(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi 77, i dun think hosp provides breast pads? anyway im bringing 2 pairs only coz i tot first few days no milk supply yet.

as for maternity pads, im definitely bringing my own as i oso heard subsequent packs are chargeable, and im afraid my flow will be heavy and i'll keep changing v fast.

bath towels no need. heard from another thread tt in tmc single bedded, it's provided.

Hi edksd,

Thanks! For bath towels, are u using the hospital's? I know Raffles Hospital provide, but I am not sure whether they have been properly washed and sterilised cos it's a hospital after all and there are all sorts of patients (and germs and bacterial and what not) in there... I know I sound really kiasi and paranoid... To bring will really take up a lot of space (moreover I am staying 3 nites with hubby cos c-section). Dun bring I am worried about the level of hygiene for the towels. Terrible right? I also dunno whether I can bathe or not cos I am having a c-section. But dun bathe will really kill me leh.

My hubby almost flipped when he heard this... hehe... He couldn't believe that I almost wanted to bring towels. At this rate I need a huge luggage case (and not a bag) to bring all the stuffs.

glad to see everyone is doing well and getting all the last min shopping done!

i hv a qn: what's the diff between latex and silicone teats? cos i'm planning to buy some nuk bottles but dunno which teat to choose. also, nuk has a premium bottle range which i believe has a wider neck. is this better than the normal range?

any advice will be greatly appreciated!

Peachie,
I'll be bringing my own towel. Like yourself, I'm a little skeptical about the towels that the hospital provides. I have also packed 4 pairs of breast pads and 2 x 10 piece pack of maternity pads.

What is this labour bag that you mentioned? What do we put inside.

I have just packed 4 baby vests and 4 pairs of mittens into the bag last night. Do we need to bring our own baby vests? What will baby wear if we don't bring them?

actually i feel tt hospital will clean and sterilise the towels well. this's spore we're talking abt not some backward countries
anyway, when u go holiday, do u bring ur own towel or use the hotel's?

wider neck is just for easy cleaning.

latex is softer but easier to wear out whereas silicone is harder and can last slightly longer.

Hi Angeline,

The labour ward bag is supposed to contain the following:-

- Hospital pre-admission letter
- A comfy nightdress or large T-shirt for labour to change into
- A bath towel if you intend to take a bath during the 1st stage of labour
- A pair of socks and a cardigan (just in case it gets too cold)
- A hot water bottle to reduce the backache
- Anything that will help you relax as you wait (aromatherapy stuffs, music cds, a book)
- Camera and/or videocam
- Any notes on breathing techniques
- Your important contacts (actually no need for this cos the numbers are all stored in our handphones these days)
- Some energy boosters/snacks for you and your spouse (but the book cautioned that must check with doctor before mother eats anything)

But since I am delievering by c-section, a lot of the above stuffs can be taken out of the labour ward bag.

The rest of the stuffs are in the separate hospital bag....

Hi Michelle,

Not sure about the teats. Actually I read from some threads before that different babies prefer different teats. So there are parents out there who tried with a few different brands before their baby is comfortable with a single one. So maybe it's good not to stock up on teats first (just in case u have a fussy baby)?

Hi peachie, SGH is providing bath towels, so I'll be bringing only face towels... As for breast pads & maternity pads, I've packed 10 each into the bag. If insufficient, will ask hb to take from home...

ilovebabies, can I check how much is mona charging per session and is she providing any jamu drink? I've just booked a malay massage lady recommended by my colleague and she's charging S$65 per session (min 3 sessions). She doesn't encourage jamu drink as it is not good for mothers who are bf...

hi 77, actually no nd to pack separate bags. as long as u know where to get ur things, it's good enough. imagine having 2 bags to tend to. who got the time during labour?

hi Amy and edksd,

Thanks for sharing!
Maybe I will put the maternity pads and breast pads in the boot of hubby's car. Like this dun need to lug a big bag to the hospital.

