(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

littlepony

think I will buy 3 ! one for my hse, one for outdoor and one for my mum.

eh what is so special abt this allerhand bag ah ? pls enlighten .. tks !

Dear Melissa,

Thanks for the info on c-section. It is very helpful!

Sorry to ask this, but I really quite suaku.... How to carry the changing mat around when you are out? Got to find a flat surface to lay the mat right? Can change in the stroller or not? A diaper bag is used to contain diapers only right? Cos I saw many other kinds of bags - cooler bags, milk bottles insulating bags etc... So not sure as to how many bags are required. Paiseh for asking so many qns... Thanks!

Think you can change your baby's diapers anyway you want it lah. It's just that baby's are best changed on a flat surface and the changing mat is a convenient way to change baby. U can just lay the mat anyway u want even on grass liao. Or even on car boot hehe.

puppylove,
30cm is the size of the long ruler. If baby is too big its legs will simply fold up lor. Their legs are very flexible one.

puppylove

i think the length is ok leh ... average bb is abt 50cm at birth right ? so they have 20cm to catch up which is a lot !

btw i think my bb a bit overweight according to table .. haah fat gal

ya u need to find a place to change. Some shopping malls does offers baby changing corners right ? so we can place the changing mat there ...

when the bb is bigger, we can switch to diapers pants when we go out for ease of change.

aiyo so many types of bags ? no need lah ... one big bag shld be enuff right ?

melissa, ilovebabies,
yup, bb will curl up inside you, so u dun actually see the 30cm. But still can't imagine my bb being almost this big already!

If you gals are looking for diaper bags or bags that can fill your baby's stuff when you bring her/him out... Samsonite has a juvenile product series.. it carries bags of different ranges.

My favourite is a diaper bag with a conveniently attached fold out changing pad so you can change your baby's diapers wherever you r. However, I haven't seen this available locally.

pupplove

oic ! ya i was thinking that we mummies are very great... imagine we "build" a baby inside us ... wow ... we built all the organs leh !

helo littlepony, thanks for the webby. hhmmm the bags looks interesting hor? but i still looking for those with light pastel colours. yah loh our EDD so near, hehee neared to the date we can share our sympthoms and emotions liaoz.

ilovebabies and peachie, i think quite a few types of changing mats. portable ones like what ilovebabies buy from pureen are meant to fold and be compact. intend to use it for outdoors, bring in my bag, and if baby need a nappy change, just take it out for a clean surface to work on.
shopping centres sometimes have changing stations but u dun know if the mat is clean mah, so using our own is better in a way. i also intend to buy those bigger ones that are not foldable, to put at home.
diaper bags are those bags that comes with sometimes changing mat inside, pockets for milk bottles, pouches for small stuff, spacious for u to put all baby stuff etc.

yah hor, i also find it's a little miracle inside us. from the time i am preggie, been reading about how baby grow, how our bodies change to accomodate growing baby, how all the organs grow and form within first 3 mths, and i can't help marvelling at how amazing mother nature is...

daisybuttons,
Yap..as we get bigger and nearer to our dates, we can share tips n notes.. :p

I find it amazing to have a little one inside me. Especially when i first feel him move, I was so touched. And when i first see him.. i was close to tears.. and every visit to the gynae brings worry.. but once gynae check and say everything okie, it's like a motivation to move on and eat healthy.

That kind of feeling can't describe.. and most of all, i appreciate my mother and my mother in law even more.

Hey puppylove,
Sometimes, i go alone .. if appt falls on Sat, then hubby goes along. Or mil, sil will also come along too..

Why leh? I do enjoy times when i go alone.. reason being, gynae and nurse tend to talk more to me when they see me alone. hee! then i can ask more questions mah.

ya some colleagues of mine actually visit gynae alone. Their hubbies tagged along only on critical chkups like Triple Test and detailed scan.

Eversince I found out this pregnancy is viable, my hubby went to my every appointments. Before this, I went alone b'cos I don't want him to suffer seeing a dead fetus inside my womb. I suffer alone enough.

Yeah I am amazed at this creation of God inside me lor. Imagine from hubby's little tadpole and my egg fused to become what it is today. The feeling is a lot more than just sayang liao. Like I can die for this being inside me. That's why i'm very angry at news of unwed mothers dumping their little infact somewhere! Very furious!

most of the time, i have my appts on Sat so hubby can go with me.

But if i decide to have a break from work.. and i go for my checkup during weekdays, I will go alone or have a close colleague (who took leave on the same day as me) to accompany me to the checkup and after that, it's tai tai time...(sipping tea and eating cake at cafe, shopping, mani or pedi)

littlepony,
isn't saturday always crowded? aiyah why last time i never tot about bringing a kaki along and hang out in cafes huh? sounds like a great idea!

Melissa,
My gynae plc is always crowded no matter which day leh. So doesn't make too much difference if it's on a Saturday. The usual waiting time is 1.5-2 hours.

Try that..bring a kaki and then after gynae appt in the morning, hit the streets or sit somewhere cosy and people watch. Sometimes, doing nothing can be a great enjoyment!

littlepony

good life ya !! it is so good to have such kaki who can afford to take leave on the same day !

ya for my case, i prefer weekdays cos the q wont be as long. and I can take the opportunity to take a break in betw workdays.

Me trying to save up on my annual leave so i can 'extend' my maternity leave till year-end!
But ya, agree that a break now and then can do wonders to relieve work stress!

ilovebabies,
i want to enjoy Christmas with bb leh! Her 1st Christmas!
Can't imagine coming back to work during this festive period. Moreover it's peak period in office, so it'll be crazy to return to work! haha..

