(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

emoments, ur cervix dilated already ar? By the looks of it, i think my chances of c-sect will be very high lor. My next visit is wed...we'll keep each other posted lah...jia you!

Chng's wife,
swelling all gone? hmm.. i just started big swelling on my feet since yesterday.
Oh.. this is my last week at work. I taking a week off before my edd.. just wanna to rest a bit before the big day.

Cereal,
shiok right! haaa!!!! i took the turkey ham meal yesterday as well. haaaaa... accompanied with ice milo.....geee.. drooling liao!

Oh.. that's nice. I am on 2-bedded. Hubby got reservist so i will be staying alone. Maybe i pop by to see u if we deliver same time. haaaa!!!

sorry ar..emoments..
today really can't tahan liao.. have been thinking of BK croissan wich since sunday leh... haha... but hor.. damn shiok.. eat already like not enough..

melissa..
Ya.. popular means long waiting time..haha. My gynae also very popular.. some more she is expensive
.. and dun have package one. My ante-natal visits cost to date -- i tink will make all of u faint faint .. so far.. around $2900+ ... But she is very experience and I feel comfortable with her ..

cereal, my gynae didn't mentioned leh. Only tell me BB's head is low...and i also forget to ask. Sibeh chiam, i always forget to ask Qn one.

littlepony, old wives' tale is after swelling will give birth very soon rite...hai...doesn't happen to new wife leh. Hhahahahaha. U not having any difficulty walking ard?? My husband always complain I walk very slow...

melissa....
u r partial rite only... Dr Adrian W. waiting time is ard 30-45mins..., consultation is short but he is cheaper compared to most of ur gynae.
cos his package can start rite after u confirmed ur preg... n there's unlimited visits throughout e whole preg if got common cold n cough can also see him to get free med

so far he is so good but i just dont like his fast fast consultation but if got any queries he will ans all la....
Oct thread also got so so many MTb under him... weird hor

elaine, agreed tat his consultation time very short. But I think he's experience enuff ba. I was intro by my colleague to see him. Yest when I was at e CCK clinic, a China couple was complaining. The lady jus gave birth...she didn't clean her wound and somehow it got infected. So went back to scream at Dr Adrian... I pity Dr Adrian at times lah. Yest, he look so moody.

Chng wife, when is ur next visit to gynae? must remember to ask whether bb engage already or not.

Mine is tmr check up, i will ask again...sigh.. hope bb engage liao.. coz my tummy keeps dropping lower and lower...haiizz

Chng's wife,
haa. u r like me.. my gynae just say bb head low then i didn't ask further. haaa!!!

Oh.. izzit? after swell means anytime. then u probably be ahead of me!!! heee!!! I still can walk lor. the other day, i walked from chinatown-funan-raffles city-marina-suntec. So amazed with myself.. but of coz, i walk damn slow lah! haaa!! But walking is good for us lor...

Cereal,
think the only one good thing about us in the waiting game is we still can eat what we like.. whereas the rest started with their confinement food liao. ........

Hi Bena

Dun think so, gynea never mention anything abt my cervix.... just say it's suitable for natural birth but due to baby's weight... may not be able to tong so long for natural birth...

cereal, my nx visit is nx Monday~ still got long way to go. Sicaly I give birth over e weekend, then dun need to ask so much liao. Hahahahah. Good tat ur tummy is low, maybe tmr u'll get gd news...Maybe dilated? Mus update tmr, k!

Little pony, u can really walk man! Can't really walk nowadays, always felt pain at V area.

cereal, there's one big list of food tat we can't eat during confinement. Y dun u ask "what we can eat during confinement?" The list will be shorter. Hahahahah

Chng's wife.. haha.. serious ar.. some many things can't eat ar..hehe..
i think i will not bother to much.. abt restricting myself...

ya ar..hope tmr got good news leh... BTW.. do u keep feeling ur tummy and try to figure out what position ur bb is in?? hehe..
I have leh.. touch tummy here and there, now and then... try to figure out...eh.. this part is leg or knee... or body..hehe