I am getting frightened just thinking about D-day.... It really is coming soon... And baby cannot wait to come out. Kicking and stretching inside my tummy all day long.

hi Edksd,
I agree with you that the hospital towels are clean. But I just bring my own to increase my comfort level mah. Prefer the smell and feel of my own towel. (So troublesome, but just feel more 'at home' using my own things lor)

hi angeline, no problem. diff pple has diff preference. for me if im going to stay for a wk, i might bring my own. but since it's just 2 days. i can still tahan. otherwise i might want to bring my own bed, own pillow there too :p

how often do u all feel bb's movement/ stretching/ kicking?

i dun really take into notice, but it's definitely not every min. sometimes a series in 1 or 2 hr interval or so. sometimes more frequent, sometimes less frequent.

Hi Iluvbabies,
My EDD is 20th Sept, but i think might be early. I'm getting some "tighening" feelings on my tummy more frequently these days. and it's real unconfortable for me.

Hi Angeline,
your bath seat looks cute, very nice shape

As for the teats someone mentioned, silicon is the white/clear plastic ones. Latex is the ones that is very "rubber" looking. Orange color ones - cannot use those electric sterilzer cos heat will make teats change color, dunn got any chemical reaction not.

So in summary, silicon is better, more durable, but a bit harder then latex.

The water outlet at the bottom of the tub is to let out the water without much effort. At times if we're alone at home, we maybe not strength to carry the tub with water in it. also not safe if we have c-sect delivery too.

Oh another thing, if breastfeeding, dun take jamu.

Edksd,
my baby moves in spurts. Some days she is very active, some days she is rather quite.
But overall, she's almost like a newborn. That is to say, there will be an hour or two where she seems to be more awake and moves alot, and later when she falls asleep she will stay quiet for a few hours.

When she is 'awake' the movement can be very close (matter of minutes) for a whole hour.

hi amy

mona charges $30 per session, she did not mentioned anything on the jamu drink.

gals, went for my 36 week chkup today. put on 800g for past two weeks, and 500g went to bb. She is 2.4kg now.

another thing, doc chk my cervix and i am 1 cm dilated !! aiyah .. tot maybe can tahan for at least two more weeks .. but when I mentioned to doc that bb movements has somewhat reduced.. he is concerned. he chk my amio water level, it is at 7.5 still consider normal.

so i did another round of CTG at his clinic. . shows no contraction. So doc ask me monitor her movement these few days .... then see him again on Mon. he has also asked me to stop the medication.

he's given me some choices .. say if bb movement reduced and still at 1 cm dilated, may need to induce. if i can dilate to 2cm .. he can break my water bag. ....

ahhhhhh I dun wan to induce !!! he says i shld be able to have a normal delivery as my cervix is not the hard type ....

how how ??

Hi ilovebabies,

If your cervix is dilated, I think delivery should be imminent. But I have friend who delievered this March who dilated for 2cm, but there was no further progress for a week. As she exceeded the 40 weeks pregnancy, doctor decided to induce her after waiting for a week. but in her case, there was no reduced fetal movement and her amniotic fluid level remains normal.

At the end of the day it is your gynea's advice that is most important. However, if there is reduced fetal movement, most gyneas will be very concerned about the welfare of the baby. If baby has already reached full term, it may be a safer option to deliver, rather than to wait. But induction may give rise to a more painful delivery, according to what I have read.

Maybe closely monitor in the meantime and follow your gynea's advice. Be strong and all the best okie?

