bena, yah loh so much money need to spend every mth. plus saving up for baby stuff, not enough for ourselves at all. cannot imagine surviving on one income.
peachie, oh u looking at this ah. thats different from the thing i am looking at. the one i looking at is more of a dresser cum shelves cum changing table hehehe. i also just registered for the focus group. eh btw what they talk abt there ah? what we focus on? hehehee. they dun allow hubby to go leh coz he not ikea member.
joon, ur hubby is also ikea member ah?
melissa, dun worry, i am also sure your little one will be fine and meet you in his healthy person in Sept.
joon, i have taught abt the car seat dilemna before. in the end, we end up buying an infant seat, refunding it coz its spoilt at the catch, then deciding to buy a convertible. about the curved back of the infant seat, i think its more the fact that infant seat allows total reclination at 170 degrees which in the 1st 6mths is better for baby. newborns are supposed to be on their backs for 1st 6 mths to allow for back development. so we were thinking we shld get infant seat. anyway, in the end, the reasoning is as follows:
- how often will be bring baby out in the first 6mths? even if like every day a week to drive to mums plc and back, its only a 5-10mins drive. a good convertible wld also provide support, just that he cannot lie as fully as an infant seat.
- an infant seat can only last u til baby outgrows it. if you want a peace of mind, u will sure invest in a good one which will likely cost only slightly lesser than a good convertible (a good infant car seat starts $200 maybe). it can only last baby until he outgrows it, which can be anywhere from 6mths to 1 yr. depending on ur baby growth. that means u gotta upgrade to a convertible since a toddler seat is too big for him mah.
- a convertible can usually lasts from infant to 4 yrs old or 18 kg, whichever comes first. since we intend to have at least 2 kids with less than 2 yrs apart, it makes more sense to pay more for a convertible now,then when 2nd kid come out, put him/her in convertible too. if we start with an infant seat, then it would be in cold storage or have to find a way to sell it after 2nd baby outgrows.
but thats just our thinking lah....hehehe at the end of the day its up to you and how's ur daily life like.