(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi, all. i didnt take the bottles from TMC when i delivered, i didnt know i can take from the nursery.
right now, i will use the avent cups i bought first. <joon,>

Nepia at NTUC does not hv newborn &amp; small size i think, i only saw Medium size &amp; Large.

Anyway, yesterday was another sleepless night for me, sigh. we woke our baby girl up at 10pm for her feed, which we then talk to her, keep her awake till 12.30am. Thereafter i gave her the last feed but she simply refuses to sleep after that i had to coax her till 2am. In the end, i tried to swaddle her tight which she did calm down finally. Just wondering when swaddling will our baby get too hot? tho' in confinement, i don't care &amp; turn on the air-con. Is this ok?

Any other mummies can share how they coax their baby to sleep after the last feed?
i'm going nutz with the last of sleep.

hi, all. i didnt take the bottles from TMC when i delivered, i didnt know i can take from the nursery.
right now, i will use the avent cups i bought first. Joon, i will PM you if i interested to get the storage bags fr u, but right now, i'll use the avent cups i bought first

Nepia at NTUC does not hv newborn &amp; small size i think, i only saw Medium size &amp; Large.

Anyway, yesterday was another sleepless night for me, sigh. we woke our baby girl up at 10pm for her feed, which we then talk to her, keep her awake till 12.30am. Thereafter i gave her the last feed but she simply refuses to sleep after that i had to coax her till 2am. In the end, i tried to swaddle her tight which she did calm down finally. Just wondering when swaddling will our baby get too hot? tho' in confinement, i don't care &amp; turn on the air-con. Is this ok?

Any other mummies can share how they coax their baby to sleep after the last feed?
i'm going nutz with the last of sleep.

michelle.. me express 15 mins per side... cos that's all the time i can afford cos i take care of enzo all by myself... so muz be chop chop before he starts to wake up or cry.. hard to find time to pump lah...

Hi vivian and michelle, my baby feeding pattern same as yours leh! He also taking 80-90ml if drinking my EBM. Then wake up every 2 hrs to ask for another feed. He's 3 weeks old today liaoz and I'm starting to worry that my supply is not meeting his demand, especially the CL sometimes dun bother to bring him to me and just go ahead to make FM for him
Now I always try to run to his cot when he cry so that I can be there to tell her I want to feed him.

Ladies, I feel quite upset with my CL. This morning around 4am I wake up to express and I saw she put out the milk I expressed earlier to warm up. When I finished expressing, I saw her throwing the entire bottle of milk away! Gosh! I think she tried to anticipate when my baby wakes up so that he won't scream and cry the whole house down but missed the timing terribly! I so "sim tia"! And she even tried to heat up the EBM on the stove! When I told her cannot overheat she say my baby drinking milk that's too cold and is not good for his tummy. Sigh... ... How huh???

Hi Michelle,

Just realise we have many things in common..heehee

Same hospital, same PD. Not sure if we are neighbours when in hospital, coz mine is only 1 day before yours.
But i'm thinking of going to polyclinics for forward going vaccinations...

I'm also expressing out my BM, Each pump takes abt 15 to 20 min, stop when supply is only left with just drops...

Baby feeds also around 90ml every 2-3 hrs...so i guess most of us are around the same track..
also want to be carried whenever he is awake..more "sek" as he grows older..sigh

Hi Ming Liew,
Can i ask the name of the creame for the rashes?
My baby also has alot on the cheeks &amp; forehead..Thks!

check w u all... PD asked me to let bb suckle on longer on one breast before giving the other so tt bb can get the hind milk.

but the problem is bb often fell asleep before even finishing 1 breast, so ive to keep waking him up. if let's say i detach him from 1 breast for 2min to wake him up and put him back to tt same breast, do u think he'll get the hind milk or is it consider a new flow of fore milk already?

for the rashes on the cheeks and foreheads, is it like pimples? my PD says it's ok, no nd to apply any creme, it'll come and go.

Anyone using Avent VIA cup to store breastmilk in the freezer? If how to defrost the milk huh? can we just heat up the frozen milk that is stored in the VIA cup? Or Anyone using Avent disposable milk bag?

Have anyone started to freeze breastmilk for feed when you all are away for work? Thanks

Hi Mummies, I might be joining this thread too as I will be falling into Oct mum. BUT...

My gynae was supposed to give me 1 week to decide on my birth method (tml is the deadline). As mention in my earlier post, my hb n I have decided to op for c section. However, my gynae c section schedule on every Mon and Fri after 2pm. If I need to choose other day, I need to top up another $500 to $1000 doctor fee (which we find it ridiculous)....

