(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

littlepony

ya can use that method, but only on the sides of breast, not on the breast/nipples area.

elmo

ya man .. so scary .. she said she was shivering so badly during the fever. She has to stop BF her bb that time too cos i think she was on antibiotics.

u mean u din cont to BF your bb after you recover ?

does breast size matter or not huh?
I have tiny breast, so far, I don't feel much discomfort in them yet.
But also starting to get worried that they may not product enough milk for bb.

hey u girls scarying me leh! my mom also suffer from engorgement fever. she said it's the worst kind of fever she had gone through so far. it's so bad that she was prescribed this pill to stop milk flow. so that's why my sister never got b/f. she's on formula feed while i'm the lucky one to get b/f for one year. i must remember to pump or latch whenever i feel the engorgement starts coming in, just like elmo said.. scary.. scary... even labor doesn't scare me like this.. LOL.

Hi Moms,

Wah... so many postings over one weekend!

I visited my gynea on Saturday, when my baby was 33wks and 4days old. As usual, gynea said that the baby is on the big side, weighing 2.8kgs and having the size of a 37 plus week baby. So he said that I will most probably deliver early, although my EDD is on 19 Sept, as most big sized babies will run out of space earlier and will arrive about 2-3 weeks early. He asked me to be on standby from the last week of August onwards. Gosh! I am not even mentally prepared for this! Gynea also advised me to try for natural delivery. According to him, if baby stays below 3.3kgs, I shouldn't have much of a problem. But if baby weighs 4kgs by delivery time, then may have a more difficult labour.

My gynea left the choice of having elective c-section entirely up to me. According to him, the c-section surgery is pretty fast, the actual surgical time is about 30 mins. Husband can be present and photograph and/or videocam the process. However, I have to make up my mind soon on this cos booking of the operating theatre is to be done at least 2 weeks in advance, in fact 2 weeks is considered urgent booking at Raffles Hosp liao. Haiz... so got to decide by the next visit.

Anyone here delivering by elective c-section as well? I think I have made up my mind to deliver by c-section.... but am kinda frightened at the thought of my tummy being cut open. But the tot of labouring without progress for many hours or the baby being stuck in the birth canal is even more terrifying.

Will be seeing gynea again on 14 Aug. He will do a cervix examination then to see if there is any dilation. If cervix has started to dilate, baby will be on his way to being delivered soon.

I signed up with Stemcord on Saturday. Since I am not decided between whether or not to store, might as well go to the cheaper one. The rates offered at the Suntec roadshow are still available at Stemcord till end Sept. Since I have DBS Women's card, the first year fees (registration fees, storage fees, professional charges) will be $400. I quoted my friend's name as there is a referral fee of $100 for my friend, who will split half of the referral fee with me. So the net fees for the first year is $350.... Much cheaper than the $1000 charged by Cordlife.

Angeline,

That is a very comprehensive list!!! I am very impressed!

ilovebabies,

Glad that everything is fine! We are all running that final lap soon! Jia You!

hi peachie

wow your bb is big leh !! ya better heed the gynae's advice ok .. but it is still possible to deliver your bb naturally ...

what have u eaten ? haha bb sooooooo big ..

peachie,
ya, ur bb is huge! Hope gynae can tell for sure during ur next visit whether u can have natural delivery! I've heard of mothers giving birth naturally to babies as big as 3.6kg or more, so it's still possible.

Regarding the cold cabbage or hot towel treatment for engorgement, my antenatal instructor says to use hot towel b4 breastfeeding to stimulate milk flow, while cold cabbage is for after, if u feel engorgement. But yup, dun overdo cos the cold will reduce milk flow.

I'm also waiting for Strep B test results. The first time, my results came out by the 3rd working day. So I'll call the clinic 2moro to enquire. Don't think i can wait for them to call me!! In the meantime, hv been drinking yoghurt and yakult as what some of u hv advised!!

Thot I posted this question juz now, but guess I didn't click on the "post" button!! Hv u gals decided on which brand formula milk to use next time? Anyone has done "reseach" pls share hor!! thanks!

Haha, I also dunno! I haven't touched a single durian throughout my pregnancy (not even durian puff, kueh or cake...). I guess having large babies is hereditary. Both my sis and I are eight pound babies, and my poor mom had to deliver us by c-section.....

Hi puppylove,

Cold cabbage works. My friend who suffered from engorgement swears by it. The antenatal class nurse at KKH also recommends it. But cannot put for too many days or milk supply may be affected, according to the nurse.

I will be using Isomil.... just in case my baby is lactose intolerant.

