(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

blessedmommy, ya.. juz post your recipe here so that we can all learn from you! wow!! i am amazed that you can still cook when you have kids to take care. u know, i have only one now and sometimes, i don't even have the time to go and bathe leh!!!

Sha,
congrats on your offer of the job. You accepting it? And if yes, means you starting work so soon!!! Perhaps you be the 1st among all of us to start work leh.

oh gosh, how i wish my bb wayne can sleep through out the night as well. Mine still wakes up every 3 hours interval for feeding without fail.. and his mental alarm clock very accurate one... no one minute less or more......

I wonder when can he phase out this stage of waking up so frequently during the night...

Littlepony,
I have accepted the offer but I am not the first to start work, Ming Liew has started work liao.

But I am contemplating on it maybe I will miss my baby moreover I have not been working since April and now I need to go back to work and so fast. Have not slim down yet tough to fit into all my old clothing as well. .. sian. . .headache. . no job also headache got job also headache.

It could be that the job is not paying per my expectation as well.

my baby is sleeping thru the night and I am so happy. I plan to do the night shift of feeding her even when I start working. But she has been good and is sleeping thru the night.

I am training her this way. . . her feeding time is somehow stable now

Feed her 120ml at 7 to 8pm then play with her till about 9 to 10pm and make her sleep then she will sleep thru the night at most she get up at 2 or 3am for one feed or never.

As for me I will sleep at 11pm so that I can have enough rest as well.

sha
so if ur girl doesnt wake up at 2 or 3am for feeding, wat time will she wake up the next morning leh? my son now will take his last meal at abt 9pm+, then will wake up ard 2 -3am oso n then next meal will be at abt 7 or 8 am liao. wondering how to cut out the 2am feed leh

michelle,
Yes if my ger dont wake up at 2 or 3am she will wake up at about 6 to 7am for the next feed.

How to cut out the 2am feed - I think it depends on them. I dont wake my ger up for feed she wake me up instead.

Littlepony,
I think after they have reach two month or so they would have developed a stable feeding and sleeping pattern which will be much easier for us. So dont worry just be patient and wait.

I have created a sleep environement for Sherilyn since day one so once I carry her to my room and off the night and sing to her she know it is her sleeping time.

<font color="0000ff">ilovebabies</font>,
u said Rachel drinks 80-90ml per feed... how often does she feed? I suspect my gal is also a small eater, but she feeds very frequently to make up for it. So far, poo and weight seem ok. I'm not sure how much she drinks cos I'm on DBF... but last evening she drank 85ml via bottle and I latched her on after tat for abt 10min or so... so total intake shld be over 100ml...

So many of ur bbs starting to sleep thru' the night while i'm still exhausted fr all the frequent feedings
... <font color="0000ff">Anyone knows if bottle-fed bbs sleep longer?</font> cos my gal is on DBF and normally in the day, she takes 45min per feed and sleeps only 1 to 1.5hrs b4 waking up for more. Can be very tiring! Nights are slightly better, she'll sleep 2 to 2.5hrs in between feeds... Can anyone advise how to reduce no. of feeds and making her sleep longer? Shld I try bottle-feeding more?? Trinity is 6wks 4days old.

hi mommies, ok i will post the recipes here.

chocolat, u mind helping me to copy n paste it here? cos i hv oredy deleted the mail.

to those moms who cant cook, i was like any of u when i started my motherhood journey 6 yrs back. but thks to my mil, who is a great cook, n willing to teach me, now i hv improved greatly. so dun worry, we all started from zero too. if u start now, next time when ur lil darlings ready to eat solids can get to taste ur great cooking! unlike me, when i started learning, my boys gotta bear with my experimental stage of cooking!!

sha, congrats on new job. wow ur gal can go wo milk for 10 hrs?? good for u, u hv more rest.

Here's Baby Trinity at <font color="aa00aa">6wks old</font>:
563131.jpg

and previously at <font color="aa00aa">4wks old</font>:
563132.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">3wks old</font>

563133.jpg

really changes very fast, so must capture and enjoy every moment!

Sha... Enzo is 1 month 3 weeks old..
he sleeps well at night cos he seldom sleep in the day.. he can stay awake from 12 to 8pm... in between maybe nap 30 mins here and there... he's a baby who zzz v little...

Sha,
well, i can understand how difficult it is to leave bb behind while we go and work. U know, when i left bb behind to go shopping, i have no mood to shop at all ( and i was once a shopping queen).. i just want to rush home to see bb.

