(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi Littlepony,

I agree it is pretty difficult to sleep sometimes.... Now that lunch time is near, baby is kicking again. Think I have a pretty greedy baby.

helo littepony, i bought the pregnancy pillow in First Few Yrs, the branch at KKH. but the one at paragon also have. i bought the $26.90 one. they have others at $60++ and another at $100+ i think. the one i got is wedge shaped, blue pillow. put under ur belly to support the bump. it does help a bit in the backache.

peachie, nope, i will not put c-sec as the solution to all these lah. think its up to individual. i am of the belief that our body is meant to birth our babies naturally. a c-sec is violating the body's natural inbuild ability somehow. though u avoid certain risks, there are many other risks and pains that u have to endure later. and those "horror stories" u hear, try to think of it as just the exception and not the norm. usually when its the normal usual births u dun hear details of it right?

Dear Peachie,

I am opting for C-section. Mainly due to fibriod and my fear of labour pain. C-section is very popular in HK. I think its b'cos you have more control of what is happening. What pro and cons did your doctor share with you?

Hi Fiona,
dun worry it's normal..I get these nose bleeds too..

fiona,
i'm the one with the nose bleed. had it twice in this pregnancy. first time a bit runny like yours, second time, wah make me panic b'cos it bleeds for 20 mins. both cases i'm fine. even went to the doctor to check. it's b'cos of the increased amount of blood we're producing. and if you have to sneeze, let it all out and don't hold it. your little blood vessel can get irritated and burst if you hold it.

wow your stories are scary but i believe those are isolated cases. a colleague of mine haemorraged while delivery and her bills came out to be 20K. lagi jialat. i'm with my natural-birthing-w/o-epidural kaki daisybuttons on that issue.. hehehe..

Hi Daisybuttons and Angeline,

Thanks for the sharing.

Basically, my gynea shared the risks that comes with a c-section birth:

1) Risk of infection (esp to uterus and bladder, but this is pretty rare)

2) Risk of adhesions (this happens when the wound is healing. Adhesions are scar tissue that form inside the abdomen or pelvis after surgery. This scar tissue connects organs together, causing them to stick to one another. This can be painful and have adverse effects on subsequent pregnancies)

3) Longer recovery period.

And he shared that the possible complications and risks may have an adverse impact on my ability to have a large family (which is not an issue since one child is enough).

However, he did state that birth by c-section may reduce the risk of urinary incontinence later in life. The benefits of c-section usually arise when there are risks to the baby (such as breech position, high blood pressure or serious diabetes for the mom, placenta previa etc which makes it preferable or even necessary to have a c-section). Anyway, he said it is still early, I can think about it... One good thing is that he leaves it entirely up to me to decide the delivery method, unlike some other gyneas which my friends have who entirely oppose an elective c-section.

I admit that the fear of labour pain and complications during labour have started me thinking about giving birth thru c-section seriously, and my mom has given birth to me and my sis through c-section more than 20 years ago without any complications. However, the interesting part is that for those friends of mine who have a traumatising labour (ie 20 hours and more), all of them said that they will opt for natural delivery for their subsequent pregnancies.

So really dunno... Sigh....

hi Peachie,
i agree with Melissa n daisybuttons.. i think it's up to individual and own body health.

But it's best to go for natural birth. One thing about c-section is that the wound get healed slower than natural birth. And you have to rest even more if you go for c-section , which also means you can't carry your baby too much etc. and alot of resting.

