(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi Little Pony,

Thanks for the sharing. Yep, cost is a huge consideration. My husband's company pays up to $250 per day for the maternity ward (max 3 days), so if I choose the 2 bedder everything will be covered. The single bedder is really a lot more expensive, plus they charge quite a bit more for the lodger as well. So I guess will most probably take the 2 bedder as well.

Bena, I have asked the nurse at my gynea's clinic. Hubby cannot stay over if we take the 2 bedder. Din ask about the baby though.

Good morning my lovely girls!!!!

Thank you so much for your opinion on SAHMs. Everything that you said is true. I've been working all my life and enjoy making my own money so that's why can afford to spend more on baby stuff. So I think the best compromise is to work part-time or take freelance job. What do you guys think?

I am supposed to book a hospital and room type by next Tuesday on my appt already. I'm given TMC and Glen E. My hubby wants me to deliver at GlenE b'cos that's where my gynae is but I prefer TMC b'cos of the cost. Then I can consider taking single-bedded. If GlenE, I doubt I'll take single bedded. Skali, touch wood, must do C-sect, die liao. Very expensive in GlenE. I rather spend the extra money on baby stuff!

Wah everyone is putting up a ticker I should put up too. Paisay lah me end Sept MTB, I'm so way behind compared to all of you!

bena,
I think it will be best for the nurse to look after baby during night.. You definitely need alot of rest after delivery. Yap. Hubby can't stay over.
I didn't go for the tour. But normally, if 2 bedded and no one is taking the bed besides yours.. then most probably, your hubby can then stay over loh.

peachie, ur hubby co so good...still got reimbursement.

Hhmm...i getting a little confused liao. I saw the charges for the delivery double room is between 918-1200, then the field is empty for the single room? Hhmm...

Littlepony, any idea what is the cost difference between 1-bedder and 2-bedder? i am getting a little confused

Just for your info, for those delivering at GlenE or interested to deliver at GlenE, can book the hospital tour with them. The hospital tour is conducted twice weekly at the following time slots:

1) Tuesday (12pm)
2) Thursday (4pm)

You can call Jacqueline at 6470-5615 to make an appointment.

Bena,

The charges quoted in your posting are for the package for the 2-bedder. Hence they include the following:

- 2 days stay in a 2-bedder room
- use of labour room
- use of nursery for baby
- other ancillary items

If you are not taking up the package, the room charges are as follows:

2-bedder:
$230 per day (before GST)

1-bedder:
$388 per day (before GST)
If husband is staying over, there will be additional lodger charges. The lodger charges are at $75 per day (before GST). It includes a sofa bed for the hubby, and 5 meals a day for him. The lodger option is only available if you take the 1-bedder room.

Thinking of going for the hospital tour soon. But since it is only available on weekdays, maybe will go for the Thursday one and take half day leave.

Melissa, so fast need to confirm the room type already? I still haven go for the tour yet :p I am also very slow in all the preparation. Only bought 3 baby items...heheh.

Trying out my ticker as well :p

436586.jpg

Peachie, thanks.
Hhm, if you don take the package then will have to pay for the labour room/nursery separately? Will it add up to be more than the package price?

Hi peachie,
Thanx for the "lobang"! I'll call IKEA now... and don't worry, you won't be the only one not taking notes. I'm not the studying sort, and my attention span is terrible. :p

Wow, you're lucky your HB's company has some maternity benefits for you. My HB gets $0
and I can only claim up to $350 max from my company, and that's not all at one shot. I can only claim $10 per visit to the gynae... so to claim everything, I must see her 35 times!
What a bad deal!

Yippeee I'm loving all these tickers in this forum! hahaha..

Bena, yeah very fast b'cos my gynae is always afraid that I might delivery early b'cos I had several losses before so better be safe than sorry. I can't wait to get past 28 weeks so that I can have a peace of mind that my baby is viable!

Joon, u lucky also lor...at least u can claim some $ from ur co. Both hubby and myself clim $0. only can depend on the medisave

Melissa, don worry...i am sure everything will be fine for you!

Hi Bena,

No probs. I guess package should be cheaper. But they don't do separate billing for the maternity ward if I take the package... So dunno if my husband will have problem claiming. Got to check with his company first.

Maybe you can check on this during the hospital visit. Ask them for itemised breakdown then you can consider which is better....

Think we also need to pay a $1K plus deposit upon confirmation and booking of room. So probably will not do it so soon.

