(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Daisybuttons,
tell me about the nasi lemak. Yesterday, i went to tanjong pagar market, hoping to get myself a big pack of nasi lemak with peanuts, ikan bilis, chicken wings, egg and fish cake.. with a minimal price of $2 but then, when i reach there.. uncle cleaning up his utensils already! Sob!!!! So sad leh!!!
I know there are other stores selling nasi lemak..but i stubborn.. only want that store!

wow, the nasi lemak is making me hungry leh! Where is this market you gals are talking abt?

I also love nasi lemak...yums!!

gals

nasi lemak is one of my fav too !
the tanjong pagar is nice and v cheap !
but hor .. it has coconut in it .. any effects on us ?

Haha, looks like all of us are in love with TP's nasi lemak! Not only the nasi lemak..... I love their peanut ice kachang, the fried carrot cake, the fried hokkien mee.... That place is fantastic. Can have a great lunch with $2. Nowadays, can hardly have a decent meal at Raffles City for $3.50. Very different.

Hi Jasmine,

Thanks! Will check my email and get back to you.

Hi daisybuttons,

No need to envy lah. Honestly when it is downstairs, it loses its appeal after 4 years of working here. I can also memorise what is there in the nusery dept and tell you the price! Don't really bother to step inside unless there is a sale.

The 15% off does not apply to the usual cosmetics counters, Loreal, Triumph and other bras, nursery dept.... The rest all got additional 15% off whatever existing discount there is.

wah lau!

all tokking about food! me hungry liaoz.. make my saliva drip!!

wahhh... nasi lemak... coconut is a good and tasty fruit! ;) hee hee...

My neighbour told me drinking coconut juice is good in the last trimester. Supposed to ensure a quick and smooth delivery... dunno if it's true, or just another old wives' tale...

For those who are going for the IKEA focus group, good news! I just called them and we get $40 vouchers per participant, no minimum purchase for the vouchers!

Hi Joon,

Thanks for calling IKEA up!

I also heard abt the coconut juice bit. There are some mums to be in this forum who also said that drinking coconut juice in the last trimester will ensure that the baby will come out very clean. But dunno whether true or not lah. Moreover coconut has high cholesterol. Better not drink too much.

Hi Jasmine,

Me feeling hungry too.... The ban mian I ate for lunch wasn't really nice...

Hi peachie, actually, your version sounds right - supposed to have a clean baby! I think I got it wrong :p haha

ya... I'm feeling greedy too... nasi lemak sounds good... with lots of sambal and ikan bilis and peanuts! *sigh*

the high cholesterol issue is only for coconut milk right? not the water? anyway i love coconut drink so if it's good enough to clean the baby, i'll take it!

heh i still prefer the Changi nasi lemak! so yummy!

How to sign up for the IKEA focus group??

Coconut drink is "liang". Not supposed to drink so early in pregnancy..
Drink in days before delivery to try to have a baby whose skin is nice and no rashes..that is what i have heard!

Hi Jasmine,
Congrats, noticed you're in your 3rd trimester
If you are interested in the IKEA focus group, you've got to be a Friends member. If you are, great!
Call

6378-1776 / 6378-1774 / 6378-1746

Those are the numbers to the Friends desk. They'll need your ic number and the time slot you're keen on... for more info, check

http://www.ikea-friends.com/home/index.shtml

Oh gosh. .. all the mention about food making me hungry. I work near Tanjong Pagar. Next week, i will sure go queue up for nasi lemak!!!! and...errr..feedback to you all! haaaaa!!

have a great weekend ahead, gals! Really fun reading your chats! Heee! Rest well too!

hehehe joon u sounds like an ikea promoter hehehee. when u recited those numbers
thanks for calling iKEA up! u are a dear.

aiyoh nasi lemak....littlepony, i know how you feel man. go through with the tot of tasty nasi lemak in ur head, then realise uncle just close shop. can't help finding him so cruel right! i love nasi lemak esp nowadays leh. coz now i like strong strong taste. ilovebabies, i used to think nasi lemak got coconut so we not supposed to eat. but actally i think this type of coconut if not cooling, coz its not drink or juice. so i decided to eat, and eat and eat....hehehe for a period of time in my first tri,i had it very frequently for bf. :p

peachie, u can memorise the prices for all the items in robinsons ah? hehehe can i test your memory? do you remember the retail price of the Avent out and about set? hehehee coz i need to check out for a friend. hehehee. if not its okie lah, just tot i will ask.