I am also with natural birth.

helo peachie, i guess it depends on individual health. for cases like fibroids which angeline cited, and placenta previa, breech (even this some ppl also birth natural but rare) etc, i think c-sec will have to be the best choice. but think for some of us like my kaki melissa and littlepony, we prefer letting our body do what its meant to do. the fact that those friends whom birth naturally still wanna do it naturally for next child seems to say alot about how precious the childbirth experience is

fiona,
i'm the one with the nose bleed. had it twice in this pregnancy. first time a bit runny like yours, second time, wah make me panic b'cos it bleeds for 20 mins. both cases i'm fine. even went to the doctor to check. it's b'cos of the increased amount of blood we're producing. and if you have to sneeze, let it all out and don't hold it. your little blood vessel can get irritated and burst if you hold it.

wow your stories are scary but i believe those are isolated cases. a colleague of mine haemorraged while delivery and her bills came out to be 20K. lagi jialat. i'm with my natural-birthing-w/o-epidural kaki daisybuttons on that issue.. hehehe..

oh just to add. there are also friends of mine who went through c-sec but hoping for a vbac (vaginal birth after ceasarean) for next child because they prefer natural birth. hehehee.

another reason why i prefer natural (unless medically necessary *TOUCH WOOD*), is coz i prefer to bond with my baby the moment he comes into the world. c-sec wun allow me to do that, unless its elective epidural, but since i am pro-drugs free birth, that choice is also out. hehehe.

just do what your heart wants to do. but firstly, read up on the 2 types of birth in books or internet, and see if it can help u make decision. good luck!

Hi Peachie, I agree with what Melissa says. The horror stories you heard could be isolated cases... Most of my colleagues opted for natural birth and they are ok... For me, I'll still stick to natural birth w/o epidural...

Hi daisybuttons, littlepony and melissa,

Think you guys are really brave!
Plus no epidural some more... I think I would have died from the pain.

Just attended the antenatal class at KKH last weekend. The nurse demonstrated the procedure for administering epidural. Wah biang.... many many steps and the needle for insertion into the spine (or rather epidural space) is really long and thick, to allow the tubing to pass through. Really pei fu all women who went through the labour process. Plus those mums to be under subsidised delivery at KKH may have the procedure performed by one of those training house-men. The whole class was staring in disbelief... Imagine being a guinea pig... and what if the house-men were doing it for the first time.... subsidised heathcare comes at a price.

fiona,

Join us at Mothercare to participate in the 2006 Great Singapore Sale starting on Wednesday 24th May 2006.

The following discounts are offered to you:

30% on early Spring/Summer 2006 Mothercare fashions, ie. the white-tagged fashion items.
50% on Autumn/Winter 2005 Mothercare kid/baby fashions.
up to 70% on Autumn/winter 2005 Mothercare maternity fashions.
And much more savings.
Don't miss out on this event whilst stock last.

thanks littlepony.

may i ask hor, who is the one who bought the pureen changing mat? how do you find it? i thinking of buying a portable changing mat to bring out with baby one, so tot of pureen coz i saw it, it can fold very compact. but wondering if got smell like i rem smiley said?

hi 77

i am with the gals, opting for natural birth. To me, I want to experience at least one birth naturally. My friend quoted to me "it was such a warmth and undescribable feeling when the baby pass through your vaginal" hahaha that really spurs me on man !

guess it is good to treat those cases as isolated ones ... it may not happen to us ! be positive !

btw visited my gynae today ... hai I gained 3kg !!! was advised by my gynae to cut down on sinful stuff ... must be the durians !! and I just got 2 boxes from my dad today ....

Baby's weight is 704g, the last visit which is 5 weeks ago during detailed scan, she weighed 309g.
Gynae says bb is growing well.

i asked gynae abt incompetent cervix. he says it usually affect women with operation history. and the symptoms is using slight bleeding. FYI gals.

Hi ilovebabies,

Wow, your baby gained more than twice the weight in 5 weeks! Impressed! =) How many weeks pregnant are you? I think the weight gain is fine. I went to kaypoh the July thread some time ago. Evidently, those babies at 30 weeks but still below 1kg are considered small, and mothers are advised to eat more protein. So it's good that your baby is growing well...

Think I will have a natural delivery using epidural... See first. This also depends on how well baby cooperates.
I was tested with higher blood glucose level the last time. Given my dad has diabetes, my gynea advised that I do a detailed test for gestational diabetes in my 3rd trimester. Looks like I have to cut down on sinful stuffs as well.

