(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi daisybuttons,

I know which seat you are talking about! It is an infant car seat and not a convertible. It has a carrier handle right? I saw the dark blue one as well.... yep, agree that there is a same model (in red with some racing designs) on sale at robinsons earlier. It went out of stock and I think they restocked it with the dark blue version.

Hi littlepony,

Baby turns all the time. Final position will only be stabilised a couple of weeks before delivery. So now still super early and no cause for worry....

Hi ilovebabies,

Agree that the Aprica strollers are overpriced. Saw a row of Aprica strollers all selling for above $1K at Robinsons. But you can be surprised..... quite a few of my friends use Aprica.... Those who have no qualms about forking out $3-4K for this season's LV or Tod's will similarly find a $1K plus stroller peanuts..... Was at Isetan sale a couple of weeks back. There was this guy who wanted to buy a $659 Aprica stroller. Was told by the salesgirl that the blue model is completely sold out.... and the red model is left with the last piece, unless he doesn't mind the blue display piece. My jaws just dropped....

I inherited an Apica stroller myself from a friend, whose son uses it for less than 10 times cos he is spoilt by the maid and the in-laws (who stayed with them). Evidently they carried him everywhere. The minute he is put into the stroller, he starts crying non-stop and then he will be carried. In the end the stroller became a huge white elephant and dust collector in the condo. Really no point in spending so much on a stroller.... make sure that the baby wants to use it first.

ilovebabies,
haaaaaa! yes, we have bad memory. When i started counting, i stopped the moment i hit 10 times.. and sometimes, i double count.

But as long i feel movements, i am happy.

hi littlepony, yah dun worry think babies tend to turn a bit later. now we in 20+ weeks think shld be alright. wow $13 hhmmm not too bad yar? hehehhee. less than $200 ah, sorry i not sure leh. y dun u check out hyperstore and kingdom see have a not? if u know the model liaoz can also call cheong choon. its a shop selling many models at discount price, but it got no showroom so u gotta know the model u want.

ilovebabies, that time during robinsons' sale, they have an aprica UP $700 selling at $299. a lot of ppl grab i heard. but we have check out aprica before, though it was one of the rolls royce brand last time, and hubby has tot he will def be getting one for our kids, we find that its nothing fantastic in this day and age leh. the colours are not nice, the stroller is wobbler and dun feel firm. dun understand why the price also. hehehee...

Good morning girls!

Weekend I went around kiddy palace and thinking about getting Avent IQ or Medela Mini Electric Pump. I won't pay more than $300. Too much lah. I haven't bought it though. Anyone has any idea when does Kiddy Palace's 20% storewide sale ends? We're also eyeing on a playpen but that one is already discounted so can't use the 20% discount offer.

littlepony,
It's ok for baby to be breach now. I think baby will turn itself down at 8 months eventually or 7 months if earlier. I think I prefer baby in breech position now lah, at least I don't feel heavy yet.

I finally managed to get the Prenatal Heart Listener from Bebesounds working yesterday! All these time, I have no idea what I'm listening to but yesterday, can hear the heartbeat so loudly so I managed to count! My baby has a heartrate of 130-140bpm and it's completely in normal range! So happy to hear baby's heartbeat. B'cos I had this intense pain on my diaphragm area before. I thought it's baby trying to push herself up but my uterus can't be that high at this point. Called my doctor but she's on two weeks leave. Haizz. headache dunno what to do, maybe seeing a malay massage lady soon.

hi melissa! think kiddy palace 20% ends end this mth, which is wed. i dun think u can get the avent IQ electric pump at less than $300, coz its costs around $700 leh. the medela mini can though.

oh cool! where did u get the prenatal heart listener? can u tell me? coz i thought of buying that but heard doctors say that usually cannot hear clearly and causes unnecc worry. if u can hear means quite good right!? what do u mean finally got it working? u mean originally not working or u just can't hear? could be that we dunno exact which part to place. coz gotta place it directly above baby's chest then can hear one.

Daisybuttons,
thanks for your suggestion. U really think that we need to spend more than $200 on a convertible car seat? Aiyah.. hmm.. will get my hubby to increase his budget for a car seat then.