Ya, no job headache.. got job also headache but oh well, i am sure we will get used to it!!

Mingliew, you starting work already? Oh gosh! that's fast!

Ya, i really hope bb can get to a stable pattern... but till today, he is still on 3 hours interval.. but u know, it's a great improvement coz in the beginning, he was on 2 hours interval.. haaa! So now, i hope he wake up once in the night and can sleep thruout the nite.. then i be damn happy!

LittlePony.. realli? no mood to shop ah.. that I am not that bad alr.. hehe... cos i can still put enzo with my mom and go shopping or go sch.. hehe... but cos he's with my mom.. if with a stranger.. i will also be like u... that's y i'm still having headache... no baby sitter, mom working.. argh.. no one to take care of him!!! sigh...

Sha.. u got a job alr? good good!!! but having 2nd thoughts huh... i understand how u feel... well... think it thru.. if u think its not worth it.. the let it go lohz..
being happy is most impt..

I am looking for a nice diaper bag... any recommendations??? i am looking for a verstile one so that my hubby is willing to carry it for me too... now, he thinks most diaper bags r quite girly.. haaa!!

littlepony, I'm using avent haversack. not girlish at all
have a lot of compartments and one of the compartment u can store ur warm water (if short trips) bottle there. I tried it quite gd. but ex loh! outside selling 130plus i think

PrincessEmma,
Ya.. i think i am the extreme.. i do know that bb is under the good hands of my mil but yet, i feel that i left him behind and i go enjoy.. and also i miss his face...

Hmm.. no one take care of your bb? Have you found a baby sitter or if no choice, find a child care center lor.. what abt you being full time mum then?

Rainnie,
thanks! Avent haversack.. where you got it from?
Wow.. expensive leh..$130.. hmm...
Ya, i needed a haversack rather than a sling bag.. those i have seen r sling bags leh.

Littlpony,
I have no problem leaving my baby with my MIL and go shopping as I can control my timing and be home fast to see and play with her but work cannot lah.

PrincessEmma,
The job location is good but the pay is not that great lah I cant expect much anyway.

You see the problem is I still have other interview which I am thinking should I go anot but work location is not great lor. Haiz. . .headache. . .

riushiki,
my baby has been sleeping through the night for two days in a row. her last feed is 11pm and she will wake up for feed at 6am. actually i'm more worried than happy b'cos I'm afraid that my milk supply might dwindle even though i'm exclusively breastfeeding.

daisybuttons,
yeah my baby has that white deposit too located in the center of the tongue but i believe that's normal. i clean it daily using glycerine. that's what my mom taught me. it couldn't be completely wiped off b'cos my baby hates it, she'll scream but i'm not worried about it. it has been done to all babies in my family.

This is my girl. She looks like a boy! Haizz. She's almost 7 weeks today.
563285.jpg

Ming Liew and Littlepony,
you are advising me to harm to give it try in the job at Suntec and dont go for the rest of the interview - today and tomorrow right??

You see the reason why I am contemplating is because the other two interviews are not so convenient.

I think I will forget about going for the interview today and tomorrow.

Ladies, I clean my baby tongue with just a warm towel wrap around my finger and the white milk stain comes off.

Firstly I will use the 'finger towel' to clean her lip and slowly move into her mouth to clean the areas around it then lastely I wipe the milk stain from the tongue - at first she dislike it but now she is ok.

puppylove

Rachel still drinks 80-90ML and her diaper is almost always wet when I change it every 3 hrly. Guess I wont worry. Now she dont poo everyday too. PD says this is call pseudo constipation.

Rachel also has the milk stains on her tongue. My mum and MIL says to clean with BLACK CLOTH ahhaah I dont know why but somehow it works better than cleaning with hanky. I just soak the black cloth in boiling water and then clean her tongue. Not easy to clean the inner part cos she will bite on my finger.

Dont think it is oral thrush infection cos if it is, it is streaks of white stains not a patch if I am not wrong.

blessedmommy

can compile ur recipe in a WORD doc and upload here ? if u not free, maybe u can send me email and I'll compile for ? let me know k ??

