(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

puppylove, yeah that's wat i read in some articles too about not introducing bottles to avoid nippple confusion in the 1st mth. anyway that means u will only use the bottles 3 mths later when u go back to work rite? i think i will go out n buy some then ;) see maybe some pple will give me bottles as gifts then i can save some $$ haha

interesting note abt the nipple stimulaiton... didnt realise it was so 'powerful'!

btw i like your ticker! so nice and colourful. which site is it fr?

michelle,
yup, maybe u can catch some year-end sales going on by then?

the ticker is from Baby's First Site. i got it fr someone who used it here b4
But i can't upload the ticker straightaway... think it exceeds the size limit allowed, so i usually reduce size in Photoshop b4 uploading.

http://www.babysfirstsite.org/newtickers/

464332.png

btw, someone mentioned there'll be another sale at Taka in August? Is it a bb fair? Do u hv more details? Tx!

Hv any of u bought or plan to buy bb essentials fr the Cheong Choon shop in Chinatown? Want to find out how the prices compare to if we buy elsewhere. I'm looking at essentials such as diapers, bathing/washing liquids, etc. They've free delivery if purchase is more than $150.

elo puppylove, the products i ordered from cheong choon was delivered yesterday.
i ordered a cot, baby rocker and stroller. if u comparing prices, i asked winnie (cheong choon lady boss) abt diapers before. she say she dun usually carry diapers coz prices for pampers etc goes up and down very fast and she dun wanna risk selling something much more exp than retail outside. but if u request, i think she may order for u, but u gotta compare prices first. for things like bathing/washing liquids, i did a comparison for pigeon detergent b4, think same price as outside. but if during times like GSS, u may get it cheaper outside. however, pigeon wipes like the 6pack refill retailing outside promo price $18.50, CC sells $17. so it really depends on items. but big ticket items like cot, strollers CC is usually cheaper.

michelle, yes i go have bottles but i didn't intentionally buy that. 4 came with my avent pump, 2 with my pigeon steriliser, and 1 free from parentcraft.

daisybuttons,
thanks for info! ya, notice that not everything is cheaper at CC. Big items shld be ok. Eg. the Tiny Love Symphony-in-Motion mobile is going for $70 at CC compared to $90+ at John Little (after 20% disc). But the Medela Mini Electric + cooler bag is priced more ex at CC.

NTUC having offer for some bb stuff, including diapers, till next Wed:
~Pampers Premium NB $29.75 for 2 packs of 36s
~MamyPoko NB $17.80 for 1 pack of 52s
~Drypers S $24.85 for 2 packs of 64s

Anyone knows if there're better offers than above?

Morning MTBs.
How's everyone doing today?

Finally is Monday! Today i going to visit my gynae and can see my little girl after a long wait of 5 weeks!

464760.jpg

Morning morning,
it's so hot!!!! the weather during the weekend has been a killer! i spend the whole two days coping at home, refusing to go out!

Bena, that's nice! always feel good seeing gynae hoh! I m seeing my gynae this coming Saturday and then, think gynae will change my appointments to fortnightly alreadi.

Littlepony, puppylove,

Yah lor yah lor...the feeling of going to see gynae is simply great!
Yeah, cos last week hubby not in town...so postponed 1 week. I everyday strike out 1 day on my calendar...feels so cham leh...heheh...finally the day has arrived.
okies, will update after my visit!

