(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

edksd, my EDD is 25th Sept, and I have been telling people I am 5 months pregnant. Alamak, so I have been wrong all this while?
From what you said, I am only 5 months pregnant on the 25th May, 6 days from now? :p

Amy, what type of breast pumps u looking for? manual or electric? Brand?

Edskd, yes .. i feel very tired too .. and it's friday.. how i wish i could work half a day only.....

i saw a lot of pple selling gift sets in this forum. hmmm.... it must be gifts from their friends/relatives....

so far i never like to buy friends bb stuff unless they tell me specifically what they want coz individual has their preference. usually i give ang pow or vouchers.

That's true. My sil receive 4 similar gift sets of oshkosh clothings when she did the baby shower. And so, she kept them and then give away again when she attend her friend's baby showers.

Ang pow and vouchers are much more practical!

smiley

huh combi is light ? hmm ok cos my sis is gonna pass me her combi stroller .. will try out if not buy another one lor ..

daisybuttons

dont know whether kiddy palace will have sale or not leh.. but I bet they will have .. but I will still head down to motherhood fair. Seems like some of u not going motherhood fair... I can update u gals if I go.

ilovebabies,
i am checking with my friend who seems to have join the Kiddypalace membership. I have also ask her how much the membership cost annually... wait till she comes back to me on the answer, then i let u know, k.

Little Pony, better find out more what are the items that are entitled to discounts and what are not before applying for the membership. My fren applied and was very annoyed when she found out a lot of items are nett price and cannot enjoy the discount.. Usually only baby clothes got discount. Prams/ walkers/ baby wipes etc no discount.

Smiley, thanks for telling me this! I will go check it out before applying. Ya, i hate to apply for membership that i have to pay and didn't enjoy as much savings! If free membership , still fine.. but if annual fee cost more than savings.. then no point.

Melissa,
My boss only knew i'm preg when i told her on tues.She got a shock.I was thinking, my tummy alred so obvious, how come she stil cant tell?

Daisybuttons,
Last time i also siao piyo piyo products.For my gal, i bought all piyo products.But after boiling the bottles, the pics faded leh. So i think better get those baby safe brands for bb under 1yr old.

Little pony,
I agreed with u.Ang bao and vouchers are more practical.As for the gifts, i gave to my friends when i attended their bb's 1st mth celebration. But then, if different gender, then i have to giv either ang bao or buy gifts.

hey smiley thanks for the info ! heng u tell us earlier ...

ya wonder if puppylove is getting better now ?
kao_confused.gif

eh u gals tummy not big ? how come some of ur colleagues dunno ? some of my colleague even can see I am preggie before 3rd mth !! no choice gotta admit lor .. but ask them not to spread.

better tell lah, to enjoy the privileges !!

i told my manager when i realised i was pregnant so that he can stop all my biz travels. Then at 3rd month, i have to tell my director so he understands why i looking preggie. Then, my colleagues all knew the news..
Oh, i am enjoying the privilege of having a seat on the crowded bus now. Abit paisey leh.. but hoh, i just thickskinned and say thank you and sit down loh!!!

i think my tummy wasnt quite obvious yet as im still wearing my usual clothes to work. maybe pple just think i put on weight.

during my 3rd going to 4th mth, my colleague told me abt how his wife suffered morning sickness for 7 mths, etc etc. then ask me whether do i still dare/intend to give birth. i looked at him and smiled, didnt reply. obviously he didnt know im preggie already.

edksd ... wah ! me start wearing maternity clothes at 4th mth leh .... if I still wear my normal clothes I look like a "ba zhang" ! ahah

ok lah enjoy our honeymoon now hor .... more sleepless nights to come v soon !

Yah.. for me, I rather wait for sales than spend money to apply for membership for a particular shop. With a member discount card, I got to go to that particular shop specifically to buy for the discount, very restrictive. Somemore not all items got discount, may as well save the membership fee and buy from anywhere with sales going on.. Heehee...

