(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

blessedmommy

hey i always drink when i pump or latch on !! hi-five !

at nite i will prep a big water bottle beside my bed so when I latch my ger, I drink as well cos I always feel v thirsty when latch on/pump.

where got hip ? still look fat ... err .. v scared.. next Mon starting work ... wonder how ppl will tell me how DIFFERENT i am now ?

i love babies
wah Hi5! in the past i only drink before n after feed/pump and always forget to prep water when i feed. so after feed will get v thirsty. now i never forget my water haha.. i realise when i drink water in the process of pumping i get abt 30-50ml more.

haha.. i also v fat leh, esp my bottom! my only saving grace is my face n arms still remain the same so i look so weird with a small upper body n a huge lower body!

blessedmommy

aha i think we both look the same ... pear shape ?

i cant button my jeans yet. but my face and arms are quite ok too. and plus the bigger boobs, cant fit in a lot of my tops cos I use to wear fitting tops leh ... sian ... i hate to wear loose tops cos make me look so auntie hor ?

ilovebabies, blessedmommy,
i also will drink warm water while breastfeeding or latch on.

i alway wanna go rebond but scare the checmical and my gynae advice not to cos u may not know what will happen and what chemical they are using and how it will affect the baby when drinking ur milk. My hair also got mark from the tie of hair but bo bian.

i love babies
haha.. hi5 again! yah i think i also pear shape now. i also always wear tight tops n bottoms now everything cant fit. even if can fit with 2 big boobs wah so ugly!!yah i feel so aunty wearing loose tops! what to do, sacrifice for our darlings lor. look ugly temporarily as long as they get good quality mommy milk hor..

huijun
yah in most ppl hair will grow back but took mine abt 1 yr to see tiny sprouts of hair growing!!i love pregnancy best cos my hair wah v glorious hehe..

E-ling
ur gynae is right too. now so confused whether to go not? if everything also cannot dun tell me bf mommies must look aunty??

blessedmommy,
my hair drop alot too...even more b4 birth leh..
my hb evy alt day mus pick my hair from the drain after my washing..hahaha..

E-Ling, I rented the Duo from Avent office. The downside is that you will have to buy a $60 starter set from them (I just sold off my set in the forum last week). I believe the $400 from parentcraft is 2nd hand ones rite? If you buy from Ebay US version, $450 should be able to get brand new ones (both PIS & Duo). You can try to consider this option.

For myself, I managed to find a mummy selling off second hand in SGP for $350. She used it for 8 months and it was still under guarantee. I sterilized by boiling for 30 mins and after that just microwave sterilized, so far no problem for my gal.

Yasmine,
I bought 2 FTG cooler bags. A small one that can hold 2 bottles (12 hrs) and a larger one that can hold 1 wine bottle (8 hrs).
small model : http://www.fridge-to-go.com/products_detail.php?product_id=12cc43790e396d1db22e064989e59af3&cat_id=44cecd9933e603c9475a8b1b92705fff

larger model : http://www.fridge-to-go.com/products_detail.php?product_id=890be4890f1191efbad68445c63127d1&cat_id=a806f07ee3bd901169f8e30462be727b

For the small bottle, I use it when I am going out with my gal. I will put her 1 or 2 feeding bottles of EBM in the bag and throw it into the diaper bag. This way, the milk still cool (refridgerated) when we are outdoors, and we just warm the bottle up with hot water when it is time to feed her.

For the larger bag, I intend to use to transport my EBM home from the office when I return to work. I intend to pump 3 times at the office, so I will have 6 Medela bottles that will fit nicely into this bag for the bus ride home.

One mummy from another thread taught me to use sticky tape to tape up the milk bags. This way, don't have to use clips or wires or rubber bands. Just roll/fold down the top of the bag and tape up at the sides and one in the middle for added security. I also try to make my filled milk bags flat so that it takes up less space and will thaw faster. Right now I have about 35 x 100 ml bags in my freezer. It was definately a tough project to transport them back for my flight back to HK yesterday.

for those mummies DBFg 100%, ask u a qn...

if let's say u're going out this afternoon 2-5pm, at what time of the day will u start expressing breastmilk for ur caregiver to feed ur bb when u're not at home from 2-5pm?