Hi Joon,

My company does not pay a single cent. My hubby's company only pays for the ward stay and nothing else. But I guess it's a lot better than nothing.

helo morning! i am eating scones from Fosters now and reading the forum hahahahaa. :p

forgetmenot, i can't eat durians now coz i am recovering from flu. sore throat, coughing past few days, so better not eat heaty durians wors...

peachie thanks! i am an IKEA friends member *raise hands*. how do you find out about this? did they sent you mailer? how come i no recieve leh? oh great got $40 voucher. which changnig table u eyeing? we also eyeing one leh. the one in the brochure hor, got one white and one pine colour. the white one got no drawers leh, its open. the pine one got drawers but the color not as nice. i dun rem how much is it? are u getting that? we intending to go down ikea to check one of these days soon also.

melissa and ladies, sigh...standard of living is so high nowadays. i dun think i can become a SAHM coz i feel both persons working is better and easier on the household. even now, already find it very tight, its like our combined income just right after deducting all the expenditures and expenses for baby. not to mention next time got diapers, classes, education to think of mah, so need to earn more and save. i do see ppl who become SAHM but probably their hubby earning more than $5-7K a month? coz recently there's an article in mother and baby or motherhood talking about when do you know if you can be a SAHM or something liek that. it mentioned that u need at least 3-6 mths of ur combined income in ur account before considering that. oh goodness! where got so much money? though i also agree that if we can take care of baby ourselves, our baby will be happier and grow up well and secure and close to us. but if i have to do this at the expense of stressing hubby out earning for family and taking at toil at his health, i need to think twice loh. afterall, many babies also grow up well and healthy and well adjusted with both working parents. we just have to make sure we spend quality time with him all the time that we are home.

ilovebabies, u din buy bottle warmer huh? i read that its better to warm up milk in a median with slowly increasing temperature. but i think a lot of mums will use hot water, especially when we are outside ah hehehee. for me, i not using avent milk liners, but if i do use bags, i will prefer to run it under running water until it thaws, then transfer to bottle to warm up in warmer, if i am home lah.

hey Joon! u just made me realise one thing leH! i did not claim my gynae reciepts. aiyah lugi leh!!! yah i also have $350 max to claim, but if not panel clinic can only claim $10 each. but better than nothing right? aiyah really lugi, coz last financial yr oredi ended, and that's when most of my paid bills are during early pregnancy. now is mostly by package so not much receipts. bbbbrrrrrrr.........

peachie, thanks. will check out the biling. info i got from my gynae regarding charges is the package one. 1-bedder is $1950. I tot seeing the 2-bedder at $1700+...cannot remember.

daisybutton, i agree with you. where got so much $$ to have excess like 3-6 months of combined income
every month is like giro account, pay in, pay out :p

Hi daisybuttons,

Really envious of u!!!
Wish I could do the same. Hehe...

This is the changing table which I am eyeing...

436618.jpg

Changing table
SNIGLAR
$40.00
(Price applies for this product as per description shown)

- Accommodates GULLUNGE babycare mat and LTTSAM storage box.
- Can be used as a table/shelf unit when changing table is no longer needed.
- Solid beech.
- L72xW53, H87cm.

Since baby also looked after by my mom on weekdays, got to get 2. Hehe, knew about this lobang when I was surfing Ikea's website. Guess not a lot of people know about it.... Still got refreshments some more. So might as well go down and get 2 free changing tables out of it.

hi daisybuttons

tks for the info, my friend will be passing me her warmer .. so I can use it with the milk storage bags lah !

Joon, my EDD is 2nd Sept .. ya most likely will be in end Aug ... so I will take leave during the last week of Aug lor ... u ?

Hi Bena,
I guess I cannot complain... something is better than nothing :p cannot be too greedy...
My friend could claim EVERYTHING! Her HB's company paid for EVERYTHING! MNC (and bank some more) that's why!

Ya, Melissa, don't worry, I'm sure everything will turn out alright for you and little baby!
About being a SAHM, maybe you can check with your company if they'll let you work from home? My friend works from home 2 days a week - an agreement she worked out with her company. Or part-time sounds good! A good compromise to make

Yup, thanx Peachie, I just called them and booked 2 slots for the focus group
hee hee... Anyone else who's calling IKEA to book slots, try these numbers...

6378-1776 / 6378-1774 / 6378-1746

It's the direct number to the IKEA Friends people. The lady at the hotline gave me those numbers.