Sha

wah u r fast ! so give up the idea on working in a child care ? so what's the nature of this new job ?

nvm.. just try out on this job and be active in your job search. at least get some $ first and pamper yourself with shopping in suntec arena hehhe

i rcv two free spa treats for Citibank and OCBC credit card members ... very tempted .. and only avail on weekdays. will try to go before i return to work.

daisybuttons

I am also interested in the purchase of NEPIA S size leh .. but I want to try out a few pieces .. anyone kind enough to let go ??

Sha,
No le. I mean go for the interview to compare each other. It's hard to find everything so perfect to yr need. pay, location, timing, boss n col :p.

ilovebabies,
that is also what I have in mind - maybe just go work in Suntec first and see how and if got better job then leave lor.

Ming Liew,
I am rather tired of interview think I will give up the two interviews and just go for the job in Suntec. The other two company sound really interesting but it is the location that is really very inconvenient. Meaning no MRT access and I have to change train and change bus to get the location.

Sha,
Ha, so you also a MRT person. Me too :p.
My work place is rather far. at tanjung pagar as i stay in cck new yew tee mrt but both my work place n house beside mrt.

Ming Liew,
Ya me too a MRT person, since I move to Bishan I better look for job that is near to town area and make use of the location as well.

Sha,
Ya true lor.
I understand how tired is to go for interview. Me too that's why stick to my current job for almost 4 yrs lor.. HOwever, read the news say job markat super good wo. so encourage u go look ard for highier pay .. :D

littlepony.. me using a adidas shoulder bag as my diaper bag.. it has 2 compartments at the side, one front and one back... material is light and durable.. hehe.. and since its adidas.. hub has no qualms abt carrying it..
my design stopped selling at adidas alr.. but there's another one, new version..

Sha.. working at suntec is realli not bad... there's lotsa shopping, and most imptly.. lotsa good food.. hehe... but we're on a diet right.. oops.. almost forgot..hehe..

hi chocolat, when u say sides of the tongue, its literally at the SIDES or just slightly off centre? my white stains is slightly off centre. i manage to clean off the centre part one day. but the remaining still there leh.

rainnie, i am on total breastfeeding. I know that FM can cause white deposit, thats why when i asked the qn i specified those mommies who are on TBF.
thats why i find it funny loh. i know of ppl who TBF but dun have white deposit too (like sha), or have but not oral thrush. i now headache leh.

sha, how often do you clean baby's tongue then?

to the rest of the mommy, how often u clean baby's tongue and how often u clean ur nipples b4 or after feeding? wld like to know.

blessmommy, i just emailed you! pls send me the prawn mee recipe leh! i want i want. eh, when u say add milk to the fish soup, will those marigold fresh milk do? hehehe. and hor, do the uncle at the market slice the fish for you? i dun go market leh. but ntuc ones not as fresh hor?

puppylove, those photos are nice! are they taken with an SLR? very well taken leh.

daisybuttons,
i am tbf and my girl has that white deposit on her tongue, i asked my maid to clean it after each feed. Normally when latched on, i dun clean my nipple unless is dirty like sweating. And i only clean my nipple during each pump so i dun think will be dirty when latch on. Somemore breastmilk itself is antibodies so wont be dirty

daisybuttons

try not to clean bb tongue after every feed, i mean it can be quite painful for them .. imagine u did this to yourself every 3 hrly ?? i do it like once a day.

I will clean my nipple with a wet towel then squeeze out some milk and rub onto the nipple before i feed her.

found this on web .. on a link posted by Aug Mothers.

"Small, frequent feedings set up a healthy eating pattern right from the start. Adults are now advised by experts that it is healthier to eat smaller amounts more often and the same is true for babies and children. Coaxing a baby to take more milk leads to overfeeding. If feeling overfull at feedings becomes the norm for a baby, this may lead to unhealthy eating habits that contribute to childhood obesity later."

anyway here's the link

http://www.breastfeeding.com/workingmom/pumping/how_much_milk.html

Ming Liew,
No looking for job with higher pay but looking for job with little stress level so I that I cam come home on time to look after my baby lor.

The pay is not high at all. Almost 30% down per my previous pay.

PricessEmma,
Good food, many shops, etc. . .also need alot of $$$ . . not good . . hahahaha. . .

Daisybuttons,
I clean her tongue once every alternate day if needed then will clean it once a day.

gals read the ST forum, some lady complain abt no nursing room in their office.

"Why no room to pump milk for new mothers?"

I SPOKE to two women recently. One is a new mother back at work from maternity leave. The other is pregnant and her baby is due next month.

