(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

littlepony

u mean u watch the midnite matches as well .. i cant leh .. I usually catch the 9pm match .. and as for the 12am .. I seriously cant tong liao ...

hi ilovebabies,
really?? aiyoh, had no idea... but if u think abt it, it's possible - they prob add lots of water. ok, will stick to the cartons from the supermarket... thanx for the tip!!
i'm not staying at SK... i'm staying at Whampoa, where all the wonderful fattening hawker food is! ;) good luck with the ang pow collection ;) hee hee

ya joon

luckily I knew abt it now .. as I will try to take soya from the mkt during breakfast ... anyway I find it too sweet with the sugar soln.

ilovebabies,
yap.. i try to go for the 12am matches as well.. but normally, i knocked off by 100am.....as for 300am matches, totally cannot! haaa!

Oh, i din know that those fresh soya from market is not as good...i still tot that they are freshly made, should be better...cos i always tot that some how or rather, some preservatives would have been added to those soya that comes in carton boxes...whenever i buy soya from market, i always ask them for the no sugar ones...think now must go ntuc to stock up soya...i love soya

Hahah...talking about ang bao..yah man! next year new year must really recoop
For me still ok, cos i got married in 05, so only been giving out 1 yr ang bao...and giving ang bao really no joke leh...comes up to be quite significant amt...cos i got lots of nieces and nephews

Wah, littlepony, u really can 'tong' hor...i am an early sleeper, i used to be able to hang on till 11am, but lately 9.30am only i KO already...hehe...sleep till next morning 6.30am :p

Hey gals,

I just tested myself.... For once I PASSED!
yippee!!!! looks like orange juice is really lethal, even though the ones I drank are supposed to be fresh juice..... Just imagine had I drank orange cordial instead.... I drink so much OJ and milo, no wonder glucose test always fail. From now shall stick to plain water and unsweetened drinks.... For the sake of baby, bo bian..... must tahan for the next 3 months. Thanks for all the wonderful advice!!! Really works!
But will still go for the glucose test next Tuesday to be sure.... will take edksd's and joon's advice and pop by the nursery and look at the cute babies, then go and find some food outside. Like this time should pass faster. Oh yes, will update u gals on the hospital tour when I get back too!

Hehe, can't wait for Christmas and CNY to come.... can doll up the little one and show him off. Too bad I am having a boy. There is a limit to which how much I can doll.... but never mind, will still do my best... hehe.... But the department stores really quite biased leh. There are tonnes of cute little things to buy for little baby girls. The selection for baby boys is always so limited! Haiz... Will always find myself wandering to the girls' section and stare at the clothes whenever I go shopping.

Hi ilovebabies,

Not sure whether the Compass Point laundromat washes car seat leh.... but like what joon said, since they wash stroller seat, should wash car seat as well. There is a price list pasted at the counter. You can see if car seat is on the list. If not, can always check with the counter girl.

Yep, I stay at SengKang. At Anchorvale area... anyone staying there as well? Our babies can meet and play play next time. Hehe....

Hi Joon and Jasmine,

You guys stay so close to each other! Whampoa is so convenient! No CTE jam plus CTE ERP to endure. Envy envy....

Hi Littlepony,

Must rest more... dun watch all the late matches. 3rd trimester coming round the corner and you will get more tired leh.

hehe bena
i presume u mean u sleep at 930pm not am hor ?

i cant tong nowadays too .. and i cant sleep well at nite .. i seem to be dreaming a lot .. does u gals dream too ?

u know I keep dreaming i have delivered oredi, or I could be breastfeeding my gal ... ahha

hey peachie

I am at Anchorvale !!!! wah so close !

and one thing abt Milo .. it does contains caffeine too .. though the amt is lower than coffee or tea.

That's great Peachie! So OJ WAS the culprit! This forum is amazing huh? Can learn so much
We're having a boy too and you're right, very little things to buy
But on the bright side, we save more... hee hee... I know that if we were having a girl, I'll be half-broke by now, but my cupboard will be full of little dresses etc...

