(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Wow you must be petite. I am now weighing 61kg and I'm only 158cm tall leh. I'm in my 21st week. You should take frequent, low calories type of meal. Don't take 3 big meals so you don't get hungry in between. My tummy size has been quite consistent from 18 weeks. I took some belly photos to compare for myself. Maybe it will remain like that for quite sometime. My belly is only measuring 36".

hi 77

i think I gained abt the same as you now that I am in my 24th weeks. i oso feel hungry all the time, and esp at nite after dinner !! faintz !!

my tummy is measuring 37inch now !! OMG .. it was 35 inch last week !

but hor, I think we shld not refrain from eating if we are hungry ...

Hi Melissa,

I have a pretty small build. I am about 159cm, as my bone structure is quite small. My tummy is measuring at 38", up all the way from 25", so the difference is quite visible. People in office have been asking if I am expecting twins.

Thanks for the advice! I shall try that.

My legs and back are hurting from the extra weight gain. I think the coming weeks will be even worse.

hi 77

wah ur increase is huge then since u r so petite ... guess u get lotsa privilege on public transport then ! ahah ... ya i heard some MTBs balloon in 3rd trimester .. scary right ?

hi Puppylove,
so surprised after reading ur posting... hope u r feeling better. do have a good talk with ur hubby when everythg calms down. is hehaving lots of stress too?? not all man know how to handle e new responsibilities to be father so easily.. talk to him nicely n see wat makes him feel so irritated recently....
do take good care of urself n baby... we will be here for u if u need someone to talk...

Would like to clear some doubts here...

Does all baby response to what we say to them?? (Was told by colleague that BB should response, but if BB does not response, does it mean that something is wrong??) Or is it too early to tell now?? Any idea??

Chng's wife,

Yes most people would say that but I've read in books and magazines that at 5 months where we all are, we will have days where baby don't seem to move at all and may not respond to us. We won't feel movement everyday and sometimes baby will be active, other time, baby will decide to rest the whole day. Baby will get most active towards the end of 6 months-7 months, specifically 3rd trimester. The kickings and movements are supposed to be consistent and you can do you kick counts already. That's why I'm looking forward to 28 weeks. Baby will definitely respond to your nudges.

helo smiley, elmo, little pony i did consider letting my parents use traditional method of boiling the bottles. but their memory getting bad nowadays and there's times they forgot to turn off the stove esp when its the small flame! heard that if bottles boil too long will be out of shape one. so to prevent that from happening and the risk of toxins, i got a small steriliser for them.
its only $30+ after discount.

smiley and melissa, yep i agree with melissa, me the pantang kind. so i try not to buy actual baby stuff (clothes, bedsheets, booties, toys etc) til the 28 weeks. sometimes see the clothing so cute but gotta control.....

chgn's wife, its not true lah, some babies will respond some have attitude will move only when they feel like doing so.
don't be overly scared by such theories. my baby move as and when he wants to. if he happy he will kick for hubby. if not, no matter how long hubby ask him to kick he wun kick. don't be too worried kae? perhaps when baby gets bigger (maybe 26-28weeks), he may tend to respond more consistently to stimulation like rubbing of tummy or what, but sometimes he's asleep also mah.

hm, where is puppylove? hope she is ok manz..

ok ladies,
i didn't do lots of damage @ isetan & robinsons, as most of the items, i buy liaoz slowly over time..
I bought the following @ Robinsons:
3 long pants @ 8 sgd
3 long sleeve button tops @ 8 sgd
tollyjoy mittens & booties set @ 2sgd
pigeon bottle & nipple brush @ 3.65 sgd
pigeon comb & brush @ 3.60 sgd
1 nice romper @ 8 sgd

And i used the 5 sgd member discount off above, so total @ robinsons is 27.78 sgd.

@ isetan, i bought:
lollipop infant head support @ 9.90 sgd
lollipop infant neck support @ 5.90 sgd
bearybear grobag 0-3 months @ 17.75 sgd
laundry softener kodomo @ 5.65 sgd
reversible usage shawl for myself @ 17 sgd
total : 54.61sgd after 3% isetan member rebate..

Both sides have lots of good buys, but i have some shopping vouchers due to me, so, not intending to spend cash on most of the items..

Now, i am left with stroller, playpen for MIL's place, car seat, cot mattress.. all the other stuff.. about 7788 liaoz..

Hi puppylove

Very shocked to read yr posting on how yr hubby treat u.... hope you are feeling ok now..