By the way, what is an incompetent cervix???

ilovebabies, wah, your baby grows fast! I wonder what's my baby's weight now..

My friend opted for natural birth with epidural and after she had the epidural, she felt numb and didn't know which part of her to focus to push the baby out. The doctor kept telling her she's exerting strength on the wrong place - she's actually exerting pressure on her neck! In the end the delivery took quite a while..

Another friend of mine shook badly after she had the epidural. The whole bed was shaking and her teeth were chattering after she had the epidural.

I had an epidural injection before but not becos of pregnancy. I had an operation on my leg and they decided to give me epidural (which was such a silly mistake).

In the end, i had side effects. I throw up and felt giddy after the operation. And the moment i try to stand up, i couldn't see properly. I had to be in bed for days! And I had bad backache ever since for years... and only recently, i felt better.

So i am not sure how could i go thru epidural again. But will see how it goes. I must say i had a bad experience (worst of all, not from pregnancy but just an operation on my leg)

ya ilovebabies,
Your baby has put on weight! i mean, it's good news isn't it? So i guess this provens that durian does the work! haaa!
Ya, how many weeks are you in now? I am going for my gynae checkup this Saturday and i hope my baby is fine. I also tend to worry when i go for my checkup.

morning gals !

ohh scary stories abt epidural ah ? but I think if u ask the gynae they will tell u these are isolated cases ... guess they dont want to panic the mothers also

i am starting my week 25 now .. so gynae say the weight shows that it is in 24.5 weeks so it is accurate lor ...

I tot my baby is of normal size ? so I think by week 30 can hit 1kg bah ?

Incompetent cervix is when the cervix is too weak to hold the baby's weight. This may happen to ladies with twins or triplets as the babies are double the weight of a singleton and the cervix cannot hold the weight. In this case gynae may advised bedrest or to minimise walking and standing.

I just knew last nite that my friend whose due date is in Aug, was given MC from now all the way till delivery cos her cervix is weak. She is a teacher so she walks and stands a lot.

littlepony
yes I guess the durian does works ! but now I v scared of my weight gain leh ... I am 59 kg now at 1.61 metres tall.

ilovebabies,
Don't worry about weight gain! This is the moment that we can eat alot (well, at least for the sake of baby)... as long baby is healthy, i guess that's what we are concerned of.
Don't worry.. we will share losing weight stories once we give birth! haaa!

helo ilovebabies we are the same height!
hehehee. but my last weight checkup at 20 wks show my weight is 52.5kg, coz previously i underweight one. but baby weight is fine so i feel relieved.
glad to know ur baby growing well! i am so looking forward to my 24 week checkup next friday...

ilovebabies, ur friend who having mc now, did she have bleeding before the doc found out?

littlepony, tell me about it man. though my case not as serious (epidural) as you, 4 yrs back i had a minor op on my FINGER, and they give me GA. alamak.....after that i find it hilarious and upset, coz later i know how GA affects ur body and ur body need to expel the toxins. but before that the doc said need GA coz its a tendon operation and our fingers has a lot of nerves and i cannot take it if they use regional anesthesia. but what the ******.

oh littlepony, thanks for the FFY link. actually i came across the same bag yesterday online too. but the dimensions when kept is still 30cm long, too big for my bag leh hehehe.

peachie, just to add on to what ilovebabies said, incompetent cervix sometimes occurs when the cervix is not long enough. they can detect that during ultrasound, but usually will not check until there's sympthoms like bleeding or signs of preterm labour or when the mother carrying multiples i supposed.

Daisybuttons,
it seems we are almost in our same weeks of pregnancy. 24 weeks, by next week.

Well, sometimes, i wonder if the doctors make good judgements based on our health or based on $. A GA or epidural could cost more isn't it? But what about our health?

