(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

emma
there r a number of reasons why enzo may reject his milk. 1) he may be unwell 2) u might hv eaten something that change the taste of ur milk 3) ur menses coming?? hormonal changes also change the taste of ur milk. all these just a passing phase n he shld be drinking normally in few days.

enzo is 3 mths plus?? i find that babies his age tend to start fussing during feeding. my jo another case. she used to finish her milk v fast. nowadays she take long time, is distracted n i gotta end up singing n talking to her or bring her to a corner to drink her milk where noone can disturb her cos she is such kpo. she still drink same amt of milk but it takes longer to finish.

phoebe

You can stop stimulating when you see a little bit of milk come out. Usually the milk won't continue to leak. After finish pumping the first breast, pump the one you've just stimulated. Take turn to pump and stimulating each breast. Usually I do it 3 times for each breast.

If the leaking is serious, you could not to stimulate first. Do it after you've pumped for one round and your breast is not so engorged.

ya.. blessedmommy.. enzo juz turn 3 months yesterday... hopefully its juz a passing phase... sigh... and hopefully it will pass real fast...

Phoebe
thks 4 the call. will email CP directly on my order.

wah u fantastic ah, can bring baby out shopping alone? mine wldnt sit in the stroller for long. and so far only tried bringing stroller out together wif hb. not brave enuff to venture out wif the stroller alone.

but i bring him out in my sling 3 to 4 times a wk taking MRT & bus. i can only manage him alone wif my sling. else when i carry the little fatty too long my wrist will ache.

u delivered 2 days earlier than me only.
i cleared 2 mths ML + last yr leave, so am gg back in 2 wks time. will clear my 3rd mth in feb.

michelle
at least ur menses din come back every mth. guess at least it beats better than hvg regular menses and yet on tbfg. hope mine is juz spotting bah. its like mini menses. not heavy flow.

puppylove

trinity is sooooo cute! like v fu4 gui4 look sitting in the luxurious sofa!

so u oso one of the unlucky ones here...sigh
hey me gg to do my rebonding tmrw. r u kidding? bringing ur gal along? i am leaving my boy wif my mum and will bring along my manual pump along. anyway i dun intend to latch on my boy for tmrw and will discard my BM for 24 hrs, juz to b safe.

my boy sleeps in yao lan at my mum's plc whenever i go back. at home i hv not introduced him to yaolan and he still can sleep. guess as long as we dun keep rocking him though he is alrdy asleep shld not pose a problem.

Diana
i agree wif u on the water thing. i started feeding water to my boy b4 he was 1 mth old, though i noe very well tt babies whom r on tbfg do not need any supplement. my idea was juz to get my boy accustomed to water and i wun hv problem hv him drinking in future. and the other, is like wat u said, to rinse and clean her mouth.

emma
looks like ur enzo is feeling some discomfort when drinking milk, thus explains his sudden behaviour. my mum always say my son's tongue got too much milk residue, so he will fuss at times when he drinks.

FORMULA MILK
haven introduced yet and i am oso wondering will my boy reject the taste when we introduce to him later... sigh

Gosh, this entire post took me almost 3 hrs to complete! my boy was beside me and i was trying to get him to sleep all these while...

DG,
oh wow the article lady has her hubby latch on to her. my hubby will NEVER do that! he even mentioned that it's lucky that we got a baby girl she looked cute latching on me for milk. he can't imagine if we have a baby boy! wah lao!!!! how can he think like that!!!

Diana sg,
my baby is on 3-hr interval nursing. after her feed at 7pm, she will take a nap and wake up an hour later to see see, look look, and talk! then i will give her another feed at 10pm, also same pattern. but if i'm sleepy and want her to go to sleep, i will feed her again at 11.30pm, she usually fall asleep all the way and not wake up till after 5am. but sometimes i'm unlucky lar, 1am wake up for milk again haha. but if i nurse her at that time, she won't wake up till 7am. whichever time is her last feed, it will last her for 6-7 hours.

PrincessEmma,
my baby girls feed varies too. sometimes she suck a little. even though i DBF her, she's like over and done with with only 5 minutes! babies have reserves don't worry. i usually wipe my girls' tongue till clean too hehe.

jasmine,
wow jadelle's cheek is screaming for me to bite!!! haha!