im wondering becos let's say early in the morning i breastfeed bb, and if i manage to find time to express in between feedings before i go out, the amt is actually not much even if i accumulated. so how? must i start expressing the day before? alamak. tt means i cant go out suddenly w/o planning, must at least 1 day notice?

blessedmommy,
your advice about drinking warm water while expressing is very useful leh but make me very sad b'cos i might be expressing in the handicap toilet liao!!!! so unhygienic!!! boohoooo!! how how how?!!!!

edksd,
i always give myself 1 day notice if i need to go out without baby lor. means before i get back to work, i need to start stocking up on EBM already. like you, if i pump in between time, i don't get enough even for one feeding. but try blessedmommy's tips to see if your output can improve leh!

edksd

if u express out daily, i believe there are reserves in the fridge ? if not, just skip the morning pump and pump like 1 hr before u go out ? that's what i do.

<font color="aa00aa">edksd</font>
when i want to go out, planning is v v impt coz i dont store any bm at all.

i learnt after a few trials that i need to pump early at 5am. my babe doesnt wake up as often in the night so the amt pumped is substantial. i'd also 'squeeze' in another pumping session during the feed intervals in the morning coz worried not enough milk.

hehe... if u want to go out without any planning, take ur bb along. fresh milk at hand, no worries :p
juz kidding...

suggestion: every night store some bm in fridge in case u want to go out the next day?

<font color="aa00aa">blessedmommy</font>
i agree that drinking warm water will help in letdown. dont know why, i will feel esp thirsty and will drink lotsa water during nursing/pumping. like ilovebabies, i have a waterbottle near my bed.

it seems that many mummies here are using bags to store bm.
is it easy to use and much better than glass bottles?

i know that the nutrients tend to cling onto the glass as compared to plastic containers. currently i only use glass bottles to store bm for less than 12 hrs.

i'm still considering what to use to store bm when i go back to work.

<font color="0000ff">melissa</font>, sometimes i drink before pumping and sometimes during pumping, but i dun really notice any great difference in the amt, maybe i'll try to take note from now onwards.

<font color="0000ff">ilovebabies</font>, whatever i pump out for the day, i use it to cup feed my bb. so no reserve actually.... coz im one no confident mom who thinks bb is not getting enough from direct latch on, so to play safe, just feed him extra of my ebm, anyway the ebm not much daily.

i think skip the morning pump and pump 1 hr before i go out may not work coz i may not be able to get enough for one feeding. then die la... no mood to go out liao...

<font color="0000ff">shirlyn</font>, sometimes i do tt do, wake up early in the morning before bb and pump, but still the amt is not much leh. i nurse while lying down on bed w bb the whole night. so im actually not sure my supply is really low or coz ive been feeding bb whole night so supply during pumping time is low.

Angeline, really brand new? Why brand new one can sell so cheap? So you also bought from ebay? But how we can ensure its really a brand new yet and is functioning well?

ilovebabies, congrats, u've made it to 3 mths... many more 3 mths to come heh! how's the weight and height of rachel now? she looks chubby but not those super chubby type. i find super chubby type are usually formula fed.

edksd

thanks ! ya formula fed babies are more of the michellin bb. i dunno her weight now. at 2 mths she was 4.5kg and 57cm tall. now she is abt 60cm .. think so .. tried to measure her heeh

my bb doesnt really has a fixed schedule like what time wakes up, nap how long during the day, feed how many times per day, etc.

so sometimes when im pumping halfway, bb wakes up and i'll latch him on and keep wondering whether is he getting enough or not since i've just pumped out right before latching him. so usually i'll cup feed him the ebm i pumped out a minute ago. sigh.... how to store up like tt...

hi ilovebabies, rachel was 4.5kg at 2 mths? im surprised. what was her birth weight?

my bb Kai was 4.4kg 55.5cm at 2mths 4days old. i tot he's rather small. i tot all bb at 2mths hv already reached 5kg or more.

edksd,
alamak you really have confidence problem lah. how long have we all been breastfeeding already? don't worry liao. i have done that before. once i got engorged so i pumped out and i was disappointed to get less than 2oz for both breasts ok, then bb wake up for milk! but i boh chup just latch her on, she feeds for 10 mins and sleep again. if she don't have enough, she will cry for more but she didn't. i think if you believe you have enough milk, you WILL have enough milk. i haven't been drinking before or during or even after pump. in fact i have a serious not-enough-drinking problem. hahaha.

