(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

haa. same as me. I do that too. So i hope to wait for Kino or Times cut-out discount coupons from newspaper and will go down and grab these books.

Rainnie, it's best to avoid travelling from week 32 onwards.

Anyone experiencing gum infection (gingivitis)? I heard it is quite common among preggies... Besides using warm salt water to gurgle, is there any other method to relieve the pain? The dentist has advised against the use of mouthwash as it may contain alcohol.

hi littlepony

tks ! they are all sounds so alien to me ..

i only know enid blyton, nancy drews and charles dicken hhehe

hi amylim

I do not experience this. Did u get any advise from gynae ?

hi ilovebabies,
Haaa.. i also knew those when i was young.. I used to collect ladybird series. Now, the reading world belongs to Harry Potter. haaa!

helo smiley, think better dun paint the cot now leh. if u do u gotta use non-toxic paint? coz baby may bite when he teething. oh i did consider using changing mat, but if i do then i will put it on my existing table in the baby's room, wun put on cot. coz if cot cannot adjust then u gotta bend down quite bad for your back. heard a few mothers here got bad back when changing baby in cot. so i prob will change either on table with changing mat, or on my bed.

bena, think u missed our conversation 2 days ago hehe. the car seat in john little is priori sps, its for babies bigger than 9mths, so not for infants ah. and to ur qn about charges, i heard that if u go for natural then have to go c-sec, they will charge u for all the natural delivery expenses like medication, labour bed, and whatnots, so sure quite exp.. but for gynae fees i wld think will charge based on c-sec bah.

ilovebabies, wow $6 only for changing mat? hehehe cheap ah. i saw in mothercare is $20 plus i think? but mothercare things usually more exp ah.

emoments thanks thanks.
if u go down this weekend can help me ask? hehehe...

sasha, congrats on having a baby girl!

thanks littlepony for the book list.

ilovebabies, maybe I'll check with my gynae when I see her next week.

Bena, I think the hospital will charge the actual procedure that is performed, be it natural or c-section. As for gynae charges, you may want to check with your gynae directly.

Have done my detailed scan yesterday. I am measuring slightly bigger than my current weeks. I am 19 weeks and 5 days but am measuring 20 weeks and 3 days, baby is a gal and her weight is 322g. My gal is fine, I even got a 3D picture of her. Hehee..she looks like her sister.

i heard the charges for natural then c-sect is quite ex as compare to going for natural only or c-sect straightaway.

daisybuttons, ya it was $7.40 with 20% discount somemore. PUREEN brand.

bijou, gong xi gong xi !!

how come u get a 3D picture of her ? I mean detailed scan provide such ? Where did u do the detailed scan ? eheh then it will save u the $ on doing the 3D scan.

bijou, SGH did not provide a 3D picture of my bb when I went for the detailed scan last month. Did you pay any additional charges for that?

daisybuttons...yeah, think i lost the thread the other day...half day never come in to read, so many posts already

There is another promo for Robinson on the car seat..also maxi cosi brand...but not too sure if it's suitable for infants...cos i think it's different from the one at John Little.

Ah yo...so if start with natural, then go e c-sect will be charged both...going to be very ex...then what about the medi-save claim? We can claim both as well? :p

ilovebabies
My gynae is doing the detailed scan for me and his machine is able to do 3D scan too so everytime I go he will try to capture a picture of her to show us if she co-operates. Yesterday she covered her face with her hands and after awhile she suck her fist so thats the picture we got. Profile of her face side view sucking her fist.

hey..amylim
I finally able to sign the package starting from yesterday. Still must pay for the detailed scan yesterday but I do not know exactly how much thoug tink less than $200. How much did you gals pay for detailed scan?

ilovebabies

Dunno how to answer u becuz it is her side view so can not really see her face lor. But can tell she is sucking her fist.

ohh side view .. cos I tot u mentioned she look like her sis so tot u can see her face from front ..

nonetheless.... it is a joy to hold the pic in ur hand and admire her beauty

Do you know where to buy nice stickers (Disney ones preferred) for the walls? Thinking of decorating the baby room too!

I am looking for a changing table and a dresser. Anyone bought them yet? How much do they cost?

So far have bought a baby cot and a baby swing. So the baby room is running out of space. I think with the dresser and the changing table, the baby room will be full. Sigh...

Many thanks in advance!

