(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Cereal,
My baby head is engaged but my cervix is not open so it two different thing.

How to know when your baby head is engaged; you will feel the moving especially when the baby play with their hands you could feel it below the "V" area sometime it could be rather uncomfortable. As they began to press downwards more as days / weeks go by closer to your EDD you will feel more uncomfortable below and tends to go toilet more.

When the Baby head is engaged it do not mean that your cervix will open it is only an indication that your baby will not turn anymore but she should still continue to move her hands and legs.

My EDD is on 07 Sept but there is no show or indication of labour so far only know that my baby head is engaged since a week ago.

I think I will might be the other 50% that delivery later than the EDD. . . hehehehe. . . the only thing I could do is keep talking to her and just wait patiently lor.

hellobaby
i dunno abt the ones in NUTC, prob they look small coz they hv cut away the outer crust. but as long as originally they r big, its the one we shld b drinking.

Sha
Ops sorry! then i read too fast. thot placenta is meant 4 ur frens. yah heard abt the wonderful benefits of eating placenta BUT er, i still cant bear the idea yet.

Cereal
Looks like ur baby hv certainly engaged. Congrats!

ilovebabies,
nvm even if u had taken epidural, at least u delivered naturally. hope u r coping well wif ur new lifestyle.

Ur massage session sounds wonderful and relaxing.

Btw ladies, when the muscous plug comes out, does it mean tt our cervix is dilating?
coz this plug only releases itself when we r ready 4 labour, so i wonder.

babyzucchini,
hehehe. . . . . it is just so funny that we human eat anything from animals be it internal or external expect our own stuff. . . . hehehehe

If muscous plug comes it is a show that you will be delivering in couple of days maybe in 3 to 4 days you will go into labour. Whether your cervix has dilated anot . . that I am not too sure.

elmo88, wah urs engaged very early leh..now u how many weeks?

Sha, since ur bb already engaged, can induce right? coz now me thinking.. if my bb engaged, i feel like inducing... boey tahan already...

Sha_987,

During my monday checkup,my gynae din check my cervix for dilation. I was hoping he check so that i know my cervix open not?
Btw, do u experience yellow lumpy discharge?
Since last wk, I'm having it. Yday still got traces of blood....but how come no show yet? Haha~ think i must be crazy since i want my gal to come out early.

Cereal,
you can't induce even if your baby is engaged it will depends on your cervix whether it is really or has it been open.

I wanted to induce last Monday (28 Aug) but my cervix is not open / really yet so my gyane advise not to otherwise I will go into long labour which might be worst.

Be patient lah. . . me week 39 and is still waiting thou I also boey tahan but no choice lah.

If given a choice it is better not to induce lor.

elmo88,
the discharge could be after the cervix check. Sometime the blood is because baby is press hard on your "V" area, it is ok one lah. . . I also have it once it is your first baby right?

If it is show you will know the difference.

Sha
Yah man, we humans really the ultimate! kekeke

i thot muscous plug is to block the cervix, prevent fr infection. so when the muscous plug releases, means cervix is starting to dilate.

wow, u r 39 wksa alrdy! so anytime u r ready to pop!

Cereal
i think baby engaged doesnt mean he is ready to come out. so inducing might not work. unless got medical complications, else better dun induce lor. high chances will lead to C-section. *choy choy* best to wait 4 the baby to come out naturally.

Cereal,
it depends on your gyane, after the week 36 or 37 the gyane will request to see you once every week.

The gyane will need to monitor the baby during this stage. During this stage baby change grow very fast and can be deliver anytime that is why some delivery ppl before their EDD. Baby goes into full term after week 37 most of the organ is really and they can breathe on their own liao.

babyzucchini,
Yap going into week 39 tomorrow. But there is no sign of labour yet as I did my check-up last monday my cervix is still not open yet.

So have to do the three "W's"

Walk, Wit and wonder When she will be born

What about you?

sha..
my last check up was last wed. i should actually see my gynae today (after 1 week) but i made the appt to be this sat so my hubby can go with me. but now, am thinking if i should just go today...
coz got some contractions this morning but now no more...

Morning mums!

Baby Zucchini,
It's 2 of my friends who want to eat my placenta, haha! I'm deliverg at TMC too. Are u going for the 1/2/4 bedded room? Abt the mucous plug, I don't think so. Like for my case, doc said I was 1cm dilated last wk, and no signs of my plug anywhere!! So funny huh?

Hellobaby,
Thanx for the barley tip... I didn't know that! I'll try that

Cereal,
Sounds like ur bb might be engaged! I felt that too one day all of a sudden. The belly was noticeably lower too. That happened when I was in wk 36/37 I think. U're now in wk 37 right, that could be it. Sha is right. When bb is engaged, u will feel more aches 'down there'... can be quite uncomfortable :p

ilovebabies,
Wahhh... ur massage sounds gd man!! I can't wait to start mine and see the stomach shrinking... hiah hiah hiah...

Sha,
Someone sent me a link abt eating placentas... check out the recipes!!! Aiyoh... anyway, looks like u and I are in the same boat... I'm so eager to meet my bb, I cannot stand it!!!!!

http://www.geocities.com/virtualbirth/placenta.html

cereal,
I'm seeing my gynae weekly.

Sha_987,
This is my 2nd preg.
That time i experienced light menes 1 day b4 delivery. I assume that is show?
This time,my gynae never do any cervix check for me.
Maybe like wat u said, the bb is pressing hard on my V.area

i duno why u gals are so keen to induce.

u've been carrying tt little one for 30+ wks, what's more to just carry for another couple of wks.

for me, ive no choice but to induce or c-section at wk38 coz bb getting too big. if given a choice, i'd rather bb comes out naturally even if it passes edd.

i guess it's just human nature :p

Cereal,
Sometime it could be a false alarm so it is better to monitor and most importantly relax and stay clam or call up the clinic and check.