Take good care of yourself....

Hi ilovebabies,

Yep, people in MRT are giving up their seats. My friends all tease me and say that this means "I have arrived at the Preggy Club" (ie tummy very obvious). Pretty scary. It was just a slight bulge more than a month ago. If 3rd trimester still bulge much more, I think I'll topple over and cannot walk...

Hi Chng's wife,

Don't worry. My baby is not responding all the time too.

I've closed "clothing purchase" for my bb over the past 2 days robinsons and isetan sales.

home and outside clothes $85
- 2 pcs s/sleeve top
- 2 pcs l/sleeve top
- 4 pcs long pant
- 1 pc long pant w attached socks
- 2 pcs l/sleeve bodysuit w attached socks

mittens and booties $8
- 4 pairs mitten
- 3 pairs booties

total $93

im quite particular w the material so i dun mind spending a bit more.

i chose mainly pigeon clothing. only 1 pc from tollyjoy and 1 pc from lucky baby.

mittens/booties are from casila, tenda care and tollyjoy.

daisybutton and melissa, wow, I always thought the pan tang part is the first 3 months only! When did you announce your pregnancy then? For me, I did that only after 3 months, and I thought that's conservative already.. heehee...

I wish I can go to the sales like you gals here. Seems like all of you are happy with your purchases.. I also want to shop!!! My hubby is not feeling too well for the past few days, so we had to go home earlier for him to rest these few days... Is there any more sales today?

Chng's wife.. my baby seems to be more active at night. During the day, I don't feel her movement that much but at night, woo hoo.... she moves so much. Especially when she can hear my hubby. It's amazing. I guess coz my hubby makes the effort to talk to her more than me. Last night, when my hubby was reading a book to her, he can actually see my tummy moved due to her kick.. we were so happy. Heehee...

I was at isetan last night and oh gosh, the crowd was overwhelming. Although there wasn't any pushing around at the escalator but i feel there were too many people that i was feeling short of breathe. Anyway, i just bought the milk bottles from Pigeon, pacificer (oh, that's my favourite coz it glows in the dark ) from Avent , a set of Pigeon pyjamas, nailcutter for baby. So i think still not too bad lah. I've got help from my sil to advise me on the brand to buy. Thank goodness.. or else, i think i will never be able to tell which brand is good or not.

for toys ive bought

- tiny love playmat $103
- slumber bear $$63

total $166

will be buying another 2 more (maybe from gss or taka sales)

- tiny love soft book (estimated $20)
- tiny love musical mobile (estimated $70)

so total ard $250

i went to robinsons centrepoint on wed ard 11am. crowd is overwhelming and queue is long. but delivery has no queue.

i went to isetan yday ard 10am. oso crowded. queue is long but fast moving. but delivery queue is rather slow.

there's still sales going on at robinsons but not sure whether it still holds the special mbrs discount. isetan im not too sure.

hi littlepony which pigeon milk bottles did u buy? the normal or wide necked ones?

i bought the wide necked one at robinsons.

200ml - $6.4
300ml - $6.7

i think it's cheaper at robinsons than isetan.

hi smiley, same loh i also announce only after 3 mths hehehe. before that when colls spotted something different and asked me, i will brush it off with some misleading answers.

oh i tot u bought some stuff from og liaoz?
the robinson's sale for public starts today, got qute good deals but not sure if also for baby clothes. quite pity i din manage to go robinsons' yesterday, the 20+20% really good. but i spent whole morning at isetan liaoz both hubby and my dad forbids me to go robinsons on same day, they say too tiring for me and baby.
so this morning i am working and the 2 of them go robinsons.....hehehe....

alternatively u can wait for GSS, coming soon! since ur hubby not feeling well better wait for him to recover....dun go alone, quite crowded.

oh thats cool, u can see baby move. hehee think we not spot-on enough, usually when baby move i can feel it inside myself or with my hands, but dun see it hehehe.

sometimes i find i dun feel my tummy growing fast enough leh hehehe..... like everytime is see it looks the same, though the inches climbing verrryyyyy slowly lah.

wah wah .. shopping spree !!

so envy .. me a bit lazy to shop now .. just want to buy all at motherfair.

puppylove, are u ok ??

chng's wife, I totally agree with daisybuttons. Our babies have attitude and we wont know when they are resting. Sometimes though my gal responded I will also wonder if it is coincidental ??

just make sure ur little one kicks you everyday, I think that should be sufficient.