But I did apply for First Born Incentive at TMC though, mainly coz it's free considering the rebate for single hospital bed. I don't know whether the FBI card still entitles member discount at Kids Mall, but I remember when my sister wanted to buy a rocker there with the card, they say sorry no discount on nett price items, so no savings at all. Then my sister's colleague lent her a kiddy palace card to buy a walker, and it's the same, no discount on nett item. So no point..

elmo88, Smiley,
I have a dumb woman boss. all my colleagues already knew that i'm pregnant and some even asked me via email if i'm pregnant. when they ask me how far along, i just said i'm in 5th month. i know that by 24th week i would've completed my 5th month but that's how i calculate lor. my mom is a bit pantang. told me that it's better to "over-date" the pregnancy than under-date it.

Smiley,
I also have a big boss - my boss's boss who's also female. i'm not sure if she knows. but she's kinder than my immediate boss lor. but since my boss already know now that i'm pregnant, i expect her to communicate with my big boss lor. i'm not going to tell unless they want to discuss about my temporary replacement.

edksd,
your calculation is so strict liao. i'm only 21 weeks and i already told everybody i'm in my 5th month hee hee. i figured there's about 4-5 weeks in each month and we start 1st month two weeks before ovulation so that's how i come to figure that i'm in my 5th month. anyway since we're all september mummies, i told my hubby, just look at the month lor. since we conceive in january, i'm 1 month pregnant then, so now may, i'm 5 month lor.

littlepony,
i have Kiddy Palace membership. it gives me 10% discount on regular items only (promotional items not included). very easy to apply, when you're paying at the cashier as for the form and fill it up. you pay $10 i think and they will activate your discount immediately. i find it worth it lor.

ilovebabies,
if i still wear my normal work clothes i look very funny liao. like i have a beer belly. very ugly so i switched to maternity clothes at 18 weeks. at least i look more acceptable now and i can feel pretty again hehehe.

today is friday i'm also very sian. looking forward for the weekend to meet my aunt who promised me that she will weave my baby girl's dress. i'm so excited to have a homemade clothes for my baby! i don't feel like working but i got important meetings to attend to today.. aiyah sian sian sian!!!

wah melissa

good leh ! ur aunt is so nice ! eh she can sell online !

aiyah ignore ur bosses lah .. health is more impt .. dun get angry over such trivial matters.

ya today super sleepy leh cos bb kicking in the middle of the night ... cant wait for weekend.

hey gals I am walking more and more like a penguin now .. tends to swing from left to right and vice versa.... u gals also ?

Hahaha... my big big boss is a male and he also never ask me.. That's why I was contemplating whether to tell him or not, but he RARELY speaks to us. For communication, he will ask his personal assistant to talk to us ok? So I don't find him very approachable and that's why till now I don't know how to tell him. BUT now, I am convinced, with the support of you gals here (heehee), I don't need to tell him. I ASSUME that my boss would tell him.. heehee...

Anyway, hey anyone making bean sprout pillow for your baby? Suddenly occur to me I can do something nice for my baby, that's make one for her myself! But I don't know whether it will be too time consuming coz I know can just get it off the shelf.. :p

ilovebabies,
funny that u mentioned walking like a penguin. sometimes i subconsciously do so but most often i will re-adjust my walk when i realised that i'm being a penguin. hee hee. so far i haven't consistently been a penguin yet. maybe at 6 months i will.

smiley

my mum in law is making one for my baby. for her to put on her chest while she sleeps... think to prevent the bb being scared or whatever during sleep right ?

melissa

haah I tends to walk like a penguin after walking for sometime lor ... no choice got it seems to be the easiest when I am v tired liao ...

ilovebabies.. yes yes! My niece has two, and the main purpose is to put it on the baby's chest coz it is light enough to be put on her chest, and just heavy enough to calm her while she sleeps..