Hhmm, i hope gynae will change my visit to fortnightly soon.

ive decided to donate the cord blood to scbb instead of storing it for own use w the private bank.

what abt u all?

for those of u having cramps at night, i realised wearing socks doesnt help leh. i still encounter cramp.

so far my hubby massaged my calves for me every night before i sleep and there's no more cramp liao. 3 days consecutively already. so i guess massage helps.

hi puppylove and daisybuttons,

do u know whether cheong choon sells pigeon steriliser cheaper than shopping centres having 20% sale?

normally how long they take to deliver the goods?

edksd, i most likely will be donating to cord blood too. Thought it would be good to donate rather than go to waste unless i take up the private bank.

helo puppylove, yah not everything cheaper so u gotta compare.
for me, i bought my tiny love cot mobile delux (with remote) at motherswork coz after their 20% its cheaper than CC. but i bot my pigeon wipes from CC. for the diapers offer at NTUC, think its the cheapest so far, except i heard if u have the posb everyday credit card u get a 5% rebate off carrefour's price, but i not sure until when. someone compared and say carrefour cheaper, provided u have the card. otherwise, this price from NTUC is already cheaper than sheng shiong, selling pampers NB at $15.50 per 36s.

edksd, i think for delivering its more up to you. for big tic items they have no space to store at their shop so they wld rather u get it sooner hehhee. as for pigeon, even SC having 20% sale also selling the steriliser at $87 right? or thereabouts? i have not heard of a cheaper price than this. i am not sure how much CC seling, u can call and check. but i dun think they deliver just the steriliser leh.

so what made u decide to store with SCBB? i have not decided leh, jia lat....

hi daisybuttons, when u're at motherswork, did u see the tinylove SIM musical mobile w/o remote one?

im looking for w/o remote. but seems like most departmental stores come w remote model.

im thinking if i buy the steriliser and musical mobile from CC (tts if CC is cheaper), tt makes up $150 and will get delivery.

i feel tt if everybody can donate to the public bank, anyone in need can find a match easily. same if i need it myself, i can oso find a match easily. but if everybody just store up for their own use, they might not even need it and cant help others who're in need. so i want to donate it, i hope i wont need it and at the same time if someone who needs it, can find mine a match, tt'll be great.

hi gals !

i spent my weekends hand-washed all the bb clothes, mittens .. put the bedsheet and nappies into washing machine ... and I haven finished washing the clothes ! Still got another bag to go .. will do it this week .. damn tired leh ... imagine gotta sit on a stool and handwash all the stuff ... phew !

i am seeing my gynae fornightly now also.. so v excited !

464832.png

edksd,
i've not thought abt cord blood donation yet... hmm...
Think if shopping centres have sales, prices shld generally be cheaper than CC... but better call CC to be sure loh. Do u have the contact? It's 65323855. Address: Blk 34 Upper Cross St #03-132 (Cheong Choon Store)

daisybuttons,
thanks for the info on diapers. Guess i'll be buying fr NTUC then since i dun hv the POSB everyday credit card. Carrefour sale is till 25 July I think.

ilovebabies,
heheh.. me haven't sorted out and washed bb's clothes yet. Still trying to pack/clean up the house first... yup, it's real tiring for us now! But dun strain yourself ok? remember to take regular breaks to rest!

I also haven't tot of cord blood donation yet.

Ilovebabies,
you done a big achievement leh.. sorting and washing bb's clothes. haaa! Well done! I am aiming to start packing my bag this week.. and grabbing last minute stuff... coz i am moving to my mil's plc for confinement.. so i m thinking of putting my necessities in a big luggage bag.. haaa!

ilovebabies...wow, u almost done all the washing and preparation liao. I really pei fu you. Somemore hand-wash! I am way way way slower than u. I still have not gotten the cot and stuffs ready. I bought 1-set of bedsheet already tho :p

Planning to go get the detergent/softener this weekend...i am engaging a maid to help my mom with the bb & housework...so i most probably wait till the maid is here then ask her to help me put all the load into the washing machine. I cannot tahan sitting on the stool and hand-wash.

hey puppylove, thks for the link
the tickers are so much nicer than tickercentral's!

seems everybody knows about thie CC store. exactly where is it located in chinatown? near chinatown pt is it? do they have a shop where you can go to browse? cos i work quite near there but never knew about its existence :p

ilovebabies, wah u handwash everything ah? we were doing the washing y'day too but just dump everyting inside the washing mch. we put them in those laundry bags first of course. handwash very siong leh