As a result, we left with 4 dates to choose. 16,20,23 and 27. 16 and 20 is definitely out bcos i need time to apply my ML. After consulting a shifu (PIL &amp; hb superitious), the best timing is 23/10/2006. Then my hb called up the clinic to chk, and to our agony, my gynae is gg overseas on 23/10. When I heard this, I was so pissed off. He shld have inform me last week abt his holiday arrangement and Im very angry bcos he set his c section timing so inflexible and yet he still choose Mon for holiday.

Then his staff told my hb that he might ask another gynae to opt me shld i agreed to him. So everything have to be discuss on tomolo. I dun mind having another gynae to opt me, my concern is on the charges. Do I need to pay extra to that standby gynae? Moreover, Ive paid $682 delivery deposit to him when Im 32 weeks (whereby i noe most of the gynae dun collect but deduct thru CPF)

My hb was so pissed off and decided to chk out whether we still can change to another gynae for operation. To our relieve, we can arrange but the problem is, the $682 might be forfeited. So this is the most important part to clarify.....

I thk i might be the first one in history to change gynae at 36 weeks 6 days pregnant, shld the deposit be refund to me. I realli dunno shld i proceed such arrangement and Im stress now. Which mother dun wish to have their children be born on a good date.....

Dunno lah, I was kena "suan" choosing a date instead of gg natural. Bcos it was believe that u change something gd, other things will turn bad....

edksd,
how long did your bb suckle before he falls asleep? i think at least 10 minutes is enough. that's about the time my bb suckle from my breast before she falls asleep and i dont' have to worry about her not having hind milk b'cos her poop color is always yellow which means she is getting enough hind milk. if she's getting too many fore milk, poop color is greenish. monitor bb's poop color. btw, i didn't even bother doing double nursing anymore (offering the other boob) b'cos my bb can't stand the sleepiness hehe. so i always alternate boobs at every feed.

hi eling, as w all other ways of defreezing frozen BM, u just need to transfer the BM from freezer to normal compartment to thaw it. takes abt a day roughly. once thawed, u can pour out the amt u needed into a glass bottle and warm up for consumption.

hi babyjo, every gynae has their own operation day. if u choose another day hv to pay extra. i oso found out recently.

im not sure abt changing gynae whether need to pay extra or not. u signed up the maternity package w ur current gynae already right?

hi eling, although im directly breastfeeding but i still feed my bb some extra EBM, so whatever i pump and store will still be in use now. the earliest date of frozen EBM ive is 8 oct's.

zzprincess,
i have been swaddling my baby since birth. she sleeps better &amp; longer esp after her feeds. but arnd 3wks, i stop swaddling her in the day as she gets hot. she sleeps on her tummy under my supervision wt the fan on.
we also sleep wt the aircon on &amp; we still swaddle her at night although i let her arms free when i wake her up for feeding, then swaddle again after. after her last feed which is arnd 11-1130pm, she sleeps through for 4-5hrs at a stretch. also, we try not to talk to her etc after feeding at night &amp; i will put her in her bed straight after irregardless of whether she is asleep or not. i also feed her wt the night light on.

it's been a long while since i can log on. whoa! now topic on breastfeeding ah! I'm on EBM feeding for my gal and sometimes DBM. My gal refuses to latch on when she is sleepy.

My gal also wants to be carried during the day! I found one solution. PACIFIER! no choice. when i put her down with pacifier she doesnt cry. But when she falls asleep she will throw out the pacifier herself. so i thought not so bad lah... She developed alot of heat rashes when carried too much also. so win win situation lah.

zzprincess,

Try putting her on her tummy on your body to sleep. she sleeps you sleep also..
till after the next feed you put her down.

Mine is the opposite. My gal normal dun fall back to sleep after the feed around 5-6am. I normally just put her on my body and we sleep together for another 2-3 hours. ha!

dumpty
u can just tell ur CL to follow wat u want rite? as in dun give FM if u hv BM! also u can tell her not to try n preempt the bb's eating time - only warm up the milk when the bb is crying lah! its for her own convenience that's y shd does such thing - she's not the one expressing the milk so of course she doesnt care if its wasted. i mean u r paying her so she shd do things ur way rite?!

ilcy
our PD oso steven ng at glenE? didnt realise someone else here got same PD as my son

dumpty i agreed with michelle ... but hor i guess u need to tell her in a nice way .. since she taking care of ur bb .. u dun wan any thing to happen to ur bb while she is taking care loh. how many days more u have to go for ur confinement?