436625.png

Hi ilovebabies,
End-August, same! I'm delivering at TMC... u? I haven't thought abt taking leave b4 the birth. Sounds like a good idea though...

Hi peachie, that looks like a nice changing table... price not bad too

Hi daisybuttons, still can claim! I signed up for my gynae's package too, but when I have to buy extra medicine, I'll claim that, and when I did my diabetes test, I claimed that too. Good luck

Oh, can I ask u ladies - is it more advisable to get a proper infant car seat for the first few months, rather than a convertible one? (0-4yrs) My friend said the curved back of the infant car seat is better for the baby's back. Have you heard anything about this?

bena, yah loh so much money need to spend every mth. plus saving up for baby stuff, not enough for ourselves at all. cannot imagine surviving on one income.

peachie, oh u looking at this ah. thats different from the thing i am looking at. the one i looking at is more of a dresser cum shelves cum changing table hehehe. i also just registered for the focus group. eh btw what they talk abt there ah? what we focus on? hehehee. they dun allow hubby to go leh coz he not ikea member.
joon, ur hubby is also ikea member ah?

melissa, dun worry, i am also sure your little one will be fine and meet you in his healthy person in Sept.

joon, i have taught abt the car seat dilemna before. in the end, we end up buying an infant seat, refunding it coz its spoilt at the catch, then deciding to buy a convertible. about the curved back of the infant seat, i think its more the fact that infant seat allows total reclination at 170 degrees which in the 1st 6mths is better for baby. newborns are supposed to be on their backs for 1st 6 mths to allow for back development. so we were thinking we shld get infant seat. anyway, in the end, the reasoning is as follows:

- how often will be bring baby out in the first 6mths? even if like every day a week to drive to mums plc and back, its only a 5-10mins drive. a good convertible wld also provide support, just that he cannot lie as fully as an infant seat.
- an infant seat can only last u til baby outgrows it. if you want a peace of mind, u will sure invest in a good one which will likely cost only slightly lesser than a good convertible (a good infant car seat starts $200 maybe). it can only last baby until he outgrows it, which can be anywhere from 6mths to 1 yr. depending on ur baby growth. that means u gotta upgrade to a convertible since a toddler seat is too big for him mah.
- a convertible can usually lasts from infant to 4 yrs old or 18 kg, whichever comes first. since we intend to have at least 2 kids with less than 2 yrs apart, it makes more sense to pay more for a convertible now,then when 2nd kid come out, put him/her in convertible too. if we start with an infant seat, then it would be in cold storage or have to find a way to sell it after 2nd baby outgrows.

but thats just our thinking lah....hehehe at the end of the day its up to you and how's ur daily life like.

hi joon

the back development of the bb is very important in the early years .. so I invest in a better car seat. Like I mentioned before, BRITAX has the most inclined position among the car seats here ....

if not, like daisybuttons, you can get an infant car seat then switch when the bb turns 1 year old.

Btw I am delivering in MAH. But i will take leave in end August lah ..,. think by that time no mood and energy to work !

dailybutton, yah lor. if have to survive on 1 income, then a lot of material things gotto forgo...just make do with the necessary. I believe things will still work out, but maybe have to scrimp more

Hhmm, i agree with u on the car seat, i most likely also getting a convertible one...especially when i am only thinking of 1 kid...very soon will be in cold storage if i get the infant seat. Moreoever, i think travelling in SG is not very far even if have to travel from 1 end to another. The convertibles should be good enough. Also, think will hardly bring the bb out especially during the 1st 3 mths

Joon, ur frd really good leh, can claim everything. Wow...i think even for civil servant is only reimbursement and not covered full right? Envy ur frd....

Hehe, just came back from lunch after shopping at Robinsons. They having 15% off storwide today till this Sunday (but infant products department is not included in the 15% sale). Most of the household products already at 20% off. So it's 20%+15%+5% off. Bought a Zojirushi 1.6L food thermos (it comes with 4 separate compartments). UP is $109. It is $70.40 after all the discounts. Feel very happy and satisfied. Thought it can come in handy after baby starts eating solids.... Can bring food out and feed him.

Hi daisybuttons,

Yep, hubby is also a Friends card holder. In fact no need to chalk up all the minimum purchases these days. We got the OCBC Friends credit card (2 years fee waiver). Just apply and your hubby will be a member. Anyway, the banks are so hard up for credit card business these days that they will gladly waive the annual fee.

I also share the same opinion as you on the car seat!

