(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

littlepony
how far along r u? babies can still move from week 32-34. they're at their peak. maybe b'cos my skin is naturally stretchy. i get this all the time! she's very active in the morning. sometimes almost the whole day!

Littlepony

shld be ok .. my gal is also v active these few days .. I only worried when her activity has reduced ..that could means she can be engaged, amio fluid low or other reasons ??!!!

melissa,
I am at my 34th weeks. Gynae say 2 more weeks bb mature. I cross my fingers, hoping i won't deliver now .. i feel my stomach painful.. but i am certain not the contractional kind of pain.. it's like 'u eat something wrong' kind of pain lor.. on and off.....

littlepony, hmm... u're right abt that, I read that too... but for me, I don't really notice a change in bb's movements and his patterns are still similar... in fact, he has gotten stronger I feel. I'm not that worried coz when I see the doc/nurse, they always ask if bb is moving... so movement must be a gd thing
Don't worry, ur bb is just excited today

littlepony,
i agree with joon. did you eat/drink something sweet? they can get sugar-high u know, hence the movements. they're also bigger so the slightest movement can be felt. my baby has her lazy days and active days. today she's so-so. but tonight i dunno liao.

joon,
think i decided to get avent isis iq uno liao. can be used manual and auto. i like the combination.

thanks for the info edksd and daisybuttons... somehow I am quite worried when I do that cat crawl exercise. Think my posture is not really right, so I start to wonder whether that's for pre or post natal... :p

My baby's head is down with her legs up now, but not really engaged yet. Does that mean that she might still turn *touch wood* to head up, legs down position?

ilovebabies, do you feel breathless more frequent nowadays? Bb didn't move that much over the weekend as compared to previous weeks. Not sure if this is due to the fact that bb is already engaged? Any idea???

melissa,
that's good
i've heard gd things abt that one! how much is it, btw?

smiley,
i just went for my 1st childbirth class yesterday and the lady did say that bbs can change position any time, but usually it's only from front-to-back and vice versa, not inverted from top to bottom. If she's down now, she'll prob stay down

Melissa, oh izzit.. they get sugar-high? haa! maybe i think i did.... can't remember what i ate leh..
But since everyone say movement is good, then i shouldn't be over worried. I still hope the pain of my stomach will go off. it's slightly better now so hope i get well later of the day.

Smiley, my baby's head is down too. He has been keeping this position since he is in his 8th month. Hmm, once babies' head is down.. it's actually quite difficult for them to turn anymore becos they are quite big.. heee! But my gynae say not guarantee engaged but then, good chance that they will engaged easily. So don't have to worry.

Smiley

Joon is right .. it is not quite possible for the bb to move up cos the head is heavier !!

amy

tell me abt it .. sometimes as I was talking, i get breatheless as well !!

ya if ur bb movement is reduced, the bb could be engaged, according to my gynae. so u gotta really monitor it yourself and inform gynae.

Hi MTBs,

Haven't got much chance to use the PC nowadays, can hardly catch up with the postings

ilovebabies, read about your adventure last week, quite kan-cheong for you too...glad that you are ok now

Looks like you gals are going for shopping this holiday, same here, need to go Ikea but also wanted to go taka baby fair...since my legs can only tahan 1 hour walk, can only choose one la...is the babyfair till this weekend?

Anyone bought/buying car seat? i getting one but have not figure out what kind, any advice?

481419.png

Cherrie,
The Taka Baby Fair starts this Wed and lasts all the way until 27 Aug if I'm not wrong. I need to make a trip to Ikea too

Abt car seats... aiyoh... the choices out there are amazing! My hb and I were so lost at first. The thing you need to know is, newborns need to be laid flat or close to flat for the first few months coz their backs are so weak. Maxi-cosi has gd infant car seats with rounded backs which are supposed to be gd for the bb's back. Another plus for maxi-cosi seats is that they can clip on to some strollers (I know it's Quinny compatible) so u don't have to wake the bb up when leavg the car. These infant car seats can also serve as rockers

The only thing is, they outgrow them really quickly and then you'll have to buy a bigger car seat.

