(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

PrincessEmma,
Aiyo assignment for your part time degree. . .that would be tough . . hehehhee. . .unless you have someone to help you to look after him lor. They would like to carry, entertain when they are awake most of the time.

It would be very very taxing on you.

PrincessEmma,
Try doing it that half a day for a one or two days in a week to let him try it out as he would need to be there whole day after three months mah.

This way you can have some time to yourself as well and not too stress as well.

PrincessEmma,
Try doing it that half a day for a one or two days in a week to let him try it out as he would need to be there whole day after three months mah.

This way you can have some time to yourself as well and not too stress as well.

emma
oh...so hv to hold the pacifier there for him 1st ah? i scared wait he get used to it then i hv to keep holding forever! ok.. tonite if need to i will try again. as for ur breast pump, mebbe u try to do manual expression first for now to let ur cut heal first? it's really more siong but if wanna keep up the supply (and avoid engorgemt!) need to express some milk out rite?

my son when awake will want someone to play/talk/carry him. he wont play by himself one - very few babies are so independent! i think all of them need the attn and wanna be closen to us
does enzo sleep well thro the nite? otherwise how come he only zzzz 30 min in the day after each feed? newborn shd sleep more than that rite

i am also a mtb in early may next year. i am looking ard for a good confinement nanny and wonder if anyone of you will recommend yours? I am a first time mum and intend to breastfeed so need to have a probreastfeed CL.

can email me at [email protected] or private message me.

U guys know where I can shop online for nursing bra? I prefer padded one. The cheapo one I got from Metro (eternity) brand is flimsy and make me look like an auntie! Although it has served me well.

princessemma,
if my bb is awake, i will let her play with herself until she's bored and started crying, then i will just talk to her and pat her to sleep. if my hubby is around, he will carry her around and she will keep quiet and stare at everything. You express milk got nipple bleeding problem? What pump did u use? Stay out of cheapo pump. It's too painful!

e-ling,
thanks for sharing that FAQ! very useful!

who ask about pacifier?
my bb is already on it before 1 month. i noticed after diaper changes that she like to suckle and she get annoyed when milk comes out of my nipple so i gave her the pacifier and it solves the problem. of course, once she gets into deep sleep the pacifier will be spitted out. we got the NUK one, it's supposedly not harmful to their teeth and gum development.

sha,
speaking of feeds. this noon i express 6oz of milk and give it straight to my mom to feed my bb and went to do my stuff. when i came to check on them, i look in horror as my bb gulp 4oz of milk!! I told my mom bb only take slightly more than 2oz leh, at most 3oz!! So i told her to stop giving her the milk. my bb did not cry and falling asleep already so when my mom tried pushing the bottle to her she closed her mouth shut. I guess, if i didn't stop her, my bb could've swallowed all 6oz of milk liao! But of course, I'm scared she will vomit out more milk!

On the plus side, my bb can now sleep for 3hrs stretch and once in a while, 4 hours. Woot!

Thanks mummies for warm welcome back.

chng's wife, hee hee... and i think dumpty's bb was born on my wedding anniversary..
next time my Nicholas can celebrate with you and your hb, yeah?? :p

cereal, edksd, melissa, thanks for replying re.. when to do massage. I also a bit scared of doing it too early. I may even wait till 4 or 6 weeks, but I wonder if there will be any positive effect by then. But what the heck, only $150, so maybe will do lah..

emma, normal for bb to drink same amount for a while.. imagine if the amount really increases 30ml every week, how much they will be drinking at 5 months!! so don't worry.

melissa, true that if you express a lot, you will feel more engorgement than when you were DBF only. Previously as Marcus won't latch, I had to express 100% and to maintain supply, i express a lot, so i felt engorgement every 3 hrs.. like what some mummies said, they wake up to express as can feel pain. This time, I hardly express as trying to DBF 100% so supply will meet demand. I am not concerned about insufficient supply as during growth spurts, just need to feed more frequently.

BABY PICTURES
Aiyo, so many cute bb pictures. All the pictures posted are really adorable.. sorry mummies, too many to name each one, but I enjoy looking at them all.. keep them coming, okie..

SIBLING RIVALRY
Those with more than 1 child, anyone can share experience here? My Marcus is not taking the arrival of Nicholas very well leh.. and that affects me A LOT! I really miss my Marcus though he is around at home all the time, but since i gave birth, he has been sticking to his papa like glue and has severe separation anxiety from him. He hardly wants to cuddle or kiss me which he used to do very affectionately. Also i have noticed him becoming quite angry and started kicking things when he gets upset, something which he never did.

