(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hv been so busy after confinement lady went back. Sigh! Especially at nite.

My bb starting to learn how to sit at potty and poo... successful only once though! haaa!! But nowadays, he poo one big one once a day and that's it.. izzit normal?

Anyone giving bb Dumex Mamil Gold? I have just ordered from the distributor 12 tins of Dumex Mamil Gold Stage 1. It's one time order only but if i order 12 tins, get 3 tins free. And a saving of $4 of each tin as compared to prices outside.

Another pic of my son Wayne.....

549413.jpg

hi angeline, tt time we brought bb back when he was 1 wk old for review as per requested by PD. im not sure is it becos to review his jaundice or is it a normal 1st wk review or both.

ur bb is 1 mth old now, so shld be due for hepB 2nd jab soon?

chng's wife, michelle, any reason why u both chose enfalac a+ instead of enfalac HA or other brands like similac (which is quite popular, not sure is it becos of zoe tay?)?

do u all hv this experience whereby u feel tt ur bb seems to be able to see "someone else"?

sometimes when he's crying, i'll carry him and console him, i look at him in the face, but sometimes he'll seem to be looking at "someone else" behind me. and he seems to be v scared and cry more.

and of course the "someone else" doesnt exist la since only me and bb alone at home.

im not sure is this normal. duno what bb is looking at.

edksd, u sound so eerie....I think it's bcos BB still can't see very clear lah, tat's y they keep looking all over e place. Or...old wives' tale...the bed nanny is scolding him lor. U know when BB laugh in their sleep, the elders will say e bed nanny playing with BB.

DG,
Hey! Maybe we live near each other coz I'm real close to TMC too! Where do u live? I live behind the Whampoa Mkt
Oh gosh, I know what u mean! When my nipples were sore, when bb took FOREVER to drink, the tin of FM started to talk to me! "Open me... give some to the bb... open me!" hahahaha... peservere! U can do it!
Remember how u were encouraging all of us when we were 'down in the dumps'? Now's our turn to cheer u on... yeah yeah yeah!!

Hello little Wayne! U look so cute in ur cap! Mummy says u pooped in the potty... well done!

Angeline,
Wah, ur hb very good!
If u're really tired, then sleep. From what I've read, exhaustion does affect MS. I think as long as u pumped once in the night (12am - 6pm), it shld be ok. Or just get ur hb to wake u up when he gives the bottle.

Melissa

oh ya hor ! but some babies start teething at a later stage like my niece. eheh we saw her first tooth only at 15 months !

Eling

I bought the FRIDE-To-GO cooler bag from a BP in this forum. Very useful as I need to transport EBM to my mum hse daily. I will use this bag when I get back to work. It can last for 16 hrs !

btw i heard from BF mothers that there will be spurt in our BM during the 4th and 5th month .. ehhe me waiting to see if it really happens to me

michelle

regardless of the type of teats use, the milk shld ALWAYS cover the air valve to prevent bb from sucking in the air.

Joon

i think the sleeping pattern varies from babies. Rachel seem to mix up day and nite before she turn one month old but subsequently i realised she like to stay alert during daytime and sleep well after nite feeds. I think you can start to talk or play with Der Nen after day feed to keep him awake.

Eling

wah ur supply is good hor ! eh me also going back to work on 13 Nov ! but I will clear another 10 days of leave heheh ...

nowadays I dun really feel engorgement leh .. oh no ! but I still pump every 4 hrly and I get only like 140 - 180ML each time....

I took betw 15 mins - 30 mins each time cos anything abv that, my nipples will be quite sore leh ...

I have develop a pattern now for expressing and hope to keep it this way when I get back to work. I will express once in the morning at 10am and then at 2pm, 6pm and 11pm (or 12am). Hopefully can complete the 10am and 2pm pump at work.

btw rgd the 6-in-1 jab .. my sister's kids are seeing Dr Ngiam from Singapore Baby Clinic and she claimed that her kids do not get fever after jab. Somehow the concoction from this clinic is fantastic so I have decided to switch PD. Will bring my gal for her 1st 6-in-1 jab tmr with Dr Ngiam.

puppylove

there is def a price different betw PD and polyclinic. I chose 6-in-1 .. err dunno why but it was offered to me hahah bad mummy never do research .. just monkey see monkey do.

domesticgoddess

I am using the Avent steriliser at home. At my mum place, I will use boiled water and sterilise the items in a big bowl and leave it for a while before I use them. Is that ok ?

ya monitor ur kid for jaundice level cos doc would want to know if it's really breastfeed jaundice or liver malfunction.

Littlepony

U let wayne sit on potty and poo ???? at such a young age??? can meh ?

ya my rachel also poo once today. Will ask Dr Ngiam tmr ...

aiyo ur wayne so fat ehehhe wanna squeeze his cheeks !