PLAIN WATER and Formula Milk
i am thinking of exclusively breastfeeding my gerl till she's 6 months. after that, when she can take food, i can introduce FM or plain water for her. before that, definite no-no. i find that if i pump first, then let her latch on after i pumped, my milk supply increases so i am optimistic that i will no problem storing EBM when i get back to work next week.

Melissa
Seems you nurse yuor baby very frequently. I dare not to nurse my baby so many times at night, coz she is already so fat. But last night I give her one more feed at 9pm, and she only wakes up at 3am! Seems have improved a lot. Quite happy.

Diana,
actually i think when babies are full, they will sleep longer, that's why i gave her extra feed sometimes at night. i don't usually do this though but this seems to work. it will be useful when i start work next week. i need all the sleep i can get!

Shirlyn

my MIL says to start Rachel on grind brown rice when she turns 5 mths old. And yes, that's the "chor mee" u referring to. My MIL buy brown rice and grind it. Then will add warm EBM to feed Rachel.

Today brought Rachel to see PD cos she is having slight cough. PD says her lungs and throat are ok. He cautioned that a flu virus is spreading so ask me to monitor Rachel. If her cough becomes more freq or running a fever, need to see him again.

Btw my Rachel weighs only 5.2kg ... so petite gal !

so I guess I have to skip the gathering this weekend since my ger is sick.

Pupplylove

Rachel is drinking 100ML but I think abt 6 feeds ? cos she can sleep quite a lot at nite now. but come daytime, she drinks every 3 hrs.

trinity look sooooooooooooo cute on the couch ! how u make her smile while sitting ?

If rachel has her last feed at 12+ to 1am, she can sleep thru the nite till 6+ .. sometimes she dun even wake up and I have to wake her up and latch her before I express.

Guess I am quite used to this lifestyle, sleep late and wake up early. Was v tired at work but sometimes work keeps me awake ! ahah

DG

errr ... dun think my hubby is keen though he taste my BM before ! ha !

edksd

but I think rachel is older right ? hehe nvm lah.. she is still happy and cheeky .. so I am ok with it
i tell myself she has the figure of a MODEL ahhah slim and tall

not v far apart la... kai's bd is 12 sept.

kai is not those ba ba type (meat meat type). not like me, more like his father. hahaha...

wow u ladies hv babies can last so long thru feeds? mine typically wakes up abt 2-3 times for nite feeds. am still waiting 4 the day he can wake up only once. i will b so happy. and daytime he feeds abt 2-hourly. at times 3 hourly... but rarely...

alot of mummies here very lucky. baby sleep long hrs at night. mine feed every 2-3hrs (day or night)
so, i feed 12am, 2am, 4am, 6am. sigh....
not enuff sleep.

puppylove :

i doubt bbsitter will stimulate / play with the child under their care as much as a mother will do ... as long as the child is always clean , meet their basic needs , i am fine with it ( is up to individual ) . i am a bit ' ah q ' , trying to make myself feel comfortable , let my son be independent during the day and both me and hubby will try to make up the rest during weekends .

some bbsitter has more experience then new mummies ( like me ) , if their method is not harming the child , just different or not the best , be it ( that's what i think ) , i could give her specific instruction but never be sure she will implement it .( i am a little worry if i nag / or monitor too closely , she might not like it and release her dissatisfaction on my child )

as for yaolan , if u are uncomfortable ,u could buy another matress and put it at her place , i think she should follow your preference .

my son has been with bbsitter for a month , she has four children herself , the youngest is 13 and the oldest in poly ... i tot that's good , an early exposure to ' siblings ' , her children play with my son occasionally , they are a bit rough ... as long as my son is not injured .. i close one eye . i did not really monitor too closely on how she feeds / baths etc . ... i tot give her some freedom since she has been looking after children for the past 15 years ... for her , i am like a green pea , long way to go man !!

hope the above comforts u a little .

sidetrack...

1. does anyone knows how to get the chocolate for chocolate fondue? is it just melt the normal chocolate? any gd brand of chocolate fondue cooker to recommend? besides fruits and marshmallows what goes well w chocolate fondue?