I heard from my colleague the midwife at Mount A will help to massage the breast during Labour time to stimulate breast to produce milk and latch the bb on immediate after birth. Is it true? or we have to ask them to do that? How about those giving birth at TMC? My colleague said the LC at TMC not very good except for Mrs Wong B B.

Joon
i din feel anything thru'out labour except for a few times when i was lying in the same position for too long, i cld feel some cramps. so juz had to shift a bit. as i was abt to push, the epidural dosage was lessen so i cld feel mild contractions, and cld feel i was pushing but juz w/o pain. it helped as the midwife put a mirror to show me how was my progress and i was so encouraged when i saw my baby's head alrdy at the entrance!

dumpty
dun think its advisable to heat EBM over the stove. my CL juz warm it up in a cup wif the btl inside. u need to b firm wif ur CL. tell her its not the correct way to do it, and she shld listen to u.

ops, bb crying alrdy... gtg...

JJ
i think there r only 2 LCs in TMC, Mrs Wong &amp; Margaret. personally i like Mrs Wong better.
she is friendly, approachable and v encouraging.

Got doubt on frozen expressed milk. If i thaw the frozen milk by placing it on the warm water, after it defrosted can put back into the refrigerator for another 24hrs as i read from somewhere else? When placing it on warm water to defrost then the milk will not be cold anymore then still can kept in refrigerator for 24hrs meh? Quite confuse leh.

eling
wat i learn fr this forum is that u cannot put back into the fridge EBM that has oredi been warmed up .. so u shd only warm up the amt u need - and if u dun use tat warmed up EBM within 1 hr, u need to discard it as well. cannot reheat to feed bb again after 1 hr and oso cannot put back in the fridge

Actually I've told her before rgd the stove thingy. Is not the first time she did that and I've already told her cannot do that to warm up the milk. But she say is faster that way and she complain that my fridge is too cold! Already minimum liaoz! Sigh... ...

As for preparing FM, I try to take it that she's trying to help me get more time to rest coz she say she saw me sleeping that's why she go ahead to make FM. But now I try to stay awake as much as I can so that I can reach the baby first. But hor, I think my milk supply dropped already. Today baby is like on my breast from 1pm to 5pm, non-stop. In the end, she want to make him sleep and made FM for him when I asked her to look after while I go toilet (yeah... no time for me to go toilet today) Lost to her again... Sigh...

I've got 1.5 more weeks to end of my confinement. Can't wait for it to be over then I won't have anyone looking over my shoulder saying all the things I don't want to hear...

My baby also having the rashes on his face and forehead. Got cream from PD but it works on his neck and back but don't seem to work for his face.

dumpty, rashes on the face takes a longer time to go....in fact, for my bb, it's been a mth alrdy can see it's getting a lot better but not fully recovered yet. At times when u touch the skin can still feel pimply...

dumpty
u shldnt feel stressed like tt. how can "compete" wif ur CL and u try to stay awake so u can BF ur baby? sthg wrong wif ur CL. like tt u r v tired and hv no peace of mind as u r always on the alert. u hv to do sthg abt it.

ur CL shld listen to u... dun wanna make u feel more stressed liao. better discuss wif ur hb to see wat can be done.

sha, I find nepia is juz as good as pampers and mamy poko....my personal opinion. I've tried a few other brands like drypers, pet pet, huggies...cos got a hamper of diapers from my co that time..hee..so all in all..nepia is comfortably good for its price.

dumpty
pls dun stress urself out over the CL. anyway left 1.5 wks more so just bear wif it till the end. unless u wanna fire her now but then still gotta pay her 1 wk compensation rite? or else just let her finish the mth n then next mth onwards when u hv less stress u can BF ur bb. like dat very hard to increas ur BM cos u r stressed out trying to compete wif that silly CL! hang in there ok?

chocolat
i think if taking 6 in 1 then no need to take the 2nd hep b shot rite?

e-ling, to thaw FBM u put them in the fridge when u need them jus take out and warm them. but make sure u use the thaw FBM within the next 24 hrs-48hrs. once BM is warm...u cant re-fridge them anymore...and no more re-heat them becuz baterial will grow and its not gd for baby,...

hi dumpty,
i agreed with babyZucchini, how can u let ur CL control u??? u pay to engage her to help u not engaged her to give u more stress. maybe u can try keeping e tin of FM away then she cant find got to "guai guai" pass e baby to u.
talk to ur hubby n find out a good way to tell ur CL cos is so so stressful for u to stay awake just to wait for baby to cry for feeds!!! u should rest more not Stress more.
take care

michelle, yes 6-in-1 alreadyinclude hep b...so no need liaoz. But i heard better dun take 6 in 1....chances of getting fever is higher...

hi, dumpty, as what the rest says here, u hv the right to tell your CL what to do, u pay her for her service. No point getting so stressed up, get hubby to speak to the CL. Tk care! :)\

For rashes on BB's face, i just clean gently with cooled boiled water with cotton wool, thereafter pat dry. I can see the rashes on my BB's face slowly clearing up. i think we should just go gentle on cleaning &amp; products, i didnt put any oinment on the rashes.

chocolat, this drypers good??

