(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Bena,
aye sama sama.. my girl was also 1.3kg at approx. 30wks!!

btw, i haven't received your PM leh...

so far, i've received contact info fr ilovebabies, littlepony and smiley. Smiley - u want to give me ur HP no. as well? U only gave email.

Hi Gals:

Hello, long time never post anything except reading.

Manage to get the major items out of my to do list and it feels good !!

New Born and Dog:
Just a piece of info to share if you are in a similar position.
I have a one year old silky terrier. My parents, in laws, friends and
older family members warn me about the negative effects of having a
dog at home with a new born. Upon reading and mental struggle for a
few months, both me and hubby decided to take the chance and adopt
a semi eastern cum western approach , is our own best fit solution and hope
it works .

Below is a simple article on how to get your dog accustomed to your new born .
http://www.slate.com/id/2144196/?GT1=8295
I tried with a soft toy, hugging and carrying it plus playing the sound clip of
baby crying and my dog reacted with pointed ears , shinny eyes , slanting
his head towards left and right giving me that curious look .. eventually he
started wagging his chopped tail and trying to seek my attention by introducing his
favorite toy , when I ignored him , he started barking like nobodys business.
When I carried the soft toy walking around my home, he will tailed me and
trying to get the soft toy to play with him.

I will have to separate both of them until they are ready, guess this will be the
extra load and worries too if I intend to keep the dog. ( There were incidents where
my dog actually sneaked into the room C he knew that is out of his territory C and
trashed out my MILs luggage , he kind of steal the soft toy I left on the floor too !! )

Glucose Test :
I got my test result and it was ok. Thank you for those who indicated their concerns.

Hospital Tour:
The entire tour in NUH took around 1 hour. One of the lady in our tour had her second
delivery in Gleneagles 3 years ago and she was saying that the size of the maternity ward and
delivery rooms in Gleneagles were smaller. She did mention something like she hated most when
they took her baby out of the room upon delivery for cleaning , heating up and tagging but I wasnt
too sure was that in Gleneagles or Mt E ( her first delivery was in Mt E ) .

The delivery suite in NUH seems ok since this will be my first experience. We went in one of the
ward whom a lady just delivered not long ago and the room smells kind of yaks , dunno was
that the disinfectant or what !! I guess it would be rather messy with all the stinking smell if the
labour takes too long huh !!

Others seems alright , just hope the nurses are patient with experience .

There are only two types of maternity ward in NUH, 1 / 4 beds, I will go with 4 mainly
looking for accompany and someone to ask if I am stuck. Pricing is around S$200 difference
per day , if switch to C- Section , around S$ 2000 difference in total.

Babysitter:
This is the most difficult among all, lucky for those whom your mother or mil will help you.
I got my confinement lady sorted out. Had a tough time considering the possibilities of getting a
babysitter / stay in nanny / maid / infant care centre. Ended up with a babysitter and it took me
nearly two months to locate a suitable lady ( hopefully , since I met her once and majority
of my judgment is based on that 15 C 20 minutes chat ) .

During the entire process of searching, I met really demanding babysitters and agents too.
Their demands ranges from lack of flexible hours ( you pay more if you want that flexibility ),
insist on giving your child formula / wear pampers ONLY, exclude bringing your child to the
doctor during emergency, you buy your own fish when is time your child take solid
food, request for a red packet indicating a good start even before
your child is under her care, you must bring your child home during
public holidays even you are willing to pay her a little more due to
unforeseen circumstance, you shouldnt visit your child too often because that will interrupt the
babysitters lifestyle !!! I did not know babysitters get their salary at the
beginning of the month, it seems that this is the practice and I find it interesting , probably
we should get our salary at the beginning of the month too.