Cereal,
Haaaaaa........chng's wife is right! (u make me laugh)... yes, whole list of things can't eat leh! Haa!! during confinement, got to stay out of cold water..things that are too cooling for our body. we need to build up our body so have to take tonics, wine etc. Maybe i can share with you the list of food i take when i do my confinement! haaa! i know some of the dishes r:

pig trotters with vinegar
kidney with ginger
red date drink
fried egg with ginger slices

little pony..
pig trotters with vinegar is OUT for me..haha. Alredy told my mum dun bother to cook tat thing..haha. I hate vinegar..anything vinegar is OUT OUT OUT..hehe

Hehe...cereal, littlepony, anything with vinegar is out for me too! Luckily my mom and mil is not into this pig trotter with vinegar...so i guess i am spared of this, but the rest seems to be the same...i can't take ginger too...but i will not be spared of ginger!

bena, actually i also dun like ginger.. but ginger slices cook as a taste is ok..as long as dun ask me to eat them haha

hi elaine

eh my gal is a nite owl as well leh .. how ah ?
She cant sleep thru the nite .. and even when she is asleep after feed, i think she is not in deep sleep and wake up easily. This means that I cant catch any sleep at all .... i always sleep at 12+ and frm 3+ onwards I am awake oredi ...

this monring at 5am, I fed her 70ML of EBM. tot will be full for her ... then at 6+ she woke up and cry !! can see her mouth searching for food. So I latched her on right B for 10 min then fell asleep. Then 40 mins later, she is awake again and I latched her on left B for another 10mins. she really can eat leh .... aiyo ...

and during daytime, she sleep like a pig ahhaha diff to wake her up ....

how how ?

Sha, Joon, Bijou, Riushiki .... rest well during confinement. For the first few days, I think my body is not coping well to the heaty food and I got bad ulcers. So gotta drink lotsa plain water which I know it forbidded but no choice. Now I think I am ok liao .. am drinking red dates tea whole day and surviving on a few cups of plain water daily.

i also dun like ginger .. mum keep asking me to finish all the ginger .. and I only picked the small pieces else it's too spicy for me.

cereal, my mom say need to eat the ginger
In fact she has been preparing food with all the ginger slices in them and making me eat now!
She say the ginger she cook with food now is the young ginger, wait till i have to eat those old ginger during confinement...those are even worse! EEKKS!

Hi girls!!
I'm back from my gynae's appointment. She checked on my piles and gave me some tablets to take and told me I should shove that thing into my ass after every bowel movement. Argh! Anyway she did a cervical check on me today. I am 1.5cm dilated and 50% effaced!!! OMG.. she say I need to be induced next week b'cos if I wait till my EDD, baby is going to be big and I will have to go through C-sect!!! Went through CTG scan and reported no contraction and baby's heartbeat is good, very active, everytime must press the button heheee.

Looks like I have to potong jalan some of you here. I might be having this baby next week! Now I'm nervous and excited at the same time!!!

Bena

u r right .. we can only eat the OLD ginger during confinement. In fact, my mum put ginger in the red dates tea so that I dun have to eat it. It does help in clearing wind cos u will fart a lot ahhaha

Hehe... gals. Really ticklish but seems like most early Sep Mum have popped. Now the mid Sep Mum are fidgeting and having the next virtual race ;)

My only signs now is swelling on my feet. The swelling looks very obvious to me but when I ask hubby he'll say "Where? No swelling lah. Looks very normal" Sigh... ... If so then I have absolutely no signs leh...

Oh dear... Melissa overtaking us!

But anyway, congrats to you Melissa for being able to see your baby soon!

Any news from emma? Who else suppose to pop today?

dumpty, u are not alone...i am also like that. i am 38wk as of today and still not a single sign! not even BH contractions...haiz! I really envy those already dilated or bb engaged or having experienced of contractions, mucus plug out, show, etc...i have totally NOTHING!
so sad.

Reading all the birth stories and all the posts on dilation, contractions...make me wonder when will be my turn. Really hope to experience some of these signs/symptoms leh...

ilovebabies, yah lor...my mom say the purpose of the old ginger is to remove the wind in our body...if u are farting more...then it's a good sign.