My mum made those for her, but I don't think my mum has the time now, so was thinking maybe I can do one myself

Does any1 have yellow discharge? I cant rem whether i got it for my 1st preg not? Dont tell me i got infection?

smiley

jia you then ! remember to dry the beans under the sun.

elmo

we do have discharge during pregnancy. tot it is normal ? do u have any itchiness ? if not it shld be ok right ?

elmo88,
don't worry about yellow discharge. i have had yellow discharge too. you know what caused it? milk liao and other food that may cause change in color of our discharge. as long as it's not itchy or smelly, there's nothing to worry about. i used to get a lof yellow discharge during my 1st tri. now change to white already. but everyday oso have this discharge. sian. must wear panty liners everyday.

my mil also making beansprouts pillow for my bb.
Yes, remember to dry the beans under the sun ....and take out those beans shells that are spoilt.

Thanks.Now I'm more fang xin.

Pls make sure the beans are vy dry or else will have mould. My mil made 2 for my gal and she is
still using them and now has bcm her fav pillows.When my 2nd one is out, i will "kaypo" 1 from her.haha~

read this from the aug thread which is useful to most of us.

"Too much/excessive walkin is not good, cuz we get either pelvic or abdomen pain - the hip and that area bones have soften to expand.

It is normal for us to have normal pulling pain near belly button and slight pangs/cramping. All about the area stretching and changing.

If you have hard tummy which comes and goes, like contractions, those are braxton hicks...
"

yeah anything too much or excessive is never good.

but walking and swimming are the best exercise for us right now. just make sure dun overwork ourselves.

ilovebabies, i shld be going motherhood fair, hehehe cant resist it leh. it starts on a tue right? 30 May issit? oh thanks for the excerpt from the aug thread.

elmo, eeeee....the piyo pic fade after boiling...hmmm...then i will def not buy piyo bottles liaoz. scared toxic. but i will still buy those accessories ba, will go check it out. but important things like wet wipes, nail cutter etc shld buy from baby brands lah hor?

littlepony, okie thanks, i may also go kiddy palace check it out soon if i got time. gotta work a bit over the weekend.

Yeah yeah its FRIDAY FRIDAY FRIDAY! hehehee. enjoy your weekend ladies! i try to though i have work to do hehee.

some tips to share from my shopping trip....

when buying mittens, u can try this brand called casila from JohnLittle. so far i only saw this brand from JL. it's slightly smaller in size than the usual ones we see from tollyjoy or pigeon, etc.

i think it's good to buy a few small pairs for the 1st few wks when bb is still small. too big, it might just easily slip off bb's hand. then it doesnt serve its purpose as scratch prevention.

for bb clothes, though it's stated newborn or 0-3 mth size, there's still difference in the size of different brands.

therefore it's good to mix and match some brands. at least when bb outgrown the smaller sized brand, bb still can continue to wear the bigger sized brand.

i went to the robinson sales yesterday but got stuck with what to buy. i am currently 5.5 months. i was checking thru the breast pumps , breast pads. anyone can advise what stuff can i buy first or which type is best ? like manual or electric breast pump ?

little pony, I prefer electric over manual as it is faster... My hb will be doing more research on the internet before we buy.

I am a Jan 06 mum. I had gestational diabetics during my pregnancy and now I have some left over test stips and lancets. If you also have GD and are using the same test kit as me, I am letting them go at $20 (inclusive of postage). There are 38 strips and 6 lancets. Interested parties please PM me as I do not check this thread.
424645.jpg

hi all! So sorry for being MIA for so long... I'm doing ok. Thanks so much for ur concern! Things hv quieten down at home and currently we go abt our daily routine peacefully. Still hv unresolved issues, but we'll tackle them later. Still recovering fr the exhaustion fr the last couple of days.

Yesterday someone gave up his seat in the MRT for me and tat made my day. I guess a lot of pp don't realise itz hard for pregnant ladies to stand for so long in the train. Even if their tummies r still not so huge. So far, I notice those who don't give up their seats r mainly working pp - males n females. Itz the older, non-working males tat seems to be more helpful. Sometimes i feel bad 'cos they seem to need the seats too!

