(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Thanks ilovebabies for your kind tots. So sweet of you.

Puppylove, you going tomorrow right.. if you going, could you let me know if it's worth going down.. then, i could plan.

littlepony,
yup, shld be going tomorrow. Sure, will let u know how it goes. Are you looking at any item in particular? Then at least I can check out the offers there.

ilovebabies, I went to motherhood fair le. Nothing much leh....Mother & Baby fair has got more stuff to see.

hi all..
i went down motherhood fair yesterday too...
nothing much to see... so disappointed cos thought can get pram there but only saw 1 type..

Thanks for the update about Motherhood fair! Was wondering about whether I should go down.... but since nothing much, then I will save the trip and the hassle...

Hi puppylove,

Glad to know you are fine! Be careful okie? I dread going down the stairs (especially if the escalator is not working) myself. With tummy getting bigger, have problems seeing the steps in front of me...

Hi Melissa,

I intend to stop at 1 myself. My mom is looking after my kid for me, and to have 2 will be quite a strain on her, and we are not comfortable with hiring a maid due to all the maid problems involved. So 1 is enough.

I was an only child for 8 years, before my sis came. It could be lonely, but it is fine once school starts. I complained of loneliness as a kid, which was why my mom had my sis eventually. However, by that time, the age gap was so wide that we do not communicate at the same intellectual level anymore (ie when I was in primary school, she was only a toddler). By the time she reached primary school, I was moving on to JC days already. I had my own group of friends to communicate with, and so did she.

My take is that if want more than 1, better do it fast. Otherwise, there really is no difference.

helo puppylove and elaine, i am going for the tmc parentcraft too.
starting 10 June, mine is late afternoon class. anyone same? if not, will meet u girls at the talk.

puppylove, gave me a scare when i read ur posting. pls be careful. so happy that u are okie. thnk all of us are so clumsy nowadays. i nearly slipped many times too. think i better go and get some antislip soles from bata as well. but like u said not much use issit?

peachie, i am an only child. though somehow my childhood wasn't boring and i was quite happy growing up alone and have the utmost affections and attention from my parents, when i grew up and become teenager, i do sometimes wish i have a sibling to talk to when i have something on my mind. friends are great, but nothing beats say having a brother to cry to, or a sister to have late night chats with. i have friends who do that. so thats also why, i intend to have at leaast 2 kids. hehehe. but i agree with u, the age gap has to be close.

Your insight about having a sibling is very new to me. I will definitely keep that in mind. I also agree that to have another, make sure the age gap is not too wide. But sometimes we can only keep trying and ultimately if we're meant to get a 2nd baby in a short time, we will get it. I think I'm going to rest for at least 6 months b4 i start trying again. B'cos for me, it takes a loooong time to conceive liao! Must have 2nd one before I reach 35.

Hey you pple kind of discourage me from going to the motherhood fair ley. I plan on going tonight if my hubby is not doing OT. But maybe can just go look look see see lah.

puppylove,
i am looking in particular car seat... but since feedback of the fair seems rather negative, I think i will just go to Kaki Bukit for more selection. Anyway, thanks for your help!! Cheers!

hi chng's wife ...

tks for the update. btw when is the Mother and Baby fair ? never heard of that ??

aiyo nothing much to see ah .. nvm I will still go cos it is near my place, I stay in SK. and I will be going bb kingdom and hypermart at Bedok also .. so it's all in the East.

hi peachie

u r right .. if gap is too big, there's no pt trying for the 2nd one .. that's why I hope my 2nd one can be at least 1 year younger than my 1st. Will be tough on us but I think they will enjoy each other's company.

hi littlepony...
if u r looking for car seat then dont need to go to e fair la... cos i nv see any there....

daisybutton,
mine also start from 10june(sat) nite class from 7pm. but since urs is late afternoon then i thk urs is 1 class b4 me rite??

anybody still going for e fair?? can help me check e price of a winnie e pooh mat if u got see it. can fold until smaller then carry for picnic. i didnt ask e price yesterday.

I just finished my antenatal classes at SGH. Topics covered were very comprehensive ranging from breastfeeding, psychological preparation for pregnancy, preparation for delivery, parentcraft, how to cope with pre-natal and post-natal blues, different methods on pain relief, relaxation techniques and when/how to push during labour etc... The classes were conducted by a qualified mid wife / lactation consultation and physiotherapist.

helo elaine, yep mine is one class before u hehehe. may bump into you on the way out!

i am going for the fair this afternoon. if i see it i will help you check.

hi emoments....
if i'm not wrong e thermometer is $79... sorry i forgot e exact price... forgetful mama....
it comes with a free gift(animals figuring). it works 2ways... measuring from one tempor to another or insert into e ear. my sis recommend me to buy tat's y i bought this. but i got see other brand of thermometer there too..

Haven't been online for a long time (busy at work) and got a shock when I logged on today... so much has been going on!

Puppylove, wah, be careful! I think we all must. I'm a natural klutz, so I'm especially worried when I walk up and down stairs... dunno how many times I've fallen before :p

I'm going for TMC's ParentCraft classes too
Mine starts next Fri - 9 June. I'll see u there, puppylove and elaine!! Good to have friends there

I see u are all talking about the Motherhood Fair? I didn't know about it. Where is it and how much is it?

I wish I could "chat" more... but have a meeting in 2 mins!

joon,
ya... me still a bit phobic abt falling after y'day's incident. Quickly went to buy a pair of shoes fr Marton Bell - got 20% disc w Citibank card, so worth the price. Wearing it now!

only both of us attending the 9 June class. Elaine is Sat evening. So we'll meet each other there!! heheh..