There was one incident where the babysitter was so demanding and I initially thought of keeping
my diplomacy by controlling myself she went a little too far and too confident that I will
definitely go back to her with all her experiences. She was desperate for a confirmation and called
a week later requested to meet up with my husband, I purposely told her I got a better lady which
fulfilled all her NOs at the same rate, she believed me and sounded really disappointed on the
phone stating that she is willing to wait, willing to cut down the price, willing to adjust the time ..
bla bla bla ..she said she wanted to look after my child since she finds me the most
suitable mother at the given time .. bla .. bla .. bla , in fact I was kind of enjoying her disappointment
on the phone and yet keeping my diplomacy without giving any comments. Later, she called
asking me did I put a deposit with the other lady, I lied with a much higher amount she
requested from me, she kept quiet and suggested that we should meet up or do I have
any friends to recommend, I lied by telling her that I do have friends who will be
giving birth around the same time , she believed me again and wanted me to recommend ,
I finally gave her a piece of my mind professionally and she tried not to burn the bridge by
ending the conversation politely too.

What baby hears / baby cries in womb:
I accidentally bump into this which might be interesting to share ( turn on your speakers )
http://dsc.discovery.com/news/media/fetalcryingvideo.html
What happen when the fetus is exposed to sound. He / She will react
and probably thats why the mother feels his / her active movements.
I remember viewing a documentary regarding fetus development which indicates
brain activities when fetus is expose to sound , thats why mothers are
encourage to listen to soothing music during pregnancy.

A few mothers were wondering will fetus make any noise in the womb? It
triggers my curiosity and I will ask my gynae this coming weekend. I am trying
to imagine myself soaking in the pool and my lungs fill with water, I doubted I
could make any noise.

The following is another url which is the closest to what the baby hears inside the
womb. Sounds interesting, better than the CD I was given.
http://www.babysleepsystem.com/y/newbss_landing/index11.21.05.htm

General :
By reading the general progress among mothers in this thread helps a lot.
I am a little behind coz I havent pack my bag as yet and dont even know
what to name my child. I have been reading a couple of books regarding naming but
could not understand how they come up with that so call auspicious name,
the easiest will probably be getting the feng sui master to pick a name. It
costs around S$88.

Washed all my boys clothings / toys etc . I am a lazy mother, I basically
throw everything in my washer, if I can throw my dog in the washer , I think I will
do that too and probably buy a special washer only for dog. I did not even
buy specific detergent to wash my boys clothing , I just separate them from ours
and rinse them with water and dettol. ( Anyway , is still new ) Hope my boy
builds up his immune system soon coz I want to bring him along in
our trips to exotic places.

My baby is growing very fast although I do not know what is his weight to
date, I just realized that I have to push down my pants to the bikini line (
which was not the case three weeks ago ) and my belly button which was one third
of my index finder in depth actually protruded. Looking forward to this
coming visit on Saturday.

Harlo gals! Wow today so many posts! I read till blur!

Seems like most already washed your baby clothes hor? I think I'd better do so to since now tummy suddenly seems to grow very fast. Was like still hardly noticeable 1 month ago. Now everyone congratulating me already.

How many packs of NB diapers do we need to prepare now? Is 1 pack enough since I heard they'll outgrow everything before you have the chance to use or finish it leh

<font color="119911">Bena</font>, glad to hear your checkup is good.

<font color="119911">whatzup</font>, that was a really long post!
Hehe... interesting to read about baby hearing/crying in the womb. I'm also behind like you. Have not really packed anything yet. Think I'd better start planning my weekends to do all the washing and packing already.

hey whatzup ! nice to see u back !

eh the links u provided is good ! u know what, I am going to try out the bb cries in my next visit. I'll ask hubby to put a classical music mp3 in his O2 and he'll play it when gynae do the scan ... hehe hope I can see bb move then !

your experience on searching on a babysitter really benefits us .. though I am not engaging one .. but it is good to know the "standards" in the market.

anyway great to hear that ur bb is doing fine ..

dumpty

think can buy 1 pack of diapers first .. u can always ask hubby to buy another pack during ur confinement.

dumpty - I've bought 2 packets of pampers S size diapers as my bb's weight is projected to be 3.5kg... not sure if NB diapers is too small for him...

ilovebabies, other than the items you have shared with us for the hospital bag, are you planning to bring brand essence of chicken and a flask of hot red date tea as well (to drink after delivery)?

puppylove, I've pm you my contact.

amylim

i dun think so ... not necessary lah .. just consume the food from the hospital shld be sufficient else I'll end up bringing a lot of things leh ...