No problem on the link. I came across it as well. I am also looking for one too. Haa. buy another bag lah. Probably easy to get another bag than to find the mat which is less than 30 cm. haaa! just teasing!

hi daisybuttons

oh I din ask her abt the symptoms leh .. but ya I suspect bleeding lor since my gynae say this is the common symptom.

btw I am the one who bought the pureen changing mat. think can fold and bring out for use.

Hihi, long time nv come in, wah so many posts. Dunno where to add in my comments for all your previous posts. Haha... Anyway here is the latest update of the table.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>Preferred Birth method</TD><TD>Baby # </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amylim</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Bartley Rd</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Chng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>30-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Tan Lay Kok </TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jordan Chng </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras </TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>St. George's</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Jadienne</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elle</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Early Sept</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>E-ling</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boon Tiong Rd</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Amabel Loh</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charis</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>;) (ilovebabies) </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>SK</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Rachel</TD><TD>Natural birth WITH epidural </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>joon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>04-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Blastier</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lichristin</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>04-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Rykiel</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>elaine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>08-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Ubi</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>DaBee</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Marine Parade</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>elmo88</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KK Chow </TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>kelyen</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Ho KK</TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>chocolat (chocolat) </TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Mary Yang </TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Natural birth WITH epidural </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>14-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Batok</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Enzo</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Pony</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong CW </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Kim Tian</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Wayne</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chngs wife</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>mae</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Jurong</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>daisybuttons</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>77(peachie)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chris Chong </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Natural birth WITH epidural </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Resha (rani) </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen </TD><TD>Raffles Hospital </TD><TD>Telok Blangah </TD><TD>60% girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bena</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>20-Sep</TD><TD>Dr K.W.Lee </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Novena </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainnie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>21-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yew Tee</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>forgetmenot</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>21-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Tracey Lim </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Batok</TD><TD>90% girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pjen</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppylove</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smileys</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>80% girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>*sasha*</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>dr benjamin tham </TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>toa payoh </TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>VBAC </TD><TD>4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pig2</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>26-Sep</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Melissa (veryhappy) </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>27-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Brenda Low </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>edksd</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Merah View</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>None</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>watie</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD>Dr. H.Y. Wee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>bjiou (bjiou)</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chew </TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>emoments</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Teoh </TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Domesticgoddess</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>End Sep</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>HK</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>C-section with Epidural</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

helo littlepony aiyah no wonder we so close in weeks coz our EDD one day apart!!! hehehee.
yah loh, some docs are no good, maybe they just wanna earn more money so tot GA or epi no harm, sigh....

eh no leh, some diaper bags come with changing mat leh, but i have yet to find one such bag that i like and got stock! got anyone have lobang?? nice ones...

ilovebabies, how big is the mat after folding huh? i think i saw the same one at Seiyu selling at about the same price too.
pureen. but did it smell before you wash? i tot urs didn't right?

hehehe i slim ah? okie lah, underweight not good u know? :p so dun need to envy. last time no matter how much i eat i dun put on enough. but got fat thighs hahahaha! now ah, i lagi dun care, coz i want my baby to get as much nutrients as he can. i notice however that my weight gain is not on other parts of my body. the 5kg i put on so far seems to be concentrated on tummy, which i like since going to baby hehehe.

thanks eling for the updates!

Hey all,
Did you check out ChannelNewsAsia today. Interesting story about c-sect! You guys should read it.

Now I am not against c-sect 100% but I believe we should do it only when medically necessary and will save our lives as well as baby's. Food for thought.

Here's the scoop. Taken from: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/cna/cgi-bin/clickthru.cgi?url=http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/health/view/209854/1/.html

<font color="blue">
Caesarean births could harm mother and baby: study

PARIS - Rising use of caesarean delivery in developing countries is linked to a greater risk of death and sickness for mother and baby alike, according to a study by UN experts published on Monday.

Caesarean rates have risen from about five percent in developed countries in the early 1970s to more than 50 percent in some nations today.