Wah littlepony, didn't know u were a football fan! Ur hb must be very pleased
My poor hb watches the games with the dog now. I just go upstairs and surf the internet!

ilovebabies, I don't usually dream coz when I sleep, earthquakes could happen and I'll still snore. But when I do dream, it's baby dreams, hee hee
My pregnancy book says it's normal
and common.

hey joon

hhaha this month must be terrible for u ah .. non soccer lovers.... I am a soccer lover too.. so I welcome this world cup

ya i read from websites that MTBs dream alot ... haha that's why i always have disturbed sleep....

Peachie! That's good news! Oj really lethal! So at least we know now who the real culprit is...hehe.

ilovebabies...heheh...yeah, i slept at 930pm, not am :p Me too leh... i dreamt throughout my sleep...so the enxt morning when i wake up, like still haven sleep yet lor...still very tired. Sian. I dunno what i dreamt about, can't remember anything.

yes.. don't drink too much of Orange Juice as it also adds phlegm to your baby.. so try to replace it with other fruit juice...

Yes.. i am a soccer lover.. but err, i also place small bets too.. :-I wonder if this is a form of good education for my baby or not! haaa!
my hubby not really into it.. but we jus watch it together..

Dreams? yap. i have lots of dreams as well.. but then, i can't remember the dreams leh..

ilovebabies, it's not so bad... I'm not a TV person anyway... but if I want to watch my project runway, baby and I win, HB has no choice, cannot anger a pregnant woman! rahahahaha!

littlepony, just think of it this way... any winnings will be for baby's savings! ;)

Yep yep!!! Stay away from fruit juices (those extracted from sweet fruits) and sweetened drinks... Not very good cos high sugar content. This forum is really amazing.
The power of knowledge sharing...

Hi ilovebabies,

Didn't know that we stay so close! I am at Anchorvale Link (diagonally opposite Nan Chiau High School). What about you? Thanks for letting me know that Milo contains caffein... I always thought it was good for baby, so have a large tin of Milo in office on standby whenever I feel thirsty or hungry. Gosh... I am drinking all the wrong things.

Wah, so many soccer fans here. Hehe, my hubby and I are not. We didn't even know that this World Cup is held in Germany until yesterday. We had this kick-off Friday tea organised by my Rec Club last Friday. I was wondering why only German sausages, German pasta, German fried pig trotters and German beer were served. Too embarassed to ask anyone in office, so went back and asked my husband, who also didn't know. It was until yesterday when my colleague mentioned about the World Cup being held in Germany that I realised. Very paiseh...

Can I ask a very suaku question here? Is World Cup televised on Channel 5 or CNA? Or do I need to have ESPN Sports Channel to watch? If yes, anyone knows what time? Thought maybe I can catch a match or 2... I am on AXN most days, so dunno what the rest of the channels are showing.

On dreams, I think it is quite common for pregnant women to dream... And I read somewhere that our babies dream as well! According to one of the pregnancy books I read, REM (rapid eye movement) sleep is detected in fetuses from 24 weeks, which means there is a high possiblity that the baby is dreaming while inside the womb (while dreaming, we will all enter into the REM phase of sleep). So while we are dreaming, the little one may be dreaming with us! But what they dream about I really wonder.... Food and more food? At least I think that is what my greedy baby must be dreaming... hehe...

helo helo!

