(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi elaine, thanx for the tip! How did you find the class overall? My hb and I are going for the session tomorrow night
There's no break during the thing right? So it's better to eat dinner before it starts?

e class is not too bad but i'm already very tired after work n still got to attend class
but my next few lessons will all be on sat so i hope it will be better.
there's only toilet break no time for eating la... so u better eat abit b4 u go. my class end at ard 915pm.

helo morning!

puppylove yeah i know what u mean, sometimes we so caught up hunting out the good deals that suddenly we get so tired wondering what we doing for that few dollars! for the sake of our sanity and healthy, just buy lah! hehehe anyway i think the motherhood fair one sounds good.

for those who still wanna buy PIS, yesterday i was at first few yrs (kkh) and the girl say they selling the PIS advanced at $599. the PIS (not advanced, only 9W and not 12W) is only $499. but pls note both are with the US voltage, means it comes with stepdown transformer and adaptor for us to use in singapore.

ilovebabies, urs is britax royale? hhmmm...tot u mention the price before not the same price leh. anyway yah the hood looks quite useful, but wun know until we really use it.

joon, the last we check the royale is $438 or something like that. after 20% is around $360.....or thereabouts. oh as to the parentcraft classes hor, u must plan ur meals carefully. coz i think 3rd-4th class for exercise, so if u eat too full before class u will feel very gang kor. thats why we choose the 4.30pm timing, where we can have a light snack and yet not be hungry hehehe.

helo forgetmenot! yah long time no see you. oooh durians....sigh i can't eat now. think if u eat moderately its okie lah. sometimes u crave for something dun eat they say baby will salivate one leh hehehe.

elaine, oh how come you attend the 1st class on a diff day? is it coz one of the classes u can't make it so you change the date. so from now on its sat the session after me right? hehehe mine at 4.30pm. thanks for the info on leg cramps, very interesting.

435745.png

hi daisybutton...
oh... ya this sat i'm going bangkok so i attended last nite class to make up. urs is also MRS Wong class so she will repeat it again... heehee

hi joon, daisybuttons

I din get hold of the model of the bb car seat I bought ahha blur hor ?
but I guess from the pic it looks like it leh ..

I bought is at $394 after 10% discount. So is it the price same as Robinsons ?

435801.png

Hi ilovebabies,
No worries... there are SO many out there, it's confusing... :p I don't know how much it is at Robinsons, but at Motherswork, it's $372 for the Britax Royale model.

Hi Daisybuttons & Elaine,
Thanks for the tip!! Exercise?? What kind of exercise will they make us do??

heol elaine hehehe okie, i guess must be something like that.

ilovebabies, do you notice hor, the ticker you posted is the same counting as the one you posted yesterday? same as mine leh. dunno why today when i re-generate the ticker, the no.s of weeks din change leh. could be that its US site so their date have not progressed to the next day yet. hehehe some of the britax models in that range looks the same. urs can be meridian or royale.

joon, think those exercises are prenatal ones like stretching and stuff hehehee. u so sound so worried hehehee. think will be fun! when's ur lessson?

435823.png

daisybuttons, i have the same experience. I reckon it's bcos of the US time difference. Maybe try again later in the day.
All these tickers are so cute

When u attended the parentcraft classes, how many sessions are there? What are you taught there?

I went to surf the web for gleneagles, but under the parentcraft classes, they state as "recommened to attend during your stay".

hi daisybuttons

yes I noticed it too. Yes because of the regional time settings lah .. a bit stupid ahha ...

maybe we shld find one that is based in SG.

hi mae....
i'm sitting facing e front(behind a pillar) ... all e way back but e 2nd couple next to e back door where we put our shoes... how abt u?? i'm wearing yellow shirt.

hi Bena,
we got 6 lessons, e topic of e class u can check from TMC website. is basically prenatal exercise, how to bath e baby, how to breastfeed, wat is father role during labour... etc...

hi elaine...not very sure which position u r sitting...hee...u facing the projector screen directly? jus behind a pillar...quite isolated one isit?

Mi face the front oso...2nd couple just beside the door to the room where our hubbies keep the mats. i was wearing a black polo tee

hi bena...
ya got to pay... but i cant remember how much exactly... is ard $100++ both couple. weekday n weekend rate is different n i got discount cos i sign up for e 1st born incentives programme offered by TMC.

hi mae,
oh... then i thk i'm e one beside ur hubby on e left la. in front of me got a pillar where there is another couple sitting facing e front too.
r u e one who ur hubby put his hand too high when MRS WOng ask hubby to put their hands to locate e place which we can feel to know when baby dont want to play with us??