464907.png

ive also washed all the clothing/nappies/etc.

tidied and packed them accordingly.

the bouncer seat and walker seat oso washed and packed away. when in need to use, just need to wipe clean one time.

as for the milk bottles and stuff, will wash and sterilise once when closer to date.

my boss is getting me a bb cot, so most likely i'll be getting the mattress, bedsheets, etc during the taka bb fair next mth.

the hosp bag stuff already bought.

so basically most of the things are done. after national day, i'll take a short holiday break w my hubby.

after holiday then pack the hospital bag and wait for the ameda breast pump delivery. get familiar w the assembly and cleaning it.

hey gals ... i need to start now cos I am oredi in my 33rd week leh .. and doc say who knows bb want to come out on 36th week onwards ?? so he makes me kan cheong lah !

ya I handwash them .. tot better ? can last longer also ... i only put the nappies and bedsheets into washing machine.

i need to start to pack my bag too ... was reading the Aug MTB thread and their labour stories .. makes me nervous now ahaha ..

I cant do the cord blood donation at MAH leh .. how u gals going to donate it ? tot they only go to a few hospitals ?

Bena,
if you have a maid, then get her to do the handwashing.. coz baby clothes should handwash rather than machine wash leh. But anyway hoh, i am also planning the list of things to get.. like detergent, wipers, diapers etc... this weekend.

hi ilovebabies,

maybe u wld like to call scbb 63945011 to ask them how u can donate at MAH. im delivering at tmc. next gynae appt, the scbb coordinator will meet up w me to explain and for me to sign the consent form.

i'll be in 30th wk this coming thur! 10 more wks to go!

ilovebabies,
haaa. today, i also panicking! although i am in my 31st week.. but then hoh, reading the August MTB threat and their labour stories and also how some of them were early makes me very nervous alreadi.. then i realised if i don't get prepared.. then who knows if baby choose to be out earlier or later..
Haa! i understand how you feel.. u at 33rd week.. kan cheong hoh!!!!!

oh btw

the trainer at my ante natal class tells us not to buy diapers now as you wont know ur bb size until u deliver. anyway hospital will give one small packet as a gift.

I intend to ask my hubby to buy it after I deliver. anyway during daytime, I will be using cloth nappies.

one qn, I'll be using disposable diapers for bb before she sleep. So shld I change it in the middle of the nite ? what if both bb and me sleep throughout the nite ? Shld I wake up purposely to change it for her ?

littlepony, ooh, okies. Will get the maid to hand-wash...maybe ask her to wash bit by bit, then not so tiring...then again, the clothes are so small, shouldn't be to taxing on her
So exciting...can't wait to see those little clothes hanging on the rack to dry :p

ilovebabies, i think if the bb doesn't cry bcos of wet nappies, then better to leave them to sleep thru rather than waking them up just to change diaper? Or maybe u get change her when she is awake for her feeds?

ilovebabies,
haaa. i think if you feel there's a need to change during middle of nite, then change it loh.. but hardly the cases where 1) bb sleep throughout the night 2) bb don't get wet throughout the night 3) u sure you can sleep throughout the night! haaaaaa!!!

Bena

ya I was thinking of that too ...

Littlepony

hai u r so honest ! ahahha

but agree, i can change her during the mid nite feed. My worry is if I dun change her, she may get nappy rash leh .. poor gal so small gotta suffer, right ?

