(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

i went to the fair yesterday as well. Bought some stuff and guess what, more toys for my baby.

Wanted to get the wooden rocking horse all along. I know still a long way to go before my baby could sit and start rocking.. but well, we just bought it and keep it in the store. haa! damn kaisu hoh!

I bought the Mozart music mobile which was going for $63. Bought a music book which plays 'Twinkle twinkle little star', some teething toys as well.

Was very happy when i did my purchase. Poor hubby has to carry them all. Haa!

Yeah, exactly... (which WE should have done!). But at least we've already bought our big ticket items, so yesterday's stuff - could have saved a bit more if we had gone straight to Robinsons, but not that much lah!

Wah, ur crib was a good buy!! Aiyah, all that salesman nonsense, I hate it when they give me all that crap.

little pony,
I think all our hbs had a good arm workout yesterday! Mine had to carry an armchair too coz we went to Ikea and bought a chair for me to BF
I think it's quite a gd buy - $55 only! Here's a pic...
483518.jpg

I'm now lookg for a black & white mobile to hang over the crib... anyone knows where I can get one? Was walkg all ard town yesterday and only found coloured ones. The only black & white one I saw was of clowns and I don't like clowns... they scare me!

Haha, I think all hubbies have a good arm workout during our pregnancies!
There's just so much to buy!

The armchair looks good... For black and white mobile, you can consider getting Fisher Price... There is one retailing at $59.90 which has black and white bases such that when baby looks up from the crib, baby will see the black and white base of each mobile.

So, the taka fair isn't really that attractive izzit? Are the stuffs catered for newborn and up? Worth making the trip down? I have loads of stuffs still not prepared...hoping this fair can make it a one-stop shop for me...

Hi Joon,

Yep, you can find the mobile at Robinsons.

Hi Bena,

Quite a lot of newborn stuffs there, so it can be one-stop. But as with every sale, not everything is at its cheapest price. If you are looking to get the best deal for everything you buy, then have to walk around to find out. Otherwise it is a good one-stop solution to get all your needs.

Hi Peachie,
Thanks! Guess i'll make a trip down. Don't think i can afford to go round shopping liao. Better to just pop by and grab whatever outstanding items i need

Hi Bena,
It's not bad lah, coz almost everything is there. It's just that I assumed it wld be *cheaper*, and all stuff is on sale, but that's not exactly true. It's not on sale, the "special offer" tags are all bluff one!

It's the same price at other places, for eg: Pigeon wet wipes, bottle detergent, breast pads, cotton balls... so with Robinsons giving an additional 15% off, it was cheaper there. The only thing I found cheaper was the Tiny Love book. So maybe toys would be a better buy there? I'm not that sure... that was the only toy I bought yest.

morning ladies ...

so tired today .. but heng on half day to see my bb later
will be doing the strep test today also

i still suspect my gal is not in the anterior position cos I tot i can still feel her knee caps when she move

so yest while watching TV, was on my fours for a few mins .. but v tiring leh .... anyone tried that ?

and my breast was so painful last nite .. really got the urge to pump anything out from it ahhaa

483554.png

Thanx Peachie, I'll pop down to Robinsons for a look... $59.90 is not bad... I saw some nice ones yesterday, but they were all above $100!

i think the fair is quite worthwhile. Even my hubby said the fair not bad, since he always hated shopping. Haa!

I just called up gynae to ask for my strep b test results. I am normal. Hee!! very happy. Can't help to worry but now, it's like a load off my mind.

Hi ilovebabies,

Try sitting on the edge of ur chair/sofa and lean forward when u do that. That should be more comfortable than being on all fours.

The baby's back is the heaviest part, so if u lean back when sitting down, gravity will cause the baby's back to face ur back. Leaning forward when sitting down will do the opposite. (got this from one of my childbirth bks)
Hope it helps!

hey joon tks !!

wait let me re-iterate what u mentioned abv ... means just bending forward while sitting on sofa ? but then, how does the bb turn with such limited space ??

littlepony... congrats !!!

