(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

My boy also !! Can't sleep thru the nite too. Will wake up at 2 plus or 3 plus and want to drink. But he only wants to drink 1 or 2 oz and then go to sleep
If i dun let him drink, he will be very fussy and keep kicking non stop.

I look at him ... I also headache :x So got to give him that little amount. I tried to give him water (my friend taught me one so as to do away with nite feed) and he gave me a disgusted face hee :D

Last nite tried to latch him on and I think my flow was too fast and he puked all over my mattress
Spent one hour to clean everything up :x

Really not easy to take care of a bb ... really must appreciate our parents more !

Riushiki, mine also if never give her drink she will kick here and there soon will start screaming liao. But my case is too much, i think i will check with my PD when visiting him during 3 month inject

daisybuttons, nono i stay awake till 7.30am then wake my maid up to take care of my girl.You image from 2.30am till 7.30am. Hai... then i sleep till 9.30am to pump milk.

littlepony, np ;) can u email me ur address? state that u are littlepony hor .. so that i remember to send u

daisybuttons, i've email u my mobile number...

E-ling, u very WEI DA leh!!!! Even from 2.30 to 7.30....is the most terrible hr leh. My ger last night refused to sleep ... 2.30am i already cannot make it liaoz. Put her on bed and my hb go and take over! Very bad hor.....:p

1 question ya....once u are back @ work right....u will put either ur bb with ur mum/MIL or babysitter right...do u bring over sterilised milk bottles to their house? Or buy 1 additional steriliser put at their house for them to use ah? Cuz my hb dont like the idea of using pill.....

rainnie

are u feeding EBM or FM ?
if u r feeding EBM, u can prepare the milk in sterilise milk bottles with the teats cover and bring over to baby sitter place. So that means u need prob say 4 bottles if ur baby need 4 feeds. can ?

Rainnie,
Thank you so much. I try to pm you but you don't accept pm leh. Can pm me your email address? Thanks!

E-ling, ya ya.. really... i think you very wei da leh.. haa!!! Coz i also buay tahan .. sometimes, i doze off while feeding my bb... and both of us juz doze off while the bottle is still in his mouth!! No wonder i take 30 mins to feed him.... plus the dozing off time..

question: wat if i have to go on a two day trip w enzo leh? i have abt 10 125 bottles, but that's still not enough if i can only use them once right? 1 day alr 8 feeds!!! wat would u babes do?

Emma

you shld still cont to pump but you have to throw away the EBM since u cant store it.

Ask your caregiver to finish all the EBM u have and supplement with FM.

Emma,
I think the same as ilovebabies. If not enuff, supplement with FM.. maybe daytime, use BM... and night time, use FM. Should be enuff to last for two days.

rainnie,
why can't just sterilze the bottle by boiling?
the baby sister will do it for u right?

may i know if any or yr still take fenugreek? i still take 6 per days. wonder if i should reduce from now.

ming liew.. did fenugreek increase ur ms??? mine did a bit, but i was engorged several times after taking that.. so i stopped... how much can u express now? cos ur bb born on the same day as enzo... if compare, compare with u more accurate.. but i know of cos diff mama diff lahz..

do u gals have experience with bb waking up at nite and being fussy but he actually dun want to drink milk ... dunno what he wants :x

Got to pat pat him for 1 hour plus before he fall asleep again and his eyes were closed all the time : x

blessedmommy, normally my maid will wake up to feed baby and i will go sleep, so that is y i let her sleep longer. Everytime after my girl finished milk and fall asleep, my maid will change her diaper and put her on her bed (which is beside me) and my maid continue go sleep, but everytime i think after awhile my girl will wake up, so after that will be me taking care of my girl liao. If not i will just pump milk while my maid feeding my girl, then after that i will take over taking care of my girl. I am now training my maid slowly take over in taking care of my girl in midnight also in case she dun wanna sleep if not after i go bk wk, i will be very jialat. So now i just ask my maid feed baby and change diaper then give her go sleep. I will let my maid sleep at least 8 to 10hrs per day lor, if not later she sick, who is gonna take care of my girl. Really dunno whether she can take it when i go bk wk or not, but i do ask her that during day time, if my girl sleep she can sleep since midnight she will be taking care of my girl.

