(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

shirlyn,

abit early to eat 'cho bee' or not? my older boy dexter only start around 5mth. the 'cho bee' we give also not those commercial pack. really use the grain and bring to shop for them to grind one. quality type. haha.

of coz, tat time to give 'cho bee' 2 times a day, so that he will be more full during the day. the rest of meals are all milk. when cook the 'cho bee' also got add in milk.

shirlyn
ur mil gonna start J on brown rice?? i think too early right. her digestive system still cant take it leh. why so eager? bm is still sufficient for her now.

talking abt taking precautions, yes!
i have 2 colleagues who just gave birth and their first kids are abt a yr old. just imagine...
furthermore, one of them was still bf when she got preg.

babyzucchini

so far i only freeze the EBM. probably once i got better supply in the freezer, will also rotate and store chilled EBM for daily consumption. then i can go out shopping liao

today bring baby go back office and then lunch and then shopping (went to taka coach outlet look see)
in total, out for about 6hrs. come back home, baby cranky liao.

my mum was saying must set curfew for baby - out 2hrs only. haha..until he adjust outside better.

i delivered on 27 sep. so 3mth ML from 28 sep - 27 dec. then i clear my annual leave. so can go back in jan. just now went back to apply. saw email my boss approved my annual leave liao.

MEDELA FUNNELS AND CONNECTORS
hmm i just remmebered someone was asking abt medela parts rite? i'm using PIS and i bot the larger funnels and connectors too cos it is sold separately. the std kit has funnels that are attached to the connectors so u cant dismantle that!

babyzucchini
i oso one of the unlucky ones. menses came back at wk 6 and i asked my gynae how come he say its like dat one lor - normally shdn't hv but too bad i hv :p but then since wk 6, my menses didnt come again so i think it's just unstable lah. now i'm oredi like coming to 3rd mth liao

ilovebabies
i still dun hv time to dig out my photos leh tat's y never send to u. anyway cant wait to play the game!

ECZEMA
so my son isnt the only bb wif eczema here! he had so many red scale patches on his cheeks few wks back so we brot him to see PD who prescribed some steroid cream. after applying for 1 wk then the patches cleared up. but every now n then it flares up again so we hv to re-use the cream. but cannot use too much/too long cos its steroids, so we gotta try to find out wat causes it to flare up and try to avoid that instead. it's a slow n long learning process. my hb has eczema n i hv really sensitive skin so i guess its no big wonder how come our son oso has it.

edksd
i oso just kena 1 lump in right boob yesterday. dunno y all of a sudden it just appeared! after massag like crazy (damn pain as usual!) luckily it cleared today. i know mommies like myself who are 100% EBM are more prone to lumps. but u latch bb on one rite? i'm surprised still got lump leh

aiyo amabel drink alot but dunno y she doesnt gain much weight compare to others baby leh. Funny leh.

Amabel will also turn around see here and there and get distracted when drinking milk but i find that she will only do that when she is not hungry but just drink for fun. haha

blessedmommy, we also want to give Amabel eat organic cereal.Intend to start when she is 5 mth

michelle
i was the one asking abt medela parts.
sigh, thought i was blur- didnt know they can be dismantled all along. silly sales person, told me to get the breastshields and that i can dismantle the ones i hv at home. i even told her mine was the old version.
luckily i dint open the box. tom got to go town again.

DISTRACTED BABIES
ethan is one of them! when he drinks his milk he will look left right up down everywhere n takes FOREVER to finish his milk. little bit of sound oso he will turn n try to look where its coming from. then someone told us when feeding time shd do it in a really quiet corner with nuthin to look at - as in literally blank walls - so tat he has nuthin to do but drink his milk. n guess wat? it works! he now finishes his milk - all 150ml of it - in under half an hr. this happens about 90% of the time lah, but last time he always wont finish n takes more than an hr :p a big improvemt oredi!

blessedmommy
that's how i feel too. i am going to use the pd as an excuse to reject her suggestion, hehe.
that is why didnt really want to rebuke her.

btw she is an experienced babysitter. so cant "outtalk" her. she always uses her experiences with babies as a way of convincing me.
paiseh, pardon my complaints.