last nite had a sumptous dinner.. so full that I woke in the middle of the night with a stomachache ... ahah and bb kick and kick ... probably too much food for her liao

daisybuttons

seems like we all got this question ... "is our tummy growing bigger?"

just dont be overwhelm if it balloons in the 3rd trimester then we starting wondering ... " why is our tummy so BIG ?!!!??"

i also pantang for the 1st 3 mths .. not sure abt the 28 weeks until I read the posts here ...

edksd,
I bought the normal ones. And just 2 small bottles. Suggested by my sil. She said that buy one for milk and another for water. When baby gets older, then we buy the bigger bottles for baby.
And also i know that avent milk bottles are quite big. If you like to teach your baby how to hold the milk bottles on their own, i suggest you get smaller ones becos it will be much easier for them to learn.

daisybuttons, you have a good memory! Yup, I did go to the OG sale, but geez... when I see the happy posts of the happy purchases, I feel so tempted to shop for more! Heehee... And anyway, I didn't manage to buy all that I need during the OG sales. Off my head I know I still need to buy baby powder, detergent for baby's clothes, more clothes (!), receiving blanket, shampoo, shower, moisturiser, non slip mat for the bath tub, thermal flask, nail clipper, .....

My tummy is not growing very fast too. So far I have only been offered a seat once, so either it's not very obvious that I am pregnant and they think I am just fat on the tummy or they ignore loh.. Heehee...

My tummy grew bigger within these few weeks. And quite hard as well. My mum said that i look big as a 5 months pregnant woman. Now, i worry i go overweight. I put on 6kg since pre-pregnant. And i think i am continuously putting more.

Yap. as long u feel baby kicks you, then actually don't have to worry too much.

hee hee..
I feel that my tummy has stopped growing too. Only today my boss got to know that i'm pregnant. That was when she called me to sit face to face with her and discuss certain project and she realise i have a tummy. Most of my maternity clothes are loose so not so obvious lah even though it's already 36" big. I can't wait to even cross to 6th month. Think will be slightly bigger. When does 6 month start anyway? 5 months seems like forever!

Hi LittlePony,

Is there any particular brand for the non-slip mat? My mum asks me to buy that, but I forgot about it during the OG shopping trip. How much does it cost?

As for the nail clipper, any reason why you choose NUK? I haven't ask around which brand's good.

Do you usually buy "baby-brands" like Pigeon, NUK, Tollyjoy or you go for "cartoon-brands" like Seame Street, Disney, Piyo-Piyo? I feel tempted to buy cartoon-brand products but my sister says it is better to use these only when baby is bigger. When baby is still small, use baby-brand safer. Any comments?

HUH? Melissa, you only let your boss know now? heehee... I was quite paiseh when I only told my boss around 3 months coming to 4th month...you are even later! Lucky he didn't question me why I didn't tell him earlier..

Btw, my boss has a boss above him, i.e. my big big boss... I didn't tell him personally, hoping that my boss would let him know. Is that right or courtesy to tell my big big boss personally? DO I need to do that? We are not very close coz he rarely talks to me, but I am under his section loh.. But I find it quite weird to tell him now. What should I do? It's really funny to tell him now isn't it?

hi smiley, i only know the following hv mbrs special discount as i only got to know when i see the receipt:

robinsons
- tollyjoy bb wear
- tenda care bb wear

hey smiley

if u big big boss sees u, he should have know that u r preggie right ? think no need to tell him in the face lor .. so weird right ??

i agree that we shld use baby-brands for newborn.. feel more secured.

btw do u all think we shld buy stroller/pram when bb is out ? at least we can bring the bb to try out. I read from other thread says COMBI brand is not suitable for BIG babies ...

hi smiley, i oso told my immediate boss tt im preggie after my 3mths. he told my big big boss. so i dun nd to tell big big boss myself.

Hi Smiley,
I didn't go for particular brand for the non-slip mat. But it comes in different colors, like pink, blue and white. Go for colored ones becos white gets dirty easily. I can't recall how much i pay. I let u know next week, i go back and check. But i think it's quite cheap.

I choose NUK becos it's small. My other friend recommended me to go Kiddypalace becos she bought tne nail clipper that comes along with the magnifying glass. However, I just took NUK brand when I am at Isetan last night. Some brands have the full set ( like manicure set)..but i think don't need so fanciful ones lah.