Some parents buy the infant-to-toddler car seats that will recline close to flat for newborns and can be raised to seat toddlers. Britax car seats are supposed to be good. These car seats can also be faced front (for toddlers) or back (for infants).

hi Cherrie

thanks.. I am ok now .. the tightenings have reduced drastically on weekends. As for today, i had only a few times.

I bought BRITAX Safe and Sound car seat as it can be used from newborns to 4 years old. This car seat has the most inclined position for newborns in the market, according to the sales gal.

Think i bgt it for $394 ...

wow Joon gave a detailed explanation !

I love MAXI COSI car seats too but they do not have car seats suitable for newborns so I din buy.

btw gals,

yest i felt my breast to be very sensitive and a bit pain if I touch it.. it's the same feeling that we had prior to mensus.

anyone experienced it ?

hahahaha... ya lah... did so much reading up and comparing and talkg to pple... I swear, the learning curve for having a baby is AMAZING! I like the Britax Safe & Sound... it's quite highly rated in the US and in Aust

Cherrie,

Taka bb fair until 27 Aug... starts 9 Aug...

For car seat, i have an combi infant carrier...

ilovebabies,
sorry for late reply.. we knew last night cos ninyo sms one of the Aug MTB that she is being admitted... and the Aug MTB posted on forum lor...

I am on leave today as have gynae visit in the morning.. did the Strep B culture test (cost me extra 50 sgd, but claimable from company).. My girl is headdown, but, her face is facing outwards, not towards my spine.. hope she can turn around by next week's check up... otherwise, cos the diameter when she facing outwards is bigger, i might have a longer labour that may need to be assisted delivery... now, she weighs 2.7kg, but not yet engaged.. so, i am not likely to pop early too.. hehe.. was wondering if i can pop this week on Aug 9... keke!!

Thanks you all for the info, i'm thinking to get one for infant-to-toddle too but wow! didn't expect it to be $300+! Actually it's my brother who is buying for baby as a gift & he asked me to choose the model, but paiseh le...think it's above his budget :p

Jasmine, i read from the net (maybe it's baycentre.com) that sitting up-right and doing the pelvic tilt on all fours can help baby's head to face inward...

hi jasmine

ya after I read your post, i went to bio a the august thread also.

hey the funny thing is that ningyo's bb was not engaged when she visited the gynae last Fri nite leh .. so I was quite shocked she delivered within days .. u mean bb can be engaged within such a short period of time ??

ya i think your bb is in the posterior position ah ? I was hoping for anterior position as well (facing the spine) ... but cant make it out from her movements .. will chk with gynae this Thurs.

talk to your gal and get her to come out on Nat'l Day !!

Cherrie

in that case, you can ask your bro to give u a robinson voucher then you top up the rest lor !

Britax is available at Robinsons.

joon,
the avent iq isis uno retails for 279. very ex but since this is first child, i can always reuse for 2nd and third child.. hehehe.. i did look at medela mini electric but i think it's a bit troublesome to switch to manual. need an adapter or something..

littlepony,
yes babies can get excited if u feed them their favorite food. and babies have sweet tooth, so anything sweet can excite them lor, hence the increased movement. however this is not based on scientific evidence. just info i got from another forum. hee hee.

who asked about whether baby is engaged or not?
someone in another forum describe the feeling as having a "bowling ball in between your legs and your can breathe easier due to the drop in position". hopefully less heartburn as well!

cherrie,
i'm actually wishing that somebody will buy me a child car seat. i'm not buying one hehehe... i don't reckon i'll be going out alot if baby depends on me for b/f all the time.

ilovebabies,
yes babies can be engaged last minute! or they can be engaged now and only delivered weeks after! anything is possible!

Wow, din know that even baby's position can be influenced with certain exercises. Reckon we should all start 'scrubbing' the floors :p

hi, tt time my friend she visited the gynae, gynae told her bb not enaged yet, so may not be delivering anytime within the next 10 days or so.

but who knows immediately the next day, she went into labour liao and gave birth and guess what, it was not her gynae who delivered the bb, it was another gynae on duty. coz her gynae went for holiday as he never expected she could be giving birth so soon.

wow .. so bb can be engaged in such a short period of time .. haha dun play play liao ...

dun really dare to squat cos I scared bb really gets engaged .. i want to tahan till at least week 37 which is this Sat onwards !

ilovebabies, joon, you are welcome...