e-ling
maybe annabel got high metabolism. when she grow up she will feel blessed to hv this kind of body. we all die to hv one, dun we? can eat n eat but dun put on much weight. just that for babies, the books always say must gain certain kg per mth. actually weight is just an indicator. as long as she eat n sleep well, is alert n happy, dun be too worried abt weight. but i guess as mothers we all wanna see our bb gain weight right. dilemma....

shirlyn,

for normal range, if got taka card got 10% discount.
then on one of the display wall, there is a SALE sign there (for the range on that side of the display wall) but dont like those there. anyway even with 30% discount, still cheaper to buy in the BP by CP (25% off US price) Spore store already selling more expensive (approx. 25% more than coach.com)

am considering either one. which is nicer?

Shoulder Zip
http://www.coach.com/content/product.aspx?product_no=8560&category_id=68

OR

Flap
http://www.coach.com/content/product.aspx?product_no=8559&category_id=68

eczema
my babe has mild eczema but both hubby and i dont have leh. hers will develop on the skin at the arms. used steroid cream the first time pd prescribed. now, i find that if i clean those areas a few times a day, it is ok.

shirlyn
the ones u hv at home are the std breastshields tat came wif the PIS rite? those cannot dismantle one lah cos the connector is moulded together wif the shields! mebbe the salesgirl didnt know tat u were using the std kit so tot u can use back those old connectors
ur new funnels came in a box? the ones i bot came in some cheapo plastic bag!

phoebe
both designs are nice, i like the legacy range! i prefer the shoulder zip coz troublesome to open the flap to get my stuffs.

when i read the thread by CP, there was already a long waiting list. sighz... thinking of getting a signature hobo.
talker.gif

shirlyn,
i booked my slot liao.
so now deciding wat to get and revert to her by tomorrow.

saw the flap at taka today. quite nice. dont have zip to see (all sold out)

which signature hobo u interested?

michelle
ethan so cute. as kpo as mine. if we both feed them sitting side by side think they will be more busy looking at each other *wink wink* than drinking milk!!!

shirlyn
good one!! anything u dun like, just say "doctor say one!!" sure works!

hi michele, usually i get lumps when i go out. coz when i return home, bb is usually asleep as mother wld hv fed him w ebm. so i'll pump. i wonder is it becos of my pump which did not empty the breasts? and therefore causing the lump?

shirlyn
can get more than 1 pc. saw got ppl place order for 5 pcs. you interested to get? dont mind for you to 'tong pang' my slot

i also waiting for my colleague's reply if she wants to get anything.
where do you stay? i'm at bt batok, work place at alexandra.

Joon , DG,
Actually I won't say there's conflict between me and MIL. We have always been very polite with each other. I do appreciate that she is willing to help out with the BB if HB has a onsite job to do. She has also been making me those cantonese double boil soup to help me increase/get better quality BM.

Its only that her style and my style of taking care of BB is really different. I guess its a big generation gap. (My HB is 10 yrs older than me, so you can guess her age).

Its not as if Trinity is being neglected or tortured under her care. To avoid creating any conflicts, i have to continue to hold my tongue. So will have to air out here and release a bit of my frustrations. Perhaps I am being overly anxious and must learn not to be so uptight.

Anyway, my own mum will be flying in tomorrow to help me and Trinity as HB has a 1 week project and I really do not wish to put Trinity at MIL's place for a whole week and especially not when she is in her growth spurt and abt to take her 2nd 6 in 1 jab and will be more cranky than usual.

Joon,
like yourself. this new mothering experience has really made me realise that own mum is best and how 'wei da' they are. I also wish to do something special for her on Mother's Day next year.
DG, Blessedmother,
I'm still having thoughts abt moving back to SGP and becoming SAHM. Guess what, this evening I bumped into my next door neighbour and they were enquiring abt the possibility of buying over our condo for their parents to move in. Perhaps, this is God's little sign to me that he is supportive of me moving back :). I'll give myself a little more time to think things through and cool my mind before making a decision. See if this house sale really happens. Can I PM you if I have questions on the responsiblities and pressures you face as SAHM

I don't get to login as often as I would like to, so apologies if I delay in responding to ur posts! This is gonna be a looong post!