Chng's wife

Bed nanny is my mum's theory too ! in hokkien, she called it "Cng Bu" ahah dunno if u gals get it. But i dun believe it !

DG,
I just bought the pigeon steriliser and use tt to sterilise the glass bottles. The cycle is 8mins I think.

ilovebabies,
Rachel is a good bb!
I'm trying out all sorts of stuff with DN to keep him awake. Sometimes I feel like a CLOWN! Mummy acting so gila to keep him entertained!

So far, he still doesn't have a schedule. Sometimes very alert during the day, sometimes very sleepy. Sometimes fall asleep so easily, sometimes I must rock until the cows come home. Well, I think I ought to give him a break, he's only 7 wks old after all!!!!! hahahahaaaa...

ilovebabies,
me did not latch Sherilyn no these days as I am too busy the past two weeks beside looking after her I am also looking for job and going for interview so I think my milk supply went down and have not pump it out as well. Coz everytime I reach home after interview I am tired. Morever my MIL give her FM milk. But I latch her on the other day surprise there is still milk . . .hahaha.

The haze is making me tired and sweaty as well lucky we completed our confinment.

Chng's wife,
Dont scare yourself leh. I have heard of the bedside nanny stuff theory from my mummy as well.

Joon,
I train or have created a sleeping environment for Sherilyn since the day she is born. What I did is every night I would let her know that it is her bedtime and I would carry her into bed room, switch off all the night expect the side light and on some light music or rock her to sleep. During the start it is tough can also rock or sing till cow come home but it has slowly improve and it is getting better as well.

I learn from the parentcraft lesson.

littlepony,
Wayne is drinking alot. . .Sherilyn only start to drink about 100 to 120ml now and she is only 9 days older than Wayne. Some time Sherilyn can even finish 90ml it depends if she sleep long she tend to more.

When can we start drinking cold drinks or eat ice-cream?

Weather is damn hot and I really wish I can eat an ice-cream, man!

Hi Emoments,
haa! Actually, after confinement we can eat anything. But i will try to refrain from cold drinks first... just me and my own theory. haa!! And of coz, i will stay away from seafood as well for another month or not.. I haven't got good skin so now, i try to take care my skin even more.

Joon, thanks for motivating Wayne! Haa! I have to keep teaching him how to poo in the potty although he always frown when he does that! haa!

Ilovebabies,
ya.. i let him start learning.. but of coz i hold him tight when pooing in the potty. Oh, ya...today, wayne didn't poo leh.. i wonder wat happen.. could u ask dr ngiam and let me know! haaa! thanks!

And i will be finishing my 40 days of eating confinement food tomorrow! I think i am such a terrific Daughter in law! haa! my mil say eat 40 days so i eat 40days lor! but luckily, they made the confinement food damn interesting or else, i doubt i will withstand all the ginger i had to eat! My mil say i have taken 3 bottles of Martell, 3-4 bottles of DOM, and 10 over kg of ginger!!! I salute myself for that!!

littlepony,
TEN KILOS OF GINGER?? I salute u too!!!!! U are indeed a good DIL. Toward the end of my confinement, when my MIL told me 40 days, I almost fainted and straight away told her "NO!"

Emoments,
Soon soon! U can eat ice-cream soon! Actually, tell u a secret, during my confinement, I secretly ate some Ben & Jerry's.
I LOVE ice-cream. If I could marry ice-cream, I would!!!

Sha,
Yeah, I read abt tt too! Problem is, we're still doing up the nursery (carpenter coming in tomorrow) so haven't really established a bedtime routine...
Geez, I hope it's not too late! So how long does Sherilyn sleep in the night?

i oso almost fainted when i heard confinemt was 40 days! anyway i made an agreemt wif my MIL - i wll continue to eat confinemt food up to 40 days but i can oso eat any other stuff i want, eg: ice cream, drink coke, etc
so not that jia lat! anyway another 4 more days to go till my 40th day! woo hoo!!! cant wait

edksd
the only reason i chose enfalac was cos during my pregnancy i was taking enfamama so i tot bb oso take the same brand lor since its likely they will use the same ingredients and he wd hv been used to it for 9 mths liao
actually after i chose that i went ard asking my frens n they said it's a pretty gd choice. i heard some brands drink oredi hor the poo poo very smelly - cant remember which one it is tho.

i hv a qn: for those giving EBM, when u go out wif bb, wat do we need to put in the bb's bag ah? we need to store the EBM in a cooler bag and then just bring a flask of hot water and a container to warm up the milk later on when he needs to drink is it? is there a better/faster way to do this??

littlepony
take my hat off to u! so young can train wayne to poo in the potty liao!!

anyway last nite was the 1st nite hubby n i cd get some real sleep cos ethan had his last feed at 2am and slept all the way till 6.45am this morning! sure hope this pattern will stay man!! :D

