(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

77 (peachie) ,
Paisei paisei...i din see properly.
Btw, last time when i received the baby bag in Mt A,got 2 bottles of Latacyd(60ml).Dunno this time, they will give not?

Melissa,
I must swear that more walking did help. My water bag bursted ard 1030pm, my bb out ard 12+.Also 2 hrs of labour.

Chng's wife,
I heard from my friend that TMC do provide baby's clothing. Maybe you can call up and ask?

elmo88,
Wow you had 2-hr labour too! So lucky!! Was the dilation and contraction very intense? When do you really start walking? I am scared if I start walking now I might go into early labor? Hehe just being paranoid.

peachie,
yes the 3Ps make sense. my aunt said MTBs with wide hips can give birth easier without tearing. she never tears with all her 4 pregnancies. i have wide hips and my butt is huge. from behind, it looks like i'm carrying twins! haha.

Hi Cherrie,

Yep, the Avent one contains PEG.... Sebamed contains paraben. Tollyjoy, Mustela, Johnsons Baby and Gerber all have either PEG or paraben... haiz, was telling my hubby that at this rate our baby doesn't have to take a bath! LOL.... That's why I walked round and round Robinsons staring at the baby bath products for the longest time without buying anything. Maybe in the end will get the organic baby bath (also sold at Robinsons)..... It's the only one without petrochemical products or PEG or parabens. But it's darned ex.... $17.90 for a SMALL bottle. Maybe get the normal ones but rinse the baby? but rinsing very very troublesome leh. Also dunno how to rinse baby cos antenatal class never teach.
Is it I got to lift baby out of the tub (then put where?) then pour away the water, then fill the tub with warm water again and put baby inside??? Wah, do this twice a day I sure will slim down faster one and acquire some arm muscles.... Darned "xiong"!

Haven't seen Latacyd. But Lactacyd dun really have a baby bath, right? It is basically a universal body wash, except for bathing infants one just use 3 drops.... So also dunno whether good or not leh.

So much about baby bath.... Look around for so long still haven't bought a single bottle.

Hi ilovebabies,

You are right! Position of the passenger is very important! Wah... so many factors! Let's hope all the lucky stars are aligned (ie all factors are favorable) when all of us give birth!

hey peachie

ya me praying that my gal will turn her head and face my back....

visited my friend in MAH just now .. she had a 18 hrs labour .. and she say her bb came out facing the top .. means in anterior position.

Hi elmo,

No probs!
Wah, MAH is pretty good! Heard they give bath tubs too! Hehe...

Hi ilovebabies,

Dun worry too much. Babies can still turn at the last minute!

Melissa,

I just walked as per normal speed(same speed as pre-preg). Sometimes i do chase after the train or bus. Haha~ I buay kia si one.

That time,my show came 1 day earlier so I went to gynae, put on CTG but no contraction leh.Gynae did a V.check for me and i'm 1 to 2 cm dilated. But he told me not so fast deliver as i got no sign of contraction.
On the following morning(which is my D.day)I still went to work and took pm leave to run errands.
At night,my water bag bursted, my contraction interval was vy short >less than a min.I can remember I'm in pain when i shower.Die-die must shower cos i know for the next few days, i cant wash my hair.
I reached hosp ard 11+, mid wife did V.check and said i'm fully dilated.Luckily, my gynae arrived on time to deliver my bb. He din expect me to deliver that fast too. He told me usually 2nd one will be faster.I hope this one will b as smooth as the 1st one.

77 (peachie) ,
i think the bath tub also included in our bill. Just that they dont state.

ilovebabies,
This yr,Mt A give gold coin ah? In yr 2004, there is none.

peachie, i think i'll be using Lactacyd for first few months. my aunt said will check organic shops for me, if not too costly will use organic. To rince after bath maybe you need to prepare another small tub with warm water.

Oh ya gals,
If you have attended the antenatal class,pls rem your breathing techniques, esp the "pant pant blow". I found it quite useful.