MAID
Mine has been with me for 5 months.

E-ling, thanks for sharing the answers you got from the BMSG. It is reassuring to me that their replies confirm my understanding.

My bb kept pulling his head back after a few suckles so i had to keep my hand on his neck to prevent him from pulling back... but he will exert so much force and use all his might to push me that he turns all red in the face and neck.. so poor thing and so tiring for me.. did your bb do that before?

Melissa,
hehehehe. . .so happy to see the baby finish the 4oz of milk right???

I am so delighted when my baby managed to finish 4oz of the milk and also sleeps thru 4 hour as well. This means she is growing well and healthy.

I tried it out during the night feed as she sleep longer and more soundly. According to mine own study (monitor my baby) when the Sherilyn goes into deep sleep they tend to drink more milk during the feeding time and she would tend to sleep longer as well.

Michelle.. ya.. have to hold there for a while.. i did that for enzo at the beginning... now he will suckle till he zzz then spit it out... hehe...

melissa... me using the avent isis iq uno lehz.. dun think its cheapo pump lehz... infact its like the one of the most ex single pumps ard.. haha.. but still cuts my nipple lehz.. no idea why...

Sha.. ya.. will go talk to my nanny later.. see what we can work out... my exams are coming anyways... that'll leave me some time to study...

Chng's wife,
Sherilyn say Thank you. . .I am a girl mah.

Who can cope or to said manged well with in-law??? . . .hehehehe. . .just bear with it and things will get better lor. Think postive like you have a loving hubby a health baby etc. . .and most important please do be unhappy about in-law and get all those blue blue stuff. . .okie.

chng's wife,
it should be "please do keep yourself happy and dont worry or stress or be unhappy over things with your in law" let them be.

Sha, it's easier to be said than done...staying with in-law is seriously no joke man. No baby everything ok, now with a baby they try to find fault with everything, even how I test e temperature of milk also got prob! Still got to endure till my hse is ready...die...

Chng's wife,
When is your house ready??? What my sister did she rent a house with HDB till her house is ready she too do not want to stay with in laws it is not that they are bad but ways of doing are different lor.

I understand what you mean. If not want you can do is tell your hubby that you need a break and want to bring baby back to your mummy's house to stay for a couple of days since you are on 3 months leave. . .something like that lor. . .

Chng's wife,
I KNOW WHAT U MEAN! Alamak... my MIL is also driving me nuts! She is superstitious beyond belief. She's like just stepped off the boat from Swatow. "This cannot... that cannot... cannot say this... cannot say that..." It's so irritating coz I grew up in the least superstitious family in the world. But what to do? We cannot say anything right? Must be the good daughter-in-law... must keep the peace... *aiyah!*... have u told ur hb abt ur frustrations? It helps if u do. I kept quiet the 3 wks after giving birth, then when I finally cannot tahan, I poured everything out to my hb and cried and cried... nothing changed lah, but I felt much better!!

my happy hours is almost up . .. need to go pick-up my little princess.

Chng's wife,
dont worry too much just bear with it for the time being lor. So no more cooking for tonight??? hehehehe. . . .

Joon
you too stay with your IN LAW??? Dont cried lah. Coz some day we too will be in laws as well. Just hope that we remember and dont be the pain their butt. . .hahahaha

Sha,
That picture is so funny! Can u imagine what Sherilyn will say when u show her tt photo again when she's 16 years old??? hee hee hee...

Birth Story

9th Oct
8am: noticed browny discharge and had slight menses like cramps on lower abdomen. Also slight lower backache. But still bearable.

noon to 5pm: more browny discharge but now pain is almost gone, except for a dull lower backache. So decided to go out for dinner (BIG MISTAKE)

8pm: Ordered food, then big menses-like pain and starting to have strong contractions every 20min.

9pm: reached home, shower quickly as contractions got stronger. Timed it and was shocked that interval is every 10 min.

1030pm: At TMC labour ward, was told my contractions were every 3 min BUT only 1cm dilated. I was both shocked and disappointed as pain was so getting unbearable.

1230am: contractions getting stronger but still 3min apart. I was all alone in labour ward as hubby was kept waiting to do admissions (ridiculously stupid!!)
Midwife and nurses kept asking me to consider epidural since i was in so much pain. And one of them said "with epidural, you can relax, so your cervix should dilate faster".
After a while, I gave in and asked for epidural.

130am: Gynae turned up and checked that my cervix only opened 1.5cm!! I almost cried from disappointment. Contractions intensity remained same but now is 6min apart (donno why)! Gynae told me to go sleep and let uterus do the work.