77, you bought so many thngs already.
I hav yet to get a single thing for my bb. Think i very slow
must quickly catch up...else later will be so messy

hi 77

i just bought some baby winnie pooh's stickers meant for tiles. I am also looking for stickers for painted walls. I prefer these stickers will not leave any stain or tear off my paint. Any one knows ?

I wont be buying a changing table. But yest we posted some links on dressers by Ikea, u saw ?

Btw what is a baby swing ?

Dun worry.... shopping is my fav pastime. Plus it's the 1st kid, so more kan cheong.

Most of my friends shared that they are most energetic in the 2nd trimester. By the time the 3rd trimester comes around, some of them have swollen feet and aching back. Plus they feel tired more easily. Hence I try to buy while I still can.

I think all of us are still pretty early ito the pregnancy. Can take your time... Great Singapore Sale coming soon.

Hi ilovebabies,

My baby swing looks something like this...

420235.jpg

It is by Fisher price.... One of my friends have a colicky baby, and she swears by the swing. According to her, her baby stops crying whenever she is on the swing, and she is so comfortable that she goes to sleep. It is supposed to resemble the rocking motion of the womb. So it is a yao lan replacement for her. She puts her baby on the swing at night, and the baby falls asleep in it within 10 mins. Then she transfers her to the crib.

As there is a safety harness, she will buckle down the baby and switch on the swing whenever she needs a shower or a toilet break. Baby gets entertained and is buckled down, and she gets to do what she wants for a while....

The downside is that the swing is only for infants from birth up till 25 pounds (about 10 months). Thereafter, it is virtually useless.

Cradle swings are huge in the US, and I read thousands of positive reviews on Amazon.com. There are 2 major brands out there, Graco and Fisher-price. I bought mine from Toys R Us for $149. It has 6 speeds, can rock vertically and horizontally, has a mirror and 4 rotating ducks to entertain the baby. There are 2 recline positions. However, it does not play lullabies, unlike many other Fisher-Price models available on Amazon. My friend bought hers from Amazon.com for US$99, then spent another S$100 to ship it over. So it is more worthwhile to buy here.

Not many places sell swings here... I went everywhere and only managed to find it at Toys R Us.

For those who are looking for cribs, I found this pretty useful...

Before You Buy a Baby Crib
From Heather Corley,Your Guide to Baby Products.
===============================================

With so many styles and options available on baby cribs today, purchasing the perfect baby crib can be a daunting task. Determine your price range and decide which baby crib features are most important to you. Then let the hunt for the best baby cribs begin! Here are some important baby crib features to get you started on your quest. Many thanks to Beth, a mom of two in Ohio, for lending her knowledge of baby cribs for this article.

1) Baby Cribs Should Meet Safety Standards
Any new baby cribs you purchase will meet minimum government requirements. So rest assured that if you assemble it to the manufacturer's instructions and use the crib properly, even the least expensive cribs will be safe for baby. A safe crib should have a firm, tight-fitting mattress, no missing/broken hardware or slats and no cutouts in the head- or foot-boards. Slats should be no more than 2 3/8" apart (the width of a soda can). Corner posts should not be higher than 1/16".

2) To Drop, or Not?
Drop sides are the crib feature you might use most often. Baby cribs come with fixed, single-drop or double-drop sides. Fixed sides will be fine for parents who are tall or if the crib will only be used occasionally. Most parents will want at least one side to drop, so the baby can be lifted in and out with ease. Baby cribs with double drop sides might be nice if the nursery is big enough that the crib isn't against a wall.

3) How Do the Crib Sides Drop?
Knee Push - Leaning your knee against the crib side lowers the side. Quiet and simple, this may be the most common type today. Foot Bar - You balance on one foot and push a lever to drop the crib sides. This type is less common today. Double Trigger - You use both hands to squeeze triggers that release the crib side. Two-handed operation isn't easy while holding baby. Fold-Down - Convenient and easy to use. Be sure the fold is high enough to keep baby from climbing out of the crib.
Caster Wheels are a Plus for Baby Cribs
Wheels are a very useful feature. Check the casters to make sure they aren't flimsy, because you'll be moving the crib to vacuum under it, change sheets or fetch toys. If you aren't sure if you'll need them, leave them off the crib but keep them nearby. You'll probably want them on the crib by the time the baby is 3 or 4 months old. If you fall in love with a crib that doesn't have wheels already installed, you can buy furniture caster wheels at the hardware store and install them yourself.