Daisybuttons

How are you? Just pop by to say hi and let you know that my little princess has arrived on 18 May. Very short labour for me this time, did it natural without epidural.
All the best to you!!

hi daisybuttons

I hope the info on coconut is true cos i simply love nasi lemak too ! a lot of MTBs has this craving for Malay and spicy food in their 1st trimester, actually me too !

I remembered i dun really favour chinese food then ...

hi ilovebabies, i can't be sure too, but i thought ppl usually feel that nasi lemak is heaty and not cooling leh. if u not sure, better ask ur mum or closed ones first, dun based it on what i say hor hehehe. coz for me my doc say i can eat, my mum say i can eat so i eat loh. but u better check before u eat. yah same here, i also dun like chinese food, esp those rice with dishes kind. my poor parents try to cook soooo many diff dishes for me then but i sometimes just pick on the rice. but strong taste like malay food, nasi lemak, laksa, mee siam....yummy! hehehe.

Zach's mum, congrats!!! thanks got popping in share the good news! and very happy for you and you din use epidural!
happy bonding with ur newborn.

Hi daisybuttons,

No probs.... The out and about set comes with a bag right? If my memory serves me right it should be $149. There is currently 20% off for Avent. Robinsons card holder get another 5% off. But not totally sure.... haven't been looking at breast pumps for a while since I got mine.

If there is something u gals really need to know the price, I can help out on weekdays by popping by Robinsons during lunch. Raffles City food court is just a few paces away from the nursery dept of Robinsons, so can pop by to help find out on prices, promotions etc.

Talking of Robinsons, I went there again last evening after work. Realised that the 15% discount also applies to Tollyjoy and Richgi infant wear. Since both brands already have 20% off, the discount is quite substantial (20%+15%+5%). Bought 8 Richgi singlet tops and bottoms, and they came up to $48. Abt $6 a set... Not too bad.

As I have been flunking the urine strip test at my gynea's clinic for the past 3 times I was there (always seem to have elevated glucose levels), I decided to buy the test strips and test myself everyday. Bought a box of 50 strips at KKH Pharmacy today when I went for the antenatal class... Costs me $7.40 for a box. Each strip tests for the presence of protein and glucose in the urine, and will change colour according to the level of severity. If this condition still persist, guess I will do a blood test for gestational diabetes, as suggested by my gynea the last time I saw him.
Anyone else here have this problem? Haiz, according to my gynea, if I am tested positive for gestational diabetes, got to watch diet very carefully.... or baby will pile on a lot of fat in the last trimester (esp around the shoulders), which will make natural birth difficult...

Realised that KKH Pharmacy sells stuffs at pretty reasonable prices. The Medela mini electric was selling there for $135.

Anyway, had a very productive day. Popped by Mothercare and bought 2 rolls of nursery wall borders at $14 (UP $28) each. Each roll is 5 metres long. Thought I can start decorating the nursery soon... and this is a cheap way to do it. The wall border looks something like this (not exactly the same cos I got the blue car series... the one in the picture is the silver aeroplane series)

437554.jpg

Now trying to figure out where to get the vinyl adhesive to glue the border onto my wall. Anyone here has lobang?

Also went Toyogo. Very amazed by all the stuffs there. Bought a 5 tier drawer cabinet for $49, and spent the whole afternoon cleaning and drying it. Joon and Bena, thanks for the great advice! Now I have storage space for all the baby clothes I bought.