Melissa,
wow.. that's piece of good news for you!!! U r another from behind huh!

I haven't heard from elmo, emma and chocolat.. maybe they pop or maybe not. haaa!!! hope to hv them back in the thread with us really soon.

Melissa,
wow.. that's piece of good news for you!!! U r another from behind huh!

I haven't heard from elmo, emma and chocolat.. maybe they pop or maybe not. haaa!!! hope to hv them back in the thread with us really soon.

melissa

jia you jia you !! hope to hear ur labour story soon.

Bena

haha yes I fart a lot now ..

my mum says ppl from olden days consume kilos of ginger during confinement and I haven even reach 1 kg yet .. ahha then I tell her last time the policemen wear shorts... now wear pants

Bena, your EDD is just 1 day before mine! And same same. Now I don't experience any of the BH contractions I had earlier in my pregnancy. nothing nothing nothing... baby baby when you wanna come out?
We overtaken by so many end Sep Mummy already...

Bena,
Don't worry.. signs of labour will show when the time is ripe. Hee! I also wonder when is my turn but then, i think don't have to think so much.. it will soon be our turn! haaa! maybe you weekend msg us and say you pop leh! haaa!!

U still working? or resting at home alreadi?

Cereal, I pm u alreadi. cheers!

Ha! I'm so nervous now I hardly can finish my lunch! I don't know what I did to come to this point. It just happens. Maybe b'cos I walk to work everyday lor and my baby happens to like all the food I eat everyday. I lost weight this week, while baby happily gaining weight! Anyway I'm trying to buy time and gynae gave me hospitalization leave till next week! Woohooo!

So tomorrow onwards, I can stay at home already! So happy no need to see my boss's face! At home can start to clean the house already! My hubby was so happy when he heard the news, he said he can't wait!

edksd,
Today my baby's weight is 3.15kg liao! Oh forgot to mention, when she did the cervical check, she said she can feel the baby's head already. And the cervical check is quite painful, feel like I have a bad cramp but manageable lah.

dumpty, littlepony...
I try not to think so much and i keep talking to my bb to tell her to get engaged soon so that she can come out and see daddy and mummy sooner. Hahah...if i ever sms you that i popped, i reckon it will be via c-sect, which i hope not...hopefully tmr during checkup, gynae say suddenly bb engaged and i am dilated! PRAYING HARD!
I am being put on MC since wed last week liao...and my MC will be till Fri. Now staying at home...but cannot walk too much. Dr restrict my walking due to my high blood pressure...he say that ppl our age will not feel any headache/dizziness...so he is worried that my pressure will go up without me noticing it

Anyway, stay positive and hope for the best!

Bena,
then do take good care of yourself. Update us when u finish your checkup tomorrow. My checkup is Thursday.. frankly, i also hope gynae say i am dilated. nowadays, i do squatting exercises n tons of walking.. hope it helps!!!

ANOTHER NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Elmo has just delivered a bb girl at 1255pm. Natural without epidural. (Another brave gal). Bb n mum healthy!!!!!

CONGRATS!!!!!!!

Just came back from checkup at 36 wks 2 days.
Baby is engaged and weighing 2.6 kgs. Dr. did not check for dilation.

Anyway, after much thoughts, we have decided, that should she choose to come out before the 20th, I will try for natural birth. Otherwise, C-sect is still scheduled for the 20th.

I shall let her and God decide then.

Ilovebabies, what kind of fishbone does your mother use to boil the soup? I shall ask my mum to do the same.

wah congrats to elmo !!!!!!!!!!!!

littlepony

squatting does helps in delivery but I heard it makes the bb to go into posterior position (face facing the front). FYI.

Angeline, my mum said use ONLY the head bone "NGOR HEE" (hokkien) ... err I dunno the fish name in english ....

wow! seems like a lot of us 'popped' over the w'end-CONGRATS to all! so much posts to catch up on!!! but so happy for all of you....

anyways, i had my baby girl on 2nd Sept as well at 1204pm. she was delivered at 36wk5days, weighing 2.65kg thru natural vaginal delivery wt no pain relief. so happy my attempt on VBAC was a success
am on TBF wt her as she rejects bottle teat. so far coping well since she's sleeping a lot so not complaining...my other 3 kids also very receptive to her except my twin boys...still in bit of a daze! anyways here is my birth story...

night before, i had strange gut feeling abt delivering. was cleaning up the hse extensively & packed all docs in hospital bag. even called my mom to see if she cn come over in morning...