For those who've been to Motherhd Fair, do u know the price of Medela PIS Advanced? I'm planning to get it, but so far, the cheapest I can find is $669 from TheFirstFewYears.

Hi puppylove, yup! I'll see u there next Fri
My name is, er, june. (duh) :p

Since u mentioned the medela PIS, puppylove, i just want to ask everyone here ...

Is it okay to use 2nd-hand breast pumps? (hygiene-wise)

hi elaine... tks for the info !

hi joon

if u trust the first person, I guess it is ok. My friend also bought 2nd hand pump. If u r afraid, then u shld get the parts esp the funnel.

hi elaine, i didn't see the winnie the pooh mat when i go there yesterday leh. forgot to ask you which store was it. paiseh can't help.

puppylove, i din check medela leh. yes u can get it at $669 at FFY but pls note for that price its with the US power plug one. meaning to use it in singapore u need to have the adaptor, which they are giving you free lah. just a note.
the one with singapore std is $699 if i not wrong. but i heard hor, if u get it during say metro or isetan sale or what, u can get it close to $600 with 20% discount. thnk need to catch the timing.

joon, 2nd hand pumps shld be alright as long as you know the person hasn't been using it for beri beri long i guess. and u must be prepared for quicker wear and tear too. u shld replace the parts like funnels like what ilovebabies said.

i bought 2 mums in mind sarong sling at the fair yesterday.
quite pleased with it. intended to buy sarong sling from MIM anyway, and knwo they have a booth there so go see, turns out their prices also cheaper than their webby. so bot 2.

daisybuttons

Is it good to use the sarong slings ? I feel that bb is lying in a awkward position ?

btw why is CADI brand thermometer good ? I see a lot of mothers use brand like BRAUN.

Helo ilovebabies, u dun have to let baby lie down, baby can be wake and sitting in front of you but wrapped snugly. i like it coz it give you handfree control when you doing your work, and can use till baby heavier. the way baby wrapped is like in the womb, snug and secure, many babies sleep well in the sling.

ilovebabies, u just have to be careful esp when baby awake. but if u know the right method to wrap baby it shld be okie. the balance is there, sarong slings is such a traditional way of carrying baby. pregnant mothers in the rice fields sling their kids on sarongs while they bend up and down for so many decades. i guess u need to learn the safe method of securing ur child. the girl did mention that some ppl she see outside did it the wrong way. in the sling, it comes with demo cd also hehehe.

daisybuttons

wow comes with a CD! that's good ... ya I am just afraid I do it the wrong way and hurt my child instead. Don't want to compromise the bb's safety with my convenience lor ... anyway tks for ur info

hi ilovebabies,
this CADI brand can use 2 ways, 1 is e normal way by putting into e ear n measure but this way baby might wake up if he/she is sleeping. e other way is to touch from 1 tempo to another which baby will not be disturb n wake up during temperature taking. Anyway e salesgirl told me can also take from behind e ear.
I'm not sure whether BRAUN theromemeter can have various type of measurement or only can put into ears to measure.

oh.... my sister also mention they will offer to change batteries free for us if we bring e thermometer to their booth during motherhood fair every yr

hi elaine

tks... what do u mean touch from 1 tempo to another ? I think BRAUN only has one method of measurement, by putting into ears.

daisybuttons,
thanks for info on medela!
hmm.. didn't know the $669 refers to US model.. any idea if warranty is local then? sure, will check out metro/isetan! hope they've some GSS offers.

i haven't been to Motherhood Fair yet. Read fr the thread i posted here earlier that Medela is going for $699, same as FFY, so no point... I'll be at Expo on Sun anyway, so will pop by juz to take a look.

hi puppylove, think warranty not affected.its just the power voltage/current only.

ilovebabies, i need to clarify. I am not one who will compromise my precious baby's safety with my inconvenience too. no mother will do that. perhaps my first sentence earlier implies that i bought it coz of my convenience. but in actual fact i bought it coz its a traditional device and many mother swear by it. it helps baby sleep better snugly outside, allows u to bring baby anywhere you go even if u dun bring stroller, and keeps baby close to your warm body which a stroller cannot do. that lets baby listen to ur heartbeat which he is so familar with. so many reasons. just like many other baby things, i think its a matter of preference lah. what appeals to me may not appeal to my friend and vice versa. i just need to post this coz i love my baby too much to be able to compromise his safety. no offence meant.

daisybuttons

dont worry lah ... I know what u meant. I have friends who use it too .. but I just cant figure out how to use it correctly, so quite skeptical abt it ....

hi ilovebabies,,
tat mean u got to press n hold e button on e thermometer n touch on 1 side of baby forehead n drag all e way to e other side of e forehead then u release e button.

Hi hi gals...

Quite a while din come in liao...how's all the mummies doing?

Wah...seems like most of u have gotten quite a lot of bb stuffs ready for your bundle liao...me very slow
i haven't gotten a single thing as yet...really gotto buck up, else by 3rd tri, too heavy to walk abt liao

hi bena

welcome back .. ya need to start buying now and to enjoy the discount of GSS !

so how's ur bb doing ? how many weeks are u now ? I am in 26th week ..

ilovebabies...me 24th week only
bb doing fine...been pretty active lately

Yah lor...must bug hubby to go shopping for bb stuffs liao...but as i can't walk too much, so shopping is going to be tough for me...reckon i'll make short, but many trips to get all the necessary stuffs