(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

DG
my freezer actually has nuthin much in it except FBM! haha. tats cos i dun cook at home so i hv no storage problem ;)

puppylove
your ger 5.7kg look chubbier than my son who is 6.2kg at 11wks leh. maybe my boy got heavy bones hee hee

joon
thks for the links! i managed to contact the girl who organised the BP for california bb stuff n luckily she still got extra calendula cream
u apply it on the whole body or just the face only?

LATCHING ON
sorry ah me very new at this altho my son is oredi coming to 3 mths! i latch him on juz now n he took 1 whole hr to suckle on both breasts! after i finish, i still express n can get 80ml in total fr 2 breasts. how come ah? so i gave him another 50ml fr the bottle which he managed to finish. does this mean he didnt suckle long enuf so not full? like dat i dun need to do anything else liao lah cos if latch on means it takes me more than 1 hr to feed!! if bottle, he takes at most 1/2 hr only...

Joon,
my girl's sleep record was 6 hours.. but that was like 1 month ago and she missed her usual 2am feed and only woke up for milk @ 4am.. i actually panicked and tot what happened..

Jadelle hate tummy time too.. after like 1 minute, she will cry super loud.. once carry, ok liaoz! she love to stand also.. and sit.. and i notice.. she absolutely fascinated with the television... is it due to the noise coming out??

puppylove,
good that you are pumping after each latch..

michelle,
your body must be used to the pump more then your baby, so your boy gotta wait for the next flow of milk? that is why it takes so much longer...If i latch jadelle on and i pump after (which normally i can't cos she refuse to sleep and want people around her..), i get almost zero.. no wonder i not having enough milk to pump n freeze..

ilovebabies,
take care yeah, of yourself and rachel..

edksd,
your Kai iz soooo cute leh. poo poo still can grin at you..

jasmine
yeah i think u may be rite abt my body being used to the pump. u mean for bb who latch on the milk flow is very consistent one ah? no let down periods?

Riushiki

my PD who is a specialist in lungs problem (ashtma, cough etc) says bb this age cannot be prescribed too strong medicine so he gave rachel a mild one. But he says becos it's mild, it may not help her. So these coming 2 weeks, Rachel's body has to fight the virus. Hope my BF will cure her cough soon.

ilovebabies,

My baby starts fussing in the middle of a feed... ie he will drink about 50-60ml, then he will start pushing the teat out with his tongue, or turning his head from side to side. If I continue feeding, he will get really irritated and push the bottle away with his hand and start wailing... So that's why we have to split up the feeds. If your Rachel can finish her milk at one shot, there really is no need to split feeds.

Haiz, feeding baby Clarence is really a challnge sometimes. When he was 1 to 2 months old, he will throw up at least once a day, sometimes up to three times. And the throw up is not a spit up.... each throw up will be approx 50ml, and sometimes it happens one hour after feeding, with milk curds and stomach acid being present in the vomitus. We brought him to the PD, who diagnosed that he has gastric reflux and recommended that we cut back the feeds and change the milk formula to an Anti-Reflux one. I wasn't comfortable in changing the formula (as it was stated on the formula tin that it is to be used under Doctor's prescription), so we only cut back the feeds such that we feed less but at more frequent intervals.

We brought him to the PD last week for his 3 months immunisation, and the PD shared that he is slightly underweight based on his height. He measures 62.5cm and is 5.95kg. And PD said that given his age, he should be drinking 120ml-150ml each time, based on 6 feeds a day. My baby is currently drinking about 550ml-600ml a day. So we are now monitoring his milk intake and trying to feed a bit more each time.... Otherwise he is real cute (I am sure all of our babies are!!!
). It is a heartache to leave him with my mom before I go to work each morning.

This is baby Clarence "sharing" the newspaper with me 3 weeks ago... My husband who was mopping the floor then saw it and caught it on camera.