2nd sept(sat):
630am: woke up to go to bathroom, waterbag burst as i stood up nxt to bed
so had a shower & called my mom. still managed to clean hse a bit while waiting for her...
740am: reached KKH & admitted to labor ward & strapped on to CTG machine. was told that if in 10hrs no progress wt vaginal delivery, hv to go for C-sect!
850am: gynae came, did VE-4cm dilate. had to monitor my prev C-sect scar closely, mke sure no pain etc
1050am: contractions got more intense, another VE-7cm dilated
1130am: strong feeling to push but not fully dilated though baby is very low
senior nurse called for gynae as he had Sat clinic at AMK
1204pm: baby decided not to wait for gynae & was delivered by senior nurse
1223pm: gynae came rushing in, did check & was happy that did not need any stitching up etc.

anyways, decided to name her Saarah Anisha. will try to post some pix up soon

joon,
so funny...suppose to meet you on Sat & who'd think we'd deliver on same day! anyways hope baby is doing well ok...

sasha

congrats !! wah VBAC ... very brave of u leh!!

so I guess u closing factory oredi ??

cant believe this is your 4th child leh ... how do u manage the other 3 ??

I really pei fu you .. .

ilovebabies,

oh izzit? will cause posterior position? then i don't do so much. do more walking then.

how's rachel today??.... sleeping? at night, wide awake? think they r confused on day and night.....

ilovebabies,
thanks! when you hv a bad experience wt c-sect, it wont even be an option. thats why i was so eager on having VBAC & relieved it all went well! also since i had no tears, cuts & wasnt on pain relief, i was walking all over the ward in 3hrs as per normal...if compared to when i had my c-sect...was so scared to even cough!!!

well as a mother, you find a way to manage. at the moment, my eldest DD goes to school for 4hrs in morning...so am left home wt my twin boys & now my newborn. she doesnt take up a lot of my attention now except for feeding so things are still as before, more or less. when you hv a routine to work arnd, it helps to manage things much more...

ask me again in 3mths, we'll see how i'm coping then...hehe

wow so happening last wkend...congrats to all mummy who had pop>>> take good care during the confinement.

yesterday was on mc... starting to have some swelling tis wk and when i start walking buttock pain pain, can't walk much... was still hoping to walk more so that baby will pop tis coming wkend... www is so siaz

littlepony

ya, that's what i read from the internet.

sasha

haah ya 3 mths time ya ? anyway it is oredi v brave of you to go thru 3 labours. I still wonder if I will have my Number 3 ?? heeh

hey elmo has delivered her 3.4 kg bb gal at 1255pm today !! woo hooooo !

Rachel has def mix up with day and nite now.... have been teaching her to differentiate with the lights. day time got light, nite time no lights ahaha think she dun understand ...

me sleep a few hrs everyday only and can only catch up some sleep in the morning when my mum is awake to feed rachel.

ilovebabies,
but i could feel that you r doing a good job leh as a mother... i mean from your bb's blog, i could sense how 'wei da' u r! haaa!
Soon, rachel will differentiate day and nite well and you will have better sleep... just hang on..

little pony, any idea whether we can eat garlic during confinement period? The food I've been eating so far are all stir-fried / cook with ginger only.

ilovebabies, does Rachel get hiccups very often? Julian gets hiccups at least 2 - 3 times a day even though I always burp him after every feed. Sometimes, the hiccups lasted for more than 2 mins. Is it normal?

amylim,
i am not quite sure about garlic but i can ask. From my limited knowledge, should be fine leh.. ginger helps to curb wind so lots of ginger is recommended. As for garlic, i can help u to find out.

I find coming to this forum has its good and bad.
The good - can get to know all the MTBs and get information/changes etc.

The bad - can be rather pressurizing/disturbing if u find that other MTBs are progressing faster than oneself ....