Haa. I really appreciate my colleague who is very kind to take the same day off and we go jalan jalan. It's nicer than bringing my husband.. oops! :p

But of coz, bring husband can give support and share the joy of seeing baby on tv while gynae doing the scan.

puppylove

true ah ... ya year end.. no mood to work .. and lotsa celebration in ofc leh .. so a lot of good food to munch on too !

littlepony

ya hubby helps to remind me of the qn I want to ask gynae .. and yes he loves to see the baby also. gynae even suggest that he bring a video cam to record the baby's movements on the screen as we cant possible capture the baby's pictures now that they are so big .... 30 cm right ? hehe

I am also keeping my annual leaves. I just want to spend more time with baby. For me, it's non peak period in the office during end of the year.. so i guess it will be fine for me if i MIA for a couple of months. Even that, I could use my leaves for next year's Chinese New year..

daisybuttons,
the website of allerhand is as provided by little pony
but to look at the bags personally, check them put at mothercare or motherswork.

ilovebabies,
i find that the allerhand bag very functional considering i can fit the stuff of my 3 kids in there & there'll still be lots of space! plus it also has like a 'luggage bag function' where you can zip & it'll expand space inside the bag if you need it. its also quite light. the bottle holder in the bag also has therml function so keeps milk hot for about 3hrs! i bought it cuz i needed a diaper bad big enough to fit all my kids' stuff when i was travelling overseas last yr, def didnt disappoint me
plus they hv gd cust svc too.

as for diaper bags, guess depends on individual. i noe of some ppl who juz buy normal backpack etc and call it a diaper bag. while others rather spend on design, function & quality

Morning ladies.

Do you intend to engage a master to come up with the chinese name for your child? Anyone knows any good master? I saw on Channel U last Tuesday there's a master, anyone know who that is?

Am going for a meeting after this post, may reply late. "See" you later!

Smiley

I intend to ... i know of this guy who do Fengshui and he knows abt Chinese names as well ... so I'll get him to choose one for my gal .. though I oredi have a few in mind.

btw be reminded that the motherhood fair starts on 30 May ....

btw anyone getting ur baby's footprints done and frame up ?

well, personally I wont do it .. cos it is quite expensive. rather take photos myself, more economical ...hehe

ilovebabies, I am also looking for a master
But don't know how to go about looking for a good one.

I am thinking of doing the footprints too.. But also don't know where to do it. I have seen people doing wax one, but I think the baby very pitiful leh.. wax is hot and painful..

smiley

I think most of the hospitals provide the footprints thingy. Better than the wax one I think .. ya the wax one sounds so torturing.. think not advisable for newborns.

as for the master, there are a few quite popular ones right ? Heard of YOU LONG ZI ? he is quite ex but I heard he wont attend to you personally unless u pay a high price or regular customer ??

heard his staff will calculate the SHEN CHEN BA ZI and come up with a name, using a computer !!

and my auntie told me a few of her friends went to his shop and 3 friends got the same name from him. ahhaha ....

not sure how true it is lah, but that's what I heard.

ilovebabies, I also heard that he will just generate a list from the computer and let you choose. My hubby doesn't like the idea of that. He thinks the one on TV (Channel U) seems better. At least he explains the strokes and what they mean when they add up etc etc... SO we are trying to see if there are other master other than You Long Zhi. I heard his fees is $100 for a name! Do you know what's the market rate?

Smiley

ya ya I heard his price is $100 per name, correct. Err but I am not sure of the mkt rate though....

emoments

I can get into the site but super slow.. and encountered timeout on certain URLs. Nonetheless I will go to the fair next weekend.

Thanks for the information on the changing mat and the diaper bags!

Smiley, I saw a footprints shop at KKH. Also, there are DIY kits using non-toxic clay on sale at Robinsons Raffles City (saw it there 2 months ago). They range from $22 to $30. Comes with a frame or a box.

Not getting a master to come up with names. My mom is getting this chinese book from Popular Bras Brasah which is supposed to calculate the number of strokes and match it to the shen chen ba zi. So she will think of names that match the number of strokes herself... Pretty DIY, but much cheaper.

helo helo we also intend to get a master to calculate names leh. but after hearing about you long zi, having 2nd tots about him. smiley, if u find out whats the one from channel U, can tell me? thanks.

hehehe so the motherhood fair starts on 30 or 31 may huh?

I don't intend to get a master to calculate names leh. Oh, like peachie, i have found book from Popular Bras Brasah (peachie, donno if we are eyeing on the same book or not ..haa)...and we get our inspiration from there.

GSS Midnight Shopping (for us who can still go shop....)

26 May (Fri) - Wisma (till 12am), Centrepoint & Plaza Singapura (till 11pm)
27 May (Sat) - Wisma & Tangs (till 12am), Centrepoint & Plaza Singapura (till 11pm)
2 June (Fri) - Wisma and Raffles City Shopping Center (till 12am)
3 June (Sat) - Wisma & Marina Square (till 12am), DFS (till 11pm)
9 June (Fri) - DFS & Millenia Walk (till 11pm), Bugis Junction (till 12am)
10 June (Sat) - Citylink Mall (till 12am), Suntec City (till 1am)
16 June (Fri) - Bugis Street (till 12am)
17 June (Sat) - Bugis Street (till 12am)
24 June (Sat) - Tangs (till 12am)

tks littlepony !

I got two books from sis also on Chinese naming. But I dun find it helpful at all ... think the one you all mentioned with strokes calculation is better.

thanks peachie.. maybe I can get that.. Should we go the footprints for the newborn or when the baby is full month or older? :p

daisybutton, i went to the channel U website just now but couldn't find any information on the master leh..

Peachie and littlepony, what's the name of the chinese book? Can u show the book cover?? Heehee...