(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Eling

i usually get 150-180ML per pump. and it takes me 20mins the max.

ya could it be your pump suction ? Medela has a a few suctions power to choose from. it ranges from 1 - 5 and i use abt 4 all the time.

i dun compress my breast lah .. just let the pump empty it.

So u intend to stop using the VIA cup after 4 times ? my friend bo chap leh and her gal turn out alright.

melissa

my mum use to pick out the not so tasty durians and peel the flesh off the seed and cook it. then let it cool down and pour into small cups to freeze. then we will enjoy the durians ice cream ! so we can do the same in VIA cups ehhehe bigger serving somemore !

vivocity is very big ! i din manage to finish shopping so cant advise u.
but becareful of using stroller on escalator. actually it is not encouraged. and I hate strollers ... so heavy ... and take up so much space. but I agree it is real convenient provided bb is willing to lie inside for long period of time.

melody

my ger also suck 10 mins and she is full, same as Melissa's ger. But at time she can suck for as long as 45mins .. which I am glad to let her do it. She is not comfort sucking cos I can see that she is swallowing milk. and once she let of my nipple and she seem contented and if I try to push my nipple to her she will make a fuss. so i know she is full oredi. even if I asked "ger, you want milk milk?" she will cry also ahhaha

edksd

it could be the fast milk flow during let down ? that's why kai spit out and want to take a rest and then want to cont to suck again ? my ger do this when i had let down.

i bgt the fridge-to-go from BP and it cost me $38 if I din rem wrongly. I put in my fridge all the time and take out only when I want to use it. It claims that it can last 16 hrs for the model that i bought.

Emma

u r funny ... Enzo got MILK BELLY ?? eh I want to see !!! show me his naked pics !!! hahah sounds so BIAN TAI ...

pheobe

aiyah ur class is on wed ... me starting work on 27 nov .. shld have told me earlier i would have join u... sob sob ...

helo keylen, its the avent nurser. meant to help u express direct into avent liners then feed direct from liners. i did try putting gerber bags in and lansinoh as well, but u gotta put the bags such that the part below the zipper is not being screwed on by the pump. i dunno how to explain. just make sure the part thats turn outwards and screwed on by the pump attachment is the part abv the zipper. so that the bag wun be damaged when u screw on the pump.

went to baby center to find for u. but i can't find it on baby center anymore leh! now they only have playtex, which works the same way. if i am not wrong, playtex one still sold in singapore, heard motherswork have but not sure now. i bought my avent one at around less than US$10 i think....

Anyone else using medela PIS pump? Is it good? Or anyone using Avent ISIS DUO pump? Which one is better? I intend to but a 2nd hand one? Where i can get 2nd hand one? Wondering is it hygiene or not leh yet dun wanna spend so much to buy a brand new one

hi ilovebabies,

actually wanted to join the nov class when javier 1mth old. but i find his feeding and napping time still not fixed yet. so rather difficult to go for the massage class.

now at 7 wks, his schedule seems much in place. so would like to bring him to try out the massage class.

babies & cream have 2 sessions a week. wed and sun. but i'm not keen on sunday as i think it will be more crowded.

so any other mummies interested to go?

melissa
ya ethan's got lots of hair. takes after me cos i look like lion king if i dun rebond my hair ;) anyway dun worry abt melissa lah. when she gets older sure will grow a lot more hair one

puppylove
the gerber bags i think are abt the same price as the rest of the liners rite? 25 in a box and cost $16.90 - bot it fr kiddy palace n it's on offer all the time there. i saw it at robinsons too but full price is abt $24 i think, so a lot of diff! must buy fr kiddy palace. so far i hvnt been freezing a lot of BM so 1 box is lasting me quite a long time.

emma
enzo really is such a happy baby! every photo oso smiling one !!