<font color="0000ff">angeline</font>,
I understand how u feel abt ur Trinity being left to stare into the air... I'm also concerned my Trinity's bbsitter will do the same to her when I start her service in Jan. I can ask the bbsitter to play w her and stimulate her, but I won't be physically there so who knows how my Trinity will really spend her daytime there? So sad to think that i only hv 20+ days of precious time w her b4 i return to work. I definitely can't afford to be a SAHM, so can only hope to spend quality time w Trinity after work and on weekends... If u've the option to be a SAHM, I would say go for it! It won't be easy but the rewards of seeing ur girl learn and develop new abilities would be priceless! I pray that God will show u an even clearer sign and u'll hv peace with ur final decision!

Bbsitter,
Anyone engaged a bbsitter too? Did u hv a 'sit-in' session where u observe how the bbsitter takes care of ur bb and u let her know ur preferred method of doing things? Can share ur experience? Thanks!

yaolan,
Anyone's caregiver using yaolan for ur bb but u yourself don't? My bbsitter says she'll use yaolan for Trinity. Am concerned that she'll get so used to it she won't be able to sleep w/out it at home. Anyone has similar experience?

<font color="0000ff">ilovebabies</font>,
ya, your Rachel and my Trinity sure look alike in the photos! I also thot so the moment I saw Rachel's pics earlier!
But my ger's looks changed a bit already. That pic of Trinity u posted was taken at 8 weeks. Here's one taken at 11 weeks last wk!
Now that's what i call a couch potato!! kekeke....
Me and u look alike? heheh, let the rest figure it out! we shall see when we play the game!!
605497.jpg

the coincidence doesn't end there... my Trinity is also drinking approx 100ml! 8 feeds a day. Latch on at night, bottle-feed EBM in the day. How many feeds is Rachel having?
A couple of days ago, she started finishing 120ml easily but after that, she went back to 110/100... wonder if that was a growth spurt??

I'm not freezing my BM yet simply cos I don't hv excess. Those who've excess BM - u gals r really fortunate!! I'm only able to stay ahead by 2 feeds. Am trying v hard to increase it further cos when i return to work in Jan, will hv to give the bbsitter all the daytime feeds in advance. Quite 'xiong' leh...

<font color="0000ff">crystallized</font>,
count me into the 'unlucky' group! i also had spotting a few days back!

<font color="0000ff">shirlyn, michelle</font>,
the larger breastshields I bought fr TMC also came in cheapo plastic bags! the breastshield is packed together w connector.

Those who've already started work,
do u wake up in the middle of the night for night feeds? How do u cope?? I foresee next time I'll hv to wake up once, approx. 2am, then feed my ger again at approx. 6am b4 I leave her w bbsitter and go to work. Plus coping w work in the day, think will be tough. How are u gals coping? how do u ensure u get enough rest?

Rebonding,
heehee, back to this topic cos I'm thinking of doing it next wk! Rebonding usually takes 4hrs or even longer right? I'll be engorged by then! So how? Bring my Trinity along??? Those who've rebonded, how did u time urself?

Rub eyes,
Trinity started rubbing her eyes quite often. Sometimes it's cos she's sleepy, other times i think she simply likes the feeling of rubbing them! At times after latching on, she'll hv milk all over her mouth and cheeks. Then b4 i can clean her, she would stretch and start rubbing, inadvertently spreading the milk all over her face! hai... btw Trinity's still wearing mittens most of the time too cos her nails are really sharp. I take a long time to cut her nails cos a bit phobic abt cutting her skin accidentally! And they grow so fast! Sometimes she'll scratch herself and scream in pain... so sayang! So no choice, it's still mittens for her or 'supervised mitten-free time' for her!

puppylove, trinity v chubby leh. so cute.

my kai is never titled chubby. my hb wondered why. i told him so far all the chubby bb we saw (eg. his cousins' and friends' bb) are all formula fed. so i told him maybe breastfed bb are less chubby. better not let him see all ur bb here! hehe...