MTBs,
how's your appetite these days huh? Mine is more or less fixed at 3 meals a day leh.. and a glass of milk before bedtime or perhaps at 3 plus in the morning... i wonder if this is fine or not....
I hope i am eating sufficient for baby. Ever since i recover from my food poisoning, i haven't been eating alot.. but yesterday, took durians! heeeee.... i know alot of you taken durians.. but i haven't leh. haaa! so yesterday, took some and damn shiok!

ilovebabies,
haaa!! try changing baby's nappies often to avoid rash. on the other hand, apply nappy cream as well. Oh.. now i remember this cream.. better put in my 'to buy' list.
Ya.. i can understand it will be heartpain for us to see our baby suffer hoh. ...

ilovebabies,

i think it shld be fine to get the disposable diapers. the newborn size is for up to 5kg. so i think most newborns can fit into it.

if u're worried bb too big, then get s size since it's for 3-8kg.

hi littlepony,

it's not how much u eat but rather what u eat tt matters.

as long as u've fibre, protein, calcium, carbo in every of ur meal, then it shld be fine.

anyway, even now pregnant, we're not eating for 2, so the quantity shldnt increase much at all.

i did not take and will not take durians. coz ive gestational diabetes. not allowed to.

littlepony

same as u leh .. i only eat 3 meals per day now .. and occasional corn flakes with milk at nite before sleep. I just had D24 durians over the weekend too ! v shiok right ? but MIL warned that in 3rd tri, we shld try to take slightly more cooling food as bb will have heat rash.

ya I bgt Drapolene cream yest also .. think as long as bb backside is dry, she will be fine.

edksd,
thanks! then i think i am normal. haa!

ilovebabies,
haaa. yap.. durians damn shiok. i haven't eaten durians for ages.. so it's quite satisfying. Oh.. cooling food huh.. okie.. i better remember this!

What's a Drapolene cream? for nappy rash? where you get it? what's the different brands out there for nappy rash and what brands r better? u know?

Littlepony

think the two popular brands are Drapolene and Desitin ... heard Drapolene is more effective in treating nappy rash, but it is more difficult to apply and absorbed by the skin. I got it from medical hall.

btw I went kiddy palace on Sat to buy the rest of the bb stuff. They dont sell the two brands of cream I mentioned abv. However there are some items on sale leh .. such as the washing powder, disposable nursing pads ... u can go take a look.

i also bgt a J&J bedtime lotion to massage my bb ... and kiddy palace now giving a CD FOC on massaging the bb .. ehe will start to learn it .. prob do it on my hubby first ! ahah

oh btw the trainer at MAH says can just apply normal bb lotion after every nappy change. can use nappy rash cream only when rashes occur. anyway it is up to every mother.

ilovebabies,
thanks! very helpful information. I am coming up with the shopping list once again. Things like: nappy cream, detergeent, washing powder etc. Perhaps it's just a good idea to go to kiddy palace and get the stuff, isn't it? one stop and don't need so ma-fan.

littlepony

ya .. true .. no need to shop around .. but i intended to get pigeon or kodomo washing powder but kiddy palace dont have it .. hmm funny ...so I bgt pureen one instead.

happy shopping !

ilovebabies,
i was abt to ask what detergent u used to handwash ur bb's clothes..
Guess itz Pureen then.

I'm buying diapers now 'cos now got offer!! hehe... anyway, think it's quite safe to get some NB diapers. I'm planning to get Pampers Premium NB, the same one TMC will provide at the hospital. Btw, don't think hospital give as gift leh... for TMC, I know for sure they'll charge the cost to your bill!! One pack is only 36pcs. If u've to change 6 times a day, it'll last u less than a wk!! I've also bought Drypers S size for use later, when bb is bigger. Bought during the recent JL 20% sale.

oh, i bought children's clothes hangers y'day too. Almost forgot that i would need them!! keke...

Littlepony,
like what ilovebabies says, the two popular brands are Drapolene and Desitin. Some pp use Drapolene for daily prevention use and switch to Desitin if there's nappy rash. Others stick to just one brand all the way - really depends on ur bb. Based on feedback fr my colleagues, i intend to use Desitin all the way. The Creamy version is easier to apply compared to Original. If u want to buy, can check out the BP threads or even yahoo auctions. A 4oz tube is going for $13 to $14 each. Stores are selling a 2oz tube for $10 to $12 i think.
Drapolene would be much cheaper.

