(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi ilovebabies,
Yap, i will probably give a call and ask when the sales going to end then.

Oh, i think ' bai jin' can give but just don't attend. But it's up to you actually. It also depends on how close you r to this colleague of yours.. but if you r not comfortable with it, then don't give.

littlepony

oh like that ah .. but I think I better avoid all "bai shi". I know attending the wake is definitely a no-no. Rather be safe than sorry. Tks for the advice

Little Pony, then how about colleague's wife giving birth to a son and celebrating full month? Can I give a gift?

Ilovebabies.. I know what you mean.. baby sometimes kick like nobody's business, then sometimes quietly sleeping inside... haha..

Smiley,
yes. I think it's fine to give a gift as well. Shouldn't be a problem. If you want to attend, also can but just don't go touch or carry the baby.

recently realised my rings are getting a bit tight. so I stop wearing them now.

saw some gals in other threads, that their rings got so tight that they have to cut their rings at the jewellery shop.

oh gosh.. haa! i stopped wearing them months ago. I dunno what happen.. just feel irritated to have jewelleries on me when i preggy. I used to wear jewelleries to work, go crazy over earrings and necklace. Nowaday, i hardly put on makeup nor jewelleries. So damn ugly but i don't care! haaa!

haha littlepony, are u having a boy ? sorry can't rem .. tot they say if u r having a boy, you wont bother abt makeup and such.

as for me, life still goes on the same leh .. still so vain... hahaa ... cos I am having a gal

im having a boy. me wearing lesser makeup but still wear la. otherwise damn ugly. as for jewelleries, i normally wear my wedding ring and earrings only. but now i only wear earrings coz need to brighten up my face a bit mah. the ring, after giving birth then wear.

hey i can't fit my wedding ring too! i had to take it out and make it my pendant b'cos i'm still proud of my wedding ring. but my engagement ring still fits though so i put that on. i am having a girl and i still put on makeup whenever i go out.

tt time i asked my mother to guess the gender of my bb. she said boy. i asked her why. she said i became v ugly. alamak! i think those experienced ones, they really got their guess right leh. for me i dun find my face change just tt got pimples. maybe 3rd party can tell better.

oh gosh.. i think i am the ugly mum over here. haaa! u know, i even hate to wear my watch.. but i need it to tell time. so i wear it to work, take it out and put it on when it's time to go home.

how many maternity clothes do you all have? i mean, i see myself repeating my maternity clothes almost every week. haaa! i wanted to buy more but then, feel that it's really not a need then.

Geez... sounds scary to cut the ring!
I can still wear my ring leh? But after reading the posts, I think I better remove it before it gets too tight!

I heard people say if carry boy, the nose will get bigger? Anyone carrying boy has a bigger nose now? Heehee...

Do you have any pigmentation on your armpits? Is that normal? I find that nowdays my armpit got lines of brown pigmentation and on closer observation, there are small little bumps along the line.. Yucks. My hubby said it's becoz of sweat? I hope they will go away.. anyone has this problem and is there any cure?

Sometimes, my nose gets red after the end of the day but in the morning, it looks fine.

I've pigmentation on my armpits. yes, it's normal and it will fade only after pregnancy. Don't worry. But now, i try to wear tops with sleeves or put on a short cardigan over sleeveless tops. Very mafan but need to hide the pigmentation.

Little Pony, me too. My sister pass me quite a lot of clothes, and I bought some myself, but it seems that I am always wearing back the same clothes every week.

Some of them I find are more suitable when the tummy is bigger in third trimester and some need ironing, so I usually avoid wearing them. End up always wearing the same maternity wear.. :p

Smiley,
haa. me too. especially maternity dresses, i find it big when i put it on.. and oh, tell me about all the ironing i have to do for those clothings. So ma fan!!

littlepony same here !!

i dont care lah .. anyway dun want to spend so much on maternity wear.

I have a lot of maternity dresses from my sis but it looks big on me now ..

i also observed that my armpits are a bit darker leh .. so gross !

ya my colleagues says I look more radiant after pregnant so they all guess mine is gal even at 4th month... v zun lor !

LittlePony, are there small little tiny bumps along the lines or is it just pigmentation, flat surface like the brown line along the navel? I am really worried coz the bumps though tiny, look really gross..
Like very dirty like that..

Smiley, mine is brown line on flat surface. Yes, at first, i tot it was dirt.. then i was scrubbing it. Then i realised its pigmentation. Don't worry.. they will be gone aft pregnancy. And u be mei mei again!

hi, do u all know what's the purpose of drinking coconut drink in the later stage of the pregnancy?

anyone of u here not getting a bb cot? letting bb sleep on mattress or crib or something else?

helo ilovebabies and little pony, the kiddy palace sales ends end May.

oh armpit discolouration? i haven't notice yet, din really pay much attention to my armpit coz i find my hairs like growing slower there now! hahahaaa. but tummy hair so obvious. hhmmm....the sympthoms of boy and girl may differ leh. I am having a boy. in 1st 3 mths i very sick of putting makeup or dolling up. but 4th mths onwards when i feel better i get slightly more hardworking. as for face change or ugly hor, in the 1st 3 mths my MIL and one coll said my face change. but now ppl say i look radiant and normal hahahaa. so it really varies i guess. got one person tot i carrying a girl coz i look same. i told him he's wrong. and i have a coll who last time when carrying boy look normal, when carrying girl look haggard (coz they say girls take away mother's beautY), so she guess correctly mine boy. i think ppl guess gender based on what they themselves experience or hear hehehe.