465903.png

I'm new here, learning a lot from reading your postings
I was wondering how to clean my washing machine before putting all the baby stuff to wash (i wash everything, including socks, in the machine).

I'm now at 30th week, expecting a baby gal around 24 Sept. My hospital is Mt. Alvernia, anyone been to the hospital tour?

hi amylim, i think no need to bring the drink ourselves. can always ask our mother or MIL to prepare when they come visit us after we delivered.

HI Cherrie

welcome to this thread !!

I will be delivering in MAH. Supposed to attend the ante natal 4th lesson on 1st July but i missed it, so I will be going on 27th July. Anyway this 4th lessons includes a tour on the delivery ward.

hi cherie, u can get those machine wash powder from DIY shops or supermarket (cold storage, mediya, isetan). just pour in the powder and let it run and rinse.

im expecting a boy 4 days after u. delivering at TMC. already been to the hosp tour during the antenatal class.

Hi ilovebabies, i didn't sign-up for the antenatal lessons at Mt.A as there's no direct transport from my place. I have booked the tour at 12 Aug though.

Hi amylim, i don't plan to bring drinks also, i assume most hospital provide ginger tea at delivery ward, KKH does.

edksd

it looks so cute.. but my qn is .. will bb be addicted to this thing and rely on it everytime the bb wants to sleep ??? What if we bring him to friends home and the bb cant sleep w/o this ??

amylim,
yup, got ur PM! Is ur EDD still 29 Aug? Am adding this info into the list as well for our reference.

ilovebabies - yours is 2 Sept?
littlepony - 18 Sept?
smiley - 25 Sept? Still awaiting ur HP no.

To the rest, I'm compiling a contact list which I'll email to everyone in the list once ready. It's for us to sms each other in the list when we're in labour or after we've delivered, so that someone can update the rest in this thread.

If u want to be in this contact list, do PM me:
(1)Your Nick (2)Real Name - optional (3)HP (4)Email (5)EDD

edksd, how much is the bear? How to order it? I have a friend in UK, am thinking maybe can ask her to help me get it. Did you order it online?

whatzup, i hv a 8 yr old shibtzu too and she's too precious and dear to me to ever consider giving up. so somehow or other she will have to learn to live with the new bb! think i shd also start practising wif the soft toy and bb crying sounds. altho i'm sure its gonna feel really weird ;)

edksd, do enlighten us on where you got the bear and how much you paid yah? i'm kinda curious too

hi michelle,

yes same edd
2 more mths to go

hi smiley,

u can get it at robinsons at centrepoint $69.9. tt time i bought it at 10% discount $62.9 during GSS. if u want, better grab it before GSS ends.

<font color="119911">puppylove</font>, i've PM'ed you!

Now I realize most of us left with single digit number of weeks! So fast.

edksd,

Thanks for the info, will keep that in mind and get that if my lullaby doesn't work. I have been singing lullaby before bed since 2nd trimester so my baby will recognise the song and settle to sleep easier.

By the way, regarding hospital tour. Are we suppose to discuss our birth plan with the mid-wives during hospital tour? Or it is just a straight forward tour of the hospital facility?

anyone of u bringing essential oil to use during labour?

im thinking of. but not sure which one to get....

-------------

There follows a list of other useful oils that can be used in labour:

Geranium is great for the circulation and helps breathing

Jasmine is warm and fragrant and has anti-spasmodic and analgesic properties. It is also very beneficial in a compress on the lower abdomen to help expel the placenta

Lavender is antiseptic and excellent for aching backs and limbs. It is recommended in a bath during the early stages and is wonderful for the healing of vaginal tears or episiotomy scars

Neroli helps combat any fear or apprehension

Rose is a very feminine oil and is a uterine tonic which helps to regulate labour

Ylang Ylang is very calming and helps lower the blood pressure

----------------

ive asked TMC delivery suite, we dun nd to bring our own burner, just bring the oil will do.

hi mae, see my abv posts abt where and how much to get the bear.

btw, they only hv blue and pink, no beige color. initially i tot of buying beige coz unisex mah. but they only imported 2 colors, same for motherswork.

dear MTBs,
thanks for providing info on nursery songs.. i was thinking where i could get those songs and learn how to sing them.. haaa! this is great!