Hi Joon,

Yep, thought the price for the changing table is great! Very worth it. When my baby outgrows it, can use it to put storage boxes and store his toys.

I guess I won't get a dresser for the time being. Thinking of getting those plastic stackable drawer boxes and store his clothes. Saw some at Muji that day, which comes in different sizes and height. Thought it is a cheaper storage method to put all the towels and clothes during the pre-school years. The plastic boxes will mean that I can wash and disinfect them every now and then, plus I can always add on if I run out of storage space... The drawer boxes look something like this:

436715.jpg

PP Clothes Drawer - Large (40x65x30cms)

Anyone knows whether anywhere else sells such plastic drawer boxes? I have been looking for them.... Thanks a million in advance!

Daisybuttons,
Ya, my hb is also a member, which is a bit silly becoz 1 family only needs 1 card right? Well, at least ur hb can walk ard and wait for u
$40 is not bad... I just hope it's not one of those "only redeemable for purchases above $500" kind of voucher! Thanx for the info
Much appreciated
I'll talk to my hb tonight.

ilovebabies,
This forum doesn't accept tickers. After you've generated your ticker at the ticker website, save the image and then upload it here as an attachment. That's what we've been doing

Oh yes, I also dunno what the focus group is talking about.... Hehe... saw the $40 and I just jumped in... Also dunno what they focussing on!!!

Looks like no one knows about it... scully we go and find that all the focus groups are made up of pregnant mums (who are 6 months pregnant!) hehe.... the Ikea people will be wondering huccome their population is so skewed... LOL.

peachie, so nice to be able to shop during lunch. The robinson discount is not bad huh...20+15+5%. Gonna drag hubby to go shopping for stuffs liao

Hi Bena,
You're right about the infant seat being in cold storage. So sayang and wasted. I'm actually for the convertible (better value), but my hb is very worried, he wants to buy the infant one too. Ya, my friend really lucky eh? When she told me I think I turned green. (with envy, haha)

Hi peachie,
I love Muji stuff. So clean and simple. But ex lah! If you're not particular, you can try the Toyogo warehouse at Toa Payoh Lorong 8, Toa Payoh Industrial Estate. They have lots of cheap plastic boxes. They're cheap but not that great looking.

Hi ilovebabies,
MAH was my 2nd choice
Decided on TMC coz my gynae's clinic is there. I heard lots of great stuff about MAH - the nurses are supposed to be really nice and they are very pro-breastfeeding

My office is at Raffles City Tower, which is the annex to Raffles City shopping centre.... that's why despite the long hours, I am still here.... hehe. It's a fantastic location.

Go and look look later. Not many people know about it yet (since it just started today). There was hardly anyone when I was there just now.

Hi Joon,

Will definitely pop by Toyogo. Do you know which part of Toa Payoh Industrial Estate they are in?

Agree with you that Muji is ex. The largest one costs $38. Hence if I buy 4, they will add up.

joon, ic, so u going to get the infant seat as well izzit?

Yah yah...i also bought those toyogo looking plastic drawers, but i got mine from OG. It comes with a wooded frame & top with plastic drawers, so more steady. Different drawers for different items
and it's quite cheap.

Peachie, i missed shopping during lunch. Last time my office is at wheelock...everyday is shopping for me...and i will know all the sales period, but now feels like a moutain tortoise.
Okies...will try to check out robinson tonight if hubby can knock off on time

Peachie,
envy leh. You can shop during lunch time! I am working near Tanjong pagar.. only got small shops to shop around during lunch.

Hi Bena,

Thanks a million!

Hi littlepony and Bena,

There are pros and cons to working near a shopping centre. My money seems to grow wings whenever there is a sale. My previous company used to be at Tanjong Pagar too! I missed the food at Tanjong Pagar market. Cheap and yummy...

Hi peachie,
Aiyoh, that's expensive :p The ones are Toyogo are definitely MUCH MUCH cheaper, less than $10 I think.

Do you know where the golf range is? Well, it's somewhere around that area. If you're driving on the CTE or PIE, the golf range is where the 2 expressways meet. If you're driving on the CTE towards AMK, look to your left after passing the golf range, you can actually see a low building with the Toyogo sign on the top. That's the place! Sorry, I don't know the block number :p

It's a great place to get cheap plastic containers. My black hangers are from there - $1 for 10!!

Hi Joon,

Thanks for the detailed info! Also thought that the Muji ones are darned ex... That's why look only and didn't buy...

