hi edksd, yes i rem seeing the non-remote one at motherswork, and also at first few yrs (KKH). that is usually the more popular one actually leh, hard to find meh? hhmmm..yes ur reasoning about the cord blood is true. if we are more keen on sharing and donating, then more ppl will be and thats better for everyone isn't it?
ilovebabies, hubby and me also handwash about 7-8 poles worth of baby stuff over the weekend. they look so adorable right?
i have not wash the blankets and bedsheets though. wanna ask u girls hor, how do you intend to wash cot bumper if you have? can we throw it into washing machine? will it get out of shape? and for things u throw into washing machine (i thinking of blankets and towels and bedsheets), do you "disinfect" ur washing machine before hand with a load of dettol or something? coz we use our machine for washing socks and floor rugs, quite dirty leh. one of hubby's friends ask him handwash all baby stuff, coz washing machine got germs, but i know mrs wong (TMC) say its okie. so i quite dilemna. what u girls think? yah man, yesterday sitting on the stool to handwash the clothes is no joke hehehe but its so satisfying. hubby also, though he got so tired assembling the furniture and handwashing the clothes, he say its very satisfying coz its all for our baby.
oh and also, how do you store the baby's clean washed clothes and stuff after washing? u due soon right? so shld be okie. for me, another 1.5 mths - 2 mths to go. so i store them in clean ziplog bags to prevent dust. or to store in my new dresser but with a clean towel over it to block off dust.
littlepony, the 2 popular brands of nappy rash cream is desitin and drapolene i think. some ppl find drapolene mild, so switch to desitin after baby develop rash. but for desitin, there's 2 types, creamy and original. cream is 10% zinc oxide, easier to clean off and is mroe for prevention. original is 40% zinc oxide, more for treatment and harder to clean off. singapore pharmacies usually only have desitin original, thats why u see so many bulk purchase for desitin creamy. and for drapolene, think a lot of places have, i keep seeing it in pharmacies like ntuc healthcare. drapolene is cheaper.
ilovebabies, u say kiddy palace dun have pigeon or kodomo detergent? did u check carefully ah? coz i rem seeing pigeon detergent there b4. and i bougght my kodomo softener there too. anyway pigeon detergent ntuc also have ah.
puppylove, i did research among mothers in the forum, usually pigeon or kodomo detergents is recc. for ur info only.
as for the storage of sterilised bottles, mrs wong said to take out and assemble everything nicely with the teats and cover, so that inside is all clean. as for breast pumps hor, i also wondering how to store after sterilising leh. so i intend to only sterilise it AFTER i deliver. but i will take it out from the pack and learn how to assemble it first a few wks from now