Hope all u gals have a great weekend! Have a good rest!

437555.png

went to expo today..nothing much to buy for bb...i oni bot one box of nappy liner...quite disappointed lah...
but bot other stuff..like hb's t-shirt,chocolate etc...

Hi forgetmenot, thanx for the tip. Was actually planning to go check it out today, maybe we'll go to Suntec (Kidsmall) instead. At least u got some other stuff at good deals

Hi peachie, glad u liked Toyogo. I like going there too... so cheap and so many things to buy
About the adhesive for your wallpaper, have you checked if it's "pre-pasted"? New wallpapers nowadays should be pre-pasted. It's the older wallpapers (like those in the 70s) that need extra glue/adhesive. If yous is not pre-pasted, check with these companies. They specialise in selling and putting up wallpaper.

1. Goodrich Global 6787-8787 (8 Changi South Lane)
2. Xessex 6333-1833 (#B1-01 Park Mall)
3. Design Intervention 6468-1942 (#04-12 Guthrie House)
4. Opulence 9155-1337

Love the wallpaper! It's really cute! And a good deal too
Let me know how it turns out and how much it is, coz I've got 2 walls to wallpaper too.

437772.png

Hi forgetmenot, I sound like an IKEA promoter? Really? Heeheehee!

Thought I'd share the info my hb and I found out while shopping around yesterday for the Quinny Zapp & Maxi Cosi Cabrio (in case u're lookg for the same thing). We went to Robinsons, Mothercare & Baby Hypermart, and surfed online. Here's what we found out, from cheapest to most exp.

QUINNY ZAPP
$329 - KidsMall (Suntec/IMM)
$379 - First Few Years (Paragon)
$385 - Mothercare (Centrepoint)
$399 - Motherswork (GWC), Robinsons, Baby Hypermart

MAXI COSI CABRIO
$230.11 - Baby Hypermart
$247.20 - Motherswork
$249 - Kids Mall
$299 - First Few Years
$349 - Mothercare

We didn't buy any in the end, haha! Too tired... almost bought a cot though... can everyone share where you bought your cot? We're looking for a plain and simple white one. Thanks!

Hi Joon,
My friend bought a white cot at Baby Hypermart. If you can't find it maybe you could ask for assistance? I'm sure they have catalogues.

I didn't buy a cot though. I bought a baby playpen but my sister will hand me down her 6yrs old cot that's hardly used. Hehee..

Helo peachie...oh wow! i am very impressed. you really do remember. when i asked for the avent set retail price, i really forgot, just know it shld be $140+. but last night my friend just told me its $149, and now u said so too. hehhee u really have a good memory. really? tolly joy also got so much discount? and is richgi a good brand???

peachie and joon, actually hor, i wanna buy wallpaper also leh, to do up baby room. but hor, is such strips easy to remove huh? coz when second baby comes if different gender then wanna change wallpaper. can someone advise if such strips are easily removable? if so i really gian to buy leh!

joon, wah! how come u know so much about wallpaper, u did wallpaper for your home ah?
and its me who say u sound like ikea promoter lah, not forgetmenot!hehehee. ooooh u did quite a lot of research yah. thanks, though i not intending to buy quinny. oh for cot, if u not particular about the wood, u can get a nice white cot with US std size (28x52inches) at Les enphants. its rubber wood, if i not wrong either the brand of lucky baby or baby love? starts from $200++ to $329 i think. depending on features. but we saw before baby hyperstore got a white cot selling at $199 lah. we din buy coz though the person said solid wood we dunno if its solid wood leh, coz so cheap. hehhee we siao one. so like i said, if u not particular about the wood, can consider these places. i also want white cot intially, but now think gotta settle for light natural tone one, coz solid wood white cots in US size seems to be hard to find and expensive.

Hi Riushiki, welcome and congrats! Guess what? Our EDD is the same
but my gynae said there's a high chance of an earlier delivery... hmm...