7am: Gynae checked and cervix only opened 3cm. Was told nothing much can be done as i had previous c-sect, except to let uterus do its work.

3pm: Gynae checked again and cervix only opened 5cm! Baby's head had crowned a little, but seemed stuck. So he suspected very big head/baby and with stubborn cervix, no point continuing suffering.
He was very empathetic and consoled me that I had tried my best and it has been 19hrs labour, so even though baby's heartbeat was healthy, but he recommended c-sect. I was so disappointed and tired, I just cried and cried.

4.16pm: Baby Nicholas was delivered via c-sect. He was 3.69kg and 51cm long.

Joon,
Mummy I am soooooooo sexy wish I had a waist like that and drink like a fish??? . . .hahahaha. better dont drink like a fish I hope!!!

You still BF??? Me start to giving FM as I was not free the past week so my MIL give her FM.

Sha,my hse need another 2 to 3 yrs...I bought build to order from HDB. Stupid rite?

Joon, u also hving prob ah!?! I hv been sobbing since confinement till now. Speak to hubby le, but come to think abt it...it's kind of pointless cos he can't do anything also.

DG,
Don't be sad ok? Nicholas is finally here and he's healthy!
The fact that u bore with the pain for so long shows what a wonderful mummy u are!

Sha,
Hahahaha! Ya better don't drink like a fish! How come u need to go pick Sherilyn up? U outside? Yup, still BFg... now not so difficult or painful... whoppee!

Chng's wife,
Yup, it's pointless to speak to hb. No one can do anything coz we must still respect them right? But it just helps to get it off ur chest. Don't bottle it all up inside. Like Sha said, one day we'll be MILs!!!

Know what I can't stand though? How she ALWAYS has the answers for everything and she is always right. ARGGGHHHHHH... !!!

melissa,
would u mind adding my details.

deliver date: 13/9
hospital: KKH
name: Rui-en
weight: 2.7
delivery method: natural w/o epidural
baby # 1
feed method: FM,DBM and EBM

Hi E-Ling
Thanks for replying to my query. I felt better with yr feedback about Dr Koh. I am also staying nearby too and I really prefer not to go somewhere far...btw, the bf tips were useful too. all the best to yr bf! cheers

hi chng's wife n joon,
i'm staying with my mil too but I take care of baby myself only let mil carry him occasionally when she's @ home but I do stay ard when she carry baby cos I realised tat they can do real 'funny' thgs to our precious baby!!! As we r more educated therefore there's lots of difference in e upbringing of baby so I will still keep my stand & tell her wat is correct. eg. she ask me to give baby water when baby hipcups, so I tell her don't need!! yesterday I saw her using a tissue paper trying to push into baby's nose to take out his 'nose shit'!! lucky I saw it n stop her on time n tell her I will come out when he sneezes!!! ridiculous rite!!! now I got to stay with baby even when other ppl help me to carry him cos u won't know wat they will do although sometimes is out of good will.
she might feel offend but I just wanna let her know I wanna bring up my baby my way... since i'm taking care of him fully!!!

elaine, I cannot sit with my mil when she's carrying BB. I'll get very very frustrated seeing e way she talks or do to e BB...so I usually walk away after passing e BB to them. Anyway, I can't correct her in any way also...She feels tat she's educated cos last time she's one of those English educated one u know and she's one of those typical Cantonese! She actually expect me to eat confinement food for 100 days...can u imagine?

elaine, r u a SAHM? I'm alsotaking care of BB fully now...but eventually got to go back to work. So I guess I somehow got to let go...

hi chng's wife,
I have apply for no-pay leave next yr but after taking care of baby for two months I find tat is really no joke.. now I wish to go bac to work n send baby to nanny... but hubby don't want cos can't bear to part baby n find it troublesome to bring him home everyday if my aunt helps to take care cos she staying at tamp & i'm @ ubi. hai... mil voluntary to take care but I don't want so no choice I will continued to take care of him & become sahm...

Sha,
I don't stay with my ILs, but they come over everyday to "play" with the bb. I know tt my MIL wants us to move in with her though... jia lat!

Elaine,
The same thing happened to me! My MIL wanted to give the bb water. I quickly told my hb our foremilk is very diluted and bbs don't need to drink water. But becoz my MIL is so headstrong and is used to everyone listening to her and doing things her way, he gave in and gave her water to give the bb. Damn fed up man!!!