Notice my tummy has grown bigger these past few days. It's sort of squashing my belly button closed, when it used to be stretched wide open. Hope it's not going to pop out anytime soon! bb has also been more 'violent' in kicking. Maybe she has grown bigger. I can see her movements n kicks - my tummy literally pops up when she does tat! So thankful for this little miracle inside of me.

hi puppylove

glad to know u r fine now !

hey my gals is the same as ur little one .... she kicks real hard these days and my tummy just keep bulging out !! eheh so wonderful right !

puppylove,
good to know you're ok. we've been waiting for your follow-up posts. i have been feeling strong kickings too but it didn't really see it. i am looking forward to seeing the little bulges on my tummy! maybe 2-3 more weeks! wish i can catch that in video camera!

helo puppylove, very glad to hear from u again. glad also to know things are better at home now and more peaceful. dun think too much oredi okie? just be more careful for urself and baby.

hehehehe i know what u mean about bellybutton. mine also close up suddenly one night. i was sitting in the bathroom when i noticed that and i was so amazed and happy hehehee. my tummy bulges too when baby kicks, so nice.
i think close to full term, we can even see the shape of baby's little feet or palm.

olsen helo are you new in this thread?
neber see ur name before. actually whether manual or electric depends on ur preferences. some swear by avent manual, some love medela pump in style. its better u do some research in this forum by searching for key words, then think through what u want. generally speaking, if u are going to be a working mum who wish to continue expressing in the office, may be good to get an electric one b4 u return to work, coz it will save time pumping.

as for breast pads, there's washable and disposable. i heard disposable ones pigeon is good coz it has dual tape. so i bot 2 boxes of that during isetan sale. but i also bought one box of washable from avent too.

just went kiddy palace and they are having 20% sale now. Bgt the AVENT steriliser at $158.4. My deal may not be as good as those who bgt it during the isetan or robinsons sale. But 20% better than nothing.

Gals, any idea if the Pigeon teats can fit into Avent bottle ? i realise the Pigeon teats are shorted than Avent's.

Puppylove,glad to hear that you are ok now
Must be happy happy so that you will have a happy happy baby!

Melissa, if you can catch the moment when the baby kicks, that would be so wonderful eh? I would love to capture that moment too... But so far, I have not taken any pictures of my tummy yet. Tempted to do that, but worried that someone may accidentnally see the photos and see my tummy, that would be most embarassing!

Right now, I appreciate every time she kicks me. I cherish the moment now she's 24 by 7 with me, accompaning me to work, to sleep, bathe.. etc.. When she's delivered, I can't always be with her 24 by 7 liao... I will definitely miss the kicks

ilovebabies,
do you know when kiddy palace sales will be over? I do need to make a trip there to do some purchases. Hopefully, by this weekend, the sales is still on.

Oh, Avent bottles and teats are quite big and long. Pigeon teats are shorter but i know they did have longer teats ones. Recommended to use Pigeon teats if you have Pigeon bottles and avent teats if you have avent bottles leh.

Puppylove,
glad you are alright now. Hey, your baby is really active leh. haaa! i am happy for you. It seems that she has been such a great motivator! I am sure she be happy, strong and healthy! Take care!

Olsen,
I have this spreadsheet that compares the different breast pump available. I think i downloaded it from other threads. Perhaps this will be a good guide for you.
Personally, i go for manual pump but do heard that medela electric pump not bad. Err. personal preferances lah.

attachment_icon.gif
Comparison on pumps
Copy of Breastpumps.xls (23.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hi Littlepony

thanks for the advice !! ya I try to fit the Pigeon teats into Avent bottle and it does looks weird. ahahha so i just go with Avent one since I will be continue using it when bb grows up.

As for the sale, I am not too sure leh. I didnt know it was on sale until last Sat. You may want to call and ask ?

Smiley,

ya hor, din realise bb is 24x7 with us ! I took a few pics of my tummy at diff months .. for personal collection and self admiration ahhaha ... aiyo very diff to capture the bb kicks on video cos when i look at the tummy she dun kick and when I look away she kick like nobody's business ..

must be v patient lor ..

btw, I have a colleague whose relative passed away, I am not giving the "bai jin" as I think we shld not do it during this pregnancy period. What you gals think ?