So, which jab is better? 5 in 1 or 6 in 1?? Our BB will be taking jab on e 1st visit to PD huh?? I'm bringing my BB to PD nx Thur, so I'm suppose to decide 5 or 6 in 1 before going??

my bb is 1 mth old today. yday brought him to PD for hepB 2nd jab as ive decided to take 5 in 1. when bb is 3 mths old, he'll take the 1st dose of 5 in 1.

if u decided to take 6 in 1, u can visit the PD when bb is 2 mths old.

thanks rainnie and michelle for your advice. Btw rainnie you mentioned that the thaw had to be use within 24 hrs, is it 24hrs from the time the frozen milk is totally thawed?

I found that some of the milk i store in my fridge cool until got abit of tiny ice leh, can it still be use huh?

Littlepony

oh wayne is sooo cute and chubby .. he looks so different now !

Sha

i dunno how much is the 6-in-1 from my PD but definitely more ex than polyclinic I am sure.

gals

I am also using lotsa glass bottles from friends. They gave me a lot !! I have abundant of them now .. and I dunno where they got it from. They are mostly NAN and SIMILAC glass bottles.

My Rachel loves to be carried around too .. only when she is in her good mood, she can lie down and goo goo ga ga on her own ... hmm for only 10 mins ! haha .. attention seeker lah !

Eling

I have started to freeze my BM already. But I will try to consume them within 6 weeks as advised by domesticgoddess. So I will freeze the freshly pumped milk and use the FBM. Probably will alternate my gal's feed with FBM. my earliest FBM is 22 Sept.

Eling

i also got the same qn as you .. but I think we shld consume the FBM within 24 hrs from the moment we shift it to the lower deck ? I feel safer this way .. but I will def taste it before i give it to my ger ..

Do you all find your child heart beat like very heavy? My boy always have like very heavy heart beat.. u can see the heart pumping and pumping.... sometimes peaceful but most of the times pumping hard... wonder why?

Hi ilovebabies
I didn't feel it with my palm... but I see it... sometimes the heart like beating very heavy like that... very strange...

My BB feeds every 2 hours during the day from 7am till about 9pm, then after which he will sleeps till about 1am, and the next round of feeding will be 5am! After he finished his feed, he will pull away from my nipples, and fall asleep with a contented smile on his face, then I will change his pampers, cos normally after one feed, he will poo.

I was very worried about BB pooing, it was so frequent! But I check with his PD, he said is normal that BF bb poo often, and in fact is a good sign, meaning he is taking in the BM well, jus have to monitor the colour!

I dun swadle him since we discharge from hospital, i only wrap his body and leg with diaper cloth, his hands are free to move, so far so good! My mum was saying let the hands move, exercise abit, then wrap the body and leg to prevent "wind". I jus follow her theory, since my nieces and nephew are doing the same thing. We dun carry him that often too, normally after one feed and cleaning up, we will just put him back to his cot.

About half an hour later, I will start to pump out my breast milk, cos if i will to wait till the next feeding time, my whole breast will be very hard and pain. So for a normal night now, i will pump about 3 bottle of 90ml milk, and during the day, about 50ml each interval. I dun keep those EBM, i will discard away, I only store abt 2 bottles of EBM each day, replacing the previous day ones.

Chocolat,
Thanks for the info. . . will go buy one packet and try it out on my baby. I like pampers but they are rather expensive lor. I will go get a packet of Nepia and try it out.

Ming Liew,
Yes, I check with my hubby last night it is S$15 . . .coz I am not paying so it is Free to me. . .hahahahaha. . . .

But I understand that there are one or two jab that is free but I have no idea what it is.

Edksd,
Okie, will go Istean and check it out.

Ilovebabies,
It is ok lah. . .I can check it out but I think the price is not cheap lor. Rachel have 6 in 1 right?? Did she have any fever after that???

alamak i juz opened the drypers S size n realse the cutting is quite small! even smaller than pampers NB - think i better start using all the drypers 1st!

btw another brand wif urine indicator is the toys r us house brand