4) Crib Mattress Height and Support
Adjustable mattress height is available on all but the most inexpensive cribs. It allows the mattress to be higher so you can gently lay down a sleeping newborn, then lowered for babies who can pull up. At least two mattress heights is nice, three is even better. Check out the way the mattress is held up. Some cheaper cribs use vinyl straps that could wear out and break. Baby cribs with metal bars are a better choice. The best choice is a metal spring system to support the mattress.

5)Convertible Baby Cribs?
Convertible baby cribs are attractive to many buyers, but the added expense may not be worth it to some parents. Some baby cribs are convertible to toddler beds, others to full-size adult beds. Most cribs require an extra kit to be fully convertible; ask about the cost before you make your final decision on convertible baby cribs. Also ask yourself whether you'll actually convert the crib or whether you'll reuse the crib for siblings and buy a separate toddler bed.

6) Other Baby Crib Buying Choices
Large retailers like Sears have a few crib choices in the middle to low price range. You may have to order your crib. Large discount stores have low prices and baby cribs in stock. Their crib selection is limited, usually to low-end models. Be wary of used cribs. Unless the crib has labels with manufacturer, model number and year, comes with an instruction manual and you can verify the crib's history, pass it up. Always call or check the manufacturer's website for recalls on used cribs.

77, tks for the detailed info !
it looks cute .. but ya the downside is it only last for 10mths ...

but of cos we can save it up for our 2nd child.. so not too bad .. i mean it is really convenient for busy mothers.

No probs. Anyway, this guide is also useful for me when I was looking around for a swing...

Before You Buy a Baby Swing
============================================

A baby swing is a wonderful way to soothe a fussy baby or hold an infant while mom or dad sneaks a quick shower. Before you buy a baby swing, check out this list of handy must-have features that will make your baby swing more useful for you and baby.

1) Stability & Safety First
Since baby's safety is your first priority, check all swings to be sure they have a wide base and will not tip over if baby leans to one direction. Next, check to see that the swing has a safety belt system. Just like in car seats, a 5-point harness system is safest in swings. The shoulder and hip straps reduce the chance that baby will slide out of the swing or successfully learn to climb out while mom isn't looking.

2) Battery Vs. Wind-Up
Whether you choose a battery-powered swing or a wind-up variety is a matter of personal choice. Of course, batteries don't last forever, so battery swings may add cost to the swing over time. However, battery swings eliminate the need to keep re-winding the swing at the risk of waking or upsetting the baby, and are more convenient to operate. Battery swings also tend to feature more speeds and music settings to meet baby's preferences.

3) Variable Speed & Sound
Some babies want to be rocked to sleep slowly, while colicky babies may like a more forceful rocking speed. For this reason, choose a baby swing that has several rocking speeds. Your baby may also have strong preferences on music, so look for swings that play music at different volumes and various musical styles, and that have the ability to operate with no music at all. Some babies just want peace and quiet!

4) Recline
Small babies will not be able to hold their head up or avoid slouching forward in an upright swing, so be sure your baby swing has at least two recline positions. One of the recline positions should be a newborn recline that allows baby to lay back far enough to avoid slouching. The recline feature is also handy when older babies fall asleep in the swing. For these instances, you'll want a recline feature that is smooth and easy to use while baby is in the swing's seat.

5) Open Top & Flip-Out Tray
A flip-out or fold-up tray is a must-have feature on a swing, so that a sleeping baby can be gently removed from the swing without trouble. These trays are also much more convenient for parents and lessen the chance of scraping baby's legs while trying to get them in or out of the swing. An open top swing makes it easier to lift baby out of the swing without the chance of hitting their head on the swing's upper bar.

6) Top Guide Picks
Two of the most popular baby swings are the Graco Open Top Swing and the Fisher Price Aquarium Wonders Swing. The Graco Open Top Swing has been ranked Best Baby Swing by American Baby readers for 6 years in a row, and features a reclining seat, multiple speed settings and soothing music. The Fisher Price Aquarium Wonders Swing has an open side, rather than an open top, and has soothing music, reclining seat and varying speeds. It is the highest rated baby swing by Amazon.com readers.

Graco Open Top Baby Swing
Fisher Price Aquarium Wonders Baby Swing

hi angeline,
me oso seeing dr adrian...he has 2 clinics, 1 in sengkang & 1 in choa chu kang..it depends its convenient for u frm yr mama hse to his clinic..his pkge is $550 & delivery chrg is $800

me jus cleared my detailed scan on monday...evything ok...v v fun to c my ger ger moving..n soo amazing tat she was yawning while e scan is on her....me n hb were sooo amused..