Take care and God Bless!

hi ilovebabies, my friend who delivered in july, oso was 1cm dilated in her 36th wk. then in 37thwk, abt 1.5cm dilated.

her gynae didnt ask her to monitor fetal movement. and didnt say anything abt amniotic fluid, so i presume everything was normal.

and she finally gave birth in 38th wk.

so i think u shld continue to monitor the movement since u felt the movement has lessen. maybe in the next few days ur bb becomes active again.

did doc says ur bb has engaged? if bb has engaged, i tot normally movement will lessen?

wow ilovebabies! that is NEWS! 1cm dilated! Oh gosh! Sounds like THE day is coming soon for u
Peachie is right, our doctors know best and if induction is the only option, then we have to trust our doctors. Think of it this way, u will meet ur precious bundle of joy sooner
Keep us updated after ur check-up on Mon.

I'm going for my 36-wk check-up tomorrow... I wonder if my doc will check if I'm dilated?? I have a feeling bb is engaged. Dunno why, just have this feeling. Today, caught myself waddling around the house like a penguin, and my lower back is ACHING like nobody's business! Doing cat stretches helped, but I can't be a cat the entire day right?!

ok the thing is bb is not engaged ... and yes, I agree we shld heed our gynae's advice... but I still want her to be out at least from week 38 onwards provided she is still active.

wish me luck !

oh btw littlepony, think you are lactose intolerant, same as me. I ask my gynae today abt bb being lactose intolerant. He said it is only highly possible if both the dad and mum are carriers. in fact, he said the nurse will monitor the bb during our stay in the hospital, and they can tell us if bb is lactose intolerant. In fact,he also mentioned that our breast milk contains lactose as well.

I am now 34 wks pg, I m feeling so stress cos I had a previous gall bladder removal surgery before. Now I am so scared that the scar might tear as the tummy grows. I have been feeling down this few days and getting impatient with my 5 yr old boy n hb.
My boy was delivered by c-section cos low placenta and this time I wanted to try normal delivery but not sure if can wait till full term cos the stretch at the scar is hurting.

ilovebabies!! That's great news! 1cm dilated already. Don't worry abt the rest. Leave the decision to your gynae. They know what's best for us.
Remember to keep us posted of the good news k!

Duchess, I have the same EDD as you
20th Sept!

Joon, all the best for yur check and do update us when u are back

Anna, have you checked with ur gynae? Since your scar is hurting, maybe u should check with ur gynae and see what advice he/she gives.

I am into my 34th wk also...going to start packing my bag over the weekends liao. And also to pop by the taka fair to do the last min shopping

Yday took lve and went to taka bb fair. In the end, din buy anything.Maybe I already got most of the stuffs from the 1st one.

edksd,
How come frisco will send you sample tin? Did you request for it?
Little pony,
Wow, which hosp giving a tin of milk sample?So gd ah..
Mt A only give few bottles of FM.

ilovebabies,
Wow, you r 1cm dilated.Dont worry too much.ok?Must relax!See what your gyane says on Mon.

ilovebabies,

Wow...seem like you will be the 1st Sept mummy! Tat is wonderful!

Keep us update here ok!

Meanwhile take care and dun worry so much. Take as it come

ilovebabies, it is best to heed your gynae's advice...

I'll be seeing my gynae later for my 37th week check-up... Have been experiencing tightness esp on the right side more often these days and also pain on the same side yesterday... nearly cannot tahan... but the pain ease off last night... I'll see what the gynae says later...

ilovebabies,
hey, don't worry so much. Gynae will give you the best advice. Since you say the movement has reduced, probably that's why gynae say have to induce. Continue monitoring baby's movement and see what doc say on Monday.

Elmo88,
My sil delivered from Gleneagles told me she got a free tin of milk sample leh. But err... that was 2 years ago. haaa! I wonder if still applies or not.

morning gals!!

tks for the well wishes !! ya now praying hard that bb gain more weight before she come out to greet the world

now I am taking down the timings of bb movements so that I can report to gynae accordingly haha

last week I was busy taking down timings for my contractions...ahhaha

484646.png

When i went for the hospital tour, GlenE only say that if we have a particular brand of FM in mind, have to let them know earlier, cos the hospital will only have 2 brands per week and they rotate the brands every week...so have to let them know earlier and they will prepare the FM of your choice...not too sure if they still give free tin tho.