Hi michelle,
If we bring bb out, I put the EBM in the cooler bag but I won't bring hot water out (bag will be so heavy and water won't stay hot for so long), just an empty thermos mug. If bb needs milk, we'll just go to a restaurant or coffee shop nearby to ask for hot water. They always give.
That fresh hot water goes into the thermos and heats up the milk quickly. Unless u'll be going somewhere w/o restaurants or coffee shops, then bring the hot water.

edksd,
chng's wife is right. its ok to put on as much weight during first 3 mths becos after that weight gain will slow down and at least they have some "reserves"
this is my thought but diff pd have diff opinions i guess.

hi DG,
am surprised u find bf easier this time. for me, it gets tougher the more kids i have esp i need to send time with the older kids too. thus i resorted to bottle feed in the day so she can last longer and i have more time to do my things. i only latch her in the evenings n midnight feeds and weekends when im more relaxed not so much chores to do. it quite normal to have to battle the "give the fm!" thought but hang it there! it will get easier, im telling myself this too!

mommies, any of ur babies have taken the 6 in 1 jab? all my older kids have never taken the 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 thus me a bit blur. when can start to take this jab? my pd say 3 mths but i heard this jab available from 6 wk onwards?

Michelle.. Enzo is on Enfalac too and his poo poo is DARN smelly... i dunno if its him, my bm, or the enfalac... and he seems to have problem trying to poo.... but when he does, his poo is not solid or hard, so i doubt its constipation... but y does he struggle so hard juz to poo???? should i change his formula? anyone of u have the same prob????

joon.. got question to ask.. i m not using a warmer to heat up EBM.. just put EBM over hot water to warm up.. so how to gauge if EBM is warm enough leh? and what is considered "warm enough"?

littlepony, u r superb man! so much martel and DOM u drank..peifu peifu..
my hubby added DOM into a dish secretly once when he cooked for me.. and the moment i tested it, i stopped eating that dish liao!! haha.. i jsut can't stand the taste of DOM and chicken essense.. so.. i think my confinement food also not like confinement type.. except that ginger are added to my dishes only hehe

Hi all.. sharing some more pics of my bb gal Keira.. my hubby took these while he was bathing her...hmm...hmm...she really enjoys her bath with daddy hor...

549832.jpg
549833.jpg
549834.jpg
549835.jpg

Hello Keira, u are such a cutie-pie!
Looks like u really like bath-time eh?

Cereal, I hate DOM too! :p bleahhhhh... and I have bottles and bottles and bottles of chicken essence sitting in the storeroom... everytime someone gave it to me in the hospital, I must smile and say thank you, but inside... "bleaahhhhh!! why u waste ur money???"

Abt heating up EBM, after abt 5 mins, I will test a drop of the milk on the inside of my wrist (most sensitive part). As long as it's not "fridge-cold" or "stinging hot", it's ok. In fact, heating it up too much (above 38 deg or something like that) kills some of the antibodies, so lukewarm, room temperature milk is ok. I mean, milk from the breast is not that hot after all! In fact, I read tt some bbs can actually drink milk straight from the fridge! It's ok! But most bbs like milk a little warm. ps : me not shaving bb... not nice lah! hahaha... vain mummy i am!

Michelle,
No prob
enjoy the day out with bb! But not in this haze eh? I think bbs better stay at home for this period! I wish I could bring DN out for a walk in his stroller... *sigh*... can't wait for the bloody haze to end!

Huijun,
So far, my bb is fine with anyone carrying him... my granny said for now they can't really tell the difference, but when they get older, they develop a preference for familiar pple carrying them.

ilovebabies, how ur fridge to go cooler bag model? I got one but is not specially design for baby bottle. I intend to but one which is specially made for baby which i saw in a catalogue. How much u buy ur??

i got one enfalac A+ at home for standby in case. I chose this becos my gynae recommended to me.

Going out, normally i will bring a thermal flask to store hot water (can last for 24hrs), cooler bag, a mug to warm ebm.

joon, thanks for your constant cheering! I've got my good and bad days.

We are near but not that near lah.. I am on newton road, 3 min walk from Eton House and Hotel Royal. But next time our babies can play together often, especially if you become SAHM. I often organise playdates here for my son and will definitely resume later this year. LOL on your remark on the FM tin talking to you.. heehee..

blessedmommy, I find BF easier this time as I don't suffer from so much pains. But I also have hb, maid and MIL around to help out right now with my older son. When hb returns to work and MIL leaves, I am sure I will struggle a bit, but hopefully by then, bb can feed more efficiently and require less time, so I can multi-task like read a book to my boy while feeding bb.