Thanks elaine...guess i'll call up GE and find out more...i think their parentcraft session is somewhat different from TMC.

jasmine

this forum dont support the codes generated by these tickers here .. u have to save the image in ur harddisk and then upload it here using the UPLOAD ATTACHMENT button here

Bena,
Yes i'm with GlenE but i did not sign up for the parentcraft class. My gynae didn't tell me about it ley. I will look it up at my next appointment on Tuesday. Saw that you're going to check, if you find out first, pls share! Thanks

Gosh, why call this a motherhood a forum if tickers are not supported. While they're nice, I think I should just type my EDD and how far a long I am below. Hehehe...

I see that some early september MTB are in their third trimester already! Congratulations!!! My baby likes to kick behind my belly button.. aiyoh feel soo weird. Anywhere can but there!!! Yeee!!!

- 24w1d, EDD Sep 27.

Melissa, when does the 3rd trimester start? Oh gosh, I should know this... :p oops! I might be in the 3rd tri and not know it. I'm loving the kicks

Daisybuttons, do I sound worried? Haha! Just don't want to do any rolling or tumbling! Stretching is ok ;) My 1st class is tomorrow... we were lucky... we got the last 2 spaces
Think I will check out Robinsons... looks like it's slightly cheaper than Motherswork.

Bena, if you're interested in TMC's parentcraft lessons, check out this website to read about what they teach.

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/PS_ante.htm

In a nutshell, for the 6 sessions it's
$168 - Wkday classes, deliver @ TMC
$189 - Wkend classes, deliver @ TMC
$189 - Wkday classes, deliver elsewhere
$210 - Wkend classes, deliver elsewhere

Joon, thanks!

Melissa, GE conduct parentcraft, but i suspect it's just a 1-day or a few hr session, cos the brochure says "strongly recommended to attend during ur stay with us". They also have different antenatal classes. I have emailed them to ask for more info. Keep you posted

hi joon...
dont worry dont need to roll n tumble la....
just some stretching exercise... n teach u how to get up from e bed n from e floor correctly.
3rd trimester start from wk 28.

joon,
yes i think it officially starts at 28 weeks but i also come across some website and books that says third tri starts at 27 weeks. don't forget that it's very common for women to give birth at 37-39 weeks. very few is privileged to carry up to 40 weeks. I have two friends who just delivered at 38 weeks. while i'm excited that baby can arrive earlier, i'm also hoping that i'll be one of the few lucky ones to deliver at exactly 40 weeks. b'cos by then my bb will have the same birthday as daddy!

Bena,
thanks for the update. i want to go to the class, but i won't go if hubby won't go and he's always very busy with work. he's working harder for the baby so whenever there's OT opportunities, he will grab it. so maybe worse to worse, will just follow GlenE's crash course lor.

Is anybody considering to be a stay-at-home mom and quit working altogether? My company is not doing well and I'm thinking of quitting my job but I'm not sure if hubby's 2.5K pay is enough to pay for house, bills and car. What are your opinions? What will make you comfortable quitting your career and stay at home on a single income?

Hi Melissa,

I called up GE. Their antenatal classes will only guide u on the different stages of labour. As for breastfeeding, bathing for the bb, it will fall under the parent craft session which u attend during ur stay there...i could not reach the parent craft dept for more details...once i get more info, i will keep you posted.

Yah lor...i also won attend if hubby not attending with me :p I feel weird attending alone.

Personally, i feel that it just depends on how much you want in life. Have more $, get to spend more, have less $, then just spend on the necessary stuffs will do. Can't really tell u how much is enough...reckon it depends a lot on making adjustments. There are also pros and cons of quitting job and staying at home to look after the kid. The bonding is definitely going to be stronger and you will not regret that you missed out on the growing up of your child.

Hi Melissa,

I called up GE. Their antenatal classes will only guide u on the different stages of labour. As for breastfeeding, bathing for the bb, it will fall under the parent craft session which u attend during ur stay there...i could not reach the parent craft dept for more details...once i get more info, i will keep you posted.