607530.jpg

607531.jpg

ilovebabies,

Just TBF little Rachel. I agree that strong medicine should be avoided where possible. Hope little Rachel gets well soon!

peachie

oh no i think my rachel also underweight !
clarence look so cute when he stare at the newspaper !

hey my rachel is attracted to the TV too. She can keep very very still if she watches the TV. i believe the noise and moving images caught her attention.

ilovebabies,

there is a different weight height chart for baby girls and boys... so dun worry too much..
maybe baby Rachel's weight is just fine for a little girl?

peachie,
clarence is so cute! his face has matured a lot huh? and he has such nice thick hair! DN is very jealous, hur hur...

michelle,
i read tt latching on actually makes the bb work harder than when they drink from the bottle. bottles are easier coz the milk flows out just like that. once he gets used to it, he'll get faster and faster!! it's great that u're latching him on now!
abt the cream, i put it on his face every night. i also used it on his cradle cap on his eyebrows and once on his back when it was peeling. so far so good! solved the cradle cap and the peeling! i apply the moisturiser on the whole body.

emma,
don't worry then! looks like enzo is smart enuff to regulate his own weight gain!

ilovebabies,

yep, agree that ur gal can be a model next time....
Anyway, my PD reassured me that it is of no major concern that a baby is underweight, as long as he/she is not mal-nourished and is achieving his/her developmental milestones. In fact, 20% of Singapore's child population is overweight or obese, and this is of far greater concern cos childhood obesity is closely linked to diabetes and high blood pressure when they reach their adulthood. So whilst we try to feed more, must also be careful not to overfeed....

And yep, I stay at SengKang.... Anchorvale area too!
My neighbour (who stays 2 units away on the same floor) gave birth to a gal 2 days before me! So there really are quite a number of babies ard Anchorvale area.

ilovebabies,
yup, i put ru yi oil on his stomach after baths. then moisturise his legs, arms, back and face. this little guy prone to dry skin
now his left arm is peeling a bit... :p

Hi Joon,

Your DN also very cute lah...

By the way, how old is DN? I think both our babies' birthdates are pretty close right?

peachie

hehe yeah me at Anchorvale too ... prob can pop by ur place some days ! then let the two slim MODELS play !

joon

oh so u avoided the tummy area la .. yeah me too. but i dun dare to put too much on rachel arms .. afraid that she start to suck or lick her arms ahah anyway I dont moisture her often ... her skin is ok.

ilovebabies,

I totally agree.
Wait till they can crawl first... Now to bring him out is quite a nightmare for me. He doesn't like lying down in the stroller and I have to carry him upright all day.

i dun bring strollers when I bring Rachel out. I carry all the way. So that I can talk to her as I walk. Hope she can absorb what I said to her hehe

ilovebabies

wow, u are truly something!!! to carry a 6kg baby for so long really needs a lot of stamina....

Plus baby Clarence is quite fussy about how he wants to be carried. He hates to lie down, which means that he cannot look around. And I must carry him upright such that his chin can rest on my shoulder. And he will wriggle and kick when he gets excited, which happens most of the time when we bring him out. It is really tiring on my arms. Maybe I am just a lazy mom. hehe....

I am sure all our babies can absorb what we are saying to them. We can meet up a couple of months down the line and our babies can have their own little conversation together!

By the way, I bumped into my neighbour who was carrying her little gal (born on 29 Aug 06, so 2 days older than my boy) at the lift landing last week, and we entered the lift together. Her baby was sound asleep in her arms, while Clarence was in his usual upright position and staring at the baby. I brought him closer for a better look, and who knows he got so excited that he reached out both arms and grabed the baby's clothes, causing her baby girl to wake up and start wailing.... Hence I spent the rest of the lift journey trying to free Clarence's hands from her and apologising to the mom....
Kids really do the most unexpected stuffs sometimes....

peachie

haha clarence is so cute !! he must be excited to see the gal !

ya very tiring to carry her around so me and hubby take turns. dont think i can use the sling now cos Rachel sure complain. She want to be carry upright like what u described.

ilovebabies,

Yep, come to think of it he is really quite cute... But I am sure my neighbour must have thought otherwise.... I could hear her baby wailing for some time even after we walked in different directions after getting out of the lift....
And I never bumped into her ever since...