Joon and ilovebabies,
thanks alot! Really panicking coz i had yeast infection the other time when i first started checkup and i dunno how related is yeast infection and strep b test. but now, it's a relief and i don't want to go through round of antibotics ...

ilovebabies,
Yup, sitting on the edge and leaning forward is supposed to help. I guess the bb will find a way! Another exercise which is supposed to help is to put 1 foot on a chair, one on the ground and lunge in the direction of the foot on the chair. That's what my childbirth instructor told us. I'll try to find a pic of it online!

ilovebabies,
Just found this at http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/labourandbirth/planningyourbabysbirth/babyinpositionforbirth/

When your pelvis is tipped backwards, the heaviest part of your baby, which is the back of his head and his spine, will also tend to swing round to the back. So he ends up in a posterior position, lying against your spine. If you have a lifestyle which involves very little sitting and a lot of upright activities, your baby is far more likely to go down into your pelvis in an anterior position because your pelvis is always tipped forwards.

You can encourage your baby to take up an anterior position by making sure that your knees are always lower than your hips:

Sit on a cushion in your car to lift your bottom up.
Check that your favourite chair doesn't make your bottom go down and your knees come up.
Take regular breaks and move around if your job involves a lot of sitting.
Watch television on all fours for ten minutes every day.
Scrub all your floors and skirting boards -- our grannies used to say that washing the kitchen floor was a good way of preparing for labour. And they were right! When you are on all fours, the back of your baby's head swings to the front of your abdomen.

Incidentally, you don't have to worry about getting your baby into a good position when you're in bed. When you're lying horizontally, your baby is not being pushed down into your pelvis. It's when you're upright that he'll enter the pelvis either in an anterior or a posterior position.

Joon

tks again !! ya it helps if we can find a pic to illustrate what you have mentioned. then I better stop lying on my back on the sofa .. that's my fav position watching TV leh ..

hi joon, i bought the tiny love softbook at $23.9 during the robinsons great spore sales too.

and the pigeon breast pads $8.9 too during isetan gss.

so i guess most of the stuff are priced the same as during gss.

so basically the taka bb fair is just selling what taka is normally selling? they dun hv external vendors like mothercare/motherswork coming in? hmm... then it's quite boring. i wonder how they fill up the whole exhibition sq w stuff which they can just fill up their tiny bb corner on the 4th flr.

Edksd,
I saw bath tubs for selection.....

They don't have external vendors like mmothercare or motherswork.. but they have nania car seats.. pigeon, avent, clothings, fisher price, tinylove etc

Hi gals, have you all decided which formula milk to use for your newborns (to alternate with your breast milk)?? Any good recommendations?

Smiley

I was thinking of SIMILAC .. but i am afraid my gal will be lactose intolerant like me, then I have to choose ISOMIL. Gotta ask PD abt this. but i dun think i will buy any now .. die die want to BF ..and dun succumb to FM hehehe

hello...

Tot i might join in here too.
I'm also a sept 2nd-time mtb.

Smiley, if u all decided to do tbf, dun worry so much about milk formula. Our milk will come in on the 3rd day or so, during which our babies will have reserves to help them with.

When i had my first girl, we didn't get any standby formula. This will only lead you to give up easily esp. if there are some external discouragment from outsiders.

If you're worried about milk, have the hospital provide u with some "sample" bottles of milk feeds when you discharge. You can use those for standy.

hi Duchess

welcome welcome ! when's your EDD ? so wat's ur bb gender this time ?

I totally agree with you ... and hope i can establish my milk supply

Hi Edksd,

There are bath tubs for sale... a few different kinds of safety 1st tubs, and Piyo Piyo tubs which are darned cute selling at $18.90 each.... Was sooo tempted to buy until hubby reminded me that we have 2 tubs liao.

hah? it's the safety 1st and piyo piyo again? hmm... ive seen them during normal time at taka. sigh.. not much choices. think most likely i'll just get the mothercare one.

peachie, where u put the 2 tubs? i ve not bought any but already think where to chuck it aside. and u already got 2 and still thinking of buying....