Daisybuttons,
thank you so much for advising me on the ending date for Kiddy palace.

U the lucky one who hasn't got pigmentation on armpit then.

littlepony, i may oredi have the pigmentation but i too lazy to checK! hahahahaa..... but dun need to envy leh. during pregnancy my ezcema came back and i scratching my legs like mad for few mths. :p

daisybuttons

my hair growth was slower too !! so happy. usually I need to epilate my legs weekly, now it's fortnightly ....ehehhe so cool ..

eh gender symptoms seems different hor .. nvm lah, I guess it's individual's reaction to the hormone changes.

edksd,

some say drink coconut juice to ease delivery cos it is cooling. but my MIL advised me to drink barley instead. she say same effect as coconut but not as cooling. she scared it is too cooling for my body. well, I am ok with that cos I dun fancy coconut products anyway.

my gal will be sleeping in a cot cum playpen. does that ans ur qn ? eheh ..

anyway to me, sleeping on the mattress may not be advisable now that she is still so small. dunno i scared someone may trip and hurt her. and my niece and nephew is taken care by my Mum as well, so it is safer to put her in a cot.

Edksd,
My mil said that drinking coconut juice will make baby much cleaner when they are delivered. But don't drink too much. Just drink about two or three coconuts will be fine.

My boy will be sleeping in a cot. But next time, will put him on mattress.

ilovebabies,
tat's what my sil says. she said coconut juice acts as a form of cleansing in our body when we give birth. Which perhaps also means that when baby is born, he or she will look better and less bloody, i think.

daisybuttons, I overheard fm the cashier who was telling the man before me the sales for kiddy palace till next mth..I was still thinking to go back there after pay day end of this mth or early next mth...hmmm....if it's this mth then I better make a trip down this week manz....

hi hi.. same here. My armpit hair and hair on the legs grow slower now.. that's a good thing..

Ehhh.. does that mean that we are not supposed to drink too much barley water now as well? If it is cooling, that means can only drink in third trimester loh? I also heard that third trimester got to drink coconut drink, but I only thought it would aid in delivery for whatever reason...

Btw, I finally manage to satisfy my cravings last week and ate some durians.. heehee.. sooooo yummy! :p~

smiley

i did took some barley during 2nd tri cos the weather is simply too hot.

but i try to refrain from taking too much lah...

ahhhh... think I overeat durians in my 2nd tri ... simply cant stand the temptation.

tmr seeing my gynae, see if the durian has any effect on my baby's weight... hehe

i take barley without any sugar in it. My mil says we can take barley, no problem. It's not as cooling as liang cha (chryst. tea). So can take frequently but try not to add sugar in it.

oooh... ilovebabies, please update whether the durians have any effect tomorrow ok? My mum has bought SO many durians recently and it's so tough for me to resist eating that.. Let me know what's considered as moderate and what's excessive consumption ok? Heehee... :p~

I ate it in front of my hubby last week. He just stared at me initially, then he kept quiet. I guess he gave up on me liao.. hahaha! But later he complained my breath smelled of durians! Heehee..

smiley

lucky for me , hubby is a fan of durians too .. haha so we just enjoy our durian feast and watching tv ...

err as for how much is moderate or excessive I dont know leh .. now I ask my dad NOT to buy weekly ... so I guess it is not that sinful.

Littlepony

actually i do have a bit of sweet tooth cos I simply love chocs and ice cream !! but have cut down since I know I am pregnant.

edksd, my baby will be sleeping in a cot.

chocolat, oh issit? hhmmm actually i got this info coz i asked my friend who was at kiddy palace yesterday to help me ask the sales ppl there. so unless the sales ppl blur? hehehee...in that case if u intend to go down next week better call and double confirm leh...

as for the cocunut thing, yah heard its supposed to be cleaner. but hor, i am wondering, the vernix covering the baby when he's born supposed to protect his skin. so its not actually "dirty" mah. what my confinement lady said is that coconut helps to cool ur body a bit, so that when baby come out the skin wun have those red red spots.

ooooh i LOVe durians hehehee. in 1st tri for a period of time i even eat one box every week for 3-4 weeks. :p but past 1-2 mths din eat coz my fav durian stall near my place stop biz liaoz.
so if i wan nice durians i need to go geylang buy leh.

smiley, maybe moderate means one box (how to eat less than one box!!!???) once a week or once every 2 weeks. excessive means everyday eat hahahaha.. :p

about barley hor, i not sure if this is true lah, but last time i heard that barley cooked for the usual amount of time is cooling. but those we buy outside, those supposedly home-made barley, sometimes they cook and boil for hours. that one supposedly more heaty. not sure how true leh.

have you gals experience difficulty in getting the right sleeping positions?