Anyone got tip in getting baby back to sleep in night time? My girl after feed during midnight dun wanna go back sleep leh, eyes big big, somemore cannot leave her alone in her bed, if not she will scream like hell. She want someone play with her either in her bouncer or carry her. Even if i rock her to sleep, after i put her back to her bed, less than 10mins, she wake up again. How? Pls help

Ming LIew... i am no better... worse thing is my ms is dipping.. think soon bo liaoz.. sigh...

Eling... 250ml is Aloooooooooooot!!! lol.. my 1 yr old nephew only drink 210ml lehz.. lol... but of cos he's eating solids also lahz.. hehe...
how to let them go back to zzz ah.. hmm... dunno also.. but i read that u should not rock them to zzz, if not they will be dependent on u doing that otherwise they wont zzz... and hor.. if they were rocked to zzz, then placed in the bed, when they wake up in the middle of their sleep and realised they are in a different state( not being held and rocked ) they will scream!!! therefore when its night time, i usually carry enzo upright while i watch tv, till i find he's relaxed and drowsy, i'll put him in bed.. then he will drift off by himself..

Riushiki.. when u say he fusses, is it crying? or like stretching noises?? if its not loud crying, y dun u juz leave him alone? he can play till he falls asleep again... if u attend to him all the time, he might get used to it.. then it'll be hell for u when u return to work..

PrincessEmma, erm actually most of the time i carry her upright (she like me to carry her upright) to sleep but i will wake around the house, actually not rock lah. But i will rock her to stop her from crying if she kept crying.

agree with Emma

in fact sometimes after feed, i will sit on bed and pat my Rachel with no rocking. if she dun sleep after 10 mins, i put her to cot ... pat her awhile and ask her to sleep. Her eyes would be open but I can see she is tired so she wont cry. and I'll just off the lights and I sleep first/... she will fall asleep in no time.. since it's very dark in the room.

Riushiki

u shld not bother ur boy if he fusses w.o crying. I dont ! sometimes even when my ger cry and it's not the wailing type, I dun go to her. she will stop after a while.

ilovebabies.. me too.. lol... if enzo is not screaming, i usually dun attend to him.. at most i 'bio' from a corner to see what's wrong... after a while, he will calm down... cannt he cry straight away pick him up hor..

daisybuttons,
so cfm ur boy's got oral thrush?

wow...can see all ur bbs well-trained!!
...so good! But my boy is quite impatient le, usually if he's really cranky or wants attention, dun have to wait too long b4 he scream...

Riushiki,
Yaa.. i do the same like ilovebb. When bb make noises, i don't attend to him right away.. after a while, he just continue sleeping..unless he started crying very loudly, then i carry him, pat..and he continue sleeping and i will put him back to bed.. but sometimes, he cry many times at night.. so i will have to carry him many times as well.

Likewise, when he just make tons of noise..sometimes, I will just scold him .. ask him be quiet.. and after a while, he really got quiet down and continue sleeping.

Most impt, we have to let bb know it's night time by turning off the lights or dimming it down.. or else, they will think it's day time and playing time.

chocolat,
haaa! my bb will also scream till neighbourhood knows if he is in damn bad mood.. and most of the time, when he is really hungry.. and it's feeding time.. he scream till no sound.. while i go prepare his milk. So, he is those ' hungry man is an angry man' type.

Hi mummy, like to check if you still swaddle your baby to sleep? My baby is close to 2 mths and i am still doing that. In fact, i didnt swaddled him when after 1 week since he always like to kick and moved and i thought he does not like to be swaddle. BuT i started to swaddle him after he is 1 mth !! as it seems to make him sleep longer lor.. do you mummies have the same experience? but i am worried if swaddling the baby will affect any of his development ... any advise... I have a very wakeful baby.. sigh.. as he moves alot so a lot of times, he was woken up by his own movement

e-ling, oh i see. no wonder ur maid get to wake up late cos she also help u look after ur girl at nite huh. she does not have to do housework? if not where got time to do since u tell het she can sleep if ur gal nap also. but ur maid really good life, she gets to sleep 8-10 hrs a day! i think more than yourself right hehe... my maid barely have 7 hours of sleep cos my house so many kids a lot of things to do lor.