Yah lor...i also won attend if hubby not attending with me :p I feel weird attending alone.

Personally, i feel that it just depends on how much you want in life. Have more $, get to spend more, have less $, then just spend on the necessary stuffs will do.

What i understand for GE is the day after you delivered, you can go attend classes whereby they teach you the basic of taking care of baby... plus breastfeeding as well.

I won't be attending any classes. I will be delivering my baby at GE and guess i will attend this class the 2nd day after i deliver.

Melissa, although i very much want to take care of my baby personally but still, i think the standard of living has increased rapidly. Therefore, it's difficult to have only one person earning an income and feed everyone in the family. I like to strike a balance between good quality of life and also good quality of time with my kids. But i know, it's not easy. Anyway, i will still prefer to work. Earning my own $ is always easier than asking for $.

Oh, littlepony, u also with GE. Hhmm...can we move ard on the 2nd day already? Sounds like its going to be some crash course liao....

Bena,
yes.. you should start to exercise and try to move around on the 2nd day. This is an advice from my sis in law who went to GE to deliver. She attended the course and she said quite useful. Although it's crash course but alot of things we have to learn hands on lah. So take it easy. It comes with practice, isn't it.

Wah..most of you going to start 3rd trimester. I hve 4 more weeks to go before starting my 3rd trimester.
436194.png

littlepony,
What you said is true. My friend just delivered yesterday in KKH and today she's instructed to walk around to improve blood circulation. She delivered naturally so that's possible. Dunno if c-sect how.

hi melissa

understand from experienced mums, even if u have c-sect, the nurses will "forced" you to walk on ur 2nd day, no matter what.

as for being a SAHM, I guess I have to agree with Littlepony. Std of living in SG is real high nowadays. I am also considering sending my child to some basic courses such as training the left/right brain, and mental calculation. I think these courses are beneficial to the kids in terms of learning capability in future, so gotta start young. you see... all these needs $... but i also know as a SAHM, you can do it all by yourselves as long as you are trained and determined.

btw I attended my 1st ante natal class today at MAH. Today's topic was nutrition for expectant mothers. Quite useful as there are some things we really dont know...

in fact my gynae dun encourage ante natal class reason being he says that all these are common sense and most hospitals offer free breastfeeding classes after delivery. So it's really up to u lah ! I just want to attend it once and experienced it.

436268.png

one qn ... is anyone of you using the Avent disposable milk storage bags to store ur breastmilk ? if yes, can we warm the breastmilk in the storage bag or we have to pour it into the milk bottle first ?

joon,
i sleep late ah??hehe..no choice lah..cos i finished patting my boy to sleep..then logged in to check emails n the forum..so 12 plus still online...
but the latest i sleep is at 2plus in the morning..

y u full energy nowadays?thot tt now we shd be feeling tired...

daisybuttons,
y u cant eat durians ah??

gals,
btw,hve u all thot of names for ur bb?

littlepony, thanks. Will definitely attend the parent craft classes. Seems like the parent craft 'crash course' offers more stuffs than the antenatal classes. Not too sure why they list so many items on the brouchure though...
Any idea if we can attend the parent craft session before delivery? I couldn't reach the PC dept to verify this...but according to the antenatal dept, the lady told me cannot...only attend during your stay there.

forgetmetnot, i have started to think of names, but still cannot decide :p thought of this today, then tmr another...heheh...cannot make up my mind yet. You? Have you gotten a name for your bb already?

Thanx for the info, Elaine & Melissa
Ack, I'll be in 3rd tri next week! We're all more than halfway there. So fast...

Melissa, ideally I would like to be a SAHM, I feel it's better for the development of the child. Also, you won't run into conflicts if you have your in-laws or parents looking after the baby for you if you work. UNFORTUNATELY (or fortunately??), I love my job and I'm the restless sort. I can't see myself at home all day. So I'll be back at work in February 2007. What Bena said is right, when it comes to $$, it all depends on what's more impt to you - the development of your child? Or a life with frills?

Hi forgetmenot, it is quite late! I wish I can sleep at 10pm, but the good programmes are all so late! ;)

About names, actually, we have 1 in mind. (chosen by my in-laws... but now my mum doesn't like it... how?????) aiyah...

ilovebabies, sorry cannot help about the BF milk... don't know anything!