I have. I tried to sleep on my right side, then my baby kicked non stop. Then, i try to sleep on my back, my baby kicked non stop as well. Finally, i sleep on my left side and he kept quiet. But that's not my most comfortable sleeping position leh. Oh gosh, just one night.. i can toss and turn dunno how many times!

Hi little pony, my bb seldom kicks when I sleep, so I don't have any problems with the sleeping positions. I usually sleep either on the left or on the back...

Chocolat, haven't experience this so far... It's very important to maintain good posture when you sit or stand... try not to slouch or bend your back bone... Your back must always be straight else can get backache easily...

I'm like little pony, every nite toss and turn. BY the time I find the position, it's time to pee again. BB moves so much when I rest, can even feel her turning...jia lut ar...mommy not enough rest nowadays.

Has anyone of you experience nose bleeding? the other nite, my nose run a bit so I just use some tissues to wipe, didn't even blow my nose, then next morning I realised those tissues were stained with blood...

helo little pony, same ah i also toss and turn a lot. not coz of the movements though. there's one period of time my back aches so bad after one night sleeping on my side, that i went to buy a pregnancy pillow. its better now, for the back i mean. but coz i using pregnancy pillow for tummy, and a small pillow to put against my back, whenever i wanna turn from left to right or right to left, i gotta shift a lot. so end up will wake up when i change position.

when i bought the pregnancy pillow, the girl said there's this mother who baby kick a lot when she sleeping until she can't sleep. but after she use the pregnancy pillow baby calmer, she cld get better sleep. maybe u wanna try? i do relish the support.

chocolat, i got this area near my lower spine, near buttocks there, on the left, sometimes sharp pain when i walk or change position from standing. i think its coz i dun stand str sometimes, so the pressure is on that spot. then once i change position the pain comes and i gotta stop moving for a while. maybe its our posture.

hi fiona, no i dun have nose bleed but i think one girl here has it before.

Daisybuttons,
where did you get your pregnancy pillow and for how much?
Yesterday night is another toss and turn night. No matter what position i am in, baby will just move so much. In the end, i have to scold my baby. I told him i need to work tomorrow and he better find a comfortable position. And my hubby try to calm him down as well.
In the end, i think he quiet down abit.

Spring Maternity
Up to 30% off * (selected items)

For Spring Privilege Card Members,
enjoy an additional 5% off* total purchase storewide

23rd May (Tuesday) to 10th June (Saturday) 2006
* Midnight Madness Sale at Suntec City Outlet till 1am on 11th June

Spring Maternity
Suntec City, Happy Kidz #03-21B/C . Causeway Point #03-36 . Century Square #02-27

Hi chocolat

Yep, me too the bottom back bone in my buttock hurts a lot if I sit down, esp during meetings. My foot also starts to hurt when I stand too long in the MRT, sad to say, nobody gives up seat to me yet.

These few days, when I remove my shoes, my foot also hurts when I walk around the house aiyo pain here & there

Hi Little pony and Daisybuttons,

Looks like we all have the same problem! Baby kicks whenever mealtime is near, and even more so at night. I am also a right side sleeper, whereas baby prefers me to sleep on my left. Hence whenever I sleep on my right, baby kicks non-stop till I turn to the left.

My lower back hurts too. Still got 17 more weeks to endure...

Hi peachie,
Yes.. i am a left side sleeper but feel damn uncomfortable sleeping sideways now. But baby just kicks non stop and couldn't find a comfortable position. I think i was so tired that i slept while he still kicking.

Oh gosh, every night has to go through this.

By the way,

Anyone thinking of going through cesarean birth down here? I am seriously considering it after seeing some of the recent births of my friends. One gave birth at MEH, and after 16 hours in labour, the baby's umbilical cord was coiled around his arm. As a result he got stuck in the birth canal. The gynea tried vacuuming, but it didn't work and baby went into distress. Then the gynea used forceps and the episotomy was quite a deep cut, and finally the baby got out. Due to the truama, baby was warded in ICU for 8 hours and the whole bill came up to almost $9K.

Another friend gave birth at KKH 2 weeks ago. After the placenta was detached, she had massive loss of blood and needed 3 transfusions. She stayed at KKH for 1 week and the bill was more than $5K.

Pretty scary, to think of it. Also heard of horror stories of another lady under my same gynea who was in labour for more than 30 hours, and in the end needed emergency c-section. Hence, thinking of just opting for c-section to avoid all these unforseen risks. Talked to my gynea about this during my last visit, and he shared on the pros and cons of each delivery method. Evidently the risk is higher with c-section, with a longer recovery period. But c-section also has lower risk of urinary incontinence later on.

I am pretty confused and still weighing my options. Anyone else facing the same dilemma?