(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

DG
i did think of it too, the composition of the nutrients in our bm now may not be suitable for a toddler. but i guess its harmless cos u r not substituting his one feed with ur ebm right. if its just partial or as u said, with his cheerios, it sound ok to me since the ebm is just like a snack to him. for my case i gotta mix with his fm cos he wud otherwise reject. in any case a toddler eats other foods as well n he gets his nutrients from solids. milk is secondary at this stage so i guess ok?

Aiyooo.....today my turn liaoz....ppl drilling the floor!!!! So noisy & irritating!! BUt hahah my ger still can sleep so shiok!

Melissa and domesticgoddess, i dunno i just too scare leh. How? Then how we know whether the milk spoilt? Sour? Is it actually like the smell of milk which baby vomitted out? If taste different i dun dare to give my girl drink leh. I just threw away 180ml of milk again cos going to 48hrs liao so going to expire.
So do both of you store the milk in fridge for max 24hrs also? I have been storing for 48hrs leh. Is it ok? if not i have to throw away some more milk which is in the fridge again le. So waste.

As for those that stored n freezer, you all marked the expiry date as 6 weeks, 8 weeks or even 3month?

This morning i managed to pump out 400ml of milk leh... first time so many.

e-ling
if u have a lot of milk i guess its ok to throw some so that ur gal has fresh supply everyday. if ur milk is just nice, then of course every drop counts!! i ever smell n tasted ebm in the fridge. it taste n smell ok in 48 hrs. but once u freeze it n thaw it will smell diff though it will still taste as sweet. unless it has expired or ur fridge spoil, it shld not turn sour by right.,

blessedmommy, this is what i think so, is the plastic that used in VIA and those frozen bag that they use will it contaminated the milk or not. Yah lor feel so heart pain to throw away

Mommies who use Avent steriliser or other brands. Do you all sterilise the bottle and other items in the steriliser again after you open the steriliser cover once before that? I abit scare, for me i normally if need to pump milk, after sterilise i open and take out the pump parts then i will resterilise the rest of the bottle in the steriliser again in case my girl wanna drink milk from bottle while i am pumping milk. If i am not wrong, once we open the cover of the sterilise after awhile the bottle in the steriliser is no longer sterilise right? Cos i read the instruction book that side if the cover not open then it will remain sterilise for 3 hrs so if open already after that it will be contaiminated already? Confuse leh.

So basically i will sterilise those item again after i open the cover to take out something. So actually i will sterilise many time per day leh

I got three bottle for use in the steriliser and i will only take out and use when my girl want to drink milk so those bottle and teat can be sterilise multiple time per day leh

ilovebabies,
Haaa. just have her pic on your handphone, laptop (wallpaper), wallet, cubicle... and most importantly, in your mind and heart!!!

E-ling, ya by 'right' if u open the lid den ... u have to resterilise them .. even pigeon sterislier also like that....
but i think that is too 'clean' liaoz.....if every thing also keep so clean...and one fine day my ger touch on some dirty items ... she sure kena sick very fast one..... ever since i start bottle feed my ger in the afternoon time hor. After sterilise the milk bottles i will remove and assemble them nicely and place them on the table. When I need them I will jus use them w/o sterilise again. Might not be 100% germ free lah.....but it has been more than 1 month? My ger is healthy and happy so I'm not worry ya.

But if u are really so concern about cleaniness den go ahead and resterilise them
U jus have to spend abit more $$$ to change the teat faster and also ur electricity bill!!! heee jus my 10cents worth of thoughts :p

e-ling, i keep them in fridge for up to 48hrs, but usually i will freeze some freshly expressed bm daily if i estimate that i have more than enough ss in fridge. i don't mark expiry date, only the date i express and will keep for 6 weeks max. Spoilt milk tastes sour, just like expired cow's milk.

like what blessedmommy said, unless your fridge is not cold enough, bm in fridge should taste fine within 48hrs.