Hi daisybuttons... ooops, was it u and not forgetmenot? Oh dear, my eyesight!

Well, abt the wallpaper, I did some reading up before I bought some wallpaper online. I'm not an ID, haha! I think you can go ahead to buy the border strips. Removing them is not a good idea (scraping the wall, sanding it smooth, re-painting, so troublesome!) When no.2 comes, just paint over the old border and re-paste a new one over that! Easy-peasy!

Thanks for the cot tips, daisybuttons & melissa!
Where is Les Enphants? I think I saw the white cot at Baby Hypermart, but we didn't get it becoz my hb (Mr. Fussy) didn't like the screws that were showing at the sides.

hi joon

I am interested in the wallpaper too but if it doesnt remove so easily and leave a stain on the wall, I may forsake this idea. Who knows I could be selling my hse ? Dont want to lower the hse evaluation price hehehe ... but the wallpaper is sooooooooo sweet.

hi Riusjiki !

Welcome welcome ! my Edd is on the 2nd sept .. so we could deliver on the same time ... who knows !
What's the gender of your baby ?
kao_welcome.gif

... will be having an exam on wed... so gotta study real hard these few days .. wish me luck gals !
hope my gal brings me luck too !!

437905.png

Hi joon, oh must repaint over ah....hmmm.....sigh...then gotta think twice leh. or else need to find the exact shade, and provided the paint is the kind that if u paint over one patch, it will even out the colour with the rest type. u know what i mean? coz not all paint like that. aiyah, was really hoping to get some wallpaper borders leh!

les enphants quite a lot of plcs have leh. my house here for one! hehee. i know united sq have, suntec have.

ilovebabies, u having exams ah. Good Luck!

me have a presentation on Tue...sigh...working through weekend again. Initially thought can dun take on this presentation, but my covering officer got something on so i gotta do liaoz. sian. girls, wish me luck too?

437927.png

Good luck, 2 of u! (ilovebabies & daisybuttons) I'm sure things will turn out alright
Good luck good luck good luck!

Ya, I think removing the wallpaper is just too troublesome. Got to live with it I guess! But they're really cute huh? I think I will still go ahead with buying some borders, haha... too cute to resist!

hey girls, what about those cute wall hangings to pretty up baby's room. so far i can only find in overseas websites. anyone knows if local stores got sell?

joon, thanks for your well wishes! hehehehee.

437940.png

joon

tks for ur well wishes ! i do hope I can clear this paper ...

daisybuttons

What kind of wall hangings you referring to ? any URL for reference ?

sian, so no mood to study .. and got world cup going on leh ! i am those who watch soccer one leh ...

438068.png

Hi Joon,

You are truly amazing!!! You really are a wallpaper expert. Thanks a million!
Saw the wallpaper adhesive at Home-fix (Compass Point) yesterday. Costs $4.50 per can for the normal one, $7.90 for the extra strength. Thought that since mine is just a border, can make do with the $4.50 one...

You have the energy to go so many places! Wow.... You looking for a cot ah.... Bought my 2 cots at Takashimaya during the baby fair 3 months ago. They cost me $299 each, with an additional 10% discount ($269 after less). It conforms to US standards and it is by Evenflo. It is made of pinewood (which means it is the light beech in colour and not white), comes with free 28" by 52" matress, 5 pcs bedding set, teething rails. The cot has 3 height positions and is convertible into a toddler bed. Hope this helps. Go and look look. There are a lot of places selling cots these days.

Hi Ruishiki,

Welcome!

Hi daisybuttons,

I also wanted to wallpaper the room. But didn't cos it may be difficult to remove and expensive. I am not sure how easy to remove these strips are... But since it's just a strip, thought it may be easier.
A good alternative is to paint the room... But you are right as to what happens after the 2nd one comes around. Maybe you can get a universal colour. Saw the yellow ducks series at Mothercare as well (those are really cute!). Didn't buy cos not on offer (I quite cheapo one). It costs $25 per roll. To do up a room you probably need 2 rolls ($50). Still not too bad.