I will go do further research on car seats.

Littlepony

ya I think as long as we feel the bb movements actively, it should definitely hit > 10 times. My baby has been very active in the middle of the nite nowadays .. I am so worried.. haha wonder when she's out will she behave similarly ?

U know, she kick so hard that I was woken up by her kick ! Incredible ah ? ahha this happens to me many times oredi ... but I smiled to myself whenever she is so active, cos I am imagining she could be playing inside my womb hehehe ...

Btw did u gynae measure your womb size ? He measured mine and it was like 27 cm ... I forgot to ask what is this measurement about...

yes I remembered the robinson's sale. My colleague actually went to q for the Aprica stroller and bought it. My FIL went down as well, but he said it was sold out. Aiyah i guess it is just branding.. and ppl tends to think that expensive stuff is better.

Btw my friend recommended pigeon nursing pad, reasons being that it is disposable and it comes with two sticking stripes that stick to your bra nicely.

She was telling me Tollyjoy's comes with one stripe only so it tends to move around. I wanted to get the washable pad initially but she feels disposable ones could be more hygiene.

daisybuttons,
I got that prenatal heart listener from kiddy palace liao! So now got 20% discount better grab fast! At least when baby is not moving (probably sleeping) and I'm worried, I can always count on the heartbeat to know that everything is alright! It's truly calming for us also. Actually my gynae said you can just let your hubby listen from your tummy, but that's for him! How about us? LOL. Oh there's a recording cable to record your baby's heartbeat as well! I can't wait to record it into my mp3 player! Now is the perfect time to listen b'cos baby is big and strong already!

Is the medela mini electric pump good enough? The price seems affordable. We don't really need double pumps right? Can just pump one breast at a time?

Daisybuttons,
Argh..u confirm that kiddy palace sales end this month, which is this wednesday???? I am still planning out my buying list and hoping to go down this coming saturday to get.....

Better call kiddy palace to avoid disappointment then !

Melissa,

I heard very good reviews abt Medela Electric pump. I bought the Mini Electric PLus which comes with double pump. Just want to save time during office hours to express my milk lor ... but of cos you can choose to pump one breast at a time.

I got the prenatal heart listener for $50+ maybe $59. But now got 20% discount better get it lor. You have to be patient to locate the heartbeat though b'cos baby moves a lot! When you guys bought it, please let me know what you hear. We can compare.

hi gals, may i know roughly which wk did u start to feel ur bb's hard kicks?

im in wk22+, my bb's kicks are still quite soft.

hi edksd

I started feeling it on week 18. It becomes more obvious and frequent only these few weeks. I am in week 26 now. Don't worry, as the baby grows, you can even see your tummy moving or the bulges your baby makes !

Hey gals,
I will be going back to SGP during end of Jun for a long weekend to choose gynae and hospital.
I intend to spend Sunday doing shopping for baby stuff. Where do all of you suggest I go? (Preferance for those 1 stop shop, very big with all sorts of stuff that we will need for baby)

Angeline

GSS will still be ON during end June. Suggest you go Robinsons or Taka or Isetan. But it also depends on the shopping list you have. Kiddy Palace is also a good choice but less big items like car seat and stroller. Their range is not very comprehensive.

edksd,
since our edd is very close, i can tell you i'm already feeling strong kicks now, regardless of when i'm standing, walking, sitting or lying down. Last time, i can feel kickings at most when i'm sitting down and leaning forward, but now i can feel her anytime in any position. maybe my placenta position has something to do with the kicking sensation. do you happen to have an anterior placenta? if you do, you will soft kickings. i started feeling strong kicks from 20 weeks onwards.