2. any interesting idea for potluck? or any stuff tt's famous or tasty to order from?

edksd

try ice cream with choc fondue ! however not sure if any brand/type of choc will do ? i saw some fondue cooker in COURTS before ... u can try ur luck there.

edksd... u can use juz any good chocolate for chocolate fondue.. its not necessary to get a fondue cooker... u can use those v small slow cooker.. at least u can use that for other things too..
cookies can go w the choco too..

the recent potluck i had...
we had tuna spaghetti + roast duck + bbq chicken wing + curry fish head + jellied coconut

a very weird mix of food...but taste good lor!!

hi all, tks for the ideas!

phoebe, did u cooked or ordered the food? thinking of catering something but not many pple so may not hv delivery.

melissa
how do u clean ur baby's tongue until very clean? i've been using sterile gauze to clean ethan's tongue everyday by sticking my little finger into his mouth but i find those milk residue further back on the tongue cannot be reached leh. so i only manage to clean the front part of the tongue real well while the back part is still white white ...

edksd
yeah its posible the pump didnt empty as well as baby which is wat we all know rite - babies are the most efficient! anyway lucikly u still hv ur bb to latch on n help u. for me, i resigned to my fate tat i will hv lumps every now n then cos my son wont latch on.. so sad
today i think the lump came back again. aaaarrrgghh!!!

puppylove
your girl is soooo cute on that big sofa all be herself! very very chubby leh. r u on TBF or partial?

diana
do u latch your bb on at nite? cos i noticed u only do 4 pumps a day. is that enuf to keep milk ss up? i'll be starting work wk after next (sob sob!!) so also gotta work out my schedule but i need to hv at least 6 pumps a day to maintain my 1 litre output leh

edksd
we only cooked spaghetti. the rest all bought items. ours small group. only 6 pax.
but if you got 10pax, u can consider ordering those mini buffet.
i always ordered mini buffet during family gathering (eg. birthday parties)

i went to this place who ordered nasi lemak and popiah buffet... v nice.. we get to play/make our own popiah.. but i dun have the contacts.. anyone has???

phoebe
so we share the same fate. at times my boy wld wake up every 2 hourly intervals at nite. once in a blue moon, he wakes up hourly! *horrors* sigh

yep, put my order across to CP liao. actually hor i shld hv shared ur order so can save on the svc chrg. mine is only $8 more than $150 and gotta pay an extra $5... but realised u got alot of orders man. keke

michelle
same like u, i hv been using sterile gauze to clean my boy's tongue but only can rch the front part. cant rch furthur in, else he will threaten to vomit. so i always try to rem not to clean immed aft his feed, else he end up merlioning the milk out.

phoebe and baby zucchini,

my girl wake up at night too and she 3.5 months liaoz.. iz cos my milk at 1 time not enough for her, i think..

like last night last feed @ 11pm, then wake up 2am, 4:30am, 6:30am, 7:30am.... faintz.. she last longer in the day as being bottle fed 120ml each time.. (i scared she waste my BM, so dun dare give her more), which last her 3 hrs..

Diana,
me tried juz now to twist the nipple.. no work on me leh.. got 60ml only.. arrghhhh!!

btw my Rachel can almost turn also ... last nite when I put her down to cot her body is trying hard to turn but her hands are stucked under her body hahaha she looks so frustrated but I dont want to help her. let her flip when she is ready !

jasmine
dun think my BM not enuff 4 my boy leh. i can get abt 90ml after latching him for 17 mins last nite. its juz his habit to latch on like 10 mins 90% of the time. occasionally he will latch on 15 mins or like last nite, 17mins.

haha, each time i give him EBM, i always give extra, hoping he can finish. but most times i end up throwing most of the unfinished milk. heartpain ah!

michelle,
I have been pumping at work this week and so far has only managed to pump 5 times a day. Luckily SS has maintained. I still try to squeeze out at least 40ml/1 hr interval. IE, if I break for 4 hr, I will pump till I get at least 160ml and if 5 hr interval then at least 200ml and so on. Fortunately, most of the time manage to get slightly more and occasionally will fall short but so far still getting my slight more than 1 litre each day.

My current timing is as follows :

>> 7:30 am before I leave home for work
>> 12:30 during lunch time
>> 16:30 discreetly 'snake' away from work desk
>> anytime between 20:30 - 22:30, depending if Trinity needs my attention when I get home or not.
>> anytime between 01:30 - 03:30, depending on when I manage to pull myself out of bed.

michelle

I do latch on my baby at night. usually 2 times at around 12 midnight & 4am. I have started work for 10 days already and so far my supply is enough. Actually I got more supply then before as I only discovered my unique "pull" & "twist" technique one week before I started work.