436433.png

ilovebabies...i think the milk bags can be warmed up, but how to warm up, i have no idea. I read this from the web...

"AVENT MILK BAG HOLDER

This milk bag holder can be used to hold a milk bag so that you can pump directly with an AVENT pump into the milk bag without need for a bottle. This milk bag can then be stored in the fridge. Upon warming, the expressed breastmilk stored in the Avent Milk Bags can then be fitted onto an Avent Milk Bag holder to directly feed the baby without need to transfer to a bottle. "

Joon, why not ur MIL choose the chinese name and your mom choose the english name :p

hi Bena

Thanks for the info ... seems to be safe lah .. probably just put it in a bowl of hot water or something like that ..

hey Joon,
Is our EDD the same ?

436468.png

Hi ilovebabies,

The ticker site you provided is very cool! Thanks!

So many mums to be giving birth at GE. Me too.... Cos my gynea is based there, so thought it would be better to deliver there. Have you gals decided on the single or twin bedder? I am tempted to get the single bedder, such that my husband can stay on as a lodger and help out... But there is always the cost consideration. Anyone gone for the hospital tour yet? I am thinking of going soon, since my 2nd trimester days are numbered...

I have been going to KKH for their antenatal clasees since wk 15 of my pregnancy, so attended quite a number of sessions so far. Some are useful, some not quite.... KKH spent 3 sessions in teaching us how to recognise the signs that we are about to deliver, when to come to hospital, breathing methods, different forms of pain relief and exercises to do to relive pain. There is a small bit on hypno-birthing and a video screening on the actual delivery process (which was very gross)... Then there are other lessons on early childhood illnesses and immunisation, childhood psychology, post natal depression and its signs, exercises during pregnancy.... But sometimes can get pretty boring. That's when I start dozing off. When stretched too long, antenatal lessons can be quite a pain, especially for me to wake up earlier every Sat and make a trip down to KKH. Hehe, maybe I am not a good mommy..... dun see any other mums to be in my class dozing off. There are a few more sessions left, on parentcraft, breastfeeding and stuffs like that. But I think the hospitals will all teach when we are warded there, so I guess we don't have to worry about not getting enough information.

Hi Melissa,

I also want to be a SAHM..... But given the high cost of living these days, I also am not sure. There is no such thing as job certainty anymore. So thinking of saving up as much as possible now, and then become a SAHM when my kid enters primary school. By then my mom will be 66, so she may not have the energy to continue looking after for me.

436487.png

Hi ilovebabies,
Mine is 4 Sept. Is that yours too? The last time I checked with my gynae, she said most deliver early, so I might have a last-Aug baby

Wow peachie, you are really very well-prepared! Very impressive!

I like the tickers... makes the page more colourful

Hi Joon,

Hehe... sometimes it is the case of information overload.... Sit there for too many sessions and for too long, one tend to listen then forget. Can only remember the key details and mostly the practical sessions. Most of the info just went in one ear and out the other.

There was a thick booklet given at the start of the sessions which captures all the slide printouts of the lessons. But I din bother to read, unlike some mums to be in my class who are conscientiously reading and taking notes. So feel quite guilty sometimes.

Oh yes, any mums to be who is an Ikea Friends card-holder? If yes, and if you have time to spare on 17 June (Sat), can go down for a 1.5 hr focus group session and get a $40 voucher. There are a few time slots to choose from; 10-11.30am, 11.30-1pm, 2-3.30pm, 3.30-5pm, 5-6.30pm. Just need to call them 6474-0122 to make an appointment.

My husband and I are Ikea friends card holders, so will be going. With the $80 voucher, the 2 baby changing tables will be free...
Have been eyeing that for some time... Well, it's a small way to save and we have time to spare on Saturdays anyway.

It's such a rainy day.... but it's Friday!!! So am feeling happy.

Peachie,
The other day, the nurse asked me whether i am going for one or two bedded. I am going for two bedded. 1) price consideration 2) stay there for two nights only.. so i m going for 2 bed. But really depends on individual lah.

436547.png

littlepony, so fast the nurse ask u already? Have u gone for the tour? I also contemplating if i should go for the 1 or 2 bedder. The difference is about $200+ right? 1 bedder is good so that hubby can stay. Can hubby still stay over if we take 2-bedder? What abt the bb? Can bb stay in the room throughout if we opt for 2-bedder?