instead of expressing way more than what yr gal needs, maybe try to cut down on expressing amt so that you don't have to spend time expressing and then throw away later.

blessedmommy, but there is once i taste the milk when it going to end of 48hrs (like two more hour then will expire) the smell and taste already abit different liao leh. So how? throw? Cos now i go back work le but i cannot be alway there to taste and smell leh then also cannot ask my maid to taste right? Am thinking of asking her to smell instead of taste but i scare when she smell all her germ go into the milk.To be safe, do i think to tell my maid that those milk that about two hours before the expired date and time (48hrs) that i written, have to be throw away already. But yet i scare the milk maybe still fresh and if throw away very waste. If i set the expire date as 24 hrs then some of the milk in my fridge (over 24hrs but still within 48hrs) also need to throw away liao. Hai... dunno what to do.

E-ling,
wow seems u have a lot of milk!! Very wasted ah.. But then how come u still need to pump for so long? I hear you mention it's like 1 hour last time?

Rainnie, phoebe,
Is the lily pad cheaper in robinson or MIM? i dun mind share with your too if yr want buy from MIM i at yew tee too.

domesticgoddess, but then how we know whether our fridge temperature is cold enough to store the milk for 48hrs? Do you measure ur fridge temperature?? What temp should the fridge be?

ming liew, yah lor i take ard one hour to pump the milk leh, i will pump until there is no milk coming out, i mean left alittle bit of milk only then i stop, by the time is already 1 hour.Think my pump suction not that good so the milk cannot expressed out fast enough or maybe not much let down??

ming liew, u wan? MIM selling at 30 plus only....much more cheaper...not too sure if robinson really selling at 50plus? Thats what MIM said loh. any one can advise? if u, phoebe wans...den I order loh? I can meet phoebe at the mrt station she is staying...cck? or bukit batok? Mingliew u staying at which block? skali we staying at the same block....LOL

Eling

ya I freeze one VIA cup last week. I din store the full amt in case it cracks. so far so good.

ya i also dunno how to keep track of how many times the cup has been used .. my friend says she use > 4 times lor ...

the layer of fats on the EBM is the most precious !! shake well before you mix with other EBM. I keep EBM in fridge for 48hrs, and mix EBM that is expressed within 24hrs. But my EBM will always be consumed within 24 hrs.a

if you give your caregiver freshly expressed BM, then it shld be safe right ? remind ur caregiver to put EBM right at the back of the fridge so that it remains cool.

Eling.. rgd the steriliser.

Once i sterilise everything and let it cool down say 30mins later, I will open the cover. Then I will assembled all the bottles with the teats cover so it remains sterilise then I leave it aside. Will use these bottles when my ger wants to drink milk. but I have tried to leave the bottles inside even though I open it once... ger sstill ok leh !

Rgd Milk:

why not u prepare the EBM in milk bottles before u leave work ? so u will be the one who taste the milk and not ur maid ? your maid will just take the milk bottle from the fridge and warm it for Amabel ?

This is what I am going to do when i send my ger to my MIL place before work.

Yasmine

thanks for the advice on VIA cups !!

If Robinsons is selling at $59, then with the 20% discount is still more expensive than getting from MIM.

So getting from MIM is cheaper (at $36)

If a few of us are interested to get, hit $100 & above, free courier delivery to 1 location. Then we arrange to meet up and pick up from there.

Phoebe, Rainnie,
If yr want order can count me in, but check if robinson really sell for $59 if free haha.

Eling,
In that case no need to pump for 1 hour lar. i pump each breast for 20 min cause nt enough milk le. me 4 hours only get 130
so sad.
I found the avent brest pump suction quit strong le.. I got sore nipple already for pumping for 20 min each breast..

mingliew & phoebe, how? if u all want to get I dont mind coordinate ya

Mingliew which part of yew tee u staying? which block? if u dont mind .. maybe we are neighbours kekeke
If my fever never visit me again den tomorrow I shld be able to go down to robinson and check *if i have the extra time :p

to those buying lilypadz from momsinmind

eh cheaper if you order directly mah. i also order online and opt to deliver via postage. they say they will charge $3 but when they issue the invoice, it's only $1.50 so it's 36 + 1.50 lor. not bad mah. saves my time and money compared to if i go out. take mrt to and fro my fare is still more than 1.50 liao.

ilovebabies, u using NUK right? You mean prepare the milk and put in the fridge with the teat assembled also? Don it will contaminated the milk since the cap there got a hole.

