(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi ladies, thanx for the suggestion. Hmmm... I like the idea of hiding the FM :D kekeke... Lemme do that when everything is peaceful in the afternoon :p

pig2, I must say your milk supply is the envy of most of us here leh. After feed still can pump out 50ml? After feed I can at most manage 20-30 ml. Sometimes got so fedup I dun bother to pump and just wait for his next feed. Anyway I don't get that hard and painful feeling anymore now
I really think my milk supply dwindling. Gotta try out the supplements leh!

hey anyone here thinking or oredi bot a bb carrier? i wanna get those tat carry in the front one - like ergo or baby bjorn. any comments on which brand is better?

pig2
u got v gd supply and ur bb's drinking habits r real gd! my boy has been cranky the last 2 nites till i was too exhausted to even chg his diapers. luckily my hb saw me so tired, he helped out.
i tried to pump out the same breast aft latching my boy, not much supply leh.

poo alot is the best! i worry when my boy dun poo enuff man.

dumpty
gd luck to ur "hiding mission"

my boy is now quite noisy when he latches on, esp at nite, he will make grouchy noises, sometimes like got a lot of phlegm. sigh... wondering issit coz of the haze.

hi all mums, im from oct thread
my confinement nanny called last min to say that her mother in law has passed away and she will not be able to help me

wonder if anyone of you has any gd nanny to recommend? i m delivering next week

e-ling, err ur question ... i presume shld be 24hr starting from the time u bring it down from freezer to fridge....but before u u give ur bb drink taste it first to make sure ur BM did not turn sour

e-ling, the tiny ice ... is in the milk or outside? how do u freeze them? got air tight bo?

rainnie and ilovebabies, what i know is that when we transfer the frozen milk to fridge, it will take more than 12 hour to defrost leh so which mean less than 12 hrs upon the milk defrost we have to finish up the milk ah?

The tiny ice is inside the milk, the milk that i kept it the fridge, some of it start to turn into ice, is it because my fridge is too cold? Then can that bottle of milk still be use? The other bottles is ok leh. So funny

Another question, when we warm up the milk right, my girl will sometime take longer than an hr to finish up the milk. So i wanna know upon warming up the milk and while baby is drinking the milk, the milk can last for how long huh before i will spoilt?

And i normally take more than an hr to express my milk, so the expressed milk in room temperature while i expressing the milk, the milk can last for how long huh?

Chng's wife, how heavy is your baby now, she is very cute and look very chubby leh. How old is she now? Are you total breastfeeding also?

E-ling, why do u take more than an hr to express milk leh? by right...express shld not take too long. shld take abt 15-20 mins per breast?

huh? why u keep in fridge it turn into ice? Fridge not freezer hor? by right fridge shldnt have such a problem. Might be ur fridge is too cold loh....

after warming the milk ..1hr later u shld discard oreadi....for my case abt 45 mins if my baby refused to drink liaoz i will discard cuz no longer warm liaoz....