A question abt sterilising bottles and breast pump parts... once they're washed and sterilised, we've to keep them in air-tight container to prevent contamination.. is it?

puppylove

i used kodomo detergent for washing yest. I intend to use the powder on cloth nappies, with bb's poo poo. heeh ..

oh the diapers are not FOC ? chey ...

ya I also bought the hangers, which open up like an umbrella.. so can hang bb clothes there .. easier .. err dunno if u get what I mean ahah ...

I bgt the Drapolen for $4.

according to the trainer at MAH (haah I repeat myself again..), she said can either leave it inside the sterlizer or take out with tongs and cover the teats with the bottle cover.

michelle,
CC is not really near Chinatown Point. If u're coming fr Chinatown Pt, u've to cross the junction and walk past OG along Upper Cross St. Just do a search in streetdirectory.com and u'll see lah! heehee... Actually CC is not really a store for u to browse in, cos it doesn't display all that it sells. U've to ask the owner Winnie if she has the products u want and how much she's selling them. May be easier if u just call her...

ilovebabies,
nothing's FOC... except sample bb products in miniature bottles!!

ya, know wat u mean abt the umbrella hanger. I bought the individual hangers though, esp. for clothes that i dun fold up.

oh okie! noted abt the sterilised bottles/teats. Thanks!

Hi hi..

I seem to recall someone has posted before, but can she do it again? What are the things to bring to the hospital for mother, father and baby? I will be delivering at TMC, I heard they will give receiving blanket, baby'c clothes, so I don't have to bring these two right?

And btw, for those who attended ParentCraft, do they give out notes? Or do i have to bring my own notepad? Is it like a lecture-based lesson where they will flash transparency and I copy down the notes? I am in my 30th week already and I still have not attended the first lesson.. Oops..

hi Smiley

this is my list

button down shirts/pyjamas
disposables panties
maternity pads
breast pads
toiletries(t/brush,facial wash, shampoo)
slippers
nursing bras
handph charger
sweets
a set of mitten and bootie for baby
notebook & pen
our own set of clothing to wear home
towel, one big one small
medela breast pumps.
one set of bb clothes when going home
face and eye moisturizer
lip balm
digital camera
a few hankerchiefs for bb
jacket

anything I missed out ?

hi smiley, for the class, they'll give out a stack of notes right in the beginning of the 1st class. tt's the notes for the 5 sessions.

u dun really hv to take down notes, just pay attention in class and absorb everything into brain

hi edksd, yes i rem seeing the non-remote one at motherswork, and also at first few yrs (KKH). that is usually the more popular one actually leh, hard to find meh? hhmmm..yes ur reasoning about the cord blood is true. if we are more keen on sharing and donating, then more ppl will be and thats better for everyone isn't it?

ilovebabies, hubby and me also handwash about 7-8 poles worth of baby stuff over the weekend. they look so adorable right?
i have not wash the blankets and bedsheets though. wanna ask u girls hor, how do you intend to wash cot bumper if you have? can we throw it into washing machine? will it get out of shape? and for things u throw into washing machine (i thinking of blankets and towels and bedsheets), do you "disinfect" ur washing machine before hand with a load of dettol or something? coz we use our machine for washing socks and floor rugs, quite dirty leh. one of hubby's friends ask him handwash all baby stuff, coz washing machine got germs, but i know mrs wong (TMC) say its okie. so i quite dilemna. what u girls think? yah man, yesterday sitting on the stool to handwash the clothes is no joke hehehe but its so satisfying. hubby also, though he got so tired assembling the furniture and handwashing the clothes, he say its very satisfying coz its all for our baby.

oh and also, how do you store the baby's clean washed clothes and stuff after washing? u due soon right? so shld be okie. for me, another 1.5 mths - 2 mths to go. so i store them in clean ziplog bags to prevent dust. or to store in my new dresser but with a clean towel over it to block off dust.