Yes, i buy baby brands. True, it's better to use only cartoon brands when baby is bigger. Note: you will still have to buy bigger milk bottles when your baby gets bigger.. so you could try controlling your temptation first and get cartoon ones later. Moreover, if you have a baby shower, you will sure get gift sets and people tend to buy cartoon ones for your baby.

hi smilely im the opp of u. i dun like cartoon brands, coz in my impression, they're just for the cartoon, the name of it, they're not really bb products specialist. even for bb clothes i oso dun like cartoon brands.

hey ilovebabies,
it's really up to individual parents when they think it's suitable to get a stroller. Your suggestion of bringing your baby to get the stroller is good as well becos for the first 1 month, we won't bring baby out so often. Stroller comes in use maybe after 2-3 months.

I get confused over the many brands of stroller but i think i may make a trip to Baby Kingdom if i am getting a stroller or a car seat.

hi ilovebabies, tt's what i intend to do. not buy stroller until maybe bb is 3 mths old.

for the 1st month i dun think we'll be going out since im on confinement.

2nd and 3rd month, bb still small, maybe just visit to clinic for jabs, or to parents' hse. so dun really nd a stroller.

after 3rd mth then buy.

Especially for milk bottles.. I think it's better to get baby brands like avent, pigeon or tollyjoy when they specialised in different teats or nipples depending on the number of months of your baby. Whereas for cartoon brands milk bottles, they have just one fix type.

I just came across Pigeon website. It's quite informative. Go and have a look at the different type of things.

http://www.pigeon.com.sg/

hi ilovebabies, when i count which mth im in, i dun do eg. 24 wks divided by 4 wks = 6 mths.

i count by my edd. coz not every mth has 4 wks.

my edd is 28 sept. so im only starting my 5th mth on 28 may.

ya I also tot so .. as bb is still small I am afraid of bringing them out, in case they catch any virus out there. Better to bring them out when they have complete most of their jabs ya ?

littlepony i visited the website before ... wow I was overwhelm by the vast info ... v chim ..

Thanks for the advice, now I actually feel quite relieved that I have the support from you gals that I don't have to tell my big big boss personally.. hahaha! And ok, I will resist my temptation to buy the cartoon brand. But I already bought two cartoon pacifier and a milk container.. Heehee..

How about milk bottles? You buy the plain ones or the cartoons one? I bought Pigeon milk bottles and I got one cartoon one and one plain one to differentiate milk and water bottle.

Ilovebabies, I heard from my fren that combi is too light. When you hang things behind the stroller/ pram will actually tilt over coz it is way too light. So it is not very stable.

ilovebabies,
yap.. i plan not to bring baby out too often. Same reasoning.. worry they catch virus.

Ya men, tell me about it. I think i learnt alot from my sil last night when i seriously learnt that there are so many different kind of milk bottles etc. V informative but yet, draining to my brain!

smiley, yah man i still have so many things i have buy yet too.

melissa, ilovebabies, edksd, yah i count by my last menses date, and count the mths by the calendar date. i.e. if my last menses 15th of the mth, then 6 mths later on the 15th of that mth i am in 6mths. i dun count by weeks coz like what edksd said all mths have more than 28 days.

hhmmmm what u mummies said is true hor. baby brands is mroe suitable for newborns compared to cartoon brands hmmm....lucky i see this first, or else i will be going on a piyo piyo shopping spree soon for things like bottle brush, nail clipper, comb etc for baby. but comb in piyo piyo shld be quite safe?

what brand is the magnifying glass nail clipper huh? do u know if kiddy palace will have good discounts during GSS? or motherhood fair better? not been to motherhood fair so not sure how good the deals are leh.

I went to Robinsons at Raffles City last night and couldn't resist the temptation... Bought the following stuff :-

1 pc long sleeve top (tollyjoy)
2 pcs short sleeve top
1 short sleeve bodysuit
4 pcs long pants

Total: S$43

I'll be going to carrefour tonight to check out the prices for the baby stuff.... Not sure if they sell breast pumps there..

Daisybuttons,
My friend just mentioned to find such nail clipper at Kiddypalace. So i can't advise u on the brand. If i go kiddypalace this weekend, i will go give a check. haa. i also wonder if Kiddy Palace has good discount.. but u know what, i think i go and join the membership for Kiddy Palace cos i forsee i will buy more stuff from them in future.

hi amylim,

those long pants, s/sleeve top oso from tollyjoy? u managed to get 0-3 mths size? i went on wed, dun really hv 0-3 mths size for tollyjoy.