hi ladies...
think most of us r in our last trimester now, i'm in my 32+wk liao... feeling very heavy on my tummy tat i have difficulties getting up from e bed everynite to go toilet.
after reading e posting tat most of u play songs for baby i feel so guilty cos i nv like music/songs since young, after getting pregn it becomes worst... i cant stand any sound produce by tv or radio... hubby downloaded lots of instrumental music n try playing for baby to listen at nite but i just cant stand it so he got to switch off even b4 he can finish playing 1 song.
hope baby will not blame me for not letting him listen to any music....

elaine

dun feel guilty la .... i only listen to classical music once in a while also ..

lasst nite before sleep, i on the music for my gal again .. she somehow can recog the music .. cos she will start moving when the music is being played. Dont know if it's what the link posted by WhatZup described.

dumpty, yup, got ur PM!

elaine,
same here... nowadays, once i've settled down - on sofa or in bed at night, i wouldn't want to move or get up at all unless absolutely necessary! Hv been getting my hubby to pass me things instead of getting them myself. And I'm approaching my 31st wk only. Getting up is 'gang-kor', even turning in bed also gang-kor... *sigh!* And we've a few more weeks to go!!

elaine,

I read that baby feels our emotion too, so no point listening to music if you don't enjoy it. One way you can try is to stick the headphone to your tummy so only the baby can hear it. You can also replace lullaby by reciting poems or rhymes. The logic is to get the baby to remember certain sounds so to help baby feel secure and calm when listening to something familiar.

Ya...same for me, it's painful to get up from bed and even turning in bed. I have pubic bone pain since the 5th month and never have an uninterupted good-night-sleep since then.

Cherrie,
i read from website that it's no good to put the headphones to tummy. It's fine just hearing music from stereo becoz baby can hear it as well.

i've been reading some stories to bb at nite before i sleep. hopefully next time when he comes out he can id wif my voice n fall asleep if i read him stories haha. tried playing music once for him too - i put the earphone on my tummy. think he likes it cos he kept moving! dunno whether can help him sleep or not tho hee hee

i oso hv difficult getting up and moving ard. but no choice at nite sure must wake up to go loo one leh. think it's gonna get even worse in the next few wks

466166.png

littlepony, i read that it's ok to put earphones on your tummy but you cannot blast the music whcih is bad for bb cos they can hear just fine. just play the music at a volumr as you wd listen to it yourself. no need to be extra loud!

haaa. yap, i surely have to wake up at night at least once to go loo.. and got exact timing as well. wierd hoh! even if i try not to drink too much water at nite, still the same!

466173.jpg

Michelle,
oh izzit? i did put the earphones once on my tummy but then after reading the article, i refrain from doing so. guess there are so many different stories on whether earphones on tummy are okie or not hoh! sigh! But hey, thanks for your info!!

littepony, dun mention it. anyway tat's why this forum is so useful cos everybody will hear different versions of same stories so we can 'compare' notes here mah! hee hee

my hubby just went ntuc to buy the drypers S size since its on offer. so far i hv pampers, toys r us and now drypers brands - all try out see which one fits best haha. kiasu hor

littlepony, michelle...me too. I also wake up at almost the same time every night, then will find it quite difficult to fall back asleep.

Bena,
think i am a born lazer! coz i go back to sleep within minutes from my loo trip at nite...

Michelle, haaaa!! next time, u should tell us which brand is better since you going to try the brands.... rely on you for this one then! haaa!!

thanks edksd..

Do u think baby will be so addicted to the sound that next time it's difficult to get the baby to sleep without that sound??

I seldom play music for baby too.. also feel a bit guilty.. But hor, I think my baby likes rock music.. hahaha.. She always kick and move a lot when I watch SuperBand on Mondays..

I watched Pirates of the Caribbean over the weekend.. Felt very guilty coz the monster there looks very gross. Everytime that monster appears, I keep my eyes half closed and only read the sub-titles to know what's going on. Don't dare to look at the face... :p

littlepony, that's good leh. I can spent at least 45mins tossing and turning...still not able to sleep. very tiring. Sometimes my girl gets active after my loo visit, then even more difficult to go back to sleep...will have to keep talking to her and pacify her to sleep :p