE !"

domesticgoddess

My girl is not the biggest eater leh, I thinking e-ling's BB is the champion.
BTW, my baby now is almost 15wks old . She also ate quite little when she was at your bb's age.

Long time didn't post here coz have been very busy :p

Ilovebabies, read that your gal is having a cough :x Guess what? My bb also having a mild cough. Going to bring him to see PD tonite. Will the PD give him medicine to take even thru they are so young ? :x

All mummies, please take good care of your bb and yourself. Doc said there is a common cough virus going around and many pple and kids are sick. I myself have been coughing for 2 weeks and I guess I have passed the cough to my bb

ilovebabies,
Don't worry
as long as Rachel is healthy, that's most important! Don't forget, she's got the physique of a model remember?
I think as mothers, we are always worried abt our bbs - is he/she too small / light / big / fat / hairy / not-hairy etc etc? Like now, I'm worried that DN is getting too fat! hahaha... coz my Dad said his face is so chubby now.

Emma,
How's Enzo now? Eating normally?

DG,
Bbs have very strange eating habits huh! I wish I could predict them! Anyway, what's the longest they can last on a full belly? DN's record is only 5 hours at night, sob sob...

Eling,
aiyah, u cannot make it too? So it'll just be me and Daisybuttons then! I'll take pics of the bbs and post it here, hur hur...

edksd,
Kai looks really happy and contented in his rocker! Don't worry abt his weight ok? All bbs are different

Enzo is still refusing milk on and off... PD says babies have a spc func in their brains.. if they put on too much weight in the first 3 months, the brain will tell the body to slow down so the baby doesnt become obese... so he says its normal.. but he says, if it persists, i will have to spoon feed him or syringe feed enzo.. cos by right babies should double their birthweight when they are abt 4 months old.. Enzo double his when he was 2 months old.. hehe.. so many enzo's on a diet.. which worries me sick...