Toyogo sounds really good now. Will definitely get the storage drawers from there.
Then can start cleaning the boxes, washing the clothes, blankets plus towels and storing them soon!!! very happy to think of it

Hi Bena,
Don't know... haven't decided... if we had gotten the Quinny stroller, I'll prob get the Maxi-Cosi infant car seat since it can clip on. But we got another brand which doesn't allow car seats to clip on. So I'm for the convertible actually. Ah! Decisions! Decisions!

Joon, the hangers are really cheap leh! Hhmm, i personally have not been to the Toyogo factory. Only saw their products in shopping malls and the price are pretty affordable

Peachie, yeah, i agree with u that the money seems to have wings and just fly away without u noticing. Even the food is expensive already less the sales and shopping :p

Hahha...decisions decision...loads to make!

Bena, ya! Cheap right! It's worth a trip down. When we went, we bought plastic boxes, an ironing board, hangers, pails etc... It's cheaper at the factory than at the shopping malls.

Ya, these decisions are driving me crazy. Haven't thought about the cot and the breast pump yet! At least we got the stroller debate out of the way, haha.

Anyone's gone to the John Little sale at Expo? Just wondering if it's worth the long drive to Simei this weekend

Joon, the prices at the factory is even cheaper than the malls ar? wow..okies...can realy consider making a trip there to get the necessary liao.

Yah lor. That's why till now, i still haven't got anything yet. I also contemplating to get breast pump or not...manual or electric. Electric ones are very ex compared to manual.

Hi Bena,
Yup, it's slightly cheaper, believe it or not! About maybe 10-15% cheaper. Bring your mom or mom-in-law, coz when I brought mine, they LOVED it.

About the pumps, I've spoken to some friends and everyone recommends electric, esp if you're working. The manual is more for SAHM who have more chances of letting their babies latch on straight away. My friend got the manual one and after pumping for a few months, got a wrist injury and had to see a doctor! Get the manual if you only pump once in a while. Otherwise it's better to get an electric one.

Hi joon, thanks. But i dunno how long i will be able to stick to bf. Maybe i will get the manual first and tryout during the confinement period...if got supply and if can tahan expressing, then i go get the electric...quite worried that get the electric now, then later use only once or twice...will be very wasted.

Ya, that's a good idea. No point buying an expensive breastpump and then find that you cannot stick with it. I'll prob do that too
Now, the next decision is ... (1) car seat (2) cot!!

ilovebabies,

use IE, then type \ image (put them together) and post your message. then the forum will ask you to upload your image. it only accept GIF or JPG only. the tickers are mostly in PNG format and this is not accepted. so you have to convert first.

wah 3-6 months saving.. impossible liao....

joon, yah exactly! we considering getting infant seat initially coz we want those complete travel system where u can clip on the infant seat on top of the stroller. but when we decided on the stroller that doesn't have compatible infant seat, the debate/decision process starts all over again hahahahahaa!!

yah loh, scarly the voucher is only redeemable for speicifc purchases then how ah? shld we call and ask first b4 we sit down for that 1.5hours ah?

peachie, dun think will get hubby to apply lah, actually we seldom go ikea now leh. now is coz baby coming thats why thinking of getting a few things from there hehehee. you so funny leh hehehe when you mention wait all the ppl who turned up to "focus" are only 6mth preggie woman! hehehehee...

so the robinsons' 20+15+5 sale is only for household items lah? so nursery and children's department just only 20+5 right?

wow you girls so good, work so near town hor? aiyoh, peachie u make me salivate when you mention tanjong pagar market food leh! u no good lah. i like the nasi lemak leh!!!! aaarrggghhhh......

Ilovebabies, for the avent milk liners, if you freeze it in freezer, you must move it to the lower fridge compartment for it to thaw and defroze..before you transfer to a bottle for warming up.

Reason is, the liners are still made of plastic after all and they aren't really thick thick types, you don't want the heating up process to affect the plastic and maybe it might taste "plasticky"? My opinion lah..

peachie & daisybuttons,
your diaper creams are here liaoz. check your e-mail please and let me know when & how u wanna pick it up. thanks!

Regarding plastic drawers,
i love those at Muji too, but i baulk at the price! Saw nice & cheaper ones also at OG and also at NTUC Toa Payoh (but limited range!)

436821.png

hi jasmine, we just communicated on sms.

ilovebabies, yep i agree with jasmine, thats why just now i said if its me i will transfer to bottles before i put in warmer.