ENFALAC
Some bb constipates quite badly with this FM. My boy did before till we switched to Similac. Enfalac HA is for those who have allergies in families, hence high chance of being allergic to cow's milk or many other foods.

thanks mummies for answering my queries on sterilising the glass bottles.

edksd, i won't worry about bb becoming obese. Trust me, a bb who puts on lots of weight in first 6 months may also gain so little subsequently.. so I rather they gain more weight in the beginning. My boy was a chubby boy when he was 3 to 4 months but between 5 and 9 months, he put on so little weight that he could be called "skinny". During those early weaning days, he simply refused both solids and FM (that was also when I stopped BF), so when everyone else's bb was gaining 300g/mth, mine was putting on 300g in 3 months! *heartpain*

Anyway, bb/tots under 2 should not be put on diet to lose weight.

ilovebabies, i am not sure if the sterilising method you use at your mum's place is OK. Perhaps you can check with PD? I know my mum used to boil the bottles (and not just submerging them in boiled water, if u know what i mean) for 5 min.

Hi joon

Me too... if only I could marry ice-cream.... heehee....

I told myself I need to give myself a good treat of ice-cream once I can start eating them...

moms... anyone of u stopped bfing alr? i am still expressing but my menses are here!!! i thought it should not be here for a while longer? and the cramps feel different than they used to feel before i was preggie... is that normal???

DG.. is it considered constipation if his stools are not hard?? its still rather fluid leh.... but it juz seems like he always has a hard time trying to poo!!!

and he only poos once a day.. sometimes even once in 2 days!!!! is that too little mommies?

Sha

if u did not express or latch bb, u dont feel any engorgement ??

Dun worry, if it's for a few days it shld be ok. try to maintain the pattern again and your supply will be back

emoments

i started eating ice cream after confinement. cant stand the tempation !

michelle

if i go out with bb, I will latch her on and not give EBM. Cos if i still give EBM, my boobs will be v full of milk leh .. v uncomfy.

cereal

ur gal is soooooooo cute ! she seems to enjoy her bath ah ?
i'm not shaving bb's hair cos my gal's hair is fantastic !! everyone loves it !

btw my gal hates bathing and she cry without fail during bathing. Yest a neighbour of mine said her gal was like that too. Then she told me that she dont remove her mittens during bathing time cos bb want to hold on to something in their hand and that will solves the problem.

and guess what, today I tried out on my rachel and it works !! she was so happy during bathing time ! hmm hmm ... i will try out again tmr !

Eling

My fridge-to-go is this model :
http://www.fridge-to-go.com/products_detail.php?product_id=38f1e0aed28142053d4f87697ac8c1a0&cat_id=a806f07ee3bd901169f8e30462be727b

I got it for $38 from this forum BP. It is tall enough to take in baby bottle.

today brought my gal for 6-in-1 jab. And she took the jab for rotavirus as well. so 2 jabs on both thighs. she put on another kg today so she weighed 4.5kg wif length 57cm.

so happy that my BM is effective on her !! she almost double her wt at 2mths !! hipppppeeee!

btw pd says it's normal for bf babies to poo once in a few days as they grow older.

ilovebabies,
guess what? i will try the mitten trick too! missed bathtime today, so will definitely give it a try tomorrow... hope it works... DN hates bathtime too... unlike Keira, so calm and happy!

DG,
yeah! let me know when u start ur playgroups. DN and i would LOVE to go
, even if i do go back to work, we can pop by when i take leave
i can bake a mean brownie! hahahaha...

princessemma,
don't worry it's normal
some mums get their period even while BFg and i read tt the first few times, the cramps are supposed to be worse than they were pre-pregnancy.

edksd,
i bring out fridge ebm (if there's available stock!) if not, thawed ebm from the freezer.

emoments,
if i can choose, i will marry vanilla ice-cream! YUMS! all this talk abt ice-cream is making me crave a vanilla milkshake... have u tried the Carl's Jr one? It's really really good! The MOS burger one is also good!

I'm such a greedy pig... how to lose weight?????

ilovebabies..my gal will also cry during bath time la.. just so my hubby successfully made her bath especially shiok that day so she did not cry haha...

DG, wah dun forget me too if ur playgroup occurs on a weekends.. ...

hmm..since all of us are on maternity leave now.. i wonder if we shld organize a meet-up since most/all of us have completed our confinment???

Chng's wife

ya in fact from 6 weeks onwards, babies can take the 6-in-1 jab.

joon
hehe let me know if it works on Der nen hor !

for me, given a choice I would marry Choc Ice cream and Durians ! hahah prob durians as concubine ! dunno how to lose weight as well ? Why is it that sinful food carries so much calories !

hi ilovebabies, me too! i dun take out the mittens until the last part where i'll wash his hands before bringing him out of the tub. he never cry for once. i tried this method coz last time parentcraft said bb wants something to hold on in their hand and i dun hv an extra pair of hand of him to hold on so i left the mittens on. it works!