Joon, the cord blood banking that ilovebabies mentioned is Singapore Cord Blood Bank (SCBB), set up in dec 04. you can store the cord blood for free. BUT pls note, once u store it, since u dun need to pay anything, ANYBODY can have access to it and SCBB can use it to save lives WITHOUT asking your permission. so if (touch wood!) you need it one day for some reasons, u may find that the cord blood u stored has either been used by someone, OR donated for research purposes. that's the concern lah. but of course, its free and meant to save lives, internationally, so... one of the reason this is such a strong initiative is coz asians usually can't find a match in cord blood in caucasian banks. so asia needs to have their own cord blood storage. so if you store in this SCBB, the cord blood is available through searches by all hospitals asia-wide or world-wide.

maybe u can read here.
http://www.scbb.com.sg/

I am still undecided btw Cordlife or Stemcord. most prob Cordlife lah. anyone going for Cordlife too?

Joon and jasmine oh you girls stay in whompao? wow a lot of good food leh. hhehee i sometimes go there for early breakfast during workdays.
like the mee siam there.

oh talking about dreams, think its very common for us now. ready that pregnant woman have vivid dreams leh, every vivid ones. hehehe so i think its normal. i know i dream a lot now.

peachie, thats great! now you find the cause of it so u can cut down on OJ. but u can keep on eating fruits not a prob. mrs wong from TMC parentcraft said fruit juice contains more fats! so a simple fruit is always better.

peachie and joon, yah loh, me having a boy too. much as i want to get nice clothes for him, not easy to find hor??? but the girl's clothes ALL so nice. my coll is telling me, lucky mine not a girl now, or else i will be buying like crazy and out of control! hehehe he knows me well, coz i am a sucker for anything PINK!

peachie, world cup requires extra top up in order to watch..even if u already have cable. however, the semi-finals will be shown on channel5.

Hhmm...i tot milo is good? can fill us up for a while...din know that it contains caffeine...my mom still bought a big tin at home :p

helo peachie, now for the preliminary rounds, the games are played at every 9pm, 12midnight and 3am Singapore time.
i know coz i will sometimes watch the 9pm one with my hubby. and channel 5 if I not wrong, only screens the Opening match, semis and finals. Think you can only catch it on channel 27, 28 on SCV and u need to subscribe to these world cup channels. not sure about AXN though.

yah loh wonder what our baby is dreaming hor? hehee so cute.

thanx daisybuttons! i'll check out the link u gave. yup, i stay near that market... but u know, after eating the same stuff again and again, the novelty wears off! the bak chor mee at the morning market is not bad... long long queue every sun morning though
About Cordlife or Stemcord, I think u can get a discount with one of them if you are a FBI member with TMC right? Are you a member?

hi peachie, i didn't know it was in Germany too! hee hee... but u got to eat german sausages! oooh, love those...

joon, i heard that the wahampoa market is going to be renovated izzit? when will that be? i loved to go there for the fish steamboat thingy for dinner.

hi Joon, think for both can get discount $50 off annual fees. and hor for stemcord hor, if you have mother and baby mag (or issit motherhood) u cut out the coupon or something u get $750 off their registration leh. cordlife has a promo during motherhood fair too but its less. but i think tmc more with cordlife coz they more familiar with them.

when comparing cordlife and stemcord hor, a lot of factors leh. i read that stemcord stores the cordblood in 4 seperate portions and freeze. so that if some is needed just need that portion to thaw. but cordlife stores in one big bag. so need to thaw whole bag and cannot freeze back. but when i checked with cordlife, the person told me when the user needs to cordblood, u do not need to thaw the big bag to test for compatibility. just need to test the BLOOD of the recipient and donor (if different person) can oredi. and for every 10kg of body weight, need around 140,000 cc of cord blood (not sure if i rem correctly). if store in 4 seperate bags, chances are will need at least 3 bags to save an adult or child. depending on how much blood is in each bag. so the remaining 1-2 bags also no further use liaoz. not sure how true leh. can someone advise or verify?

hehehee this yr worldcup in germany, thats why got so many panda eyes this yr, from the soccer fans. coz time difference mah. 4 yrs ago its japan/korea, so time difference not that bad. hehehee. this yr sure a lot of ppl taking mcs one.