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>Delivery Date</TD><TD>Paediatrician</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>Weight (Kgs)</TD><TD>Delivery</TD><TD>Baby #</TD><TD>Feed Mthd </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">;) (ilovebabies)</font></TD><TD>30</TD><TD>19-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Rachel</TD><TD>2.41</TD><TD>natural birth w/o epidural</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">elaine</font></TD><TD>27</TD><TD>20-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Ong Eng Keow</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Zhaohui</TD><TD>2.385</TD><TD>induced &amp; assisted (forcep) delivery w/epidural </TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBF &amp; DBF </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Mrs Chng</font></TD><TD>26</TD><TD>21-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jordan Chng</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">E-ling</font></TD><TD>25</TD><TD>21-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Edmund Koh</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Amabel Loh</TD><TD>3.005</TD><TD>natural birth w/o epidural</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>DBF &amp; EBM </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Amylim</font></TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Julian</TD><TD>3.5</TD><TD>emerg. C-sect</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">lichristin</font></TD><TD>30</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Chloe</TD><TD></TD><TD>natural birth WITH epidural + forcep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">77(peachie)</font></TD><TD>29</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Clarence</TD><TD>3.3</TD><TD>C-sect WITH epidural</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">pjen</font></TD><TD>27</TD><TD>01-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>2.52</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Elle</font></TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>2.86</TD><TD>VBAC</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">joon</font></TD><TD>31</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Keoy Soo Shin</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Denen</TD><TD>2.89</TD><TD>natural birth w/o epidural</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>DBF &amp; EBM </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Sha</font></TD><TD>33</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Sherilyn</TD><TD>3.185</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">*sasha*</font></TD><TD>24</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Joseph Gomez</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Saarah Anisha</TD><TD>2.65</TD><TD>VBAC</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">bjiou (bjiou)</font></TD><TD>31</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3.095</TD><TD>natural birth WITH epidural</TD><TD>3</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Jasmine Lau</font></TD><TD>28</TD><TD>03-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Jadelle</TD><TD>3.19</TD><TD>naural assisted with epidural</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Olsen (sandi)</font></TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>2.895</TD><TD>natural wtih assisted forceps delivery</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">elmo88</font></TD><TD>27</TD><TD>05-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3.43</TD><TD>natural bith w/o epidural</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Ming_liew</font></TD><TD>29</TD><TD>06-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>induced &amp; natural birth w/o epi</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Emma</font></TD><TD>25</TD><TD>06-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Enzo</TD><TD>3.09</TD><TD>c-sect with GA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">forgetmenot</font></TD><TD>29</TD><TD>06-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>90% girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Bena</font></TD><TD>28</TD><TD>07-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>2.65</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Hellobaby</font></TD><TD>29</TD><TD>08-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Claire</TD><TD>3.4</TD><TD>emerg. C-sect</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Little Pony</font></TD><TD>29</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Wayne</TD><TD>3.15</TD><TD>Natural birth WITH epidural + vacuum</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>DBF &amp; FM </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Chng's wife</font></TD><TD>25</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD></TD><TD>natural birth w/o epidural</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">edksd</font></TD><TD>29</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>None</TD><TD></TD><TD>C-sect WITH epidural</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Cereal06</font></TD><TD>32</TD><TD>13-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3.15</TD><TD>emerg. C-sect</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">rainnie</font></TD><TD>26</TD><TD>14-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Ning Xuan</TD><TD>3.075</TD><TD>Natural birth WITH epi + vacuum</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Melissa (veryhappy)</font></TD><TD>29</TD><TD>14-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Gong Wei Kin</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3.185</TD><TD>natural birth w/o epidural</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBF &amp; DBF </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">melody999</font></TD><TD>31</TD><TD>15-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Xin Yun</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">puppylove</font></TD><TD>32</TD><TD>17-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Trinity</TD><TD>2.9</TD><TD>natural + vacuum</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">emoments</font></TD><TD>31</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD></TD><TD>emerg c-sect</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Mummie_of_Rhys</font></TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Rhys </TD><TD>3.82</TD><TD>Induced+Natural birth with Epidural.</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>EBM &amp; FM </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Angeline</font></TD><TD>30</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Trinity</TD><TD>2.55</TD><TD>emerg. C-sect WITH epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">dumpty</font></TD><TD>?</TD><TD>21-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Gabriel </TD><TD>2.965</TD><TD>C-Sect with GA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">Domesticgoddess</font></TD><TD>?</TD><TD>10-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Nicholas</TD><TD>3.69</TD><TD></TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">riushiki</font></TD><TD>31</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jaden</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">chocolat (chocolat)</font></TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">daisybuttons</font></TD><TD>28</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jovann</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smileys</TD><TD>29</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>80% girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">pig2</font></TD><TD>33</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="119911">ilcy</font></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr. Gong Wei Kin</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></td></tr></table>

Pumping idiot here.

What's the reason that we have to spend only about 15-20 mins pumping on each breast? And is it normal for one breast to express more milk than the other? When I tried pumping at 11am, my left breast can produce up to 90ml of milk wherelse my right breast can only produce 20ml. That is 1 hour after DBF and I was feeding my bb on my right breast prior. This is my 2nd time pumping. Need to pump b'cos I want to run errand at night and I don't want my mom to give her FM! Hehe. Anyone using Avent ISIS IQ here? Good or not? I want to check out JL's sale.

Chng's Wife,
Wah can really see the progress! Shermaine is so chubby now!! Congrats!

This is my 29 days old girl wearing my aunt's present - custom knitted clothes!

Girls, bring out your baby's latest photos ley I love seeing them all!

543381.jpg

E-ling, I dunno abt my BB's weight leh, haha..nx Thur then see PD. She's one mth + one day old today.
I'm a bad and lazy mother...initially day BM nite FM, now most of e time FM. Anyway, happy to see her growth!!

Hope this helps everyone... (bb sleeping, so got time to do!)