They don't know each other but face the same problem: No private room in the workplace to pump breast milk for their babies.

Obviously they need privacy to do this, a mother's duty. One of the women has supportive colleagues who let her use their office to pump her milk.

The mother-to-be said her office colleagues had repeatedly requested through the staff suggestion scheme for a room for breast-feeding mothers to pump milk.

But the higher management lacked either the resources or the initiative to deal with the matter, as nothing had been done yet on the suggestion.

The management said it was still looking into it.

This situation is common in many workplaces. One of the women works in a statutory board while the other works in a government ministry. This is what motivates me to write this letter.

The Singapore Government has in the recent years been working very hard to encourage a higher birth rate through the implementation of various policies. It wants married couples to produce more babies to augment an ageing population.

While the five-day work week for civil servants and statutory board employees was a great example of the Government 'walking the talk', it should also lead by example to provide facilities such as private rooms for mothers to pump their milk.

While it is good to see policies being implemented to make Singapore a more conducive place for couples to start a family, it is also important to ensure that the official message on the joys of parenthood is consistent with the government's actions.

This means that those who take up parenthood should have adequate support from the Government.

To this end, it may now be necessary for the Government to take the lead in ensuring that the higher management in the Civil Service and statutory boards find creative ways to support new mothers in their new responsibilities, in order to encourage private employers to follow suit.

Hello to all mommies,

It seems that most of you feed your babies with EBM. Need some advice from you.

I have been latching my baby on for the last 2 mths, rarely gives her bottle. I'm now trying to feed my gal with bottle once a day to get her used to it (maternity leave ending soon). BUT she refuses to drink and would only do so after some fierce crying.
Today, the 7th day of trial, she just refuses to drink. In the end, I had to relent and latched her on. heart pain to see her go on hunger strike...

Would like to find out what teat are you using. I am currently using the Avent one (provided when I got the steriliser), find it a little hard. But I'm not sure what kind of teat to get. Any recommendations?
kao_confused.gif

Shirlyn

i found the posst that Eling posted last week on introducing bottle to her ger.
btw I am using NUK M size teat when feeding EBM.
She dont seem to like Avent teat .. a bit too hard and too long for her.

Here's the tips from the BF counsellor by Eling ....

Something to share. Received the reply from BMSG Counsellor on the problem i face, hope this will help anyone who face the same problem as me:

>baby_age: 2months 2days
>breastfeeding_status: total_breastfeeding
>Help! My gal don't want bottle.
>question: What i should do now? I need to go back work in mid of next month and my daughter, Amabel refused to drink from bottle at all. I have been giving my gal drink my ebm through bottle and also sometime latch on but out of the sudden, this few days my gal refused to drink from bottle. She will suckle a few mouthful of expressed milk from bottle then start crying then we got to comfort her and try offer her drink again but she will again suckle for afew mouthful then cried and that repeat again and it will take her an hour to finish the milk. Most of the time, we have to feed the baby the bottle before she wakes up but in light sleep mode, cause like that she won't really notice that the milk she drinking is from bottle. Sometime not to see her keep crying like this and got no choice but to let her latch on then she will stop crying immediate and happily drinking my breastmilk. But i can't keep letting her latch on cause i will need to work and love to let her latch on when i am at home with her. What should i do so she will drink from bottle while i am away from work and will also latch on when i am back? Please help!