Another alternative besides painting is to buy Disney posters to brighten up the room. Bought 3 A2 sized Winnie the Pooh posters at Compass Point for $19 3 weeks ago. Thought I could buy some cheap IKEA frames and frame them around the room. Then it will look bright and cheery.

Hi ilovebabies,

Good luck for your exams! Don't worry, sure you can do well.

I brought laptop home to work during weekend but got no mood to work. My Board paper is due tomorrow, and this is the 3rd draft I am doing for my boss (who keeps changing her direction). Haiz.... I got to get down to it liao... Otherwise will die soon.

438301.png

77(peachie),

Can I check wf you, the 5 tier drawer cabinet from Toyogo can fit into a normal 1.5L car? I am planning to go to Toyogo tis wkend too...

Morning MTBs!

Any of you gals know if there is any place that sells the cushion on the strollers? My frd is looking to replace the cushion of her stroller. Thanks.

BTW, is baby hypermart just next door to baby kingdom? Thinking of popping by this weekend to start buying my stuffs liao. Is it worth the trip?

Hi Yuna,

My 5 tier cabinet has a height of 113cm, and it managed to fit into our car (took up the entire back seat space). If you are unsure, can park your car just outside the showroom and ask the salesgirl to let you try putting the cabinet in before you pay.

Hi Bena,

Yes, Baby Hypermart is just a few paces away from Baby Kingdom. Can go and look. A lot of stuffs esp strollers and car seats. However, for the rest of the stuffs (eg clothes, baby monitor, bottles and baby cots), it is not necessary cheaper... In a nutshell, not everything is cheap there. But if you are looking for a stroller or car seat, that is a place to look. Hope this helps.

Oh yes Bena,

I bought a stroller pad (covers the entire seat of the stroller) at Isetan Scotts a couple of weeks back during the sale. It is under Lollipop brand and costs me $7.90. It is machine washable. You can go and look around. It is sold at a lot of places like Kiddy Palace, Robinsons, Isetan...

Thks 77(peachie), will do so! their cabinet is really quite cheap rite?

Bena,
If you looking for strollers, prams,car seat, it is worthwhile to go to baby kingdom or baby hypermart to see their large range of models. But hor their bb essential items is clothes, feeding bottles etc etc is not cheap, price is comparable wif kiddy palace, robinson, i tik u can get it even cheaper at these departmental stores wif the GSS sales.

I went to both bb kingdom n bb hypermart once, dun tik i will go there again.

Morning

The 1st thing I did when I reached the office is log onto this forum, haha, how's that for productivity?? Well, the guys have the World Cup for an excuse right?? We're doing our national duty man, haha.

You're welcome peachie
Since yours is a strip, the DIY adhesive should do fine. Post a pic of the wonderful room when you're done!
Thanks for the cot info. Yours sounds like a good deal, with all those freebies. The one I liked at Baby Hypermart was $309 and that that's only the cot and foam mattress!

Hi Daisybuttons & ilovebabies, keep us updated on how the paper and presentation went

Hi Bena, yup, make the trip down Kaki Bukit. They do have LOTS of car seats and strollers, much more than what you can find at Robinsons or Mothercare.

When you drive into the industrial park, you will see Baby Hypermart first. Baby Kingdom is just next door, next block. Becoz most people see Baby Hypermart first and go there, Baby Kingdom has planted a guy to blow his whistle and wave his hands frantically at you to get your attention. Haha! It's quite funny! I find that Baby Hypermart has more toys and "hardware". Baby Kingdom has more baby clothes, diapers and things like that.

If you buy a lot, don't forget to BARGAIN!

438328.png

Hi Yuna,

No probs! The cabinet I got is really one of the largest and more ex ones liao. Most are selling between $25 and $35. Very very worth it.

Hi Joon,

Hehe, the part about doing national duty is quite funny... You are most defintely right!