<table border=1><tr><td>Where stored</TD><TD>Temp</TD><TD>How long it can last </TD></TR><TR><TD>Room</TD><TD>25 deg</TD><TD>10 hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>Room</TD><TD>19-22 deg</TD><TD>4-6 hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fridge</TD><TD>0-4 deg</TD><TD>8 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>Freezer compartment in a fridge</TD><TD></TD><TD>2 wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Freezer compartment in a fridge</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-4 mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>Deep freezer at constant temp</TD><TD></TD><TD>6 mths </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Melissa

Please update my boy's details:
Dylan weighing 2.575kg at birth. Now on EBM &amp; FM

Dylan @ Day 1
543429.jpg

A week later
543430.jpg

Michelle,
Yes, u r right.. BM digest faster than FM therefore, don't have to worry if your bb gets hungry every 2 hours or even shorter..

Sha and Ilovebabies,
u know what, Bb Wayne is slightly overweight! Dr Ngiam from Baby and child said that my bb is slightly overweight but there's nothing to be alarmed off. My bb is now 5kg ... his birth weight is 3.15kg... and he is one month and 3 days old today.

Chng's wife,
Drypers is fine.. i am using Drypers but find that the cutting is damn small. Now, I am trying to finish up the S size and i bought M size for my bb.

Emoments,
It's normal for bb heartbeat to beat fast or breathing very heavily. Perfectly normal!

* Just for those who are using Similac as FM, you may find that bb's poo may be slightly greenish ... don't have to be alarmed because Similac contains vegetable therefore, poo may be slightly greenish instead of pure mustard yellow. But it depends on individual bb as well.

Something else I found from http://www.askdrsears.com/html/2/T026900.asp#T026901

<table border=1><tr><td>Type of Milk</TD><TD>Save or dump?</TD><TD>Why </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milk remaining in the bottle that has been offered to baby</TD><TD>Use for next feeding, otherwise discard</TD><TD>Bacteria from the baby's mouth may have entered the milk during the feeding. This may lead to bacterial contamination if it sets too long. (though as yet there is no research available) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milk that has been thawed</TD><TD>Save in the fridge for 24 hrs after thawing, then discard. Do not refreeze.</TD><TD>Milk that has been frozen has lost some of the immune properties that inhibit bacterial growth in fresh refrigerated milk. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milk that has been kept in the fridge for 8 days</TD><TD>Transfer to storage in the freezer, or discard.</TD><TD>Bacterial growth is not a problem, but milk sometimes picks up odours or flavours from the fridge. </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Seems like there's different advice from different books/websites. I guess if we want to play safe, just follow the shortest duration I guess...

joon, yeah think too many different info in the web....0-4 deg? errrr my freezer like ... 6 deg leh! so meaning cannot store more than 2 months? hehee....so really up to individual loh....for some ppl they will use the FBM within 6 weeks...some felt that 2 months are ok..so up to ur own comfy! ;)

Chng's wife, your baby so chubby! And the growth is amazing leh!

Yeah yeah... enoments I also saw the dimples! Sure gonna dazzle a lot of girls when he grows up!

littlepony, your baby's weight gain really quite alot leh. Mine was only 3.38kg when he was 2 weeks old. Today 3 weeks already. Dunno how heavy but I don't think he'll reach 4kg by full month leh.

I have a question regarding the 1st month PD visit. Is it just for the Hep B jab or the PD will conduct the development checks on the baby as well huh? Coz I wonder if I'm going to polyclinic for the jab, would I still need to go for the PD checkup?

emoments
i love your bb's dimples too! its so prominent
btw we hv the same changing mat

i just did a test on EBM. normally when i express every 3-4 hrs i can get abt 100-160ml. just now i had a 2-hr interval only and mng to get only 70ml. so actually no need to pump so often !! hee hee

hi melissa, can u help me update...