Hi peachie, ur BB is big!!! We are having e same EDD, I went for my checkup last Mon. Mine was only 2.2kg! You are having a prince or princess?

hie MTBs...

ive read dat one of d MTB ask abt contractions.. contractions and braxton hicks are very2 much diff.. braxton hicks only make u feel d discomfort.. but for d real contraction, u feel pain.. initially its not dat painful.. and d pain level gradually intensify.. i rmber during my 1st preg before going into labour, i had diz great tummyache.. like a bad gas.. i thot i only had a bad tummyache.. but d pain keeps cumin back.. on n off.. and at d same tym i have diz intense tummyache, my spine hurts badly~! as if sum1 is breaking my spine into 2... (im not trying 2 scare u.. but diz is wat i felt..) i dun have any other symtoms of labour other than contractions.. no show.. no bursting of water bag..

n by d way, u will definitely know when u will go into labour when u feel d contractions.. its far more worse than d tightening n hardening of d tummy.. juz to share wif u my experience..

as for engorgement.. i rembered mine very vividly.. my boobies were huge.. and i mean HUGE.. hubby still can tease dat i juz got a boobies implant.. except for dat compliment.. d pain was there.. though bearable, still.. i cant stand it.. there are lumps on my boobs.. visible lumps.. those lumps are milk ducts.. i massage my boobs all d time.. as i felt dat was d only was to ease off the pain.. and i do express my milk.. not much.. juz a little to ease off a little pain..

i hope diz piece of info will be useful u any of d MTBs here.. take care mummies.. ;p

ilovebabies,
When I have recovered, my milk flow not that much.*sigh*

Angeline,
Breast size doesnt matter.No matter what, there will be milk.
My friend who has just delivered in Feb told me that she learned from BF workshop that newborn only need one teaspoon of milk for 1st few days cos the stomach is so small, like walnut size.Anyway, newborn still have food reserve for 1st 3 days till mummys milk come. A rule of thumb :Must latch and latch to stimulate flow.

77 (peachie),
Wow, your bb so big .Dont worry so much abt C-section.When you see your baby, all your pain will be gone.

puppylove,
Alot of ppl giving similac or enfalac.For my 1st one, I gave enfalac,but bb suffered from constipation then i switched to similac.
This time, i will try friso. Have to see whether your baby suitable for that particular brand or not? Maybe for a start, buy a small tin to try it out 1st.

Hi Watie,

Thanks for the info! It's certainly helpful!

Hi Chng's wife,

I am having a little baby soldier inside... not a princess.

Anyone going for the Taka sale tomorrow? I am.
Cannot wait to go. But these days I get tired easily. Back and legs are buckling under the weight. So dunno how long I can last.

Anyone here knows where to find Latacyd besides Ocean? Where is Ocean by the way?

ilovebabies,
I saw from the August thread, you got the contact for the massage lady. Can share with us?

Oh ya gals,
I think its better to get an abdominal binder to support our back during confinement as recommended in August thread.Imagine, we got to suffer from engorgement,so to prevent backache,its better to get one.

Hi Elmo,

Thanks a million! Do you know which Guardian? I raided the one at Centrepoint, at CityLink Mall, and Compass Point... All 3 outlets dun have leh. They only carry Sebamed and Johnsons Baby....

Morning mummies!!

Peachie, your bb is very big! Don worry so much abt c-sec.
Ocean is a toiletries shop at People's Park. The one that recently got renovated with food stall at the ground level and fabric shops, etc on the upper level. Ocean is on the 3rd level.
Besides Ocean, you can also get Lactacyd from Guardian and i think other pharmacies will also have.

Raffles hospital allow videoing of the whole process ar? GlenE doesn't allow leh
i am so sad!

Gals, talking abt massages, would you gals go for those malay aunty massage or those massage parlours like "Traditional Javanese Massage" or "Rustic Nirvarna" kind?

Elmo? What does the abdominal binder look like?

I can't wait to go to the taka bb fair as well. Got a LONG list of items to buy from them. Told hubby that we got no time liao...must definitely buy everything from the fair already...

77 (peachie) ,
The paper nv state which guardian. Maybe you can approach the salesgirl?

Bena,
I will go for those malay aunty massage.
This is a pic of the binder
481935.jpg

<font color="119911">Angeline</font>, you never fail to impress me with how you consolidate your research leh! Wow!

<font color="119911">peachie</font>, your baby really huge hor? Our EDD are just 2 days apart but yours is ahead by so much. Haha... I like your description of having a soldier inside. I think mine is too. Moving so much, especially at night. Now the kicks and punches are so much stronger my tummy literally went out of shape all the time.

I'm also small-breasted leh. And my husband keep telling me not to force myself to BF, even after I told him that milk flow usually only comes after 2-3 days from birth. I hope that's not going to deter me from attempting to BF my baby. Quite upset with my hb over this matter coz only discouragement, no encouragement

Btw, do we have to use Latacyd to bathe bb? I've some bottles of Johnson Top to Toe wash which I'm planning to use leh. Will that be alright? I also heard that Gerbers Grins &amp; Giggles Baby Wash are good. Anyone knows?