I am the one writing the paper. Came in at 7.30am today to do so but hit a huge mental block, and this is draft number 3. Haiz.... Very sian. Plus got to report all the changes in accounting standards to my Board, especially the effect of FRS 39 (financial instruments) on our this year's financial statements. Tough to be an accountant these days. And I dun have much brain juice today. According to my boss, cannot be too technical. Must use more layman terms and put myself in the shoes of the Board of Directors. So trying hard to do so. In the meantime, I surf around this forum....

Will post a pic of the room when I am done.
Unfortunately, my husband felt that applying the adhesive when I am around the house may not be a good idea. So he is finding a weekend when he can shoo me to my mom's place and he does it by himself.... and ventilate the room for the whole day. So it won't be anytime soon.

Yuna, peachie, joon...thanks! Looks like i should make a trip down...cos main aim is to get the stroller and car seat
must start buying liao...heheh...

Peachie, u mentioned about the stroller pad, what does it look like? Is it another layer of cushion to be put on the stroller, or can replace the entire stroller cushion?

mornings gals

tks for the well wishes on my exam .. studying hard at home now .. but so gian to come online and surf the forum

This company StemCord pte ltd was at the ante natal class which I attended last Thurs. They have having a promotion fair on 21 to 23 July at Suntec City Entertainment Centre Atrium (outside Carrefour) so those who are interested can go down and take a look. StemCord charges $250 per year and the 1st payment is $1k+.

And I heard there is a free service for storing the cord blood in Singapore .. duno the company's name though. I think it works this way... you donate ur cord blood and they will store it FOC. Then when someone is in need of the blood they MAY donate urs if it matches. Then if (touch wood !) you need it, they will also find one that matches your needs ... so it could be your cord blood or somebody's else .....

my hubby and I still thinking whether to store it leh .... wat u gals think ?

Hi Bena,

The stroller pad is not meant to replace the manufacturer's stroller cushion that comes with the stroller. The stroller pad is just a rectangular piece of cushion to be placed on top, and it has a number of horizontal openings in it for the shoulder and leg harness to come through.

There are quite a number of brands available in departmental stores, being made of different materials and trimmings. For example, Robinsons carries the brand Disney Baby, which retails for $25.90 (I think) with 15% off. Lollipop is one of the cheapest brands around (but the cushioning is not as thick). It retails at a UP of $14.90. But during the GSS, you can pick it up for $10.90 at most places... The Isetan sale was the cheapest so far I saw at $7.90. Hope this clarifies. You can look around and feel the texture and see which you like. I think a stroller pad is pretty handy, esp when baby drools or spill milk on the pad and you can easily detach and machine wash it. I had a really tough time detaching the Aprica stroller cushion when I wanted to wash it a month ago.

Hi ilovebabies,

Thanks for the great lobang on storage of cord blood. Actually I am also not sure. Most of my friends have been taking up the service cos they feel it is like buying an insurance policy for the kid. But the cost is quite prohibitive leh. So still thinking.

Hi Peachie, thanks. Yeah, my frd has this problem lor. This the bb soiled the original cushion, that's why she wanted to find a replacement cushion...will let her know to just get the stroller pad.

Hi Bena,

No probs. The original cushion should also be detachable such that your friend can wash it. If she wants to save on the hassle of washing it, she can always bring to the laudromat. The one at Compass Point charged me $5, which I think is quite a good deal cos the stroller pad is really odd shaped and not easy to wash.

Hi ilovebabies,

I think the cord blood can only be extracted upon birth of baby, and not all extraction can be successful. There must be sufficient cord blood to extract 2 full vials. Know of a friend who signed up for the service, but due to low cord blood level, in the end the extraction was not successful and she could not store the cord blood.

There are 2 companies doing such cordblood banking in Singapore. But the cost is a huge consideration. Most of my friends are storing till the kid reaches maturity (ie at least 21 years). The cost alone will come up to thousands... which can be used for the child's education.