In poorer countries, there has also been a big rise, although the picture is sketchy, particularly on the key question as to whether caesareans are beneficial.

Exploring this, a team led by Jose Villar of a UN- and World Bank-backed programme assessed the outcome of caesarean delivery in eight Latin American countries - Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay and Peru.

They randomly selected 120 public, private and social-security hospitals from 24 geographic regions where 97,000 babies were born, about a third of whom were delivered by caesarean.

The researchers found that in hospitals where there were higher rates of caesareans, there were correspondingly higher rates of pre-term babies, babies who died after birth, maternal death and use of antibiotics.

"High rates of caesarean delivery do not necessarily indicate good quality care or services," the paper, published online by the British journal The Lancet, says.

Caesarean delivery entails making an incision in the uterus to remove the baby, rather than delivering it through the vagina.

The operation is often recommended in cases when the shape and size of the pelvis makes a vaginal birth difficult; when there are multiple births; in cases of foetal distress; or if the mother is ill or has dangerously high blood pressure.

The study says the surge in the number of caesareans in Latin America has complex reasons, ranging from a country's legal system to family and social pressures and endorsement of caesareans by celebrity role models.

In addition to the heightened risk, lots of money is being wasted on unnecessary caesareans, the study suggests.

A rough estimate is that two million more children are being born in Latin America by caesarean these days, at an extra cost of around 350 dollars each when compared with vaginal delivery.

"These large sums of money (spent on unneeded caesareans) could be used to improve other areas of maternal and newborn care to pay for needed research," it says. - AFP

daisybutton,
the allerhand range of diaper bags comes wt changing mat. design quite nice but price bit steep. i hv the backpack. previously, used pierre cardin, also came wt changing mat &amp; much cheaper

hv nt logged in for a while &amp; losing track of the postings already!! as usual been busy esp since last w'end was my DD's 3rd b'day

hi daisybuttons

it does smell plastic but after wash it is ok. That's why need to take it out early to air it before baby use it.u can fold it to a square which can fits into our bags. Anyway mothers will be carrying slightly larger bags when we go out, so not a problem.

aiyah so envy u, all the fats goes to tummy is good. now my face is so round !

Melissa, tks for the info !

Eling, thks for the update !

btw what is a diaper bag ?

ilovebabies, don't worry... your bb is normal size... my bb's weight was around 700g when I went for checkup last week.. I think the weight will exceed beyond 1kg at week 30 as the bb grows very fast during this period...

Melissa, thks for sharing the article... I think local gynaes usually don't encourage c-section as there are more risks involved...

helo sasha, may i know is there a webby for allerhand or pierre cardin diaper bags?

ilovebabies, oh okie thanks.
will rem to wash it first then, if i buy that. thanks.

Hi Melissa,
Thanks for sharing that article with us. It's quite informative and of course, I could be reassured that my decision of having natural birth is still the best.

ilovebabies,
thanks! That's quite affordable for a changing mat. I will go have a look see... and of coz, wash it, air it, sun it .. before i let baby use it. Thanks!

ya in fact most of the brands i saw at kiddy palace, their prices are not steep. affordable lah.. so we can actually buy 2, one at home and one for outdoors.

Ilovebabies,
Do you recall those changing mats which are pink on one side and blue on another side. I was thinking of getting those becos i heard they are much more cooling. Those are quite old model already.. and I wonder if they still exist.
If i can't find, then i settle for those cartoon ones.

Littlepony

yes yes I remembered ! cos my mum used that ... those rubber types are much bigger and thicker than the PUREEN changing mat I mentioned. I saw it at the BESTWAY mall at Ang Mo Kio central but I did not take notice of the price.

But that type hard to fold leh .. ideally it shld be roll cos of it's thickness.

ilovebabies,
Yap. i suspect i may have to buy two. One portable and another to put at home. I am hoping to find that old kind and then, put it at home. And thru your recommendation, get the pureen one for outdoor loh.