Hi Cherrie,

Got any cheap and good "kang tow" for organic baby bath do let us know fast fast hor! I am very very interested!

elmo

ya it was in the gift list this year

ya i have packed my ante natal class notes in hospital bag .. will ask hubby to remind me to "breathe" properly !!

i think such bathing products dun require rinsing the bb leh .. else we are exposing our babies to water too long and they may catch a cold. just my 2 cents worth.

Cherrie

i din ask her .. cos there were a lot of ppl just now .. wait till i get the details of her birth story I let u know ..

elmo
agree !! i just love their smell .. guess will miss the smell when they start sweating ahah

ilovebabies,
Haha~ fully agreed with you.

Today i'm quite active as no mood to work. Past few wks, worked like hell.Only can steal some time to come in read but no time to post. Now waiting for my temp to come in.

Btw,anyone taking ML b4 your EDD?

haha, if only babies dun have to bathe! That will be much easier.....
Agree that shouldn't bathe too long or may catch a cold. Think we need to close the windows in the room as well.

Are you gals bringing any relaxing or soothing music to the delivery room? TMC provides a CD player for us to play music during delivery, but I wonder whether I still have the mood to listen to the music while in labour?

elmo

i'll be taking hospitalisation leave from gynae if my gal dun pop suddenly !! Dun want to waste my ML !!

peachie, ya must keep all windows close .. else once bb catch a cold, then we'll be v v busy ..

Since the topic is on bathing,
If your bb has jaundice *touchwood*, can go medical hall n buy herbs to bath them.Not sure whether it helps not but no harm trying.

Wun want to waste my ML too.... So trying to "dong" in the meantime and take leave only at the last possible minute. Since I am most likely to have a c-section, maybe I will schedule the op on a Monday and work till the Friday before. Like this can spend maximum time at home with baby.

Thanks for the info on the Chinese herbs!

smiley, i'll bring CD along but don't think i have the mood to listen to music during labour, probably will watch TV.

ilovebabies, does MAH provide CD player?

hi smiley, u mean tmc provides CD player??? i tot only tv??? tts what i saw during the antenatal class hosp tour....

i'll be taking ML 2 wks before my edd becos of the remaining leave to be cleared by this yr (12 days) + 2 days childcare leave. i can go off by mid sep. my edd is 28 sept.

I'll be working till the v last minute... Not planning to take any ML before EDD...

ilovebabies, MAH giving out gold coins for the year of the DOG?? So envy... don't think SGH is giving out anything... SGH doesn't have any CD player also... Only TV with selected SCV channels...

KPO abit here.
I'm also due in Sept. EDD on the 20th.

My firstborn, at TMC, she was fully clothed when we discharge together. TMC infant t-shirt and diapers (haha... fully clothed!)

Mitten also have, but no botties if i remember correct.

yup, edksd, there's a CD player in every delivery ward, together with a aromatherapy burner.. I am not sure whether they provide the oil or not, but I recall hearing "Lavendar".. Not sure whether the nurse meant they provide or she's suggesting we can bring Lavendar essential oil...

I'll be bring my MP3, small & light, easier to pack into bag also.

elmo88

do u knw wat type of herbs for d bb bath? or the medical hall ppl will recomend?

Oh Janice, you mean you will listen to the music through earphones? Then you husband leh? Does it feel weird? He's there with you but you are listening to the music through earphones?

Hi janice,
Paisei,I forgot the name.I only know the water will turned yellow when the herbs are added in. I think can just tell the medical hall ppl that you wan to buy those herbs that are used for bb jaundice and they will know?

hi smiley,

tis is my first, so no experience,,, i jst thot of packing one into the bag incase i wan to listen to music... if labour veri long hubby will be veri tire talking to me also meh... hahaha

elmo88,

Hi janice,

I just called my mil and asked for the herb name,she mentioned something like "Jin Ying Hua".She told me the medical hall ppl will be able to know.