PD - dr ong eng keow
bb name - kai
weight - 2.82kg
feed - TBF + cup feed EBM

thanks,

edksd, you can resize photo using irfanview. it's a freeware, can download from here http://www.irfanview.com/

open your photo (jpeg format) with irfanview, goto menu/image/resize

Little Pony, thanks for the info on bb's poo color, i was wondering why my bb's poo greenish in color

melissa,
my jadelle pd is dr. simon ng, i had natural with vacuum delivery with epidural. feeding bb now as FM+EBM + DBF.

me alone at home with bb, so, i latch her on most of the time, after feeding, she sometimes want to be carried. if i put her down, she rest max is 1hr only. plus housework, i really exhausted n any spare time, i try to rest. how to find time to express? i can't express after feed, cos bb wants to be carried for like 1/2 hr..

even if i feed her fm or ebm from bottle, she needs to be carried 1/2 hr min. n dun sleep long. may i ask how u all cope with expressing? i have Avent isis, avent iq uno n iq duo @ home, but the washing n sterilising of pumps are a hassle..and eats into my precious time. i still can't express much, so i have no confidence that i have enough for her so, i tend to give my girl 2 bottles of fm per day of 90ml, though she seldom finish it. Also, i notice she like to pull at my nipple sometimes halfway thru suckling and make frustrated noises, which makes me think she not getting milk, but if i unlatch her, still got milk coming out when i hand express leh.. though not in squrts.

can share with me how u cope with expressing milk?

jasmine
my son, i found out, is very impatient and wheni try to DBF him, he will half suckle and half cry cos the flow is too slow and not consistent like the bottle. so it's not tat there isnt milk - just that they r impatient and since they hv been intro to bottle oredi they know there is an option that's better than DBF cos they dun hv to suckle so hard wif a bottle!

i can understd how challenging it is to find time to express milk. actually if your bb latch on so often u may not need to express milk yet rite? for me, i can express every 3 hrs cos i hardl latch him on.

emoment, i like your babies dimple also. I also got two small dimple (ni wo) but too bad i dun think my girl has it.

rainnie, yah lor i think is becasue my fridge too cold liao. Yes i used ard 1hr to pump both said of my breast, managed to pump out at least 140ml and in the morning first pump i can pump minimum 250ml.
Recently it take me to feed my baby my EBM for ard 1 hr. Cause when she wake up from hunger and we prepare the EBM for her, she will suckle afew mouthful then cry (think she is too frustrate that we prepare the milk so slow, then she angry and fuss refuse to drink for long), then we comfort her liao then give her, again she suckles afew mouth then cry again. Until we managed to totally comfort her till she abit drowsy then she will start to drink. Then it already take abt 1 hr or more by the time she finished the milk. Why huh? Anyone face this problem also? This happen especially at night then after drink she refuse to sleep must wake for afew hr before she guai guai fall asleep.

jasmine, i think your bb not drinking enough each time therefore refuse to sleep until she is really tire and she will wake up very often for feed again. My girl also refuse to sleep until she is really full then she will sleep immediately. Everytime after feed i saw her eye big big then i will prepare some more EBM for her to drink until she is full. Is only recently dunno what happen, even though she is full at night, her eye still big big dun wanna sleep until she is real tire then fall alseep.

Anyone is training your bb to sleep longer at night? Can share with me what method?

i am going to bring my baby for 2nd HepB injection. did u gals buy paoshen for baby to drink first? mix with milk to prevent fever. please advise.

wow, looks like lots fo mummies online the past 3 days, so many postings.

E-ling,
I wonder the same question as you. Whether babies are able to draw more milk out from us than pumps? So far, I feel that the suction from my avent pump is definately stronger than my baby's suckling, so I doubt that. But then again, our bodies may react differently when we have a real baby at our breast. Up till now, I think I will still rely on what we can 'see' and will only be assured that my supply adequate when I see the milk volume after the pumping. Currently still trying to catch up with baby's demand of 90ml every 2 hours. I am using the Avent VIA cups, find them very convenient. I even brought the cups stored with my EBM out one day to feed baby by attaching the teats to the cup. However so far I havent had a chance to store in freezer yet cos like mentioned earlier, Im still trying to catch up with her demands, so no chance to store more than 48 hours. I dont think its a good idea to store our current milk for consumption in 3 months time (even though they will not spoil if frozen). Reason being that the composition of our milk now should be suitable for our 1 month old babies, but perhaps not so when the baby is 3 months old. So maybe its better to consump the EBM in first in first out sequence and store those expressed towards the end of our maternity leave for standby when we return to work.

Congrats to DG. Another big baby. Will definately miss having her around to give immediate advice. Hope she can get back online soon to share her experience.