Jasmine
Too bad it doesn't work on you. But don't give up. there are still many ways to try.
Below are getting from the web
<b>
You can help the let-down reflex work by: relaxing, taking deep breaths, listening to soothing music; thinking about your baby, a photo sometimes helps; placing a warm (not too hot) face washer over the breast; massaging your breast with smooth strokes from the outer edge to the nipple and drawing your nipple out gently between your fingers; sitting in a comfortable position; perhaps making sure the phone is off the hook, your toddler (if you have one) is safe and you have a warm or cool drink handy.</b>

hey edksd,

got your mail..

Diana,
i will continue to jia you.. keke.. i latch Jadelle at 7-9pm (depends whether she wake up after her last feed in late afternoon), then another latch on @ 11-12mn.. then she will wake up NORMALLY at 2-3am then 6am..

These 2 days have been abnormal.. think she is going through another spurt.. argghhh..

ilovebabies,
I have to make sure that have enough SS to meet Trinity's demand so die die must continue to pump to ensure SS does not drop. Also if I go too long without pumping I will leak like crazy. The other night overslept and when I woke up six hours later even my bedsheet was wet.

Now when I put Trinity to bed at about 10 - 11 pm, I will fall asleep too. Then get up again few hrs later to pump and do a bit of housework. So still manage to get staggered 6 hr sleep a night. So far so good at work, except that I miss my gal too much so visiting this forum too often . :p

<font color="0000ff">edksd</font>
tried neogarden and select mini buffet before. both are ok. neogarden are the usual stuff. select got more variety (western, chinse, thai etc) the last time i ordered western. was actually quite nice. my parents and in-laws also like it.

<font color="0000ff">babyzucchini</font>
ya lor. my boy wakes up so frequent for his milk. last time my elder boy (who is on formula) also wake up 2hourly for his milk. both brothers the same. poor mommy

saw you put in your order to CP.
haha...i realised i had the most no. of items ordered. CP replied my email said my order big. actually 1 bag is shirlyn's. i ordered 3 items. then 3 wristlets are my colleagues'

i cleaned my boy's tongue twice a day, before bath time. just use cloth and water. also cannot reach deep inside. he will move his tongue. haha..

<font color="0000ff">jasmine</font>
we had almost similar feeding schedule. normally after a feed at 6 / 630am, he likes to wake up again at 7plus for another feed + doing business.
i dont think its milk supply issue. coz during the day, if i bottle feed 100ml, its still 2hr interval. want to give him more milk also cannot.

wow! i love how the topics changed from FM to chocolate fondue to popiah and then to feeding patterns!

FM
This is what I plan to do shld DN start on FM. I will mix 1 part FM with 3 parts EBM and slowly increase the parts until its all FM. I read that it's ok to mix the 2. I tried it once and he drank it all up

Chocolate Fondue
edksd, try nuts! Not dipping, but have a plate of chopped nuts by the side to coat the fruits/marshmallows/cookies after they're dipped in chocolate.
yummmmeee...

Popiah
My department used this company before for a staff lunch - Red Lips. I know the name sounds weird. That's why I can remember it! But tried to look for it online, cannot find... wonder why???

Feeding Pattern
DN feeds 3 hrly in the day and 4-hrly at night. He's already past 3 mths and still not sleeping through the night... *sighhhh*... so tired and sleepy! His night feeds look like this...

7pm - 10pm - 230am - 530am - 730am

puppylove,
aiyohhh! i love that picture!

ilovebabies,
hope little rachel gets well soon
how on earth did she get the cough???

angeline,
wow, u are very disciplined! if i sleep, i find it so difficult to wake up. even now, my hb has to wake me up for the night feeds coz i cannot hear DN crying!

michelle,
thanks for the link
is ethan's eczema ok now? DN's cleared up after the steroid cream. my PD told me to switch to an organic brand for him, so he's using Aromababy and California Baby and so far so good!

Jasmine,
Jadelle is very strong! My DN HATTTESSS tummy time, so he still cannot do that yet!

hmmm i agree wif angeline, i will wake up in the middle of the nite to pump so tt supply dun dwindle. and oso, dun think i can tahan more than 6 hrs. my breasts will b rock hard. i cant sleep thru this way coz its painful. so either way muz get up to pump.

phoebe
ohh on formula oso this pattern ah... keke yah u poor mummy!

wow! u ordered 3 items! actually i eyeing some more stuff but better self ctrl lah. i can nvr hv enuff of coach.

joon
u so gd life ah! hb hv to wake u up to feed DN! hahahaha
wished i can b like u! but my son dun let me hv gd life ah!

joon
my ethan oso hates tummy time! he will cry as soon as we put him on his tummy. like that how ah? they will be a bit slower than other bb in terms of flipping over rite. so where can i find aromababy n california baby creams? are they mositurisers or wat? thks for the suggestion yah. am more open to natural remedies rather than medication all the time!