Hi Melissa,

Went to the Taka fair at 10am this morning. They only sell 2 kinds of Avent breast pumps over there.... the Avent ISIS IQ DUO ($749) with quite a number of free gifts thrown in, and the Avent manual pump for $79. I went to ask the salesgirl. Avent is currently out of stock for the Avent ISIS IQ UNO. So if you need one, think you'd better grab it at one of the cheapest places you can find just in case the stock takes some time to arrive.

Quite a number of good deals there... Pigeon selling breast pads there for $8.90 per box of 42 (UP $12), Avent selling VIA cups (set of 10 with 1 free drinking container) for the storage of breast milk for $12.90 (which is close to 50% off). The Tiny Love Symphony Light and Motion mobile is selling at $95.20 (UP $129), and the Pigeon milk bottle steriliser plus Starter Kit (includes 2 large wide necked bottles, 1 small wide neck, 1 milk powder container, 1 brush, 1 pacifier) plus one baby food and bottle warmer is selling for $129 (UP $219). There are loads of toys selling at discounted rates as well.

Got my organic baby bath. It is an Aussie brand called GAIA. Costs $18.90 per 250ml bottle, and buy 2 bottles will get a small 100ml bottle free. It is supposed to be free from all sulphates, petrochemicals, parabens etc. Very happy that I got my baby bath at last.

Can pop down for a look. As I was there early, there was hardly anyone around.
Anyone else went too?

Thank you very much peachie! Really appreciate it! Maybe I could wait for a couple more weeks. Who knows they might re-stock? Just hoping. Hehee.

I guess my desire to nest has just kicked in. I dig out my sister's plastic bag where she kept her baby's clothes in and took them out to wash. Hubby was so excited to see baby's clothes hanging on the poles in our service balcony. We don't have to buy anymore clothes! We have more than enough!

Sian, tomorrow is another work day. Wish I was a school student now. Can sleep for another day. hehe.

Hi Melissa,

No probs!

Haiz, I also am very sian.... Yesterday felt like a Saturday. Dun feel like working today either.

Morning everyone

Went to the BB Fair yesterday too and got most of what we needed
and I started packing my hosp bag *phew*! Peachie, I got the breast pads too... and the baby wipes, bottle detergent, maternity pads, disposable undies etc... but u know what? They were all cheaper at Robinsons & OG yesterday coz Robinsons had a storewide 15% discount and OG 20%!!! If the storewide discount still applies today, ladies, get ur stuff at Robinsons & OG instead

My best buy was the Tiny Love reversible book (black, white, red on 1 side, colours on the other) for $23.90. It was $29.90 at Robinsons & OG.

Peachie, hopefully we can win something in the lucky draw eh? ;)

483503.png

Hi, sorry to intrude....I'm fr the May MTB Thread.

I'm selling my new Medela Mini Electric Breast Pump at $100. I have only used it twice since I gave birth in May as my hubby bought a set of dual pump for me. It is still in very good condition with the entire packaging intact.

I am throwing in 2 standard packs of Pampers Dry & Clean Diapers, of which I only used 1 diaper as it is too small for my baby.

Interested mommies pls contact me at [email protected]

Yep yep, the Tiny Love reversible book is really cute! Didn't buy though cos I bought a lot of stuffs already...

Hopefully both of us win something! Hehe...

Agree that not all things are good deals there. Saw the exact same Evenflo baby crib which I bought during the last Taka baby fair in March on sale yesterday. When I bought in March, the Evenflo Odyssey crib was retailing at $299 (UP$910). Yesterday, the exact same crib was retailing for $369! My jaws almost dropped. Asked the same salesman who sold me the crib why the price increase.... and he gave me the crap about they losing money on the crib the last time.... Anyway there were still loads of people signing up to buy the crib yesterday.

So got to walk around and see and compare prices.