Hi Joon and Daisybuttons,

Agree with you that having a boy is more money saving.... that's what my mom also said to console me.... haiz, but whenever I go shopping and see all the cute little girl stuffs, I will go gaga over them and start wishing that I have a baby girl all over again. Even all the furniture looks cute leh.... the pink wall borders, the pink bedsheets, the pink stuffed toys. Even the baby clothes will come with ribbons and lace. haiz.... I think I will buy the entire store home if I am having a girl.

Thanks for the info on Cordlife and Stemcord. Will look at both of them and think about it.

Hi Bena and daisybuttons,

Thanks for the info on the World Cup! Will wait till the semi-finals before I start watching.... Dun have the world cup channels on my SCV.

hi peachie, i think it's becos u're a female so naturally u'll be attracted to female/cute stuff.

for me, im quite glad tt im having a boy, at least no need to look at these things. save a lot of time and money indeed.

i think we shld invest in children on other more impt things rather than these "want" and not "need" things.

this question that i am going to post is out of being pregnant..

I saw i have more fine lines (in short, wrinkles) underneath my eyes! HELP!!!!! What's the best solution? Which eye mask is best in town?

wah so many posts after lunch !

peachie, I think we are reallllllllllll close ! I am in that cluster too ... 300+ block eheh

ok so I guess most of the gals have ans ur qn on the screening of WC matches ah ... tonite got Brazil but it's at 3am .. too bad.. I'll be dreaming then ..

hey joon
I watch project runway too, v nice. I like the episode on designing the dress for Barbie ...

I am expecting a gal and yes I am oredi starting to look around for dresses but those are too big for my gal now lah .. and my nieces dresses will be pass down to me too ... and so I think I'll save a lot lah ! maybe not .. i may end up buying also haha cham ...

littlepony,

do u use eye cream daily ? think this is the most effective ways of preventing lines under the eyes as u need to keep it moisture all the time. But take note that u cannot use normal FACE moisturizer on the eyes area ...this is a normal instruction found on all face moisturuiser.. to avoid the eye area as that area is very delicate.

ilovebabies,
i have been using eye cream daily but still lines are appearing.. two last week.. and three this week, i almost faint when i see myself in the mirror.. Think i better go source for a better eye cream.... wonder why no one create one eye cream that works well overnight!

Yes.. i love the project runway too!! and yes, the barbie contest! Oh gosh, i love it sooooo much.. and i am a barbie collector myself... so i drool over how lucky they are to be able to work with Mattel

Littlepony

may i know which eye cream u are using ? I am using a LANCOME one .. quite good ...but a bit ex though .. however eye cream can last for > 6mths .. think I bought this current one in Dec last year and I still have almost half of it.

Hi Hi... I haven't been to this forum for the past weeks..
Been really tied up at work. Missed so many discussions...

I think I am sensitive to eye cream. Everytime I use eye cream, I tend to get small little bumps on my eye lid (where eye lashes grow out)... I tried SK II and Garnier.. both give me this problem leh

i think the only reason why i get so many fine lines around my eyes becos i like to rub my eyes..

Ya. i do hear that eye cream give people small bumps. well, Smiley.. if u don't have a problem like i do.. then don't bother to use an eye cream... just do eye mask regularly... but but but..Sob!! my baby will see me in 3 months' time with wrinkles! haaaaaaaaaa

Little Pony, my problem is not fine lines but more on eye bags and dark eye circles.. My frens all tell me they sleep very early when they were pregnant, they hit the sack as early as 9 or 10pm but I always stay up late till past 11pm.. Heehee...

Btw, any of you scared of breast-feeding? I must confess I am very scared of that coz I heard from my frens that they bled when they tried breast feeding...

Smiley... i can't hit the sack as early as 9pm leh. my earliest still at 11pm.. haaa! we nite owls?? even my baby don't sleep that early.. he always kick till about 10 plus...