Some contraction is due to movement and changes of the placenta that cause it. So it is better to monitor a while longer and see.

edksd,
u're talkg abt the waitg room in the delivery ward? if that's what u're talkg abt, it's not done yet. (was there abt 1 mth back for the hospital tour) are other parts of the hospital on renovation?

elmo88,
I have the blood stuff couple of days back and I check with my gyane he mention sometime it could be the baby that cause it, it is ok one.
I too wish it the *sign* of labour but it is not lor.

edksd,
my gyane is going away for one week which is next week during my EDD that is why I am thinking to induce when he is around . . .if given a choice I would not to but it looks the baby has made her choice as my cervix is not open so induce idea is down the rubbish bin.

Joon,
Thanks for the infor will read at home if not my coleg will think I am sick . . hahahaha. . .

You bet I can't wait to see her . . . but she is testing my patient lor. . hahahaha. . .

Joon
Me taking the single bedder.

Oh so u r 1 cm dilated but no signs of muscous plug yet? Thks 4 the info. its useful. always thot it ties in together. now i noe its not.

babyzucchini,
how heavy is your baby now??? or is your placenta deteriorating or the water level inside in getting lower?

Babyzucchini,
For me it's not I guess... but I suppose it's possible! But I know what u mean... how can anything come out if the plug is not out, right? Or how can anything NOT come out if the opening is open right?? What am I saying????

Sha,
check this one out too!!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Placentophagy

er... sorry for grossing everyone out!!

elmo88,
Count me in too... hahaha! The 1st thing I do in the morning is keep my fingers crossed and touch my bed to see if the water bag has burst, or when I pee, I peer at my pantyliner, hoping to see the mucous plug!!!!!

Joon,
you thinking to prepare it yourself. . .i have read somewhere that there is alot alot of blood and the smell will stay in your hand for couple of days.

I really want to try but the tot of preparing it might freak me out leh. . .

elmo88 and Joon,
every morning I wake up I talk to my baby girl "today is the "THE" day????. . .hehehehe. . .

Then at night I ask her so tonight will wake me up and tell me that you want to be born???

hahahaha. . . .

going bonkers already. . .

Sha
My baby weighs 2.7kg as of 34wks+. His weight is equivalent to that of a 36 wk baby. And in addition, u r right, my water level had reached its peak and is slowly decreasing alrdy, placenta showing signs of slowly aging. i was pretty worried as i thot its too early for all these to happen at 34wks+.
but gynae said i am doing fine and there is no cause 4 concern yet. i will b monitored closely.

Joon
u so funny!
but i get wat u r trying to say. hehehe

Sha,
nooooo... I'm not going to touch it! After I'm discharged, I will pass it straight to my friends. They also dare not touch it... that's why must find a pro to do it properly lah... when I get any lobang, I will tell you! Don't do it urself lah... better to get someone to do it for you and they come back in capsule form... like magic!!

hi joon, i read somewhere tt the rooms are renovating/renovated, can see tt they're quite new. duno is it 3rd flr or 5th flr rooms renovation not completed yet. i guess shld be completing soon.

hi babyzucchini,

my bb was 2.26kg at 34wk+
and he's now 2.9kg at 36wk

my gynae oso say bb too big....

plus im small sized according to her, so may hv difficulty delivering naturally.

my placenta oso noted to age at wk34+. but luckily oso not much of a concern since bb is growing so well :p

Joon,
Okie okie.. . that would be great.

Get the pro do the bloody job for us, let me have lobang once you got it and also the price tag for the bloody job .. . hahahaha. . . hope it is really a magic pill that is able to make us look great!!!!

Babyzucchini,
think it is rather normal and it depends on individual as well. . .what is more important is that both mummy and baby is healthy lor.

That is what I keep telling myself. . hehehe

edksd
my bb oso boomed lor. am telling him to slow down abit.

oh ur placenta oso starting to age? i am wondering issit normal to age so early anot.

edksd,
oic... i didn't know abt those... when we went for the hospital tour a month back, i didn't see any part of the hospital under reno though... or maybe they just didn't bring us to those parts...

Sha,
Sure! I'll let u know!

Bijiou,
Puppylove has been very kind to compile the list of our mobile numbers and particulars. You can pm puppylove and then, she will send you the list of our numbers via email. Alternatively, I have also pm you my handphone number

sometime in may/jun, i went for the hospital tour during the antenatal class. i saw tt the rooms are v new. different from what i saw last yr.

BabyZucchini,
Welcome to our thread.. joining us in the waiting game as well. Most of us here have been showing signs of labour.. and hoping D day... but Sept babies seems rather playful coz they are testing their mum's patience! haaa!!
I am also in the waiting game too!!! I am waiting for my gynae to come back!!!!! Argh!! haaa!

littlepony,
Yes, September baby seem to be rather playful and mischievous they either pop much earlier or later. . hahahahaha

Joon,
Do you have any article on the benefit of eating the placenta? I want to show it my hubby who think I am sick and cross. . .hahahahaha. . . .

just a reminder. . .if you think you going pop anytime and is still working remember to carry / bring along with you some pads just in case your water bag burst while you are outside.

elmo88,
Look like you are ready to go. .go . . go.. . hehehehe. .. the letter is in the bag in my hubby's car.

All gear up and just wait. . hehehe. . .