littlepony, the 2 popular brands of nappy rash cream is desitin and drapolene i think. some ppl find drapolene mild, so switch to desitin after baby develop rash. but for desitin, there's 2 types, creamy and original. cream is 10% zinc oxide, easier to clean off and is mroe for prevention. original is 40% zinc oxide, more for treatment and harder to clean off. singapore pharmacies usually only have desitin original, thats why u see so many bulk purchase for desitin creamy. and for drapolene, think a lot of places have, i keep seeing it in pharmacies like ntuc healthcare. drapolene is cheaper.

ilovebabies, u say kiddy palace dun have pigeon or kodomo detergent? did u check carefully ah? coz i rem seeing pigeon detergent there b4. and i bougght my kodomo softener there too. anyway pigeon detergent ntuc also have ah.

puppylove, i did research among mothers in the forum, usually pigeon or kodomo detergents is recc. for ur info only.

as for the storage of sterilised bottles, mrs wong said to take out and assemble everything nicely with the teats and cover, so that inside is all clean. as for breast pumps hor, i also wondering how to store after sterilising leh. so i intend to only sterilise it AFTER i deliver. but i will take it out from the pack and learn how to assemble it first a few wks from now

hi smiley, thought parent craft give out notes at the 1st class, some of the things they teach like certain exerices or massage or tips (esp last 2 lessons) are not in the notes. so it may be good for u to bring a small notebook to take down notes esp in the last 2 lessons where they teach u bf-ding and sterilising and bathing baby. for 1st 3 lessons, just listen carefully, rem the exercises and practise it on ur own when u reach home so u rem better.
but i always forgot to practise hehehee.

hi daisybuttons, i think motherswork no more sales already..... think may just check it out at first few yrs.

usually after i washed rugs/floor mats, i'll clean the machine using machine cleaning powder. just pour them in, let the machine run and rinse. tt'll do.

i think just keep the clothes in a clean drawer will do. sometimes when we're so clean, the bb will get even more sensitive. i rem one time a chinese doc says the children nowadays are so used to clean environment tt they fall sick easily.

im using pureen, i find it ok. i read tt pigeon one usually leave a soapy feeling after wash. and kodomo is liquid detergent, not sure if suitable for my metal drum type machine.

daisybuttons

wah long posts!

ya I used up all 5 poles and have to mobilise all hangers to hang bb clothes !

i din disinfect the washing machine .. i just throw the nappies and bedsheets inside. Hmm.. think me not very particular abt that .. dun wan bb to turn out to be too sensitive to such things else taking care of her will be difficult. anyway we were brought up w/o such practices and we turned out fine !
just my personal tots.

i bgt my dresser a mth ago .. and I clean it once with some cleaning detergents .. and left it open to dry. Then last week, I cleaned it again with Pigone accessories cleaner detergent and left it to open to dry ... so I make sure the smell is ok before I kept bb clothes inside. Using ziplog bags is fine I guess.

yes I did checked carefully leh .. probably kiddy palace ran out of stock.

i have not sterilise the pump yet .. but if I want to bring to hospital, I need to do it asap. anyone bringing pumps to hospital ?

puppylove, yah hor how come i so dumb never think of searching thro streetdirectory.. sigh. raelly feel my IQ level slipping!

must buy hangers for baby clothes one meh? i just fold everything and put into the drawers :p

as for detergent, i used the kodomo one y'day. it smells realy nice
like baby powder like dat. i bot one box of pigeon one too but hv not tried it. oh, and for those interested to buy the kodomo one, now ntuc got offer so can go check it out

i bot desitin creamy too cos heard it's pretty gd. will try it out then see how lor. is it necc to apply the cream every time we change the nappy?

btw, my fren said the toys r us brand of diapers are pretty gd too so can try it out if you gals want. i bot 1 pack just to try out first.

i was at ntuc over the wkend but cannot find anymore S size for mamypoko leh. dun tell me sold out oredi cos of the offer? i was at 2 differnt branches some more