PAMPERS BABY DRY
i just opened the pack of pampers baby dry S size (the pink colour packaging one) n realise the cutting is so much smaller than the cotton care! ethan cant even wear it all. so anyone's bb here still can wear? i hv only used 1 piece and u can hv the rest of the pack! but need u to self collect fr hougang lah :p

BLOCKED DUCTS
just 2 days ago i had blocked ducts n massaged like crazy till it disappeared yesterday. then today it came back again!!! so just out of desperation i tried to latch ethan on to see whether he still can remember how to suckle n to my amazement he does! n actually he's better at it now tat he's older hahaha :D anyway it was like magic. after he suckle for about 20 min the stupid lumps all disappeared! i'm sooo happy now n i love ethan even more for helping mommy relieve the pain ;) now i truly belief there's no better pump than our very own babies :D

angeline
yeah i think when i go back to work i oso no choice gotta wake up at least once during the nite to pump rite. anwyay nowadays i oso end up sleeping ard 12pm n wake up again at 2am to pump. hopefully when i start work i can still wake up cos now at home still can take afternoon naps ;)

BATH TIME
hey wat time do u all normally bathe your babies? we used to do it in the morning, then became afternoon n lately we started bathing him at nite around 9-10pm! it's ok rite so long as we dun turn on the fan or hv draft in the room. this way, i can still bathe him every nite when we bring him home fr our in law's place which will allow me to bond wif him at least once a day

babyzucchini
ya lor. imagine on formula milk also 2hr. they simply cant drink more to fill up their stomach to sleep longer at nite.
so got to wake up every 2hr to feed. and my hubby can sleep thru not hearing baby cry.

i selected 3 items for myself (1 bag, 1 wristlet &amp; 1 skinny). actually before ordering thru CP, i've already got my fren who is now in US to help me get some coach items, incl the patchwork range. haha..super broke liao

just cannot get enuff of coach bags

now during the night feed, will also pump once or twice (depending how awake i am). trying to build up EBM supply.

michelle
baby bathe 2 times daily. morning around 10-11am, and evening at 7pm, after our dinner.
but given your situation, you have no choice to bathe him much later. as long as not windy for baby to catch a cold, shld be fine. just wipe him real dry before coming out of the bathroom to wear clothes.

babyzucchini,
heh heh heh... but not so gd life for my hb eh? aiyah, but i really cannot hear DN when he cries at night... i sleep like a pig... so terrible!

michelle,

<u>Tummy Time</u>
yup, they will be slower to turn, crawl etc... but what to do? DN cries like can die like that! when i pick him up, he stops!
but i still put him on his tummy at least once a day, even a few seconds also jadi! i learned from my playgroup teacher that we can also hold them suspended, in a superman position. (bb face down, face the floor) she said that will help a bit. i do this with DN and he doesn't complain!

<u>Lumps</u>
yeah! go ethan go! same thing happened to me when DN was almost a mth old. wah, bbs are amazing!!!!! maybe u shld try latching ethan on more often now

<u>Bath Time</u>
DN takes a late morning bath, after he does his major poo of the day. this is usually after his 2nd feed at 10-11am. i will 'jiu jiu' him again later in the evening ard 8-830pm, after his 7pm feed. phoebe is right, as long as there's no draft, it doesn't really matter what time

joon, of course your DN hates tummy time lah.. .. he has milk belly leh.. :p

wow... i am envious of those mummies whose bb wake/eat at fixed time like Joon's DN.

puppylove, your trinity's couch potato picture is so funny and extremely cute! Must send for photo competition.

Angeline, no problem. PM me anytime.
yeah, you are super hardworking and very determined when it comes to your "pumping". Jia you! I only pump 4times a day and already I dread it each time.

CLEANING Tongue
Where to buy sterile gauze? Is it really that necessary to clean? I've never cleaned Marcus 's tongue when he was small. ACtually we still don't clean it now. just get him to brush teeth.