low fat milk mummy -> edksdid

http://www.babycenter.com

"I didn't know others did this. I thought we were weird for doing it. But it is so nice especially when I am so full and the baby is sleeping and I don't want to wake her up. It's a big relief to let my husband help out. It started when I had mastitis and it hurt so much that I asked my husband if there was anything he could do to help. When he latched on and started sucking I was surprised, but he was so good at it and it felt so good and was such a big relief that I just let him keep going. I make so much that I really need his help. So most nights after the baby is asleep, I let him have as much as he wants. He is really very good and I get the same wonderful feeling I get from nursing our child and we feel so close together. "
-- Anonymous

Wow, so many posts since yesterday. Was busy yesterday and didn't manage to come online.

Siok Boon
My baby is on partial BFg. She'll take formula once out of her 4 feedings during daytime. each feeding 200ml. Nighttime I bf her directly, about 2 times. Should be around 1000ml in total for the whole day. coz there is one time i don't have enough ms, so have to feed her formula lor. Now I have enough liao, should I TBF her ? :)

Melissa
Your baby's last feed is at 12? Mine is around 6-7pm leh. What does she do before 12 ? How do you spend the time with her ? For me, if my baby sleep too late, though I'm patiently playing with her, but in my mind I'm thinking why you still don't want to sleep hah ? Mum still have so many things to do leh, have dinner, shower, wash &amp; sterilize bottles, wash cloths, pump milk... Don't know whether other mummies have the same feeling. :) My mum say I'm the type when baby is asleep, I want her to wake up. And when is awake, I want her to go to sleep.

For those mummies who want to pinch or bite my girl, :) Now she put on more weight liao. Around 8kg. But She is not the champion, I know a boy who weights 8.65kg at week 12.

Feeding baby water
I think mummies shouldn't be too serious about it. My mum feed my girl water too, i.e. when she wake up or back from a walk. My mum say my girl like to drink water a lot, she'll scream if my mum grab away the bottle. But my mum will let her drink at most 20-30ml each time. And when her meal time comes, she can still drink 200ml. Nurse also say can let baby drink a bit of water to rinse and clean her mouth after meal. Though book say don't feed baby water, but I think we shouldn't be so stereotype, right? We adult still drink and eat so many things between each meal, yet we only allow baby to drink milk when meal time comes, isn't it a bit too cruel.

DG
i feel weird doing that too and my hubby already rejected when i offered him to try bm, hah.

puppylove
thanks for the info.
trinity looks soo tiny, sitting on the spacious couch. she has a smiley face, maybe it is her lips. chubby baby, how old is she? suddenly realised that my baby J is lean.

diana
WOW, she is heavy! i think she is already a champion in this thread.
now that u have enough bm to give her, why dont u stop formula?

HELP!!! Enzo hasnt been drinking...
yesterday at 3pm, he drank like 60ml only!! then 6pm, he drank abt 120ml, 9pm - 70ml, 5am - 50ml, 9am - 30ml!!!!! omg!!! do you babes have any idea why this is happening??? i realised, after i fetched him from the nanny's that his tongue has been cleaned... do u think that's the reason? the skin was scraped? injured? its painful when he drinks? cos when i force him to drink somemore, he'll cry!!!
i'm so lost...

puppylove,
don't worry too much abt not getting enough sleep. Somehow our maternal hormones will make us physically stronger. I used to be zombie if I don't get my 8 hr sleep every night. My gal is on total EBM, so I have to pump at least 6 times a day now to meet her demands. I started work this week and since 3 weeks ago I have been 'training' myself for less sleep. After her night feed at about 10, I will put her to bed. I tend to fall asleep too at that time. So I get about 3 hr nap and wake up at 1 - 2 am to pump, take shower, sterilze bottles, do a little housework. If she wakes up for night feed at this time I will bottle feed her, if she doesn't then I am lucky I got more time to sleep or do housework. I go back to bed at abt 3 - 4 am and sleep for another 3 hrs till 7am when i wake for another pump session and then get ready for work. So in total still manage to get 6 hr sleep on average and enough energy to pull through a normal work day.