Joon,
How do you deal with the growth spurt? Do you feed him more often at shorter intervals or just feed him more each time, or both? Do you let him latch on for longer periods or just feed more EBM? Me just curious to learn more and see how I can do better in dealing with my baby's growth spurt too. So far, my pumping still cannot catch up with her demand, so I have no choice but to feed her FM when she is hungry and there is no more EBM left in the fridge. thanks for the baby massage site, will find time to try with Trinity.

zz,
welcome to the thread. Sounds like your baby needs some help to differentiate between day and night. Try having different light settings for her and also a routine to prepare her for night. Like maybe a relaxing top to tail wipe, change into pyjamas and soothing lullaby playing in the background etc...
You may want to consider storing your extra BM for future use. 40 ml is quite alot already. You can combine 2 session of 40ml, to make a 80ml meal on standby, in case you go out in the future and your babysitter can bottlefeed your EBM to baby. To avoid bottle confusion (not all babies have this)you may wish to choose the teats which are designed to avoid this. I am using Avent bottles, but also heard that NUK is quite good too.
For storage of EBM, I am using the Avent VIA cups. I find them very good. Although the packaging says reusable up to 4 times, I have only opened 6 of them so far and have been constantly reusing them for the last 3 weeks. Definitely more than 4 times now. I guess as long as they dont break or leak, should be OK to continue to use right?

Daisybuttons,
Welcome back. Sorry to hear about your long labour, but Congrats on still having the natural birth. What is this nursing tea? Does it really help to increase milk supply? Where can I get it?

Jasmine,
Glad to be of help to you. Why do you have to use the manual pump after the Duo? Is it becos you seem no more output after 10 mins? Maybe you might want to try to stop after 10 mins, take a min break and start again. I did notice when I pump that there are periods inbetween when there is no output, just have to be patient and continue pumping and there will be flow again. This way, you won't have to wash and sterilse another manual pump mah.
But if you really think finishing with manual pump will get extra yield, pls let me know so I can try too.

ilovebabies,
Rachel looks so adorable in those pictures. Babies do grow so quickly don't they. I have a pair of those mittens too.

Michelle,
Me so envious. My 4 am pump only yields 100ml max so far. And throughout the day it's between 60 - 80 ml. sometimes even drop to 50 ml. Each time Ill pump for about 20 30 mins, but there will be a 5 minutes break inbetween to massage breast to generate a little wee bit more milk. Will continue to try to pump diligently, hope supply can increase sooner to catch up with Trinity's demand. She is currently drinking 90 mls, every 2.5 hrs or so and she is 25 days old today, so I think should be alright for your boy to drink every 2 hrs, maybe you can try to increase it to 100ml and see if it lasts him 3 hrs. My gal also poops almost with every feed, I think this is normal of BF babies. I bought a carrier from HK (some Taiwanese brand) but havent used it yet. Felt that it may be too hot to carry her around in it in SGP. So I used a sarong to carry her around the house. Am considering buying a MIM sarong sling, anyone has any feedback on this? What about the babyhugz sling?

Melissa,
Thanks for updating the table. My feeding method is DBF + EBM + FM. Hope to be able to TBF soon. By the way, anyone knows when is the right time to bring baby to PD? So far, we haven't brought Trinty to PD since we were discharge 3 weeks ago. Do we need to go soon, or just wait for time for japs when she is 6 weeks old? I am using the ISIS IQ DUO and find it very comfy and the pumping strength is just OK for me. You might want to consider renting to try it out first buying investing in the purchase. I thinks its also normal for one breast to generate more milk than another. At least this is so for my case. But my breasts are also quite obviously not balance in size.

Sasha,
When you say you feed your gal every hour, is it every hour from beginning of feed or from end of the 30 min feed? I am still trying to figure out what is normal / sufficient for DBF babies. When I DBF my gal, she can latch for an hour (30 mins each side) and may be hungry again within an hour or less from end of feed.

Littlepony,
Im sure you will do fine with taking care of Wayne by yourself. We are all learning hear and with each others support, Im sure well cope. You may want to consider carry Wayne around on a sling so your hands are free and he is still close to you.

Edksd,
I think with a 2 minutes break should still be getting the follow up hind milk. Cos I also take short breaks when I am pumping and the colour of the milk is still thick white when I continue. So I think should be the same when direct BF right?

Pig2,
Wow, you can still pump out 90 mls after feeding your baby! Your milk supply must be really good. I wish I can have half your amount.

Chngs wife,
You must really be feeding your Shermaine very well. See how chubby she has grown in a month!

anyone knows if mummy is having running nose, can we still continue to feed baby with breastmilk? I'm afraid may pass on the virus to my baby. Please advise.