Well, I brought Clarence to Vivocity last weekend, and he started smiling and cooing to 2 ah lians (with hair dyed blond) who were walking behind me... And who knows the ah lians kept following me and snapping his photos with their handphone. My husband said next time we will have a problem.... our boy is so friendly with the gals.... haha....

edksd,

Clarence's birth weight is 3.3kg, height is 50cm. When I brought him to the PD at 2 months, he was 60cm and 5.4kg. So he grew by 2.5cm and 0.45kg in his 3rd month.... What about yours?

peachie

wow wow .. we have a little valentino here ah !! aiyah why no baby boys come oogle at my Rachel ? ahahha

my gal was 2.4 kg and 50cm at birth. v small ...
on her 1st mth she was 3.5kg, and 4.5kg at 2nd mth

ilovebabies,

I can bring Clarence to oogle at yours!
Though I am not sure whether little Clarence will stop at oogling!!! He may have his hands all over Rachel's clothes (like what he did to my neighbour's gal).... So must warn you in advance first.

wahhh then must let Rachel wear turtle neck tops ! hahaha and then who knows then attend the same pri sch .. i guess it will be NAN CHIAU pri school ? ahha

hehe! yep, they can go school together....

by the way, u still working at this time? I am knocking off soon....

My breasts are hurting and full of milk. Haiz. Better pump soon.

hi 77, oh no wonder ur pd said clarence underwt.

my pd says abt 1kg per mth for the 1st few mths will be juz right.

bb kai..
birth - 2.82kg 48cm
1 mth - 3.28kg 51cm
2 mth - 4.40kg 55.5cm

DG, ya...me got alot of FBM....now trying not to freeze too many loh..maybe 1 day 1 packet will do. Those near to expiry one i pass it to my mom ... she will give my dog drink...my fridge quite big lah .... hve to stop storing icecream loh heheee

ilovbabies, rachel was born weeks before EDD?

emma, since the PD says so, then try not to worry.

joon, you are so right! I think only mothers worry, fathers are more bo chap. I told my hb that as at 6pm today, N has only drunk 300ml so far excluding the 2 times I latched him for under 10 min each. I am worried, but my hb just shook head and said "look! he is healthy!" I used to worry sick about Marcus's small (or almost non-existing) appetite for milk, then for solids when he was weaned. How to survive on only 4 teaspoons of pureed carrots and 400ml milk a day???? But he did and now I don't worry "so much" about him anymore. And now N... sigh..

don't even worry about DN being overweight. He looks so fine. Better that they eat more now, build up reserves so when they go on food strike (which they will) , they can afford to lose some weight and still not becoming bones.

peachie, my N is just like Clarence. Drink 40ml to 60ml, then a big fuss. Must burp and cuddle and take a 15 to 30min break before continuing the rest of feed. So it can take him an hr to finish 80ml. So sian..

michelle, wow.. great that Ethan is latching again. Enjoy the bonding.

<font color="aa00aa">ilovebabies</font>,
Thanks for ur vote!!
My hubby &amp; I luvvvvvv to take photos of her! heheh...

I also wish Trinity will show her new tricks during weekends next time! Keep them fr the bbsitter first! heheh...
Once they know how to flip, it's another host of precautions we've to take. Can't juz plonk them down somewhere and expect them to stay put while we tend to other matters.

<font color="aa00aa">melody</font>, OIC!

<font color="aa00aa">peachie</font>,
The pic of Clarence sharing ur newspp is so cute! Would be so interesting if we can read into our bbs minds to see what they're really thinking when they think we're not looking hor!

Ask u gals: If bb doesn't finish a bottle of EBM and u want to feed again within the hour (recommended time limit), do u keep the bottle back in the fridge or leave in room temp?

We subscribe to Disney Playhouse Channel to entertain Trinity and surprisingly she watches! Her favourite is Little Einsteins! So funny to see her so engrossed, eyes glued to the TV!! Even mummy can sing the songs already! haha...