*sob sob* me still waiting for my detail scan..

bijou,
is there anyway you can attach your baby's 3D scan here? i haven't seen one before ley especially done locally.

Thanks pjen,
The Snedkang clinic will probably be more convenient for me since mum's house is at Hougang. What is he like? I haven't had a chance to reach him on the phone.

Hello gals,
Finally caught up with all the reading..hee...btw, any remedy for coughs? Have been coughing for the whole week now that each cough makes me ache esp at the chest!! Have been down with flu for the whole week but I try to minimise my med intake and have lots of rest and lots of water instead...but recovery seems so slow...and I realise when I take the flu tablet which is suppose to cause drowiness, bb movements seems to become so limited...does this means the drowiness gets to the bb as well?

Wow bjiou, you are so lucky! I wish I have a 3D scan of the baby too....ahd ya, can you post the 3D pic if you are ok with it??

I wonder how the 3D will look like. Right now baby should have no eye lids yet right? From the ultrasound I did, the eyes are just two big black "sockets"...

hi chocolat

week ago when I was sick, my bb movements was lesser also .. but luckily i recovered within 1,2 days. I was coughing that time with phlegm. I told my gynae the med prescribed by my GP and I was advise not to take the med for curing coughing. . think it was vatiscan or something like that. So rem to seek ur gynae's advise before consuming the med. take care !

Thanks ilovebabies!! I'm not taking any cough syrup but a herbal lozenges name "Zecuf" prescribed by the GP. But I didnt seek my gynae's opinion..gosh..dunno if it's safe..have been taking for 4 days alrdy..I better chk with my gynae..Thanks!

dear chocolat,
Pls pls check with your gynae ASAP. I had a friend from Jakarta who was pregnant and took flu medicine prescribed by GP and baby had some birth defects.

hi angeline

but ur friend has passed the detailed scan mark ?
My Gp was saying, if it is pass the organs formation stage, the med shld be quite safe.

Hi Chocolat,

I coughed for almost a month when I was 8 weeks pregnant. Whilst some cough mixture (which include codein related compounds) are linked to possible birth defects when taken in large quantities, most are safe in small doses. In fact my cough mixture included codein and my GP and gynea both assessed it to be safe when taken in its prescribed dose.

As ilovebabies had said, we are past our 20th week, so the major organs have formed and there should not be much cause for worry. However, to be on the safer side, it is always good to check with your GP and gynea that the medication is pregnancy safe.

On my personal experience, I tried very hard to resist taking medication during the first week. But my cough got much worse and I started wheezing. Worse still my bronchial tube was slightly inflamed and I had trouble breathing. On hindsight, it would have been better had I started my cough medication straightaway, as that would have saved me from a lot of sufferring and more antibiotics later on.

Other remedies that helped me were:-
1) lemon with honey
2) loads of vitamin c (u can buy efferverscent supplements to be taken daily)
3) camomile tea and ginger tea (you can get this brand called Twinnings available at Cold Storage and Jasons) These are herbal infusions hence caffein free and pregnancy safe.
4) loads and loads of water and rest

Hope this helps and may you get well soon!

Hi everyone...
quite sometime did not post liao..was busi for the past few days cos my boy is admitted to hospital n i hve to admit with him,to take care of him..he is ok now liao..but still need to be on medi..

i hve done my detailed scan on mon...n i'm hving a bb gal too...

bjiou,
congrats..ur wish comes true liao...i oso hving a bb gal..but gynae oni 90% confirm...will be doing another scan later this mth to confirm the gender..

Angeline, hospital usually have tours during weekends. If u are keen u might wish to call the hospital and check the time of the tour. I heard TMC provides free shuttle bus @ Novena during weekends.

Dr Adrian, he is very nice doctor. A few months ago when i had mumps my hubby called him on his hp cuz he was away for holiday. He pick up the phone ya! And when i went back to visit him he still remember about it and was concern about my mumps. So I find him a nice gynae!

Hi Daisybuttons
I went to OG today and ordered the promo cot. The size of the cot is 28" x 52". In fact, there's 3 samples there, 2 of them are of the same size, whileas the 3rd one is slightly smaller 26" x 52".

The wood is made from China and is not as good as the $299 one which is made in Taiwan... but I think still ok for babies and I like the fact that I can use the lower portion as a storage (b4 the cot is converted to a play pen) so I bought it.

I'm considering buying a better mattress thou, those that will not suffocate baby type one... maybe will put on top of the one provided. See how... this one no hurry :p