Just bought a bath seat from 'Asia Expat' website yesterday. Shops retailing at S$60, paid S$20.
483705.jpg

Now we can just buy a cheap ordinary bath tub. What's the difference between those that have a water outlet at the base and those that don't? Is this water outlet really that necessary?

yes, it is suppose to be suitable for 0 - 6 months. (Tigrex bath seat). There are some suction pads at the bottom so we can 'stick' it into our adult bath tub or a baby tub.
Thought it would be a good thing to have so we won't have to carry all the time while bathing her. Can just place her comfortably in the seat and both our hands will be free to play with her and bath her.

Angeline

cool !! have not seen it before ehhe suaku !

u were asking abt the bath tub ... with a water outlet at the base, u can drain out the water faster right ? so it is a good-to-have feature right ?

Got. the unbundled Pigeon steriliser sells for $83.70 (comes with 2 free wide necked bottles. The entire set (steriliser plus food/bottle warmer plus starter kit) sells for $129.

If anyone here bought Taka vouchers with the DBS Black card during the DBS Black card 10% rebate promo earlier, then there will be an additional 10% off when you pay with Taka vouchers. =)

Hi edksd,

The 2 tubs all stashed in our store room.... On top of the 2 tubs still got one more free tub from my husband's boss, who relocated from Hong Kong last year.... He Fedex-ed a brand new Mamas and Papas bath-tub over to Singapore which is the new age type and supposed to cost US$100.... It has the infant bath seat (as featured by Angeline's posting above) on one end of the tub and a toddler bath seat on the other end of the tub.... Anyway the tub looks huge and very "chim" to use.... When his Singaporean confinement lady saw the tub, she dun know how to use and went to buy a red tub from her neighbourhood provision store for $8.90. So the new age tub which costs SGD 200 plus (including shipping) is unused and given to us... My mom saw all the protrusions at the base of the tub she also dunno how to use.... Very ironic... hehe...

With all these tubs around plus all the baby stuffs, our store room is bursting at its seams... That's why hubby refuse to buy another Piyo Piyo tub... haiz.

Hi Jasmine,

Shopping is my favorite pastime.... hehe... very horrible hor? Like this I can never hope to save money....

Is it risky not to have any formula milk on standby?? I am really really worried I may not have enough milk leh. Both my mum and my sister didn't have a lot of milk, so I am worried it's the same for me

I'm from Dec MTB. Any1 interested in buying NUK Silicone pacifiers (0-6 mths)? It's brand new & still unopened. 2 pacifiers in 1 pack.

I bought the wrong one...I wanted Avent but got NUK instead. Exchange validity from the shop is over.

Willing to let go at $9/pack (negotiable). Pls email me to discuss - [email protected]

Hi Smiley,

I am one of the super KS ones who bought a tin of Isomil on standby.... but I guess it's up to the individual.... hehe.

i dun intend to hv any FM standby. but frisco sent me a tin for sample. full sized one somemore. so i just keep it lor.

Ming Liew,
Oh izzit??? hmm.. i tot all hospitals will give at least a tin of milk sample.

Guess better check with the hospital lor.. what kind of kit they give to mothers.

Hi moms,

You guys bringing extra breast pads or maternity loops to hospital? Heard that most hospitals only provide one pack leh.... the subsequent packs are chargeable.... have u found out whether this is true?

Another thing - did u pack bath towels into the hospital bag?

Hi peachie,
I just pack face towel in hospital bag...coz i think can't bath after labour alreadi mah.
Yes, i will be bringin extra breast pads and maternity pads to hospital.. but anyway, if not enuff then no choice have to get it from hospital lor.. I think the more we pack, the larger our hospital bags r... haaa!!!

Hi little pony,

I totally agree!!! Hehe.... My hospital bag is really getting bigger... Plus my husband is staying on as a lodger to help out at night. So it's his stuffs plus my stuffs. Very embarrassing to be dragging too big a bag to the hospital.

How come cannot bathe after labour? I thought with all the blood and vernix and dunno what else, should at least bathe to get rid of them? For the next few days I dunno though. Dunno whether I can tahan not bathing. Are u gals bathing?

I read in the pregnancy books that it is good to have a separate labour ward bag (supposed to be small and mobile) from the hospital bag. So I am having 2 bags already.