If u intend to do this way, how many bottle of milk u intend to prepare? If like that before i go work, i got alot of thing to prepare leh

E-Ling,
The NUK bottles no sealing disc?

I put my EBM in those glass bottles. each time my
maid will take out n warm the glass bottles n pour to the milk bottle to fed my bb.

ming liew, i thought we got to empty the breast? If not the milk suply will get less. I get ard 180ml per pump with 4 hrs interval. No leh nowaday i nv get sore nipple leh, i think maybe the suction become weak le or i never achieve let down so abit slow and got to compress my breast alot leh if not the milk all stuck on the breast. If i pump without compress my breast will still feel full after pumping 20 mins. Anyone also same as me?

eling yes i am using nuk. there is the teat cover in light blue right ? just cover it after u assemble the bottle.

can put the whole bottle in fridge since it is covered. i will prepare 4 nuk bottles. 3 for morning, noon and late noon. so 4th one will be in case i am late to fetch my ger.

ming liew, i also same will store the milk in the Avent bottle with the seal cap and ask the maid to transfer to NUK bottle when wanna drink. I mean if i bring my girl to my in law house, there got no steriliser anyway and my maid will assemble the feeding bottle and bring over.So if i store the milk in advance on the NUK bottle with it seal then the teat how? No cover for the teat leh

for me is anything, phoebe - i can meet u at gombak mrt ... before or after i go bugis for my massage. Ming liew, i'm staying at 688 .... meet at yew tee mrt? but if u all tink is too troublesome and wants to opt for postage please go ahead i'm fine with it

ilovebabies... erm ... i saw there is a hole in the teat cover (i mean the bottle cover) leh... if put in the fridge wont the milk be contaiminated?

So u mean the bottle cover or the bottle seal?

eling, there's no hole for NUK normal bottles...only premium bottles have holes. U try to put water in the cover .. the water wont leak!

e-ling
we have the same prob. after pumping with medela duo for 20 mins i still need to compress my breasts another 10 mins, can yield another 40-50ml. i also v kiasi that kind, must make sure breasts v empty till the last drop kind hee...

as for steriliser, i agree with rainnie. i dun usually keep my gal's things 100% sterile, a lil is ok cos i believe in building their immunity. after i sterilise i will just assemble the bottles n teats in the bottle rack n cover it. as long as its not exposed to dust its ok for me. i dun keep sterilising the bottles. wah like that one day need to sterilise so many times. i did this since i had my boys 6 yrs ago so far ok leh.
587422.jpg
my gal taken this morn

hv u all bought stroller and car seat already?

me not yet.

the maxi cosi cabrio car seat is up till what age huh?

most stroller is suitable for kids 6mths up right?

eling

what I mean is like this when the bottle is assembled and covered :
587640.jpg

blessedmommy

ur ger is soooooooo cute leh ! she dont chinese in this pic.

edksd

i bought BRITAX Safe and Sound car seat before Rachel was born. It is meant for newborns to 4 years old. Rachel sometimes sit in it if the car ride is long.

as for stroller, I think it is suitable for kids who can sit up straight right ?

i love babies
u going bk to work soon huh. wah sure miss rachel hor..

my gal dun look chinese? look malay ah haha.. she not v fair leh. still waiting for her to be fair like snowwhite.

edksd
the pic i posted above, my gal is sitting on an infant car seat. double up as a rocker at hm.

blessedmommy

when rachel was younger, she dont look chinese too ! hah now she is fairer...