Ming liew, i find ISIS UNO pump not as strong as DUO leh cos i need to compress and squeeze out the milk when pumping in order to empty the breast. If i leave the pump to do the job, my breast will still be full after 1hr of pumping.

alamak last time got nursing areas in shopping centres around singapore but i forgot to save. who still got it ah? i need to find nursing areas in vivocity. should be next to the ladies toilet rite?

yesterday went to vivocity but cannot find parking space so disappointed we had to go home

so today going again

melissa
here's the link for all the SC wif nursing centres but not updated wif vivocity one leh:

http://www.motherhood.com.sg/breastfeeding/

eling
i still hv to compress my right breast even tho i'm using medela double pump (PIS). my left breast is still ok but my right one is very stubborn refuse to work on its own :p so thro out the session i hv to compress and massage lor. so mebbe its different for everyone?

eling

i am using medela dual electric pump. think only one model. it cost $289 i think.

melissa

i went to one nursiing room beside the ladies. it is very near MANGO.

emma, oh dear...enzo recover liaoz or not? Have u tried to put the medicine in his MILK? Wow enzo is heavy!!!! ur hand dont ache when carrying him? Mine only 5.1kg @ 2 months i already buay tahan liaoz hehe...enzo doesnt have ring of fats on his legs lah .. heheheheeee i remember when i saw him he only got a bigger tummy :p

sighz ... yesterday went to my auntie place and didnt expect to stay there for so long! my last express is 12noon .. i came home at 11pm
and i got bad engorgement! And got fever ..... now fever is gone but my breast is damn painful

ilovebabies.. naked picts ah.. hehe... i'll take and feature here.. haha.. enzo pai seh lahz.. muahahah...

rainnie.. enzo better alr.. i put med in his milk he whole bottle dun want ah.. worse... i asked his nanny.... she say put the med at the side of his mouth.. seems to work.. she realli v experienced man.. lol.. and ya lohz.. his limb thin thin one.. only the MILK Belly lohz.. hehe

michelle... ya lohz.. hehe.. sick also can smile... but he also got grouchy times lahz.. hehe

Emma

u can cover Enzo private parts lah .. aahha i just want to see a huge baby's body ... and his milk belly

eh why put on side of his mouth works ? he will still taste the med right ? is he on TBF ?

Emma

btw I bought the pair of shoes oredi. Was at TB plaza yest to cut and rebond my hair and saw this shoe. Bought it immediately !! in fact I bought two pairs.... one is wedges.

i love babies
u organise lah! if its in nov or dec i sure come cos mom is helping out at home. i wud have volunteered my house if not for the fact i have too many toddlers n there will be many babies! danger danger...

i love babies
bf can rebond hair right? i also wan. but my pd is against applying slimming cream she say will enter blood stream contaminate milk. sigh.. when will i ever slim down like that?

ilovebabies!!! u bot the shoes alr!!! hehe... tb plaza also got mondo right? formally known as ba pin... something like dat... enzo.. is on pbf.. cos i am feeding ebm... then few days ago someone din close the fridge properly overnight.. so gotta discard all the ebm/fbm... sigh... now not enough milk, and i dun relli have time to express cos keep going out.. lol.. this will go full fm soon.. cos i start work monday..

blessedmommy

the gathering has to be on weeknds cos i am starting work on 27 nov. any kind souls to volunteer their plc ? i am at SK... afraid v inconvenient for those in the west leh...

my frens who bf rebond their hair too so i think it shld be alright. btw, can color hair ??

eh in the 1st mth, my massage lady used slimming cream on me leh.... oops.. cnt ah ??

emma

ya ya i bought the shoes frm ex-BA PIN... u really shopping queen lor !!!

michelle, you using medela pump, right? can i just pump into medela bottles first, then pour into the gerber bags? how to secure the gerber bags?

daisybuttons and mummies using avent liners,
i am using medela pump but want to switch to cheaper liners like avent's. i usually express into a medela bottle, so wondering if i can just pour the ebm into the avent liners afterwards without a nurser?

blessedmommy, you use IKEA clips for the avent liners, right? how does it look like?

rebonding
i wanted to do that last week but my hairstylist discouraged me.
for me, i dont want to take chances since baby is still a newborn. maybe wait till she is 6 mths, "stronger" liao then rebond and colour... hehe...

melissa
i think vivocity can be very crowded during the weekends. i went on a thursday afternoon, already quite crowded since the sec sch pupils are already having their hols.
lotsa parking space though.

i think there are nursing rooms near all the female toilets.