> BMSG E-Counsellor <http://us.f340.mail.yahoo.com/ym/compose?to=bmsg999@yahoo.co.uk&amp;yy=15036&amp;y5beta=yes&amp;y5beta=yes&amp;order=down&amp;sort=date&amp;pos=0> wrote:
> Dear E-Ling,
> Some breastfed babies are smart enough to refuse the bottles if the mother is present since they know what's BEST for them. Do not be too worried first. Firstly, were you very near to your baby when you tried to get someone to introduce the bottle? It is normal for a breastfed baby to refuse EBM if he knows the mother is nearby and will be confused why wouldn't the mother be direct feeding instead. Most babies will not take a bottle if they know their mother is nearby, because they associate their mother with the pleasure of nursing. To begin, I would suggest you get away while you find someone to introduce the bottle. These are some of the ways that will help your caregiver to encourage your baby to taking a bottle:
- Try offering the bottle before the baby is likely to be too hungry, before his usual nap time, as he may be more cooperative about trying something new. You can try to feed the baby the bottle before she wakes up but in light sleep mode, you can tell by observing your child if she is starting to have somelight movements and on the verge of waking up.
- Hold the baby lovingly while giving the bottle.
- Wrap the baby in the mother's clothing with her smell on it (eg. your home wear or night gown) while offering the bottle.
- Instead of pushing the bottle nipple into the baby's mouth, try laying it near his mouth and allow him to pull it in himself, or tickle the baby's mouth with the bottle's nipple, just as how many mothers do with the breasts.
- Try running warm water over the bottle nipple to bring it up to body tempature, like the breast.
- You may have to try different bottle nipples to find a shape, a substance (rubber or silicone), and a hole size that the baby will accept more receptively. Some babies prefer a larger or smaller nipple hole or different nipple types and shapes.
- Try different feeding positions. Some babies will take a bottle better in the nursing position, others like to sit propped against the caregiver's raised legs (like sitting in an infant seat), etc. - Try to feed the baby while moving rhythmically -rocking gently, walking, or swaying from side to side - because this may be calming to him; some babies who refuse a bottle at other times will take a bottle when they are riding in a car seat.
- Insert the bottle nipple in to the baby's mouth while he is sleeping.
- Keep trying, but remember the baby can be fed the mother's milk using other feeding methods, such as cup or spoon, if the baby continues to refuse the bottle.
Some babies also do go on "reverse-cycle nursing", ie. drinks rather little in the day or when the mother is away, and go on a "nursing marathon" to catch up with all the milk feeds when the mother is back home.
Last but not least, keep up with your breastfeeding efforts. Remember that it wasn't a mistake that you have always offered breasts first to your baby as direct feeding is the BEST. Bottle refusal is usually a transitional phrase and eventually your baby will recognise that if you're not around, she will have to take a bottle as subsitute.
All the best!
Noelle Tan
Volunteer Counsellor

hi gals :

thank you for sharing your baby 'work load ' with me and how u manage with hubby and those around you .

talked to hubby and get him to switch role with me for a day , i got the rest i needed and my poor son , when i came back , he wasn't dressed properly , diaper too tight , wearing his pant inside out , his top was not tied properly , never clean his toungue , little milk stain around his mouth , sleeping without his blanket and the fan was blowing at him , :< ..... a very careless dad indeed .

as for MIL , cannot do anything , just tell hubby i don't like her ' supervising ' what i am doing with his grandson , nagging on how i should do it , saying that she loves his grandson so much and she thinks i should be a SAHM but .... ran away when her grandson poos and kept saying that it's so smelly ( as if never wipe his son's butt hor !! )

i wanted to resume as working mother but hubby and MIL are not very supportive , anyway , i insist . my son , jing yuan , will be with the babysitter . is difficult to let go ( putting jing yuan with the babysitter ) .... no choice , base on my character and looking into the long run , this is a better option for me .

i think none of your milk supply will be as low as mine ... i pump after 12 hours for 20 minutes , i get 20 ml from both breasts only ... sianz !! PD was saying that mine looks like ending liow .. so , have to keep latching and pumping ...
... rest / eat properly too ...

Whatzup

cheer up !!
give your hubby sometime and I believe he can do a great job ! Not all fathers have paternal instinct so it take some time ok ??

dont get too stressed up over your milk supply .. at most give FM lor .. nothing wrong with that.

prob can get hubby to do nite feed so u can have ample sleep.

have u found a babysitter ?

<font color="0000ff">ming liew</font>,
I also take short video clips of Trinity so I dun forget this young stage! heheh... I miss that 'newborn' look already!

<font color="0000ff">daisybutons</font>,
thanks! photos were taken w DSLR

<font color="0000ff">blessedmommy</font>,
is it? same bedsheet ah!
I think <font color="0000ff">Melissa</font> also same same, looking at the photo she posted!
I initially wanted the yellow/orange one instead but no stock, but now i'm glad i got this pink one cos it matches all her pink clothes!

<font color="0000ff">ilovebabies</font>,
u sent ur letter to ST forum? good for u!
i work in a stat board n face the same problem. Top mgt repeatedly rejects request for nursing room without giving any reasons at all! I've colleagues who use meeting rooms, pantry or even storeroom!

<font color="0000ff">DG</font>,
I juz met <font color="0000ff">sherhino</font> fr the Nov thread and she mentioned knowing u after learning I'm fr Sep06 thread
Small world!