Chng's wife,
I also leave the room when my ILs are around. What I don't see won't hurt me right? Since I cannot do anything, (or say anything) I'd rather not see it! 100 days!!!!! OMG! And I thought I was jia lat when my MIL said 40 days! Alamak... so how? U going to follow? That's more than 3 months u know!

What drives me crazy abt my MIL is how old-fashioned and superstitious she is. U know that she covered up the mirror on my bb's mobile? And when my hb and I pasted a black and white picture of us on the bb's crib, she took it down coz black and white picture is like an obituary. What the hell! I want to tell her tt bbs see black and white best, but my chinese is so rotten I surely say the wrong thing!

Elaine,
Don't worry!
Life with bb just gets easier and easier as the months roll by, and it'll get more fun! Now they cannot talk, or do very much, but soon, u and Zhaohui will be having loads of fun playing at home!
I think u made the right decision to be a SAHM. Nothing beats a mother's love and a mother's care!

I initially planned to go back to work end-Jan, but now, I'm seriously thinking of quitting to be a SAHM. Coz the original plan was to bring the bb to my MIL everyday when I return to work. Alamak, now, I'm super protective over this little baby and don't want to let her bring him up!!! Howhowhow???

joon, hahaha. We r having e same thought. Quitting and staying @ home to be SAHM. But I think I'll go crazy if I'm to face my MIL everyday...so forget it. I'm goin to endure till my house is ready. By then BB will be 2 yrs old oredi. Bo bian...I did not follow her 100 days thingy...my hubby made noise at her when he knows abt the 100 days!! I almost died when she did my confinement for me...how to endure for 100 days! Can u imagine I hv been eating vegetarian bee hoon for breakfast everyday during confinement??

elaine, u staying with in-laws? If yes, u are very wei-da. I can't wait to step out of e house man... At times, i feel like going out alone w/o e BB. But...hai...u see e little innocent face, can't bear to leave her alone with them.

Joon,
I am at home, but my baby is at my MIL house today there is some renovation work to be done so baby went over this morning lor.

My hubby brought this house with the thot the in future my MIL will come stay with us. . .as of now I dont care and dont wish to think that much as well.

Now I am carry my baby in the sling and chatting . . . hehehehe. . .she is asleep.

hi chng's wife,
ya i'm staying with my mil & 2 sil cos my hubby is e only son so no choice but to stay together but e house tat we r staying belongs to me n hubby... hubby wanted us to stay together so I told him we buy a new house then they come to stay is better than I moved into their old house then I will be like a stranger...so now at least i'm e owner of e house n they r staying under my roof..
anyway I always bring baby with me never leave him with her.

chng's wife
my ILs, SIL & BIL staying wif us. so i am no better fr any of u. if there is any consolation, yes, my ILs r nice folks but alrdy i can forsee we will hv conflicts when it comes to raising kids, and i bet my life they will spoil my boy rotten. getting worried...

Elaine,
hi-5! same as u, the flat is ours but many pple keep saying we r staying wif ILs when its the other way round.

din realise tt a few of u mummies r "trapped" like me...

seems all the conflict is with MIL huh. think my case abit strange cos conflict wif my own mom! she wants me to bring up my son the way she did wif us - so difficult to make her understd that we hv different styles. like 1 of u said, they way they do things last time is different fr the way we wanna do things now. sigh... and she is also very headstrong and always insists tat her way of doing things is right so i HAVE to follow her. she even told me that i shdnt bathe my son cos he is so fragile n that someone else shd do it for me??! i mean, then i;ll never learn rite? n once u miss this momemnt of his life, we;ll never be able to get it back cos they r just growing everyday... anyway i think things r sligtly better now (i hope!) cos i told her nicely tat i need to learn 2b a mother myself and tat she needs to 'let go' of me and see me as an adult and not her baby girl anymore.

i am feeling tired and definitely sleep deprived but i tell myself after these 2 mths, i will not hv the opporunity to care for him 24 hrs a day anymore cos i will be goin back to work. so wanna make best use of this time to bond wif him as much as i can

emma
how's ur breast now? hope the bleeding has stopped. someteims i oso feel like giving up cos expressing milk makes us so busy! so let's give each other support n encouragemt to carry on yah!

Sha

ur hubby v notti ah !! but sherilyn look so different now !! why ah ? they changed so much hor ! now she dont resemble you or ur hubby leh .. got her unique look oredi ...

eling

thanks for the BF info .. very informative indeed !

gals,

whenever there is a new member in the family, there are bound to have conflicts. Even some couple have conflicts on bringing up the kid... so it is quite expected to have arguments with ILs or even parents. I guess we just have to give and take and compromise. Everybody's intention is to make sure bb grow up well right ? Just relax lor .. there's nothing much we can do. We dont want our kid to grow up in a unhealthy environment ...

elaine (paulnelaine),
same here, i plan to stay at hm for 6mths, but now I perfer working than taking care of baby. driving me nuts!