Eling.. u also got niwo ah? me too... enzo has it too.. hehe... but my hubby got dimples... lol... enzo din get the good stuff...

enzo has been realli cranky today.. dunno what's wrong with him.. he vomitted one feed out totally... should i bring him to the pd???
other than when he's zzzing, he's crying.... colic???

Chng's wife,
As wat little pony says Drypers cutting is small. Personally, I dun quite fancy Drypers and in fact any other diaper that has this plastic strip in front where we secure the diaper...

PrincessEmma, I would advise u to bring enzo to see a doctor if u feel he is not behaving the same during the normal days since he is still so young. Y not trying to call ur PD to check if baby enzo is ok.

bijou,
should be no problem. your breastmilk contains antibodies that will give your bb the immunity to fight diseases. imagine that you can still BF when u have mastitis! so other ilness still can. i TBF my bb when i had gastric at that time. no problem so far. she's oblivious to my pain.

chocolat &amp; littlepony, tks for e info. Jus bought 100+ pcs of Drypers Size M @ $22 to try out. The package too cheap to resist...

Sha

Rachel has not taken any jabs yet. It is scheduled after she turns 2 mths old. We are going to see PD next Fri. Hope she dont get fever after that.. quite worrying ..

Eling

yes u r right .. that means you are left with 12 hrs to consume the milk. Ok i just took one bottle from freezer and transfered to the lower deck at 930pm. in addition I put the bottle in a glass of water .. see if it can speed up the defrost process.

After you warm the milk, it is best to consume the milk within 1 hr. Any expressed milk can be left in the room temperature for 4 hours.

Melissa

ur bb looks so girlish in that outfit .. but is it too hot for her ? But I really love the cap or whatever you call that. It's v v v sweet !!

btw my left B can produce more milk than my right B also .. so I also wonder how can i keep up my supply for my right B ?

Littlepony

wah wah Wayne is soooo heavy !!! So FM does makes BB fat hor ?

Bijou

it is fine to BF bb even though the mummy is sick. I was sick a few times too but still BF my bb and she is alright !!

I am also a Sept mummy and would appreciate some advices.

1) My fridge is 6 deg, so that means I can keep my EBM for up to 48 hours. And before this time frame is due, is it alrite that I transfer the EBM to the freezer compartment (which is inside the fridge @ 4 deg) and keep storage for another 2 weeks?

2) Initially, I stored my EBM in the freezer compartment (4 deg) and the EBM get partially/completely frozen. That means all the antibodies are gone, is it? Is this the same as in the deep freezer (0 deg)?

3) And is it necessary to thaw before we warm the EBM (which was partially/completely frozen) taken out from the freezer (4 deg)? Can I just defrost and warm the milk by placing the bottle into a cup of hot water and then let my bb drink?

4) Can mummies comment which is better? 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 vaccination?

5) I am on TBF too and my bb also pulls when he sucks halfway, probably like what michelle said, bb already intro to bottle where the flow is faster. Due to such, I am having sore nipples, is this normal? Or is it cos the latching is incorrect and has got nothing to do with bb's pulling? Beside medela's purelan, is there other more effective and faster healing cream? Cos actually I prefer to latch bb on.

PrincessEmma, i also advice u to brin Enzo see PD. Did Enzo always crying at the same timing, if then might be colic.

bijiou, i did ask my PD this question before, he said can continue to bf unless is fever then we should should until recover. If there is still concern then wear a mask while bf.

Angeline, me too also find that the Avent pump suction is stronger than baby sucking.I am wondering whether the VIA cup can withstand the heat when we warming up the milk.

Yah, when kept the expressed milk in the fridge, the fridge must be how many degree celsius in order to store the milk freshly for 48 hours huh?

Eling

aiyo i also dunno what is the temp of my fridge ! i just make sure I finish the milk in the lower deck within 48 hrs, which usually can be consumed within 24 hrs so not a concern. And to consume FBM wihtin 6 weeks.

ilovebabies, i just place a thermometer in my fridge and it is 8 degree celcius.

When i latch on my girl maybe for 30min and she have been suckle very well that i even heard her swallow the milk in but my breast still feel so full with milk and when i pump i stll managed to pump 60 to 80ml, which is what i normally can pump without latching on before pumping leh. Why huh?

Eling

eh funny .. tot the supply shld be lesser after latching right ? or prob your supply has increased ? and also rem that a pump will not empty our breast as effectively as our bb.

my breast is usually v soft after I latch bb on so I cant advise on this.