<font color="0000ff">michelle</font>,
the avent liners are a lot cheaper prob cos they're not meant specifically for storing FBM. I bought at $10.80 for a box of 100 from a BP here.. think outside selling $12+ or more. Since they can be used, I go for this cheaper ones loh.
But some pp prefer Gerber cos of the ziplock!

btw, esp to those using Avent liners, can anyone answer my earlier questions? thanks!
repost here:
1. Do u double-bag?
2. How do u label the liners?
3. Any idea how long an unopened box of freezer bags can be kept? Someone gave me Gerber and Playtex, bought 4 or 5 years ago, still in shrinkwrap. Dun dare to use cos not sure if still safe after so long...

<font color="0000ff">E-Ling</font>,
I'm also using Medela PIS. Haven't tried other brands. Like <font color="0000ff">michelle</font>, I also compress to speed up the pumping. You may also want to try massaging w hot towel before u start expressing to stimulate the milk ducts.

emma,
my ashlyn recover liao nw enzo's turn? poor boy..can understd hw heartpain u are..

i m going bak to work tmr...soooooooooo sian n ashlyn aredi at my mummy plc...start to miss her liao..here's her pic b4 i send her to my mum plc...
584103.jpg

<font color="0000ff">domesticgoddess</font>,
For me, I pour EBM fr medela bottle into Avent liners, then secure w rubber band.
Gerber bags hv built-in zipper seals.

DG
yes, i pump into medela bottles then pour into the gerber bags. the gerber bags come wif zipper at the top just like ziplock bags, so very easy to secure

puppylove
oh i didnt know the avent liners r so much cheaper! but the gerber bags really very convenient leh... guess we hv to pay a premium for convenience huh

i love babies
my pd didnt say must not use slimming cream she just discourage cos dunno how much of those chemicals will enter blood stream into bm.

DG
those ikea clips r used to clip unfinished food to seal it tight. u can find them in the kitchen section. v cheap! alternatively u also can use rybber band suggested by melissa??

puppylove
i used to use`avent liners but r now using via cups. so to answer ur question:

1. i dun double bag, never had leakage prob except when i try to pour 240ml milk into it.
2. i label using markers on the liner. but not sure if this is safe. in my case cos i never intend to use the fbm anyway just storing it in case of emergency.
3. not sure. but if its not operned shld be sterile. but 4/5 yrs a bit too long hor??

btw, i imported 20 packs of avent liners last yr from UK cos got rumours that spoore wont be selling anymore, in the end kena cheated, now stuill selling also! m trying to clear stock, any takers?

Hi ilovebabies

I have also rebonded my hair 2 weeks ago and my massage lady has been using slimming cream on me too.

Don't think it will affect bf...

E-ling,
I used a rented Avent Duo for about 1.5 months and now I am using a PIS advance. Each have their own pros and cons.
Duo's suction when on max is stronger than PIS on max. I love the Duo's 'IQ' ability where you can set your own sucking rythm. The one hand operation control is also very convenient.

One advantage of the PIS is its battery pack and backpack carrier. So I can bring it out shopping won't have to miss my pumping sessions. The PIS advance also have a 2 mode sucking rymth which is suppose to mimic the baby's natural sucking. But for this function, if you have had tried the PIS, you can use the Duo to imitate this rythm too.

Somehow, I manage to pump out slightly more ( 10 - 20 ml) when using the PIS, so I'm sticking to it.

If you intend to buy a second pump, I suggest you look at the possibility of getting US version off Ebay cos soooo much cheaper. (Both Duo and PIS cost $700++ in SGP, from Ebay only $450++ incl shipping). Even 2nd second hand also cannot get this price lah.

Angeline, i know TMC parentcraft is selling ard $400 for both ISIS DUO and PIS. But i dunno which one to buy leh since both got pro and con. Btw where you rent the pump? Is it expensive? Maybe i will rent and try out for both first before consider which one to buy. Am also wondering is ISIS DUO and UNO almost the same, tot one is single one is dual. Is it hygiene to buy or rent 2nd hand one? Somemore 2nd hand one, how we can ensure its still functioning well? Haiz... but buying a new one is so exp since i got ISIS UNO and Maual pump liao. Very waste to leave aside both is i bought a PIS or DUO.

ilovebabies,
You compare medela dual pump with PIS or ISIS DUO before?

michelle, yah but cant be using 1hr to pump milk right since i also compress my breast to speed up the expressing. Most of the time i can take more than 1hr leh.
If i bought the PIS or ISIS DUO, i will worry whether i will get the same result that need to pump ard 1hr. Really dunno what to do now.