Angeline,
just go to baby's hypermart and baby's kingdom lah. one stop place with so many things in store. if you or your hubby has AA membership, you can get 15% discount from baby's hypermart.

littlepony, not sure if u can get a convertible under $200. coz i din do research on convertibles.
yah u better call kiddy palace ah, i heard from my friend its end of the mth lah. but forgot to ask the sales staff last friday hehehee.

melissa, u din explain what u mean by finally got it working? can elaborate? is it coz it spoilt or issit coz u can't locate the sound initially?

angeline, welcome bacK! hhmmm... a one stop place? well, you can try kiddy palace at toa payoh, its the biggest kiddy palace. or u can try robinsons or taka or kid's mall. the thing is, diff shops carry diff range esp for car seats and strollers. and u may need to compare price and material for these, and cots as well. but for small ticket items, think can get at either of these places.

ilovebabies, yah i heard about the pigeon nursing pad, so i oredi bought 2 boxes at isetan private sale, plus one box of avent washable.

Ilovebabies, we will pop by Robinsons and Taka when we go for the Mt. E hospital tour.

Melissa, where is baby's hypermart and baby's kingdom? And what is AA membership?

angie and ilovebabies, hhmm i dun recc going isten for one-stop leh. though they have a lot of nursing stuff, their other things like cot, baby clothes, strollers limited.

actually kiddy palace for strollers, only good if u are eyeing brands like combi, capella, lucky baby. the toa payoh one has a big range of this brand.
we like capella strollers.

oh and angeline, kiddy palace toa payoh has a lot of bedsheets. see until we blur. but din buy any coz dunno whether friends giving us any.

robinsons, taka has quite good range of newborn clothes too, also have bedsheet sets but robinsons more exp i think. nursing stuff both places have. strollers robinsons's alot of grace and aprica. taka have aprica too, but also some other brands. taka also have some towels and blankets, kiddy palace too hehehe. sorry hope din confuse u further.

hi melissa, my placenta is posterior and upper according to the detailed scan report.

how strong is ur definition of strong kicks?

right now, i can feel it quite obviously when bb kicks. but not to the extend tt it's painful or shocking type. and when i look at my stomach i dun really see it moving or bulging like what ilovebabies said. i think im still early for tt.

hey angie

heard Baby Hypermart is having 20% sales for Prams but not too sure until when. I will update you next Mon as I will be going bb hypermart, bb kingdom and Expo MotherHood Fair this Saturday, OK ??

angeline,
baby's hypermart and kingdom are like literally in the same row of shops. it's in shun li industrial building in kaki bukit. think you can find the address in this thread. AA membership refers to Automobile Association (of Singapore). www.aas.com.sg.

edksd,
kick strongly for me means it's so strong that you know it's asking for attention and my tummy moves when it kicks. so cute. mine is posterior and slightly lower. maybe just wait a bit lah. i'm sure you'll get there soon.

daisybuttons,
oops sorry for the confusion. it's not spoilt. it's just that when you listen to your tummy at early stages you will hear a lot of tummy activities and what i'm looking for is the heartbeat. i tried looking for it every month and only yesterday, i managed to listen to the heartbeat clearly and strongly. sometimes i put that thing on my chest just to compare my heartbeat vs baby's. it's almost the same except that baby's heartbeat is a lot faster.

Went shopping at Taka on Friday night and finally bought the Avent ISIS breast pump at S$279 (comes with thermal bag and 5 VIA breast milk storage cups). Also bought cloth diapers, avent milk bottles, disposable wipes, nappy liner, pigeon detergent powder, clothes etc... Spent close to S$420...

As for the car seat, my husband's friend will be passing him the isofix child seat, so won't be getting one..

I have just called up one of the outlets of Kiddy Palace and the salesgirl told me their sales ending June, 18.

Well, that gives me more time to plan my buying list. Coz i am planning to get a mattress for the baby cot from there.. and the bumper from Kiddy Palace as well.

little pony.. i bot my mattress from KP recently during the sale.. but no further discount alr.. cos they put offer price on the mattresses...

baby hyperstore is selling a baby car seat, for infant to 4 yrs at 139. Brand is safety fits.. anyone bot that? am considering lehz.. cos looks quite ok.. but dunno if its safe enough.... any comments?

Emma,
Really? I was planning to buy the mattress from KP but they didn't indicate offer price on the mattress. Aiyah. I will go check it out! Thanks for letting me know.
I have actually use my DBS card points to redeem $20 Kiddy palace voucher and my husband is going to redeem vouchers from KP as well.
With the vouchers, we will go KP to do our shopping.