A friend gave me a chinese article on Confinement Care, anyone interested can pm your email address.

bena,

i dun wan to scape d floor, sound like poor cinderalla hahaha... tis is d only time i could get my hubby to do housework heehee..

i love babies,

same as u, breast pain pain when touch>>> anyone got colostrum already??

ilovebabies,
same too. breast pain pain.. especially at night when i sleep. when wake up, breast damn pain lor.. not sure if you experience the same as me...

janice, littlepony

u know I was v tempted to press my nipples to see if got colostrum. but I rememebered the trainer at MAH said we are not supposed to express the colostrum out ....

yes, it occurs at nite, so cant wear bra to sleep .. this morning it was better.

so how ah ? leave it ?

I agree with Joon. There is such a hugh learning curve when it comes to babies.
Just making purchases on simple daily toiletries is becoming such a hassle. So many Brands / prices to choose from. Don't know which is better quality and value for money.

Anyway, I've prepared a price comparison file just to help me figure out the price difference between the various Brands and shops.
Hope it is also useful for some of you.
attachment_icon.gif
Consumables Price Comparison
Consumables Price Comparison.xls (26.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Angeline

u impressed us again with your compilation ! you go gal !!

Janice

ya lor .. but painful leh .. think this is how we feel during engorgement hor ?

ilovebabies,
ya.. u too? happens at night? i often go braless at night.. so can't do much. just leave it lor..
Oh engrorgement is like that meh? or maybe worse!

ilovebabies, did you pm your email address? i never use the pm function here actually. I tried pm myself but no working la...

Think better don't express colostrum, suppose to save it for baby ma...I have breast pain this morning, first time. Sometimes after shower i noticed some white cotton like 'discharge' from nipple, dunno what's that? Heard colostrum is yellow in color.

Angeline, impressive work you do

aiyah, you girls making me embarassed.
I was just having information overload after going to the baby fair and had no idea what to buy. So rather curb the impulse buying first and try to think things throught to make sure it is really worth it. Otherwise, will feel very stupid is later find out that I was 'ker tuk' by the fair.

You can change the names of shop for your own use and insert more rows with the other items / brands if needed. Just use the format paint brush to copy the format to the new rows.

FYI. the numbers in the file are in HKD, you can change to SGD anytime.

But maybe, I'm the only crazy person obsessed with such things.

Littlepony

ya at nite only .. why ah ? i presume engorgement is this feeling lah .. cant imagine anything worse that that ?

Cherrie

I have enabled PM, u just click on my nick and you follow the instructions on the screen. You could have disabled the PM function for your account.

ilovebabies,
i also happen at night only leh.. when i sleeping... and then next day, very painful.
i dunno how engorgement feeling is.. errr.. hope it's not as bad as tis.. this one frankly i feel quite bad alreadi leh.

U don't mention.. i tot i am the only one to feel it leh.

Btw, u did the Strep B test right? how izzit? results out alreadi? My gynae got a nice name for it. It's called 'Aerobic cultures' .. i tot wat izzit leh? only until i read the details then i know it's strep b test.

Littlepony

I will do it this Thurs afternoon during my gynae visit. Guess I only know the results one week later.

Cherrie, I rcv your pm and have emailed you.

Littlepony

dun worry as long as u know it doesnt itch or not soreness.

anyway gynae will give u medication mah .. ok ?

Cherrie, got it, thanks !

Not to scare you all...engorgement is much more painful. Haiz, our breasts will be as hard as rock. Some will kenna fever and I'm one of the "lucky" ones.
But of cos, we can prevent it by latching or expressing the milk out.

hi elmo

my friend who delivered the 5.1kg baby, had high fever during her confinement due to engorgement and she was rushed to A&amp;E that time .. so scary !!

so must express BM conscientously ah ...

ilovebabies and elmo,
If suffer from engorgement, use cabbages and put it on breast.. it helps!! But don't cook it after use! haaaaaaaa!

ilovebabies,

Wow,your friend so serious ah?Have to rush to A&amp;E?
That time, my fever quite high so have to be on medication. Have to stop BF my baby. Therefore, I only managed to BF my baby for 3 wks