Hehe... for those who are going to Taka Baby Fair tomorrow, can feedback to us on what are the good buys there? I think I'll not make a trip down specially just for the baby fair. Most likely just pop by next week after my checkup since is so nearby.

Watie, thanks for the advice. It's great!
My hubby now already teasing me abt my boobies...i have grown 3 sizes...so i dunno if it will be even bigger after delivery? I just bought my bursing bras with 1 cup size bigger.

Hi Bena,

Thanks for the info on Ocean! You so cute! Dun worry about the long list...
Some things you need soon, but some others can wait. So dun stress yourself out, okie?

I saw abdominal binders in Guardian. Basically it is one rectangular strip that has velcro fasteners on both ends and is made of elastic material. Comes in different sizes leh. Some are surgical abdominal binders, some are just normal binders. Price difference can range from $20 plus to $60 plus. Also dunno which is good.... issit more ex equates better???

According to my gynea, my hubby can videotape the whole process.... But honestly I have not called up Raffles to check whether this is allowed. Guess at the end of the day it is also gynea specific. Should anything goes wrong (touch wood), taping the whole process will open the gynea to more legal liability mah....

hi elmo

her name is Mona and her mobile is 90260085. U gotta call her fast ... she is very very booked for Aug/Sept period. I called her and she asked me to call her again once I have deliver to arrange the time.

dumpty

i guess your hubby is not discouraging you .. he is trying to make you relax and not getting panic over no BM, ok ?

gals, if we oredi have the tummy wrap from the malay aunty massage, do we still need the binder ?

481945.png

Morning

Abt Lacacyd, don't bother with the Guardian @ Marina. I was there yesterday and couldn't find it there too. I'll be in town later so if I find it there, I'll let u guys know
Btw, I took the day off today, just to relak-relak at home with the dog, hee hee hee...
Anyone on maternity leave already?

Elmo,
If we engage a massage lady, don't they usually provide the binder? Or only some do? I haven't booked mine yet :p aiyah!

Bena,
I'll go for the traditional sort instead of the Rustic Nirvana kind. Well, they're much cheaper and I guess more "personal". Will prob book mine today
I'll "see" u at the BB fair then! ;)

Dumpty,
I'll definitely be going to the fair tomorrow. Will post an update of the good buys! I've got so much stuff to buy :p

for those delivering in MAH, we are not allowed to videotaped the delivery process. We can only start taking pics/video after bb is delivered.

Hi dumpty,

I also am small breasted... I am still a A cup size leh.... But it's alright. I am determined to breastfeed. The most if first few days got not enough, will supplement with FM lor.

I also dunno whether to use Latacyd ot not. Anyway, I was at Robinsons last Friday staring at all the indredients of the baby bath.... Almost all brands contain PEG and/or poly-paraben extracts, which were reportedly linked with breast cancer in some research reports. But these chemicals are often used in the soap and detergent industry as a key ingredient. So really dunno which brand to buy.
Moreover the antenatl nurse at KKH told us that there is no need to rinse the baby, and she recommended Johnsons Baby Bath. With all these chemicals around, I also am not sure whether or not I should rinse. On one hand it is very toublesome to change water and rinse, on the other hand the baby may suckle his fingers right after bath and ingest all the bath chemicals.... So very headache...

Seem like many of you are looking forward to the taka baby fair. Those heading down to the fair tmr can pls update here wat is on offer, any good deals etc etc..... thks u so much...

For those mummies using baby cot, do you buy a mattress protector for yr baby? which kind to get? the waterproof one?

ilovebabies,

Thanks!I will call her today.

I think not all massage lady will provide the binder. Can check with them when we do the booking.
From my past experience, the massage lady only wrapped me using a long long cloth and after all the sessions, she took it back.

elmo

mona says she does tummy and thigh wraps. according to the gals in aug thread, gotta let mona knows in advance if you want thigh wraps ... i tot of getting her for 2 weeks if she is ok ehehhe .. can slim down faster mah !!

ilovebabies,
That will be gd if she provide thigh wraps.I will like to try too. Yday when my hubby massage my legs, he said how come cannot find my bones one?Argghh...

elmo

hahah... ur hubby soooooooooo insensitive ! hahaah

anyway my hubby has been very encouraging thruout my pregnancy .. keep telling me i still look beautiful hahaha dunno whether he speaking from his heart

Elmo,

Look on the brighter side.... At least he massaged your legs!
I have a friend who suffered from leg cramps at night. She tried waking her hubby up to massage, but he said got massage also cramp, no massage also cramp, it's the same anyway.... And then he went back to sleep. Argh!!!

peachie, your bb is huge leh. Mine was considered quite big when I did the scan on wk 32 (2.1kg)... My gynae didn't mention what's the current weight now when I went for the check-up last Friday. Will check with her when I see her this Friday.