Yes, i am one of those who scared of labour pains, confinment period and breast feeding. I wonder how am i going to cope with all these... sigh! I worry 1) no milk 2) crack and bleed..
so i am prepared if i have the above symptoms, i will just hv to give baby formula milk... but of course, i will try until there are no other good solutions.

welcome back Smiley !! no wonder din see ur posts for so long !

eh i tried garnier before .. those samples they sent to our hse .. aiyo I think it is quite bad .. me and my colleague tried and we both got pimples after that !

look out for eye cream that is non oil based .. think u can go to the counter and ask the salesgal to recommend you ...

littlepony, rubbing eyes not only causes fine lines but it also causes Astigmatism not sure how true latter is, but this is something told to my colleague by an optician.

Smiley, I am not afraid of BF. Dont be else it will affect ur flow. It's really MIND OVER BODY u know .... it may happens to your fren but it may not happens to u ... let's be confident !

Wah lao can slow down or not, just b'cos I didn't check the forum in the morning, I already have so many to catch up!! LOL.

edksd,
I just came back from my 24wk appointment. Unlike you, my baby is measuring small. I already suspected b'cos I only gained 800g in one month! And I'm eating normally liao except that I don't snack at all. But sometimes I do skip dinner and only have apples at night b'cos of my terrible heartburn. My baby is measuring slightly less than 600g. I am very happy that my doc let my hubby took a video of our scan, so now we can see the baby over and over again!!!

About breastfeeding. Well my sister's nipple bleeds too when she breastfeeds so she only b/f for like 3 months when she totally stopped. But that won't deter me from trying on my own. Just like my natural birth buddy, daisybutton, don't judge pain from other people's experience. If we can tahan natural birth, how can we not tahan bleeding nipples? LOL. One thing that I learn from the book, after b/f, make sure you squeeze some milk out and rub it all over your breast and let it air dry. Our own milk not only gives the best nutrition to our baby, it's the antidote to nipple complains. Amazing hor. That's why I die die want to try b/f. Even dreamt about it! And I still like it!

439750.png

hi melissa

glad to know ur bb is doing well .. dun worry lah .. the bb will grow v fast in the last tri ..

ya I totally agree with you , nothing will deter me from BF and yes I do dreamt abt it too ! What a wonderful feeling !!

my sis in law even told me to start pumping immediately after bb has finished sucking. She says it will not manage to pump anything out as bb has empty the milk storage .. but it is to continuously simulate more milk for the next feed. She do this for a few minutes using a pump. THink I will try it out.

My cousin just told me her experience with her two kids. Her 1st gal was on total BF for 9 mths and she hardly fall sick. Her 2nd boy now is also on BF but need to supplement on 1 formula feed daily as his appetite is bigger. Think becos he is not on total BF, the boy is falling sick more often her than the gal.

i read from other threads on how some new mothers depressed over the breastfeeding part... this worries me...

But i just let it be.. think so much also no use. just do it..

Ilovebabies, thanks! Feels good to be back again. Heeheehee....

I feel very guilty whenever I fear BF.. but I am imagining it to be really painful.. Heehee.. Hope mine will be ok. Hope my baby is drinking fresh milk instead of "strawberry" milk.. haha..

I have given up on eye cream... I thought got brand one like SK II should be fine but in the end I still got bumps on the eye lid..

LittlePony, my baby is also very active at night. Heehee... I hope after she is delivered, she will sleep soundly at night and only active in the daytime!!! I try to play classical music every night now to tune her brains to soothing music so that she can sleep earlier. I read somewhere that baby at certain weeks (can't remember the exact week, think around week 28) can differentiate day and night already... I haven't reached 28 weeks yet, but must prepare early.. heh heh...

Smiley

I am in my 28th week leh .. but hor my bb is also active at nite ... but daytime she also active ! FAINTZ ... i wonder if she sleeps ???

ahha whenever I play classical music, I think I sleep first ... while my bb is still kicking ahhaha ...WO ZHEN MEI YONG !
nvm lah as long as she enjoys it can liao ...