Little pony, fully agree we should jus turn off e light during sleeping time. I have been doing tat since her birth. Now, she will have her last feed ard 11pm then sleep until 7-9am then wake up for her breakfast
...Lazy baby...

hi chng's wife, do you keep ur baby awake til 11pm? just wish to know, for those who keep baby awake til 11pm hor, isn't it bad for the baby? a baby or child's sleeping time shld be around 8pm latest or else they may get cranky. and its good for development, at least thats what i heard. thats why i dun keep him awake. but then it also means his longest sleeping stretch is not the timing i want loh. so just wanna gather feedback.

daisybutton, i dun really keep her awake till 11pm. She usually will nap for a while between 8-10pm, then she will wake up for her last feed. I'm not sure if it's good or not leh...her sleeping pattern has been like tat after e 1st mth.

daisybuttons

hha guess our baby still on the sala timing. ya my ger sleep at 8+/9 pm too. anyway I let her manage her own schedule. but unlikely she go past 11pm.

orange

I never swaddle my baby since birth. Let her hands and legs have the freedom of moving abt. if u are worry that he moves a lot, why not put him in a sarong ?

during day time when ur baby taking nap, do you all make her sleep and wake them up at certain timing? Or just let them sleep and wake up as they like? Normally how long should the nap be per time?

although my gal alway awake bet 2am to 9am but after 9am, she can sleep at the stretch of 6 hours. I think her sleeping time sala liao. How to bring forward the sleeping time huh?

michelle, daisybuttons
thanks for all the advice. Don't worry, i wont give up yet, will continue pumping. Had increased to 4 hr interval to avoid engorgement although it may signal to my brain to produce lesser milk.

Eling,
Wow, your girl drink a lot... 250ml.

my baby also sala sleeping time. can sleep for long stretches from late morning to early evening (cant seem to wake her up regardless of what we do). Will be awake practically every hour at night and totally awake from around 6am - 11am. My mum was complaining that my baby should not be awake for such long stretch of few hours else the baby can't grow "meat". But can't do anything to change her sleep schedule leh...

hi e-ling, the total nap time in day for newborns shld be 6-7 hours. do not wake them up, just let them sleep. even if urs sleep longer than 7 hours in day, but as long as night time sleep is okie, then dun wake them up in day. but if the day time sleep is affecting night time sleep, then wake them up in the day to play with them or feed.

hey chng's wife, do you swaddle ur baby from 11pm onwards then? and do you place her in diff places for the 8-10pm nap and 11pm onwards' sleep?

orange,
yes i swaddle my bb at night to sleep and she sleeps through the whole night. i am training her to recognize day and night and once she gets the hang of it, i will not swaddle her anymore. i don't swaddle her in the day.

e-ling,
i let my bb nap as much as she wants during the day, no fixed schedule. i'm not a routine person and i hate routine so i'm giving my bb the freedom for her to decide her own schedule.

Chng's wife,
How i wish my bb can sleep througout the night.
My bb takes morning nap, afternoon naps.. and then by 9pm, he will sleep for his next feed at 3 hours interval.. so at least every night, he will have to wake up 3 times for his feeding. Quite tiring.
Lucky you .. you have bb which is easy to take care! haaa!

ming liew, my mom will be taking care of my ger when i'm going back work. So dont really like the idea of getting her to boil the bottles.....cuz scare she too busy...thats why using steriliser will be much easier. Can I sterilise the bottles at home and bring them to my mom home? Is ok hor? Just that I have to buy more bottles.....which is cheaper than buying another steriliser right?

little pony, i've pm u.

rainnie.. y dun u buy a microwave sterilizer??? since u wanna sterilize, that might be a cheaper version of an electric sterlizer... think it works the same also..

how u all calculate nap time ah? daisybuttons say 6-7 hrs in day. as far as i noe, my baby dun sleep so long at a stretch like tt, main reason coz he is wearing nappies, so whenever it gets wet, he will wail like he is being beaten up badly and scare everyone. so now we noe his pattern alrdy.
he usually sleeps a few hrs at a stretch and wakes up when his nappy gets wet, so i dunno how to calculate how much he sleeps.

as 4 crying babies, did it occur to u ladies tt they might b suffering fr some discomfort. my mum told me to apply ru yee oil if the baby fusses and its not coz he is hungry. i tried this method a few times and so far it works. so juz a tip.

crystallized

i dun really count how many hours my ger sleep in the day. Anyway she cant really sleep long hours in the day .. she will wake up easily to play. then sleep again after a while till her feeding time. at nite she can sleep for 3 hours straight to her feeding time. anyway as long as bb is growing healthily, i think i will let her manage her schedule and not enforce any on her.