Hi ilovebabies,

Don't worry too much.
4 of my friends' babies were born between 2.1kg to 2.6kg, and they are now more than a year old and they are perfectly fine... there is no difference in developmental pace due to birth size at all. Moreover, the weight our gyneas predicted is only an estimate based on the tummy size. The actual weight may be a lot more due to difference in bone density - something which the gynea cannot measure when the baby is inside the womb.

Bena,
Think they probably charge it to the bill as well. I remember during my sil's time, they even give milk bottles (glass ones).. and guess those were in the bill as well.

But heard the glass ones comes in handy when the usual milk bottles are spoilt.

Ilovebabies,
Not sure about your gynae but my gynae prefers babies to be born under 3kg. He said that it's easier to deliver and faster labour as well. So don't have to worry about the weight. If above 3kg, he will advise MTB not to eat too much.

Littlepony

actually my gynae also prefer bb to be under 3kg. he has constantly reminded me not to gain too much weight as well .. in case bb absorbs too much from me. he is someone who encourages mothers to deliver naturally lor ...

anyway good thing is that he says my cervix is not the hard to open type .. so he guess my delivery shld be quite ok.

ilovebabies,
tat's good lor.. so don't have to worry about pumping up your bb's weight ... think what you can do right now is RELAZ...haaa!! Guess you b the 1st in our thread to see your little baby. So envious!

Nowadays, I have been so tired coming to work. Sleep also not as good as before. Still counting down.........

Morning mums!
It's Friday! Hope everyone has a *great weekend*

ilovebabies,
Ya, don't worry
like what the others have said, everything will work out fine... be positive and happy and ur bb will be too!

bena,
Happy shopping this weekend
My advice: go early! (like 1030am) I went early on Wed and there were no queues, no pushing & shoving etc... when I went back at 1pm to buy 1 item I forgot about, aiyoh, the queues!!!

I'm going for the TMC hospital tour later at 2pm. Anybody wants to find out anything? I can help ask later. I plan to ask about the stuff we'll be getting (for mum & bb), what stuff of our own we need to bring, will towels be provided, any CD player in the ward & delivery room... any other qns I can help those delivering at TMC to ask later?

484728.png

ilovebabies, how nice! You should be able to see your precious princess soon!

Remember to sms us when you deliver!!

I am thinking of either Similac or Enfalac A+. Anyone knows which one is better?

Joon,

Can you help me find out if the shops on the ground floor can do "helium" filling for balloon?
I have a walkie pet balloon which i need to fill up when go deliver. It's going to be a present from meimei to my elder girl.

I started having mild cramps just now. It lasted 10 mins each time, every 15 - 20 mins apart... think I may be going into labour soon...

OHHHHHH.....! Amy! Really?! Ur hb knows? Is he ready? Bag ready? Keep us updated... keep logging on... might help to keep ur mind off the cramps

Don't worry, everything will be alright!

Hi Duchess,

Oh, so you will be giving ur elder girl present in the hosp.Hmmm, like that i need to shop for my elder gal's present liao.Do you know why must we do that? So that the elder one will not get jealous when the little one is out?

Amylim,
Did you inform yr gynae abt ur cramps?

Elmo88,
ya.. buy your elder girl a present and say it's little baby who is giving it to her.. in that way, she knows that little baby is not here to get all attention but she is involved in the whole celebration of newborn baby as well.

LittlePony, I thought if the interval is around 15 mins, should go to hospital already? The antenatal class I attended said by the time wait till 5min interval, may be too painful to walk liao...

When's amylim's due date.. Geez.. when I read this forum you gals are starting to have contractions etc, makes me excited and nervous at the same time...

Already called hb... He asked me to stay calm and to inform gynae about the cramps when I see her later at 2pm for my check-up... Have put the hospital bag in the car boot since last week... Hope the labour will be a short one....