edksd, yes is 2nd hand one. Most of them is used less than half a year. So i think should be still in good condition. What pump you are using? You wanna to buy one also?

thanks enoments...show me yr baby updated pic leh..u did rebond ah?i stil thkg whether to do or not since take care of bb evy x tie hair..do liao like abit lang fei..

blessedmommy, me oso like u kena cheated to buy alot of avent liners..sigh...u try sell in forum lor..mayb abit cheaper sure hv takers...esp those preggies..

pjen
me also thinking of rebonding. i also at home always tie hair cos i got long hair if dun tie my hair all over baby face. but if dun rebond hair also v messy esp when go out need to blow aiyah waste time!

yah i will sell off my liner in forum. dun think i need so many. thanks

sorry mummies, just need to understand the usage of "fridge to go".. is it when we are travel outside for long hour, the breast milk can be stored in fridge to go and it last for 8 hrs ?

is it portable ? anyone use before ? i need one too...appreciate mummies feedback. tks

blessedmommy.
my boi Ethan also having blocked nose, he got it on 7th wks, brought him to PD last wed,PD gave him "illiadin" to put on the nose,but the situation still abt the same lehz.. PD said will take abt 1 wk to recover.. can hear his nose sound like having breathing difficulities when latch him on.. sigh
same as ur case, his flu got from my ger who keep kissing her even when she had flu....

Emma,
my first ger name is Zo En, ur boi name is Enzo, heheh, so "qiao"

hi yasmine,
my ger had flu last wk too...my pd gave her this nasal drop named Beoptic..pretty good probably u can try..tis was given on the 2nd trip to another pd in united sq cos my ger din recover from oral medicine...

blessedmommy,
can understd lor e hair like super luan..bt i dun bother la..i aredi cut short mayb b4 CNY then do rebond bah..

Eling

i din do the comparisons before cos I only use Medela. Sorry cant help.

Yasmine

fridge-to-go is portable cos it is not very big.
see this link here:

http://www.fridge-to-go.com/products_detail.php?product_id=38f1e0aed28142053d4f87697ac8c1a0&amp;cat_id=a806f07ee3bd901169f8e30462be727b

this is the model I got in black color.
it claims that it can last for 16 hrs. I have not tried to store the EBM in it for so long lah .. so not sure if it really works for that long period.

I cut short my hair and rebond it ... was previously long hair so always gotta wear a hairband and tie the pony tail. It leaves a mark on the hair .. so unheahlthy .. so cut it short ... and change hairstyle lah
haven had short hair since university days !!

Pjen, tks for the advice.. will monintor few more days see how..

blessedmommy

hehe, me done my rebond few days after Ethan full month, cant stand myself, so messy &amp; ugly look. thinking of going manicure &amp; pedicure later.. breastfeeding mummy can do hor ?

yesterday me went Taka shopping and have chat wif one mummy in breastfeeding room, she told me she is taking some herb where she bought from Mustafa, it increased her milk flow a lot...
cant really remember wat does the herb name, something like "greek"
u mummies heard before ?

yasmine

u mean fernugreek ? some mummies are taking this supplement and think it does incr their supply.

manicure and pedicure are safe lah ... but I haven done it after my Rachel's birth eheh

yasmine
yah flu usually take a wk to recover. illadin only help to relieve blocked nose esp if u sleep in air con room at nite. i dun use it unless v necessary. in any case, u cant use it more than 5 days in a row. u try to sun bath ur boy? morning sun is not only gd for jaundice but also to relieve flu symptoms. my mom taught me this.

pjen
my hair starting to drop maybe cos i tie it all the time? previously hair only start to drop when bb abt 4 mths.

i love babies
haha.. yah me too have not had short hair since school days. contemplating to snip it off many times but worry how i will look leh. at least short hair more manageable n easy to maintain right.

i see.. so many of u did rebonding oredy. ok me will go ahead n do it!!

blessedmommy

i too contemplating on this bob layered hairstyle for quite some time ... then I tot it shouldnt look that bad if i rebond it ? ahhaha

for those of u who r expressiong milk, i got this advice from my church mate who bf all her children. she is now in her 50s. she said when u bf or pump, get ready a big glass of warm water n drink while bf or pumping. it will replenish all the fluid u lose n also help to get better letdowns. i did it while pumping n able to achieve more! so far only heard of drinking before u pump but this advice work better for me.