Sha,
I am on BF and FM. Bb was 49cm during birth. Now, 53cm. Slightly overweight.. but PD say nothing to be alarmed.. their weight will go down once they reach 3 months. So i continue feeding him as usual. Abit chubby lor.. haa!

Melissa,
My PD is Dr Ngiam Thye Eng from Singapore Baby and Child Clinic.

Eling,
I introduced to bb pacificer on his 1st month last week. And he hates pacificer. He suck for a while and puke it out.. and started crying even louder than before. I tot pacificer can calm him down or put him into deep sleep but i guess i am wrong. And weirdest thing, he prefer to latch on me and sleep...

Cereal,
Finally got to see your bb girl! Very cute leh!!! Hey, i am coping without my confinement lady. And my mil has been very kind to take care of bb during nite time and i handle the morning. But hoh, yesterday she fallen sick and in the end, i told her i take care of bb during nite time. WOW! buay tahan! damn tired.. haa! He kept making wierd noises and then, i have to carry him, calm him down and put him to bed. ended up, i decided to put him on my bed with me.. and i hug him to sleep.

Chng's wife,
I am also staying with my in laws... hmm, relax okie! Sometimes, in laws get over nervous about grandchildren stuff... I am thankful my in laws are fine... sometimes, she say things that perhaps not pleasing .. but i just one ear in, another ear out! Don't get too over depressed!

ilovebabies,
Choz Confectionery is good! I love it! My colleagues and relatives love it as well. The tarts are not too sweet and I love the chocolate cakes. And I have been eating the chocolate cake.. and yummy!

Good presentation of the food in the boxes as well.. and customer service not bad too lah.

THanks for your recommendation!

domesticgoddess, yah my gal sometimes also kept pulling his head back after a few suckles so i had to keep my hand on his neck to prevent him from pulling back...I am wondering is it becos she is still not hungry but yet her mouth keep searching for sonething to suck leh.

MIL Problems.
I agreed with ilovebabies that sometime we should give and take to avoid problem which will give our kid to grow up in unhealthy environment. As everyone is just wanna to make sure baby grow well but is just that both have different way. Just explain to them and i think they will understand. I should said i am very lucky, haha cos my pil scare of my hubby, they dun dare to argue back when my hubby told them that PD said bf baby dun need to drink water or drink water when they hiccup. Cos they know they wont win when argue with my hubby. My hubby very good at argue as he can said until they got nothing to said. At the same time, my pil very good to me. I will alway remember when i delivered and they came to see me the very first day, the first thing they said to me is "e-ling xin ku ni le". I feel so blessed. And they very support me in breastfeeding but recently they ask me to stop after 3 months becos they saw me to tire and my health is getting worst (look very pale as i got unbalance diet - i got no time to go buy food to eat, always have my meal late) because of breastfeeding. But i only intend to stop after 6months, hope i can tahan until there. Somemore i think they are cleaner than me when came to baby, so i very fang xin to let them take care. They are not that traditional type so not much conflict

Joon,
Alamka your MIL come over every day to play with the baby just bear with it for the time being and your will learn to appreciate it later.

Chinese saying . . . "house got one old is like having a treasure."

Chngs Wife,
I too walk off and does something like prepare the milk, toilet or wash my hand, etc when my in laws carry my little princess, take it easy and think positive as what Littlpony say "dont get too depressed over it". I always tell myself learn to let go, life is like a box of chocolate. . .hahahaha. . . which is true sometime it is sweet and some is quite bitter lor.

Which location will your new house be at???

Littlepony,
So how much do you feed him now???

I am so happy this morning my little princess managed to finished 125ml and sleep for 4 hours since 11pm last night, wake up at 3am and 7am for her milk . . . yippy.

On 02 October, she weight 4.3kg and on 16 Oct she weight 4.6kg, she is growing strong and healthy.

Ilovebabies,
Yes her features are changing and I keep asking her and myself who she look like lor. I hope she took the best features of daddy and mummy . . . hahahaha. . .maybe my eyes and what of the father . . hmmmmmmmmmm. . . the brain of the father sound brilliant right??? My hubby is smarter than me. That is why he married me being one of the smart moves as well. . . hahahaha.

Some of my friends say she has my face shape.