ilovebabies
congrats!! time flies, isnt it... my babe is turning 3 mths this sat, dont know why but feeling v excited.
rachel is v photogenic. there's this pic with green thingy around her head, is that taken in the midst of changing? the green thingy is her clothing?

edksd
i understand ur frustration. i had also experienced wat u said. but i just continue to latch her since she dint cry. i suppose there is still milk, coz baby's suction is much stronger than the pump. unless ur baby cries, u can continue to nurse him.

hi melissa,

for the past 2 mths ive been latching bb on and cup feeding him. and from what i see his weight gain is ok, normal, average. so i imagine if i didnt cup feed him, will his weight gain be below average?

im trying to gain confidence too. but sometimes it's really tough. im now slowly take away the cup feeding already. so im quite anxious to see by 3mths old whether he'll gain weight normally or not. i hope i wont be disappointed.

edksd

shirlyn and melissa is right ! you have milk lah .. see bb kai is growing well right ?

my Rachel is only 2.4kg since birth. v petite gal. so gained 2 kg after 2 mths ... she is on the average lah

shirlyn

haah the green thing is her dress, the one she wear in the other pic !! before I took off the dress i pull it over her head then it looks like a flower ! hahah she dun complain so i take the pics lor .. my hubby says I am crazy.

oh btw edksd, if u really need to go out urgently and your EBM is not enough, i sugg u give FM. i think giving FM for one day is not a prob right ?

hi shirlyn

now tt ive stopped cup feeding, i feel v insecure. whenever bb cries, i'll think tt he wants milk. v gan cheong, quickly latch him on. so sometimes i can be breastfeeding him every 1 hr! this oso causes me to hv no time to pump actually.

ask u gals, do u pump only when u feel ur breasts are full? or just as and when even when the breasts are soft?

when ive the time to pump, i feel the breasts are soft, and think maybe may not yield much.

edksd

i pump on a fix schedule cos I am going back to work. need to tell my body when to prod milk.
i pump at 11+am, 5+pm and 9+pm per day.

ilovebabies, ur rachel did not shrink for the 1st few days? my bb Kai was 2.8kg at birth, shrunk to 2.5kg when discharge coz nothing to eat for the 1st 3 days!

PD says abt 1kg per mth is average, normal, acceptable. so i just base on this to gauge.

bb kai was 3.2kg at 1 mth, then 4.4kg at 2 mth. hope by 3rd mth, will be 5.6kg (even w/o the cup feeding....)

ilovebabies, i insist on no FM, coz im afraid i'll give in to FM ultimately and give up BFg.

so usually i oso plan before i go out like shirlyn. so no surprise outing for me, must plan properly.

another reason why i cup feed bb Kai wif all the ebm ive for the day or the day before coz frozen ones will kill some antibodies, so must as well give him fresh. next time when not enough ebm then say.

sigh... sound v disorganised hor? i think so too... tts why im trying to sort it out.

edksd

of cos she shrunk !! she was only 2.25kg when discharged. very small hor ? ehhe she got skinny and long limbs that time. at 1 mth, she was 3.5kg then 4.5 kg at 2nd mth exact.

edksd,
yeah ilovebabies is right, baby kai don't look undernourished or underweight leh. looks just right. and don't follow blindly on the national average weight gain ok. it's these kind of things that stress people out. follow your heart and listen to your baby. you will be ok i promise.

i will only pump when i feel engorged sometimes i just hand express a bit when i need some relief. i don't save the BM b'cos too little. and i don't bother to "drain" the breast after breastfeeding. my body is not a machine and i refuse to treat it like one.

i watched discovery channel and see tribe people living in the deepest jungle or desert breastfeeding. you think these people eat the kind of food that we eat and drink the kind of water that we drink? i think they're malnourished but they still managed to breastfeed b'cos there's no such thing as formula milk where they live. so please throw away that paranoia and be happy to know that your baby is very happy to get milk supply from you and is growing up healthy even if he/she is not a chubby baby. healthy is not equal to chubby hor.

edksd

no la .. u have plans mah. .. at least u know what u are doing and it's all for the well being of baby kai. u mean u cup him and he is willing to take even though he is not hungry ??

melissa, thanx for the wake up statements! appreciate...

ilovebabies, yes, he takes... so it makes me think he's not full

edksd
could it be that kai is so used to u giving him cup of ebm after his latch on that he knows he dun hv to work hard at the breast cos anyway later got somemore milk to drink mah. thats why he doesnt suck to his fill at one go. some babies r snackers, they like to snack at the breast they dun take main meals. nothing wrong abt it but it only tires the mommy cos gotta feed non stop. now that u r taking away the cup feed u monitor n see how.

just my 2 cents worth!