Will pop by Taka baby fair next Mon as it's less crowded...

ilovebabies,
I think he was just joking so i dont take it to heart too. Haha~ At least he bother to massage for me.

Btw,I have just called Mona and have booked her early sept although my EDD is 11th sept. She told me her hp has been ringing non-stop. haha~
Gals, i think if u all want her, better act fast!

keke.. ilovebabies,

putting the contacts i give u to good use ah..! You hubby is doing the right thing! You wei da mummy leh... keke...

MASSAGE
I did have extra sessions @ rustic nirvana... cos me member.. but will do malay massage from home initially first.. if still not ok, will go to rustic to continue my slimming, as they have steaming services &amp; sandstone therapy to get rid of extra cellulite &amp; water retention..

MATTRESS PROTECTOR
I went to Ikea to buy the mattress protector..think ~12 sgd? bought it quite early.. so can't really remember..

TAKA BABY FAIR
I think i have most stuff liaoz.. dunno wat else to buy leh...

77 (peachie),
Yes yes, i think its just a remark.I also found my thighs vy big leh. He massaged my legs even though i got no cramps.
Nvm, after delivery,then do something to it.

ilovebabies,
Not to worry!I think she will stop taking in if her slots are full?

jasmine

hehe ya good things must share mah ..
hope all of us can get our figure back real fast !!

elmo

ya I hpe she manage her time well .. else she be too tired when she attend to us ahha

aiyah my thighs are big also .. u r not alone .. remember we were talking abt how our thighs rub against each other .. and I have to put powder there to minimise the friction hahah

i think i oso wont be going taka bb fair tmr. probably go on a wkday morning. quiet and no crowd. more fun to shop.

<font color="maroon">
Can anybody who's going to the taka fair tomorrow let me know if they're selling Avent ISIS IQ Uno with good discount??

Hi Elmo,

Just borrowed my colleague's Today newspaper... think you've made a mistake. The Latacyd which Guardian is having an offer on ($19.90 for 2 X 250ml with 60ml) is the feminine hygiene wash, not the baby bath. Thanks anyway for the info! Looks like so far only Ocean got sell.... haiz. If you have any more "kang tow", let me know okie!

Hi Melissa,

What is deemed a good discount?
What is the cheapest price you saw so far? Can help u look look since I am popping by Taka tmrw.

peachie,
Yes you the one with the biggest baby.. LOL. I saw it retailing for $279. Even in FirstFewYears. If I buy from Kiddy Palace, I can get 10% discount at most. So hopefully one with 20% sounds good enough? Depends on what it's bundled with too. Thank you very much for looking for me!

hey girls,
just spoken to the secretary in my office about birth. (why suddenly pple become very friendly to pregnant ladies huh? hehe) she told me her labor is only 2 hours! when her water broke, she die-die thought she just peed on herself! i asked her what did she do to deserve the 2-hr labor? she said she walked A LOT. especially chasing the CEO around. hehe, guess I better do my walking on my treadmill already!

Hi Melissa,

No probs!
Will help u look look....

Wow, your secretary had a 2 hour labour! I am very impressed! Read an article in a parenting magazine lately. Basically it mentioned that having a smooth delivery depends on the 3 "P"s:
1) Passage -> must not have a stubborn cervix, and cervix must be able to dilate to at least 10cm,
2) Power -> must have sufficient stamina to last through the entire labour process and push baby out, and
3) Passenger -> the passenger (aka baby) must not be too large, especially the head and the shoulders. If shoulders pile on too much fats may get stuck in birth canal.

Hehe... I think my passenger is on the large side... not sure about the passage and power factor though...

watie, thanks for sharing!

ilovebabies,
i booked Mona too
I a bit kiasu, booked her months ago cos heard she very popular. Eh...your hubby very good le, don't think my hubby ever say i'm beatiful :p

peachie,
After reading your concern on the chamical ingredient in baby bath i went checked on Avent body&amp;hair wash i bought, it also contains PEG. Then my aunt told me another chemical, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, also cancer linked. Lactacyd doesn't contain both chemicals.

hi, im not bringing bb clothes to the hosp.

but will bring booties since they only provide mittens and clothes.

my friend did a lot of walking coz she was busy w her hse renovation during her pregnancy. a lot of shopping for furniture and stuff. and oso mtg the contractors, etc. but she oso didnt hv a super fast labour.

Cherrie

oh so u know mona too !! hehe i heard she's effective leh and somemore she charges v cheaply !!

peachie

i guess the position of the passenger matters too .. anterior or posterior position does affect the number of labour hours.