Emma,
Yap. I also recalled reading from a thread somewhere that hyperstore selling baby car seat for that price. Therefore, i am very keen to find out who bought that? Coz thinking of getting something similar as well.
I saw one from mothercare the other day and it costs $300 plus.
I am still comparing prices, quality and brand for car seats.

hey little pony, when u redeem vouchers from such places, be sure to read the small print at ur credit card merchant's webby. for UOB points, KP vouchers cannot be used in conjunction with promotion or other offers leh. so i din wanna change for that. u better check first to be sure. i find best is isetan, taka, tangs coz they treat it as cash voucher. even aussino one also not to be used with promotional items.

hi daisybuttons,
yap. I read the little small prints and yes, KP vouchers c/n use in conjunction with promotions. So the other day, we went to KP to look see and did see some items that we want but not under promotion. So hopefully, we can use the vouchers.

in case anyone need to buy Avent parts, you can call them at 63919191. They are located at Gateway East #32-08. You can walk in to purchase their products.

I need to buy the tunnel as this pump is pass down by Sis and it is a bit old already.

daisybuttons

are u the one who asked me abt the symtomps of incompetent cervix ? remember I told u all abt this friend of mine who got an MC from now till delivery ? According to her gynae, the ultrasound scan shows that her cervix is abit soft (guess it shld be firm at all times ?) and that's why her gynae suspect her cervix may not be strong enough. This is her 2nd child, and she did had a false labour with 2cm dilation, with her 1st child on the 33rd week if I am not wrong. So probably her cervix is already weak when she is having her 1st bb but the gynae did not detect it.

ilovebabies,
i bought the changing mat already. The ones that i am looking for loh... Old fashion kind.. pink on one side, blue on the other. By Pigeon brand.
But ya loh, rollable but not foldable.

My hubby suggests that i put a string across the mat and then carry the mat on my back. haaa! Will still go buy the foldable mat.

littlepony

ur hubby is so funny. I will get that one also, but more for anti slip bath mat. Those from PUREEN cant serve this purpose I think... right ?

hi puppylove

i bought it at $299 before 15% + 5% discount. So it will be $241.

Yes the link u gave me is the one I bought. I prefer double pump to save time, and in case both engorged at the same time ? ahah sorry no experience in this.

with this, you can choose to pump both sides at the same time or use only one pump at a time.

I think the difference btw mini electric PLUS and mini electric is the double pump right ??

ilovebabies,
You looking for an anti slip bath mat for the baby's babytub isn't it?

I haven't seen the changing mat from Pureen yet.

littlepony

yes. the pink and blue one is proven by our mothers. v good as anti slip mat.

The pureen one is purely a changing mat to me.

ilovebabies,
thanks for info! yup, looks like the diff is the double pump. The Single Deluxe I was referring to shld be the Mini Electric. Agree that dual will save more time, esp. if u're expressing during office hours... Now wondering if i shld get the PLUS and sell off the Single one... hmm...

puppylove

u r welcome !
if u have the pump now, probably u can start selling it now before u deliver. if not you may need it almost immediately after u deliver ur bb.

ilovebabies,
Haaaaaaaa! Thanks leh! If i get to wake up early on Sat morning, i will go watch it.
You know, I am so tempted to get Little Pony toys... for myself, of coz!!
btw, you may think i am childish.. but i used to collect Barbie dolls!!!!!

i am lucky to be carrying a son.. coz i know he won't fight with me my toys! haaa!

Yes, i like to introduce proper toys and books to our children!!! I really do hope to spare some time reading to them everyday!

yes agreee ! it is better than playing computer or watching TV, i mean it could be too early for them and then affecting their eyesight.

hmm... heard fr a colleague that Medela Mini Electric Plus can lose its power after long-term use. She had to get another one when she had her 2nd child. In that case, does it makes sense to invest in a Medela PIS Advanced ($600+??), which is not that much more ex than getting two Mini Electric Plus??? Tatz assuming PIS lasts 2 or more kids... Any comments?
Me still trying to decide which to get... Thanks!