<font color="0000ff">edksd,</font>
how abt pumping after every feed? Even if amt is small, can slowly accumulate a few sessions to make a full feed. That's what I did when I first started pumping and found amt very little. Then u can use this accumulated amt to feed bb for one session (when u need to go out). This way, u can also pump out more as u've 'missed' a feed already. Know what I mean? Continue pumping after every latch-on and u'll soon see your milk ss increasing. As what the rest say, it's really a matter of ss and dd. Impt to note that u'll produce more milk faster if u empty your breasts. If still partially full, ur body will only produce a little to top-up. Don't wait till breasts r full b4 pumping. Pumping a little frequently is better than pumping a lot a couple of times only. Thru' this way, my pumping amt has increased to 100ml now. On a good day, it can even be 140ml. Will slowly work towards increasing it even more.

When I first started pumping, I could only get 20-30ml. It can be tough sometimes as u start doubting if u've enough for bb. But i believed that my gal has enough thru' latch on based on her weight gain and poo/pee frequency. She's abt 5kg at 9wks. Also, as someone here said b4, ur bb is more effective than a pump in drawing out milk fr u. Sometimes I've to latch my girl on after pumping juz half an hour ago and there's milk. So stay positive and believe u hv enough for bb! Jiayou!

blessedmommy
so r u still looking for buyers for your avent liners? is it possible to send it by mail ah? if it is, i dun mind bbuying 1 pack fr u just to try it out since it's much cheaper tham gerber bags rite? is it 100pcs for $16.90? how much can 1 bag hold?

edksd
i'm 100% EBM but i realise even when my breasts are soft (even after 3 hrs) i can still pump out milk so u can try oso lah

btw who was asking abt fenugreek? i'm taking it n i find it does help to increase ss. cos at one time i stopped then realise m ss dropped too so now i just continue taking lor. just went GNC y'day to buy some more cos bt 2 bottles now got 30% discount

<font color="0000ff">edksd,</font>
I also went thru' the same thing... my gal cries 1.5hrs after a feed and her mouth will indicate hunger. I'll latch her on thinking she's hungry. And she'll indeed drink, which further reinforced my belief. Then I found out that this only happens when I'm the one carrying her!! Guess she smelled milk and instintively wanted to suckle. When someone else, like my hubby, carried her, she'll calm down and even fall back to sleep! Do u have someone else helping u out? Maybe can try asking this person to coax ur bb. Slowly stretch the feeding interval... See if ur case is same as mine...

michelle
yes wanna sell off my liners. imported 20 now left 17 packs. im not selling so exp lah cos i imported myself. cost plus shipping abt close to $11. i sell u that price can? plus postage lor how abt it? let me know.

so now u know how much those retailers make from one pack of liners heehee...

ilovebabies, how u manage to pump at fixed interval with bb at home?

my case is like edksd, no time to pump manz

blessedmommy
sounds gd
pls let me know how much and i will trf to your a/c then u can mail it out to me? btw, i cant seem to PM u so can u PM me instead wif your a/c details?

edksd

i can get 150-180ml per pump. sometimes i can get 200ml or more, dunno y.

mae

now my mum is here to stay so i can pump. even w/o her, i try to stick to the schedule.

blessedmommy

a lot of pp says my ger looks like hubby. but some says she got my eyes and nose ahahah

ilovebabies, yah ur girl look great with that green dress. So pretty.

You dont or intend to pump in the morning? My schedule now is pump at ard 6am+, 10.30am+, 3.30am+, 8.30am+. so is 4times per day and i can get at least 180ml per session. Morning first pump will be much more, bet 260 to 340ml. If weekend, no work i will pump one more session at ard 11pm+.

Eling

hehe tks for the compliment !

eh u v hardworking leh.... oh yes I miss the 6+am pump. now very dilemma.... say if gal wake up at 6am, shld I latch her or pump ? cos she cant clear my breast totally and I tot even if I latch her, i will still need to pump to clear so that it last me till noon. what do u think ?