When i lie on the bed, my baby will keep turning and turning.. sort of finding the best sleeping position he could get himself in.. then i pat my tummy , just like i patting him.. then after a while, he asleep. How i know he asleep? when i doing my tossing and turning, i don't feel any movements means he asleep..

it's quite amazing to communicate with baby in different ways. I am sure you gals have used all kinds of ways to communicate to your baby. heee. really fun hoh.

littlepony ur bb turns a lot

my bb dun turns, she is still in the same position. but she just moves her hands and legs a lot ... and her buttocks !! aiyo always protruding .... makes my tummy so tight at times ...

ya when the bb is not moving, i will tap on my tummy, then she will respond with movements. cute !

ya.. i wonder if my baby is as fussy as me.. coz i turn alot when i sleep as well. So when he turns, i can see my whole tummy protuding up and then u feel he turns... and then tummy goes down again.
Ya.. guess we all have our own fun with our baby right now. haaa.

haah littlepony

that means ur womb is now big enough for the bb to do his somersaults ! i presume mine is not... that's why no turning ahha .. so how big is ur waist now ? mine is at 37.5 inch

hi melissa, i think my bb weighs heavier is not becos of my weight gain. in fact i've only gained 2kg after i lost 3kg in 1st trimester.

so if ive only gained 2kg, and bb is already 0.7kg+, tt means myself has only gained 1kg+. not considered a lot right at this wk24 stage as i read most of them hv gained at least 7kg by wk24.

one thing i suspect is becos my bb has long limbs, so during the calculation it may not be exactly accurate.

ive a friend who was told her by gynae tt her bb is abt 3.1kg by birth time, but after delivery, bb only weighs 2.7kg+

so i think sometimes it's just an estimation.

oh yes, la mer is good. the most effective or rather the only effective one ive tried so far. im using it for life i think :p not going to switch brand anymore.

and same for lip lotion, i love sothy's secrets best. none other can beat it. im oso going to use it for life

Wah, one afternoon and so many postings!!!

Hi edksd,

U are right... There are far more impt things to save up for the kid.
But easier said than done for me leh... haiz. Always feel tempted to buy on "want" rather than "need"... Got to control my purse strings....

Hi littlepony,

I am having the same problem! I have fine lines around my eyes too, but this occur before pregnancy. Also dunno what is good. There are so many brands of cosmetics claiming to be able to remove fine lines in the market....

But La Mer is definitely expensive.

Hi ilovebabies,

Maybe our kid will attend the same nursery or school.... hehe.... Heard some people shouting "goal" and cheering away in our neighbourhood these couple of days. Looks like WC fever is everywhere.

Hehe, about the baby kicking part, my baby always kicks when meal time gets near... So when he kicks I know he must be hungry (like right now he has been kicking for some time)...

Gotta knock off and find dinner now. Ciao! U gals have a great evening!

wah lau! so many postings!

ilove babies,
i also just went for MAH talk on nutrition, part of the antenatal class.. went last wednesday! were you there too?

peachie,
my place in St. George is near Whampoa & i grew up in Balestier, so yah, i love that food market too. love the singapore fried hokkien mee, the vegetarian, nasi lemak, steamboat, the carrot cake.. the soyabean milk, the you tiao & ham chee peng.. droolz.. BTW, stay central is convenient to go anywhere, so is a major plus, but there is always traffic jams during peak hours still lah, to contend with.. i like being close to my MIL & parents (who stay off Balestier Road), cos i no need cook dinner and they can pop by anytime & i can go over whenever i miss my family..

congrats on passing the strip test, btw! jia you ah!

joon,
you stay close to me siah..should meet up and makan!!

hi jasmine

I went on Thurs, on the nutrition talk also. 8th June right ?

hi peachie,
your bb is kicking during meal times because he heard your stomach growling noises ! hahah could be disturbing his sleep ..