Hey Hey, if I become SAHM and move back to Hougang Ave 5, I can help you to babysit your Trinity too. And the 2 Trinities can become best friends. :)

emma
skin was scraped? how did the nanny clean his tongue? try take a look at his tongue.

when he is not drinking, is he crying?
maybe he isnt hungry at all?
monitor enzo for a while.

shirlyn... i saw his tongue... not red or anything leh... juz not as much white milk stains... he will cry for milk, but when we feed, he wont finish...

Shirlyn

I'm afraid she'll reject formula in future, so I want her to get used to it now lor. Once everyday is not that much, right ? Might have to stop bf when she reach 6 month coz on my 3rd day of working my boss already asked me whether I'm able to travel. I told him I want to bf my girl until she is 6 months old. By then, will try to avoid if can avoid.. Sigh, really not easy to be a working mother.

tried to give formula to my boy last sat when i start my storage for EBM.
he didnt like it. so i breastfeeding a while, the quickly switch and give him formula milk. he drank about 50ml. so 1st trial was ok.

then tried again during the next meal. give him formula. he cried so loud. just dont want to drink the formula milk. so got to breastfeed.

think he dont like the formula milk. got to try again another time.

My girl doesn't like formula too. Will shake her head several times when first offered to her. But in the end still can finish the 200ml. In general, my girl is quite easy going, latch on can, bm in bottle can, formula in bottle can. there is one time we changed formula brand also can.

Emma,
any possibility may be the taste of the millk. Are you on FM or EBM? Could it be the taste of the milk that is different, some 'flavor' in it that he doesn't like? Monitor a little longer and see if it improves.

Hey emma,

Think iz the teat? or just cranky for the day? calculate the total he is drinking ok? if close to 1000ml in total.. iz ok..

dianasg &amp; phebe,

me partial BF too... 1 feed a day of NAN HA 1.. but me iz cos, my EBM not enough to satisfy her 4 feeds a day..

expressing milk at work is tough! I am back to work liaoz, and since i have no electrical point in toilet, i end up having to use my IQ uno, single pump.. my milk flow iz slow, plus, hard for me to have a letdown without my girl.. and each let down only 20ml per breast! I end use expressing ~45 min to 1 hr in total! and i express 4x at work.. so, bo bian, go to work early and sacrifice my lunch time..

i pump @ 8:15am, 11am (sometimes gotta skip this one), , 2pm, 5pm..and each one takes 1 HR cos set up, washing up, keeping the milk etc.. oh manz..

For me, I pump at 7:30am, 11:40am, 4:40am, and 9:30am. Now each time can get around 200-250ml. Morning slightly more, around 300ml. I'm very lucky, I setup a little nursing corner in our lab, hang a shower curtain to block ppl, so still can use my Medela Mini Single pump.

Jasmine
Try my technique, pull and twist the other nipple while pumping. Drink a cup of water at the same time. It works very well on me. I use to be able to pump around 100ml only.

formula
now that i read abt some babies rejecting formula, i am getting worried.
i havent introduced any formula to baby J. wonder if i shld to get her familiar in case my milk ss goes down

i tried everything.. fm, ebm.. all kenna rejected... sigh... total intake is far from 1000ml... total is abt 600ml only!!! omg.. so little.. ya.. later will ask nanny how much he's taking in the day...

<font color="0000ff">jasmine</font>

i'm still on TBF, was trying out formula to see if he's ok. so in case not enuff supply at home, can also opt to take 1 or 2 meals of formula. currently i'm giving him S26 gold. got 2 ctns of the RTF 100ml at home for him to drink.

<font color="0000ff">diana</font>

'pull and twist the other nipple while pumping'
like tat while you pump on 1 breast, the other breast which u pull and twist will also leak rite? so how to collect the milk?

know ppl working in wyeth.
so request 2ctn of RTF from her. total 48 bots.
stand by to supplement in case not enuff BM or good when go out. jus pop open and drink.
but first, must let my boy get used to the milk frist