Leaking breasts &amp; blocked ducts,
Those using lilypadz, can we wear them for long hours? My breasts leak easily. The lilypadz actually stops the leak, so I wonder if this will increase the chance of lumps and blocked ducts?

I had v bad engorgement on my right breast last week. Had to SOS an experienced colleague for advice, and took me hours of pain to get rid of the lumps. In the end, Trinity cleared the blocked ducts for me! phew! The thing is tat i was wearing the lilypadz that time, but I was also too busy to pump until 5hrs after the last pump. Previously a 5hr delay will lead to solid hard breasts which clears easily thru' pumping, but this time, there were lumps/blocked ducts, so not sure if lilypadz contributed to it... hmm.. what do u gals think?

puppylove,

me try to vote leh but dun knw why they keep tellin me must login??? is it becas the lilypadz r cup to fit d breast therefore will cause lump at those cup area???

<font color="0000ff">melody</font>,
oops! sorry, u'll need to register first b4 u can vote! Thanks!!

hmm.. the lumps weren't specifically at the cup area. I'm juz wondering if by preventing leaking, our milk ducts get blocked more easily...

<font color="0000ff">daisybuttons</font>,
sorry, paiseh!! didn't check my PM till now! Will reply u via email.

puppylove,
i have lilypadz too and i've had no blocked ducts while wearing them. if i get engorged, i still leak while wearing lilypadz. i can see the milk all ard my nipple but it doesn't leak out of the padz coz it sticks quite well to my boob. it only dripped out of the padz when
1. the padz got less sticky
2. the amt leaking out of my boob was quite a bit

hope this helps!

melody,
u gotta register as a user first before u can vote, coz i saw the same message! so i registered, then could vote for trinity

<font color="0000ff">j</font><font color="aa00aa">ooo</font><font color="0000ff">n</font>,
saw ur vote, thanks!!
i know wat u mean by seeing milk around the nipple cos tat happens to me too. So i guess it has nothing to do w blocked ducts then.

<font color="aa00aa">yup, got to register first b4 voting. The login password will be sent to u via email. But if u're using yahoo or hotmail, the email may end up in the junk box!

puppylove
i am totally mesmerized by Trinity leh!!!!
the photo is so professionally taken, was it taken by u? have already sent in my support.

puppylove
regding yao lan, baby J is usu left in it and she'd entertain herself till she falls asleep. sometimes, when she refuses to sleep when it is already past her naptime, MIL would then rock her to sleep.

at night, usu just put her in the cot and pat her to sleep. i like this time coz can sing to her. hopefully a few mths later, can start bedtime stories :p

puppylove, dont put back in the fridge cuz u cannot re-heat them anymore...if u reheat baterial will grow inside ya. jus leave it in room temperature will do
thats what i did..

tom going to take baby J for her jab.
having mixed feelings - excited coz i can find out her growth and worried coz heard from a friend that her girl vomited and cried non-stop

shirlyn,
oh gawd! vomitted? alamak! nvm, don't think the worst ok? think gd thots and gd things will happen

btw, can i ask, where did ur hb buy that kick-activity toy? (saw on ur blog!) i'm lookg for something like tt too. the one we bought from fisher-price cheat money one! it's not kick-activated like it said on the box... it's kick ACTIVITIES!

Shirlyn

so far, i have not heard of bb vomit after jab. the common symptoms are fever. My rachel slight fever after jab, took one dosage of Paracetomol and she is ok
PD says anything abv 38 deg is consider fever

sigh.. my rachel still coughing.

joon
yea, shall think positively!

that toy (Sunny Face Smart Gym - Vtech) was purchased from toys'r'us, abt $35. not sure if it is the "real" price coz the price tag was missing when hubby wanted to make the payment.

ilovebabies
my first time hearing that too. anyway, did the pd prescribe paracetomol to rachel in case of fever?

dont worry, rachel will get better.

good night all!
yawn.gif