ya going back to work next Mon .. my colleagues already wait until neck long for me to go back .. but I am not so eager ahhah ...

hai will bring a lot of her pics in my thumbdrive to work. can see her when I am bored.

ilovebabies

my colleagues also waiting for me to go back to work.

i tink when u back to work, may not have time to be bored and see photos

blessedmommy, i don't compress my breast 'cos i don't see any difference in yield. maybe i didn't do properly. how to compress?

e-ling, to reduce amt, you just need to express a little less each time and over 3 days, yr breasts will produce that little less. my fridge's temp is about 2 to 4 deg cel. not sure exact though.

blessedmommy, my 2yo has v. small appetite so if i give him bm instead of full fat cow's milk, it will be replacing instead of supplementing. hmm.. which makes me wonder if my bm for nicholas is more or less nutritious than regular cow's milk??

BMSG and replies on REBONDING/COLORING
My humble opinion on this - those volunteer counsellors are volunteers and there is no one to check on their replies to queries. So what answers we get depends on who answers our queries which is why mummies are getting mixed signals as to whether ok to rebond/colour hair or not. It's up to individuals really how much chance you want to take. Also, if the chemicals really enter our blood stream, it may not be cleared within 24 hrs and any effect definitely won't show up on babies within hours/days. We should be more worried about the effects that we CANNOT see, that is how the chemical may affect their immune system/blood cells etc etc...

Any mummies can advise me on below...? appreciate your advice.. tks

If travel outside for long hours, say for 10 hours and need to pump more than one time, how should we sterilize the pump and bottle before each use ?
are below the correct step ?
1) sterilise before leaving home
2) keep the manual pump, bottle and VIA cup in fridge to go ( can recycle VIA cup up to how many times ? me have been using for think more than 10 times liao...)
3) use the pump and bottle directly without sterelize ?? safe??
4) keep the EBM in fridge to go

or any advice? thanks.

yeah miss me ... to gossips ! ha ! mind u.. they are guys ! i have more males colleagues !

yasmine

in step 1 you have sterilised your pump before leaving home and you shld cover all parts that are exposed to avoid contamination.

in step 3 you can use the pump cos they are already sterilised in step1. that's fine. that's what I am going to do when I go back to work.

Yasmine, u need to express more than 1 time? Meaning 2 or 3 times....i dont think u can recycle the pump w/o sterilising ya....like what we discuss earlier...someone mention abt using Lock Lock box...box pour hot water in with the pump in to sterilise ya.

DG
how to compress? refer to dr jack newman website. actually when i mean compress its more like manual hand expression. somehow i feel my medela cant really empty my breast like what e-ling mentioned.

on bmsg reply, yes i strongly agree. they r all volunteers thus we get diff answers. n im not worried abt immediate effect on babies too. at least if immediate we can take action straight away. but its those effects we cant see n mostly in the long term that im worried abt. sigh.. now shld i go or not???

DG
in that case maybe u shld just giv ur ebm to marcus during his snack? not replacing his feed. ur bm is definitely better than cow's milk!! just that it may not provide enuf nutrients for a 2 yr old.

i love babies
wow u so hot among the males huh haaha...

i juz went n rebonded my hair today. took me a freaking 6 hrs! cos i hv very thick hair so it took damn long... :p anwway oso rebonded liao. cross my fingers hope evreything is ok lor ...

Just bought my Ameda Lactaline pump set from Momsinmind. Tried it out this morning at 5.35am. Not bad. Very good let down (I experienced let downs twice) and managed to get 170ml from both breasts. I only pump for 15 minutes and not more b'cos scared my girl can wake up anytime for feed. So I do not "empty" my breasts. She woke up an hour later and I just latch her on. So far so good. I washed my pump with hot water after that and seal in dust-free container.

There're so many parts to wash, gives me a headache and I just remember, there's no hot water in my handicap toilet in the office.. boohooo!!!

Think if I can't produce enough BM when I get back to work, I will have to mix with FM liao